- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 15 ianuarie 2026
- Stat pârât
- HRV
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Gržević împotriva Croației
Traducere în română Auto
PRIMEA SECȚIUNE DECIZIE Nr. 47682/21 Nikolina GRŽEVI îi confruntă pe Croația Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (prima secțiune), care a stat la 15 ianuarie 2026 în calitate de comitet compus din: Frédéric Krenc , Președintele Davor Derenčinović , Alain Chablais , judecători și Liv Tigerstedt, grefierul adjunct al secțiunii, având în vedere cererea (nr. 47682/21) împotriva Republicii Croației depusă Curții în temeiul articolului 34 din Convenția pentru protecția drepturilor omului și a libertăților fundamentale („Convenția”) la 17 septembrie 2021 de către o națională croată, dna Nikolina Gržević („reclamantul”), care s-a născut în 1991, locuiește în Pazin și a fost reprezentată de dna M. Helebrant, avocat practicant la Zagreb; hotărârea de a anunța cererea către Guvernul croat („Guvernul”), reprezentată de agentul lor, dna Š. Stažnik; observațiile părților; după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: Cererea se referă la încheierea alocației de invaliditate ale reclamantului din cauza dobânzii bancare plătite pentru compensarea primită pentru rănile suferite într-un accident care rezultă din handicap.
În 2007, la vârsta de 15 ani, reclamantul a suferit o leziune cerebrală traumatizantă într-un accident de mașină. Din moment ce ea a fost sever dezactivată, imobilă și nu poate comunica. Ea depinde pe deplin de părinții ei pentru asistență și îngrijire, și este sub tutela lor. În 2008, prin decizia Centrului Pazin Social Welfare (denumit în continuare „Pazin SWC”), reclamantul a primit dreptul la o alocație pentru handicap personal (osobna invalidnina ) în conformitate cu art. 54 din Legea privind bunăstarea socială, în valoare lunară de 1.250 kunas croate (HRK; aproximativ 166 euro (EUR)). Prin o decontare extrajudiciară cu societatea de asigurări încheiată în 2012, reclamantul a fost plătit suma de aproximativ 2.000.000 de HRK (aproximativ 265.500 EUR) în daune pentru leziunile suferite în accidentul auto.
La 31 decembrie 2012, Pazin SWC a emis o decizie care permite tatălui reclamantului să retragă compensația primită din contul bancar al reclamantului și să-l investească în conturi de depozite pe termen cu trei bănci diferite. Potrivit raportului privind tutorele din 2013 prezentat de tatăl reclamantului în ianuarie 2014, el a investit HRK 1.000.000 (aproximativ EUR) 132.700) în banca P. cu o rată a dobânzii de 4,3% și HRK 450.000 (aproximativ 59.700 EUR) în fiecare bancă Z. și E., ambele cu o rată a dobânzii de 4,5%. În urma promulgării unei noi legi de bunăstare socială, la 25 martie 2014, Pazin SWC a instituit proceduri de ex officio în vederea stabilirii dacă reclamantul îndeplinește încă cerințele pentru alocarea de invaliditate.
S-au obținut o serie de documente, inclusiv documentele medicale care au arătat că sănătatea reclamantului a rămas nemodificată, o scrisoare din Registrul de terenuri care confirmă că nu deține niciun bun și o scrisoare din partea autorităților fiscale care declară că nu avea niciun venit impozabil în 2013. Prin scrisoarea din 2 iulie 2014, Pazin SWC a solicitat Ministerului Politicii Sociale și Tineretului („Ministrul”) dacă dobânda asupra sumelor investite în conturile de depozite de termen în numele reclamantului ar trebui interpretată ca „revenue” în scopul calculului dreptului ei la indemnitatea de invaliditate în temeiul noului lege privind bunăstarea socială. Prin scrisoarea din 24 iulie 2014, Ministerul a răspuns că dobânzile câștigate din economii trebuie considerate „revenue” în sensul Legii privind bunăstarea socială și că daunele plătite de o companie de asigurări sunt considerate „achiziții”.
