- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 4 mai 2004
- Stat pârât
- FIN
- Concluzia
- Partly inadmissible
Hautakangas împotriva Finlandei
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE PARȚIONALĂ PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA cererii nr. 61560/00 de către Kalevi HAUTAKANGAS împotriva Finlandiei Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care așezează la 4 mai 2004 în calitate de Cameră compusă din: Sir Nicolas Bratza Președintele Pellonpäää dna Strážnická Casadevill Pavlovschi Borrego Borrego dna Fura-Sandström, judecători și dl M. O'Boyle Grefier Având în vedere cererea depusă la 11 septembrie 2000, după ce a deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Dl Kalevi Hautakangas, reclamantul este un național finlandez, născut în 1948 și trăiește în Mutala. Circumstanțele cauzei procedurii de compensare a prejudiciului Faptele cazului, astfel cum a prezentat reclamantul, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează.
Reclamantul a suferit leziuni asupra umărului, brațelor și încheieturi într-un accident la 9 martie 1994 în timp ce conducea un sled. O companie de asigurare a acordat reclamantului o alocație zilnică ( päiväraha, dagpenning ) pentru reducerea 100 % a capacității sale de lucru de la 11 martie 1994 la 8 martie 1995. Având în vedere că reclamantul a avut probleme continue, în special cu încheietura dreaptă a încheieturii, el a depus opinie medicală companiei de asigurări, cerând o alocație zilnică continuă. La 14 iunie 1995, societatea de asigurări a anulat alocația zilnică (și a refuzat cererea de compensare pentru pierderea veniturilor) de la 8 martie 1995 susținând că capacitatea de lucru a reclamantului a fost redusă cu mai puțin de 10 % și că a fost în măsură să lucreze la postul său de director tehnic într-o companie.
Reclamantul a solicitat ajutor medical în 1996 și a participat, printre altele, la postul său de administrator tehnic.
, într-un examen de reabilitare . Leziuni nervoase cot drept și semne de leziune la încheietura dreaptă, precum și depresie au fost diagnosticate într-un aviz medical din 29 aprilie 1996 . De asemenea, reclamantul a suferit un sondaj izotopic pe 7 ianuarie 1997 și a prezentat companiei de asigurări un aviz medical din 7 martie 1997 cu privire la mâinile și încheieturi . La 22 octombrie 1997, societatea de asigurare a susținut constatarea anterioară și a decis să nu prelungească alocația zilnică a reclamantului după 8 martie 1995. La 18 noiembrie 1997, societatea de asigurare a corectat decizia anterioară din 22 octombrie 1997 pentru a acorda reclamantului o pensie de invaliditate pentru reducerea 100 % a capacității de muncă de la 9 martie la 31 martie 1995. Reclamantul a apelat la Consiliul pentru Accident ( tapaturmalautakunta, Olycksfallsnämnden ) cerând o pensie de invaliditate ( tapaturmaeläke, olicksfallspension ). , cu privire la un aviz medical în care a fost considerat inapt să lucreze până la 31 martie 1995; cu privire la un aviz medical din 20 aprilie 1995, în care a fost considerat inapt să lucreze pentru anul următor;
și cu privire la documentele de la examenul de reabilitare din 1996. Societatea de asigurări a prezentat în observațiile sale că reclamantul nu a avut dreptul la compensare după 31 martie 1995. Acesta a susținut că accidentul a cauzat leziuni de impact la articulația din umărul stâng a reclamantului, antebrațul stâng și ambele încheieturi. Reclamantul a susținut că a suferit leziuni în plus față de umărul, gâtul, articulația din umărul drept și antebrațul drept, solicitând o pensie de invaliditate începând cu 1 aprilie 1995 cu interes.
Societatea de asigurări a formulat în continuare un aviz medical din 11 decembrie 1997 în care reclamantul a fost considerat nepotrivit să lucreze din cauza depresiei până la 30 iunie 1998. Societatea a susținut că tulpina și depresia gâtului reclamantului nu au fost cauzate de accidentul din 9 martie 1994 și că daunele nervoase ale cotului, care au fost cauzate de acest accident, au fost atât de ușoare încât nu a făcut reclamantului incapacitatea de a lucra.
