- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 22 iunie 2004
- Stat pârât
- FIN
- Concluzia
- Partly inadmissible
Ilvesviita-Sallinen împotriva Finlandei
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE PARȚIONALĂ PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA cererii nr. 59578/00 de către Mirja ILVESVIITA-SALLINEN împotriva Finlandiei Curții Europene a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), ședința la 22 iunie 2004 în calitate de Cameră compusă din: Sir Nicolas Bratza Președintele Pellonpää Casadevill Pavlovschi Borrego Borrego dna Fura-Sandström Mijović, judecători și dl M. O’Boyle Grefierul Secțiunii Având în vedere cererea depusă la 4 iunie 2000, având deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Reclamantul, dna Mirja Ilvesviita-Sallinen, este un național finlandez, născut în 1942 și trăiește în Tampere. Nu este reprezentată în fața Curții. La 4 iulie 1994, reclamantul a avut un accident pe stradă și a suferit leziuni asupra capului și a umărului drept.
O societate de asigurări a acordat reclamantului o alocație zilnică (päiväraha, dagpenning ) pentru reducerea 100 % a capacității sale de muncă până la 3 iulie 1995 și a unei pensii de invaliditate ( tapaturmaeläke, olycksfallspension ) pentru reducerea 100 % a capacității de muncă de la 4 iulie 1995 la 29 februarie 1996. Prin decizia sa din 19 februarie 1996 societatea de asigurări a acordat reclamantului o pensie de invaliditate suplimentară pentru reducerea 100 % a capacității de muncă pentru martie 1996. În ceea ce privește perioada 1 aprilie 1996, Comisia a considerat că leziunile suferite în accident au redus capacitatea de lucru a reclamantului cu mai puțin de 10 %. Compania a afirmat că alte probleme medicale care determină reclamantul incapabil de a lucra nu au fost cauzate de acest accident.
De asemenea, a respins cererea de compensare a handicapului (haittaraha, menersättning ) întrucât a considerat că accidentul nu a cauzat o incapacitate permanentă a nivelului minim necesar pentru compensare. Reclamantul a apelat la Consiliul de Incidență (tapaturmalautanta, Olycksfallsnämnden La 1 iulie 1996, Consiliul de Incidență a respins recursul, având următoarele motive: „În conformitate cu art. 18a (1) din Legea privind asigurarea accidentului ( tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lagen om olycksfallsförsäkring, 608/1948) compensarea de invaliditate se plătește unui angajat, care nu are dreptul la o alocație zilnică și care, ca urmare a unui accident, a suferit o invaliditate generală permanentă datorită prejudiciului sau a unei boli.
O incapacitate generală trebuie considerată permanentă atunci când leziunile sau starea de boală nu vor îmbunătăți în funcție de probabilitatea medicală. Potrivit ... secțiunea 1 (1), cel mai scăzut nivel 1 invalid este aplicabil numai la leziunile oculare și de deget și boala. În ceea ce privește alte tipuri de leziuni, handicapurile care nu ating nivelul 2 nu pot fi evaluate datorită naturii lor minore. Potrivit informațiilor medicale prezentate în acest caz, reclamantul nu suferă de o incapacitate generală permanentă care atinge nivelul
Potrivit informațiilor prezentate în acest caz, zgârieturile pe fruntea reclamantului, tulpinile din umărul drept, antebrațul și articulația umărului reduce capacitatea de lucru cu mai puțin de 10 % după 31 martie 1996. Astfel, reclamantul nu are dreptul la o pensie de accident după data respectivă. În ceea ce privește leziunile suferite în accident, ea trebuie considerată potrivită pentru a lucra ca tipist și ca vânzător în propria ei companie începând cu 31 martie 1996. Incapacitatea reclamantului de a lucra și cheltuielile medicale începând cu 31 martie 1996 au fost cauzate de un complex cronic de simptome, depresie, insomnie și scolioză, care nu se referă la accident și care nu dă naștere la un drept de compensare a accidentelor… ” Reclamantul a apelat la Tribunalul de Asigurări ( vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen ), susținând, printre altele, că, , o pensie de invaliditate începând cu 1 aprilie 1996. Ea a subliniat, referindu-se la mai multe rapoarte medicale, că complexul simptomelor cronice a fost cauzat de accident. La 10 februarie 