- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 13 decembrie 2005
- Stat pârât
- FIN
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Elo împotriva Finlandei
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE PRIVIND ADMINISIBILitatea cererii nr. 30742/02 de către Jani Matti Kalevi ELO împotriva Finlandei Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care a stat la 13 decembrie 2005 în calitate de Cameră compusă din: Sir Nicolas Bratza Președintele Bonello Pellonpää Traja Garlicki Borrego Mijović, judecători și grefierul secțiunii O'Boyle având în vedere cererea depusă la 7 august 2002, având în vedere decizia parțială din 20 ianuarie 2004, având în vedere observațiile prezentate de guvernul contestat și observațiile în răspunsul prezentat de solicitant, după ce a deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: Reclamantul, dl Jani Matti Kalevi Elo, este un național finlandez, născut în 1974 și locuiește în Rauma, Finlanda.
El este reprezentat în fața Curții de către dl Jarmo Kinnunen, un avocat practicant în Espoo, Finlanda. Guvernul contestat este reprezentat de agentul lor, dl Arto Kosonen, director al Ministerului Afacerilor Externe. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Reclamantul a lucrat ca lucrător cu ferăstrău. A absolvit școala secundară și a preluat un an și jumătate de pregătire în proiectare tehnică. De asemenea, a luat un curs de patru luni de conducere cu intenția de a desfășura afacerile cu ferăstrău tatălui său. Octombrie 1996 a fost implicat într-un accident la locul de muncă. El a suferit leziuni la picioare și tocuri.
După accident, reclamantul a început studii de afaceri la o universitate în 1999. O companie de asigurare a acordat reclamantului o alocație pentru reducerea 100% a capacității sale de lucru pentru perioada cuprinsă între 18 octombrie 1996 și 16 Octombrie 1997. Aceeași societate de asigurare a acordat, de asemenea, reclamantului o pensie de prejudiciu industrial pentru perioada 17 octombrie 1997-31 august 1999. La 27 iunie 2000, societatea de asigurare a dat două decizii cu privire la alte cereri de compensare de asigurare ale reclamantului. Societatea de asigurare a acordat reclamantului o alocație pentru un an începând cu 1 Septembrie 1999 pentru studii care ar îmbunătăți abilitățile reclamantului în proiectarea tehnică.
De asemenea, reclamantul a fost acordat finanțare pentru o jumătate de ani de formare de sprijin pentru găsirea unui loc de muncă. Compania de asigurare a susținut că, din cauza sănătății sale, reclamantul a fost incapabil de a lucra ca lucrător în foaie, dar că ar putea continua să lucreze ca designer tehnic, pentru care a fost instruit. Societatea a susținut, de asemenea, că a fost posibil ca reclamantul să utilizeze beneficiul de un an și jumătate pentru studiile sale universitare. Cu toate acestea, societatea nu a acceptat să finanțeze în mod direct studiile universitare ale reclamantului. Într-o a doua decizie din 27 iunie 2000, societatea de asigurare a decis să califice compensația la gradul 3. tapaturmalatakunta, olycksfallsnämnden ) despre aceste decizii . El a cerut , printre altele , anularea deciziilor la 27 iunie 2000 și rambursarea integrală a cheltuielilor de studii universitare și o gradare mai mare a compensației sale.
El a susținut afirmația sa cu privire la tinerețea sa (24 de ani) și a afirmat că istoricul său prealabil educațional și de muncă nu exclude studiile universităților din domeniul cheltuielilor educaționale. El a afirmat că nu a lucrat niciodată ca designer tehnic. El a cerut, de asemenea, ca compensarea sa să fie clasificată la scară 7 (în loc de 3). În acest scop, reclamantul a prezentat două rapoarte medicale în care compensația a fost evaluată la scară 6 sau 7 respectiv. Reclamantul a solicitat o audiere orală pentru a prezenta dovezi în sprijinul punctului său de vedere cu privire la clasificarea compensației. În special, reclamantul a dorit ca doi medici (A și H) să fie auziți cu privire la faptele pe care au bazat estimarea lor cu privire la gradarea compensației.
