- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 1 octombrie 2024
- Stat pârât
- HRV
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Husić împotriva Croației
Traducere în română Auto
DECIZIE A SEGUNDEI SECȚIUNII DECIZIE Nr. 596/21 Muzafir HUSI vătămând Croația Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (A doua secțiune), care a stat la 1 octombrie 2024 în calitate de comitet compus din: Lorraine Schembri Orland , Președintele Frédéric Krenc, Davor Derenčinović , judecători și Dorothee von Arnim, secretar adjunct al secțiunii, având în vedere cererea (nu).
596/21, împotriva Republicii Croației depusă Curții în temeiul articolului 34 din Convenția pentru protecția drepturilor omului și a libertăților fundamentale („Convenția”) la 16 decembrie 2020 de un național croat, dl Muzafir Husić („reclamantul”), care s-a născut în 1953, locuiește în Zagreb și a fost reprezentat de dl I. Avdagić, un avocat care practică la Zagreb; hotărârea de a notifica plângerea reclamantului privind discriminarea în bucuria bunurilor sale guvernului croat („Guvernului”), reprezentată de agentul lor, dna Stažnik, și de a declara inadmisibilă restul cererii; observațiile părților; după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: Cazul se referă la presupusa discriminare a reclamantului pe baza vârstei și a anilor sale de serviciu în ceea ce privește statutul șomajului și prestațiile care au fost refuzate.
După ce a fost concediat din muncă în februarie 2015, reclamantul a solicitat să fie înregistrat ca șomaj în cadrul Fondului croat de ocupare a forței de muncă pentru a primi prestații de șomaj și pentru a căuta noi locuri de muncă. Cererea sa a fost respinsă deoarece, la momentul în care a depus cererea, avea 61 de ani și avea peste 41 de ani de serviciu. El a îndeplinit astfel cerințele pentru așa-numita pensie de vârstă din cauza serviciului pe termen lung („starosna mirovina za digogogodišnjeg osigranika „), astfel cum este definit în art. 35 din Legea privind asigurările de pensii, în consecință, el nu a putut fi considerat un șomer. Reclamantul a contestat această decizie în fața autorităților administrative, susținând că nu dorește să se retragă deoarece pensia de serviciu pe termen lung este mai puțin favorabilă pentru el în ceea ce privește condițiile și cantitatea de pensie, și că, în schimb, dorește să lucreze până la vârsta de 65 de ani.
în vârstă de vârstă și îndeplinește cerințele pentru o pensie regulară de vârstă. Apelurile sale au fost respinse de autoritățile administrative competente, inclusiv de instanțe administrative. Plaga sa constituțională a fost respinsă de Curtea Constituțională la 14 iulie 2020. În consecință, reclamantul a solicitat, de asemenea, plata prestațiilor de șomaj, care i-a fost refuzată, deoarece, după îndeplinirea cerințelor pentru o pensie de vârstă pentru serviciul de lungă durată, nu a putut fi considerat șomaj sau solicitat prestațiile de șomaj.
Curtea Constituțională și-a respins plângerea constituțională prin decizia din 14 iulie 2020. Între timp, la 3 iulie 2015, reclamantul a solicitat o pensie de vârstă din cauza serviciului pe termen lung și cererea sa a fost acordată începând cu 1 martie 2015. Reclamantul s-a plângut, în conformitate cu art. 14 din Convenția luată coroborat cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 din aceasta, care a fost discriminat pe baza vârstei și a anilor de serviciu. El a susținut că a fost forțat să se retragă, deși dorește să continue să lucreze până la vârsta obligatorie de 65 de ani. În opinia sa, pensia de servicii pe termen lung a fost doar o opțiune, și nu o obligație, în temeiul dreptului intern, pentru persoanele care îndeplinesc cerințele legale de a se retrage mai devreme, dacă doresc să facă acest lucru.
Curtea consideră că nu este necesar să se decidă cu privire la toate obiecțiile de inadmisibilitate formulate de Guvern, deoarece prezentul caz este, în orice caz, inadmisibil pentru următoarele motive.
