- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 29 septembrie 2020
- Stat pârât
- HRV
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Matozan împotriva Croației
Traducere în română Auto
Cererea nr. 75112/14 Vedrana MATOZAN împotriva Croației Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (prima secțiune), care a stat la 29 septembrie 2020 în calitate de comitet compus din: Aleš Pejchal, președinte, Pauliine Koskelo, Tim Eicke, judecători și Renata Degenerar, grefierul adjunct al secțiunii, având în vedere cererea depusă la 25 noiembrie 2014, Având în vedere observațiile prezentate de Guvernul croat („Guvernul”) și observațiile prezentate în răspuns de către solicitant, după deliberare, hotărăsc după cum urmează: FACTELE Reclamantul, dna Vedrana Matozan, este un național croat născut în 1978 și trăiește în Trogir. Ea a fost reprezentată în fața Curții de către dna A. Karara Čović, un avocat practicant în Trogir.
Guvernul a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dna Š. Stažnik. Circumstanțele cazului Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Contextul cazului Reclamantul suferă de o ușoară incapacitate mentală. Din cauza acestui motiv, a finalizat școala elementară într-un program educațional pentru copiii cu nevoi speciale. În 1993 o comisie de experți a stabilit că reclamantul nu a fost în stare de a participa la un liceu regulat și a recomandat ca ea să își continue educația într-o instituție adaptată studenților cu handicap. În 1994 reclamantul a fost înscris într-un program de reabilitare profesională și a început formarea pentru un loc de muncă ca croitor asistent.
Ea a finalizat programul de formare în 1996. Procedura administrativă privind dreptul reclamantului la pensia de supraviețuire La 6 iunie 2011, reclamantul a solicitat Oficiului Trogir al Fondului croat de pensii ( Hrvatski zavod za mirovinsko osiguranje, Područna služba Split, Ispostava Trogir ), în căutarea de a fi acordată, din cauza condiției sale de sănătate, o pensie de supraviețuire după moartea tatălui său (a se vedea alin. 22 și 23 mai jos). În sprijinul cererii sale, ea a prezentat documente medicale. Fondul de pensii a solicitat unui expert medical intern să efectueze o evaluare a experților în scopul de a determina dacă starea medicală a reclamantului a constituit o „incapacitate generală de a lucra” (opća nesposobnost za rad ). Pe lângă cererea de evaluare a experților, acesta a înscris documentația prezentată de solicitant.
La 25 octombrie 2011 T.S., doctor autorizat al Oficiului Split al Fondului Croat de Pensiuni (Hrvatski zavod za mirovinsko osiguranje, Područna služba Split – denumită în continuare „Oficiul Split”, a raportat, pe baza documentelor medicale ale reclamantului și a examinării sale personale, că reclamantul nu a putut să lucreze și că incapacitatea ei generală de a lucra a apărut înainte de moartea tatălui ei. La 27 decembrie 2011, Comisia pentru revizuirea rapoartelor privind handicapul fondului de pensii ( Stručno povjerenstvo za reziju nalaza i mišljenja o invalidnosti – denumit în continuare „Comisia” – a constatat că a apărut din documentele medicale rare prezentate de solicitant că a suferit de o handicap mental ușoară, dar că nu a suferit de alte boli fizice sau somatice severe.
Prin urmare, statul medical al reclamantului nu a constituit o incapacitate generală de a lucra și nu a fost de acord cu concluziile T.S. (a se vedea punctul 25 de mai jos). La 4 ianuarie 2012, T.S. a emis un nou raport, constatând că starea medicală a reclamantului nu a constituit o incapacitate generală de a lucra. În acest sens, el s-a bazat pe evaluarea Comisiei (a se vedea paragrafele) La 6 februarie 2012, Oficiul Split a respins cererea reclamantului, pe baza deciziei sale pe raportul expertului din 4 ianuarie 2012 și a prevederii Legii privind asigurările de pensii care reglementează dreptul la pensia de supraviețuire (a se vedea punctele 11 și 23 de mai sus). Hrvatski zavod za mirovinsko osiguranje, Središnja služba – denumită în continuare „Oficiul Central” – solicită obținerea unui raport de experți în a doua instanță.
De asemenea, a prezentat documente suplimentare (a se vedea punctele 5 și 6 de mai sus), inclusiv o evaluare din 22 februarie 2012 de către un medic specializat în medicină ocupațională care concluzionează că nu era în stare să lucreze ca curățător de spații publice. În urma apelului reclamantului, Oficiul Central a solicitat unui expert medical senior la domiciliu să efectueze o examinare expertă cu privire la această chestiune. La 27 martie 2012, expertul medical superior a examinat dosarul reclamantului, inclusiv documentația pe care a prezentat-o ulterior (a se vedea punctele 5, 6 și 13 de mai sus) și a confirmat faptul că starea de sănătate a reclamantului nu a constituit o incapacitate generală de a lucra.