La 16 aprilie 1998, Consiliul pentru Accident a susținut decizia companiei de asigurări din 18 noiembrie 1997. „Basată pe dovezile medicale prezentate [ reclamantul] a suferit leziuni de impact atât la încheieturi, zona umărului stâng și zona de antebraț stânga, cât și daune la nervul cotului drept ca urmare a accidentului din 9 martie 1994. Aceste leziuni nu i-au redus capacitatea de lucru cu cel puțin 10 Prin urmare, % începând cu 31 martie 1995 și [reclamantul] nu are dreptul la pensie de invaliditate în temeiul articolului 18 alineatul (2) din Legea privind asigurarea accidentelor. [Reclamantul] trebuie considerat ca fiind capabil să lucreze ca director de administrație/director tehnic la postul său.
Consiliul pentru accident deține că [reclamantul] prezintă dificultăți cu mâna dreaptă și brațul său sunt la un grad ridicat de probabilitate nu cauzat de accidentul de la 9 martie 1994, având în vedere că nu s-a găsit nici o deteriorare a țesutului în scanarea magnetică a mâinii dreapte sau în examenul ENGG. Daunele nervoase ale cotului stâng, pentru care reclamantul a primit compensații de la compania de asigurare, este ușoară și Consiliul pentru Accident susține că este probabil legat de boală. Consiliul pentru Accident constată în continuare că depresia [de reclamantul], care reduce capacitatea de lucru, nu a fost cauzată de accidentul din 9 martie 1994, sau de leziunile ulterioare.
Inițial nu a fost găsită nicio tulpină de gât și nici nu a avut nici o deteriorare la nivelul comunului [de drept] umăr al reclamantului a fost raportată în legătură cu accidentul.” Reclamantul a apelat la Tribunalul de Asigurări care solicită o pensie de invaliditate începând cu 31 martie 1995 cu dobânzi. Curtea de Asigurări a primit două avize medicale din 10 februarie 1998 și, respectiv, 13 iulie 1998 și un certificat care indică faptul că reclamantul a încercat să găsească un loc de muncă la 9 ianuarie 1998. Conform hotărârii Curții de Asigurări, a invitat observațiile ambelor părți și a primit scrisori de la solicitant din 15 octombrie 1998. La 10 noiembrie 1998, Curtea de Asigurări a respins recursul și a susținut hotărârea Comitetului pentru Accidenți.
Curtea de Asigurări și-a motivat hotărârea după cum urmează: „Răspunsurile menționate în hotărârea Comitetului pentru Accidenți. Noile probe prezentate nu dau naștere la concluzii diferite.” Reclamantul a solicitat concediul de recurs de la Curtea Supremă (korkein oikeus, högsta domstolen ). Curtea Supremă a refuzat recurgerea reclamantului la 30 martie 2000. În urma unui recurs la 20 iunie 2000, Ministerul Afacerilor Sociale și Sănătății (sosiaali-ja terveysministeriö; social-och hälsovårdsministeriet ) a susținut că societatea de asigurări a avut în unele observații sale prin greșeală menționează leziuni nervoase în cotul stâng al reclamantului, în timp ce leziunile nervoase erau de fapt în cotul drept.
Totuși, aceasta a remarcat că greșeala nu a afectat rezultatul cazului deoarece organismele de apel au avut acces la opiniile medicale originale care descriu corect leziunile. De asemenea, a considerat că nu există nici o indicație de necomunicare a documentelor în numele Tribunalului de Asigurări. Testarea în cadrul procedurilor penale Reclamantul a fost auzit ca martor în fața Curții de District din Tampere (käjäoikeus, tingsrätten La 7 octombrie 1999, Curtea de District a ordonat ca acesta să fie plătit de la stat o alocație zilnică pentru trei zile (453 mărci finlandeze (FIM)) și rambursarea cheltuielilor de călătorie (FIM 1.107). La 17 iunie 1999, reclamantul a fost amendat FIM 500 pentru nu a participat la audierea principală.
Reclamantul a apelat la Curtea de Apel a Turku ( Hovioikeus, hovrätten ) solicitând eliminarea amenzii și a două alocații zilnice suplimentare, precum și rambursarea cheltuielilor de cazare în Tampere. La 19 mai 2000, Curtea de Apel a susținut amendă, dar a acordat reclamantului o alocație zilnică suplimentară. Acesta a hotărât cererea de rambursare a cheltuielilor de cazare inadmisibilă deoarece reclamantul nu a făcut cererea în Curtea de District. Curtea Supremă a refuzat să acorde reclamantului permisiunea de recurs la 21 noiembrie 2000. Dreptul intern relevant Pensiunea de invaliditate În conformitate cu art. 18, subsecțiunea 2 din Legea privind asigurarea accidentelor (tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lag om olycksfallsförsäkring ; 608/1948) o persoană are dreptul la o pensie de invaliditate dacă capacitatea de lucru a fost redusă cu cel puțin 10 % din cauza unui prejudiciu sau a unei boli cauzate de un accident.
