- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 12 septembrie 2017
- Stat pârât
- HRV
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Reić împotriva Croației
Traducere în română Auto
Cererea nr. 77664/14 de decizie a PRIMEI SECȚIUNI DECIZIE Nr. 77664/14 Neda REI ȚĂRĂ împotriva Croației Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (prima secțiune), care așezează la 12 septembrie 2017 în calitate de comitet compus din: Kristina Pardalos, președinte, Ksenija Turković, Pauliine Koskelo, judecători și Renata Degener, grefierul adjunct al secțiunii, având în vedere cererea depusă la 4 decembrie 2014, Având în vedere observațiile prezentate de Guvernul contestat și observațiile prezentate în răspuns de solicitant, după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Reclamantul, dna Neda Reić, este un național croat născut în 1956 și trăiește în Split. Ea a fost reprezentată în fața Curții de către dna Brčić, un avocat practicant în Split.
Guvernul croat („ Guvernul”) a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dna Š. Stažnik. Circumstanțele cazului Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Primul set de proceduri administrative privind dreptul reclamantului la o pensie de invaliditate La 5 noiembrie 2007, practicantul general al reclamantului a trimis-o pentru o evaluare medicală pentru stabilirea nivelului său de invaliditate în scopul acordării unei pensii de invaliditate.
La 19 decembrie 2007, un expert la Biroul Split al Fondului Croat de Pensiuni (Hrvatski zavod za mirovinsko osiguranje, Područna služba Split - denumită în continuare „Oficiul Split” a examinat reclamantul și a raportat că a avut o „incapacitate profesională de a lucra” ( profesionala nesposobnost za rad ). Acest lucru a fost confirmat la 9 ianuarie 2008 de către Comisia pentru revizuirea rapoartelor privind persoanele cu handicap ( Stručno povjerenstvo reviziu nalaza i mišljenja o invalidnosti ) pe baza dosarului medical al reclamantului.
La 17 martie 2008, biroul Split, bazat pe constatările experților, a acordat reclamantului o pensie de invaliditate începând cu 19 decembrie 2007. Reclamantul a contestat decizia în fața Oficiului Central al Fondului (Hrvatski zavod za mirovinsko osiguranje, Središnja služba – denumită în continuare „Oficiul Central”), susținând că condiția ei a constituit o „incapacitate generală de a lucra” ( la cererea Oficiului Central, unul dintre experții săi la 21 august 2008 a examinat dosarul medical al reclamantului și a confirmat concluzia inițială a unui profesionist, mai degrabă de o incapacitate generală de a lucra. La 25 august 2008, Oficiul Central, care se bazează pe rapoartele de experți, a respins apelul reclamantului și a susținut decizia Oficiului Split.
Reclamantul nu a urmărit niciun recurs suplimentar împotriva acestei decizii. Procedura administrativă privind dreptul reclamantului la o alocație de asistență și de asistență La 27 august 2008, reclamantul a solicitat asistență și asistență ( doplatak za pomoć i njegu ) de la Centrul Split de Protecție Socială ( Centar za socijalnu skrb Split – denumit în continuare „Centrul”). La cererea Centrului, o comisie de experți interioare a examinat reclamantul la 26 ianuarie 2009 și a concluzionat că a avut o „incapacitate totală de a lucra” (potuna nesposobnost za rad ) în conformitate cu criteriile stabilite în secțiunea 43 din Regulamentul privind componența și activitatea organismelor de experți în procesul de exercitare a drepturilor de bunăstare socială și a altor drepturi în temeiul reglementărilor speciale (Pravilnik o sastavu i načinu rada tijela vještačenja u postupku ostvarivanja prava iz socijalne skrbi i drogih prava po posebnim propisima – „regulile”).
10. La 11 martie 2009, în baza raportului comisiei de experți, Centrul a acordat reclamantului o alocație de asistență și de prezență, începând cu 27 august 2008, reclamantul nu a contestat această decizie. Al doilea set de proceduri administrative privind dreptul reclamantului la o pensie de invaliditate 11. La 6 mai 2009, la cererea reclamantului, practicantul ei general a adresat-o pentru o altă evaluare medicală pentru a stabili că a avut o „incapacitate generală de a lucra” în scopul obținerii unei pensii de supraviețuitor după moartea mamei sale (obiteljska mirovina 12. La 20 octombrie 2009, un expert de la Biroul Split a examinat reclamantul și a concluzionat că a avut o incapacitate generală de a lucra, numărând de la data respectivă.
