- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 15 martie 2001
- Stat pârât
- FIN
- Concluzia
- Partly inadmissible
Lamu împotriva Finlandei
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE PARȚIONALĂ PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA cererii nr. 36457/97 de Juha LAMU împotriva Finlandei Curții Europene a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care a stat la 15 martie 2001 în calitate de Cameră compusă din Președintele Ress Pastor Ridruejo Caflisch Butkevych Doamna Vajić Hedigan Pellonpää, judecători și grefierul Secțiunii Berger Având în vedere cererea de mai sus introdusă la 7 aprilie 1997 cu Comisia Europeană a Drepturilor Omului și înregistrată la 12 iunie 1997, având în vedere art. 5 § 2 din Protocolul nr. 11 la Convenție, prin care competența de a examina cererea a fost transferată Curții, după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: Reclamantul este un național finlandez, născut în 1941 și locuiește în Kokkola.
El este reprezentat în fața Curții de către dna Riitta Korpijärvi, avocatul de asistență judiciară publică din Kokkola. Faptele cazului, astfel cum a fost prezentat de reclamant, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. După ce a fost rănit la locul de muncă în 1989, reclamantul a primit o alocație zilnică și ulterior o pensie în conformitate cu Legea privind asigurarea leziunilor profesionale (tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lagen om olycksfallsförsäkring 608/1948). La 31 ianuarie 1991, societatea de asigurare a reclamantului a refuzat totuși să-i plătească o pensie de prejudiciu ocupațional începând cu decembrie 1990, deoarece el nu mai putea fi considerat incapabil pentru muncă cu cel puțin 10%. Reclamantul a apelat la Consiliu pentru compensare a accidentelor (tapaturmalautakunta, olycksfallsnämnden ), solicitând acordarea unei pensii până la sfârșitul lunii ianuarie 1991, când concediul său de boală s-a încheiat.
Consiliul a obținut un aviz scris de la societatea de asigurare în care propunea respingerea apelului. În decizia din 13 iunie 1991, Consiliul a acceptat recursul. De asemenea, s-a remis societății de asigurare cererea reclamantului de a face o examinare suplimentară la Fundația pentru persoane cu handicap. Compania de asigurare nu a emis niciodată o decizie scrisă în răspunsul acestei cereri, dar a refuzat-o pe cale orală. Având în vedere dovezile proaspete ale simptomelor sale persistente ale companiei de asigurare a reclamantului, la 12 martie 1993, i-a acordat o pensie de prejudiciu ocupațional pentru perioada 30 octombrie-31 decembrie 1992. Acesta a refuzat cererea de pensie pentru perioada 1 februarie-17 noiembrie 1991, pe parcursul căreia nu a putut fi considerat incapacitat pentru muncă cu cel puțin 10%.
Cererea sa de pensie pentru perioada 18 noiembrie 1991-29 octombrie 1992 și începând cu 1 ianuarie 1993 a fost, de asemenea, respinsă, deoarece incapacitatea sa de muncă în aceste perioade a fost și a fost, datorită unei boli din spate și a simptomelor conexe care nu au fost rezultatul prejudiciului său de muncă. Apelul reclamantului a fost refuzat de către Consiliul de Compensare a Accidentului la 15 decembrie 1993 cu votul decisiv al Președintelui. În avizul său către Consiliu, societatea de asigurări a propus respingerea apelului. De asemenea, a adăugat rapoarte medicale proaspete din 10 martie și 5 aprilie 1993. Consiliul a considerat, având în vedere dovezile medicale determinate, că motivul decisiv al incapacității de muncă a reclamantului în cadrul celor două perioade pentru care societatea de asigurări a refuzat cererea de pensie constă în problemele sale din spate care nu au fost cauzal legate de prejudiciul său de muncă.