1998, Curtea de Asigurări a susținut decizia Comitetului pentru Accident, având următoarele motive: „Motivele menționate în hotărârea Comitetului pentru Accidenți. Noile dovezi prezentate nu dau naștere la concluzii diferite. Curtea de Asigurări constată, având în vedere noile dovezi, că deplasarea lamei de umăr nu a fost rezultată din accident și, prin urmare, nu dă naștere la un drept de compensare pe baza Legii privind asigurarea accidentului.” Reclamantul a solicitat să ceară recursul Curții Supreme, care a solicitat observații de la Consiliul Național de Afaceri Medicolegale și observații în răspunsul companiei de asigurări și al reclamantului. În acest moment, reclamantul a solicitat ca Curtea Supremă să desfășoare o audiere orală în vederea audierii medicului său H. Ea a dorit, de asemenea, să fie auzită în persoană. Prin decizia sa din 7 decembrie 1999, Curtea Supremă a refuzat să recurgă. După aceea, se pare că în iunie 2000, reclamantul a depus o cerere de anulare, printre altele, cu privire la dovada care nu a fost pusă la dispoziția instanțelor în cadrul procedurii anterioare. Ea solicită în audierea orală în vederea audierii medicilor ca martori. Ea a dorit, de asemenea, să fie auzită în persoană. Prin decizia din 3 mai 2001, Curtea Supremă a transferat cererea la Curtea de Asigurări. Prin decizia sa din 3 septembrie 2002, Curtea de Asigurări a refuzat cererea de audiere orală ca fiind, în mod evident, inutilă având în vedere caracterul procedurii de recurs extraordinar, a respins cererea de anulare, deoarece a considerat că nu există motive pentru reexaminarea cazului. La 10 iunie 2003, Curtea Supremă a refuzat să accepte recursul.Relativ la dreptul intern și practică Pensiunea de invaliditate Potrivit articolului 18a alineatul (1) din Legea privind asigurarea accidentelor (tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lagen om olycksfallsförsäkring, 608/1948) Compensarea pentru invaliditate se plătește unui angajat, care nu are dreptul la o alocație zilnică și care, ca urmare a unui accident, a suferit o incapacitate generală permanentă din cauza rănirii sau a unei boli. În conformitate cu art. 18 alineatul (2), o persoană are dreptul la o pensie pentru invaliditate, dacă capacitatea de muncă a fost redusă cu cel puțin 10 % din cauza unui prejudiciu sau a unei boli cauzate de un accident. Procedură Secțiunea 33 din Legea privind procedura judiciară în materie administrativă (halintolainkäyttölaki, förvaltningsproceslagen ; 586/1996) prevede că un organism de apel trebuie să se asigure că un caz este examinat în mod corespunzător. Subsecțiunea 2 prevede că un organism de apel trebuie să invite necesar material suplimentar al propunerii sale în cazul în care interesele justiției, egalitatea armelor sau natura cazului o impune. Secțiunea 34 alineatele (1) prevede că o parte trebuie să aibă posibilitatea de a-și da opinie cu privire la observațiile formulate de părți sau primite din alte surse și pe alte materiale care pot influența rezultatul acestei chestiuni. Secțiunea 53 alin. (1) din Legea privind asigurarea accidentelor prevede că organismele de apel în materie de asigurare a accidentelor sunt comitetul pentru accidente, Curtea de Asigurări și Curtea Supremă. Secțiunea 1 din Decretul privind Consiliul pentru accidente (asetus tapaturmalautakunnasta, förordningen om olycksfallsnämnden ; 839/1981) prevede că Comitetul pentru accidente funcționează ca prima instanță de recurs în materie de asigurare obligatorie a accidentului. Secțiunea 9 alineatul (1) din Legea Tribunalului de Asigurări (laki vakuutusoikeudesta, lagen om försäkringsdomstolen ; 14/1958, astfel cum este în vigoare la momentul respectiv) cu condiția să fie scrise procedurile în Curtea de Asigurări. În cazul în care au existat motive excepționale, Curtea de Asigurări a putut, totuși, să decidă să se desfășoare o audiere orală. Secțiunea 9 (2-3) conține dispoziții referitoare, de exemplu, la examinarea martorilor în fața Curții de Asigurări. Subsecțiunea 4 prevede că, în alte privințe, procedurile în cadrul Curții de Asigurări sunt reglementate de dispoziții aplicabile instanțelor de district. Capitolul 24, secțiunile 15 din Codul de Procedură Judiciară (oikeudenkäymiskaari, rättegångbalken ; 4/1734, astfel cum este în vigoare la momentul respectiv) cu condiția ca o hotărâre să fie motivată. A fost necesar ca aceasta să indice faptele și argumentarea juridică pe care s-a bazat decizia. Hotărârea a trebuit, de asemenea, să conțină un cont al raționării care a condus instanța să dețină o chestiune contestată stabilită sau nefondată. Rezervare la Convenția În conformitate cu rezerva făcută de Finlanda în conformitate cu art. 64 din Convenție, în conformitate cu art. 64 din Convenția în vigoare la momentul respectiv, Finlanda nu a putut garanta un drept la o audiere orală, în măsura în care legislația finlandeză în momentul evenimentelor în cauză nu a constituit un astfel de drept. , în fața Curții de Asigurări ca instanță de instanță finală, în conformitate cu art. 9 din Legea Curții de Asigurări (14/1958), și în fața Curții Supreme în conformitate cu capitolul 30 secțiunea 20 din Codul de Procedură Judiciară. Finlanda a retras rezervarea la 1 aprilie 1999. 1. Reclamantul se plânge că Tribunalul de Asigurări înainte de a hotărî cazul de la 10 februarie 1998 nu a informat-o că nu avea un bar tactil legat de un „testing themo” la dispoziția sa. 2. În plus, se plâng că Tribunalul de Asigurări nu i-a comunicat notițele suplimentare într-un raport medical scris de medicul său S.
Se plânge, de asemenea, că, înainte de a refuza permisiunea de recurs la 7 decembrie 1999, Curtea Supremă nu a solicitat observații suplimentare de la Consiliul Național de Afaceri Medicolegale după ce reclamantul a prezentat un raport medical de la medicul ei.
Reclamantul plânge, în plus, că Consiliul pentru Accident și Curtea de Asigurări nu au efectuat o audiere orală a propunerii lor și că Curtea Supremă a refuzat cererea de a se desfășura o astfel de audiere.
În plus, ea plânge că deciziile autorităților interne nu au fost motivate în mod corespunzător; în special, nu au reușit să raționeze în mod corespunzător motivul pentru care nu au luat în considerare rapoartele medicale care favorizează cazul reclamantului.
În cele din urmă, ea plânge că procedurile care s-au încheiat la 7 decembrie 1999 au fost extrem de lungi. Reclamantul invocă art. 6 § 1 din Convenție. Reclamantul afirmă încălcarea articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție, care prevede în parte relevantă: „În determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor sale civile ... fiecare are dreptul la o audiere corectă și publică într-un timp rezonabil ...” 1. În ceea ce privește plângerea conform căreia Curtea de Asigurări nu a informat reclamantul că nu a avut la dispoziție o bară tactilă în momentul hotărârii, Curtea constată că nu a reușit să demonstreze că s-a bazat pe testul în cauză ca probă. Curtea nu constată nici o indicație a deficiențelor din partea Tribunalului de Asigurări în legătură cu această chestiune. Rezultă că această plângere este evident nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 3 și 4 din Convenție. (2) Reclamantul se plâng că Curtea de Asigurări nu a comunicat notițele sale suplimentare într-un raport medical al medicului său S. Curtea consideră că, pe baza cazului, nu poate determina admisibilitatea acestei plângeri și că, prin urmare, este necesar, în conformitate cu art. 54 alineatul (2) litera (b) din Regulamentul de procedură, să anunțe această parte a cererii guvernului contestat. 3. Reclamantul se plâng că Curtea Supremă ar fi trebuit să solicite observații suplimentare de la Consiliul Național de Afaceri Medicolice. Curtea reamintește faptul că o examinare în temeiul legislației finlandeze privind dacă permisul de recurs la Curtea Supremă este acordat numai ca urmare a unei examinări privind dacă sunt îndeplinite condițiile prevăzute la capitolul 30 secțiunea 3 alineatul (1) din Codul de procedură judiciară, care nu constituie o examinare a meritelor apelului. Prin urmare, concediul de recurs de către Curtea Supremă nu implică o determinare a drepturilor civile ale reclamantului în sensul articolului 6 1 din Convenție (a se vedea T.H. și S.H. c. Finlanda , nr. 19823/92, hotărârea Comisiei din 9 februarie 1993, nepublicată). 