Comisia pentru Revizuirea rapoartelor privind handicapul a acceptat raportul expertului la 28 octombrie 2009. 13. La 10 noiembrie 2009, biroul Split, bazat pe rapoartele de experți, a acordat reclamantului o pensie de invaliditate mai mare decât cea acordată prin decizia din 17 martie 2008, începând cu 20 octombrie 2009. La 12 mai 2009, reclamantul a solicitat o pensie de supraviețuire din partea Fondului după moartea mamei sale. Ea s-a bazat pe art. 64 alineatul (3) din Legea privind asigurările de pensii (a se vedea punctul 21 de mai jos). 15. La 26 februarie 2010, Biroul Split a respins cererea reclamantului, constatând că mama reclamantului a murit la 1 martie 2009 și că a fost acordată o pensie de invaliditate la 10 noiembrie 2009, retrasă până la 20 octombrie 2009, din cauza unei incapacități generale de a lucra.
Prin urmare, a susținut că reclamantul nu are dreptul la o pensie de supraviețuitor. 16. Reclamantul a contestat decizia în fața Oficiului Central, susținând că condiția sa în sensul pensiei de supraviețuire a fost stabilită înainte de moartea mamei sale în cadrul procedurii de asistență și de asistență. În special, decizia Centrului din 11 martie 2009 a constatat că incapacitatea ei totală de a lucra a apărut la 27 august 2008. 17. La 31 august 2010, Oficiul Central a respins apelul reclamantului și a susținut decizia Oficiului Split. 18. Reclamantul a reiterat argumentele sale într-o acțiune administrativă și a susținut că pensia de supraviețuire este mai favorabilă decât pensia de invaliditate pe care i-a fost acordată.
19. La 25 aprilie 2013, Curtea Administrativă Înaltă a respins acțiunea administrativă a reclamantului, constatând că incapacitatea ei generală de a lucra în sensul Legii privind asigurările de pensii a apărut în octombrie 2009, care este după moartea mamei sale.
La 28 mai 2014, Curtea Constituțională a respins o plângere constituțională a reclamantului, hotărârea care a fost notificată la 5 iunie 2014. Legea internă relevantă 21. Dispozițiile relevante ale Legii privind asigurările de pensii (Zcazon o mirovinskom osiguranju, Gazette Oficial nr. 102/98, cu modificări ulterioare), care au fost în vigoare între 1 ianuarie 1999 și 31 decembrie 2013, au citit următoarele: Secțiunea 34 „(1) Disabilitatea există în cazul în care, datorită modificărilor în domeniul sănătății care nu pot fi tratate, capacitatea unei persoane asigurate de a lucra este redusă permanent cu mai mult de jumătate în comparație cu o persoană asigurată fizic și mental sănătoasă cu aceeași educație sau capacitate și capacitatea similare (incapacitate profesională de a lucra)…
(2) Disabilitatea există, de asemenea, în cazul în care o persoană asigurată, datorită modificărilor în starea de sănătate care nu poate fi tratată, suferă o pierdere permanentă a capacității de a lucra (o incapacitate generală de a lucra).” Secțiunea 64 „(3) Un copil pentru care a avut loc o incapacitate generală de a lucra ... înainte de decesul unui asigurat sau al beneficiarului pensiei are dreptul să primească o pensie de supraviețuire în cazul în care persoana asigurată decedat sau beneficiarul pensiei a sprijinit copilul până la moartea acestei persoane.” 22. Dispoziția relevantă a Regulamentelor privind compoziția și activitatea organismelor de experți în procesul exercitării drepturilor sociale și a altor drepturi în temeiul reglementărilor speciale (Pravilnik o sastavu i načinu rada tijela vještačenja u postupku ostvarivanja prava iz socijalne skrbi i drogih prava po posebnim propisima , Jurnalul Oficial nr. 64/2002, cu amendamente ulterioare), care a fost în vigoare între 12 iunie 2002 și 8 iulie 2014, se citește după cum urmează: Secțiunea 43 „O incapacitate totală de a lucra este atunci când datorită tipului, gradului și severității unei incapacități fizice sau mentale sau a tipului și severității unei boli psihologice,
o persoană nu este capabilă să desfășoare suficiente lucrări pentru a susține nevoile de bază ale vieții.” 23. Reclamantul s-a plâns în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție că deciziile autorităților interne care respingută cererea de pensie a supraviețuitorului au fost arbitrare și au lipsit de motive în ceea ce privește chestiunea centrală a cazului. De asemenea, în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție, că deciziile încurcate au încălcat dreptul ei la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale. Legea 24. Reclamantul se bazează pe art. 6 § 1 din Convenție și art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. Aceste dispoziții, în măsura în care sunt relevante, se citesc după cum urmează: art. 6 „În determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor sale civile ... fiecare are dreptul la o audiere corectă ... de [a] ... tribunal ...” art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 „1.
Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale. Nimeni nu va fi privat de posesele sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și prin principiile generale ale dreptului internațional.” Argumentele părților 25. Guvernul a susținut că deciziile autorităților interne de a respinge cererea reclamantului pentru o pensie de supraviețuire nu au fost nici arbitrare, nici în mod evident irazonabil. În plus, acestea au furnizat motive suficiente în ceea ce privește chestiunea centrală a cauzei. Guvernul a declarat că, de-a lungul anilor, autoritățile naționale au desfășurat mai multe proceduri la inițiativa reclamantului pentru a-și evalua starea de sănătate și drepturile de securitate socială conexe.
În cadrul procedurii respective, reclamantul a suferit diverse examinări de experți care au dus la constatarea că, la 19 decembrie 2007, a avut o incapacitate profesională de a lucra, o incapacitate totală de a lucra la 27 august 2008 și o incapacitate generală de a lucra la 20 octombrie 2009 (a se vedea punctele 5, 9, 10 și 12 de mai sus). Potrivit Guvernului, o incapacitate totală de a lucra și o incapacitate generală de a lucra au fost două concepte juridice distincte (a se vedea punctele 21 și 22 de mai sus). 26. Guvernul a remarcat, de asemenea, că a doua serie de proceduri privind pensia de invaliditate a reclamantului a constatat că incapacitatea ei generală de a lucra a apărut la 20 octombrie 2009. Cu toate acestea, reclamantul nu a apelat niciodată împotriva deciziei de primă instanță și nu a încercat, prin urmare, să dovedească că incapacitatea ei generală de a lucra a apărut mai devreme (a se vedea punctele 12 și 13 de mai sus).
În consecință, autoritățile interne nu au avut de ales decât să-și respingă reclamația în cadrul procedurii, în cazul în care data incapacității sale generale de a lucra a fost crucială pentru acordarea pensiei de supraviețuitor. În plus, autoritățile interne au declarat în mod clar în deciziile lor că reclamantul nu avea dreptul la pensia de supraviețuire, deoarece incapacitatea ei generală de a lucra a apărut după moartea mamei sale (a se vedea punctele 15 și 19 de mai sus). 27. Reclamantul a răspuns că a îndeplinit toate criteriile care trebuie acordate pensiei supraviețuitorului după moartea mamei sale. Ea a susținut că faptul că incapacitatea ei generală de a lucra a fost stabilită doar în octombrie 2009 nu înseamnă că starea ei nu existase înainte.
În special, la 27 august 2008, s-a constatat că are o incapacitate totală de a lucra (a se vedea punctele 9 și 10 mai sus). Potrivit reclamantului, nu a existat nicio diferență între o incapacitate totală de a lucra și o incapacitate generală de a lucra pentru că, datorită sănătății sale, în orice caz, nu a fost în măsură să lucreze și, prin urmare, nu a putut să se prevadă pentru sine. Prin urmare, reclamantul a susținut că hotărârile autorităților interne de a respinge reclamația pentru pensia de supraviețuire au fost arbitrare, nu au avut motive și au încălcat dreptul ei la bucurarea pașnică a bunurilor sale. Evaluarea Curții în ceea ce privește art. 6 § 1 din Convenția 28. Curtea reiterează că este în primul rând pentru autoritățile naționale, în special pentru instanțe, să interpreteze legislația internă.
Rolul Curții se limitează la verificarea dacă efectele unei astfel de interpretații sunt compatibile cu Convenția (a se vedea, de exemplu, Tejedor García c. Spania , 16 decembrie 1997, § 31, Raportul hotărârilor și hotărârilor 1997 VIII, și Perez de Rada Cavanilles c. Spania , 28 octombrie 1998, § 43, Rapoarte 1998 VIII . În mod normal, problemele cum ar fi greutatea atașată de instanțele naționale la dovezi specifice sau la constatările sau evaluările chestiunilor în fața acestora nu sunt obligatorii să revizuiască Curții.