La 29 martie 2012, Oficiul Central, care se bazează pe cele două rapoarte de experți (a se vedea punctele 11 și 15 de mai sus), a respins apelul reclamantului. La 27 aprilie 2012, reclamantul a introdus o acțiune de revizuire judiciară a acestei decizii în cadrul Curții Administrative Split ( Upravni sud u Splitu ), contestand concluziile experților. În special, ea a afirmat că experții au stabilit în mod nedrept că condiția ei nu constituie o incapacitate generală de a lucra și că se bazase pe faptul că a încheiat un program de reabilitare profesională. Ea a susținut că, în ciuda finalizării programului de formare în cauză (a se vedea punctul 6 de mai sus), nu a putut îndeplini sarcini legate de muncă pe cont propriu, ceea ce era o condiție prealabilă pentru ca o persoană să fie considerată potrivită pentru muncă.
Februarie 2012 (a se vedea punctul 13 mai sus). În cele din urmă, ea solicită să primească o audiere și să aibă un raport de experți ordonat de către un expert în medicină ocupațională. La 23 octombrie 2013, Curtea Administrativă Split a organizat o audiere publică, la care reclamantul a fost convocat în mod corespunzător. Ea nu a participat la audiere, ci a fost reprezentată de un avocat. Avocatul ei a reiterat argumentele aduse și se bazează pe dovezile propuse în acțiunea de reexaminare judiciară, pe care reprezentantul Oficiului Central a contestat. Curtea Administrativă Split a respins apoi propunerea avocatului de a auzi reclamantul și de a ordona un raport medical suplimentar cu privire la această chestiune și a închis audierea.
La 31 octombrie 2013, Curtea Administrativă Split a respins acțiunea reclamantului ca fiind nefondată, subliniind, în special, faptul că autoritățile administrative și-au bazat deciziile pe constatările experților autorizați (a se vedea punctele 11 și 15 de mai sus) și că procedura de examinare a fost desfășurată în conformitate cu dreptul intern (a se vedea punctele 24-27 mai jos). Prin urmare, aceasta a respins propunerea reclamantului de a ordona un alt raport de experți. Curtea administrativă Split a respins, de asemenea, cererea reclamantului de a fi auzită în persoană, constatând că aceste dovezi nu ar fi contribuit la evaluarea capacității ei de a lucra. 20. La 7 februarie 2014, reclamantul a depus o plângere constituțională la Curtea Constituțională (Ustavni sud Republike Hrvatske ). Ea s-a plâns că nu a avut o audiere echitabilă, deoarece Curtea Administrativă Split a refuzat să ordone un alt raport de experți în cazul său și să-și audă dovezile orale.
21. Prin decizia din 17 septembrie 2014, Curtea Constituțională a respins plângerea constituțională a reclamantului, constatând că cazul nu a susținut nicio problemă constituțională. Legea privind asigurarea pensiilor (Zcacon o mirovinskom osigranju , Gazette Oficial nr. 102/98, cu modificări ulterioare), în vigoare la momentul material, cu condiția ca incapacitatea generală de a lucra în cazul în care o persoană asigurată, datorită modificărilor în starea sa de sănătate care nu putea fi tratată, a suferit o pierdere permanentă a capacității de a lucra (punctul 34 alineatul (2)). Secțiunea 64 alineatul (3) prevede că un copil pentru care a apărut o incapacitate generală de a lucra înainte de moartea unei persoane asigurate sau a unui beneficiar de pensie are dreptul la o pensie de supraviețuire dacă, până la moartea sa, persoana asigurată sau beneficiarul de pensie a sprijinit copilul.
Secțiunea 113 alineatul (1) prevede că, în scopul acordării drepturilor de asigurare a pensiilor, s-a stabilit o incapacitate generală de a lucra pe baza rapoartelor de experți autorizate. Secțiunea 116 alineatul (1) prevede că un raport de experți pe baza căruia ar trebui să se achiziționeze un drept de asigurare a pensiilor este supus unei revizuiri înainte de adoptarea unei decizii care acordă dreptul în cauză.
