- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 13 ianuarie 2009
- Stat pârât
- FIN
- Articole
- Articolul 6, Articolul 41
- Concluzia
- Restul cererii — inadmisibil
- Încălcare — Articolul 6
- Prejudiciu moral — sumă acordată
Kukkonen împotriva Finlandei (nr. 2)
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamantul s-a născut în 1967 și trăiește în Helsinki. La 30 ianuarie 1994, reclamantul a avut un accident la locul de muncă. Compania de asigurări i-a plătit o pensie de prejudiciu ocupațional până la 31 mai 1996. Reclamantul a solicitat ca pensia să continue începând cu 1 iunie 1996. La 8 mai 1996, societatea de asigurări a respins cererea de a constata că capacitatea de muncă a reclamantului a fost redusă cu mai puțin de 10%. De asemenea, a susținut că incapacitatea reclamantului de a reveni la profesia sa anterioară ca tâmplar nu a fost rezultatul prejudiciului suferit în timpul accidentului, ci al durerilor care nu au fost cauzate de accident. În iunie 1996, reclamantul a apelat la Consiliul pentru Accident (tapaturmalautakunta, olycksfallsnämnden), repetând cererile sale.
El a invocat un aviz medical din 13 mai 1996 în care s-a constatat că nu este în stare să lucreze cu carpinterie, de asemenea, a prezentat opinie medicală suplimentară. Consiliul a respins apelul său la 13 martie 1997. Cu toate acestea, durerile reclamantului nu au fost cauzate de accident și, prin urmare, nu au putut fi compensate în temeiul Legii privind accidentele de ocupare a forței de muncă. Reclamantul, reprezentat de un avocat, a apelat la Curtea de Asigurări (vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen) care a prezentat dovezi suplimentare. La 17 noiembrie 1998, instanța a respins majoritatea apelului său. Cu toate acestea, aceasta a modificat decizia Comitetului pentru accidente pentru a acorda reclamantului o pensie de prejudiciu profesional de 100% pentru perioada cuprinsă între 20 mai și 19 iunie 1997, în cursul căreia reclamantul a participat la un proiect de testare a muncii.
Cazul a fost trimis înapoi societății de asigurări pentru măsuri suplimentare. Prin informarea cu privire la dosarul său de la biroul Tribunalului de Asigurări, el a găsit trei documente pe care le-a susținut că nu i-a fost comunicat. În cererea sa de autorizare de recurs la Curtea Supremă (korkein oikeus, högsta domstolen) el a susținut, printre altele, că nu a fost trimis toate documentele relevante pentru cazul său. 10. La 27 martie 2000, Curtea Supremă a renunțat la apelul reclamantului la 21 octombrie 1999 11. Reclamantul, prin intermediul unei proceduri extraordinare, a solicitat Curții Supreme să anuleze decizia și decizia Curții de Asigurări. El a susținut că aceasta din urmă instanță nu i-a trimis documente.
12. La 13 noiembrie 2003, Curtea Supremă a respins cererea. La 27 martie 2000, reclamantul a depus o cerere (nr. 57793/00) la Curtea Europeană împotriva Finlandei. El a susținut, în special, că i s-a refuzat o audiere echitabilă în sensul articolului 6 din Convenție, având în vedere faptul că nu i-a furnizat posibilitatea de a face observații cu privire la unele documente care au fost incluse în dosarul său. La 7 iunie 2007, Curtea a hotărât în unanimitate că nu s-a încălcat art. 6 § 1 din Convenția. 14. Între timp, cazul a fost în așteptare înaintea companiei de asigurări. La 7 februarie 2000, compania de asigurări a decis că noua probă medicală prezentată nu a fost capabilă să modifice concluziile Comitetului pentru accidente în decizia sa din 13 martie 1997. Compania de asigurări a constatat că, chiar dacă reclamantul nu a fost în măsură să lucreze cu carpinterie pe timp integral, el a fost capabil de alte lucrări.
15. La 9 martie 2000, reclamantul a apelat la Consiliul pentru Accident împotriva hotărârii societății de asigurări. În apelul său, care s-a întârziat în fața Consiliului pentru Accident la 26 iulie 2000, el a solicitat compensarea pentru incapacitatea totală de muncă. La 28 mai 2002, Consiliul a organizat o audiere orală. La 26 septembrie 2002, aceasta a modificat decizia societății de asigurări, modificând categoria de alocații pentru handicap ale reclamantului de la 3 la 5 și ordonând societății de asigurări să-i plătească o pensie de 50% pentru prejudiciu ocupațional pentru perioada cuprinsă între 16 mai 2002 și 31 mai 2004. În ceea ce privește perioada după aceea, cazul a fost remis societății de asigurări.
Consiliul a constatat că reclamantul era încă capabil să lucreze într-o altă profesie în care câștigurile sale ar putea atinge aproximativ jumătate din nivelul câștigurilor sale înaintea accidentului. Consiliul a făcut referire la vârsta sa relativ tânără și numărul de ani pe care ar putea aștepta să-l lucreze. 16. Reclamantul a apelat la Tribunalul de Asigurări, repetând cererile sale. La 14 iunie 2005, instanța a ordonat societății de asigurare să plătească reclamantului o pensie de 50% de prejudiciu ocupațional pentru perioada cuprinsă între 26 iunie 2001 și 31 mai 2004 și a respins restul cererilor. Referindu-se la mai multe avize medicale, instanța a estimat că capacitatea reclamantului de a lucra a fost redusă de la 26 iunie 2001, atunci când a început tratamentul pentru durere.