Curtea nu ar trebui să acționeze ca o a patra instanță și, prin urmare, nu va contesta în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 hotărârea instanțelor naționale, cu excepția cazului în care concluziile lor pot fi considerate arbitrare sau manifestement irazonabile (a se vedea Lupeni Greek Catholic Parish și alții c. România [GC], nr. 76943/11, § 90, CEDH 2016 (extracte) 29. De asemenea, Curtea reiterează că, deși art. 6 § 1 obligă instanțele să dea motive pentru hotărârile lor, nu se poate înțelege că este necesară o răspuns detaliat la fiecare argument (a se vedea, de exemplu, Van de Hurk c. Țările de Jos , 19 aprilie 1994, § 61, Serie A nr. 288, și Sivova și Koleva c. Bulgaria . , nr. 30383/03, § 76, 15 noiembrie 2011). Mărimea în care se aplică această obligație de a da motive poate varia în funcție de natura deciziei și trebuie determinată în funcție de circumstanțele cazului (a se vedea Ruiz Torija c. Spania, 9 decembrie 1994, § 29, Serie A nos.
303-A). În ceea ce privește prezentul caz, Curtea constată că reclamantul a solicitat fondului la 12 mai 2009 pentru a obține o pensie de supraviețuire după moartea mamei sale (a se vedea punctul 14 de mai sus). Curtea remarcă, de asemenea, că una dintre condițiile pe care reclamantul a trebuit să le îndeplinească în temeiul legii privind asigurările de pensii pentru obținerea unei astfel de beneficii a fost faptul că incapacitatea ei generală de a lucra înainte de moartea mamei sale (a se vedea punctul 21 mai sus). Cu toate acestea, autoritățile interne au constatat că acest lucru nu a fost cazul (a se vedea punctele 15-20 mai sus). De asemenea, ei au constatat că faptul că i-a fost acordată o asistență și o alocație de asistență înainte de moartea mamei sale a fost irelevant.
31. Contrar argumentelor reclamantei, Curtea este de părere că nu există nimic arbitrar sau manifestement irazonabil în concluzia autorităților interne. În special, Curtea constată că mama reclamantului a murit la 1 martie 2009 (a se vedea punctul 15 mai sus). În plus, Curtea constată că experții implicați în al doilea set de proceduri administrative privind dreptul reclamantului la o pensie de invaliditate au stabilit că incapacitatea ei generală de a lucra a apărut la 20 octombrie 2009 (a se vedea Acest lucru a fost confirmat prin decizia Oficiului Split din 10 noiembrie 2009 (a se vedea punctul 13 de mai sus). Curtea constată că reclamanta nu a depus niciun recurs împotriva acestei decizii.
Prin urmare, nu a încercat niciodată să susțină că incapacitatea ei generală de a lucra a apărut mai devreme. 32. În consecință, Curtea nu constată că, în cadrul procedurii privind pensia supraviețuitorului, în conformitate cu hotărârea Oficiului Split din 10 noiembrie 2009, a constatat că incapacitatea generală de muncă a reclamantului a apărut la 20 octombrie 2009, adică, după moartea mamei sale, și că, prin urmare, nu are dreptul la o astfel de pensie (a se vedea punctele 15-20 de mai sus). 33. Curtea observă, de asemenea, că în primul set de proceduri administrative privind dreptul reclamantului la o pensie de invaliditate, expertul Oficiului Central a examinat dosarul medical al reclamantului la 21 august 2008 și a raportat că condiția ei nu a constituit o „incapacitate generală de a lucra” (a se vedea punctul 6 mai sus).
Aceasta a fost confirmată prin decizia Oficiului Central din 25 august 2008 (a se vedea punctul 7 de mai sus). Curtea constată că reclamantul nu a depus niciun recurs ulterior împotriva acestei decizii. Prin urmare, Curtea este de părere că, în cadrul procedurii reclamate (a se vedea punctul 14-20 de mai sus), reclamantul nu ar fi putut susține cu succes că, datorită faptului că s-a constatat că are o „incapacitate totală de a lucra” începând cu 27 august 2008 a însemnat că condiția de a-i fi fost stabilită pentru o pensie de supraviețuire înainte de moartea mamei sale. 34. Având în vedere considerentele de mai sus, Curtea nu constată nicio apariție de arbitrare în hotărârile autorităților interne care resping cererea reclamantului pentru o pensie de supraviețuire.