În apelul său suplimentar la Tribunalul de Asigurări (vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen ) reclamantul a prezentat alte rapoarte medicale din 1993 și 1994 și alte dovezi. Societatea de asigurări a prezentat din nou un aviz scris. Curtea de asigurări a primit în continuare două rapoarte medicale suplimentare din 9 februarie și 6 iulie 1994, precum și două rapoarte din alte examinări pe care reclamantul le-a suferit în noiembrie 1993 și februarie 1994. La 29 noiembrie 1994, Curtea de Asigurări a respins recursul prin invocarea motivelor prezentate de Consiliul de Compensare a Accidentelor. La 13 decembrie 1996, Curtea Supremă (korkein oikeus, högsta domstolen a refuzat permisiunea de recurs.
În temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție, reclamantul se plânge că procedura a fost nedreaptă, iar Consiliul de compensare a accidentelor nu a luat în considerare un raport medical crucial din 15 aprilie 1993. În plus, Curtea de Asigurări nu i-a comunicat avizul și alte documente prezentate de societatea de asigurări. De asemenea, reclamantul se plânge, în conformitate cu aceeași dispoziție a Convenției, că procedurile au fost excesiv de lungi, au durat aproximativ trei ani și nouă luni și au implicat o sursă importantă pentru viața sa. Reclamantul se plânge în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție că procedurile au fost nejustificate, deoarece Consiliul de compensare a accidentelor nu a luat în considerare un anumit raport medical și că Tribunalul de Asigurări nu i-a comunicat avizul și alte documente prezentate de societatea de asigurări.
art. 6 § 1 prevede, în măsura în care este cazul, după cum urmează: "În determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor sale civile..., toată lumea are dreptul la o audiere corectă ... într-un timp rezonabil de către un tribunal independent și imparțial instituit prin lege… " Curtea a examinat cererea și constată că, în cererea sa de concediu de recurs la Curtea Supremă, reclamantul nu a ridicat, fie în formă, fie în fond, plângerea care este adresată Curții. Prin urmare, reclamantul nu a epuizat căile de recurs interne, în conformitate cu art. 1 din Convenție. Rezultă că această parte a cererii trebuie respinsă, în conformitate cu articolul Reclamantul se plânge, de asemenea, în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție, că procedura a fost excesiv de lungă.
Curtea consideră că, pe baza cazului, nu poate determina admisibilitatea acestei plângeri și că, prin urmare, în conformitate cu articolul (b) din Regulamentul de procedură, este necesar să se notifice această parte a cererii către guvernul contestat. Din aceste motive, Curtea decide în unanimitate să suspende examinarea plângerii reclamantului că acțiunea [Notă1] Declară inadmisibil restul cererii. Președintele grefierului Vincent Berger Georg Ress [Notă1] Resumează plângerile fără a cita neapărat articolele invocate ale convenției.
FOURTH SECTION
PARTIAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 36457/97 by Juha LAMU against Finland The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 15 March 2001 as a Chamber composed of Mr G. Ress , President , Mr A. Pastor Ridruejo , Mr L. Caflisch , Mr V. Butkevych , Mrs N. Vajić , Mr J. Hedigan , Mr M. Pellonpää , judges , and Mr V. Berger , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application introduced with the European Commission of Human Rights on 7 April 1997 and registered on 12 June 1997, Having regard to Article 5 § 2 of Protocol No. 11 to the Convention, by which the competence to examine the application was transferred to the Court, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant is a Finnish national, born in 1941 and living in Kokkola.
He is represented before the Court by Ms Riitta Korpijärvi, public legal aid counsel in Kokkola. The facts of the case, as submitted by the applicant, may be summarised as follows. Having been injured at his work place in 1989, the applicant was granted a daily allowance and subsequently a pension in accordance with the Act on Occupational Injury Insurance ( tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lagen om olycksfallsförsäkring 608/1948). On 31 January 1991 the applicant’s insurance company nonetheless refused to pay him an occupational injury pension from December 1990 onwards, since he could no longer be considered incapacitated for work by at least ten per cent. The applicant appealed to the Board for Accident Compensation ( tapaturmalautakunta, olycksfallsnämnden ), requesting that he be granted a pension up to the end of January 1991, when his sick leave had ended.
