- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 16 martie 2000
- Stat pârât
- FIN
- Concluzia
- Partly admissible
- Partly inadmissible
K.P. împotriva Finlandei
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE PRIVIND ADMINISIBILitatea cererii nr. 31764/96 de către K.P. împotriva Finlandiei Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care a stat la 16 martie 2000 în calitate de Cameră compusă de G. Ress, Președinte, M. Pellonpää, I. Cabral Barreto, V. Butkevych, dna N. Vajić, J. Hedigan, dna S. Botoucharova, judecători și V. Berger, grefierul secțiunii având în vedere cererea de mai sus introdusă la Comisia Europeană a Drepturilor Omului la 24 ianuarie 1996 și înregistrată la 6 iunie 1996, având în vedere art. 5 § 2 din Protocolul nr. 11 la Convenție, prin care competența de a examina cererea a fost transferată Curții, Având în vedere observațiile prezentate de guvernul contestat și observațiile prezentate în răspuns de solicitant, după ce a deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Reclamantul, un cetățean finlandez născut în 1941, rezidă în Merikarto, Finlanda.
Circumstanțe speciale ale cazului Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Procedura în temeiul legislației privind asigurarea accidentului La 22 februarie 1991, reclamantul a suferit o leziune de whicklash la gât ca urmare a unui accident de trafic. Compania sa de asigurare P i-a plătit o indemnitate de invaliditate până la 31 august 1991. La 22 octombrie 1991, compania de asigurare a refuzat o indemnitate suplimentară, având în vedere că incapacitatea sa ulterioară la 31 august 1991 a fost cauzată de alte boli fizice din care suferise înaintea accidentului. ) a respins recursul reclamantului la 4 martie 1992 după ce a obținut un aviz de la societatea de asigurări.
Acest aviz nu a fost comunicat reclamantului și nu a fost reprodus sau rezumat în decizia respectivă. Consiliul pentru compensarea accidentelor a constatat că incapacitatea și cheltuielile medicale ale reclamantului au fost cauzate de bolile din care a suferit deja înaintea accidentului, și anume durerea musculară, simptomele cauzate de o operațiune de ulcer gaztric și un gât încordat. Reclamantul apel suplimentar la Tribunalul de Asigurări (vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen ) a fost respins la 3 noiembrie 1992 după ce a obținut un aviz de la societatea de asigurări. Acest aviz nu a fost din nou comunicat reclamantului, și nu a fost reprodus sau rezumat în decizia Tribunalului de asigurări.
În plus față de motivele invocate de Consiliul pentru compensare a accidentelor, Curtea de Asigurări a constatat că durerile de cap și depresia reclamantului nu au putut fi considerate nici ca urmare a accidentului de trafic. Curtea Supremă (korkein oikeus, högsta domstolen ) a refuzat să facă apel la 12 martie 1993. Succesiv, reclamantul a solicitat din nou companiei de asigurare pentru o indemnitate de invaliditate, care se bazează acum pe un raport medical din 25 decembrie 1993 care a considerat că nu a putut lucra. Această cerere a fost respinsă la 3 martie 1994, societatea de asigurare a constatat în esență că starea medicală a sa a rămas nemodificată de la decizia Tribunalului de Asigurări din 3 noiembrie 1992. Avizul reclamantului a fost respins de Consiliu pentru compensare a accidentelor la 11 octombrie 1994, după ce a solicitat un aviz de la societatea de asigurări.
Acest aviz nu a fost comunicat reclamantului, ci a fost reprodus după cum urmează în decizia: „Societatea de asigurări este de părere că [reziduul reclamantului], cauzat de accidentul de trafic la 22 februarie 1991, nu a avut ca rezultat un grad de invaliditate de cel puțin 10 % după 31 august 1991. Avizul din 27 ianuarie 1995 nu a fost comunicat reclamantului și nu a fost reprodus sau rezumat în hotărârea Tribunalului de Asigurări. Avizul din 27 ianuarie 1995 a citit după cum urmează: „Vă rugăm să găsiți, în schimb, cererea [pentru un aviz] în cazul în care nu… Atașăm documentele și ne exprimăm ca opinie că apelul [reclamantului] nu justifică nicio modificare a deciziei contestate. Răzbunarea cauzată de accidentul din 22 februarie 1991 are dreptul [reclamantului] la compensare.
Scăderea capacității de a lucra este sub 10 % după 31 august 1991. Incapacitatea [aplicantului] și cheltuielile medicale [incurtate] după data menționată sunt cauzate de factori care nu sunt asociați cu accidentul. [Reclamantul] nu are dreptul la compensare în temeiul Legii privind asigurarea accidentului [tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lagen om olycksfallsförsäkring 608/1948] pentru durerea musculară, simptomele cauzate de o operație ulceratică gastrica și un gât tens. Noi solicităm ca Curtea de Asigurare să respingă recursul.” Nu mai există niciun recurs obișnuit deschis reclamantului. Procedințe în temeiul legislației privind pensiile (a) Solicitările din cadrul regimului de pensii bazat pe ocuparea forței de muncă Societatea de asigurare a reclamantului i-am respins cererea de pensie de invaliditate la 3 martie 1992, după ce a constatat că nu a fost dezactivată în sensul legislației privind pensiile bazate pe ocuparea forței de muncă.
