- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 20 ianuarie 2004
- Stat pârât
- FIN
- Concluzia
- Partly inadmissible
Elo împotriva Finlandei
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE PARȚIONALĂ PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA cererii nr. 30742/02 de către Jani Matti Kalevi ELO împotriva Finlandei Curții Europene a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), ședința la 20 ianuarie 2004 în calitate de Cameră compusă din: Sir Nicolas Bratza Președintele Pellonpää Casadevell Maruste Pavlovschi Borrego Borrego dna Fura-Sandström, judecători și dl M. O’Boyle Grefierul Sectorului Secțiunii Având în vedere cererea depusă la 7 august 2002, după ce a deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTELE Reclamantul, dl Jani Matti Kalevi Elo, este un național finlandez, născut în 1974 și locuiește în Rauma, Finlanda. El este reprezentat în fața Curții de către dl Jarmo Kinnunen, avocat care practică în Espoo, Finlanda.
Faptele cazului, prezentate de solicitant, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Reclamantul a lucrat ca lucrător cu ferovia. A absolvit școala secundară și a preluat un an și jumătate de pregătire în proiectarea tehnică. De asemenea, a luat un curs de patru luni de conducere cu intenția de a desfășura afacerea cu ferovia tatălui său. Octombrie 1996 a fost implicat într-un accident la locul de muncă. El a suferit leziuni la picioare și tocuri.
După accident, reclamantul a început studii de afaceri la o universitate în 1999. O companie de asigurare a acordat reclamantului o alocație pentru reducerea 100% a capacității sale de lucru pentru perioada cuprinsă între 18 octombrie 1996 și 16 Octombrie 1997. Aceeași societate de asigurare a acordat, de asemenea, reclamantului o pensie de prejudiciu industrial pentru perioada 17 octombrie 1997-31 august 1999. La 27 iunie 2000, societatea de asigurare a dat două decizii cu privire la alte cereri de compensare de asigurare ale reclamantului. Societatea de asigurare a acordat reclamantului o alocație pentru un an începând cu 1 Septembrie 1999 pentru studii care vor îmbunătăți competențele reclamantului în proiectarea tehnică.
Reclamantul a primit, de asemenea, finanțare pentru o jumătate de ani de formare de sprijin pentru găsirea unui loc de muncă. Compania de asigurare a susținut că, din cauza sănătății sale, reclamantul a fost incapabil de a lucra ca lucrător în foaie, dar că el ar putea continua să lucreze ca designer tehnic, pentru care a fost instruit. Societatea a susținut, de asemenea, că a fost posibil ca reclamantul să utilizeze beneficiul de un an și jumătate pentru studiile sale universitare. Cu toate acestea, societatea nu a acceptat să finanțeze în mod direct studiile universitare ale reclamantului. Într-o a doua decizie din 27 iunie 2000, societatea de asigurare a decis să califice compensația la gradul 3. tapaturmalatakunta, olycksfallsnämnden ) despre aceste decizii . El a cerut , printre altele , anularea deciziilor la 27 iunie 2000 și rambursarea integrală a cheltuielilor de studii universitare și o gradare mai mare a compensației sale.
El a susținut afirmația sa cu privire la vârsta sa tânără (24 de ani) și a afirmat că istoricul său prealabil educațional și de muncă nu exclude studiile universităților din domeniul cheltuielilor educaționale. El a afirmat că nu a lucrat niciodată ca designer tehnic. El a cerut, de asemenea, ca compensarea sa să fie clasificată la scară 7 (în loc de 3). În acest scop, reclamantul a prezentat două rapoarte medicale în care compensația a fost evaluată la scară 6 sau 7 respectiv. Reclamantul a solicitat o audiere orală pentru a prezenta dovezi în sprijinul punctului său de vedere cu privire la clasificarea compensației. În special, reclamantul a dorit ca doi medici (A și H) să fie auziți cu privire la faptele pe care au bazat estimarea lor cu privire la gradarea compensației.
Reclamantul a dorit, de asemenea, să facă o declarație orală cu privire la handicapurile din viața sa zilnică din cauza rănirilor sale. Consiliul pentru accidente a solicitat alte argumente scrise de la compania de asigurare, care se opune la o audiere orală. Consiliul pentru accidente a solicitat apoi reclamantului să își prezinte observațiile scrise cu privire la argumentele societății de asigurare. Reclamantul a prezentat alte argumente susținând punctul său de vedere cu privire la clasificarea compensației. La 5 aprilie 2001, Consiliul pentru Accident a respins cererea reclamantului de audiere orală, raționând că procedurile înainte de a fi de obicei scrise. A și H au remarcat că au prezentat deja declarațiile lor scrise către Consiliu și, prin urmare, nu a fost necesară o audiere orală.