Se aplică astfel plângerea reclamantului cu privire la refuzul statutului de șomaj și la prestațiile din partea articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 și art. 14. Principiile generale legate de interzicerea discriminării au fost rezumate în Fábián c. Ungaria ([GC], nr. 78117/13, §§ 112 117, 5 septembrie 2017). În special, pentru ca o problemă să apară în temeiul articolului 14, reclamantul trebuie să demonstreze că a existat o diferență în tratamentul persoanelor în situații analoge sau relevante similare (ibid., §) 113). În plus, elementele care caracterizează diferite situații și stabilesc comparabilitatea acestora trebuie evaluate în funcție de subiectul și scopul măsurii care fac distincția în cauză (ibid., § 121). 11. În cazul în cauză, reclamantul a susținut în esență că autoritățile administrative au interpretat în mod eronat noțiunea de „pensiunea de vârstă”, astfel cum se prevede la art. 10 alineatul (1) din Legea privind mediarea forței de muncă și drepturile șomajului, inclusiv atât pensia de vârstă regulară, astfel cum se definește la art. 33 din Legea privind asigurările de pensii, cât și așa-numita pensie de vârstă pentru serviciu pe termen lung, astfel cum se definește la art. 35 din aceeași lege.
Din partea sa, reclamantul a explicat că a dorit să obțină prestațiile de șomaj pe care le consideră că avea drept suma forfetară de aproximativ 12.000 EUR pentru a deschide un birou de drept privat și a continua să lucreze până la vârsta de 65 de ani și a devenit dreptul la o pensie regulară de vârstă. 12. La început, Curtea constată că principala plângere a reclamantului se referă la interpretarea și aplicarea instanțelor naționale de drept intern la faptele cauzei sale și este de natură „a patra instanță”.
Curtea reiterează că nu este funcția sa să se ocupe de erorile de fapt sau de lege presupuse comise de aceste instanțe, cu excepția cazului în care și în măsura în care acestea au încălcat drepturile și libertățile protejate de Convenție (a se vedea, în contextul articolului 6 din Convenție, García Ruiz v. Spania [GC], nr. 30544/96 , § 28, CEDO 1999 I). 13. În acest context, Curtea constată că reclamantul s-a plâns în primul rând că a fost discriminat în ceea ce privește „toți șomerii înregistrați în registrul relevant”. Mai târziu, el a prezentat date statistice care arată că, la momentul în care a fost refuzat înregistrarea și beneficiile de șomaj aferente în martie 2015, au existat în Croația aproape 16 000 de persoane între vârsta de 60 și 65 de ani înregistrate ca șomeri în cadrul Fondului croat pentru ocuparea forței de muncă.
14. În opinia Curții, informațiile de mai sus prezentate de reclamant nu sunt suficiente pentru a demonstra că a existat o diferență în tratamentul persoanelor în situații analoge sau relevante similare în acest caz, ținând seama de natura specifică a plângerii reclamantului, că a fost tratat diferit pe baza combinației de două caracteristici separate, vârsta și anii de serviciu. Nu există nici o îndoială că trebuie să fi existat o serie de persoane cu vârsta între 60 și 65 de ani înregistrate ca șomer la momentul respectiv. Cu toate acestea, datele prezentate de reclamant nu arată că oricare dintre aceste 16 000 de persoane care aveau peste 60 de ani anii de vârstă și la timpul material a fost înregistrat ca șomeri au fost într-o situație comparabilă cu situația reclamantului în orice alt sens și că, în special, au avut un număr comparabil de ani de serviciu.
În astfel de circumstanțe, nu se poate spune că reclamantul, care suportă sarcina de probă în acest sens (a se vedea punctul 10 mai sus), a arătat prima facie care a fost tratat diferit de alte persoane în aceeași situație sau în mod corespunzător similară cu a sa. 15. Reclamantul a căutat în continuare să se compare cu pensionarii care aveau 65 de ani și au primit pensia regulară de vârstă. El a susținut că, spre deosebire de acestea, el nu ar putea deveni angajat la timp parțial și să continue să primească pensia de serviciu pe termen lung. În acest sens, Curtea constată că la 1 ianuarie 2019 – respectiv la cinci luni de la vârsta de 65 de ani a reclamantului – legea relevantă a fost modificată astfel încât să permită pensionarilor de servicii pe termen lung să lucreze la timp parțial în aceleași condiții ca pensionarii de vârstă regulară și să continue să își primească pensiile.
