- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 8 octombrie 2015
- Stat pârât
- SVN
- Articole
- Articolul 6
- Concluzia
- Încălcare — Articolul 6
Korošec împotriva Sloveniei
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamantul s-a născut în 1980 și trăiește în Ljubljana. Suferă de atrofie musculară progresivă a spinării și are nevoie de asistență de 24 de ore cu toate activitățile sale zilnice. În 2006, Institutul de Asigurare pentru Pensiuni și Disabili din Republica Slovenia („Institutul”) a acordat reclamantului o alocație de asistență și de asistență (denumită în continuare „alocație”) de 70% din suma de referință. La 28 mai 2009, practicantul general al reclamantului a solicitat o majorare a alocației din cauza afecțiunii agravante ale reclamantului, referindu-se în special la deteriorarea funcțiilor respiratorii ale reclamantului. În cererea, practicantul general a indicat că reclamantul are nevoie de o asistență de 24 de ore de către un membru al familiei sau un asistent de îngrijire, împreună cu asistența profesională permanentă.
În acel moment, reclamantul și-a organizat îngrijirea angajând studenți pentru a-l ajuta în activitățile sale zilnice și pentru a furniza ajutorul necesar. De asemenea, el se baza în mod semnificativ pe ajutorul membrilor familiei sale. La 9 iulie 2009, comisia de invaliditate în primă instanță a Institutului („comisia”) a raportat că reclamantul nu are nevoie de asistență medicală permanentă, profesională. Comisionul a fost compus din F.V., un specialist în medicină internă, și M.F.B., un specialist în medicină ocupațională. Acesta și-a dat avizul pe baza examinării documentelor medicale furnizate de solicitant, în special avizele unui medic de medicină internă, un pulmonologist și un neurolog clinic.
De asemenea, ei au examinat reclamantul. 10. La 20 iulie 2009, unitatea Ljubljana a Institutului, bazată pe avizul comisionului, a respins cererea de majorare a alocației. 11. La 28 iulie 2009, reclamantul a depus un recurs. 12. La 23 septembrie 2009, comisia pentru invaliditatea la al doilea nivel („comisia de al doilea nivel”) a Institutului a examinat dosarul reclamantului și a raportat din nou că nu are nevoie de asistență profesională permanentă și că ar putea fi îngrijit de o combinație de asistenți de îngrijire fără cunoștințe medicale specifice și de membrii familiei sale. Comisia a doua instanție a fost compusă din L.S., specialist în medicină ocupațională, și M. G., un neuropsihiatrist specializat.
13. La 24 septembrie 2009, Institutul, referindu-se la concluziile comisiei de a doua instantă, a respins apelul reclamantului. În plus, Institutul a făcut referire la Decizia din 1998 privind asistența și acordarea de asistență pentru beneficiarii care suferă de un handicap grav (a se vedea punctul 23 de mai jos), potrivit căreia beneficiarii au dreptul la o alocație mai mare numai dacă au nevoie de asistență de 24 de ore de către membrii familiei și de asistență medicală profesională suplimentară. 14. La 22 octombrie 2009, reclamantul a instituit o procedură judiciară împotriva Institutului în fața Curții Ljubljane de Muncire și Socială, solicitând numirea unui expert independent să examineze dosarul său medical.
15. La 30 septembrie 2010, Curtea Ljubljana a auzit mărturia reclamantului și a reexaminat dosarul. Ulterior, aceasta a respins cererea reclamantului. Curtea a respins cererea reclamantului de a aduce contribuția unui expert independent, concluzând că avizele comisioanelor pentru handicap din prima și a doua instanță ale Institutului, împreună cu alte dovezi suficiente pentru a stabili că reclamantul nu are nevoie de asistență profesională.
Partea relevantă a deciziei se citește după cum urmează: „În consecință, instanța acceptă pe deplin avizele comisioanelor pentru handicap din prima și a doua instanță, că [aplicantul] nu a solicitat asistență profesională permanentă, deoarece avizele comisioanelor pentru handicap au fost în conformitate cu celelalte dovezi indicate (solicitarea practicantului general și rapoartele prezentate de specialiști).” 16. La 2 noiembrie 2010, reclamantul a depus un recurs, provocând concluziile instanței că nu are nevoie de asistență profesională și plângând că instanța nu a reușit să numească un expert medical independent. Reclamantul a subliniat faptul că instanța în sine nu are expertiză pentru a evalua pe cont propriu tipul de asistență cu care a fost furnizată și tipul de asistență cu care are nevoie.
17. La 24 ianuarie 2011, Curtea Superioră a Muncii și Sociale a respins recursul reclamantului. Acesta a constatat că instanța de primă instanță și-a bazat decizia pe avizele comisioanelor pentru handicap ale Institutului, compusă de experți capabili să evalueze dacă reclamantul are nevoie de asistență profesională. Partea relevantă a deciziei se citește după cum urmează: „Avocatul este nefondat în afirmarea că [prima instanță] a concluzionat, fără trimitere externă, în ciuda faptului că nu avea cunoștințe medicale, că îngrijirea primită de [aplicantul] a fost adecvată. Curtea și-a bazat hotărârea pe avizele citate anterior ale comisionului pentru handicap care au fost asamblate în sensul procedurii prejudiciale.