A respins cererea reclamantului de rambursare și de clasificare mai mare a compensației sale. Reclamantul a apelat la Curtea de Asigurări ( Vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen ), solicitând din nou o rambursare deplină a cheltuielilor de studii universitare și o rambursare mai mare (calul 7) a compensației sale. El solicită, de asemenea, o audiere orală, în timp ce el a vrut să fie auzit ca martori cu privire la handicapul său în mișcare și în picioare și în ceea ce privește evaluarea gradării compensației sale. El a cerut ca această ultimă întrebare să fie examinată dintr-o perspectivă mai largă a membrelor sale mai mici în general și nu ca o chestiune mai restricționată a condiției tocurilor și gleznele sale.
Curtea de Asigurare a primit observații suplimentare de la părți cu privire la cererile lor și un nou raport medical. La 19 iunie 2002, Curtea de Asigurări a respins cererea reclamantului de o audiere orală, raționând că procedura din Curtea de Asigurări era ca o regulă generală scrisă și că o audiere orală nu era necesară, deoarece instanța a decis să examineze gradul de compensare al reclamantului pe baza tocurilor și gleznele sale, în care evaluarea a fost satisfăcută de dovezile medicale scrise. Curtea de Asigurări a susținut că cele mai multe rapoarte medicale la dispoziția sa sunt suficiente dovezi fără confirmarea lor sub jurământ. De asemenea, a remarcat că audierea reclamantului în persoană nu este necesară deoarece factorul decisiv în procesul decizional este raportul medical și a susținut de asemenea decizia Comitetului pentru accidente.
Nu există nici un recurs împotriva hotărârii Curții de Asigurări. Legea internă relevantă 1. Indemnizație Secțiunea 18a, punctul 1 din Legea privind asigurarea accidentelor (tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lag om Olycksfallsförsäkring , 608/1948) prevede că compensarea va fi plătită unui angajat care, printre altele , a suferit leziuni permanente de la un accident. Secțiunea 5 din Legea privind compensarea cheltuielilor de reabilitare în conformitate cu Legea privind asigurarea accidentelor (625/1991) prevede rambursarea acestor cheltuieli de reabilitare necesare care vizează menținerea sau consolidarea capacității de muncă și/sau de câștig, care ajută persoana la continuarea lucrării sau profesiei sale anterioare în ciuda leziunilor sau bolilor sale, sau care ajută persoana la începerea unei noi profesii capabile de a sprijini persoana.
În conformitate cu alineatul (2) din respectiva secțiune, vârsta persoanei, activitățile de lucru anterioare, educația, condițiile de viață, handicapurile cauzate de prejudiciul sau de boala și șansele persoanei de a găsi un loc de muncă în conformitate cu condițiile de recrutare aplicabile în mod normal după reabilitare sunt luate în considerare în evaluarea necesității de reabilitare. 2. Procedura din Consiliul pentru Accident este reglementată de Legea privind procedura judiciară în materie administrativă.
Secțiunea 53 punctul 6 din Legea privind asigurarea accidentelor (tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lag om Olycksfallsförsäkring , 608/1948, astfel cum a fost modificat prin Actul 297/1999 ) prevede că Actul de procedură judiciară în materie administrativă se aplică la examinarea unui caz în cadrul Comitetului pentru accidente, dacă nu este prevăzut altfel . Se desfășoară o audiere orală în conformitate cu art. 37 din Actul de procedură judiciară în materie administrativă . Secțiunea 37 din Actul de procedură judiciară în materie administrativă ( Hallintolainkäyttölaki, förvaltningsproceslag, 586/1996) prevede că se desfășoară o audiere orală, în care, de exemplu, pot fi auzite părți, martori și experți, atunci când este necesar.
art. 38 alineatul (1) din Legea privind procedurile judiciare în materie administrativă prevede că trebuie să se desfășoare o audiere orală dacă o parte privată solicită. Cu toate acestea, o audiere orală poate fi eliberată dacă cererea unei părți este declarată inadmisibilă sau respinsă imediat sau dacă o audiere orală ar fi, în mod clar, inutilă din cauza naturii cazului sau a altor circumstanțe. Procedura din Curtea de Accidenți este, de asemenea, reglementată de Actul privind procedura judiciară în materie administrativă. În conformitate cu art. 9 din Legea Tribunalului de Asigurări (laki vakuutusoikeudesta, lag privind försäkringsdomstolen , 14/1958), astfel cum este în vigoare la momentul respectiv, legea privind procedura judiciară în materie administrativă se aplică atunci când examinează un caz în Curtea de Asigurări, dacă nu este prevăzută altfel.