Reclamantul a dorit, de asemenea, să facă o declarație orală cu privire la handicapurile din viața sa zilnică din cauza rănirilor sale. Consiliul pentru accident a solicitat alte argumente scrise de la compania de asigurare, care se opune la o audiere orală. Consiliul pentru accident a solicitat apoi reclamantului să își prezinte observațiile scrise cu privire la argumentele societății de asigurare. Reclamantul a prezentat alte argumente susținând punctul său de vedere cu privire la clasificarea compensației. La 5 aprilie 2001, Consiliul pentru Accident a respins cererea reclamantului de audiere orală, raționând că procedurile înainte de a fi de obicei scrise. A și H au remarcat că au prezentat deja declarațiile lor scrise la Consiliu și, prin urmare, nu a fost necesară o audiere orală.
A respins cererea reclamantului de rambursare și pentru gradarea mai mare a compensației sale. Reclamantul a apelat la Curtea de Asigurări ( Vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen ), solicitând din nou rambursarea deplină a cheltuielilor de studii universitare și o calificare mai mare (calul 7) a compensației sale. El solicită, de asemenea, o audiere orală, în timp ce el a vrut să se întâmple, precum și medicii A și H, ca martori cu privire la handicapul său în mișcare și în picioare și cu privire la clasificarea compensației sale. El a cerut ca această ultimă întrebare să fie examinată din perspectiva mai largă a condiției membrelor sale mai mici în general și nu din perspectiva mai limitată a condiției tocuri și gleznele sale.
Curtea de Asigurări a primit observații suplimentare de la părți cu privire la cererile lor și un nou raport medical. La 19 iunie 2002, Curtea de Asigurări a respins cererea reclamantului de o audiere orală, raționând că procedura din Curtea de Asigurări a fost scrisă ca o regulă generală și că o audiere orală a fost inutile, deoarece instanța a decis să examineze clasificarea compensației reclamantului pe baza tocurilor și gleznele sale, în care evaluarea a fost satisfăcută de dovezile medicale scrise. Curtea de Asigurări a susținut că cele mai multe rapoarte medicale la dispoziția sa sunt suficiente dovezi fără confirmarea lor sub jurământ. De asemenea, a remarcat că audierea reclamantului în persoană nu este necesară deoarece factorul decisiv în procesul decizional este raportul medical și a susținut de asemenea decizia Comitetului pentru accidente.
Nu a existat niciun recurs împotriva hotărârii Curții de Asigurări.Hotărârea internă relevantă Secțiunea 18a, punctul 1 din Legea privind asigurarea accidentelor (tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lag om Olycksfallsförsäkring , 608/1948) prevede că compensarea va fi plătită unui angajat care, printre altele , a suferit leziuni permanente de la un accident.
Secțiunea 5 din Legea privind compensarea cheltuielilor de reabilitare în temeiul Legii privind asigurarea accidentelor (laki tapaturmavakuutuslain perusteella korvattavasta kuntoutuksesta, lag privind reabilitarea fiului ersätts enligt lagen om olycksfalls försäkring , 625/1991) prevede rambursarea acestor cheltuieli de reabilitare necesare care vizează menținerea sau îmbunătățirea capacității de muncă și/sau de câștigare a unei persoane, care ajută persoana să continue la munca sau profesie anterioară în ciuda leziunilor sau bolilor sale, sau care ajută persoana la începerea unei noi profesii capabile de a sprijini persoana.
În conformitate cu alineatul (2) din respectiva secțiune, vârsta persoanei, activitățile de lucru anterioare, educația, condițiile de viață, handicapurile cauzate de prejudiciul sau de boala și șansele persoanei de a găsi un loc de muncă în conformitate cu condițiile de recrutare aplicabile în mod normal după reabilitare sunt luate în considerare în evaluarea necesității de reabilitare. În conformitate cu decizia emisă de Ministerul Afacerilor Sociale și Sănătății (Sosiaali- ja terveysministeriö, social-och hälsovårdsministeriet ) la 23 decembrie 1986 (23.12.1986/1012), rănile și handicapurile sunt împărțite în 20 de categorii. Gradul de leziuni este determinat prin alegerea unui prejudiciu echivalent sau comparabil la scară.
În cazurile în care, din motive specifice, nu se poate aplica amploarea leziunilor specifice, se poate utiliza un titlu mai general, de exemplu, membrele mai mici în ansamblu. Pentru determinarea gradului de leziuni se ia în considerare calitatea și amploarea leziunilor. Evaluarea leziunilor comparabile în mod formalizat, în funcție de scară, este menită să asigure o determinare uniformă a handicapului suferit. Gradul de invaliditate al persoanei rănite este comparat cu capacitatea unei persoane sănătoase de aceeași vârstă.