[Applicantul] a fost examinat de către comisia de invaliditate în primă instanță; în ceea ce privește avizele lor, ambele comisii au luat în considerare, de asemenea, dosarele medicale prezentate de practicantul său general.” 18. La 9 martie 2011, reclamantul a depus o cerere de concediu pentru recurs în privința punctelor de drept. El, printre altele, a contestat poziția instanțelor inferioare că nu a fost necesar să numească un expert medical independent ca fiind contrar jurisprudenței stabilite a Curții Supreme. Potrivit Curții Supreme, avizele Comisiei pentru handicap ale Institutului nu au putut fi considerate independente în cadrul procedurilor instituite împotriva deciziilor Institutului și, prin urmare, nu ar trebui utilizate ca element de probă în aceste proceduri (a se vedea punctul 29 mai jos).
19. La 17 mai 2011, Curtea Supremă a respins cererea reclamantului, susținând că hotărârile contestate nu s-au depărtat de jurisprudența stabilită. 20. La 28 iulie 2007, reclamantul a depus o plângere constituțională. 21. La 11 iunie 2012, Curtea Constituțională a respins plângerea constituțională a reclamantului cu referire la art. 55.b din Legea Curții Constituționale (a se vedea punctul 30 de mai jos).
5. The applicant was born in 1980 and lives in Ljubljana. 6. He suffers from progressive spinal muscular atrophy and needs twenty-four hour assistance with all his daily activities. 7. In 2006 the Pensions and Disability Insurance Institute of the Republic of Slovenia (“the Institute”) awarded the applicant an assistance and attendance allowance (hereinafter “the allowance”) of 70% of the reference amount. 8. On 28 May 2009 the applicant’s general practitioner applied for an increase in the allowance due to the applicant’s worsening condition, referring in particular to the deterioration of the applicant’s respiratory functions. In the application the general practitioner indicated that the applicant needed twenty-four hour assistance by a family member or a lay care assistant, along with permanent professional assistance.
At that time the applicant organised his care by hiring students to assist him in his daily activities and to provide the necessary aid. He also relied significantly on the assistance of his family members. 9. On 9 July 2009 the first-instance disability commission of the Institute (“the commission”) reported that the applicant did not need permanent, professional, medical assistance. The commission was composed of F.V., an internal medicine specialist, and M.F.B., an occupational medicine specialist. It gave its opinion on the basis of an examination of the medical documentation provided by the applicant, specifically opinions of a doctor of internal medicine, a pulmonologist and a clinical neurologist.
They also examined the applicant. 10. On 20 July 2009, the Ljubljana unit of the Institute, relying on the opinion of the commission, dismissed the request for an increase in the allowance. 11. On 28 July 2009 the applicant lodged an appeal. 12. On 23 September 2009 the second-instance disability commission (“the second-instance commission”) of the Institute examined the applicant’s file and again reported that he did not need permanent professional assistance and that he could be cared for by a combination of care assistants without specific medical knowledge and by members of his family. The second-instance commission was composed of L.S., an occupational medicine specialist, and M. G., a specialist neuropsychiatrist.
13. On 24 September 2009 the Institute, referring to the conclusions of the second-instance commission, dismissed the applicant’s appeal. The Institute further referred to the 1998 Decision on Assistance and Attendance Allowance for Beneficiaries Suffering from a Severe Disability (see paragraph 23 below), according to which beneficiaries were only entitled to a higher allowance if they were in need of twenty-four-hour assistance by family members and further professional medical assistance. 14. On 22 October 2009 the applicant instituted court proceedings against the Institute before the Ljubljana Labour and Social Court, requesting the appointment of an independent expert to examine his medical file.
15. On 30 September 2010 the Ljubljana Labour and Social Court heard the applicant’s testimony and reviewed the case file. Subsequently it dismissed the applicant’s claim. The court rejected the applicant’s request for the input of an independent expert, concluding that the opinions of the first- and second-instance disability commissions of the Institute together with other evidence sufficed to establish that the applicant did not need professional assistance.
The relevant part of the decision read as follows: “The court therefore fully accepts the opinions of the first- and second-instance disability commissions that the [applicant] did not require permanent professional care because the opinions of the disability commissions were in accordance with the other evidence adduced (the general practitioner’s request and the reports submitted by specialists).” 16. On 2 November 2010 the applicant lodged an appeal, challenging the conclusions of the court that he did not need professional assistance, and complaining that the court had failed to appoint an independent medical expert. The applicant highlighted that the court itself lacked the expertise to assess on its own the kind of assistance he was provided with and the kind he needed.
17. On 24 January 2011 the Higher Labour and Social Court dismissed the applicant’s appeal. It found that the first-instance court had based its decision on the opinions of the disability commissions of the Institute which had been composed of experts capable of assessing whether the applicant needed professional assistance. The relevant part of the decision reads as follows: “The appeal is unfounded in claiming that the [first-instance court] had concluded, without outside reference, despite the fact that it had no medical knowledge, that the care received by the [applicant] had been adequate. The court based its decision on the above cited opinions of the disability commission that had been assembled for the purposes of the pre-judicial proceedings.
The [applicant] was examined by the first-instance disability commission; in giving their opinions both commissions also took into consideration the medical records submitted by his general practitioner.” 18. On 9 March 2011 the applicant lodged an application for leave to appeal on points of law. He, inter alia, challenged the position of the lower courts that there had been no need to appoint an independent medical expert as being contrary to the established case-law of the Supreme Court. According to the Supreme Court the opinions of the Institute’s Disability Commissions could not be considered independent in proceedings instituted against the decisions of the Institute and thus should not be used as evidence in these proceedings (see paragraph 29 below).
19. On 17 May 2011 the Supreme Court dismissed the applicant’s application, holding that the challenged decisions had not departed from the established case-law. 20. On 28 July 2007 the applicant lodged a constitutional complaint. 21. On 11 June 2012 the Constitutional Court dismissed the applicant’s constitutional complaint with reference to section 55.b of the Constitutional Court Act (see paragraph 30 below).