Secțiunea 53, subsecțiunea 1 din Legea privind asigurarea accidentelor prevede că organismele de apel în materie de asigurare a accidentelor sunt Comisia pentru accidente, Curtea de Asigurări și Curtea Supremă. Secțiunea 1 din Decretul privind Consiliul pentru accidente (asetus tapaturmalautakunnasta, förordning om olycksfallsnämnden ; 839/1981) prevede că Comitetul pentru accidente funcționează ca primă instanță de recurs în materie de asigurare obligatorie a accidentelor. Secțiunea 9, subsecțiunea 1 din Legea Tribunalului de Asigurări (laki vakuutusoikeudesta, lag om försäkringsdomstolen ; 14/1958, astfel cum este în vigoare la momentul respectiv) cu condiția ca procedurile în cadrul Curții de Asigurări să fie scrise.
Curtea de Asigurări ar putea, totuși, atunci când au existat motive excepționale, să decidă să se desfășoare o audiere orală. Secțiunea 9, subsecțiunea 2 și 3 (în conformitate cu momentul respectiv) include dispoziții privind examinarea martorilor în fața Curții de Asigurări. Subsecțiunea 4 prevede că, în alte privințe, procedurile din Curtea de Asigurări sunt reglementate de dispoziții aplicabile instanțelor de district. Capitolul 24, secțiunile 15 din Codul de Procedură Judicială (oikeudenkäymiskaari, rättegångbalken ; 4/1734, astfel cum este în vigoare la momentul respectiv) cu condiția ca o hotărâre să fie motivată. Hotărârea trebuie să indice faptele și argumentarea juridică pe care se bazează decizia.
Hotărârea trebuie să conțină, de asemenea, un cont al raționării care a condus instanța să dețină o chestiune contestată stabilită sau nefondată. Compoziția consiliului pentru accidente și a Curții de Asigurări Secțiunea 53 din Legea privind asigurarea accidentelor prevede, printre altele , că în Consiliul pentru accidente există un președinte cu timp integral, cel puțin doi vicepreședinte și cel puțin trei avocati și medici membri. Președintele, vicepreședintele și alți membri poartă responsabilitatea unui judecător. Secțiunea 2, subsecțiunea 1 din Legea Curții de Asigurări, astfel cum este în vigoare la momentul respectiv, cu condiția ca în Curtea de Asigurări exista un judecător președinte și un judecător senior și un judecător junior ( vakuutustuomari, försäkringsdomare ). , cererile de compensare în temeiul Legii privind asigurarea accidentelor, au existat, de asemenea, judecători cu calificare medicală în componența Curții de Asigurări.
Secțiunea 10 din Legea Tribunalului de Asigurări, în conformitate cu momentul respectiv, cu condiția ca membrul Curții de Asigurări să jure jurământul judecătorului sau să facă o afirmație corespunzătoare. Rezervare În conformitate cu rezerva făcută de Finlanda în conformitate cu art. 64 din Convenție, în conformitate cu art. 64 din Convenția în vigoare la momentul respectiv, Finlanda nu a putut garanta un drept la o audiere orală, în măsura în care legislația finlandeză în momentul evenimentelor în cauză nu a constituit un astfel de drept. , în fața Curții de Asigurări în calitate de instanță de instanță finală, în conformitate cu art. 9 din Legea Curții de Asigurări (14/1958), și în fața Curții Supreme în conformitate cu capitolul 30 secțiunea 20 din Codul de Procedură Judiciară.
Finlanda a retras rezervarea la 1 aprilie 1999. Reclamantul se plânge în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție că: Consiliul pentru accidente și Curtea de Asigurări nu au dat decizii motivate adecvat, deoarece nu au indicat dovezile și faptele care au dus la respingerea recursului său; Comisia pentru accidente și Curtea de Asigurări nu i-au comunicat mai multe documente pe care societatea de asigurări le-a prezentat Comitetul pentru accidente; Societatea de asigurări nu a adăugat mai multe documente (aproximativ 300 de pagini) în fața Tribunalului de Asigurări.
Reclamantul susține că a evaluat documentele în Curtea Supremă și în societatea de asigurări și a obținut rezultate semnificativ diferite în fiecare ocazie; Consiliul pentru accidente, Curtea de Asigurări și Curtea Supremă nu au avut nici o ședință orală, în ceea ce privește care invocă, de asemenea, art. 6 § 3 litera (d); Curtea Supremă nu a motivat refuzul său de a face apel; durata procedurii a depășit un timp rezonabil, deoarece a durat aproape patru ani pentru ca autoritățile interne să elibereze o decizie finală în această chestiune, care i-a fost de mare importanță; un expert medical membru al Curții de Asigurări a fost prejudecat și nu a avut capacitatea necesară pentru a evalua dovezile reclamantului în ceea ce privește o așa-numită analiză Termotest.