Se desfășoară o audiere orală atunci când este necesar în conformitate cu art. 37 din Actul privind procedura judiciară în materie administrativă. O audiere orală trebuie să se desfășoare la cererea unei părți private, astfel cum se prevede la art. 38 din Legea privind procedura judiciară în materie administrativă. Secțiunea 5 din Legea Curții de Asigurări, în vigoare la momentul respectiv, prevede că membrii Curții de Asigurări includ un medic în cazurile în care este necesară o evaluare medicală. 1 din Convenția că el nu a primit o audiere echitabilă, deoarece Curtea de Asigurări și-a respins cererea de audiere orală. 2. Reclamantul susține în continuare că hotărârea Curții de Asigurări nu a fost justificată în mod corespunzător, deoarece nu a menționat declarațiile A și H. THE DREPT Reclamantul se plânge de lipsa unei audieri orale în cererile sale de compensare în temeiul articolului 6 din Convenție.
art. 6 1 prevede, în măsura în care este relevant: „În determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor sale civile ..., fiecare are dreptul la o audiere corectă și publică”. Curtea decide să suspende examinarea acestei părți a cererii în așteptarea comunicării sale către Guvernul contestat. Reclamantul plânge, de asemenea, că hotărârea Curții de Asigurări nu a fost motivată în mod corespunzător deoarece nu a menționat rapoartele medicilor. Curtea a examinat plângerea în temeiul articolului 6 1 din Convenție.
Curtea reiterează că, deși art. 6 1 obligă instanțele să dea motive pentru hotărârile lor, nu se poate înțelege că este necesară o răspuns detaliat la fiecare argument (a se vedea Van de Hurk c. Olanda, hotărârea din 19 aprilie 1994, Serie A nr. 288, p. 20, § 61). Astfel, în respingerea unui recurs, o instanță de apel poate, în principiu, să aprobe pur și simplu motivele hotărârii instanței de judecată inferioară (a se vedea García Ruiz v. Spania [GC], nr. 30544/96, § 26, ECHR 1999 I). În ceea ce privește faptele prezentului caz, Curtea remarcă că, în ceea ce privește fondurile cauzei, Tribunalul de Asigurare a afirmat doar că cererea reclamantului a fost respinsă, însă se pare că Tribunalul de Asigurări, în ceea ce privește adoptarea deciziei sale, a încorporat implicit motivele furnizate de Consiliul pentru Accident.
În acest sens, decizia Comitetului pentru accidente a fost anexată hotărârii Curții de Asigurări (a se vedea Helle c. Finlanda , hotărârea din 19 decembrie 1997, Raporturi de hotărâri și hotărâri 1997 VIII § 56). Curtea remarcă, de asemenea, că Comitetul pentru accidente a avut în mod corespunzător opinia documentelor prezentate de reclamant în decizia sa și a stabilit concluziile sale privind dovezile medicale. Prin urmare, chiar dacă raționarea sa nu conține trimitere expresă la medicii A și H, nu există nici o indicație că argumentele reclamantului nu au fost examinate în mod corespunzător sau echitabil. Prin urmare, Curtea constată că această parte a plângerii este evident nefondată și ar trebui respinsă în temeiul articolelor 35 3 și 4 din Convenție.
Din aceste motive, Curtea hotărăște în unanimitate să suspende examinarea plângerilor reclamantei cu privire la [Notă1] lipsa unei audieri publice/orale; declara restul cererii inadmisibilă. Michael O’Boyle Nicolas Președintele grefierului BRATZA [Notă1] Resumează plângerile fără să citească în mod necesar articolele invocate ale convenției.
FOURTH SECTION
PARTIAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 30742/02 by Jani Matti Kalevi ELO against Finland The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 20 January 2004 as a Chamber composed of: Sir Nicolas Bratza , President , Mr M. Pellonpää , Mr J. Casadevall , Mr R. Maruste , Mr S. Pavlovschi , Mr J. Borrego Borrego , Mrs E. Fura-Sandström, judges , and Mr M. O’Boyle , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 7 August 2002, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Mr Jani Matti Kalevi Elo, is a Finnish national, who was born in 1974 and lives in Rauma, Finland. He is represented before the Court by Mr Jarmo Kinnunen, a lawyer practising in Espoo, Finland. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the applicant, may be summarised as follows.