După ce a reamintit dreptul intern, societatea de asigurare a fost motivată după cum urmează: „Ai lucrat ca asistent de laborator de 21 de ani, îndeplinind sarcini precum manipularea și sterilizarea instrumentelor, organizarea zonelor de primire, trimiterea eșantioanelor și asistența, printre altele, a medicilor. Potrivit propriului dvs. declarație, fibromiozită a fost împiedicarea munca pentru o lungă perioadă de timp. În plus, ați suferit de simptome cauzate de leziunile gâtului, precum și de dureri de cap continue, greață, tulburări de echilibru și depresie. Potrivit dovezilor din fața noastră în ceea ce privește starea de sănătate, ați avut dureri de cap și alte simptome după suferirea unei leziuni de whicklash.
Sunteți, de asemenea, deprimat, dar nu suferiți de nici o boală mentală de semnificație la capacitatea dumneavoastră de a lucra. Pe baza evaluării noastre bolile dumneavoastră sunt de natură minoră și sunteți suficient de capabili să îndeplinească sarcini remunerate corespunzător lucrării tale anterioare. În consecință, nu puteți fi considerați dezactivați în sensul legii privind pensiile bazate pe ocuparea forței de muncă. În consecință, cererea dumneavoastră este respinsă.” Eläkelautakunta, pensionsnämnden ) a fost respinsă la 1 septembrie 1992 după ce a obținut un aviz de la societatea de asigurări. Acest aviz nu a fost comunicat reclamantului, nici nu a fost reprodus sau rezumat în decizia Consiliului de pensii.
Consiliul de pensii a susținut decizia societății de asigurări, referindu-se la motivele în cauză și constatând că dovada suplimentară privind starea de sănătate a reclamantului nu a justificat nicio modificare a evaluării capacității ei de a lucra. Reclamantul a apelat în continuare la Curtea de Asigurări, adăugând rapoarte medicale proaspete. Curtea de Asigurări a obținut un aviz de la societatea de asigurări. Acest aviz nu a fost comunicat reclamantului și nu a fost reprodus sau rezumat în decizia Tribunalului de Asigurări din 6 mai 1993 de respingere a recursului. Societatea de asigurare a reclamantului a respins cererea de pensie reînnoită la 3 martie 1994, referindu-se la decizia sa anterioară și constatând că noile dovezi aducute nu justifică nicio modificare a poziției societății de asigurare.
Apelul reclamantului la Consiliul de Pensiune a fost respins la 29 iunie 1994, după ce a obținut un aviz de la societatea de asigurări. Avizul său din 11 aprilie 1994 a citit după cum urmează: „Reclamantul a apelat împotriva deciziei din 3 martie 1994 de a respinge solicitarea de pensie de invaliditate. În opinia noastră [depunerea reclamantului ] nu poate fi considerată imposibilă de a lucra în sensul legislației privind pensia de invaliditate [pentru ocuparea forței de muncă], din motivele menționate în [decizia noastră] și nici nu au fost aduse astfel de dovezi noi în sprijinul apelului care ar schimba poziția noastră în ceea ce privește capacitatea ei de a lucra. În opinia noastră, apelul [de reclamantul] ar trebui respins.” Acest aviz nu a fost comunicat reclamantului, nici nu a fost reprodus sau rezumat în decizia Consiliului de pensii.
În decizia sa, Consiliul de pensii a făcut referire la motivele invocate în decizia societății de asigurări și a constatat că dovada suplimentară privind starea de sănătate a reclamantului nu justifică nicio modificare în evaluarea capacității ei de a lucra. Reclamantul a apelat în continuare la Curtea de Asigurări care a solicitat, de asemenea, un aviz de la societatea de asigurări. Avizul său din 17 august 1994 a citit după cum urmează: „Vă rugăm să găsiți apelul reclamantului la Curtea de Asigurări cu documentele pe dosar. În ceea ce privește documentele anterioare ne referim la reintegrarea noastră la Consiliul de Pensiuni.
Având în vedere că nu s-a adăugat nicio altă dovadă relevantă care să afecteze această chestiune în sprijinul recursului, [a] ar trebui să fie respinsă în opinia noastră.” Avizul nu a fost comunicat reclamantului și nu a fost reprodus sau rezumat în decizia Tribunalului de Asigurări din 14 septembrie 1995 prin care recursul reclamantului a fost respins. Curtea de Asigurări a considerat, având în vedere dovezile aducute, că capacitatea reclamantului de a lucra nu a fost atât de redusă încât să-i dea eligibilitatea pentru o pensie de invaliditate pe bază de ocupare a forței de muncă.
(b) Cerințele din cadrul sistemului național de pensii Reclamantul pentru o pensie națională de invaliditate au fost respinse de Instituția de Securitate Socială ( Kansaneläkelaitos, folkpensionsanstalten ) la 25 martie 1992. Instituția de Securitate Socială a reamintit, printre altele , că în temeiul Legii Naționale a Pensiunii (kansaneläkelaki, folkpensionslagen 347/1956), o persoană care nu a fost în măsură să își continue activitatea sau să își asume sarcini similare avea dreptul la o pensie națională de invaliditate. Regard trebuia să fie avută în vedere vârsta persoanei, competențele profesionale și capacitatea ei de a îndeplini sarcini profesionale adecvate care să garanteze o substanță rezonabilă.