Reclamantul se plânge, fără a invoca nicio dispoziție specifică care: nu a fost acordată o alocație per diem atunci când a fost auzit ca martor în cadrul procedurilor civile de judecată. Reclamantul se plânge că Consiliul pentru accidente și Curtea de Asigurări nu au dat hotărâri motivate adecvate, invocând art. 6 1 din Convenție, care, în măsura în care este relevant, citește după cum urmează: „În determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor sale civile sau a oricărei acuzații penale împotriva lui, toată lumea are dreptul la o audiere corectă și publică într-un timp rezonabil de către un tribunal independent și imparțial instituit prin lege.” Curtea consideră că, pe baza cazului, nu poate determina admisibilitatea acestor plângeri și că, prin urmare, este necesar, în conformitate cu art. 54 alineatul (2) litera (b) din Regulamentul de procedură, să anunțe această parte a cererii guvernului contestat.
1 din Convenția (a se vedea mai sus) că Consiliul pentru accidente și Curtea de Asigurări nu i-au comunicat mai multe documente relevante pe care societatea de asigurări le-a prezentat Comitetul pentru accidente. Curtea constată că reclamantul nu a specificat ce documente nu i-au fost comunicate și, în consecință, modul în care această presupusă necomunicare poate fi afectată de procedură. Această parte a plângerii este, în consecință, nefondată și trebuie respinsă în mod evident ca fiind nefondată în temeiul articolelor 35 3 și 4 din convenție. Reclamantul se plânge că societatea de asigurări nu a adăugat mai multe documente în fața Curții de Asigurări. Curtea constată că Convenția nu garantează drepturi în ceea ce privește, de exemplu, societățile private de asigurare și respinge această parte a cererii ca ratione personae incompatibile în temeiul articolelor 35 3 și 4 din convenție.
Reclamantul plânge, invocand în mod divers art. 6 §§1 și litera (d) din Convenție, că Consiliul pentru accidente, Curtea de Asigurări și Curtea Supremă nu au efectuat audieri orale.
Întrucât art. 6 § 3 litera (d) se aplică numai în cazul în care un reclamant este acuzat de o infracțiune, Curtea observă că aceste plângeri sunt examinate numai în temeiul articolului 6 § 1. Curtea remarcă că, în termeni săi, domeniul de aplicare al rezervării finlandeze se limitează, în momentul respectiv, la alăptarea, de exemplu, Curtea de Asigurări și Curtea Supremă din obligația de a desfășura o audiere orală și, prin urmare, constată că rezervarea a fost valabilă și aplicabilă Curții de Asigurări și Curții Supreme în prezenta cauză ( a se vedea Hotărârea Helle c. Finlanda , din 19 decembrie 1997 , Raportul hotărârilor și hotărârilor 1997 VIII, § 44; Tamminen și Tammelin c. Finlanda , (dec.) nr. 3303/96, 28 septembrie 1999). În ceea ce privește Consiliul pentru Accident, Curtea constată că rezervarea nu a menținut-o în mod expres.
Nicio încălcare a articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție nu a fost constatată ca o audiere orală în fața Curții Supreme de Administrație nu ar fi fost suficientă pentru a satisface cerințele articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție într-o situație în care un organism judiciar inferior nu a avut o audiere orală (a se vedea hotărârea solicitată anterior, §§§ 45-47 În mod asemănător, în acest caz, o obligație de a desfășura o audiere orală nu poate fi repusă în fața Curții de Asigurări sau a Curții Supreme în timpul substanței de valabilitate a rezervării, pentru a compensa absența unei astfel de audieri în instanță mai mică în ordinul juridic intern. Prin urmare, Curtea respinge aceste plângeri ca fiind incompatibile ratione materiae în temeiul articolelor 35 3 și 4 din Convenție.