The applicant worked as a sheet-iron worker. He had graduated from secondary school and he had taken one and a half years’ training in technical designing. He had also taken a four months’ course in management with the intention of carrying on his father’s sheet-iron business. On 17 October 1996 he was involved in an accident at his place of work. He sustained injuries to his legs and heels. After the accident the applicant commenced business studies at a university in 1999. An insurance company granted the applicant an allowance for 100% reduction of his working capacity for the period from 18 October 1996 to 16 October 1997. The same insurance company also granted the applicant an industrial injury pension for the period from 17 October 1997 to 31 August 1999. On 27 June 2000 the insurance company gave two decisions regarding the applicant’s further insurance compensation claims.
The insurance company granted the applicant an allowance for one year starting from 1 September 1999 for studies which would upgrade the applicant’s skills in technical designing. The applicant was also granted funding for a half years’ support training for finding a job. The insurance company held that due to his health the applicant was incapable of working as a sheet-iron worker but that he could continue working as a technical designer, for which he was trained. The company also held that it was possible for the applicant to use the one and a half years’ benefit for his university studies. However, the company did not agree to fund the applicant’s university studies directly. In a second decision on 27 June 2000 the insurance company decided to grade the compensation at scale 3. The applicant appealed to the Accident Board ( tapaturmalautakunta, olycksfallsnämnden ) about the said decisions.
He demanded, inter alia , the quashing of the decisions on 27 June 2000 and full reimbursement of the expenses of his university studies and a higher grading of his compensation. He supported his claim with reference to his young age (24 years) and stated that his prior educational and work history did not exclude university studies from the scope of the educational expenses. He asserted that he had never worked as a technical designer. He also demanded that his compensation be graded at scale 7 (instead of 3). For this purpose, the applicant submitted two medical reports in which the compensation was evaluated to be at scale 6 or 7 respectively. The applicant requested an oral hearing in order to present evidence in support of his view of the grading of the compensation.
In particular, the applicant wanted two medical doctors (A and H) to be heard concerning the facts on which they based their estimation of the grading of the compensation. The applicant also wanted to give an oral statement himself about the handicaps in his everyday life due to his injuries. The Accident Board requested further written arguments from the insurance company, which objected to an oral hearing. The Accident Board then requested the applicant to present his written observations on the insurance company’s arguments. The applicant submitted further arguments supporting his view of the grading of the compensation. On 5 April 2001 the Accident Board rejected the applicant’s request for an oral hearing, reasoning that the proceedings before it were usually written.
It noted that A and H had already submitted their written statements to the Board and, thus, there was no need for an oral hearing. It rejected the applicant’s claim for reimbursement and for the higher grading of his compensation. The applicant appealed to the Insurance Court ( vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen ), again requesting a full reimbursement of the expenses of his university studies and a higher (scale 7) grading of his compensation. He also requested an oral hearing as he wanted himself as well as medical doctors A and H to be heard as witnesses concerning his handicap in movement and standing up and concerning the evaluation of the grading of his compensation. He demanded that the latter question be examined from a wider perspective of his lower limbs in general and not as the more restricted question of the condition of his heels and ankles.
The Insurance Court received further observations from the parties regarding their demands and a new medical report. On 19 June 2002 the Insurance Court rejected the applicant’s request for an oral hearing, reasoning that the procedure in the Insurance Court was as a general rule written and that an oral hearing was unnecessary as the court had decided to examine the grading of the applicant’s compensation on the basis of his heels and ankles, in which assessment it was satisfied with the written medical evidence. The Insurance Court maintained that the several medical reports at its disposal were sufficient evidence without their confirmation under oath. It further noted that the hearing of the applicant in person was not necessary as the decisive factor in the decision making was the medical reports.
It also upheld the decision of the Accident Board. There is no appeal against the judgment of the Insurance Court. B. Relevant domestic law 1. Compensation Section 18a, paragraph 1 of the Accident Insurance Act ( tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lag om olycksfallsförsäkring , 608/1948) provides that compensation shall be paid to an employee who, inter alia , has suffered permanent injuries from an accident. Section 5 of the Act on Compensation of Rehabilitation Expenses pursuant to the Accident Insurance Act (625/1991) provides for reimbursement of such necessary rehabilitation expenses aimed to maintain or enhance a person’s working and/or earning capacity, which help the person to continue at his/her previous work or profession despite his/her injuries or sickness, or which help the person to start a new profession capable of supporting the person.
