- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 27 ianuarie 2015
- Stat pârât
- ROU
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Sgaibă împotriva României
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamantul, dl Ion Sgaibă, este un cetățen român care s-a născut în 1942 și locuiește în Poiana, districtul administrativ Turburea. Solicitarea sa a fost depusă la 31 ianuarie 2005. Solicitarea reclamantului de autorreprezentare a fost acordată. Guvernul român (“Guvernul”) este reprezentat de agentul lor, dna I. Cambrea, de la Ministerul Afacerilor Externe. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. La 15 aprilie 2003, reclamantul a depus o plângere împotriva Autorității de Pensiuni din Gorj („Autoritatea de Pensiune”), plângându-se cu privire la modul în care pensia sa a fost calculată cu efect începând cu decembrie 2002. El a afirmat că aceaceasta a fost calculată prin înmulțirea nivelului mediu anual al punctelor (punctajul mediu anual) determinat pentru fiecare persoană pensionată de către punctul de pensie (punct de pensie) care a fost stabilit prin decizia guvernamentală.
El s-a bazat pe următoarele două argumente: în primul rând, faptul că nivelul mediu al punctelor utilizate pentru calcularea pensiei sale cu efect în decembrie 2002 a fost scăzut progresiv, deoarece a fost stabilit pentru prima dată la 1 aprilie 2001, și, în al doilea rând, că au existat erori în calculul pensiei sale, ceea ce înseamnă că sumele care au fost plătite efectiv în perioadele din iunie până în decembrie 2001, martie până în decembrie 2002 și martie până în mai 2003 au fost mai mici decât sumele obținute prin multiplicarea celor două cifre relevante împreună, luand chiar valoarea stabilită de Autoritatea de Pensiuni.
El a susținut, de asemenea, că reducerea nivelului mediu anual al punctelor este discriminatoriu, deoarece a afectat numai persoanele care s-au retras între 1 ianuarie 1999 și 31 martie 2001. Într-o hotărâre din 23 mai 2003, Curtea județului Gorj („Curtea județului”) și-a respins plângerea, susținând că, chiar dacă nivelul mediu de punct a fost redus în ianuarie 2003, acest lucru nu a cauzat nicio diferență în ceea ce privește pensia efectivă plătită între decembrie 2002 și ianuarie 2003, și că afirmațiile sale au fost, prin urmare, nefondate. Reclamantul a depus un recurs, argumentând că afirmațiile sale nu au fost examinate în mod corespunzător.
Acesta a susținut că Curtea județului nu și-a considerat afirmația că reducerea nivelului mediu a punctului a fost discriminatorie și nu a răspuns la afirmația sa că pensia care a fost plătită de fapt pentru unele perioade nu a corespuns cu sumele produse prin înmulțirea celor două cifre relevante, chiar și prin luarea în valoarea stabilită de Autoritatea de Pensiuni. În decizia finală din 19 noiembrie 2003, Curtea de Apel Craiova, care a fost comitetul de trei judecători, și anume E.C., D.U. și D.S., a respins recursul reclamantului ca fiind nefondat, susținând că pensia reclamantului a fost calculată prin referință la pensia la care are dreptul la 31 decembrie 2002 și deduce din ea contribuția sa obligatorie la fondul de asigurări de sănătate.
Reclamantul a depus un recurs extraordinar, susținând că instanța de apel nu a examinat toate argumentele sale. Într-o decizie finală din 27 ianuarie 2004, Curtea de Apel Craiova, în calitate de comitet de trei judecători, inclusiv D.S. și D.U., a permis recursul extraordinar. Acesta a susținut că unul dintre argumentele reclamantului cu privire la modul în care a fost calculată drepturile sale de pensie nu au fost examinate în mod corespunzător. Curtea de Apel Craiova a păstrat cazul pentru o proaspătă determinare a recursului obișnuit și a stabilit data pentru prima audiere la 24 februarie 2004. 10. Reexaminarea recursului obișnuit a durat între 24 februarie și 15 iunie 2004. Curtea a organizat mai multe audieri în calitate de comitet de trei judecători, inclusiv D.S.
și D.U. Reclamantul a participat la toate audierile. 11. Într-o hotărâre finală depusă la 15 iunie 2004 și a servit la reclamant la 28 august 2004, instanța de apel a respins apelul reclamantului ca nefondat. Acesta a susținut că pensia reclamantului a fost calculată corect în conformitate cu legea aplicabilă și a declarat că drepturile de pensie ale reclamantului nu au fost afectate după recalcularea nivelului mediu anual al punctelor.
Curtea de apel a remarcat, de asemenea, că reclamantul a introdus o procedură paralelă pentru calculul drepturilor de pensie și, prin urmare, suma pensiei sale a fost deja stabilită printr-o decizie finală a Curții de județ Gorj, pronunțată la 30 mai 2003. 12. Reclamantul a depus un alt recurs extraordinar, susținând că doi dintre judecători care au luat în considerare recursul său nu au fost imparțiale, deoarece au stat în cauză într-o ocazie anterioară, și că noua decizie din 15 iunie 2004 a contrazis decizia finală din 27 ianuarie 2004, care a constatat că există de fapt o discrepanță între pensia care i-a fost plătită de fapt și cea care ar fi rezultat dintr-un calcul adecvat. De asemenea, el se plângea că instanța de apel a respins raportul experților financiari fără a aborda contradicțiile dintre raportul respectiv și noua decizie privind pensia.