Revizuirea a fost efectuată de o comisie compusă de experți importanți care să evalueze capacitatea unei persoane de muncă (secțiunea) În cazul în care un raport de experți trebuia să fie modificat în urma reexaminării, expertul a fost obligat să prezinte un nou raport în conformitate cu instrucțiunile primite în cadrul procedurii de reexaminare (punctul 116 alineatul (4)). 26. Secțiunea 120 alineatul (4) prevede că, în cazul în care persoana în cauză a contestat concluziile raportului de experți din apelul său împotriva deciziei de primă instanță, Oficiul Central ar cere un expert autorizat pentru a efectua un examen de expert în această chestiune.Decretul privind evaluările experților medicali pentru asigurarea pensiei (Uredba o medicinskom vještačenju u mirovinskom osiguranju , Jurnalul Oficial nr. 73/2009), astfel cum este în vigoare la momentul material, cu condiția ca rapoartele în cadrul procedurilor de primă instanță să fie elaborate de experți și de experți în cadrul procedurilor de al doilea nivel (viši vještaci ) (secțiunea 2 alineatul (3)). În activitatea lor, experții și experții seniori au fost obligați să aplice Legea privind asigurarea pensiilor, Decretul privind evaluările experților medicali pentru asigurarea pensiilor și alte reglementări,
precum și principiile și evoluțiile științei medicale contemporane (secțiunea 2 alineatul (4)). 28. Legea privind litigiile administrative (Zcacon o upravnim sporovima , Gazettea Oficială nr. 20/2010 cu amendamente ulterioare), ca în vigoare la momentul material, cu condiția ca judecătorul atribuit să audă cazul să stabilească prezența tuturor persoanelor convocate la ședință.
În cazul absenței lor, judecătorul ar stabili dacă au fost convocate în mod corespunzător și dacă ar putea justifica absența (secțiunea 39 alineatul (1)). În cazul în care o parte la litigiu nu a participat la o audiere fără un motiv justificabil, audierea ar putea avea loc în absența sa (punctul 39 alineatul (2)). 29. Celălalt drept intern relevant este stabilit în cazul Krunoslava Zovko v. Croația , nr. 56935/13 , §§ 23-24, 23 mai 2017. COMPLAINT 30. Reclamantul s-a plâns în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție că procedura privind solicitarea ei de pensie a supraviețuitorului a fost nedrept. Reclamantul s-a plâns că principiul egalității de arme nu a fost respectat în ceea ce privește comisionarea și obținerea de probe de experți în scopul stabilirii dreptului ei la o pensie de supraviețuire.
Ea se bazează pe art. 6 § 1 din Convenție, al căror părți relevante se referă: „În determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor sale civile ... fiecare are dreptul la o audiere echitabilă ... de [a] ... tribunal ...” Argumentele părților Guvernul 32. Guvernul a susținut că procedura internă în cazul reclamantului a respectat cerințele articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție. Ea a avut posibilitatea de a prezenta toate argumentele sale relevante și de a propune dovezi. Ea a fost, de asemenea, în măsură să depună un apel împotriva constatărilor experților medicali, după care Oficiul Central a comisionat o altă examinare expertă. În plus, ea a fost în măsură să obțină o revizuire judiciară a cazului său dinainte de Curtea Administrativă Split, care a avut o audiere orală înainte de a-și pronunța hotărârea (a se vedea punctele 13, 17 și 18 de mai sus).
În cele din urmă, Guvernul subliniază că Curtea Administrativă Split nu a fost obligată să ordone un raport suplimentar de experți în scopul evaluării capacității de a lucra a reclamantului. Acesta a abordat propunerea reclamantului și a constatat că o altă examinare expertă în această chestiune nu ar fi fost necesară, deoarece constatările expertului medical au fost examinate de un expert medical superior. Ea a susținut că Curtea Administrativă Split a refuzat să-și audă dovezile orale și să ordone un raport suplimentar de experți în scopul evaluării capacității ei de a lucra (a se vedea punctul 19 de mai sus). Aceste dovezi ar fi fost de o importanță deosebită având în vedere faptul că expertul medical a constatat în primul său raport că ea nu a putut lucra, dar și-a schimbat evaluarea după instrucțiunile Comisiei (a se vedea punctele 11 de mai sus).
Evaluarea Curții 34. Principiile generale relevante pentru acest caz au fost rezumate în Letinčić c. Croația , nr. 7183/11, §§ 46-50, 3 mai 2016, cu alte referințe în acest sens. 35. Curtea constată că afirmația reclamantului cu privire la dreptul ei la pensia de supraviețuire a fost examinată înainte de mai multe organisme – Biroul Split și Oficiul Central în calitate de autoritățile administrative, și Curtea Administrativă Split în calitate de autoritate judiciară cu competența de a reexamina toate chestiunile factuale și juridice care rezultă în contextul cauzei (a se vedea punctele 12, 16 și 19 mai sus). 36. Curtea remarcă, de asemenea, că, după ce reclamantul a solicitat o pensie de supraviețuire, ea a fost depusă pentru o examinare expertă în scopul de a determina dacă starea sa de sănătate a justificat acordarea unei pensii de supraviețuire.
