- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 15 ianuarie 2026
- Stat pârât
- HRV
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Jelušić împotriva Croației
Traducere în română Auto
PRIMEA DECIZIE A SECȚIUNEI Cerere nr. 59726/21 Zdenka JELUŠIδ împotriva Croației Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (prima secțiune), ședința la 15 ianuarie 2026 în calitate de comitet compus din: Frédéric Krenc , Președintele Davor Derenčinović , Alain Chablais , judecători și Liv Tigerstedt, grefierul adjunct al secțiunii, având în vedere cererea (nu). 59726/21, împotriva Republicii Croației depusă Curții în temeiul art. 34 din Convenția pentru protecția drepturilor omului și a libertăților fundamentale („Convenția”) la 1 decembrie 2021 de către un național croat, dna Zdenka Jelušić, care s-a născut în 1942, locuiește în Kraljevica și a fost reprezentat de dl S. Jelušić, avocat practicant în Rijeka; hotărârea de a anunța cererea către Guvernul croat („ Guvernul”), reprezentată de agentul lor, dna Š. Stažnik; observațiile părților; după ce a deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: roditelj njegovatelj ) al fiului ei handicapat.
În 1998 reclamantul s-a retras devreme pentru a avea grijă de fiul ei, care a devenit tetraplegic ca urmare a unui accident de trafic în 1994. A primit o pensie în valoare de 2.900 kunas croate (HRK; aproximativ 380 euro (EUR)). În noiembrie 2013, reclamantul a solicitat să primească statutul de părinte în temeiul dispozițiilor Legii privind bunăstarea socială. În urma cererii sale, a fost invitată la Centrul Rijeka pentru Protecția Socială, unde a semnat procesul-verbal al acestei ședințe, declarând că a fost familiarizată cu legislația relevantă care reglementează statutul de părinte și cu consecințele acesteia. În special, declarația semnată citește în mod expres că, în cazul în care reclamantul li se acordă statutul de părinte, deoarece se referă la un drept cu elemente de ocupare a forței de muncă, plata pensiei sale va trebui întreruptă.
La 8 septembrie 2014 a fost recunoscută ca îngrijitoare părinte cu timp integral a fiului său, cu dreptul de a primi HRK 2.500 (aproximativ 330), precum și pensie, sănătate și asigurare de șomaj similare celor ale unei persoane angajate în conformitate cu reglementările speciale. În consecință, la 24 octombrie 2014, autoritatea competentă a încetat să plătească reclamantului pensia de vârstă, deoarece a obținut statutul de îngrijitor părinte fiului său și a devenit astfel asigurată în mod similar cu o persoană angajată din aceste motive. Prin apelul reclamantului, autoritatea de a doua instanță a explicat că, având în vedere că a beneficiat de asigurarea socială obligatorie în calitate de îngrijitor părinte, în conformitate cu art. 99 din Legea privind asigurările de pensii, plățile sale de pensie trebuie întrerupte atâta timp cât rămâne asigurată pentru alte motive.
În cadrul procedurii administrative ulterioare, Curtea Administrativă Rijeka a anulat decizia privind întreruperea pensiei, susținând că a fost inacceptabil pentru un individ care a asistat la timp integral unei persoane cu handicap, înlocuind astfel obligația constituțională a statului de a se îngriji de persoane cu handicap, să piardă un drept recunoscut anterior de a primi o pensie și, în cele din urmă, să primească o sumă mai mică de venit. Această hotărâre a fost anulată în apel de către Curtea Alta Administrativă prin o hotărâre din 19 iulie 2017, care a remarcat că obligația constituțională a statului de a proteja persoanele cu handicap este legată de fiul reclamantului și nu de reclamant.
Prin urmare, nu se poate spune că recunoașterea statutului de îngrijitor parent al reclamantului ar fi putut încălca drepturile constituționale ale fiului său. În plus, Curtea Administrativă a subliniat faptul că reclamantul nu a fost privat de dreptul ei la primirea unei pensii, ci că plata acestei pensii a fost pur și simplu întreruptă în timp ce ea a fost asigurată pe un alt motiv în conformitate cu legislația internă. La 28 octombrie 2021, Curtea Constituțională a respins plângerea reclamantului constatând că ingerința în drepturile sale de proprietate a fost proporțională din cauza statului de drept, a certitudinii juridice, a dreptului statului de a-și proteja interesele proprietăților și a principiului bunei guvernanțe, care implică încheierea plății unei drepturi după ce persoana a devenit îndreptată spre altul.