Autoritățile interne au furnizat motive suficiente pentru a constata că nu a îndeplinit cerințele statutare pentru acordarea acestei pensii. 35. În consecință, reclamațiile reclamanților în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție sunt manifestamente nefondate și trebuie respinse în conformitate cu art. 35 § § § § § § § § § § și 4 din Convenție. În ceea ce privește art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 36, Curtea reiterează că un reclamant poate invoca numai o încălcare a articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 în măsura în care deciziile impuționate se referă la „posesiile” sale în sensul acestei dispoziții. „Posesiunile” pot fi fie „posesiuni existente” sau active, inclusiv pretenții, pentru care reclamantul poate susține că are cel puțin o „așteptare legitimă” de a obține o bucurare efectivă a dreptului de proprietate (a se vedea, de exemplu, Kopecký c. Slovacia) [GC], nr. 44912/98, § 35, CEHR 2004 IX).
37. Curtea reiterează că art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 nu creează dreptul de a dobândi bunuri. În plus, nu pune nicio restricție asupra libertății unui stat contractant de a decide dacă să aibă sau nu în vigoare o formă de sistem de securitate socială sau să aleagă tipul sau cantitatea de beneficii care să se ofere în cadrul unui astfel de sistem. Cu toate acestea, în cazul în care un stat contractant are în vigoare o legislație care prevede plata dreptului unei prestații de asistență socială – condiționată sau nu cu privire la plata prealabilă a contribuțiilor –, această legislație trebuie considerată ca generarea unui interes proprietar încadrat în art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 pentru persoanele care îndeplinesc cerințele sale (a se vedea Stec și alții c. Regatul Unit (dec.) [GC], nos.
65731/01 și 65900/01, §54, CEDO 2005-X). 38. Cu scopul de a stabili dacă interesele reclamantului în cazul în cauză intră în cadrul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1, Curtea remarcă că, în conformitate cu Legea privind asigurările de pensii, una dintre condițiile pe care le-a trebuit să le îndeplinească pentru a obține o pensie de supraviețuitor a fost faptul că incapacitatea ei generală de a lucra a apărut înainte de moartea mamei sale (a se vedea Punctul 21 de mai sus). Curtea constată că autoritățile interne au constatat că o astfel de situație a apărut doar după moartea mamei sale și, prin urmare, a respins afirmația ei.
(a se vedea punctele 30-35 de mai sus), nu se poate spune că cererea reclamantului pentru pensia de supraviețuire constituie „posesiuni” care atrage protecția articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. 39. Prin urmare, această plângere este incompatibilă ratione materiae cu dispozițiile Convenției în sensul articolului 35 § 3 litera (a) și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 § 4. Din aceste motive, Curtea declară în unanimitate cererea inadmisibilă. Efectuată în limba engleză și notificată în scris la 5 octombrie 2017. Renata Degener Kristina Pardalos Președintele adjunct al grefierului
FIRST SECTION
DECISION Application no. 77664/14 Neda REIĆ against Croatia The European Court of Human Rights (First Section), sitting on 12 September 2017 as a Committee composed of: Kristina Pardalos, President, Ksenija Turković, Pauliine Koskelo, judges, and Renata Degener, Deputy Section Registrar, Having regard to the above application lodged on 4 December 2014, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS
The applicant, Ms Neda Reić, is a Croatian national who was born in 1956 and lives in Split. She was represented before the Court by Ms M. Brčić, a lawyer practising in Split.
The Croatian Government (“the Government”) were represented by their Agent, Ms Š. Stažnik. A. The circumstances of the case
The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. 1. First set of administrative proceedings concerning the applicant’s entitlement to a disability pension
On 5 November 2007 the applicant’s general practitioner referred her for a medical evaluation to establish her level of disability for the purposes of granting her a disability pension.
On 19 December 2007 an expert at the Split Office of the Croatian Pension Fund ( Hrvatski zavod za mirovinsko osiguranje, Područna služba Split - hereinafter “the Split Office”) examined the applicant and reported that she had a “professional inability to work” ( profesionalna nesposobnost za rad ). That was confirmed on 9 January 2008 by the Pension Fund’s Commission for the Review of Disability Reports ( Stručno povjerenstvo za reviziju nalaza i mišljenja o invalidnosti ) on the basis of the applicant’s medical file.
On 17 March 2008 the Split Office, relying on the findings of the experts, granted the applicant a disability pension, starting from 19 December 2007. The applicant challenged the decision before the Central Office of the Fund ( Hrvatski zavod za mirovinsko osiguranje, Središnja služba – hereinafter “the Central Office”), alleging that her condition amounted to a “general inability to work” ( opća nesposobnost za rad ). At the request of the Central Office, one of its experts on 21 August 2008 examined the applicant’s medical file and confirmed the initial finding of a professional rather than a general inability to work.