Procedură Procedura în cadrul comitetului pentru accidente este reglementată de Legea privind procedura judiciară administrativă ( Hallintolainkäyttölaki, förvaltningsproceslag, 586/1996), care a intrat în vigoare la 1 decembrie 1996. Secțiunea 53 punctul 6 din Legea privind asigurarea accidentelor (tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lag om olycksfallsförsäkring , 608/1948, astfel cum a fost modificat prin Actul 297/1999 ) prevede că legea privind procedura judiciară administrativă se aplică în examinarea unui caz în cadrul consiliului de accident dacă nu este prevăzut altfel . Se desfășoară o audiere orală atunci când este necesar în conformitate cu art. 37 din respectiva lege . Secțiunea 37 din respectiva lege prevede că se desfășoară o audiere orală, în care, de exemplu, părțile, martorii și experții pot fi ascultate, atunci când este necesar.
Secțiunea 38 alineatul (1) din respectiva lege prevede că o audiere orală trebuie să se desfășoare dacă o parte privată solicită. Cu toate acestea, o audiere orală poate fi eliberată dacă cererea unei părți este declarată inadmisibilă sau respinsă imediat sau dacă o audiere orală ar fi, în mod clar, inutile din cauza naturii cazului sau a altor circumstanțe. Partea explicativă a proiectului de lege a Guvernului la Legea privind procedura judiciară administrativă (HE 217/1996) consideră dreptul la audiere orală, astfel cum prevede art. 6 din Convenția și posibilitatea, în materie administrativă, de a renunța la audiere atunci când aceasta ar fi în mod clar inutile, astfel cum se prevede în secțiunea 38 alineatul (1) din respectiva Actă.
Potrivit proiectului de lege al Guvernului, o audiere orală contribuie la procedura centralizată și directă, dar deoarece nu aduce întotdeauna valoare adăugată, trebuie să se asigure că flexibilitatea și eficacitatea costurilor procedurii administrative nu este subminată. Trebuie avută o audiere orală atunci când este necesară clarificarea problemelor și audierea poate fi considerată benefică pentru cazul în ansamblu. Procedura din Curtea de Asigurări este, de asemenea, reglementată de Legea privind procedura judiciară administrativă. În temeiul articolului 9 din Legea Tribunalului de Asigurări (laki vakuutusoikeudesta, lag privind försäkringsdomstolen , 14/1958), astfel cum este în vigoare la momentul respectiv, Legea de procedură judiciară administrativă se aplică la examinarea unui caz în Curtea de Asigurări, dacă nu se prevede altfel.
Secțiunea 5 din Legea Tribunalului de Asigurări, astfel cum este în vigoare la momentul respectiv, prevede că membrii Curții de Asigurări includ un medic în cazurile în care este necesară o evaluare medicală. Reclamantul s-a plâns în temeiul articolului 6 1 din Convenție că nu a primit o audiere echitabilă, deoarece Curtea de Asigurări și-a respins cererea de audiere orală. HOTĂRÂREA Reclamantul s-a plâns că a fost negat o audiere orală în fața Curții de Asigurări.
El s-a plâns de încălcarea articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție, care citește, în măsura în care este cazul, după cum urmează: „În determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor sale civile ..., toată lumea are dreptul la o audiere echitabilă ... de [a] ... tribunal ...” Guvernul a susținut că în acest caz există circumstanțe care justificau difuzarea unei audieri și, prin urmare, că nu a existat încălcarea articolului 6 § 1. Acestea au fost de părere că examinarea relevantă a fost dacă luarea deciziilor se bazează pe informații adecvate și suficiente, susținând că clasificarea unui prejudiciu sau a unui handicap se bazează numai pe calitatea prejudiciului sau a handicapului, nu pe circumstanțele personale ale reclamantului.
Prin urmare, ei au fost de părere că auzirea reclamantului ar fi fost inutile pentru clarificare. Guvernul a susținut că declarațiile medicale furnizate de cei doi doctori din 1996 cu privire la leziunile reclamantului și la tratamentul lor au fost disponibile consiliului pentru accident și Curtea de Asigurări. Acestea au subliniat, de asemenea, faptul că reclamantul a primit ocazia de a furniza declarații scrise suplimentare și certificate medicale suplimentare după refuzul cererii sale de audiere orală, subliniind că reclamantul a furnizat declarații scrise și certificate medicale actuale care, totuși, nu include niciun motiv pentru modificarea gradării anterioare a leziunilor. În plus, reclamantul a fost reprezentat de un avocat pe parcursul procedurii și, prin urmare, nu a putut fi considerat că a avut dificultăți în argumentarea sa în scris și în prezentarea argumentelor potrivite.