Pentru a determina dacă reclamantul a fost tratat diferit de alte persoane în aceeași situație sau o situație relevantă similară în acest sens, Curtea observă că, în conformitate cu Guvernul, pensia de vârstă de lungă durată serviciul pe termen a fost un privilegiu acordat persoanelor cu mulți ani de serviciu, permițându-le să se retragă în aceleași condiții ca pensionarii de vârstă regulară, dar înainte de a atinge vârsta necesară de 65 de ani. Cu alte cuvinte, spre deosebire de pensionarea anticipată, cu pensia de vârstă pentru serviciul pe termen lung nu s-a înregistrat nicio reducere a sumei de pensie din cauza persoanei care se retrag înainte de vârsta obligatorie de pensionare de 65 de ani.
Dimpotrivă, în conformitate cu legislația internă, astfel de persoane au avut beneficii suplimentare în calculul pensiilor lor pentru fiecare lună pe care le-au lucrat după ce au îndeplinit cerința de vârstă pentru obținerea pensiei de vârstă pentru serviciul pe termen lung. 17. În calculul Guvernului, care nu a fost contestat de solicitant, el a primit aproximativ 19,800 EUR din stat ca pensie de vârstă în perioada între martie 2015 când a solicitat pensia, și atunci când a împlinit 65 de ani, în timp ce prestațiile de șomaj în aceeași perioadă ar fi constituit aproximativ 12.000 EUR. În acest sens, Curtea nu poate specula cu privire la suma salariului sau pensiei pe care reclamantul ar fi avut dreptul de a primi dacă ar fi găsit un alt loc de muncă sau ar fi devenit independent până la atingerea vârstei pensionabile de 65 de ani, din moment ce a ales în cele din urmă să se retragă.
Curtea nu poate decât remarca că reclamantul a beneficiat de un calcul mai favorabil al pensiei sale în conformitate cu normele privind pensiile de servicii pe termen lung (a se vedea punctul 16 de mai sus). În plus, Curtea constată că, spre deosebire de ceea ce reclamantul a menținut, nu a fost obligat să se retragă. După cum a explicat Guvernul, el ar fi putut continua să caute o nouă slujbă sau, într-adevăr, să-și deschidă propriul birou de drept, așa cum a spus el.
Cu toate acestea, el nu a putut obține beneficii de șomaj în timpul cauzei sale de noi locuri de muncă, deoarece, după cum a subliniat guvernul, având în vedere vârsta și anii de serviciu, nu mai a fost considerat șomer, deoarece legislația internă i-a oferit o altă modalitate de a-și asigura prestațiile sociale în formă de pensie de vârstă pentru serviciu pe termen lung, de care în cele din urmă a beneficiat (în acest sens, decizia Curții Constituționale nr. U-I-3103/2003 din 13 iulie 2005, a invocat de către Guvern, în care această instanță nu a considerat discriminatorie cerința de a elimina din registrul relevant al persoanelor șomere care îndeplinesc cerințele pentru o pensionare anticipată).
19. Având în vedere cele de mai sus, și în special ținând seama de marja largă de apreciere a statului în materie de măsuri generale de strategie economică sau socială (a se vedea Savickis și alții c. Letonia [GC], nr. 49270/11, § 184, 9 iunie 2022, precum și cazurile citate în acest articol), Curtea consideră că reclamantul nu a demonstrat că, în comparație cu persoanele șomere înregistrate în registrul sau pensionarii care aveau vârsta de 65 de ani și au primit pensia regulară de vârstă, el a fost supus unei diferențe în ceea ce privește tratamentul cu un grup identificabil într-o situație relevantă similară. 20. Rezultă că cererea este evident nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 4 din Convenție.