On 25 August 2008 the Central Office, relying on the expert reports, dismissed the applicant’s appeal and upheld the decision of the Split Office. The applicant did not pursue any further remedies against that decision. 2. Administrative proceedings concerning the applicant’s entitlement to an assistance and attendance allowance
On 27 August 2008 the applicant sought an assistance and attendance allowance ( doplatak za pomoć i njegu ) from the Split Social Welfare Centre ( Centar za socijalnu skrb Split – hereinafter “the Centre”).
At the Centre’s request, an in-house expert commission examined the applicant on 26 January 2009 and concluded that she had a “total inability to work” ( potpuna nesposobnost za rad ) under the criteria established in section 43 of the Rules on the composition and work of expert bodies in the process of exercising social welfare and other rights under special regulations ( Pravilnik o sastavu i načinu rada tijela vještačenja u postupku ostvarivanja prava iz socijalne skrbi i drugih prava po posebnim propisima – “the Rules”).
On 11 March 2009 the Centre, relying on the expert commission’s report, granted the applicant an assistance and attendance allowance, starting from 27 August 2008. The applicant did not challenge that decision. 3. Second set of administrative proceedings concerning the applicant’s entitlement to a disability pension
On 6 May 2009, at the applicant’s request, her general practitioner referred her for another medical evaluation in order to establish that she had a “general inability to work” for the purposes of obtaining a survivor’s pension after the death of her mother ( obiteljska mirovina ).
On 20 October 2009 an expert at the Split Office examined the applicant and concluded that she had a general inability to work, counting from that date. The Commission for the Review of Disability Reports accepted the expert’s report on 28 October 2009.
On 10 November 2009 the Split Office, relying on the expert reports, granted the applicant a higher disability pension than the one granted by the decision of 17 March 2008, starting from 20 October 2009. The applicant took no further action as regards that decision. 4. Administrative proceedings concerning the applicant’s entitlement to a survivor’s pension
On 12 May 2009 the applicant sought a survivor’s pension from the Fund following the death of her mother. She relied on section 64(3) of the Pension Insurance Act (see paragraph 21 below).
On 26 February 2010 the Split Office rejected the applicant’s application. It found that the applicant’s mother had died on 1 March 2009 and that she had been granted a disability pension on 10 November 2009, backdated to 20 October 2009, owing to a general inability to work. It therefore held that the applicant was not entitled to a survivor’s pension.
The applicant challenged the decision before the Central Office. She argued that her condition for the purposes of a survivor’s pension had been established before her mother’s death in the proceedings for the assistance and attendance allowance. In particular, the Centre’s decision of 11 March 2009 had found that her total inability to work had arisen as of 27 August 2008.
On 31 August 2010 the Central Office dismissed the applicant’s appeal and upheld the Split Office’s decision.
The applicant reiterated her arguments in an administrative action and contended that a survivor’s pension was more favourable than the disability pension she had been granted.
On 25 April 2013 the High Administrative Court dismissed the applicant’s administrative action. It found that her general inability to work for the purposes of the Pension Insurance Act had come about on 20 October 2009, that is after her mother’s death. It found that it was irrelevant that she had been granted the assistance and attendance allowance before her mother’s death.
On 28 May 2014 the Constitutional Court dismissed a constitutional complaint by the applicant. The decision was served on her on 5 June 2014. B. Relevant domestic law
The relevant provisions of the Pension Insurance Act ( Zakon o mirovinskom osiguranju , Official Gazette no. 102/98, with subsequent amendments), which was in force between 1 January 1999 and 31 December 2013, read as follows: Section 34 “(1) Disability exists where, owing to changes in health that cannot be treated, an insured person’s ability to work is permanently reduced by more than half in comparison to a physically and mentally healthy insured person of the same or similar education and capability (a professional inability to work)… (2) Disability also exists where an insured person, owing to changes in his or her health condition which cannot be treated, suffers a permanent loss of the ability to work (a general inability to work).” Section 64 “(3) A child for whom a general inability to work came about ... before the death of an insured person or pension beneficiary shall be entitled to receive a survivor’s pension in the event that the deceased insured person or pension beneficiary supported the child until that person’s death.”