17. În conformitate cu art. 53c (893/1994) din Legea privind accidentele de ocupare a forței de muncă (tapaturmavautuslaki, lagen om olycksfallsförsäkring), un recurs împotriva unei decizii ale societății de asigurare trebuie prezentat societății în cauză. În cazul în care societatea nu poate schimba decizia atacată, aceasta trebuie să facă trimitere, împreună cu avizul său, la comitetul pentru accidente într-o perioadă de 30 de zile de la sfârșitul perioadei de recurs sau, în cazul în care termenul a fost prelungit, cel târziu în termen de 60 de zile de la sfârșitul perioadei de recurs.
4. The applicant was born in 1967 and lives in Helsinki.
On 30 January 1994 the applicant had an accident at work. The insurance company paid him an occupational injury pension until 31 May 1996.
The applicant applied to have the pension continued from 1 June 1996 onwards. On 8 May 1996 the insurance company rejected his application finding that the applicant’s work capacity had been reduced by less than 10%. It further held that the applicant’s inability to return to his previous profession as a carpenter was not the result of the injury sustained during the accident, but of pains which had not been caused by the accident.
In June 1996 the applicant appealed to the Accident Board (tapaturmalautakunta, olycksfallsnämnden), repeating his requests. He relied on a medical opinion dated 13 May 1996 in which he was found to be unfit for carpentry work. He also submitted further medical opinions. The Board rejected his appeal on 13 March 1997. It ruled, inter alia, that he was incapable of full-time carpentry work. However, the applicant’s pains were not caused by the accident and therefore could not be compensated under the Employment Accidents Act.
The applicant, represented by a lawyer, appealed to the Insurance Court (vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen) submitting further evidence. On 17 November 1998 the court rejected the bulk of his appeal. However, it modified the Accident Board’s decision so as to grant the applicant a 100% occupational injury pension for the period from 20 May to 19 June 1997, during which the applicant had participated in a work-testing project. The case was referred back to the insurance company for further measures.
On acquainting himself with his case file at the office of the Insurance Court’s registry, he found three documents which he claimed had not been communicated to him. In his application for leave to appeal to the Supreme Court (korkein oikeus, högsta domstolen) he claimed, inter alia, that he had not been sent all the documents relevant to his case.
The Supreme Court refused the applicant leave to appeal on 21 October 1999.
On 27 March 2000 the applicant, using an extraordinary procedure, requested the Supreme Court to annul its decision and that of the Insurance Court. He argued that the latter court had failed to send him documents.
On 13 November 2003 the Supreme Court rejected his application. It found that the non-communicated documents related to decision-making within the insurance company and that the documents had not been submitted to the court in connection with the parties’ submissions or relied on by the court in reaching its decision.
On 27 March 2000 the applicant lodged an application (no. 57793/00) with the European Court against Finland. He alleged, in particular, that he had been denied a fair hearing within the meaning of Article 6 of the Convention on account of the failure to provide him with an opportunity to comment on some documents which had been included in his case file. On 7 June 2007 the Court held unanimously that there had been no violation of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention.
Meanwhile, the case was pending before the insurance company. On 7 February 2000 the insurance company decided that the new medical evidence submitted was not capable of changing the conclusions of the Accident Board in its decision of 13 March 1997. The insurance company found that, even though the applicant was incapable of full-time carpentry work, he was capable of other work.
On 9 March 2000 the applicant appealed to the Accident Board against the insurance company’s decision. In his appeal, which became pending before the Accident Board on 26 July 2000, he requested compensation for total incapacity for work. On 28 May 2002 the Board held an oral hearing. On 26 September 2002 it modified the insurance company’s decision, changing the applicant’s handicap allowance category from 3 to 5 and ordering the insurance company to pay him a 50% occupational injury pension for the period from 16 May 2002 to 31 May 2004. As concerned the time after that date, the case was referred back to the insurance company. The Board found that the applicant was still capable of working in another profession where his earnings could reach about half the level of his earnings before the accident. The Board referred to his relatively young age and the number of years that he could expect to work.
The applicant appealed to the Insurance Court, repeating his requests. On 14 June 2005 the court ordered the insurance company to pay the applicant a 50% occupational injury pension for the period from 26 June 2001 to 31 May 2004 and rejected the remainder of the claims. Referring to several medical opinions, the court estimated that the applicant’s ability to work had been reduced from 26 June 2001 onwards, when he started treatment for pain.
The applicant appealed to the Supreme Court which, on 5 June 2006, refused leave to appeal.
According to section 53c (893/1994) of the Employment Accidents Act (tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lagen om olycksfallsförsäkring), an appeal against a decision of an insurance company must be submitted to the company in question. If the company cannot change the decision appealed against, it must refer the case, together with its opinion, to the Accident Board within a period of 30 days from the end of the appeal period or, if the time-limit has been extended, at the latest within a period of 60 days from the end of the period of appeal.