Instituția de Securitate Socială a constatat că, deși reclamantul încă suferă de simptome cauzate de leziunile gâtului, dureri de cap și alte simptome, precum și depresia ei, nu i-au provocat astfel de neplăceri ca să-i facă incapabil să continue munca ca asistent de laborator atunci când nu mai este eligibilă pentru o alocație zilnică în temeiul Legii Naționale privind Asigurarea Sănătății. La 7 august 1992, apelul reclamantului la Consiliul de Apărare pentru Asigurări Sociale (tarkastuslautanta, prövningsnämnden; „Consiliul de Apel”) a fost respins după ce a solicitat un aviz de la Instituția de Securitate Socială. Acest aviz nu a fost comunicat reclamantului, nici nu a fost reprodus sau rezumat în decizia Consiliului de Apelare.
Reclamantul a apelat în continuare la Curtea de Asigurări care a obținut un aviz suplimentar de la Instituția de Securitate Socială. Acesta a remarcat faptul că nu au fost aduse dovezi suplimentare care să justifice o modificare a deciziei sale. Acest aviz nu a fost comunicat reclamantului, nici nu a fost reprodus sau rezumat în decizia Tribunalului de Asigurări din 24 mai 1993 de respingere a recursului. Curtea de Asigurări a făcut referire la motivele invocate în decizia Consiliului de apel și a constatat că probele proaspete prezentate nu solicită nici o modificare a evaluării capacității de lucru ale reclamantului. Solicitarea reînnoită a reclamantului pentru o pensie națională de invaliditate a fost respinsă de Instituția de Securitate Socială la 18 aprilie 1994. Instituția de Securitate Socială a constatat că reclamantul suferă de durere la gât și la umăr, rigiditate, dureri, depresie și insomnie.
Capacitatea ei de a funcționa fizic a fost totuși satisfăcător. Având în vedere starea ei generală de sănătate, a fost capabilă să continue să lucreze ca asistent de laborator sau să îndeplinească sarcini similare. În consecință, nu a putut fi considerată invalidă în sensul Legii Naționale a Pensiunii. La 15 decembrie 1994, apelul reclamantului la Consiliul de Apelare a fost respins după ce a solicitat un aviz de la Instituția de Securitate Socială. Acest aviz nu a fost comunicat reclamantului și nu a fost reprodus sau rezumat în decizia Consiliului de Apelare. Consiliul de apel a considerat, în lumina tuturor dovezilor medicale și a altor dovezi, că reclamantul nu a fost considerat invalid în sensul Legii Naționale a Pensiunii.
Reclamantul a apelat în continuare la Curtea de Asigurări, adăugând rapoarte medicale suplimentare. Curtea de Asigurări a obținut un aviz de la Instituția de Securitate Socială care a fost datată 27 martie 1995 și a citit după cum urmează: „Vă rugăm să găsiți documentele transmise împreună cu cererea dumneavoastră [pentru un aviz], precum și dosarul cu privire la solicitant. Instituția de Securitate Socială este de părere că nu a fost adăugat niciun alt element de probă după decizia [consiliului de apel] care ar justifica o modificare a deciziei [a contestat]. Apelul ar trebui respins.” Avizul nu a fost comunicat reclamantului, nici nu a fost reprodus sau rezumat în decizia Tribunalului de Asigurări din 18 septembrie 1995, prin care recursul reclamantului a fost respins.
a făcut referire la motivele invocate în decizia Consiliului de apel și a constatat că probele proaspete prezentate nu au solicitat nicio modificare a evaluării capacităților reclamantului de a lucra. Nu există niciun recurs suplimentar deschis. Legea internă relevantă În momentul în care Tribunalul de Asigurări a aplicat în principal principiile derivate din regulamentul de procedură al instanțelor de recurs. În măsura în care este relevant, codul de procedură judiciară a fost prevăzut după cum urmează. În conformitate cu capitolul 25, secțiunea 17-20, partea opozitivă a fost ascultată în cadrul procedurii de acuzare. În conformitate cu capitolul 25, secțiunea 19, secțiunea 1, o copie a observațiilor părții opozitoare a fost transmisă recurentei la cerere.
În conformitate cu capitolul 26, secțiunea 6, instanța de recurs a fost de a solicita observații scrise de la părți atunci când a obținut dovezi din proprie inițiativă și astfel de dovezi ar putea afecta decizia în acest caz, cu excepția cazului în care această audiere a părților a fost, în mod evident, inutilă. De la 1 aprilie 1999, Curtea de Asigurări aplică Actul de procedură judiciară administrativă ( Salintolainkäyttölaki, förvaltningsproceslagen 586/1996) cu excepția procedurilor extraordinare, în ceea ce privește care se aplică norme speciale (art. 9 din Actul privind Tribunalul de Asigurări, astfel cum a fost modificat de Legea nr. 278/1999).
În temeiul Actului privind publicitatea documentelor publice în vigoare la momentul respectiv (laki yleisten asiakirjain julkisuudesta, lagen om allmänna manipulars offentlighet 83/1951) documentele elaborate și emise de o autoritate, sau care au fost depuse unei autorități și care încă erau în posesia acestei autorități, erau publice (secțiunea 2, subsecțiunea 1). O excepție la reglementarea publicității depline a fost făcută, printre altele , pentru rapoartele medicale și similare, care au fost accesibile publicului numai cu consimțământul persoanei cu care se referă (secțiunea 17). Refuzul accesului la un document ar putea fi prezentat pentru reexaminare de către autoritatea care respinge acest acces, în urma cărora există un recurs în temeiul normelor generale privind recursul împotriva unei decizii ale autorității respective.