10. La 14 august 2014, Pazin SWC a solicitat părinților reclamantului să furnizeze informații cu privire la suma exactă a dobânzilor câștigate de reclamant între decembrie 2013 și februarie 2014, subliniind faptul că nu a putut verifica în mod independent aceste sume. 11. Prin scrisoarea din 8 septembrie 2014, avocatul reclamantului a răspuns că reclamantul nu a avut niciun venit în perioada în cauză. Ea a susținut că interpretarea legislației relevante a Ministerului este greșită deoarece nu a avut în vedere o parte din dispoziția Legii privind bunăstarea socială care se referă la legislația fiscală în temeiul căreia nici daunele primite în afara activității economice a unei persoane, nici dobânzile câștigate pe această sumă, nu ar putea fi considerate ca fiind „recetare”.
12. Într-o concluzie din 29 septembrie 2014, Pazin SWC a invitat oficial părinții reclamantului să prezinte informații cu privire la venitul său în ceea ce privește dobânzile câștigate, cu un avertisment că, în cazul în care acestea nu au făcut acest lucru, aceasta ar pune capăt alocației reclamantului pentru invaliditate. 13. În răspuns, avocatul reclamantului a reafirmat faptul că reclamantul nu avea nici un venit, că Pazin SWC deține toate informațiile relevante privind depozitele sale bancare, deoarece au fost supuse aprobării sale, și că Pazin SWC ar putea, de asemenea, solicita informații de la aceste bănci. Avocatul reclamantului a declarat, de asemenea, că familia stă într-un oraș diferit în timp ce reclamantul a fost reabilitat.
Prin decizia din 25 noiembrie 2014, Pazin SWC a încheiat indemnitatea de invaliditate a reclamantului la 17 octombrie 2014, declarând că reclamantul a primit „ venit” sub formă de dobânzi bancare și că părinții ei nu au prezentat informații relevante pentru calculul dreptului ei la indemnitatea de invaliditate în conformitate cu art. 107 alineatul (1) din Legea privind bunăstarea socială. Decizia Pazin SWC a fost susținută în apel de către Ministerul Demografiei, Familiei, Tineretului și Politică Socială la 8 februarie 2017. Reclamantul a depus ulterior o acțiune de reexaminare judiciară, susținând că încheierea indemnității de invaliditate a fost ilegală și discriminatorie deoarece interesul pe care l-a primit nu a fost interpretat ca „venit” în sensul Legii privind bunăstarea socială.
Printre altele, ea s-a bazat, de asemenea, pe instrucțiunile generale ale Ministerului din ianuarie 2015, care a clarificat modul în care venitul va fi calculat în temeiul Legii privind bunăstarea socială și a afirmat că daunele care nu erau legate de o activitate economică nu au fost considerate „ venituri”. La 1 februarie 2019, Curtea Administrativă de Zagreb a respins acțiunea reclamantului, după ce a constatat că decizia Pazin SWC care a încheiat indemnitatea de invaliditate a fost legală, având în vedere faptul că reclamantul nu a prezentat informații referitoare la suma de dobânzi pe care a fost plătită. Avocatul depus împotriva acestei hotărâri a fost, de asemenea, respins de Curtea Administrativă Înaltă din 2 iunie 2020 din motive similare.
18. Reclamantul a depus apoi o plângere constituțională plângând, printre altele , de discriminare pe baza handicapului ei și a încălcării drepturilor ei de proprietate și a dreptului ei la un proces echitabil. Plânsul ei a fost declarat inadmisibil, vădit nefondat de Curtea Constituțională la 24 februarie 2021. Decizia a fost acordată avocatului reclamantului la 18 martie 2021. 19. Între timp, în 2015 mama reclamantului a fost acordată statutul de îngrijitor părinte ( roditelj njegovatelj ) și a devenit dreptul la o alocație lunară de HRK 2.500 (332) EUR și, începând cu 29 iunie 2022, HRK 4.000 (531) EUR pe lună. În 2021, reclamantul a primit, de asemenea, dreptul la o alocație pentru cumpărătorii vulnerabili de energie.
