- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 4 mai 2004
- Stat pârât
- FIN
- Concluzia
- Partly inadmissible
Kukkonen împotriva Finlandei
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE PARȚIONALĂ PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA cererii nr. 57793/00 de către Hannu KUKKONEN împotriva Finlandei Curții Europene a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care așeză la 4 mai 2004 în calitate de Cameră compusă din: Sir Nicolas Bratza Președinte Pellonpäää dna Strážnická Casadevill Pavlovschi Borrego Borrego dna Fura-Sandström, judecători și dl M. O'Boyle Grefier Având în vedere cererea depusă la 27 martie 2000, după ce a deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTELE Reclamantul, Hannu Kukkonen, este un național finlandez, născut în 1967 și trăiește în Kuopio. Circumstanțele cazului Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de solicitant, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează.
Reclamantul, un tâmplar, a suferit leziuni într-un accident la locul său de muncă la 31 ianuarie 1994. Scăderea a provocat o fractură de splinter în cotul său stâng, care a devenit mai târziu artrită degenerativă. Reclamantul a primit o pensie de invaliditate ( tapaturmaeläke, olycksfallspension ) până la 31 mai 1996 dintr-o companie de asigurare. După expirarea pensiei de invaliditate, reclamantul a solicitat o pensie continuă începând cu 1 iunie 1996. La 8 mai 1996, societatea de asigurări a respins cererea sa menținând că capacitatea de muncă a reclamantului a fost acum redusă cu mai puțin de 10%.
De asemenea, a susținut că incapacitatea reclamantului de a reîntoarce la profesia sa anterioară ca târfă nu a fost bazată pe prejudiciul la brațul stâng, ci pe gâtul și durerile de umăr, care nu au fost cauzate de accident la 30 ianuarie 1994. Reclamantul a apelat la Consiliu de Accident (tapaturmalautakunta, olycksfallsnämnden ) repetând cererile sale, el se bazează pe un aviz medical din 13 mai 1996 în care s-a constatat că nu este în stare să lucreze la carpinterie și un alt aviz medical din 4 iunie 1996. El a prezentat două alte avize medicale din 28 iunie 1996 și, respectiv, din 19 ianuarie 1996. Consiliul pentru accident a respins recursul la 13 martie 1997 și-a bazat hotărârea pe art. 18, subsecțiunea 2 din Actul privind asigurarea accidentelor (tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lag om Olycksfallsförsäkring; 608/1948).
Cu toate acestea, reclamantul a fost considerat ca fiind potrivit pentru a lucra, de exemplu ca electrician, care putea să-i dea un venit echivalent după un anumit antrenament. S-a afirmat în continuare că gâtul și durerile capului reclamantului nu au fost cauzate de accidentul din 30 ianuarie 1994 și că capacitatea sa de lucru pe motivele cotului său a fost redusă cu mai puțin de 10% din cauza respectivului accident. Reclamantul a apelat la Curtea de Asigurări repetând cererile sale anterioare. El a prezentat câteva dovezi suplimentare privind conținutul și cerințele lucrărilor unui electrician și a solicitat la audiere orală, dorind să prezinte observații cu privire la starea sa de sănătate și la fiabilitatea dovezilor.
Curtea de Asigurări a primit mai multe alte documente, de exemplu avizele medicale, istoricul cazului reclamantului, radiografiile X și mai multe declarații din diferite trimestrii. Ambele părți au prezentat avize suplimentare. Curtea de Asigurare a respins cererea reclamantului de audiere orală și a respins majoritatea apelului reclamantului la 17 noiembrie 1998. Cu toate acestea, aceasta a schimbat hotărârea Comitetului pentru accidente pentru a acorda reclamantului o pensie de invaliditate de 100% pentru perioada 20 mai-19 iunie 1997. Curtea de Asigurări a susținut că procedura înainte de a fi scrisă de obicei și că, ținând seama de dovezile scrise, nu există circumstanțe excepționale care ar fi solicitat o audiere orală.