Dacă nu există niciun drept de recurs în temeiul unor astfel de norme generale, ar putea fi interzis un recurs la autoritatea superioară. În cazul în care nu există o astfel de autoritate, ar putea fi interzis un recurs împotriva hotărârii unei autorități de stat la Curtea Supremă de Administrație. Începând cu 1 decembrie 1999, Legea privind publicitatea documentelor publice a fost înlocuită cu Legea privind publicitatea activităților autorităților publice (laki viranomaisten toiminnan julkisuudesta, lagen om offentlighet i myndigheternas verksamhet 621/1999). COMPLAINTĂ Reclamantul se plânge de refuzul cererilor sale de o alocație continuă pentru invaliditate și pensie. Curtea de Asigurări nu i-a comunicat avizele obținute de la companiile de asigurări și de la Instituția de Securitate Socială.
În plus, Curtea de Asigurări nu a luat în considerare opiniile medicale din partea medicilor ei, care au estimat nivelul handicapului ei la 30%. În schimb, Curtea de Asigurări Se bazează pe societățile de asigurare și pe propriile sale medici, care nu au examinat niciodată persoana reclamantului, însă și-au estimat handicapul la mai puțin de 10%. Reclamantul nu invocă nicio dispoziție particulară a Convenției. PROCEDURĂ Cererea a fost introdusă înaintea Comisiei Europene a Drepturilor Omului la 24 ianuarie 1996 și înregistrată la 6 iunie 1996. La 1 noiembrie 1998, prin aplicarea articolului 5 § 2 din Protocolul nr. 11 la Convenție, cazul a scăzut să fie examinat de către Curte în conformitate cu dispozițiile acestui protocol.
La 17 noiembrie 1998, Curtea a hotărât să comunice cererea la guvernul contestat. Observațiile scrise ale Guvernului au fost depuse la 9 ianuarie 1999. Reclamantul a răspuns la 17 martie 1999. Reclamantul se plânge de refuzul cererilor sale de indemnizare continuă de invaliditate și de pensie. Curtea de asigurări nu i-a comunicat avizele obținute de la societățile de asigurări și Instituția de Securitate Socială.
În plus , Curtea de Asigurări nu a luat în considerare opiniile medicale oferite de propriii medici, se bazează în schimb pe medicii societăților de asigurări și pe medicii proprii din Curtea de Asigurări , care nu au examinat-o în persoană . Guvernul susține că cererea este, vădit nefondată în ceea ce privește procedurile care se încheie la 14 septembrie, 18 septembrie și, respectiv, 20 octombrie 1995. Ei recunosc că Curtea de Asigurări nu a comunicat avizele societăților de asigurare și ale instituțiilor de securitate socială reclamantului înainte de a hotărî apelurile sale. Cu toate acestea, dreptul reclamantului la compensare în temeiul Legii privind asigurarea accidentelor a fost examinat de două ori de către societatea sa de asigurare P, de Consiliul de compensare a accidentelor, precum și de Curtea de Asigurări și o dată de Curtea Supremă.
Prin urmare, reclamantul a putut contesta poziția societății de asigurări și a Consiliului de compensare a accidentelor, atât în primul set de proceduri care se încheie la 12 martie 1993, cât și în al doilea set de proceduri care se încheie cu decizia Tribunalului de asigurări din 20 octombrie 1995. Avizul obținut de Curtea de Asigurări în a doua serie de proceduri nu conținea astfel de dovezi suplimentare care ar fi afectat rezultatul apelului reclamantului.
Prin urmare, necomunicarea acestui aviz nu a afectat capacitatea reclamantului de a contesta decizia Consiliului de compensare a accidentelor din 11 octombrie 1994. În ceea ce privește procedura privind dreptul reclamantului la o pensie de invaliditate pe bază de ocupare a forței de muncă, Guvernul susține că avizul societății de asigurări I pe care Tribunalul de asigurări nu a comunicat reclamantului doar a adresat avizului anterior al societății de asigurări Consiliului de pensii pe care reclamantul a putut contesta. În ceea ce privește procedura privind dreptul reclamantului la o pensie națională de invaliditate, Guvernul susține că avizul necomunicat al Instituției de Securitate Socială a exprimat doar opinia că reclamantul nu a determinat niciun astfel de element de probă care ar afecta rezultatul cazului.
Guvernul se întreabă dacă o astfel de declarație a constituit „un aviz motivat cu privire la fondul apelului”, precum și în cazul Nideröst-Huber (decizia din 18 februarie 1997, Raporturi de hotărâri și decizii 1997-I). În orice caz, reclamantul a putut contesta, în apelul său la Curtea de Asigurări, poziția instituției de securitate socială, astfel cum a fost menționat deja la Consiliul de apel. În resume, Guvernul susține că poziția societăților de asigurări și a altor persoane implicate în procedurile dinainte de Curtea de asigurări care s-a încheiat în septembrie și octombrie 1995 era deja cunoscută de reclamant. Avizele necomunicate nu includeu informații care erau noi pentru ea sau care nu puteau fi obținute prin consultarea dosarelor de caz ale autorităților relevante.
Având în vedere procedura în ansamblu, reclamantul nu a fost, prin urmare, negat o audiere echitabilă în sensul articolului 6 § 1 din convenție. Curtea reamintește că, în temeiul articolului 35 § 1 din Convenție, nu se poate aborda decât o chestiune după epuizarea tuturor măsurilor interne, în conformitate cu normele de drept internațional recunoscute în general și într-o perioadă de șase ani. În consecință, în măsura în care plângerile reclamantului pot fi interpretate ca fiind referite la cele trei seturi de proceduri care se încheie în 1993, acestea au fost depășite. În consecință, această parte a cererii trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 § 4 din Convenție.