Acesta a respins, de asemenea, plângerea de discriminare a reclamantului pentru faptul că nu scapă de remedii eficace. Între timp, în 2017 statutul de părinte al reclamantului a fost încheiat la cererea ei și plățile sale de pensie reînceput fără întârziere. 10. Reclamantul s-a plâns, în conformitate cu art. 6 din Convenție și cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 al acestuia, despre nedreptatea procedurii administrative și a încălcării drepturilor sale de proprietate. De asemenea, în temeiul articolului 14 din Convenție, s-a plâns că a fost discriminată pe baza handicapului fiului său.
Prezenta încălcare a articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenția 11. Principiile generale aplicabile plângerilor în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție în ceea ce privește pensiile au fost rezumate în Moskal c. Polonia (n. 10373/05, §§ 49-52, 15 septembrie 2009). În special, principiul „bună guvernanță” necesită ca, în cazul în care este în joc o chestiune în interes general, autoritățile publice să acționeze în timp util, în mod adecvat și cu o consecvență maximă (a se vedea Beyeler v. Italia [GC], nr. 33202/96, § 120, ECHR 2000-I, și Megadat.com S.r.l. v. Moldova , nr. 21151/04, § 12. Părțile au convenit că hotărârea Curții Administrative Înalte din 19 iulie 2017, care a întrerupt plățile pensiei reclamantului, a constituit o interferență cu bunurile sale în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție.
13. Această interferență s-a bazat pe lege, și anume art. 14 alineatul (3) din Legea privind asigurările de pensii, care prevede că o persoană care a fost acordată statutul de părinte-curator este asigurată în mod obligatoriu în temeiul schemei de asigurări sociale, iar art. 99 alineatul (1) din aceeași Lege, care prevede ca plata unei pensii să fie întreruptă pentru o persoană care devine angajată sau începe să desfășoare o activitate pe baza cărora existau asigurări sociale obligatorii.
14. Curtea acceptă, de asemenea, că ingerința în drepturile de proprietate ale reclamantului a urmărit un obiectiv legitim depus de Guvern, și anume protecția poșetei publice (comparatul Moskal , citat mai sus, § 63). 15. În ceea ce privește dacă o interferență cu bucuria pașnică a bunurilor în acest caz a determinat un echilibru echitabil între cererile interesului general al publicului și cerințele de protecție a drepturilor reclamantului, Curtea constată că, în temeiul dreptului intern, îngrijitorii-mamă au dreptul la o alocație, la pensii și asigurări de sănătate și drepturi de șomaj ca persoană angajată în temeiul reglementărilor speciale (art. 67 alineatul (1) din Legea privind bunăstarea socială).
Deși, după cum a explicat guvernul, acest lucru nu implică în niciun fel o relație tradițională de ocupare a forței de muncă, ministerul competent a înregistrat totuși începutul și sfârșitul statutului de asigurare al fiecărui îngrijitor și a plătit contribuțiile lor obligatorii de asigurare similare cu cele ale persoanelor angajate. În plus, perioada în cauză a fost inclusă în serviciul pensionabil al persoanei care au statutul de părinte și au constituit baza calculului pensiei lor de vârstă. În consecință, și contrar poziției reclamantului, în temeiul dreptului intern, nu a fost posibilă primirea în același timp alocației ca îngrijitor de părinte și a unei pensii. În plus, după cum arată Guvernul, ar apărea că există o jurisprudență consecventă a autorităților administrative în favoarea unei astfel de interpretații.
16. Este adevărat că alocația reclamantului avea dreptul de a fi îngrijitor părinte a fost ușor mai mică decât suma pensiei sale de vârstă în vârstă (aproximativ 50 EUR pe lună). Cu toate acestea, Curtea nu poate decât să constate că reclamantul a optat pentru o astfel de situație cu o cunoaștere deplină a consecințelor pe care le-ar avea asupra plății pensiei sale, din care ea a fost informată anterior de către Centrul de Protecție Socială (a se vedea punctul 3 de mai sus). În plus, în orice moment, ea ar putea opta să-și pună capăt statutului de îngrijitor și să își reîntoarcă plățile de pensie, pe care le-a făcut în cele din urmă (a se vedea punctul 9 de mai sus).