Acesta a acceptat motivele furnizate de Consiliul pentru Accident și a susținut că noile dovezi nu au solicitat o concluzie diferită. Reclamantul a solicitat permisiunea de a face apel la Curtea Supremă. Curtea Supremă a refuzat reclamantul să permită recursul la 21 octombrie 1999. tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lag om olycksfallsförsäkring; 608/1948) prevede că organismele de apel în materie de asigurare a accidentelor sunt comitetul de accident, Tribunalul de Asigurări și Curtea Supremă. Secțiunea 1 din Decretul privind Consiliul de Incidență (asetus tapaturmalautakunnasta, förordning om olycksfallsnämnden ; 839/1981) prevede că Consiliul pentru accidente funcționează ca prima instanță de recurs în materie de asigurare obligatorie a accidentelor.
art. 53 din Legea privind asigurarea accidentelor prevede, printre altele, , că în Consiliul pentru Accident există un președinte cu timp integral, cel puțin doi vicepreședinte și cel puțin trei avocat și doctori, precum și cel puțin șase membri reprezentanți ai sindicatului muncii. Președintele, vicepreședintele și alți membri poartă responsabilitatea unui judecător. Secțiunea 9, subsecțiunea 1 din Legea Curții de Asigurări (laki vakuutusoikeudesta, lag om försäkringsdomstolen ; 14/1958, astfel cum este în vigoare la momentul respectiv) cu condiția ca procedurile de la Curtea de Asigurări să fie scrise. Cu toate acestea, în cazul în care există motive excepționale, Curtea de Asigurări poate decide să desfășoare o audiere orală.
Secțiunea 9, subsecțiunea 2 și 3 din Legea Curții de Asigurări (în vigoare la momentul respectiv) conține dispoziții privind, de exemplu, examinarea martorilor în fața Curții de Asigurări. Subsecțiunea 4 prevede că, în alte privințe, procedurile în cadrul Curții de Asigurări se reglementează prin dispoziții aplicabile instanțelor de district. Capitolul 24, secțiunile 15 din Codul de Procedură Judiciară ( Oikeudenkäymiskaari, rättegångbalken; 4/1734, astfel cum este în vigoare la momentul respectiv) cu condiția ca o hotărâre să fie motivată. Hotărârea a fost obligată să indice faptele și argumentările juridice pe care s-a bazat decizia. Hotărârea trebuie, de asemenea, să conțină un cont al raționării care a condus instanța să dețină o chestiune contestată stabilită sau nesupunea.
În conformitate cu rezerva făcută de Finlanda în conformitate cu art. 64 din Convenție, în conformitate cu art. 64 din Convenția în vigoare la momentul respectiv, Finlanda nu a putut garanta un drept la o audiere orală, în măsura în care legislația finlandeză în momentul evenimentelor în cauză nu a constituit un astfel de drept. , în fața Curții de Asigurări în calitate de instanță de instanță finală, în conformitate cu art. 9 din Legea Curții de Asigurări (14/1958), și în fața Curții Supreme în conformitate cu capitolul 30, art. 20, din Codul de Procedură Judiciară. Finlanda a retras rezerva la 1 aprilie 1999. COMPLAINTĂ Reclamantul se plânge în temeiul art. 6 § 1 că: Comitetul pentru accidente nu a justificat în mod corespunzător decizia sa, deoarece nu a indicat dovezile și constatările faptului care au dus la respingerea recursului.
El susține că decizia a fost ilogica ca Comitetul pentru accidente a susținut în primul rând că nu a fost potrivit să lucreze ca târfă, dar apoi a concluzionat că capacitatea sa de lucru a fost redusă cu mai puțin de 10% după 31 mai 1996. El se plânge, de asemenea, de lipsa de raționament în decizia Curții de Asigurări cu privire la fondul recursului, susținând că nu a putut face apel efectiv împotriva deciziei din cauza raționării inadecvate și că Curtea de Asigurări nu i-a comunicat mai multe documente relevante, inclusiv un memorandum, care i-a fost prezentat; Consiliul pentru accident, Curtea de Asigurări și Curtea Supremă au refuzat să pronunțe o audiere orală; Curtea Supremă nu și-a motivat decizia de a nu acorda permisiunea de recurs; lungimea procedurii a depășit un timp rezonabil, deoarece a durat aproape patru ani pentru ca autoritățile interne să elibereze o decizie finală în această chestiune, care era de o importanță majoră pentru el.
Reclamantul se plânge în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție că Consiliul pentru accidente și Curtea de Asigurări nu au dat hotărâri motivate și că Curtea de Asigurări nu i-a comunicat mai multe documente relevante, inclusiv un memorandum, care au fost prezentate Curții de Asigurări. art. 6 din Convenția, în măsura în care este relevant, se citește după cum urmează: „1. În determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor sale civile sau a oricărei acuzații penale împotriva lui, toată lumea are dreptul la o audiere corectă și publică într-un timp rezonabil de către un tribunal independent și imparțial instituit prin lege.” Curtea consideră că, pe baza dosarului, nu poate determina admisibilitatea acestor plângeri și că, prin urmare, este necesar, în conformitate cu art. 54 alineatul (2) litera (b) din Regulamentul de procedură, să anunțe această parte a cererii guvernului contestat.