Documentarea medicală a fost, de asemenea, transmisă pentru evaluare expertă (a se vedea punctul 8 mai sus). Prin urmare, reclamantul a avut posibilitatea de a influența evaluarea expertului prin argumentele prezentate în cererea sa și prin documentația încheiată cu această cerere (a se vedea Krunoslava Zovko c. Croația , nr. 56935/13, § 46, 23 mai 2017). 37. Curtea observă, de asemenea, că expertul medical a afirmat în primul rând că reclamantul nu a putut lucra (a se vedea punctul 9 de mai sus).
Cu toate acestea, după o reexaminare efectuată de o comisie de experți, el și-a schimbat raportul inițial și a stabilit că starea reclamantului nu constituie o incapacitate generală de a lucra (a se vedea punctele 10, 11 și 25). Odată ce Biroul Split a respins cererea reclamantului din cauza faptului că experta medicală din domiciliu a constatat că starea ei medicală nu constituie o incapacitate generală de a lucra (a se vedea punctul 12 de mai sus), ea a fost informată cu privire la decizia și a fost informată cu privire la concluziile expertului. Prin urmare, ea a primit o oportunitate eficientă de a contesta concluziile expertului, pe care a folosit-o prin apelul împotriva deciziei de primă instanță și de a prezenta documente suplimentare în sprijinul argumentelor sale (a se vedea punctul 13 de mai sus).
38. În plus, Curtea remarcă că, pentru a răspunde obiecțiilor reclamantului față de evaluarea condiției ei autorizate, Oficiul Central, ca autoritate administrativă de a doua instanță, a obținut un raport de experți de la expertul medical superior din interiorul său (a se vedea punctul 14 de mai sus). Expertul medical superior a examinat documentația medicală generală a reclamantului, inclusiv documentația pe care a prezentat-o cu apelul său, și a confirmat că starea medicală a reclamantului nu a constituit o incapacitate generală de a lucra (a se vedea punctul 15 de mai sus).
39. Prin urmare, trei organisme de experți diferite au examinat starea medicală a reclamantului, toate care au luat în considerare argumentele și documentația pe care le-a prezentat-o în timpul procedurii (a se vedea Krunoslava Zovko , citată mai sus, § 49 și Trbojević c. Croația (dec.) [Comitet], nr. 57228/13, § 37, 15 mai 2018). 40. Curtea constată, de asemenea, că reclamantul a avut ocazia de a contesta rapoartele de experți și deciziile relevante ale autorităților administrative în fața Curții administrative Split (a se vedea punctul 17 de mai sus). Într-adevăr, cu privire la acțiunea reclamantului de revizuire judiciară, Curtea Administrativă Split a organizat o audiere la care a examinat argumentele reclamantului referitoare la concluziile rapoartelor de experți (a se vedea punctul 18 de mai sus).
În cele din urmă, aceasta și-a respins acțiunile, astfel cum a stabilit, în baza constatărilor experților, că nu a îndeplinit criteriile legale de acordare a unei pensii de supraviețuire (a se vedea punctul 19 de mai sus). 41. În ceea ce privește argumentele reclamantei potrivit căreia Curtea Administrativă Split a refuzat să-și audă dovezile orale, Curtea constată că a fost convocată în mod corespunzător pentru a participa la audierea în fața Curții Administrative Split, dar că nu a apărut și că a avut avocatul ei să o reprezinte (a se vedea punctul 18 mai sus).
În acest sens, trebuie remarcat faptul că art. 6 din Convenție nu garantează dreptul de a apărea în fața unei instanțe civile, ci mai degrabă un drept mai general de a prezenta în mod eficient cazul unuia (a se vedea Margaretić c. Croația , nr. 16115/13, § 127, 5 iunie 2014). În plus, Curtea a recunoscut deja că litigiile privind prestațiile în cadrul regimurilor de securitate socială sunt în general destul de tehnice și că rezultatul acestora depinde, de obicei, de opiniile scrise din partea medicilor.