3 și 4 din Convenție. Reclamantul se plânge că Consiliul pentru accidente, Curtea de Asigurări și Curtea Supremă nu au organizat audieri orale. Având în vedere termenele rezervării finlandeze, Curtea constată că domeniul de aplicare al acesteia era, în momentul respectiv, limitat la lichidarea, de exemplu. , Curtea de Asigurări și Curtea Supremă din obligația de a desfășura o ședință orală și, prin urmare, constată că rezerva a fost valabilă și aplicabilă Curții de Asigurări și Curtea Supremă în acest caz (a se vedea Helle c. Finlanda , hotărârea din 19 decembrie 1997, Raporturi de hotărâri și hotărâri 1997 VIII, § 44; Tamminen și Tammelin c. Finlanda , (dec.) nr. 33003/96, 28 septembrie 1999). În ceea ce privește comitetul pentru accidente, Curtea remarcă că rezerva nu a menținut în mod expres acest lucru. Cu toate acestea, observă că în Helle v. Finlanda Nicio încălcare a articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție nu a fost constatată ca o audiere orală în fața Curții Supreme de Administrație nu ar fi fost suficientă pentru a satisface cerințele articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție într-o situație în care un organism judiciar inferior nu a avut o audiere orală (a se vedea hotărârea solicitată anterior, §§§ 45-47 În mod asemănător, în acest caz, o obligație de a desfășura o audiere orală nu poate fi repusă în fața Curții de Asigurări sau a Curții Supreme în timpul vieții de susținere a valabilității rezervării pentru a compensa absența unei astfel de audieri într-o instanță mai mică în ordinea juridică internă. În consecință, Curtea respinge aceste plângeri ca fiind incompatibile ratione materiae în temeiul articolelor 35 3 și 4 din Convenție. 5 litera (a) Reclamantul se plâng că Consiliul pentru accidente și Curtea de Asigurări nu au dat decizii motivate adecvat. Curtea consideră că, pe baza cazului, nu poate determina admisibilitatea acestor plângeri și că, prin urmare, este necesar, în conformitate cu art. 54 alineatul (2) litera (b) din Regulamentul de procedură, să anunțe această parte a cererii guvernului contestat. 5 litera (b) În ceea ce privește lipsa raționării hotărârii Curții Supreme de a refuza concediul de recurs, Curtea reamintește că examinarea de către Curtea Supremă nu a implicat o determinare a drepturilor civile ale reclamantului în sensul articolului 6 1 din Convenție (a se vedea T.H. și S.H. c. Finlanda, citată mai sus). În conformitate cu articolele 35 3 și 4 din Convenție, în măsura în care reclamantul plânge că durata procedurii a depășit un timp rezonabil, Curtea observă că Consiliul pentru accidente și-a emis decizia la 1 iulie 1996, Tribunalul de Asigurări la 10 februarie 1998 și Curtea Supremă la 7 decembrie 1999. Dosarul nu indică în momentul în care cazul a devenit în suspensie în fața Comitetului pentru accidente: cu toate acestea, decizia atacată a societății de asigurări a fost datată 19 februarie 1996. În aceste circumstanțe, Curtea constată că nu există nici o indicație a nerespectării cerinței de timp rezonabil de la art. 6 § 1 din Convenție. Rezultă că această plângere este evident nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 3 și 4 din Convenție. Din aceste motive, Curtea hotărăște în unanimitate să suspende examinarea plângerilor reclamantei cu privire la presupusul necomunicare de către Curtea de Asigurări, precum și raționarea hotărârilor Comitetului pentru Accidenți și Curtea de Asigurări; restul cererii este inadmisibil. Președintele grefierului Michael O’Boyle Nicolas BRATZA
FOURTH SECTION
PARTIAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 59578/00 by Mirja ILVESVIITA-SALLINEN against Finland The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 22 June 2004 as a Chamber composed of: Sir Nicolas Bratza , President , Mr M. Pellonpää , Mr J. Casadevall , Mr S. Pavlovschi , Mr J. Borrego Borrego , Mrs E. Fura-Sandström , Ms L. Mijović, judges , and Mr M. O’Boyle , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 4 June 2000, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Mrs Mirja Ilvesviita-Sallinen, is a Finnish national, who was born in 1942 and lives in Tampere. She is not represented before the Court. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the applicant and as they appear from the documents, may be summarised as follows.