Din aceste motive, Curtea declara în unanimitate cererea inadmisibilă. Efectuată în limba engleză și notificată în scris la 24 octombrie 2024. Dorothee von Arnim Lorraine Schembri Orland Președintele adjunct al grefierului
SECOND SECTION
DECISION Application no. 596/21 Muzafir HUSIĆ against Croatia The European Court of Human Rights (Second Section), sitting on 1 October 2024 as a Committee composed of: Lorraine Schembri Orland , President , Frédéric Krenc, Davor Derenčinović , judges , and Dorothee von Arnim, Deputy Section Registrar, Having regard to: the application (no. 596/21) against the Republic of Croatia lodged with the Court under Article 34 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (“the Convention”) on 16 December 2020 by a Croatian national, Mr Muzafir Husić (“the applicant”), who was born in 1953, lives in Zagreb and was represented by Mr I. Avdagić, a lawyer practising in Zagreb; the decision to give notice of the applicant’s complaint concerning discrimination in the enjoyment of his possessions to the Croatian Government (“the Government”), represented by their Agent, Ms Š. Stažnik, and to declare inadmissible the remainder of the application; the parties’ observations; Having deliberated, decides as follows:
SUBJECT MATTER OF THE CASE
1. The case concerns the alleged discrimination of the applicant on the basis of his age and years of service in relation to unemployment status and benefits, which were refused to him.
After he was dismissed from work in February 2015, the applicant applied to be registered as an unemployed person with the Croatian Employment Fund in order to receive unemployment benefits and seek new employment.
His request was dismissed because at the time he lodged his request, he had been 61 years old and had had over 41 years of service. He had thus fulfilled the requirements for the so-called old-age pension on account of long-term service (“ starosna mirovina za dugogodišnjeg osiguranika ”) as defined in section 35 of the Pension Insurance Act. Consequently, he could not be considered an unemployed person.
The applicant challenged that decision before the administrative authorities, arguing that he did not wish to retire because the long-term service pension was less favourable to him in terms of its conditions and amount of pension, and that instead he wished to work until he turned 65 years old and fulfilled the requirements for a regular old-age pension. His appeals were dismissed by the competent administrative authorities, including the administrative courts. His constitutional complaint was dismissed by the Constitutional Court on 14 July 2020.
Concurrently, the applicant also requested payment of unemployment benefits, which was refused to him because, having fulfilled the requirements for an old-age pension for long-term service, he could not be considered an unemployed person or claim unemployment benefits. The applicant’s appeals against this decision were to no avail. The Constitutional Court dismissed his constitutional complaint by a decision of 14 July 2020.
Meanwhile, on 3 July 2015 the applicant applied for an old-age pension on account of long-term service and his request was granted as of 1 March 2015.
The applicant complained, under Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 thereto, that he had been discriminated against on the basis of his age and years of service. He maintained that he had been forced to retire although he had wished to continue working until the compulsory retirement age of 65. In his view, the long-term service pension was only an option, and not an obligation, under domestic law for persons fulfilling the statutory requirements to retire earlier if they wished to do so.
THE COURT’S ASSESSMENT
8. The Court does not consider it necessary to decide on all inadmissibility objections raised by the Government, because the present case is in any event inadmissible for the following reasons.
The applicant’s complaint concerning the refusal of unemployment status and benefits falls within the ambit of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 and Article 14 is thus applicable. 10 . The general principles related to the prohibition of discrimination have been summarised in Fábián v. Hungary ([GC], no. 78117/13, §§ 112 ‑ 117, 5 September 2017). In particular, in order for an issue to arise under Article 14, the applicant must show that there has been a difference in the treatment of persons in analogous or relevantly similar situations (ibid., § 113). Moreover, the elements which characterise different situations, and determine their comparability, must be assessed in the light of the subject ‑ matter and purpose of the measure which makes the distinction in question (ibid., § 121).
In the present case, the applicant essentially claimed that the administrative authorities wrongly interpreted the notion of “old-age pension” as stipulated in section 10(1) of the Act on Employment Mediation and Unemployment Rights as including both the regular old-age pension as defined in section 33 of the Pension Insurance Act and the so-called old age pension for long-term service as defined in section 35 of the same Act. For his part, the applicant explained that he had wished to obtain the unemployment benefits he believed he had been entitled to as a lump sum in the amount of some EUR 12,000 in order to open a private law office and continue working until he turned 65 and became entitled to a regular old-age pension.
At the outset, the Court notes that the applicant’s main grievance relates to the national courts’ interpretation and application of domestic law to the facts of his case and is of a “fourth instance” nature. The Court reiterates that it is not its function to deal with errors of fact or law allegedly committed by these courts unless and in so far as they may have infringed rights and freedoms protected by the Convention (see, in the context of Article 6 of the Convention, García Ruiz v. Spain [GC], no. 30544/96 , § 28, ECHR 1999 ‑ I).