În ceea ce privește presupusa lipsă de raționament a hotărârii Curții Supreme de a refuza acordarea recursului, Curtea constată că o examinare în temeiul legislației finlandeze în ceea ce privește dacă permisul de recurs în fața Curții Supreme se acordă numai ca o examinare privind dacă condițiile prevăzute în capitolul 30 secțiunea 3, punctul 1 din Codul de procedură judiciară sunt îndeplinite. Prin urmare, permisul de recurs al Curții Supreme finlandeze nu implică o determinare a drepturilor civile ale reclamantului în sensul articolului 6 1 din Convenție (a se vedea T.H. și S.H.
c. Finlanda) , nr. 19823/92, hotărârea Comisiei din 9 februarie 1993, nepublicată … În măsura în care reclamantul plânge că durata procedurii a depășit un timp rezonabil, Curtea observă că Consiliul pentru accidente și-a emis decizia la 16 aprilie 1998, Tribunalul de Asigurări la 10 noiembrie 1998 și Curtea Supremă la 30 martie 2000. Dosarul nu indică în momentul în care cazul a devenit în suspensie în fața Comitetului pentru accidente: cu toate acestea, decizia atacată a societății de asigurări a fost datată 22 octombrie 1997. În aceste circumstanțe, Curtea constată că nu există nici o indicație a nerespectării cerințelor de timp rezonabil prevăzute la art. 6 § 1 din Convenție și respinge această parte a cererii ca fiind manifestament nefondată în temeiul articolelor 35 3 și 4 din Convenție.
În ceea ce privește plângerile reclamantului în temeiul articolului 6 din Convenție privind faptul că un membru medical al Curții de Asigurări a fost prejudecat și necalificat, Curtea constată că reclamantul nu și-a justificat afirmațiile cu privire la prejudecăți. În plus, calificările necesare ale judecătorilor Curții de Asigurări sunt în primul rând o chestiune de reglementare prin legislație națională. Nu există nimic în dosarul care să susțină orice sugestie de faptul că membrul medical nu a îndeplinit condițiile stabilite de legislația națională pentru șederea în calitate de membru competent al instanței. Prin urmare, aceste plângeri trebuie respinse ca în mod evident nefondat în temeiul articolelor 35 3 și 4 din Convenție.
În cele din urmă, în măsura în care reclamantul se plâng că nu a fost acordat un per diem în calitate de martor în cadrul Curții de District, Curtea constată că Convenția nu garantează dreptul la compensare pentru martori, astfel încât plângerea trebuie respinsă ca fiind incompatibilă ratione materiae în temeiul articolelor 35 3 și 4 din Convenție. Din aceste motive, Curtea decide în unanimitate să se suspende examinarea plângerilor reclamantei cu privire la lipsa raționării adecvate în deciziile Comitetului pentru accidente și ale Curții de Asigurări; declara restul cererii inadmisibile.
FOURTH SECTION
PARTIAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 61560/00 by Kalevi HAUTAKANGAS against Finland The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 4 May 2004 as a Chamber composed of: Sir Nicolas Bratza , President , Mr M. Pellonpää , Mrs V. Strážnická , Mr J. Casadevall , Mr S. Pavlovschi , Mr J. Borrego Borrego , Mrs E. Fura-Sandström, judges , and Mr M. O'Boyle , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 11 September 2000, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Mr Kalevi Hautakangas, is a Finnish national, who was born in 1948 and lives in Mutala. A. The circumstances of the case
Injury compensation proceedings The facts of the case, as submitted by the applicant, may be summarised as follows. The applicant sustained injuries to his shoulder, arms and wrists in an accident on 9 March 1994 while driving a kick sled. An insurance company granted the applicant a daily allowance ( päiväraha, dagpenning ) for 100 % reduction of his working capacity from 11 March 1994 to 8 March 1995. As the applicant apparently had continued problems, especially with his right wrist, he submitted medical opinions to the insurance company, applying for a continued daily allowance. On 14 June 1995 the insurance company cancelled the daily allowance (and denied the compensation claim for loss of income) as from 8 March 1995 maintaining that the applicant's working capacity was reduced by less than 10 % and that he was able to work at his post as technical director in a company. The applicant sought medical help in 1996 and participated, inter alia , in a rehabilitation examination. Right elbow nerve damage and signs of damage to the right wrist as well as depression were diagnosed in a medical opinion dated 29 April 1996. The applicant also underwent an isotope survey on 7 January 1997 and submitted to the insurance company a medical opinion dated 7 March 1997 regarding his hands and wrists. On 22 October 1997 the insurance