(ii) Curtea a examinat restul cererii în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție care citește, în măsura în care este relevant, după cum urmează: "În determinarea drepturilor sale civile ..., fiecare are dreptul la o audiere echitabilă ... de către un tribunal independent și imparțial instituit prin lege… " Reclamantul s-a plâns că Curtea de Asigurări nu i-a comunicat avizele obținute de societățile de asigurări și de instituția de securitate socială în cursul procedurii care se încheie în 1995. Curtea consideră, având în vedere argumentele părților, că această parte a cererii ridică chestiuni complexe de drept și de fapt în temeiul Convenției, ale căror hotărâre ar trebui să depinde de o examinare a fondurilor.
Prin urmare, Curtea concluzionează că această parte a cererii nu este manifestament nefondată în sensul articolului 35 3 din Convenție. Nu s-au stabilit alte motive de declarare inadmisibilă, după care această parte a cererii ar trebui să fie declarată admisibilă. (iii) În ceea ce privește rezultatul material al diferitelor proceduri care se încheie în 1995 și presupusul eșec al Curții de Asigurări de a lua în considerare toate dovezile în mod obiectiv, Curtea reamintește că, în conformitate cu art. 19 din convenție, singura sarcină este de a asigura respectarea obligațiilor asumate de părțile la convenție. În special, nu este competent să se ocupe de o cerere care presupune că erorile de drept sau de fapt au fost comise de instanțe interne, cu excepția cazului în care acestea consideră că aceste erori ar fi putut implica o posibilă încălcare a drepturilor și libertăților prevăzute în Convenție.
Curtea se referă, în acest sens, la jurisprudența stabilită de organele convenției (a se vedea, de exemplu, nr. 25062/94, dec. 18.10.95, D.R. 83, p. 77). În plus, admisibilitatea probelor este, în principal, o chestiune de reglementare a dreptului național. În mod regulat, este de competența instanței naționale să evalueze dovezile în fața lor, în timp ce Curtea este însărcinată să se asigure dacă procedurile luate în considerare în ansamblu, inclusiv modul în care dovezile au fost luate, au fost corecte (a se vedea, de exemplu, Asch v. Hotărârea Austria din 26 aprilie 1991, Serie A nr. 203, p. 10, § 26). Curtea nu constată că Curtea de Asigurări a luat în considerare dovezile în fața acesteia într-o manieră prejudecătă sau arbitrară, încălcând cerințele articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție.
Nici rezultatul procedurii nu susține nicio problemă în temeiul acestei dispoziții. În consecință, nu apare nicio încălcare a articolului 6 în aceste privințe. Rezultă că această parte a cererii este evident nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 § 3 din Convenție. Din aceste motive, Curtea, în unanimitate, DECLAREA ADMISSIBILĂ, fără a se judeca în fond, plângerea reclamantului în temeiul art. 6 § 1 din Convenție, că a fost refuzată o audiere echitabilă datorită necomunicației avizelor obținute ex officio în timpul procedurii care se încheie în 1995; DECLAREA IADMISSIBILĂ restul cererii. Vincent Berger Georg Ress Președintele grefierului
FOURTH SECTION
DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 31764/96 by K.P. against Finland The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 16 March 2000 as a Chamber composed of Mr G. Ress, President, Mr M. Pellonpää, Mr I. Cabral Barreto, Mr V. Butkevych, Mrs N. Vajić, Mr J. Hedigan, Mrs S. Botoucharova, , judges , and Mr V. Berger, Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application introduced with the European Commission of Human Rights on 24 January 1996 and registered on 6 June 1996, Having regard to Article 5 § 2 of Protocol No. 11 to the Convention, by which the competence to examine the application was transferred to the Court, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, a Finnish citizen born in 1941, is resident in Merikaarto, Finland.
A. Particular circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. 1. Proceedings under the accident insurance legislation On 22 February 1991 the applicant suffered a whiplash injury to her neck as a result of a traffic accident. Her insurance company P paid her a disability allowance until 31 August 1991. On 22 October 1991 the insurance company refused her a further allowance, considering her disability subsequent to 31 August 1991 to be caused by other physical illnesses from which she had been suffering prior to the accident. The Board for Accident Compensation ( tapaturmalautakunta, olycksfallsnämnden ) rejected the applicant's appeal on 4 March 1992 after having obtained an opinion from the insurance company.
This opinion was not communicated to the applicant nor was it reproduced or summarised in the decision. The Board for Accident Compensation found that the applicant’s disability and medical expenses subsequent to 31 August 1991 were due to illnesses from which she had been suffering already before the accident, namely muscular pain, symptoms caused by a gastric ulcer operation and a tense neck. The applicant’s further appeal to the Insurance Court ( vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen ) was rejected on 3 November 1992 after it had obtained an opinion from the insurance company. This opinion was again not communicated to the applicant, nor was it reproduced or summarised in the Insurance Court’s decision.
In addition to the reasons relied on by the Board for Accident Compensation, the Insurance Court found that the applicant’s headaches and depression could not be considered a result of the traffic accident either. The Supreme Court ( korkein oikeus, högsta domstolen ) refused leave to appeal on 12 March 1993. Subsequently the applicant again applied to her insurance company for a disability allowance, now relying on a medical report of 25 December 1993 which considered that she remained unable to work. This request was rejected on 3 March 1994, the insurance company essentially having found that her medical condition had remained unchanged since the Insurance Court's decision of 3 November 1992. The applicant's appeal was rejected by the Board for Accident Compensation on 11 October 1994 after it had requested an opinion from the insurance company.