În consecință, având în vedere faptul că capacitatea reclamantului de a lucra a fost evaluată de către experți medicali autorizați și că Curtea administrativă Split a organizat o audiere în cazul în care reclamantul a fost reprezentat de un avocat, Curtea nu consideră nimic nedrept în decizia Curții administrative Split de a nu-și auzi dovezile orale (a se vedea, de asemenea, Pirinen c. Finlanda) (dec.), nr. 32447/02, 16 mai 2006). În ceea ce privește argumentul reclamantului că Curtea administrativă Split nu a ordonat un nou raport de experți în scopul evaluării capacității ei de a lucra, Curtea va reitera că este în primul rând pentru instanța națională să evalueze dovezile pe care le-a obținut și relevanța oricărei dovezi pe care o parte dorește să le fi prezentat (a se vedea Elsholz c. Germania [GC], nr. 25735/94, § 66, CEHR 2000 VIII, și Mantovanelli c. Franța , 18 martie 1997, § 34, Raporturile Hotărârilor și Deciziilor 1997 II . În mod normal nu este rolul Curții să stabilească dacă un raport special de experți disponibil judecătorului intern a fost fiabil sau nu (a se vedea Matytsina c. Rusia , nr. 58428/10, § 169, 27 martie 2014). Curtea este mai degrabă de a stabili dacă acțiunea în ansamblu, inclusiv modul în care dovezile au fost admise, a fost corectă (a se vedea Dombo Beheer B.V.
c. Țările de Jos , 27 octombrie 1993, § 31, Seria A nr. 274). 43. În acest sens, Curtea remarcă că Curtea Administrativă Split a refuzat să ordone un alt raport de experți, constatand că doi experți autorizați au evaluat faptul că starea medicală a reclamantului nu a eligit-o pentru dreptul de asigurare a pensiilor pe care l-a solicitat (a se vedea punctul 19 de mai sus). Având în vedere jurisprudența sa privind această chestiune (a se vedea punctul 42 de mai sus) și faptul că reclamantul a fost informat de concluziile experților și a fost în măsură să-i provoace (a se vedea punctele 13 și 17 de mai sus), Curtea nu consideră nimic nedrept în concluzia Curții Administrative Split. 44. Având în vedere considerațiile de mai sus, Curtea este de părere că reclamantul a primit ocazia de a participa efectiv la procedura de comisionare și de obținere a rapoartelor de experți utilizate pentru a decide meritele cererii sale.
Evaluarea circumstanțelor cauzei în ansamblu, Curtea nu constată nici un indiciu că procesul privind reclamantul pentru pensia de supraviețuire a fost necorespunzător. 45. Prin urmare, cererea este inadmisibilă în temeiul articolului 35 § § a) din Convenție ca fiind manifestament nefondată și trebuie respinsă în temeiul articolului 35 § 4. Din aceste motive, Curtea, în unanimitate, Declarații cererea este inadmisibilă. Adoptată în limba engleză și notificată în scris la 22 octombrie 2020.
FIRST SECTION
DECISION Application no. 75112/14 Vedrana MATOZAN against Croatia The European Court of Human Rights (First Section), sitting on 29 September 2020 as a Committee composed of: Aleš Pejchal, President, Pauliine Koskelo, Tim Eicke, judges, and Renata Degener, Deputy Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 25 November 2014, Having regard to the observations submitted by the Croatian Government (“the Government”) and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS
The applicant, Ms Vedrana Matozan, is a Croatian national who was born in 1978 and lives in Trogir. She was represented before the Court by Ms A. Karara Čović, a lawyer practising in Trogir.
The Government were represented by their Agent, Ms Š. Stažnik. The circumstances of the case
The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. Background to the case
The applicant suffers from a mild mental disability. Owing to that, she completed elementary school in an educational programme for children with special needs. 5 . In 1993 an expert commission established that the applicant was unfit to attend a regular high school and recommended that she continue her education in an institution adapted to students with disabilities. 6 . In 1994 the applicant was enrolled in a professional rehabilitation programme and started training for a job as an assistant tailor. She completed the training programme in 1996. Administrative proceedings concerning the applicant’s entitlement to a survivor’s pension
On 6 June 2011 the applicant applied to the Trogir Office of the Croatian Pension Fund ( Hrvatski zavod za mirovinsko osiguranje, Područna služba Split, Ispostava Trogir ), seeking to be granted, on account of her health condition, a survivor’s pension following the death of her father (see paragraphs 22 and 23 below). In support of her application she submitted medical documentation. 8 . The Pension Fund asked an in-house medical expert to conduct an expert evaluation for the purposes of determining whether the applicant’s medical condition amounted to a “general inability to work” ( opća nesposobnost za rad ). Along with the request for an expert evaluation, it enclosed the documentation submitted by the applicant. 9 . On 25 October 2011 T.S., an authorised doctor of the Split Office of the Croatian Pension Fund ( Hrvatski zavod za mirovinsko osiguranje, Područna služba Split – hereinafter “the Split Office”), reported, on the basis of the applicant’s medical documentation and her personal examination, that the applicant was incapable of working and that her general inability to work had arisen before her father’s death. 10 . On 27 December 2011 the Pension Fund’s Commission for the Review of Disability Reports ( Stručno povjerenstvo za reviziju nalaza i mišljenja o invalidnosti – hereinafter “the Commission”) found that it appeared from the scarce medical documentation submitted by the applicant that she suffered from a mild mental disability but that she did not suffer from any other severe physical or somatic diseases. It therefore held that the applicant’s medical condition did not amount to a general inability to work and disagreed with the findings of T.S. (see paragraph 25 below). 