company upheld its previous finding and decided not to extend the applicant's daily allowance after 8 March 1995. On 18 November 1997 the insurance company corrected its previous decision of 22 October 1997 so as to grant the applicant a disability pension for 100 % reduction of working capacity from 9 March to 31 March 1995. The applicant appealed to the Accident Board ( tapaturmalautakunta, olycksfallsnämnden ) requesting a disability pension ( tapaturmaeläke, olycksfallspension ). He relied, inter alia , on a medical opinion in which he was regarded as unfit to work until 31 March 1995; on a medical opinion of 20 April 1995, in which he was regarded as unfit to work for the following year; and on documents from the rehabilitation examination in 1996. The insurance company submitted in its observations that the applicant was not entitled to compensation after 31 March 1995. It maintained that the accident had caused impact injuries to the applicant's left shoulder joint, left forearm and both wrists. The applicant claimed that he had sustained injuries in addition to his shoulder, neck, right shoulder joint and right forearm, requesting a disability pension as from 1 April 1995 with interest. The insurance company further adduced a medical opinion dated 11 December 1997 in which the applicant was regarded as unfit to work due to depression until 30 June 1998. The company maintained that the applicant's neck strain and depression were not caused by the accident on 9 March 1994 and that the elbow nerve damage, which was caused by the said accident, was so mild that it did not render the applicant incapable to work. On 16 April 1998 the Accident Board upheld the insurance company's decision of 18 November 1997. It reasoned its decision as follows: “Based on the medical evidence submitted [the applicant] has sustained impact injuries to both his wrists, left shoulder area and left forearm area as well as damage to his right elbow nerve as a result of the accident on 9 March 1994. These injuries have not reduced his working capacity by at least 10 % as from 31 March 1995 and [the applicant] is therefore not entitled to disability pension pursuant to section 18, subsection 2 of the Act on Accident Insurance. [The applicant] must be regarded as capable of working as a managing director/technical director at his post. The Accident Board holds that [the applicant's] present difficulties with his right hand and arm are to a high degree of probability not caused by the accident on 9 March 1994, given that hardly any tissue damage has been found in the magnetic scan of his right hand or in the ENMG-examination. The left elbow nerve damage, for which the applicant has received compensation from the insurance company, is mild and the Accident Board holds that it is probably sickness-related. The Accident Board further finds that [the applicant's] depression, which reduces his working capacity, was not caused by the accident of 9 March 1994, or by the subsequent injuries. Initially no neck strain was found and neither had any damage to [the applicant's] right shoulder joint been reported in connection with the accident.” The applicant appealed to the Insurance Court requesting a disability pension as from 31 March 1995 with interest. The Insurance Court received two medical opinions dated 10 February 1998 and 13 July 1998 respectively and a certificate indicating that the applicant had tried to find employment on 9 January 1998. According to the Insurance Court's decision it invited observations from both parties and received letters from the applicant dated 15 October 1998. On 10 November 1998 the Insurance Court rejected the appeal and upheld the Accident Board's decision. The Insurance Court reasoned its decision as follows: “Reasons mentioned in the Accident Board's decision. The submitted new evidence does not give rise to different conclusions.” The applicant sought leave to appeal from the Supreme Court ( korkein oikeus, högsta domstolen ). The Supreme Court refused the applicant leave to appeal on 30 March 2000. Following an appeal on 20 June 2000 the Ministry for Social Affairs and Health ( sosiaali- ja terveysministeriö; social- och hälsovårdsministeriet ) maintained that the insurance company had in some of its observations by mistake mentioned nerve damage in the applicant's left elbow whereas the nerve damage was in fact in the right elbow. It however noted that the mistake had not affected the outcome of the case as the appellate bodies had had access to the original medical opinions which described the injuries correctly. It also held that there was no indication of non-communication of documents on the Insurance Court's behalf.