On 4 July 1994, the applicant had an accident in the street and suffered injuries to her head and right shoulder. An insurance company granted the applicant a daily allowance ( päiväraha, dagpenning ) for 100 % reduction of her working capacity until 3 July 1995 and a disability pension ( tapaturmaeläke, olycksfallspension ) for 100 % reduction of her working capacity from 4 July 1995 to 29 February 1996. By its decision of 19 February 1996 the insurance company granted the applicant a further disability pension for 100 % reduction of her working capacity for March 1996. As to the period 1 April 1996 onwards, it considered that the injuries sustained in the accident reduced the applicant’s working capacity by less than 10 %. The company alleged that other medical problems rendering the applicant incapable of working had not been caused by the said accident.
It also rejected the application for disability compensation ( haittaraha, menersättning ) as it considered that the accident had not caused a permanent disability of the minimum level required for compensation. The applicant appealed to the Accident Board ( tapaturmalautakunta, olycksfallsnämnden ). On 1 July 1996 the Accident Board rejected the appeal, giving the following reasons: “According to section 18a (1) of the Accident Insurance Act ( tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lagen om olycksfallsförsäkring, 608/1948) disability compensation shall be paid to an employee, who is not entitled to a daily allowance and who as a result of an accident has suffered a permanent general disability due to injury or illness.
A general disability is to be considered as permanent when the injury or the state of illness will not improve according to medical probability. According to ... section 1 (1), the lowest level 1 disability is applicable only to eye and finger injury and illness. As to other kinds of injury, disabilities that do not attain level 2 cannot be assessed due to their minor nature. According to the medical information presented in the case, the applicant is not suffering from a permanent general disability attaining level
According to the information presented in the case, the scratches on the applicant’s forehead, the strain in her right shoulder, forearm and shoulder joint reduce the working capacity by less than 10 % after 31 March 1996. Thus, the applicant is not entitled to an accident pension after that date. As for the injuries sustained in the accident, she is to be considered to be fit to work as a typist and a salesperson in her own company as from 31 March 1996. The applicant’s incapacity to work and the medical expenses as from 31 March 1996 have been caused by a chronic symptom complex, depression, insomnia and scoliosis, which do not relate to the accident and which do not give rise to an entitlement to accident compensation… ” The applicant appealed to the Insurance Court ( vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen ), claiming, inter alia , a disability pension as from 1 April 1996. She underlined, referring to several medical reports, that the chronic symptom complex was caused by the accident. On 10 February 1998 the Insurance Court upheld the Accident Board’s decision, giving the following reasons: “The reasons mentioned in the Accident Board’s decision. The submitted new evidence does not give rise to different conclusions. The Insurance Court finds, having regard to the new evidence, that the displacement of the shoulder blade did not result from the accident and therefore it does not give rise to an entitlement to compensation based on the Accident Insurance Act.” The applicant sought leave to appeal from the Supreme Court, which requested observations from the National Board of Medicolegal Affairs and observations in reply from the insurance company and the applicant. At this point the applicant requested that the Supreme Court hold an oral hearing with a view to hearing her physician H. She also wanted to be heard in person. The applicant filed several further submissions. By its decision of 7 December 1999 the Supreme Court refused leave to appeal. Subsequently, apparently in June 2000, the applicant lodged an application for an annulment, inter alia , on the strength of evidence that had not been at the courts’ disposal during the previous proceedings. She requested on oral hearing with a view to hearing physicians as witnesses. She also wanted to be heard in person. By its decision of 3 May 2001 the Supreme Court transferred the application to the Insurance Court. By its decision of 3 September 2002 the Insurance Court, refusing the request for on oral hearing as manifestly