Este de asemenea important ca plata pensiei săi să fie reluată imediat după terminarea statutului de părinte și nu a fost lăsată niciodată fără nicio sursă de venit (contrast Moskal , citat mai sus, § 74). 17. În sfârșit, Curtea nu poate decât să noteze că începând din iulie 2025 și intrarea în vigoare a noului lege privind asigurările de pensii, plata pensiei nu mai este întreruptă pentru o persoană care a fost acordată statutul de îngrijitor părinte, care trebuie să atenueze orice nedreptate percepută în lege în momentul faptelor prezentului caz. 18. Având în vedere cele de mai sus, Curtea consideră că ingerința în drepturile de proprietate ale reclamantului nu a fost disproporționată și nu se poate spune că a suferit o sarcină individuală excesivă în aceste circumstanțe.
19. Rezultă că această plângere este evident nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ § a) și 4 din convenție. În conformitate cu art. 6 din Convenție, reclamantul s-a plâns în principal cu privire la interpretarea greșită a dreptului intern de către instanțe naționale.
21. Cu toate acestea, Curtea nu ar trebui să acționeze ca instanță de a patra instanță și, prin urmare, nu va contesta în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 hotărârea instanțelor naționale, cu excepția cazului în care concluziile lor pot fi considerate arbitrare sau, în mod manifest, irazonabile (a se vedea Bochan c. Ucraina) (no. 2) [GC], nr. 22251/08, § 61, CEDH 2015). O decizie judiciară internă nu poate fi calificată ca arbitrară la punctul de prejudecare a echitatei procedurilor, cu excepția cazului în care nu sunt prevăzute motive pentru aceasta sau dacă motivele furnizate se bazează pe o eroare de fapt sau juridică manifestă comisă de instanța internă, care rezultă într-o „denie de justiție” (a se vedea Moreira Ferreira c. Portugalia (n. 2) [GC], nr. 19867/12, § 85, 11 iulie 2017), adică, o greșeală atât de „evidențială” încât nici o instanță rezonabilă nu ar fi putut ajunge vreodată (a se vedea Bochan , citat mai sus, § 62). 22. Curtea remarcă că cauza reclamantului a fost examinată cu atenție în fața a două organe administrative și ulterior de două instanțe judiciare, urmate de o reexaminare a Curții Constituționale.
În circumstanțe, Curtea este convinsă că Tribunalul Înalt Administrativ în hotărârea sa din 19 Iulie 2017 a dat motive convingătoare pentru hotărârea sa, pe care Curtea nu le consideră arbitrară sau manifestement irazonabilă. Rezultă că această plângere este manifestament nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ §§ a) și 4 din Convenție. 23. În sfârșit, în ceea ce privește plângerea de discriminare a reclamantului, Curtea este de acord cu Guvernul că reclamantul nu s-ar fi plâns de discriminare în cadrul procedurii administrative impugnate, nici nu a interzis o acțiune în conformitate cu dispozițiile Legii privind prevenirea discriminării, care ar fi reprezentat un remediu eficace care ar fi fost epuizat în cazul ei (a se vedea De asemenea, remarcă că această parte a plângerii sale constituționale a fost respinsă din aceleași motive (a se vedea punctul 8 de mai sus).
În consecință, plângerea ei privind discriminarea trebuie respinsă în temeiul art. 35 §§ 1 și 4 din Convenție pentru neepuizare a recursurilor interne. Din aceste motive, Curtea, în unanimitate, declarații cererea este inadmisibilă. Adoptată în limba engleză și notificată în scris la 5 februarie 2026. Liv Tigerstedt Frédéric Krenc Președintele adjunct al grefierului
FIRST SECTION
DECISION Application no. 59726/21 Zdenka JELUŠIĆ against Croatia The European Court of Human Rights (First Section), sitting on 15 January 2026 as a Committee composed of: Frédéric Krenc , President , Davor Derenčinović, Alain Chablais , judges , and Liv Tigerstedt, Deputy Section Registrar, Having regard to: the application (no. 59726/21) against the Republic of Croatia lodged with the Court under Article 34 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (“the Convention”) on 1 December 2021 by a Croatian national, Ms Zdenka Jelušić (“the applicant”), who was born in 1942, lives in Kraljevica and was represented by Mr S. Jelušić, a lawyer practising in Rijeka; the decision to give notice of the application to the Croatian Government (“the Government”), represented by their Agent, Mrs Š. Stažnik; the parties’ observations; Having deliberated, decides as follows:
SUBJECT MATTER OF THE CASE
1. The application concerns the discontinuation of the applicant’s old-age pension on account of the fact that she had acquired the status of a full-time parent carer ( roditelj njegovatelj ) of her disabled son.