This opinion was not communicated to the applicant but was reproduced as follows in the decision: “The insurance company is of the opinion that [the applicant’s whiplash injury] as caused by the traffic accident on 22 February 1991 has not resulted in a disability degree of at least 10 per cent after 31 August 1991. [The applicant’s] disability and medical costs incurred after that date are due to illness-related factors independent of the accident.” The applicant’s further appeal was rejected by the Insurance Court on 20 October 1995 after it had obtained an opinion from the insurance company. This opinion was not communicated to the applicant nor was it reproduced or summarised in the Insurance Court’s decision.
The opinion dated 27 January 1995 read as follows: “Please find enclosed, in return, your request [for an opinion] in case no. …We attach the documents and state as our opinion that [the applicant’s] appeal does not warrant any change of the challenged decision. The whiplash injury caused by the accident on 22 February 1991 has entitled [the applicant] to compensation. The decrease in [her] ability to work is below 10 per cent after 31 August 1991. The [applicant’s] disability and the medical expenses [incurred] after the said date are caused by illness-related factors not related to the accident. [The applicant] is not entitled to compensation under the Accident Insurance Act [ tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lagen om olycksfallsförsäkring 608/1948] for muscular pain, symptoms caused by a gastric ulcer operation and a tense neck.
We request that the Insurance Court reject the appeal.” No further ordinary appeal lay open to the applicant. 2. Proceedings under the pension legislation (a) The requests under the employment-based pension scheme The applicant’s insurance company I rejected her request for a disability pension on 3 March 1992, having found that she was not disabled within the meaning of the legislation on employment-based pensions. After recalling the domestic law the insurance company reasoned as follows: “You have been working as a laboratory assistant for 21 years, performing such tasks as the handling and sterilisation of instruments, the organising of the reception areas, the mailing of samples and assisting, among others, the physicians.
According to your own statement, fibromyositis has been hampering your work for a long time. In addition, you have been suffering from symptoms caused by your neck injury as well as from continuous headaches, nausea, balance disturbances and depression. According to the evidence before us in respect of your state of health, you have been experiencing headaches and other symptoms after suffering a whiplash injury. You are also depressed but do not suffer from any mental illness of significance to your ability to work. On the basis of our assessment your illnesses are of minor nature and you are sufficiently capable of performing remunerated tasks corresponding to your previous work. Accordingly, you cannot be considered disabled within the meaning of the laws on employment-based pensions.
Accordingly, your request is rejected.” The applicant’s further appeal to the Pension Board ( eläkelautakunta, pensionsnämnden ) was rejected on 1 September 1992 after it had obtained an opinion from the insurance company. This opinion was not communicated to the applicant, nor was it reproduced or summarised in the Pension Board’s decision. The Pension Board upheld the insurance company's decision, referring to the reasons therein and finding that the further evidence on the applicant’s state of health warranted no change in the assessment of her ability to work. The applicant appealed further to the Insurance Court, adducing fresh medical reports. The Insurance Court obtained an opinion from the insurance company.
This opinion was not communicated to the applicant nor was it reproduced or summarised in the Insurance Court’s decision of 6 May 1993 rejecting the appeal. The applicant’s insurance company rejected her renewed pension request on 3 March 1994, referring to its previous decision and finding that the new evidence adduced did not warrant any change in the insurance company’s position. The applicant’s appeal to the Pension Board was rejected on 29 June 1994 after it had obtained an opinion from the insurance company. Its opinion of 11 April 1994 read as follows: “[The applicant] has appealed against the decision of 3 March 1994 to reject her request for a disability pension. In our opinion [the applicant ] cannot, for the reasons stated in detail in [our decision] be considered unable to work within the meaning of the legislation on [employment-based] disability pension.
Neither has any such new evidence been adduced in support of the appeal which would change our position in respect of her ability to work. In our view [the applicant ‘s] appeal should be rejected.” This opinion was not communicated to the applicant, nor was it reproduced or summarised in the Pension Board’s decision. In its decision the Pension Board referred to the reasons invoked in the insurance company’s decision and found that the further evidence on the applicant’s state of health warranted no change in the assessment of her ability to work. The applicant appealed further to the Insurance Court which also requested an opinion from the insurance company. Its opinion dated 17 August 1994 read as follows: “Please find enclosed the applicant’s appeal to the Insurance Court with the documents on file.
As for the earlier material we refer to our rejoinder to the Pension Board. As no relevant further evidence affecting the matter has been adduced in support of the appeal, [it] should in our view be rejected.” The opinion was not communicated to the applicant nor was it reproduced or summarised in the Insurance Court’s decision of 14 September 1995 by which the applicant’s appeal was rejected. The Insurance Court considered, in light of the evidence adduced, that the applicant’s ability to work was not so reduced as to render her eligible for an employment-based disability pension. No further appeal lay open.
(b) The requests under the national pension scheme The applicant’s request for a national disability pension was rejected by the Social Security Institution ( kansaneläkelaitos, folkpensionsanstalten ) on 25 March 1992. The Social Security Institution recalled, inter alia , that under the National Pension Act ( kansaneläkelaki, folkpensionslagen 347/1956) a person who was incapable of continuing his or her work or of taking up similar tasks was entitled to a national disability pension. Regard was to be had to the person’s age, professional skills and his or her ability to perform adequate professional tasks guaranteeing a reasonable subsistence.