11 . On 4 January 2012 T.S. issued a new report, finding that the applicant’s medical condition did not amount to a general inability to work. In doing so, he relied on the evaluation of the Commission (see paragraphs 10 above and 25 below). 12 . On 6 February 2012 the Split Office dismissed the applicant’s request. It based its decision on the expert report of 4 January 2012 and on the provision of the Pension Insurance Act regulating entitlement to a survivor’s pension (see paragraphs 11 above and 23 below). 13 . The applicant challenged that decision before the Central Office of the Pension Fund ( Hrvatski zavod za mirovinsko osiguranje, Središnja služba – hereinafter “the Central Office”), requesting that a second-instance expert report be obtained. She also submitted further documentation (see paragraphs 5 and 6 above), including an evaluation dated 22 February 2012 by a doctor specialised in occupational medicine concluding that she was unfit to work as a cleaner of public spaces. 14 . Following the applicant’s appeal, the Central Office asked a senior in-house medical expert to conduct an expert examination regarding the matter. 15 . On 27 March 2012 the senior medical expert examined the applicant’s file, including the documentation she had subsequently submitted (see paragraphs 5, 6 and 13 above) and confirmed that the applicant’s health condition did not amount to a general inability to work. 16 . On 29 March 2012 the Central Office, relying on the two expert reports (see paragraphs 11 and 15 above), dismissed the applicant’s appeal. 17 . On 27 April 2012 the applicant brought an action for judicial review of that decision in the Split Administrative Court ( Upravni sud u Splitu ), contesting the findings of the experts. In particular, she alleged that the experts had wrongly established that her condition did not amount to a general inability to work and that they had relied on the fact that she had completed a professional rehabilitation programme. She argued that, despite having completed the training programme in question (see paragraph 6 above), she was unable to perform work-related tasks on her own, which was a prerequisite for a person to be considered fit for work. She further stated that, owing to her mental condition, she had not stood a chance of finding employment. She also referred to the specialist’s assessment of 22 February 2012 (see paragraph 13 above). Lastly, she asked to be given a hearing and to have a further expert report ordered from an expert in occupational medicine. 18 . On 23 October 2013 the Split Administrative Court held a public hearing, to which the applicant was duly summoned. She did not attend the hearing, but was represented by a lawyer. Her lawyer reiterated the arguments adduced and relied on the evidence proposed in the action for judicial review, which the representative of the Central Office contested. The Split Administrative Court then dismissed the lawyer’s motion to hear the applicant and to order a further expert medical report regarding the matter, and closed the hearing. 19 . On 31 October 2013 the Split Administrative Court dismissed the applicant’s action as unfounded. It stressed, in particular, that the administrative authorities had based their decisions on the findings of authorised experts (see paragraphs 11 and 15 above) and that the examination proceedings had been conducted in accordance with domestic law (see paragraphs 24-27 below). It therefore dismissed the applicant’s proposal to order a further expert report. The Split Administrative Court also dismissed the applicant’s request to be heard in person, finding that that evidence would not have contributed to assessing her ability to work. 20. On 7 February 2014 the applicant lodged a constitutional complaint with the Constitutional Court ( Ustavni sud Republike Hrvatske ). She complained that she had not had a fair hearing, because the Split Administrative Court had refused to order a further expert report in her case and to hear her oral evidence. 21. By a decision of 17 September 2014, the Constitutional Court dismissed the applicant’s constitutional complaint, finding that the case did not raise any constitutional issues. Relevant domestic law 22 . The Pension Insurance Act ( Zakon o mirovinskom osigranju , Official Gazette no. 102/98, with subsequent amendments), as in force at the material time, provided that a general inability to work existed where an insured person, owing to changes in his or her health condition which could not be treated, suffered a permanent loss of the ability to work (section 34(2)). 23 . Section 64(3) provided that a child for whom a general inability to work had arisen before the death of an insured person or pension beneficiary was entitled to a survivor’s pension if, until his or her death, the insured person or pension beneficiary had supported the child. 24 . Section 113(1) provided that for the purposes of granting pension insurance rights, a general inability to work was established on the basis of authorised expert reports. 25 . Section 116(1) provided that an expert report on the basis of which a pension insurance right was to be acquired was subject to review before the adoption of a decision granting the right in issue. The review was carried out by a commission composed of prominent experts in charge of assessing a person’s capacity for work (section 116(2)). Where an expert report had to be changed following the review, the expert was required to produce a new report in accordance with the instructions received in the review proceedings (section 116(4)). 