The relevant provision of the Rules on the composition and work of expert bodies in the process of exercising social welfare rights and other rights under special regulations ( Pravilnik o sastavu i načinu rada tijela vještačenja u postupku ostvarivanja prava iz socijalne skrbi i drugih prava po posebnim propisima , Official Gazette no. 64/2002, with subsequent amendments), which was in force between 12 June 2002 and 8 July 2014, reads as follows: Section 43 “A total inability to work exists when owing to the type, degree and severity of a physical or mental disability, or the type and severity of a psychological illness, a person is not capable of performing enough work to sustain the basic needs of life.” COMPLAINTS
The applicant complained under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention that the decisions of the domestic authorities dismissing her claim for a survivor’s pension had been arbitrary and had lacked reasons with respect to the central issue of the case. She also complained, under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention, that the impugned decisions had violated her right to the peaceful enjoyment of her possessions. THE LAW
The applicant relied on Article 6 § 1 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 thereto. Those provisions, in so far as relevant, read as follows: Article 6 “In the determination of his civil rights and obligations ... everyone is entitled to a fair ... hearing ... by [a] ... tribunal ...” Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 “1. Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions. No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law.” A. The parties’ arguments
The Government submitted that the decisions by the domestic authorities to dismiss the applicant’s claim for a survivor’s pension had been neither arbitrary nor manifestly unreasonable. Moreover, they had provided sufficient reasons with respect to the central issue of the case. The Government stated that over the years the domestic authorities had conducted several proceedings at the initiative of the applicant in order to assess her health condition and her related social security entitlements. In those proceedings the applicant had undergone various expert examinations which had resulted in her being found to have, on 19 December 2007, a professional inability to work, a total inability to work on 27 August 2008 and a general inability to work on 20 October 2009 (see paragraphs 5, 9, 10 and 12 above). According to the Government, a total inability to work and a general inability to work were two distinct legal concepts (see paragraphs 21 and 22 above).
The Government noted further that the second set of proceedings concerning the applicant’s disability pension had found that her general inability to work had come about on 20 October 2009. However, the applicant had never appealed against the first-instance decision and had thus never tried to prove that her general inability to work had arisen earlier (see paragraphs 12 and 13 above). Accordingly, the domestic authorities had had no choice but to dismiss her claim in the proceedings complained of, where the date of her general inability to work had been crucial to the granting of a survivor’s pension. Moreover, the domestic authorities had clearly stated in their decisions that the applicant had not been entitled to a survivor’s pension since her general inability to work had arisen after her mother’s death (see paragraphs 15 and 19 above).
The applicant replied that she had satisfied all the criteria to be granted the survivor’s pension after the death of her mother. She argued that the fact that her general inability to work had only been established on 20 October 2009 did not mean that her condition had not existed before. In particular, she had been found on 27 August 2008 to have a total inability to work (see paragraphs 9 and 10 above). According to the applicant, there was no difference between a total inability to work and a general inability to work because owing to her impaired health she was in any event unable to work and thus unable to provide for herself. The applicant therefore submitted that the decisions by the domestic authorities to dismiss her claim for a survivor’s pension had been arbitrary, lacked reasons and had violated her right to the peaceful enjoyment of her possessions. B. The Court’s assessment 1. As regards Article 6 § 1 of the Convention
The Court reiterates that it is primarily for the national authorities, notably the courts, to interpret domestic legislation. The Court’s role is confined to ascertaining whether the effects of such an interpretation are compatible with the Convention (see, for example, Tejedor García v. Spain , 16 December 1997, § 31, Reports of Judgments and Decisions 1997 ‑ VIII, and Pérez de Rada Cavanilles v. Spain , 28 October 1998, § 43, Reports 1998 ‑ VIII). Normally, issues such as the weight attached by the national courts to particular evidence or to findings or assessments of issues before them for consideration are not for the Court to review. The Court should not act as a fourth instance and will not therefore question under Article 6 § 1 the judgment of the national courts, unless their findings can be regarded as arbitrary or manifestly unreasonable (see Lupeni Greek Catholic Parish and Others v. Romania [GC], no. 76943/11, § 90, ECHR 2016 (extracts)).
The Court also reiterates that although Article 6 § 1 obliges the courts to give reasons for their judgments, it cannot be understood as requiring a detailed answer to every argument (see, for example, Van de Hurk v. the Netherlands , 19 April 1994, § 61, Series A no. 288, and Sivova and Koleva v. Bulgaria , no. 30383/03, § 76, 15 November 2011). The extent to which this duty to give reasons applies may vary according to the nature of the decision and must be determined in the light of the circumstances of the case (see Ruiz Torija v. Spain , 9 December 1994, § 29, Series A nos. 303-A).