In 1998 the applicant retired early in order to take care of her son, who had become tetraplegic as a result of a traffic accident in 1994. She was awarded a pension in the amount of 2,900 Croatian kunas (HRK; approximately 380 euros (EUR)). 3 . In November 2013 the applicant requested to be granted parent-carer status under the provisions of the Social Welfare Act. Following her request, she was invited to the Rijeka Social Welfare Centre where she signed the minutes of that meeting stating that she had been acquainted with the relevant legislation governing the parent-carer status and the consequences thereof. In particular, the signed statement expressly reads that, should the applicant be granted parent-carer status, since it concerns a right with elements of employment, the payment of her pension will have to be discontinued.
On 8 September 2014 she was recognised as a full-time parent carer of her son, entitled to receive HRK 2,500 (approximately EUR 330), as well as pension, health and unemployment insurance akin to those of an employed person in accordance with special regulations.
Consequently, on 24 October 2014 the competent authority discontinued paying the applicant her old-age pension because she had obtained the status of parent carer to her son and had thus become insured similarly to an employed person on those grounds. Upon appeal by the applicant, the second-instance authority explained that since she had benefitted from compulsory social insurance as a parent carer, according to section 99 of the Pension Insurance Act, her pension payments had to be discontinued as long as she remained insured on other grounds.
In subsequent administrative proceedings, the Rijeka Administrative Court quashed the decision on the discontinuation of the pension, holding that it was unacceptable for an individual who took on full-time care of a disabled person, thus replacing the State’s constitutional obligation to care for the disabled, to lose a previously recognised right to receive a pension and ultimately receive a lower amount of income.
That judgment was quashed on appeal by the High Administrative Court by a judgment of 19 July 2017, which noted that the State’s constitutional obligation to protect disabled persons was related to the applicant’s son and not to the applicant. It could thus not be said that the recognition of the applicant’s status of parent carer could have violated her son’s constitutional rights. The High Administrative Court also stressed that the applicant was not deprived of her right to receive a pension, but that the payment of that pension had simply been discontinued while she was insured on another ground in accordance with the domestic legislation. 8 . On 28 October 2021 the Constitutional Court dismissed the applicant’s complaint finding that the interference with her property rights had been proportionate on account of the rule of law, legal certainty, the State’s right to protect its property interests and the good governance principle, which involved terminating the payment of one right once the person had become entitled to another one. It also dismissed the applicant’s discrimination complaint for failure to exhaust effective remedies. 9 . Meanwhile, in 2017 the applicant’s parent-carer status was terminated at her request and her pension payments resumed without delay.
The applicant complained, under Article 6 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 thereto, about the unfairness of the administrative proceedings and the violation of her property rights. She also complained under Article 14 of the Convention that she had been discriminated against on the basis of her son’s disability.
THE COURT’S ASSESSMENT
Alleged violation of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention
The general principles applicable to complaints under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention as regards pensions have been summarised in Moskal v. Poland (no. 10373/05, §§ 49-52, 15 September 2009). In particular, the principle of “good governance” requires that where an issue in the general interest is at stake it is incumbent on the public authorities to act in good time, in an appropriate manner and with utmost consistency (see Beyeler v. Italy [GC], no. 33202/96, § 120, ECHR 2000-I, and Megadat.com S.r.l. v. Moldova , no. 21151/04, § 72, 8 April 2008).
The parties agreed that the judgment of the High Administrative Court of 19 July 2017, which discontinued the payments of the applicant’s pension, amounted to an interference with her possessions within the meaning of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention.