26. Section 120(4) provided that if the person concerned challenged the findings of the expert report in his or her appeal against the first-instance decision, the Central Office would ask a second-instance authorised expert to conduct an expert examination regarding the matter. 27 . The Decree on medical expert evaluations for pension insurance ( Uredba o medicinskom vještačenju u mirovinskom osiguranju , Official Gazette no. 73/2009), as in force at the material time, provided that reports in first-instance proceedings were to be drawn up by experts, and those in second-instance proceedings by senior experts ( viši vještaci ) (section 2(3)). In their work, experts and senior experts were required to apply the Pension Insurance Act, the Decree on medical expert evaluations for pension insurance and other regulations, as well as the principles of and developments in contemporary medical science (section 2(4)). 28. The Administrative Disputes Act ( Zakon o upravnim sporovima , Official Gazette no. 20/2010 with subsequent amendments), as in force at the material time, provided that the judge assigned to hear the case would establish the presence of all the persons summoned to the hearing. In the event of their absence, the judge would establish whether they had been duly summoned and whether they could justify their absence (section 39(1)). When a party to the dispute failed to attend a hearing without a justifiable reason, the hearing could be held in his or her absence (section 39(2)). 29. The other relevant domestic law is set out in the case of Krunoslava Zovko v. Croatia , no. 56935/13, §§ 23-24, 23 May 2017. COMPLAINT 30. The applicant complained under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention that the proceedings concerning her request for a survivor’s pension had been unfair. THE LAW 31. The applicant complained that the principle of equality of arms had not been respected with regard to commissioning and obtaining the expert evidence for the purposes of determining her entitlement to a survivor’s pension. She relied on Article 6 § 1 of the Convention, the relevant parts of which read: “In the determination of his civil rights and obligations ... everyone is entitled to a fair hearing ... by [a] ... tribunal ...” The parties’ arguments The Government 32. The Government argued that the domestic proceedings in the applicant’s case had complied with the requirements of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention. She had had the opportunity to put forward all her relevant arguments and propose evidence. She had also been able to lodge an appeal against the medical expert’s findings, after which the Central Office had commissioned another expert examination. Moreover, she had been able to obtain a judicial review of her case before the Split Administrative Court, which had held an oral hearing before giving its decision (see paragraphs 13, 17 and 18 above). Lastly, the Government pointed out that the Split Administrative Court had not been obliged to order a further expert report for the purposes of assessing the applicant’s ability to work. It had addressed the applicant’s proposal and found that another expert examination regarding the matter would not have been necessary as the findings of the medical expert had been reviewed by a senior medical expert. The applicant 33. The applicant contended that the administrative proceedings concerning her application for a survivor’s pension had been unfair. She argued that the Split Administrative Court had refused to hear her oral evidence and to order a further expert report for the purposes of assessing her ability to work (see paragraph 19 above). That evidence would have been of particular importance in view of the fact that the medical expert had found in his first report that she had been unable to work, but had changed his assessment upon the instructions of the Commission (see paragraphs 9 ‑ 11 above). The Court’s assessment 34. The general principles relevant to the present case have been summarised in Letinčić v. Croatia , no. 7183/11, §§ 46-50, 3 May 2016, with further references therein. 35. The Court notes that the applicant’s claim concerning her entitlement to a survivor’s pension was examined before several bodies – the Split Office and the Central Office as administrative authorities, and the Split Administrative Court as a judicial authority with the power to review all factual and legal questions arising in the context of the case (see paragraphs 12, 16 and 19 above). 36. The Court further notes that once the applicant applied for a survivor’s pension, she was referred for an expert examination for the purposes of determining whether her health condition justified granting her a survivor’s pension. Her medical documentation was also forwarded for expert evaluation (see paragraph 8 above). It thus follows that the applicant had the opportunity to influence the expert’s assessment through the arguments put forward in her application and through the documentation she enclosed with that application (see Krunoslava Zovko v. Croatia , no. 56935/13, § 46, 23 May 2017). 