La 12 ianuarie 2021, după intrarea în vigoare a unui nou lege privind bunăstarea socială, reclamantul a primit din nou alocația pentru handicap personal începând cu 14 octombrie 2020. 21. Considerând art. 14 din Convenția și art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 din aceasta, reclamantul s-a plâns de o presupusă discriminare provocată de încetarea necorespunzătoare a alocației sale de invaliditate. De asemenea, în temeiul art. 6 din Convenție, s-a plâns de nedreptatea procedurii administrative în cazul ei.
EVALUAREA TRIBUNALULUI 22. Curtea a rezumat principiile generale aplicabile plângerilor în temeiul articolului 14 din Convenție, coroborat cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 în Guberina c. Croația (n. 23682/13, §§ 67-74, 22 martie 2016). În special, a subliniat faptul că statul, în general, a fost autorizată o marjă largă în temeiul Convenției în ceea ce privește măsurile generale de strategie economică sau socială (a se vedea Hämäläinen c. Finlanda [GC], nr. 37359/09, § 109, CEDH 2014). În ceea ce privește art. 6, Curtea reiterează că nu ar trebui să acționeze ca instanță de a patra instanță și, prin urmare, nu va pune în întrebări în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 hotărârea instanțelor naționale, cu excepția cazului în care constatările lor pot fi considerate arbitrare sau manifestement irezonabile (a se vedea Bochan c. Ucraina (n. 2) [GC], nr. 22251/08, § 61, CEDO 2015). În această privință, Curtea observă că o decizie judiciară internă nu poate fi calificată drept arbitrară în ceea ce privește prejudiciul justiției, cu excepția cazului în care nu sunt furnizate motive pentru aceasta sau dacă motivele furnizate se bazează pe o eroare manifestă de fapt sau juridică comisă de instanța internă, care rezultă într-o „denie de justiție” (a se vedea Moreira Ferreira c. Portugalia (n. 2) [GC], nr. 19867/12, § 85, 11 iulie 2017),
adică o greșeală atât de „evidențială” încât nici o instanță rezonabilă nu ar fi putut ajunge vreodată (a se vedea Bochan, citat mai sus, § 62). 24. În acest caz, principala plângere a reclamantului se referă la faptul că ar fi trebuit să fie tratată diferit de alții din cauza handicapului ei și a circumstanțelor specifice ale cauzei sale. În special, ea susține că dobânzile pe care le-a acumulat pentru suma primită ca compensație pentru rănile sale în accidentul auto nu ar fi trebuit să fie interpretate ca „revenu” care duce la terminarea alocației sale personale de invaliditate, și nu ar fi trebuit să fi fost obligată să dovedească suma primită în dobânzi. 25. Curtea constată, la început, că legislația în cauză se referă la certificate de invaliditate și a fost aplicată pentru a stabili dacă o persoană cu handicap îndeplinește sau nu cerințele juridice pentru obținerea unei astfel de alocații.
În conformitate cu art. 54 din Legea privind bunăstarea socială, atunci în vigoare, una dintre cerințele în momentul respectiv a fost absența oricărui „recent” în sensul acesteia. 26. Curtea constată, de asemenea, că, înainte de a hotărî cazul său, organismul administrativ competent a întrebat cu Ministerul relevant în ceea ce privește calificarea interesului pe care îl avea reclamantul în legătură cu economiile sale (a se vedea punctul 8 mai sus). Odată ce Ministerul l-a informat că acest interes va fi considerat „revenu” în sensul Legii privind bunăstarea socială, Pazin SWC a invitat părinții reclamantului de mai multe ori să dezvăluie cantitatea de dobânzi primite, ceea ce au refuzat să facă.
Prin urmare, nu se poate spune că autoritățile naționale competente nu au recunoscut specificitatea de fapt a situației reclamantului sau că nu au reușit s-o trateze diferit de alte persoane din cauza handicapului ei (contrast Guberina , citat mai sus, § 86). 27. În plus, în timp ce reclamantul a susținut că instrucțiunile din 2015 emise de Ministerul șase luni mai târziu au fost contradictorii cu cea eliberată în cazul ei, Curtea constată că nu este sarcina sa de a pune la îndoială interpretarea sau aplicarea dreptului intern (a se vedea punctul 23 de mai sus). După ce Pazin SWC nu a primit niciun răspuns din partea părinților reclamantului cu privire la valoarea dobânzii percepute, acesta a încheiat indemnitatea de invaliditate a reclamantului pentru că a primit „recenti” dar nu a demonstrat suma (a se vedea punctul 14 de mai sus).