Testifying in criminal proceedings The applicant was heard as a witness before the District Court of Tampere ( käräjäoikeus, tingsrätten ) in a traffic accident case against a third party. On 7 October 1999 the District Court ordered that he be paid from the State a daily allowance for three days (453 Finnish marks (FIM)) and reimbursement of travelling expenses (FIM 1,107). On 17 June 1999 the applicant was fined FIM 500 for failure to attend the principal hearing. The applicant appealed to the Court of Appeal of Turku ( hovioikeus, hovrätten ) requesting removal of the fine and two additional daily allowances as well as reimbursement of accommodation expenses in Tampere. On 19 May 2000 the Court of Appeal upheld the fine but granted the applicant an additional daily allowance. It ruled the request for reimbursement of accommodation expenses inadmissible because the applicant had not made the request in the District Court. The Supreme Court refused to grant the applicant leave to appeal on 21 November 2000. B. Relevant domestic law 1. Disability pension Pursuant to section 18, subsection 2 of the Act on Accident Insurance ( tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lag om olycksfallsförsäkring ; 608/1948) a person is entitled to a disability pension if his/her working capacity has been reduced by at least 10 % due to an injury or a sickness caused by an accident. 2. Procedure Section 53, subsection 1 of the Act on Accident Insurance provides that appellate bodies in accident insurance matters are the Accident Board, the Insurance Court and the Supreme Court. Section 1 of the Decree on Accident Board ( asetus tapaturmalautakunnasta, förordning om olycksfallsnämnden ; 839/1981) provides that the Accident Board functions as the first appeal instance in matters concerning obligatory accident insurance. Section 9, subsection 1 of the Insurance Court Act ( laki vakuutusoikeudesta, lag om försäkringsdomstolen ; 14/1958, as in force at the relevant time) provided that proceedings in the Insurance Court were written. The Insurance Court could however, when there were exceptional reasons, decide to hold an oral hearing. Section 9, subsections 2 and 3 (as in force at the relevant time) contained provisions concerning, e.g., witness examination before the Insurance Court. Subsection 4 provided that in other respects proceedings in the Insurance Court were governed by provisions applicable to district courts. Chapter 24, section 15 of the Code of Judicial Procedure ( oikeudenkäymiskaari, rättegångbalken ; 4/1734, as in force at the relevant time) provided that a judgment was required to be reasoned. The judgment must indicate the facts and legal argumentation on which the decision is based. The judgment also has to contain an account of the reasoning which led the court to hold a disputed issue established or unsubstantiated.
Composition of the Accident Board and the Insurance Court Section 53 of the Act on Accident Insurance provides, inter alia , that in the Accident Board there are a full-time president, at least two vice presidents and at least three lawyer and medical doctor members. The president, vice presidents and other members bear the responsibility of a judge. Section 2, subsection 1 of the Insurance Court Act, as in force at the relevant time, provided that there were a presiding judge and senior and junior insurance court judges ( vakuutustuomari, försäkringsdomare ) in the Insurance Court. In cases concerning, inter alia , compensation claims pursuant to the Act on Accident Insurance, there were also medically-qualified judges in the composition of the Insurance Court. Section 10 of the Insurance Court Act, as in force at the relevant time, provided that member of the Insurance Court had to swear a judge's oath or make a corresponding affirmation.
Reservation According to the reservation made by Finland in accordance with Article 64 of the Convention, as in force at the relevant time, Finland could not guarantee a right to an oral hearing in so far as Finnish laws at the time of the events at issue did not provide such a right. This applied, inter alia , to proceedings which were held before the Insurance Court as the court of final instance, in accordance with Section 9 of the Insurance Court Act (14/1958), and proceedings before the Supreme Court in accordance with Chapter 30, section 20, of the Code of Judicial Procedure. Finland withdrew the reservation on 1 April 1999. COMPLAINTS The applicant complains under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention that : 1. the Accident Board and the Insurance Court did not give adequately reasoned decisions, as they did not indicate the evidence and consequent facts which led to their rejection of his appeal; 2. the Accident Board and the Insurance Court failed to communicate to him several documents which the insurance company had submitted to the Accident Board; 3. the insurance company failed to adduce several documents (approximately 300 pages) before the Insurance Court. The applicant claims to have weighed documents in the Supreme Court and in the insurance company and reached considerably different results on each occasion; 4. the Accident Board, Insurance Court and Supreme Court did not hold any oral hearings, in which regard he also invokes Article 6 § 3(d); 5. the Supreme Court did not reason its refusal of leave to appeal; 6. the length of the proceedings exceeded a reasonable time as it took almost four years for the domestic authorities to issue a final decision in the matter, which was of utmost importance to him; 7. a medical expert member of the Insurance Court was biased and did not have the required qualification to assess the applicant's evidence regarding a so-called Thermotest-analysis. The applicant complains, without invoking any particular provision that: 8. he was not granted a per diem allowance when he was heard as a witness in civil proceedings in District Court. THE LAW 1. The applicant complains that the Accident Board and the Insurance Court did not give adequately reasoned decisions, invoking Article 6 § 1 of the Convention, which insofar as relevant, reads as follows: “In the determination of his civil rights and obligations or of any criminal charge against him, everyone is entitled to a fair and public hearing within a reasonable time by an independent and impartial tribunal established by law.” The Court considers that it cannot, on the basis of the case file, determine the admissibility of these complaints and that it is therefore necessary, in accordance with Rule 54 § 2 (b) of the Rules of Court, to give notice of this part of the application to the respondent Government. 