Turning to the present case, the Court notes that the applicant applied to the Fund on 12 May 2009 to obtain a survivor’s pension following the death of her mother (see paragraph 14 above). The Court further notes that one of the conditions the applicant had to meet under the Pension Insurance Act in order to obtain such a benefit was that her general inability to work had arisen before her mother’s death (see paragraph 21 above). However, the domestic authorities found that that was not the case (see paragraphs 15-20 above). They also found that the fact that she had been granted an assistance and attendance allowance before her mother’s death was irrelevant.
Contrary to the applicant’s arguments, the Court is of the view that there is nothing arbitrary or manifestly unreasonable in the domestic authorities’ conclusion. In particular, the Court notes that the applicant’s mother died on 1 March 2009 (see paragraph 15 above). It further notes that the experts involved in the second set of administrative proceedings concerning the applicant’s entitlement to a disability pension established that her general inability to work had arisen on 20 October 2009 (see paragraph 12 above). That was confirmed by the decision of the Split Office of 10 November 2009 (see paragraph 13 above). The Court notes that the applicant lodged no appeal against that decision. She therefore never tried to argue that her general inability to work had arisen earlier.
Consequently, the Court finds no fault with the domestic authorities for finding in the proceedings concerning the survivor’s pension, in accordance with the Split Office’s decision of 10 November 2009, that the applicant’s general inability to work had arisen on 20 October 2009, that is, after her mother’s death, and that she was therefore not entitled to such a pension (see paragraphs 15-20 above).
The Court further notes that in the first set of administrative proceedings concerning the applicant’s entitlement to a disability pension, the Central Office expert examined the applicant’s medical file on 21 August 2008 and reported that her condition did not amount to a “general inability to work” (see paragraph 6 above). That was confirmed by the decision of the Central Office of 25 August 2008 (see paragraph 7 above). The Court notes that the applicant lodged no subsequent appeal against that decision. The Court is therefore of the view that in the proceedings complained of (see paragraph 14-20 above), the applicant could not have successfully argued that owing to the fact that she had been found to have a “total inability to work” from 27 August 2008 meant that the condition qualifying her for a survivor’s pension had been established before her mother’s death.
Having regard to the above considerations, the Court finds no appearance of arbitrariness in the decisions of the domestic authorities dismissing the applicant’s claim for a survivor’s pension. The domestic authorities provided sufficient reasons for finding that she did not meet the statutory requirements to be granted that pension.
It therefore follows that the applicant’s complaints under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention are manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 (a) and 4 of the Convention. 2. As regards Article 1 of Protocol No. 1
The Court reiterates that an applicant can only allege a violation of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 in so far as the impugned decisions relate to his or her “possessions” within the meaning of that provision. “Possessions” can be either “existing possessions” or assets, including claims, in respect of which the applicant can argue that he or she has at least a “legitimate expectation” of obtaining effective enjoyment of a property right (see, for example, Kopecký v. Slovakia [GC], no. 44912/98, § 35, ECHR 2004 ‑ IX).
The Court reiterates that Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 does not create a right to acquire property. Additionally, it places no restriction on a Contracting State’s freedom to decide whether or not to have in place any form of social security scheme, or to choose the type or amount of benefits to provide under any such scheme. If, however, a Contracting State has in force legislation providing for the payment as of right of a welfare benefit – whether conditional or not on the prior payment of contributions – that legislation must be regarded as generating a proprietary interest falling within the ambit of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 for persons satisfying its requirements (see Stec and Others v. the United Kingdom (dec.) [GC], nos. 65731/01 and 65900/01, §54, ECHR 2005- X).
With a view to establishing whether the interests of the applicant in the present case fell within the ambit of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1, the Court notes that according to the Pension Insurance Act one of the conditions she had to meet in order to obtain a survivor’s pension was that her general inability to work had arisen before her mother’s death (see paragraph 21 above). The Court notes that the domestic authorities found that such a situation only came about after her mother’s death and therefore dismissed her claim. Since the domestic authorities’ conclusions do not appear to be arbitrary or manifestly unreasonable (see paragraphs 30-35 above), it cannot be said that the applicant’s claim for a survivor’s pension amounted to “possessions” attracting the protection of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1.
Accordingly, this complaint is incompatible ratione materiae with the provisions of the Convention within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 (a) and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 § 4. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously, Declares the application inadmissible. Done in English and notified in writing on 5 October 2017. Renata Degener Kristina Pardalos Deputy Registrar President