Reclamantul se plânge în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție (a se vedea mai sus) că Consiliul pentru accidente, Curtea de Asigurări și Curtea Supremă nu au desfășurat audieri orale. Curtea constată că, prin termeni săi, domeniul de aplicare al rezervării finlandeze a fost, în momentul respectiv, limitat la aliviarea, de exemplu. , Curtea de Asigurări și Curtea Supremă din obligația de a desfășura o ședință orală și, prin urmare, constată că rezerva a fost valabilă și aplicabilă Curții de Asigurări și Curții Supreme în acest caz (a se vedea Helle c. Finlanda , hotărârea din 19 decembrie 1997, Raportul hotărârilor și hotărârilor 1997 VIII, § 44; Tamminen și Tammelin c. Finlanda . , (dec.) nr. 3303/96, 28 septembrie 1999). În ceea ce privește Consiliul pentru Accident, Curtea constată că rezervarea nu a menționat-o în mod expres.
Nicio încălcare a articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție nu a fost constatată ca o audiere orală în fața Curții Supreme de Administrație nu ar fi fost suficientă pentru a satisface cerințele articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție într-o situație în care un organism judiciar inferior nu a avut o audiere orală (a se vedea hotărârea solicitată anterior, §§§) În mod asemănător, în acest caz, o obligație de a desfășura o audiere orală nu poate fi repusă în fața Curții de Asigurări sau a Curții Supreme în timpul substanței de valabilitate a rezervării pentru a compensa absența unei astfel de audieri într-o instanță mai mică în ordinea juridică internă. Prin urmare, Curtea respinge aceste plângeri ca fiind incompatibile ratione materiae în temeiul articolului 35 §§ 3 și 4 din Convenție.
În ceea ce privește presupusa lipsă de raționament a hotărârii Curții Supreme care refuză concediul de recurs, Curtea remarcă că o examinare în temeiul legislației finlandeze privind dacă permisul de recurs în fața Curții Supreme nu este acordată decât ca urmare a unei examinări privind îndeplinirea condițiilor prevăzute la capitolul 30 secțiunea 3, punctul 1 din Codul de Procedură Judiciară. Prin urmare, permisul de recurs al Curții Supreme finlandeze nu implică o determinare a drepturilor civile ale reclamantului în sensul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție (a se vedea T.H. și S.H.
c. Finlanda) , nr. 19823/92, hotărârea Comisiei din 9 februarie 1993, nedeclarată … În ceea ce privește plângerea reclamantului potrivit căreia durata procedurii a depășit un timp rezonabil, Curtea observă că Comitetul pentru accidente și-a emis decizia la 13 martie 1997, Tribunalul de Asigurări la 17 noiembrie 1998 și Curtea Supremă la 21 octombrie 1999. Dosarul nu indică în momentul în care cazul a devenit în suspensie în fața Comitetului pentru accidente; cu toate acestea, decizia atacată a societății de asigurări a fost datată 8 mai 1996. În aceste condiții, Curtea constată că nu există nicio încălcare a cerințelor de timp rezonabil prevăzute în art. 6 § 1 din Convenție și, în consecință, respinge această parte a cererii, vădit nefondat, în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ § 3 și 4 din Convenție.
Din aceste motive, Curtea decide în unanimitate să se suspende examinarea plângerilor reclamantei cu privire la lipsa raționării adecvate în deciziile Comitetului pentru accidente și ale Curții de Asigurări și necomunicarea presupusă a documentelor de către Tribunalul de Asigurări; declara restul cererii inadmisibilă.
FOURTH SECTION
PARTIAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 57793/00 by Hannu KUKKONEN against Finland The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 4 May 2004 as a Chamber composed of: Sir Nicolas Bratza , President , Mr M. Pellonpää , Mrs V. Strážnická , Mr J. Casadevall , Mr S. Pavlovschi , Mr J. Borrego Borrego , Mrs E. Fura-Sandström, judges and Mr M. O'Boyle , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 27 March 2000, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Hannu Kukkonen, is a Finnish national, who was born in 1967 and lives in Kuopio. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the applicant, may be summarised as follows. The applicant, a carpenter, sustained injuries in an accident at his working place on 31 January 1994. The fall caused a splinter fracture in his left elbow which later developed into degenerative arthritis.