Against this background, the Court notes that the applicant firstly complained that he had been discriminated against in relation to “all unemployed persons registered in the relevant register”. He later submitted statistical data showing that at the time he was refused registration and the related unemployment benefits in March 2015, there had been almost 16,000 persons in Croatia between the age of 60 and 65 registered as unemployed with the Croatian Employment Fund.
In the Court’s view, the above information submitted by the applicant is not sufficient to show that there has been a difference in the treatment of persons in analogous or relevantly similar situations in the present case bearing in mind the specific nature of the applicant’s complaint, that he has been treated differently on the basis of the combination of two separate characteristics, his age and years of service. There is no doubt that there must have been a number of people between the age of 60 and 65 registered as unemployed at the relevant time. However, the data submitted by the applicant do not show that any of those 16,000 persons who were over 60 years of age and had at the material time been registered as unemployed persons had been in a comparable situation to the applicant’s situation in any other respect, and that, in particular, they had a comparable number of years of service. In such circumstances, it cannot be said that the applicant, who bears the burden of proof in this regard (see paragraph 10 above), has shown prima facie that he has been treated differently from other persons in the same or relevantly similar situation to his.
The applicant further sought to compare himself with pensioners who had turned 65 years old and were in receipt of the regular old-age pension. He claimed that, unlike them, he could not become employed part-time and keep receiving his long-term service pension. In this connection, the Court notes that on 1 January 2019 – i.e. some five months after the applicant had turned 65 years old – the relevant law was amended so as to allow long-term service pensioners to work part-time under the same conditions as regular old-age pensioners and continue receiving their pensions. 16 . In determining whether the applicant has been treated differently from other persons in the same or a relevantly similar situation in this regard, the Court observes that, according to the Government, old age pension for long ‑ term service was a privilege afforded to persons with many years of service, allowing them to retire under the same conditions as regular old-age pensioners but before reaching the requisite age of 65. In other words, unlike early retirement, with old-age pension for long-term service there was no reduction of the amount of pension due to the person retiring before the compulsory retirement age of 65. On the contrary, according to domestic law such persons had additional benefits in the calculation of their pensions for each month which they worked after they met the age requirement for acquiring the old-age pension for long-term service.
In the Government’s calculation, which was not contested by the applicant, he had received some EUR 19,800 from the State as old-age pension in the period between March 2015 when he requested the pension, and when he turned 65, whereas unemployment benefits during the same period would have amounted to approximately EUR 12,000. In this connection, the Court cannot speculate as to the amount of salary or pension which the applicant would have been entitled to receive had he found another employment or became self-employed until reaching the pensionable age of 65, since ultimately he chose to retire. The Court can only note that the applicant benefitted from a more favourable calculation of his pension according to the rules on long-term service pensions (see paragraph 16 above).
Moreover, the Court notes that, contrary to what the applicant maintained, he was not forced to retire. As the Government explained, he could have continued to look for new employment, or indeed opened his own law office as he said he had wished to do. However, he could not obtain unemployment benefits during his search for new employment since, as the Government pointed out, given his age and years of service he was no longer considered an unemployed person as the domestic law had provided him with another avenue of ensuring his social benefits in form of the old-age pension for long-term service, which he ultimately benefitted from (compare in this respect also the decision of the Constitutional Court no. U-I-3103/2003 of 13 July 2005, relied on by the Government, in which that court did not consider discriminatory the requirement to remove from the relevant register of unemployed persons those who fulfilled the requirements for an early retirement).
In light of the above, and in particular bearing in mind the State’s wide margin of appreciation in matters concerning general measures of economic or social strategy (see Savickis and Others v. Latvia [GC], no. 49270/11, § 184, 9 June 2022, and the cases cited therein), the Court considers that the applicant has not shown that, compared to unemployed persons registered in the relevant register or pensioners who had turned 65 years old and were in receipt of the regular old-age pension, he had been subject to a difference in treatment with an identifiable group in a relevantly similar situation.
It follows that the application is manifestly ill-founded and it must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 § 4 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously, Declares the application inadmissible. Done in English and notified in writing on 24 October 2024. Dorothee von Arnim Lorraine Schembri Orland Deputy Registrar President