2. The applicant complains under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention (see above) that the Accident Board and the Insurance Court failed to communicate to him several relevant documents which the insurance company submitted to the Accident Board. The Court notes that the applicant has not specified which documents were allegedly not communicated to him and consequently, how this alleged non-communication may have affected the proceedings. This part of the complaint is accordingly unsubstantiated and must be rejected as manifestly ill-founded pursuant to Article 35 § 3 and 4 of the Convention. 3. The applicant complains that the insurance company failed to adduce several documents before the Insurance Court. The Court notes that the Convention does not guarantee rights with respect to, e.g., private insurance companies and rejects this part of the application as incompatible ratione personae pursuant to Article 35 § 3 and 4 of the Convention. 4. The applicant complains, invoking variously Article 6 §§1 and 3(d) of the Convention, that the Accident Board, the Insurance Court and the Supreme Court did not hold oral hearings. As Article 6 § 3(d) applies only where an applicant is charged with a criminal offence, the Court observes that these complaints fall to be examined under Article 6 § 1 alone. The Court notes that by its terms the scope of the Finnish reservation was, at the relevant time, limited to relieving, e.g. , the Insurance Court and Supreme Court from the obligation to hold an oral hearing and consequently finds that the reservation was valid and applicable to the Insurance Court and Supreme Court in the present case (see Helle v. Finland , judgment of 19 December 1997, Reports of Judgments and Decisions 1997 ‑ VIII, § 44; Tamminen and Tammelin v. Finland , (dec.) no. 33003/96, 28 September 1999). As regards the Accident Board the Court notes that the reservation did not expressly mention it. It observes, however, that in Helle v. Finland no violation of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention was found as an oral hearing before the Supreme Administrative Court would have sufficed to satisfy the requirements of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention in a situation where a lower judicial body had not held an oral hearing (see the above-cited judgment, §§ 45-47 and also the Commission's report of 15 October 1996, §§ 53-59). Similarly, in the present case, an obligation to hold an oral hearing cannot be re-imposed on the Insurance Court or the Supreme Court during the subsistence of the reservation's validity in order to compensate for the absence of such a hearing at a lower instance in the domestic legal order. The Court accordingly rejects these complaints as incompatible ratione materiae pursuant to Article 35 § 3 and 4 of the Convention.
As regards the alleged lack of reasoning of the Supreme Court's decision to refuse grant to appeal, the Court notes that an examination under Finnish law as to whether leave to appeal to the Supreme Court shall be granted only amounts to an examination as to whether the conditions under Chapter 30, section 3, para. 1 of the Code of the Judicial Procedure are fulfilled. It does not amount to an examination of the merits of the appeal. The leave to appeal examination by the Finnish Supreme Court did not, therefore, involve a determination of the applicant's civil rights within the meaning of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention (see T.H. and S.H. v. Finland , no. 19823/92, Commission decision of 9 February 1993, unpublished). It follows that this aspect of the complaint must be rejected as incompatible ratione materiae pursuant to Article 35 § 3 and 4 of the Convention.
Insofar as the applicant complains that the length of the proceedings exceeded a reasonable time, the Court observes that the Accident Board issued its decision on 16 April 1998, the Insurance Court on 10 November 1998 and the Supreme Court on 30 March 2000. The case-file does not indicate when the case became pending before the Accident Board: however, the contested decision of the insurance company was dated 22 October 1997. In these circumstances the Court finds that there is no indication of a failure to comply with the reasonable time requirement in Article 6 § 1 of the Convention and rejects this part of the application as manifestly ill-founded pursuant to Article 35 § 3 and 4 of the Convention.
As regards the applicant's complaints under Article 6 of the Convention that a medical member of the Insurance Court was biased and unqualified, the Court notes that the applicant has not substantiated his claims about bias. Furthermore, the necessary qualifications of Insurance Court judges are primarily a matter for regulation by national law. There is nothing in the case-file to support any suggestion that the medical member did not satisfy the conditions set by national law for sitting as a competent member of the court. These complaints must therefore be rejected as manifestly ill-founded pursuant to Article 35 § 3 and 4 of the Convention.
Finally, insofar as the applicant complains that he was not granted a per diem allowance as a witness in the District Court, the Court notes that the Convention does not guarantee a right to compensation for witnesses. The complaint must therefore be dismissed as incompatible ratione materiae pursuant to Article 35 § 3 and 4 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court unanimously Decides to adjourn the examination of the applicant's complaints concerning the lack of adequate reasoning in the decisions of the Accident Board and the Insurance Court; Declares the remainder of the application inadmissible. Michael O'Boyle Nicolas Bratza Registrar President