unnecessary having regard to the character of extraordinary appeal proceedings, rejected the application for an annulment as it considered that there were no grounds for re-examining the case. The applicant sought leave to appeal, maintaining that she had the right to an oral hearing. On 10 June 2003 the Supreme Court refused leave to appeal. B. Relevant domestic law and practice 1. Disability pension According to section 18a (1) of the Accident Insurance Act ( tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lagen om olycksfallsförsäkring, 608/1948) disability compensation shall be paid to an employee, who is not entitled to a daily allowance and who as a result of an accident has suffered a permanent general disability due to injury or illness. Pursuant to section 18 (2) a person is entitled to a disability pension, if her working capacity has been reduced by at least 10 % due to an injury or an illness caused by an accident. 2. Procedure Section 33 of the Act on Judicial Procedure in Administrative Matters ( hallintolainkäyttölaki, förvaltningsprocesslagen ; 586/1996) provides that an appellate body must ensure that a case is examined properly. Subsection 2 provides that an appellate body must invite necessary further material of its own motion when the interests of justice, equality of arms or the nature of the case so require. Section 34 (1) provides that a party must be afforded a possibility to give her opinions on submissions made by parties or received from other sources and on other material which may influence the outcome of the matter. Section 53 (1) of the Accident Insurance Act provides that appellate bodies in accident insurance matters are the Accident Board, the Insurance Court and the Supreme Court. Section 1 of the Decree on the Accident Board ( asetus tapaturmalautakunnasta, förordningen om olycksfallsnämnden ; 839/1981) provides that the Accident Board functions as the first appeal instance in matters concerning obligatory accident insurance. Section 9 (1) of the Insurance Court Act ( laki vakuutusoikeudesta, lagen om försäkringsdomstolen ; 14/1958, as in force at the relevant time) provided that proceedings in the Insurance Court were written. When there were exceptional reasons, the Insurance Court could however decide to hold an oral hearing. Section 9 (2-3) contained provisions concerning, e.g., witness examination before the Insurance Court. Subsection 4 provided that in other respects proceedings in the Insurance Court were governed by provisions applicable to district courts. Chapter 24, section 15 of the Code of Judicial Procedure ( oikeudenkäymiskaari, rättegångbalken ; 4/1734, as in force at the relevant time) provided that a judgment should be reasoned. It was required that it indicate the facts and legal argumentation on which the decision was based. The judgment also had to contain an account of the reasoning which led the court to hold a disputed issue established or unsubstantiated.
Reservation to the Convention According to the reservation made by Finland in accordance with Article 64 of the Convention, as in force at the relevant time, Finland could not guarantee a right to an oral hearing in so far as Finnish laws at the time of the events at issue did not provide such a right. This applied, inter alia , to proceedings which were held before the Insurance Court as the court of final instance, in accordance with section 9 of the Insurance Court Act (14/1958), and proceedings before the Supreme Court in accordance with chapter 30, section 20 of the Code of Judicial Procedure. Finland withdrew the reservation on 1 April 1999. COMPLAINTS 1. The applicant complains that the Insurance Court prior to deciding the case on 10 February 1998 failed to inform her that it did not have a tactile bar chart relating to a “thermo test” at its disposal. 2. In addition, she complains that the Insurance Court failed to communicate to her additional notes in a medical report written by her physician S. 3. She also complains that prior to refusing leave to appeal on 7 December 1999 the Supreme Court did not request additional observations from the National Board of Medicolegal Affairs after the applicant had submitted a medical report from her physician.
The applicant furthermore complains that the Accident Board and the Insurance Court did not hold an oral hearing of their own motion and that the Supreme Court refused her request that such a hearing be held.
Moreover, she complains that the decisions by the domestic authorities were not duly reasoned. In particular, they failed to reason adequately why they had disregarded the medical reports favouring the applicant’s case.