37. The Court further observes that the medical expert first stated that the applicant was incapable of working (see paragraph 9 above). However, following a review carried out by an expert commission, he changed his initial report and established that the applicant’s condition did not amount to a general inability to work (see paragraphs 10, 11 and 25 above). Once the Split Office had dismissed the applicant’s claim on the grounds that its in ‑ house medical expert had found that her medical condition did not amount to a general inability to work (see paragraph 12 above), she was served with the decision and was made aware of the expert’s findings. She was therefore given an effective opportunity to challenge the expert’s findings, which she used by lodging an appeal against the first-instance decision and submitting further documents in support of her arguments (see paragraph 13 above). 38. Furthermore, the Court notes that in order to address the applicant’s objections to the authorised expert’s assessment of her condition, the Central Office, as the second-instance administrative authority, obtained an expert report from its senior in-house medical expert (see paragraph 14 above). The senior medical expert examined the applicant’s overall medical documentation, including the documentation she had submitted with her appeal, and confirmed that the applicant’s medical condition did not amount to a general inability to work (see paragraph 15 above). 39. It thus follows that three different expert bodies examined the applicant’s medical condition, all of which took into account the arguments and documentation she had submitted during the proceedings (see Krunoslava Zovko , cited above, § 49, and Trbojević v. Croatia (dec.) [Committee], no. 57228/13, § 37, 15 May 2018). 40. The Court further notes that the applicant had an opportunity to challenge the expert reports and the relevant decisions of the administrative authorities before the Split Administrative Court (see paragraph 17 above). Indeed, upon the applicant’s action for judicial review, the Split Administrative Court held a hearing at which it examined the applicant’s arguments related to the findings of the expert reports (see paragraph 18 above). Ultimately, it dismissed her action as it established, relying on the findings of the experts, that she did not meet the statutory criteria to be granted a survivor’s pension (see paragraph 19 above). 41. With regard to the applicant’s arguments that the Split Administrative Court refused to hear her oral evidence, the Court notes that she was duly summoned to attend the hearing before the Split Administrative Court but that she failed to appear and instead had her lawyer to represent her (see paragraph 18 above). In this connection, it is to be noted that Article 6 of the Convention does not guarantee the right to appear before a civil court in person, but rather a more general right to present one’s case effectively (see Margaretić v. Croatia , no. 16115/13, § 127, 5 June 2014). Moreover, the Court has already recognised that disputes concerning benefits under social security schemes are generally rather technical and that their outcome usually depends on written opinions given by medical doctors. Accordingly, in view of the fact that the applicant’s ability to work had been assessed by authorised medical experts and that the Split Administrative Court held a hearing where the applicant was represented by a lawyer, the Court does not find anything unfair in the decision of the Split Administrative Court not to hear her oral evidence (see also Pirinen v. Finland (dec.), no. 32447/02, 16 May 2006). 42 . With regard to the applicant’s argument that the Split Administrative Court had failed to order a further expert report for the purposes of assessing her ability to work, the Court would reiterate that it is primarily for the national courts to assess the evidence they have obtained and the relevance of any evidence that a party wishes to have produced (see Elsholz v. Germany [GC], no. 25735/94, § 66, ECHR 2000 ‑ VIII, and Mantovanelli v. France , 18 March 1997, § 34, Reports of Judgments and Decisions 1997 ‑ II). It is normally not the Court’s role to determine whether a particular expert report available to the domestic judge was reliable or not (see Matytsina v. Russia , no. 58428/10, § 169, 27 March 2014). The Court’s task under the Convention is rather to ascertain whether the proceedings as a whole, including the way in which evidence was admitted, were fair (see Dombo Beheer B.V. v. the Netherlands , 27 October 1993, § 31, Series A no. 274). 43. In this respect, the Court notes that the Split Administrative Court refused to order another expert report, finding that two authorised experts had assessed that the applicant’s medical condition had not made her eligible for the pension insurance right she had sought (see paragraph 19 above). Having regard to its case-law on the matter (see paragraph 42 above) and the fact that the applicant was informed of the experts’ findings and was able to challenge them (see paragraphs 13 and 17 above), the Court does not find anything unfair in the Split Administrative Court’s conclusion. 44. In view of the above considerations, the Court is of the opinion that the applicant was awarded an opportunity to participate effectively in the procedure of commissioning and obtaining the expert reports used to decide the merits of her claim. Assessing the circumstances of the case as a whole, the Court finds no indication that the proceedings concerning the applicant’s claim for a survivor’s pension were unfair. 45. It follows that the application is inadmissible under Article 35 § 3 (a) of the Convention as manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected pursuant to Article 35 § 4. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously, Declares the application inadmissible. Done in English and notified in writing on 22 October 2020. Renata Degener Aleš Pejchal Deputy Registrar President