Această decizie a fost susținută ulterior de Ministerul relevant și de două instanțe administrative, în hotărâri care nu erau nici arbitrare, nici în mod evident irazonabil. Nici unul dintre aceste autorități nu pare să fi găsit instrucțiunile Ministerului 2015, care au tratat explicit daune, dar au rămas tăcuți în privința problemei de interes (a se vedea punctul 16 de mai sus), relevant pentru circumstanțele sau contrar concluziei Pazin SWC în cazul reclamantului. 28. În sfârșit, Curtea nu poate decât să rețină că, începând din 2020 și intrarea în vigoare a noului lege privind bunăstarea socială, alocația pentru handicapul personal nu mai este condiționată pe venitul beneficiarului (a se vedea punctul 20 de mai sus), ceea ce a determinat reclamantul să poată revendica din nou cu succes beneficiul respectiv și trebuie să fi atenuat orice nedreptate percepută în cazul său.
29. În concluzie, având în vedere tot materialul în posesia sa, Curtea constată că acestea nu dezvăluie nici o viziune a încălcării drepturilor și libertăților prevăzute în Convenția sau în Protocolurile sale. 30. În consecință, cererea este vădit nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ § a) și 4 din Convenție. Din aceste motive, Curtea, în unanimitate, Declară cererea inadmisibilă. Eliberată în limba engleză și notificată în scris la 5 februarie 2026. Liv Tigerstedt Frédéric Krenc Președintele adjunct al grefierului
FIRST SECTION
DECISION Application no. 47682/21 Nikolina GRŽEVIĆ against Croatia The European Court of Human Rights (First Section), sitting on 15 January 2026 as a Committee composed of: Frédéric Krenc , President , Davor Derenčinović, Alain Chablais , judges , and Liv Tigerstedt, Deputy Section Registrar, Having regard to: the application (no. 47682/21) against the Republic of Croatia lodged with the Court under Article 34 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (“the Convention”) on 17 September 2021 by a Croatian national, Ms Nikolina Gržević (“the applicant”), who was born in 1991, lives in Pazin and was represented by Ms M. Helebrant, lawyer practising in Zagreb; the decision to give notice of the application to the Croatian Government (“the Government”), represented by their Agent, Ms Š. Stažnik; the parties’ observations; Having deliberated, decides as follows:
SUBJECT MATTER OF THE CASE
1. The application concerns the termination of the applicant’s disability allowance on account of bank interest paid to her on the compensation received for the injuries sustained in an accident resulting in disability. 2 . In 2007, at the age of 15, the applicant suffered a traumatic brain injury in a car accident. Ever since she has been severely disabled, immobile and unable to communicate. She is fully dependent on her parents for assistance and care, and is under their guardianship.
In 2008, by a decision of the Pazin Social Welfare Centre (hereinafter “the Pazin SWC”), the applicant was granted the right to a personal disability allowance ( osobna invalidnina ) in accordance with section 54 of the Social Welfare Act, in the monthly amount of 1,250 Croatian kunas (HRK; approximately 166 euros (EUR)).
By an out-of-court settlement with the insurance company concluded in 2012, the applicant was paid the amount of around HRK 2,000,000 (approximately EUR 265,500) in damages for the injuries sustained in the car accident. 5 . On 31 December 2012 the Pazin SWC issued a decision allowing the applicant’s father to withdraw the compensation received from the applicant’s bank account and to invest it in term deposit accounts with three different banks. 6 . According to the 2013 guardianship report submitted by the applicant’s father in January 2014, he invested HRK 1,000,000 (approximately EUR 132,700) in the bank P. with an interest rate of 4.3%, and HRK 450,000 (approximately EUR 59,700) in each of the banks Z. and E., both with an interest rate of 4.5%.