Pursuant to paragraph 2 of the said section, the person’s age, prior working activities, education, living conditions, handicaps caused by the injury or the sickness and the person’s chances of finding a job according to normally applicable recruitment conditions after rehabilitation shall be taken into account when assessing his/her need for rehabilitation. 2. Procedure The procedure in the Accident Board is governed by the Act on Judicial Procedure in Administrative Matters. Section 53 paragraph 6 of the Accident Insurance Act ( tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lag om olycksfallsförsäkring , 608/1948, as amended by act 297/1999) provides that the Act on Judicial Procedure in Administrative Matters shall be applied when examining a case in the Accident Board if not otherwise stipulated.
An oral hearing shall be held when necessary according to section 37 of the Act on Judicial Procedure in Administrative Matters. Section 37 of the Act on Judicial Procedure in Administrative Matters ( hallintolainkäyttölaki, förvaltningsprocesslag, 586/1996) provides that an oral hearing, in which for example parties, witnesses and experts may be heard, shall be held when necessary. Section 38 paragraph 1 of the Act on Judicial Procedure in Administrative Matters provides that an oral hearing must be held if requested by a private party. An oral hearing may however be dispensed with if a party’s demand is ruled inadmissible or immediately dismissed or if an oral hearing would be clearly unnecessary due to the nature of the case or other circumstances.
The procedure in the Accident Court is also governed by the Act on Judicial Procedure in Administrative Matters. In accordance with section 9 of the Insurance Court Act ( laki vakuutusoikeudesta, lag on försäkringsdomstolen , 14/1958), as in force at the relevant time, the Act on Judicial Procedure in Administrative Matters shall be applied when examining a case in the Insurance Court if not otherwise stipulated. An oral hearing shall be held when necessary according to section 37 of the Act on Judicial Procedure in Administrative Matters. An oral hearing must be held when requested by a private party as stipulated in section 38 of the Act on Judicial Procedure in Administrative Matters. Section 5 of the Insurance Court Act, as in force at the relevant time, provides that the members of the Insurance Court include a medical doctor in cases where medical assessment is necessary.
COMPLAINTS 1. The applicant complains under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention that he did not receive a fair hearing as the Insurance Court rejected his request for an oral hearing. 2. The applicant further alleges that the judgment of the Insurance Court was not properly reasoned as it did not mention the statements of A and H. THE LAW 1. The applicant complains about the lack of an oral hearing in his compensation claims under Article 6 of the Convention. Article 6 § 1 provides, insofar as relevant: “In the determination of his civil rights and obligations ..., everyone is entitled to a fair and public hearing”. The Court decides to adjourn the further examination of this part of the application pending its communication to the respondent Government.
2. The applicant also complains that the judgment of the Insurance Court was not properly reasoned as it did not mention his medical doctors’ reports. The Court has examined the complaint under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention. The Court reiterates that although Article 6 § 1 obliges courts to give reasons for their decisions, it cannot be understood as requiring a detailed answer to every argument (see Van de Hurk v. the Netherlands, judgment of 19 April 1994, Series A no. 288, p. 20, § 61). Thus, in dismissing an appeal, an appellate court may, in principle, simply endorse the reasons for the lower court’s decision (see García Ruiz v. Spain [GC], no. 30544/96, § 26, ECHR 1999 ‑ I). Turning to the facts of the present case, the Court observes that as regards the merits of the case the Insurance Court merely stated that the applicant’s application was dismissed.
It would appear to the Court however that the Insurance Court in reaching its decision impliedly incorporated the reasons given by the Accident Board. It is significant that in this respect the decision of the Accident Board was appended to the Insurance Court’s decision (see Helle v. Finland , judgment of 19 December 1997, Reports of Judgments and Decisions 1997 ‑ VIII, § 56). The Court further notes that the Accident Board had due regard to the documents presented by the applicant in its decision and set out its conclusions on the medical evidence. Therefore, even though its reasoning did not contain express reference to the doctors A and H, there is no indication that the applicant’s arguments were not properly or fairly examined.
Consequently, the Court finds that this part of the complaint is manifestly ill-founded and should be rejected pursuant to Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court unanimously Decides to adjourn the examination of the applicant’s complaints concerning [Note1] the lack of a public/oral hearing; Declares the remainder of the application inadmissible. Michael O’Boyle Nicolas BRATZA Registrar President [Note1] Summarise the complaints without necessarily citing the invoked Convention Articles.