- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 7 iunie 2007
- Stat pârât
- FIN
- Articole
- Articolul 6
- Concluzia
- Nicio încălcare — Articolul 6
Kukkonen împotriva Finlandei
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamantul, care este un tâmplar de profesie, s-a născut în 1967 și trăiește în Helsinki. Pe 31 ianuarie 1994, reclamantul a avut un accident la muncă. El a sustinut o fractură splinteră a cotului său stâng care mai târziu a devenit artrită degenerativă. Compania de asigurări i-a plătit o pensie de prejudiciu ocupațional (tapaturmaeläke, olickspension) până la 31 mai 1996. Reclamantul a solicitat ca pensia să continue începând cu 1 iunie 1996. La 8 mai 1996, societatea de asigurări a respins cererea sa constatând că capacitatea de muncă a reclamantului a fost redusă cu mai puțin de 10%. Acesta a susținut, de asemenea, că incapacitatea reclamantului de a reîntoarce la profesia sa anterioară ca târfă nu a fost bazată pe prejudiciul la brațul stâng, ci pe gâtul și durerile de umăr care nu au fost cauzate de accident.
Reclamantul a apelat la Consiliul de Accident (tapaturmalautakenta, Olycksfallsnämnden), repetând cererile sale. El s-a bazat pe un aviz medical din 13 mai 1996 în care s-a dovedit inapt pentru munca de carpinterie, precum și pe un alt aviz medical din 4 iunie 1996. El a prezentat două alte avize medicale din 28 iunie 1996 și, respectiv, 19 ianuarie 1996. 10. Consiliul pentru accidente a respins apelul său la 13 martie 1997 cu patru voturi împotrivă unul. Prin urmare, este incapabil să lucreze cu carpinterie pe timp integral… În proiectul de testare a muncii (työkokeilututkimus, arbetsprövning) nu a fost testat niciun plan de educație profesională datorită durerii [de reclamantului].
[Gâtul și durerile capului reclamantului nu au fost cauzate de accident și, prin urmare, nu pot fi compensate în temeiul Actului privind asigurarea accidentului.” 11. Reclamantul, reprezentat de un avocat, a apelat la Curtea de Asigurări (vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen) care prezintă dovezi suplimentare. Curtea de Asigurări a primit mai multe alte documente, de exemplu opiniile medicale și istoricul cazului reclamantului. Compania de Asigurări și-a dat avizul, la care reclamantul a răspuns. 12. La 17 noiembrie 1998, Curtea de Asigurări a respins majoritatea apelului său. Cu toate acestea, a modificat hotărârea Comitetului pentru Accident pentru a acorda reclamantului o pensie de prejudiciu profesional de 100% pentru perioada cuprinsă între 20 mai și 19 iunie 1997, în care reclamantul a participat la un proiect de testare a muncii.
13. După telefonul Curții de Asigurări, reclamantul a fost informat că dosarul său constă din peste 1.000 de pagini de materiale. El s-a familiarizat cu dosarul de la biroul registrului instanței și a găsit trei documente, care se presupune că nu i-au fost comunicate de către Tribunalul de Asigurări. În cererea sa de concediu de recurs la Curtea Supremă (korkein oikeus, högsta domstolen), el a afirmat, printre altele, că nu a fost trimis toate documentele relevante pentru cazul său. 14. Curtea Supremă a refuzat reclamantul să permită recursul la 21 octombrie 1999. 15. La 27 martie 2000, reclamantul, folosind o procedură extraordinară, a solicitat Curtea Supremă să anuleze decizia sa și a Curții de Asigurări.
El a susținut că această instanță nu i-a trimis documente, inclusiv un memorandum scris manual din 9 octombrie (an neindicat) scris de un avocat al companiei de asigurări cu privire la conversația telefonică cu un angajat al Asociației de Reabilitare a Asigurărilor (Vakuutuskuntoutus VKK r.y., Försäkringsbranschens Rehabilitering r.f., „Asociația”). Notă a inclus, printre altele, următoarele observații: „[reclamantul] nu consideră posibilă reabilitarea durerii” și „reclamantul] așteaptă în prezent decizia Curții de Asigurări”. La 22 ianuarie 2002, el a susținut că dosarul includea, de asemenea, un consiliere de evaluare și reabilitare de către Asociația din 11 aprilie 1995 și, respectiv, 8 februarie 1996, care nu i-a fost trimis.