13. În decizia finală din 9 noiembrie 2004, instanța de apel a respins recursul extraordinar, susținând că toate motivele de recurs ale reclamantului au fost examinate în mod corespunzător. 14. art. 24 din Codul României privind Procedura Civilă (CCP), astfel cum este în vigoare la momentul material, cu condiția ca un judecător care a decis deja un caz să nu poată sta pe comitetul decizionar același caz în orice nou set de proceduri care urmează anulării unei decizii anterioare. 15. În conformitate cu art. 29 din CCP, părțile la procedură civilă sunt obligate să informeze instanța imediat cu privire la orice fapt care discalifica un judecător să se ocupe de cazul lor. 16. Normele privind schimbarea locului de proces au fost stabilite în articolele 37-40 din CCP.
17. art. 317 din CCP prevede că un recurs extraordinar asupra punctelor de drept împotriva deciziilor finale ale unei instanțe de recurs în cazurile în care recursul a fost hotărât de un judecător disqualificat, sau compoziția instanței era incorectă, este disponibil numai dacă părțile nu ar fi putut invoca aceste motive într-un recurs obișnuit.
1. The applicant, Mr Ion Sgaibă, is a Romanian national who was born in 1942 and lives in Poiana, Turburea administrative district. His application was lodged on 31 January 2005. The applicant’s request for selfrepresentation was granted.
The Romanian Government (“the Government”) are represented by their Agent, Ms I. Cambrea, from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows.
On 15 April 2003 the applicant lodged a complaint against the Gorj County Pension Authority (the “Pension Authority”), complaining about the way in which his pension had been calculated with effect from December 2002. He stated that it had been calculated by multiplying the annual average point level (punctajul mediu anual) determined for each retired person by the pension point (punct de pensie) which had been set by governmental decision. He relied on the following two arguments: firstly that the average point level used for calculating his pension with effect from December 2002 had been progressively lowered since it had first been determined on 1 April 2001, and secondly that there had been errors in the calculation of his pension, meaning that the sums which had actually been paid in the periods from June to December 2001, March to December 2002 and March to May 2003 had been lower than the sums obtained by multiplying the two relevant figures together, even taking the value set by the Pension Authority. He also contended that the lowering of the annual average point level was discriminatory as it only affected people who had retired between 1 January 1999 and 31 March 2001.
In a first-instance judgment of 23 May 2003 the Gorj County Court (“the County Court”) dismissed his complaint, holding that even though the average point level had been lowered in January 2003, this had caused no difference in the actual pension paid between December 2002 and January 2003, and that his claims were therefore ill-founded.
The applicant lodged an appeal, arguing that his claims had not been properly examined. He claimed that the County Court had not considered his allegation that the lowering of the average point level had been discriminatory and had failed to address his allegation that the pension that he had actually been paid for some periods had not corresponded to the sums produced by multiplying the two relevant figures together, even taking the value set by the Pension Authority.
In a final decision of 19 November 2003 the Craiova Court of Appeal, sitting as a panel of three judges, namely E.C., D.U. and D.S., dismissed the applicant’s appeal as ill-founded. It held that the applicant’s pension had been calculated by reference to the pension to which he had been entitled on 31 December 2002 and deducting from it his compulsory contribution to the health insurance fund.
The applicant lodged an extraordinary appeal, contending that the appellate court had failed to examine all his arguments. In a final decision of 27 January 2004, the Craiova Court of Appeal, sitting as a panel of three judges including D.S. and D.U., allowed the extraordinary appeal. It held that one of the applicant’s arguments concerning the way in which his pension rights had been calculated had not been properly examined.
The Craiova Court of Appeal kept the case for a fresh determination of the ordinary appeal and set the date for the first hearing at 24 February 2004.
The re-examination of the ordinary appeal lasted from 24 February to 15 June 2004. The court held several hearings sitting as a panel of three judges, including D.S. and D.U. The applicant attended all the hearings.
In a final decision delivered on 15 June 2004 and served on the applicant on 28 August 2004, the appellate court dismissed the applicant’s appeal as ill-founded. It held that the applicant’s pension had been correctly calculated in accordance with the applicable law. It stated that the applicant’s pension rights had not been affected after the recalculation of the annual average point level. The appellate court also noted that the applicant had brought parallel proceedings for the calculation of his pension rights and the amount of his pension had therefore already been established by a final decision of the Gorj County Court delivered on 30 May 2003.
The applicant lodged another extraordinary appeal, arguing that two of the judges considering his appeal had lacked impartiality, as they had ruled on the case on a previous occasion, and that the new decision of 15 June 2004 had contradicted the final decision of 27 January 2004, which had found that there was in fact a discrepancy between the pension which was actually paid to him and the one that would have resulted from a proper calculation. He also complained that the appellate court had dismissed the financial expert report without addressing the contradictions between that report and the new pension decision.
In a final decision of 9 November 2004 the appellate court dismissed the extraordinary appeal, holding that all of the applicant’s grounds of appeal had been duly examined.
Article 24 of the Romanian Code on Civil Procedure (CCP), as in force at the material time, provided that a judge who had already ruled on a case could not sit on the panel deciding the same case in any new set of proceedings following the quashing of a previous decision.
Under Article 29 of the CCP, parties to civil proceedings are obliged to inform the court immediately of any facts disqualifying a judge from dealing with their case.
The rules concerning a change of trial venue were laid down in Articles 37 to 40 of the CCP.
Article 317 of the CCP provided that an extraordinary appeal on points of law against final decisions of a court of appeal in cases where the appeal had been decided by a disqualified judge, or the court’s composition had been incorrect, was available only if the parties could not have invoked these grounds in an ordinary appeal.