Following the enactment of a new Social Welfare Act, on 25 March 2014 the Pazin SWC instituted ex officio proceedings with a view to establishing whether the applicant still fulfilled the requirements for the disability allowance. A number of documents were obtained, including medical documentation which showed that the applicant’s health remained unchanged, a letter from the Land Registry confirming that she did not own any property and a letter from the tax authorities stating that she had not had any taxable income in 2013. 8 . By a letter dated 2 July 2014, the Pazin SWC enquired with the Ministry of Social Policy and Youth (“the Ministry”) whether the interest on the sums invested in the term deposit accounts in the applicant’s name were to be interpreted as “income” for the purposes of the calculation of her entitlement to the disability allowance under the new Social Welfare Act. 9 . By a letter dated 24 July 2014, the Ministry replied that interest earned from savings were to be considered “income” within the meaning of the Social Welfare Act, and that the damages paid by an insurance company were considered “assets”.
On 14 August 2014 the Pazin SWC asked the applicant’s parents to provide information on the exact amount of interest earned by the applicant between December 2013 and February 2014, stressing that it was not able to independently verify those amounts.
By a letter dated 8 September 2014, the applicant’s lawyer replied that the applicant had not had any income in the period in question. She submitted that the Ministry’s interpretation of the relevant legislation was wrong because it had disregarded part of the Social Welfare Act provision that referred to the tax legislation under which neither the damages received outside of an individual’s economic activity, nor interest earned on that amount, could be regarded as “income”.
In a conclusion dated 29 September 2014, the Pazin SWC formally invited the applicant’s parents to submit information on her income in relation to the interest earned, with a warning that should they fail to do so, it would terminate the applicant’s disability allowance.
In reply, the applicant’s lawyer reaffirmed that the applicant had not had any income, that the Pazin SWC possessed all the relevant information on her bank deposits, since they had been subject to its approval, and that the Pazin SWC could also request information from those banks. The applicant’s lawyer also stated that the family was staying in a different town while the applicant underwent rehabilitation. 14 . By a decision of 25 November 2014, the Pazin SWC terminated the applicant’s disability allowance as of 17 October 2014, stating that the applicant had received “income” in the form of bank interest and that her parents had failed to submit information relevant for the calculation of her entitlement to the disability allowance in accordance with section 107(1) of the Social Welfare Act. 15 . The Pazin SWC’s decision was upheld on appeal by the Ministry of Demography, Family, Youth and Social Politics on 8 February 2017. 16 . The applicant subsequently lodged an action for judicial review, arguing that the termination of her disability allowance had been unlawful and discriminatory because the interest she had received was not to be interpreted as “income” within the meaning of the Social Welfare Act. Among other things, she also relied on the Ministry’s general instruction from January 2015 which clarified the manner in which income was to be calculated under the Social Welfare Act and stating damages which were not linked to an economic activity were not considered “income”. 17 . On 1 February 2019 the Zagreb Administrative Court dismissed the applicant’s action, having found that the Pazin SWC’s decision terminating her disability allowance had been lawful, given the applicant’s failure to submit information relating to the amount of interest she had been paid. The appeal lodged by the applicant against that judgment was also dismissed by the High Administrative Court on 2 June 2020 for similar reasons.
The applicant then lodged a constitutional complaint complaining, inter alia , of discrimination on the basis of her disability and of a violation of her property rights and her right to a fair trial. Her complaint was declared inadmissible as manifestly ill-founded by the Constitutional Court on 24 February 2021. The decision was served on the applicant’s lawyer on 18 March 2021.
Meanwhile, in 2015 the applicant’s mother was granted the status of a parent carer ( roditelj njegovatelj ) and became entitled to a monthly allowance of HRK 2,500 (EUR 332) and, as of 29 June 2022, HRK 4,000 (EUR 531) per month. In 2021 the applicant was also granted the right to an allowance for vulnerable energy buyers. 20 . On 12 January 2021, after the entry into force of a new Social Welfare Act, the applicant was again granted the personal disability allowance starting from 14 October 2020.