The Social Security Institution found that, although the applicant was still suffering from symptoms caused by her neck injury, her headaches and other symptoms as well as her depression, they were not causing her such inconvenience as to render her incapable of continuing her work as a laboratory assistant when no longer eligible for a daily allowance under the National Health Insurance Act. The applicant’s appeal to the Appellate Board for Social Insurance ( tarkastuslautakunta, prövningsnämnden ; “the Appellate Board”) was rejected on 7 August 1992 after it had requested an opinion from the Social Security Institution. This opinion was not communicated to the applicant, nor was it reproduced or summarised in the Appellate Board’s decision.
The applicant appealed further to the Insurance Court which obtained a further opinion from the Social Security Institution. The latter noted that no further evidence had been adduced which would warrant a change of its decision. This opinion was not communicated to the applicant, nor was it reproduced or summarised in the Insurance Court’s decision of 24 May 1993 rejecting the appeal. The Insurance Court referred to the reasons invoked in the Appellate Board’s decision and found that the fresh evidence submitted did not call for any change in the assessment of the applicant’s ability to work. The applicant’s renewed request for a national disability pension was rejected by the Social Security Institution on 18 April 1994. The Social Security Institution found that the applicant was suffering from neck and shoulder pain, stiffness, aches, depression and insomnia.
Her ability to function physically was nonetheless satisfactory. Given her overall state of health, she was able to continue working as a laboratory assistant or performing similar tasks. Accordingly, she could not be regarded as disabled within the meaning of the National Pension Act. The applicant’s appeal to the Appellate Board was rejected on 15 December 1994 after it had requested an opinion from the Social Security Institution. This opinion was not communicated to the applicant nor was it reproduced or summarised in the Appellate Board’s decision. The Appellate Board considered, in light of all medical and other evidence, that the applicant was not to be regarded as disabled within the meaning of the National Pension Act.
The applicant appealed further to the Insurance Court, adducing further medical reports. The Insurance Court obtained an opinion from the Social Security Institution which was dated 27 March 1995 and read as follows: “Please find enclosed the documents sent together with your request [for an opinion] as well as [our] case-file concerning the applicant. The Social Security Institution is of the opinion that no such further evidence has been adduced after [the Appellate Board’s] decision which would warrant a change of [the challenged] decision. The appeal should be rejected.” The opinion was not communicated to the applicant, nor was it reproduced or summarised in the Insurance Court’s decision of 18 September 1995 by which the applicant’s appeal was rejected.
The Insurance Court referred to the reasons invoked in the Appellate Board’s decision and found that the fresh evidence submitted did not call for any change in the assessment of the applicant’s ability to work. No further appeal lay open. B. Relevant domestic law At the relevant time the Insurance Court applied mainly the principles derived from the rules of procedure of the courts of appeal. Insofar as relevant, the Code of Judicial Procedure provided as follows. According to Chapter 25, sections 17 to 20, the opposing party was to be heard in proceedings before appellate courts. According to Chapter 25, section 19, subsection 1, a copy of the observations of the opposing party was to be forwarded to the appellant on request.
According to Chapter 26, section 6, the court of appeal was to request written observations from the parties when it obtained evidence on its own initiative and such evidence could affect the decision in the case, unless such hearing of the parties was manifestly unnecessary. As from 1 April 1999 the Insurance Court is applying the Act on Administrative Judicial Procedure ( hallintolainkäyttölaki, förvaltningsprocesslagen 586/1996) except with regard to extraordinary proceedings, in respect of which special rules apply (section 9 of the Act on the Insurance Court, as amended by Act no. 278/1999).
Under the Act on Publicity of Public Documents as in force at the relevant time ( laki yleisten asiakirjain julkisuudesta, lagen om allmänna handlingars offentlighet 83/1951) documents drawn up and issued by an authority, or which had been submitted to an authority and were still in that authority's possession, were public (section 2, subsection 1). An exception to the rule of full publicity was made, inter alia , for medical and similar reports, which were accessible to the public only with the consent of the person they related to (section 17). The refusal of access to a document could be submitted for reconsideration by the authority refusing such access, following which there lay an appeal under the general rules for appeals against a decision of that authority.
If no right of appeal existed under such general rules, an appeal could be lodged with the superior authority. If no such authority existed, an appeal against a state authority's decision could be lodged with the Supreme Administrative Court. An appeal against a decision by another authority could be lodged with a county administrative court ( lääninoikeus, länsrätt ) (section 8, subsection 1). As of 1 December 1999 the Act on Publicity of Public Documents has been replaced by the Act on Publicity of the Activities of Public Authorities ( laki viranomaisten toiminnan julkisuudesta, lagen om offentlighet i myndigheternas verksamhet 621/1999). COMPLAINTS The applicant complains about the refusals of her requests for a continued disability allowance and pension.
The Insurance Court did not communicate to her the opinions it had obtained from the insurance companies and the Social Security Institution. Moreover, the Insurance Court failed to take into account the medical opinions given by her own physicians, who had estimated the level of her disability at 30 per cent. Instead the Insurance Court relied on the insurance companies’ and its own physicians, who had never examined the applicant in person but nonetheless estimated her disability at less than 10 per cent. The applicant does not invoke any particular Convention provision. PROCEDURE The application was introduced before the European Commission of Human Rights on 24 January 1996 and registered on 6 June 1996. On 1 November 1998, by operation of Article 5 § 2 of Protocol No. 11 to the Convention, the case fell to be examined by the Court in accordance with the provisions of that Protocol.