The applicant received a disability pension ( tapaturmaeläke, olycksfallspension ) until 31 May 1996 from an insurance company. After the expiry of the disability pension the applicant applied for a continued pension from 1 June 1996. On 8 May 1996 the insurance company dismissed his application maintaining that the applicant's working capacity was now reduced by less than 10%. It further held that the applicant's inability to return to his previous profession as a carpenter was not based on the injury to his left arm, but on his neck and shoulder pains, which were not caused by the accident on 30 January 1994. The applicant appealed to the Accident Board ( tapaturmalautakunta, olycksfallsnämnden ) repeating his requests.
He relied on a medical opinion dated 13 May 1996 in which he was found to be unfit for carpentry work and another medical opinion dated 4 June 1996. He submitted two further medical opinions dated 28 June 1996 and 19 January 1996 respectively. The Accident Board rejected the appeal on 13 March 1997. It based its decision on section 18, subsection 2 of the Act on Accident Insurance ( tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lag om olycksfallsförsäkring ; 608/1948). It held that the medical opinions at its disposal showed that the strain tolerance of the applicant's left elbow was reduced and that he was incapable of full-time carpentry work. The applicant was however regarded as fit to work, for example as an electrician, which could after some training give him an equivalent income.
It was further stated that the applicant's neck and head pains were not caused by the accident on 30 January 1994 and that his working capacity on grounds of his elbow was reduced by less than 10% due to the said accident. The applicant appealed to the Insurance Court repeating his previous requests. He submitted some further evidence regarding the content and requirements of an electrician's work and requested on oral hearing, wishing to make submissions about his health condition and about the reliability of the evidence. The Insurance Court received several other documents, for example medical opinions, case histories of the applicant, x-rays and several statements from different quarters.
Both parties submitted further opinions. The Insurance Court rejected the applicant's request for an oral hearing and dismissed most of the applicant's appeal on 17 November 1998. It however changed the Accident Board's decision so as to grant the applicant a 100% disability pension for the period of 20 May to 19 June 1997. The Insurance Court held that proceedings before it were usually written and that taking into consideration the written evidence, there were no exceptional circumstances that would have required an oral hearing. It accepted the reasons given by the Accident Board and held that the new evidence did not call for a different conclusion. The applicant sought leave to appeal to the Supreme Court.
The Supreme Court refused the applicant leave to appeal on 21 October 1999. B. Relevant domestic law 1. Procedure Section 53, subsection 1 of the Act on Accident Insurance ( tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lag om olycksfallsförsäkring ; 608/1948) provides that appellate bodies in accident insurance matters are the Accident Board, the Insurance Court and the Supreme Court. Section 1 of the Decree on the Accident Board ( asetus tapaturmalautakunnasta, förordning om olycksfallsnämnden ; 839/1981) provides that the Accident Board functions as the first appeal instance in matters concerning obligatory accident insurances. Section 53 of the Act on Accident Insurance provides, inter alia , that on the Accident Board there are a full-time president, at least two vice-presidents and at least three lawyer and medical doctor members as well as at least six members representing labour unions.
The president, vice-presidents and other members bear the responsibility of a judge. Section 9, subsection 1 of the Insurance Court Act ( laki vakuutusoikeudesta, lag om försäkringsdomstolen ; 14/1958, as in force at the relevant time) provided that proceedings in the Insurance Court are written. The Insurance Court may, however, when there are exceptional reasons, decide to hold an oral hearing. Section 9, subsections 2 and 3 of the Insurance Court Act (as in force at the relevant time) contains provisions concerning, for example, witness examination before the Insurance Court. Subsection 4 provides that in other respects proceedings in the Insurance Court shall be governed by provisions applicable to district courts.
Chapter 24, section 15 of the Code of Judicial Procedure ( oikeudenkäymiskaari, rättegångbalken ; 4/1734, as in force at the relevant time) provided that a judgment must be reasoned. The judgment was required to indicate the facts and legal argumentation on which the decision was based. The judgment also has to contain an account of the reasoning which led the court to hold a disputed issue established or unsubstantiated. 2. Reservation According to the reservation made by Finland in accordance with Article 64 of the Convention, as in force at the relevant time, Finland could not guarantee a right to an oral hearing in so far as Finnish laws at the time of the events at issue did not provide such a right.
This applied, inter alia , to proceedings which were held before the Insurance Court as the court of final instance, in accordance with Section 9 of the Insurance Court Act (14/1958), and proceedings before the Supreme Court in accordance with Chapter 30, section 20, of the Code of Judicial Procedure. Finland withdrew the reservation on 1 April 1999. COMPLAINTS The applicant complains under Article 6 § 1 that: 1. the Accident Board did not properly reason its decision, as it did not indicate the evidence and findings of fact which led to rejection of the appeal.