Relying on Article 14 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 thereto, the applicant complained of alleged discrimination occasioned by the unfair termination of her disability allowance. She also complained under Article 6 of the Convention, about the unfairness of the administrative proceedings in her case.
THE COURT’S ASSESSMENT
22. The Court has summarised the general principles applicable to complaints under Article 14 of the Convention in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 thereto in Guberina v. Croatia (no. 23682/13, §§ 67-74, 22 March 2016). In particular, it stressed that a wide margin was usually allowed to the State under the Convention when it comes to general measures of economic or social strategy (see Hämäläinen v. Finland [GC], no. 37359/09, § 109, ECHR 2014). 23 . As regards Article 6, the Court reiterates that it should not act as a court of fourth instance and will not therefore question under Article 6 § 1 the judgment of the national courts, unless their findings can be regarded as arbitrary or manifestly unreasonable (see Bochan v. Ukraine (no. 2) [GC], no. 22251/08, § 61, ECHR 2015). In that connection the Court observes that a domestic judicial decision cannot be qualified as arbitrary to the point of prejudicing the fairness of proceedings unless no reasons are provided for it or if the reasons given are based on a manifest factual or legal error committed by the domestic court, resulting in a “denial of justice” (see Moreira Ferreira v. Portugal (no. 2) [GC], no. 19867/12, § 85, 11 July 2017), that is, an error so “evident” that no reasonable court could ever have made it (see Bochan , cited above, § 62).
In the present case, the applicant’s main complaint relates to the fact that she should have been treated differently from others on account of her disability and the specific circumstances of her case. In particular, she argued that the interest she had accrued on the amount received as compensation for her injuries in the car accident should not have been interpreted as “income” leading to the termination of her personal disability allowance, nor should she have been forced to prove the amount received in interest.
The Court notes at the outset that the legislation in question concerned disability allowances and was applied to determine whether or not a person with disabilities fulfilled the legal requirements to obtain such an allowance. According to section 54 of the Social Welfare Act then in force, one of the requirements at the relevant time was the absence of any “income” within the meaning of that Act.
The Court further notes that, prior to deciding her case, the competent administrative body inquired with the relevant Ministry as to the qualification of the interest the applicant had received on her savings (see paragraph 8 above). Once the Ministry had informed it that such interest was to be considered “income” within the meaning of the Social Welfare Act, the Pazin SWC invited the applicant’s parents several times to disclose the amount of interest received, which they refused to do. It can thus not be said that the competent domestic authorities had failed to recognise the factual specificity of the applicant’s situation or that they had failed to treat her differently from other persons on account of her disability (contrast Guberina , cited above, § 86).
Furthermore, while the applicant argued that the 2015 instruction by the Ministry issued six months later had been contradictory to the one issued in her case, the Court notes that it is not its task to question the interpretation or the application of the domestic law (see paragraph 23 above). Once the Pazin SWC received no reply from the applicant’s parents concerning the amount of the interest perceived, it terminated the applicant’s disability allowance because she had received “income” but failed to prove its amount (see paragraph 14 above). This decision was subsequently upheld by the relevant Ministry and by two instances of administrative courts, in judgments which were neither arbitrary nor manifestly unreasonable. None of those authorities appears to have found the 2015 Ministry instruction, which explicitly dealt with damages but remained silent on the issue of interest (see paragraph 16 above), relevant to the circumstances or contrary to the Pazin SWC’s conclusion in the applicant’s case.
Finally, the Court cannot but note that as of 2020 and the entry into force of the new Social Welfare Act, personal disability allowance is no longer conditioned on the beneficiary’s income (see paragraph 20 above), which resulted in the applicant being able to again successfully claim that benefit and must have mitigated any perceived injustice in her case.
In conclusion, in the light of all the material in its possession, the Court finds that they do not disclose any appearance of a violation of the rights and freedoms set out in the Convention or its Protocols.
Accordingly, the application is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 (a) and 4 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously, Declares the application inadmissible. Done in English and notified in writing on 5 February 2026. Liv Tigerstedt Frédéric Krenc Deputy Registrar President