Finally, she complains that the proceedings that ended on 7 December 1999 were exceedingly long. The applicant invokes Article 6 § 1 of the Convention. THE LAW The applicant alleges violations of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention, which provides in relevant part: “In the determination of his civil rights and obligations ... everyone is entitled to a fair and public hearing within a reasonable time ...” 1. As to the complaint that the Insurance Court failed to inform the applicant that it did not have a tactile bar chart at its disposal when deciding the case, the Court notes that she has failed to show that she relied on the test in question as evidence. The Court finds no indication of any shortcomings by the Insurance Court in relation to this issue. It follows that this complaint is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention. 2. The applicant complains that the Insurance Court failed to communicate to her additional notes in a medical report by her physician S. The Court considers that it cannot, on the basis of the case file, determine the admissibility of this complaint and that it is therefore necessary, in accordance with Rule 54 § 2 (b) of the Rules of Court, to give notice of this part of the application to the respondent Government. 3. The applicant complains that the Supreme Court should have requested further observations from the National Board of Medicolegal Affairs. The Court recalls that an examination under Finnish law as to whether leave to appeal to the Supreme Court shall be granted only amounts to an examination as to whether the conditions under chapter 30, section 3 (1) of the Code of the Judicial Procedure are fulfilled. It does not amount to an examination of the merits of the appeal. The leave to appeal examination by the Supreme Court did not, therefore, involve a determination of the applicant’s civil rights within the meaning of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention (see T.H. and S.H. v. Finland , no. 19823/92, Commission decision of 9 February 1993, unpublished). It follows that this complaint must be rejected as incompatible ratione materiae pursuant to Article 35 § 3 and 4 of the Convention. 4. The applicant complains that the Accident Board, the Insurance Court and the Supreme Court did not hold oral hearings. Having regard to the terms of the Finnish reservation, the Court notes that the scope of it was, at the relevant time, limited to relieving, e.g. , the Insurance Court and Supreme Court from the obligation to hold an oral hearing and consequently finds that the reservation was valid and applicable to the Insurance Court and Supreme Court in the present case (see Helle v. Finland , judgment of 19 December 1997, Reports of Judgments and Decisions 1997 ‑ VIII, § 44; Tamminen and Tammelin v. Finland , (dec.) no. 33003/96, 28 September 1999). As regards the Accident Board, the Court notes that the reservation did not expressly mention it. It observes, however, that in Helle v. Finland no violation of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention was found as an oral hearing before the Supreme Administrative Court would have sufficed to satisfy the requirements of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention in a situation where a lower judicial body had not held an oral hearing (see the above-cited judgment, §§ 45-47 and also the Commission’s report of 15 October 1996, §§ 53-59). Similarly, in the present case, an obligation to hold an oral hearing cannot be re-imposed on the Insurance Court or the Supreme Court during the subsistence of the reservation’s validity in order to compensate for the absence of such a hearing at a lower instance in the domestic legal order. The Court accordingly rejects these complaints as incompatible ratione materiae pursuant to Article 35 § 3 and 4 of the Convention. 5 (a) The applicant complains that the Accident Board and the Insurance Court did not give adequately reasoned decisions. The Court considers that it cannot, on the basis of the case file, determine the admissibility of these complaints and that it is therefore necessary, in accordance with Rule 54 § 2 (b) of the Rules of Court, to give notice of this part of the application to the respondent Government. 5 (b) As regards the lack of reasoning of the Supreme Court’s decision to refuse leave to appeal, the Court recalls that the examination by the Supreme Court did not involve a determination of the applicant’s civil rights within the meaning of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention (see T.H. and S.H. v. Finland , cited above). It follows that this complaint must be rejected as incompatible ratione materiae pursuant to Article 35 § 3 and 4 of the Convention. 6. Insofar as the applicant complains that the length of the proceedings exceeded a reasonable time, the Court observes that the Accident Board issued its decision on 1 July 1996, the Insurance Court on 10 February 1998 and the Supreme Court on 7 December 1999. The case-file does not indicate when the case became pending before the Accident Board: however, the contested decision of the insurance company was dated 19 February 1996. In these circumstances the Court finds that there is no indication of a failure to comply with the reasonable time requirement in Article 6 § 1 of the Convention. It follows that this complaint is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court unanimously Decides to adjourn the examination of the applicant’s complaints concerning alleged non-communication by the Insurance Court and the reasoning of the Accident Board’s and the Insurance Court’s decisions; Declares the remainder of the application inadmissible. Michael O’Boyle Nicolas BRATZA Registrar President