That interference was based on law, namely section 14(3) of the Pension Insurance Act which provided that a person who was granted the parent-carer status was compulsorily insured under the social insurance scheme, and section 99 (1) of the same Act which provided that the payment of a pension was to be discontinued for a person who becomes employed or begins performing an activity on the basis of which there was compulsory social insurance.
The Court further accepts that the interference with the applicant’s property rights pursued a legitimate aim submitted by the Government, namely the protection of the public purse (compare Moskal , cited above, § 63).
As to whether an interference with the peaceful enjoyment of possessions in the present case struck a fair balance between the demands of the general interest of the public and the requirements of the protection of the applicant’s rights, the Court notes that under domestic law parent carers have the right to an allowance, to pension and health insurance and unemployment rights as an employed person under special regulations (section 67(1) of the Social Welfare Act). Although, as the Government explained, this by no means involved a traditional employment relationship, the competent Ministry nonetheless registered the beginning and the end of every carer’s insurance status and paid their compulsory insurance contributions similar to those of employed persons. What is more, the period in question was included in the pensionable service of the person having parent-carer status and formed the basis of the calculation of their old-age pension. Consequently, and contrary to the applicant’s position, under domestic law it was not possible to receive at the same time both the allowance as parent carer and a pension. It would further appear, as shown by the Government, that there was consistent case-law of the administrative authorities in favour of such an interpretation.
It is true that the allowance the applicant was entitled to as parent carer was slightly lower than the amount of her old-age pension (about EUR 50 per month). However, the Court cannot but note that the applicant opted for such a status in full knowledge of the consequences it would have on the payment of her pension, of which she had been informed beforehand by the Social Welfare Centre (see paragraph 3 above). Moreover, she could at any time opt to terminate her carer status and resume her pension payments, which she eventually did (see paragraph 9 above). It is also of importance that the payment of her pension was resumed immediately after the termination of her parent-carer status and she was never left without any source of income (contrast Moskal , cited above, § 74).
Finally, the Court cannot but note that as of July 2025 and the entry into force of the new Pension Insurance Act, the payment of pension is no longer discontinued for a person who had been granted the status of parent carer, which must have mitigated any perceived injustice in the law at the time of the facts of the present case.
In light of the foregoing, the Court considers that the interference with the applicant’s property rights was not disproportionate, and she cannot be said to have suffered an excessive individual burden in the circumstances.
It follows that this complaint is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 (a) and 4 of the Convention. Other complaints 20 . Under Article 6 of the Convention, the applicant chiefly complained about the misinterpretation of domestic law by the national courts.
However, the Court should not act as a court of fourth instance and will not therefore question under Article 6 § 1 the judgment of the national courts, unless their findings can be regarded as arbitrary or manifestly unreasonable (see Bochan v. Ukraine (no. 2) [GC], no. 22251/08, § 61, ECHR 2015). A domestic judicial decision cannot be qualified as arbitrary to the point of prejudicing the fairness of proceedings unless no reasons are provided for it or if the reasons given are based on a manifest factual or legal error committed by the domestic court, resulting in a “denial of justice” (see Moreira Ferreira v. Portugal (no. 2) [GC], no. 19867/12, § 85, 11 July 2017), that is, an error so “evident” that no reasonable court could ever have made it (see Bochan , cited above, § 62).
The Court notes that the applicant’s case was carefully examined before two administrative bodies and subsequently by two court instances, followed by a review by the Constitutional Court. In the circumstances, the Court is satisfied that the High Administrative Court in its judgment of 19 July 2017 gave convincing reasons for its decision, which the Court does not consider arbitrary or manifestly unreasonable. It follows that this complaint is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 (a) and 4 of the Convention.
Finally, as regards the applicant’s discrimination complaint, the Court agrees with the Government that the applicant neither complained about discrimination in the impugned administrative proceedings nor did she bring an action pursuant to the provisions of the Prevention of Discrimination Act, either of which would have been an effective remedy to be exhausted in her case (see Đorđević v. Croatia , no. 41526/10, § 162, ECHR 2012). It also notes that this part of her constitutional complaint was rejected for the same reasons (see paragraph 8 above). Accordingly, her discrimination complaint must be rejected under Article 35 §§ 1 and 4 of the Convention for non ‑ exhaustion of domestic remedies. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously, Declares the application inadmissible. Done in English and notified in writing on 5 February 2026. Liv Tigerstedt Frédéric Krenc Deputy Registrar President