He claims that the decision was illogical as the Accident Board first held that he was not fit to work as a carpenter but then concluded that his working capacity was reduced by less than 10% after 31 May 1996. He also complains about the lack of reasoning in the decision of the Insurance Court on the merits of the appeal claiming that he could not effectively appeal against the decision due to the inadequate reasoning and that the Insurance Court failed to communicate to him several relevant documents, including a memorandum, which had been submitted to it; 2. the Accident Board, the Insurance Court and the Supreme Court refused to hold an oral hearing; 3. the Supreme Court did not reason its decision not to grant leave to appeal; 4. the length of the proceedings exceeded a reasonable time as it took almost four years for the domestic authorities to issue a final decision in the matter, which was of utmost importance to him.
THE LAW 1. The applicant complains under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention that the Accident Board and the Insurance Court did not give reasoned decisions and that the Insurance Court failed to communicate to him several relevant documents, including a memorandum, which were submitted to the Insurance Court. Article 6 of the Convention, in so far as relevant, reads as follows: “1. In the determination of his civil rights and obligations or of any criminal charge against him, everyone is entitled to a fair and public hearing within a reasonable time by an independent and impartial tribunal established by law.” The Court considers that it cannot, on the basis of the case-file, determine the admissibility of these complaints and that it is therefore necessary, in accordance with Rule 54 § 2 (b) of the Rules of Court, to give notice of this part of the application to the respondent Government.
2. The applicant complains under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention (see above) that the Accident Board, the Insurance Court and the Supreme Court did not hold oral hearings. The Court notes that by its terms the scope of the Finnish reservation was, at the relevant time, limited to relieving, e.g. , the Insurance Court and Supreme Court from the obligation to hold an oral hearing and consequently finds that the reservation was valid and applicable to the Insurance Court and to the Supreme Court in the present case (see Helle v. Finland , judgment of 19 December 1997, Reports of Judgments and Decisions 1997 ‑ VIII, § 44; Tamminen and Tammelin v. Finland , (dec.) no. 33003/96, 28 September 1999). As regards the Accident Board the Court notes that the reservation did not expressly mention it.
It observes, however, that in Helle v. Finland no violation of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention was found as an oral hearing before the Supreme Administrative Court would have sufficed to satisfy the requirements of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention in a situation where a lower judicial body had not held an oral hearing (see the above-cited judgment, §§ 45- 47 and also the Commission's report of 15 October 1996, §§ 53-59). Similarly, in the present case, an obligation to hold an oral hearing cannot be re-imposed on the Insurance Court or the Supreme Court during the subsistence of the reservation's validity in order to compensate for the absence of such a hearing at a lower instance in the domestic legal order.
The Court accordingly rejects these complaints as incompatible ratione materiae pursuant to Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention. 3. As regards the alleged lack of reasoning of the Supreme Court's decision refusing leave to appeal, the Court notes that an examination under Finnish law as to whether leave to appeal to the Supreme Court shall be granted only amounts to an examination as to whether the conditions under Chapter 30, section 3, paragraph 1 of the Code of Judicial Procedure are fulfilled. It does not amount to an examination of the merits of the appeal. The leave to appeal examination by the Finnish Supreme Court did not, therefore, involve a determination of the applicant's civil rights within the meaning of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention (see T.H.
and S.H. v. Finland , no. 19823/92, Commission decision of 9 February 1993, unreported). It follows that this aspect of the complaint must be rejected as incompatible ratione materiae pursuant to Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention. 4. As regards the applicant's complaint that the length of the proceedings exceeded a reasonable time, the Court observes that the Accident Board issued its decision on 13 March 1997, the Insurance Court on 17 November 1998 and the Supreme Court on 21 October 1999. The case-file does not indicate when the case became pending before the Accident Board; however, the contested decision of the insurance company was dated 8 May 1996. In these circumstances the Court finds that there is no appearance of any violation of the reasonable time requirement in Article 6 § 1 of the Convention and it consequently rejects this part of the application as manifestly ill-founded pursuant to Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention.
For these reasons, the Court unanimously Decides to adjourn the examination of the applicant's complaints concerning the lack of adequate reasoning in the decisions of the Accident Board and the Insurance Court and the alleged non-communication of documents by the Insurance Court; Declares the remainder of the application inadmissible. Michael O'Boyle Nicolas Bratza Registrar President