În cele din urmă, guvernul a observat că problema în cauză era foarte tehnică, fiind bazată pe certificate medicale. Nu a existat nimic care să indice că ar fi apărut întrebări de fapt sau de drept care nu ar fi putut fi rezolvate în mod corespunzător pe baza dosarului și a observațiilor scrise ale reclamantului. În opinia Guvernului nu ar fi putut fi adunăte informații suplimentare prin auzul personal al reclamantului sau al medicilor, care au furnizat deja mai multe rapoarte în timpul întregii lungimi a tratamentului reclamantului. Reclamantul a subliniat că există dezacorduri substanțiale în ceea ce privește categoria corectă de handicap, adică invaliditatea funcțională a extremităților inferioare.
El a fost de părere că scala rănilor nu era aplicabilă în cazul său, deoarece handicapul său nu putea fi comparat cu o amputație a oaselor instepate, de exemplu. El a susținut că handicapul său a însemnat că el nu poate merge pe distanțe lungi și, prin urmare, el a considerat că gradul de handicap nu ar fi trebuit să fie estimat prin utilizarea unei scale de leziuni specifice, ci mai degrabă prin utilizarea unui titlu bazat pe o evaluare mai generală a leziunilor suferite. Din același motiv, în opinia reclamantului, determinarea prejudiciului nu ar fi putut fi făcută doar prin trimitere la documentele scrise. În cele din urmă, el a remarcat că intenția sa nu a fost de a solicita o compensare suplimentară pentru perturbarea vieții sale cotidiane, ci doar de a prezenta argumentele sale în mod corespunzător în fața Curții de Asigurări.
Prin urmare, Curtea concluzionează că această plângere nu este, în sensul art. 35 § 3 din Convenție, necesită o examinare a fondului. Nu s-a stabilit niciun alt motiv pentru declararea inadmisibilă. Din aceste motive, Curtea declară în unanimitate cererea admisibilă, fără a se judeca în fondul cauzei. Președintele grefierului Michael O'Boyle Nicolas Bratza
FOURTH SECTION
DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 30742/02 by Jani Matti Kalevi ELO against Finland The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 13 December 2005 as a Chamber composed of: Sir Nicolas Bratza , President , Mr G. Bonello , Mr M. Pellonpää , Mr K. Traja , Mr L. Garlicki , Mr J. Borrego Borrego , Ms L. Mijović, judges , and Mr M. O'Boyle , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 7 August 2002, Having regard to the partial decision of 20 January 2004, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Mr Jani Matti Kalevi Elo, is a Finnish national, who was born in 1974 and lives in Rauma, Finland.
He is represented before the Court by Mr Jarmo Kinnunen, a lawyer practising in Espoo, Finland. The respondent Government are represented by their Agent, Mr Arto Kosonen, Director in the Ministry for Foreign Affairs. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. The applicant worked as a sheet-iron worker. He had graduated from secondary school and he had taken one and a half years' training in technical design. He had also taken a four months' course in management with the intention of carrying on his father's sheet-iron business. On 17 October 1996 he was involved in an accident at his place of work. He sustained injuries to his legs and heels.
After the accident the applicant commenced business studies at a university in 1999. An insurance company granted the applicant an allowance for 100% reduction of his working capacity for the period from 18 October 1996 to 16 October 1997. The same insurance company also granted the applicant an industrial injury pension for the period from 17 October 1997 to 31 August 1999. On 27 June 2000 the insurance company gave two decisions regarding the applicant's further insurance compensation claims. The insurance company granted the applicant an allowance for one year starting from 1 September 1999 for studies which would upgrade the applicant's skills in technical designing. The applicant was also granted funding for a half years' support training for finding a job.
The insurance company held that due to his health the applicant was incapable of working as a sheet-iron worker but that he could continue working as a technical designer, for which he was trained. The company also held that it was possible for the applicant to use the one and a half years' benefit for his university studies. However, the company did not agree to fund the applicant's university studies directly. In a second decision on 27 June 2000 the insurance company decided to grade the compensation at scale 3. The applicant appealed to the Accident Board ( tapaturmalautakunta, olycksfallsnämnden ) about the said decisions. He demanded, inter alia , the quashing of the decisions on 27 June 2000 and full reimbursement of the expenses of his university studies and a higher grading of his compensation.