16. La 13 noiembrie 2003, Curtea Supremă a respins cererea sa cu majoritate. Acesta a constatat că documentele necomunicate referitoare la luarea deciziilor în cadrul societății de asigurări și că nu au fost clare când și cum a fost inclus memorandumul în dosarul de caz, care a fost excepțional de voluminos. În orice caz, documentele necomunicate nu au fost depuse instanței în legătură cu argumentele fiecăruia dintre părți se bazează pe dovezi de către acestea, fie de către instanță în ceea ce privește adoptarea deciziei sale.Unul dintre judecători a considerat că cele trei documente menționate de reclamant nu au fost în întregime irelevante pentru procedurile dinaintea Curții de Asigurări. În opinia sa, Curtea de Asigurări a comis o eroare procedurală și a concluzionat că reclamantul nu a primit un proces echitabil în sensul articolului 6 din Convenție.
6. The applicant, who is a carpenter by profession, was born in 1967 and lives in Helsinki. 7. On 31 January 1994 the applicant had an accident at work. He sustained a splinter fracture of his left elbow which later developed into degenerative arthritis. The insurance company paid him an occupational injury pension (tapaturmaeläke, olycksfallspension) until 31 May 1996. 8. The applicant applied to have the pension continued from 1 June 1996 onwards. On 8 May 1996 the insurance company rejected his application finding that the applicant's working capacity had been reduced by less than 10%. It further held that the applicant's inability to return to his previous profession as a carpenter was not based on the injury to his left arm, but on his neck and shoulder pains which had not been caused by the accident.
9. The applicant appealed to the Accident Board (tapaturmalautakunta, olycksfallsnämnden), repeating his requests. He relied on a medical opinion dated 13 May 1996 in which he was found to be unfit for carpentry work as well as an another medical opinion dated 4 June 1996. He submitted two further medical opinions dated 28 June 1996 and 19 January 1996 respectively. 10. The Accident Board rejected his appeal on 13 March 1997 by four votes to one. It ruled, inter alia, as follows: “[t]he medical opinions at its disposal show that the strain tolerance of [the applicant's] left elbow was reduced due to the limitations on moving it and its susceptibility to pain. Therefore he is incapable of full-time carpentry work…
In the work-testing project (työkokeilututkimus, arbetsprövning) no plan for vocational education was tested due to [the applicant's] pain. [The applicant's] neck and head pains were not caused by the accident and therefore cannot be compensated under the Act on Accident Insurance.” 11. The applicant, represented by a lawyer, appealed to the Insurance Court (vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen) submitting further evidence. The Insurance Court received several other documents, for example medical opinions and case histories of the applicant. The insurance company gave its opinion, to which the applicant replied. 12. On 17 November 1998 the Insurance Court rejected the bulk of his appeal. It however modified the Accident Board's decision so as to grant the applicant a 100% occupational injury pension for the period 20 May to 19 June 1997, during which the applicant had participated in a work-testing project.
13. Having telephoned the Insurance Court, the applicant was told that his case file consisted of over 1,000 pages of material. He acquainted himself with the case file at the office of the court's registry and found three documents, which allegedly had not been communicated to him by the Insurance Court. In his application for leave to appeal to the Supreme Court (korkein oikeus, högsta domstolen) he claimed, inter alia, that he had not been sent all the documents relevant to his case. 14. The Supreme Court refused the applicant leave to appeal on 21 October 1999. 15. On 27 March 2000 the applicant, using an extraordinary procedure, requested the Supreme Court to annul its decision and that of the Insurance Court.
He argued that the latter court had failed to send him documents, including a hand-written memorandum dated 9 October (year not indicated) written by a lawyer of the insurance company concerning her telephone conversation with an employee of the Insurance Rehabilitation Association (Vakuutuskuntoutus VKK r.y., Försäkringsbranschens Rehabilitering r.f., “the Association”). The note included, inter alia, the following comments: “[the applicant] does not consider pain rehabilitation possible” and “[the applicant] is currently awaiting the Insurance Court's decision”. On 22 January 2002 he submitted that the case file had also included an assessment and rehabilitation advice by the Association dated 11 April 1995 and 8 February 1996, respectively, which had not been sent to him.
16. On 13 November 2003 the Supreme Court rejected his application by a majority. It found that the non-communicated documents related to decision-making within the insurance company and that it remained unclear when and how the memorandum was included in the case file, which was exceptionally voluminous. In any event, the non-communicated documents were not submitted to the court in connection with either of the parties' submissions relied on in evidence by them or by the court in reaching its decision. One of the Justices considered that the three documents mentioned by the applicant were not entirely irrelevant to the proceedings before the Insurance Court. In his view, the Insurance Court had made a procedural error and concluded that the applicant had not received a fair trial within the meaning of Article 6 of the Convention.