The Board obtained a written opinion from the insurance company in which it proposed that the appeal be rejected. In its decision of 13 June 1991 the Board accepted the appeal. It also referred back to the insurance company the applicant’s request to undergo an additional examination at the Foundation for the Disabled. The insurance company allegedly never issued a written decision in response to this request but refused it orally. In light of fresh evidence of his continuing symptoms the applicant’s insurance company, on 12 March 1993, granted him an occupational injury pension for the period 30 October-31 December 1992. It refused his request for a pension for the period 1 February-17 November 1991, during which period he could not be considered incapacitated for work by at least ten per cent.
His request for a pension for the period 18 November 1991-29 October 1992 and from 1 January 1993 onwards was likewise refused, since his incapacity for work during those periods had been, and was, due to a back illness and related symptoms which were not the result of his work injury. The applicant’s appeal was refused by the Board for Accident Compensation on 15 December 1993 with the Chairman’s casting vote. In its opinion to the Board the insurance company had proposed that the appeal be rejected. It had also adduced fresh medical reports of 10 March and 5 April 1993. The Board considered, in light of the medical evidence adduced, that the decisive reason for the applicant’s incapacity for work during the two periods for which the insurance company had refused his pension request consisted of his back problems which were not causally related to his work injury.
In his further appeal to the Insurance Court ( vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen ) the applicant adduced further medical reports of 1993 and 1994 and other evidence. The insurance company again submitted a written opinion. The Insurance Court further received two further medical reports of 9 February and 6 July 1994 as well as two reports from further examinations which the applicant had undergone in November 1993 and February 1994. It is not clear from the decision who submitted these reports. On 29 November 1994 the Insurance Court rejected the appeal by relying on the reasons given by the Board for Accident Compensation. On 13 December 1996 the Supreme Court ( korkein oikeus, högsta domstolen ) refused leave to appeal.
COMPLAINTS 1. The applicant complains under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention that the proceedings were unfair. The Board for Accident Compensation allegedly failed to take into account a crucial medical report of 15 April 1993. Moreover, the Insurance Court did not communicate to him the opinion and other documentation submitted by the insurance company. 2. The applicant also complains, under the same Convention provision, that the proceedings were excessively lengthy, having lasted some three years and nine months and involving a most important source for his livelihood. THE LAW 1. The applicant complains under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention that the proceedings were unfair in that the Board for Accident Compensation failed to consider a certain medical report and in that the Insurance Court did not communicate to him the opinion and other documentation submitted by the insurance company.
Article 6 § 1 provides, insofar as relevant, as follows: "In the determination of his civil rights and obligations..., everyone is entitled to a fair … hearing within a reasonable time by an independent and impartial tribunal established by law… ” The Court has examined the application and finds that in his request for leave to appeal to the Supreme Court the applicant failed to raise either in form or in substance the complaint that is being made to the Court. The applicant has therefore not exhausted domestic remedies as required by Article 35 § 1 of the Convention. It follows that this part of the application must be rejected, in accordance with Article 35 § 4. 2. The applicant also complains, under the above-cited Article 6 § 1 of the Convention, that the proceedings were excessively lengthy.
The Court considers that it cannot, on the basis of the case file, determine the admissibility of this complaint and that it is therefore necessary, in accordance with Rule 54 § 3 (b) of the Rules of Court, to give notice of this part of the application to the respondent Government. For these reasons, the Court unanimously Decides to adjourn the examination of the applicant’s complaint that the proceedings were unreasonably lengthy [Note1] ; Declares inadmissible the remainder of the application. Vincent Berger Georg Ress Registrar President [Note1] Summarise the complaints without necessarily citing the invoked Convention Articles.