He supported his claim with reference to his youth (24 years) and stated that his prior educational and work history did not exclude university studies from the scope of the educational expenses. He asserted that he had never worked as a technical designer. He also demanded that his compensation be graded at scale 7 (instead of 3). For this purpose, the applicant submitted two medical reports in which the compensation was evaluated to be at scale 6 or 7 respectively. The applicant requested an oral hearing in order to present evidence in support of his view of the grading of the compensation. In particular, the applicant wanted two medical doctors (A and H) to be heard concerning the facts on which they based their estimation of the grading of the compensation.
The applicant also wanted to give an oral statement himself about the handicaps in his everyday life due to his injuries. The Accident Board requested further written arguments from the insurance company, which objected to an oral hearing. The Accident Board then requested the applicant to present his written observations on the insurance company's arguments. The applicant submitted further arguments supporting his view of the grading of the compensation. On 5 April 2001 the Accident Board rejected the applicant's request for an oral hearing, reasoning that the proceedings before it were usually written. It noted that A and H had already submitted their written statements to the Board and, thus, there was no need for an oral hearing.
It rejected the applicant's claim for reimbursement and for the higher grading of his compensation. The applicant appealed to the Insurance Court ( vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen ), again requesting full reimbursement of the expenses of his university studies and a higher (scale 7) grading of his compensation. He also requested an oral hearing as he wanted himself as well as medical doctors A and H to be heard as witnesses concerning his disability in movement and standing and concerning the grading of his compensation. He demanded that the latter question be examined from the wider perspective of the condition of his lower limbs in general and not from the more restricted perspective of the condition of his heels and ankles.
The Insurance Court received further observations from the parties regarding their demands and a new medical report. On 19 June 2002 the Insurance Court rejected the applicant's request for an oral hearing, reasoning that the procedure in the Insurance Court was as a general rule written and that an oral hearing was unnecessary as the court had decided to examine the grading of the applicant's compensation on the basis of his heels and ankles, in which assessment it was satisfied with the written medical evidence. The Insurance Court maintained that the several medical reports at its disposal were sufficient evidence without their confirmation under oath. It further noted that the hearing of the applicant in person was not necessary as the decisive factor in the decision making was the medical reports.
It also upheld the decision of the Accident Board. There was no appeal against the judgment of the Insurance Court. B. Relevant domestic law Compensation Section 18a, paragraph 1 of the Accident Insurance Act ( tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lag om olycksfallsförsäkring , 608/1948) provides that compensation shall be paid to an employee who, inter alia , has suffered permanent injuries from an accident.
Section 5 of the Act on Compensation of Rehabilitation Expenses pursuant to the Accident Insurance Act ( laki tapaturmavakuutuslain perusteella korvattavasta kuntoutuksesta, lag on rehabilitering son ersätts enligt lagen om olycksfalls försäkring , 625/1991) provides for reimbursement of such necessary rehabilitation expenses aimed to maintain or enhance a person's working and/or earning capacity, which help the person to continue at his/her previous work or profession despite his/her injuries or sickness, or which help the person to start a new profession capable of supporting the person. Pursuant to paragraph 2 of the said section, the person's age, prior working activities, education, living conditions, handicaps caused by the injury or the sickness and the person's chances of finding a job according to normally applicable recruitment conditions after rehabilitation shall be taken into account when assessing his/her need for rehabilitation.
Grading of injuries According to the decision issued by the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health ( sosiaali- ja terveysministeriö, social- och hälsovårdsministeriet ) on 23 December 1986 (23.12.1986/1012), injuries and disabilities are divided into 20 categories. The grade of injuries is determined by choosing an equivalent or comparable injury on the scale. In cases where for specific reasons the scale of specific injuries cannot be applied, a more general title, for example lower limbs as a whole, may be used. For the determination of the grade of injuries the quality and extent of the injuries are taken into consideration. The assessment of the comparable injuries in a formalised way, according to the scale, is intended to ensure a uniform determination of the disability suffered.
The injured person's degree of disability is compared with the abilities of a healthy person of a same age. Procedure The procedure in the Accident Board is governed by the Administrative Judicial Procedure Act ( hallintolainkäyttölaki, förvaltningsprocesslag, 586/1996), which entered into force on 1 December 1996. Section 53 paragraph 6 of the Accident Insurance Act ( tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lag om olycksfallsförsäkring , 608/1948, as amended by act 297/1999) provides that the Administrative Judicial Procedure Act shall be applied when examining a case in the Accident Board if not otherwise stipulated. An oral hearing shall be held when necessary according to section 37 of the said Act. Section 37 of the said Act provides that an oral hearing, in which for example parties, witnesses and experts may be heard, shall be held when necessary.