On 17 November 1998 the Court decided to communicate the application to the respondent Government. The Government’s written observations were submitted on 9 January 1999. The applicant replied on 17 March 1999. THE LAW The applicant complains about the refusals of her requests for a continued disability allowance and pension. The Insurance Court did not communicate to her the opinions it had obtained from the insurance companies and the Social Security Institution. Moreover, the Insurance Court allegedly failed to take into account the medical opinions given by her own physicians, relying instead on the insurance companies’ and the Insurance Court’s own physicians, who had never examined her in person . The Government submit that the application is manifestly ill-founded in so far as relating to the proceedings ending on 14 September, 18 September and 20 October 1995, respectively.
They concede that the Insurance Court did not communicate the insurance companies’ and the Social Security Institution’s opinions to the applicant prior to deciding on her appeals. Nonetheless, the applicant’s entitlement to compensation under the Accident Insurance Act had been examined twice by her insurance company P, the Board for Accident Compensation as well as the Insurance Court, and once by the Supreme Court. The applicant was thus able to challenge the position of that insurance company and the Board for Accident Compensation both in the first set of proceedings ending on 12 March 1993 and in the second set of proceedings ending with the Insurance Court’s decision of 20 October 1995. The opinion obtained by the Insurance Court in the second set of proceedings did not contain such further evidence which would have affected the outcome of the applicant’s appeal.
The non-communication of that opinion did not therefore affect adversely the applicant’s ability to challenge the decision of the Board for Accident Compensation of 11 October 1994. With reference to the proceedings concerning the applicant’s entitlement to an employment-based disability pension, the Government submit that the opinion of the insurance company I which the Insurance Court did not communicate to the applicant merely referred to the insurance company’s earlier opinion to the Pension Board which the applicant had been able to challenge. As regards the proceedings concerning the applicant’s entitlement to a national disability pension, the Government submit that the non-communicated opinion of the Social Security Institution merely expressed the view that the applicant had not adduced any such new evidence which would affect the outcome of the case.
The Government question whether such a statement constituted “a reasoned opinion on the merits of the appeal”, as in the Nideröst-Huber case (judgment of 18 February 1997, Reports of Judgments and Decisions 1997-I). In any case the applicant was able to challenge, in her appeal to the Insurance Court, the Social Security Institution’s position as stated already to the Appellate Board. Summing up, the Government argue that the position of the insurance companies and others involved in the proceedings before the Insurance Court ending in September and October 1995 had already become known to the applicant. The non-communicated opinions did not include any information which was new to her or which could not have been obtained by consulting the case-files of the relevant authorities.
Considering the proceedings as a whole, the applicant was therefore not denied a fair hearing within the meaning of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention. The applicant maintains her arguments. (i) The Court recalls that under Article 35 § 1 of the Convention it may only deal with a matter after all domestic remedies have been exhausted, according to the generally recognised rules of international law, and within a period of six months from the date on which the final decision was taken. The present application was lodged on 24 January 1996. Accordingly, in so far as the applicant’s grievances may be interpreted as referring to the three sets of proceedings ending in 1993, they are out of time. It follows that this part of the application must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 § 4 of the Convention.
(ii) The Court has examined the remainder of the application under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention which reads, in so far as relevant, as follows: "In the determination of his civil rights ..., everyone is entitled to a fair ... hearing ... by an independent and impartial tribunal established by law… " The applicant has complained that the Insurance Court failed to communicate to her the opinions it had obtained from the insurance companies and the Social Security Institution in the course of the proceedings ending in 1995. This complaint raises the question of whether the proceedings in question were fair within the meaning of Article 6 § 1. The Court considers, in the light of the parties’ submissions, that this part of the application raises complex issues of law and fact under the Convention, the determination of which should depend on an examination of the merits.
The Court concludes therefore that this part of the application is not manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. No other grounds for declaring it inadmissible have been established. It follows that this part of the application should be declared admissible. (iii) As regards the material outcome of the various proceedings ending in 1995 and the alleged failure of the Insurance Court to consider all the evidence objectively, the Court recalls that, in accordance with Article 19 of the Convention, its only task is to ensure the observance of the obligations undertaken by the Parties to the Convention. In particular, it is not competent to deal with an application alleging that errors of law or fact have been committed by domestic courts, except when they consider that such errors might have involved a possible violation of any of the rights and freedoms set out in the Convention.
The Court refers, on this point, to the Convention organs’ established case-law (see e.g. no. 25062/94, Dec. 18.10.95, D.R. 83, p. 77). Further, the admissibility of evidence is primarily a matter for regulation by national law. As a rule, it is for the national courts to assess the evidence before them, whereas it is the Court's task to ascertain whether the proceedings considered as a whole, including the way in which evidence was taken, were fair (see, e.g., Asch v. Austria judgment of 26 April 1991, Series A no. 203, p. 10, § 26). The Court finds no indication that the Insurance Court considered the evidence before it in a biased or arbitrary manner violating the requirements of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention.
Nor does the outcome of the proceedings raise any issue under that provision. Accordingly, there is no appearance of a violation of Article 6 in these respects. It follows that this part of the application is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously,
DECLARES ADMISSIBLE
, without prejudging the merits, the applicant’s complaint under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention that she was denied a fair hearing due to the non-communication of the opinions obtained ex officio during the proceedings ending in 1995;
DECLARES INADMISSIBLE
the remainder of the application. Vincent Berger Georg Ress Registrar President