Section 38 paragraph 1 of the said Act provides that an oral hearing must be held if requested by a private party. An oral hearing may however be dispensed with if a party's demand is ruled inadmissible or immediately dismissed or if an oral hearing would be clearly unnecessary due to the nature of the case or other circumstances. The explanatory part of the Government Bill to the Administrative Judicial Procedure Act (HE 217/1996) considers the right to oral hearing as provided by Article 6 of the Convention and the possibility in administrative matters to dispense with the hearing when it would be clearly unnecessary, as stated in Section 38 paragraph 1 of the said Act. According to the Government Bill an oral hearing contributes to the centralised and direct procedure but since it does not always bring any added value, it must be ensured that the flexibility and cost effectiveness of the administrative procedure is not undermined.
An oral hearing is to be held when it is necessary for the clarification of the issues and the hearing can be considered beneficial for the case as a whole. The procedure in the Insurance Court is also governed by the Administrative Judicial Procedure Act. Under section 9 of the Insurance Court Act ( laki vakuutusoikeudesta, lag on försäkringsdomstolen , 14/1958), as in force at the relevant time, the Administrative Judicial Procedure Act shall be applied when examining a case in the Insurance Court if not otherwise stipulated. Section 5 of the Insurance Court Act, as in force at the relevant time, provides that the members of the Insurance Court include a medical doctor in cases where medical assessment is necessary.
COMPLAINT The applicant complained under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention that he did not receive a fair hearing as the Insurance Court rejected his request for an oral hearing. THE LAW The applicant complained that he was denied an oral hearing before the Insurance Court. He complained of a violation of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention which reads, in so far as relevant, as follows: “In the determination of his civil rights and obligations ..., everyone is entitled to a fair ... hearing ... by [a] ... tribunal...” The Government contended that in the present case there were circumstances which justified dispensing with a hearing and thus that there was no violation of Article 6 § 1. They were of the opinion that the relevant consideration was whether the decision-making was based on appropriate and sufficient information.
They argued that the grading of an injury or disability was based solely on the quality of the injury or disability, not on the personal circumstances of the applicant. Hence they were of the view that hearing the applicant would have been unnecessary for clarification. The Government submitted that the medical statements provided by the applicant's two doctors since 1996 on the applicant's injuries and on their treatment were available to the Accident Board and the Insurance Court. They further emphasised that the applicant was given an opportunity to provide additional written statements and additional medical certificates to them after his request for an oral hearing was denied. They pointed out that the applicant provided written statements and current medical certificates which, however, did not include any reasons for changing the previous grading of the injuries.
Furthermore, the applicant was represented by a counsel throughout the proceedings and he could thus not be considered to have had difficulties in arguing his case in writing and submitting arguments as he saw fit. Finally the Government observed that the issue at hand was very technical, being based on medical certificates. There was nothing to indicate that questions of fact or law would have emerged which could not have been adequately resolved on the basis of the case file and the written observations of the applicant. In the Government's view no additional information could have been gathered by hearing the applicant personally or the doctors, who had already provided several reports during the entire length of applicant's treatment.
The applicant pointed out that there was substantial disagreement concerning the right category of disability, i.e. the functional disability of the lower extremities. He was of the opinion that the scale of injuries was not applicable in his case as his disability could not be compared to an amputation of the instep bones, for example. He argued that his disability meant that he could not walk long distances, and therefore he considered that the degree of disability should have been estimated not by using a scale of specific injuries but rather by using a title based on more general assessment of injuries sustained. For the same reason, in the applicant's view, the determination of the injury could not have been made only by reference to the written documents.
Finally he noted that his intent was not to claim additional compensation for the disruption of his everyday life, but only to present his arguments properly before the Insurance Court. The Court considers, in the light of the parties' submissions, that the complaint raises serious issues of fact and law under the Convention, the determination of which requires an examination of the merits. The Court concludes therefore that this complaint is not manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. No other ground for declaring it inadmissible has been established. For these reasons, the Court unanimously Declares the application admissible, without prejudging the merits of the case.
Michael O'Boyle Nicolas Bratza Registrar President