- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 31 octombrie 2017
- Stat pârât
- SVN
- Articole
- Articolul 1, Articolul 41, Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
- Concluzia
- Încălcare — Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
- Pecuniary and non-pecuniary damage - award
Krajnc împotriva Sloveniei
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamantul s-a născut în 1952 și locuiește în Celje. El a fost un şofer de camion profesionist până când a devenit incapabil să lucreze din cauza epilepsiei. La 29 septembrie 2003, reclamantul a fost certificat ca având o „incapacitate de muncă din categoria III” ca urmare a condiției sale.
S-a constatat că are dreptul de a fi transferat la o poziție adecvată de ocupare a forței de muncă în cazul în care el și alții nu ar fi în pericol din cauza condiției sale, cu efect (retroactiv) începând cu 14 august 2002. La 21 februarie 2005, unitatea regională Celje a Institutului de Asigurare a Pensiunii și Disabilităţilor din Slovenia (denumită în continuare „ZPIZ regională”) a acordat reclamantului o astfel de „autorizare pentru perioada de așteptare pentru a fi transferată sau angajată într-o altă poziţie adecvată de ocupare a forţei de muncă” (denumită în continuare „alocare pentru perioada de aşteptare”) începând cu 8 octombrie 2004. Cu toate că sumele par să fie mai mici în primele luni, el primiseră ulterior aproximativ 390 euro (EUR) pe lună în alocarea pentru perioada de aşteptare.
ZPIZ regional a invocat art. 123 din Legea privind asigurarea pensiilor și persoanelor cu handicap (denumită în continuare „Legea din 1992”) și art. 446 din noua Lege privind asigurarea pensiilor și persoanelor cu handicap (denumită în continuare „Legea din 1999” – a se vedea punctele 24 și 25 de mai jos). Acesta a remarcat faptul că reclamantul a fost înregistrat șomer la 3 martie 2003 și a fost beneficiar în temeiul articolului 22 din Legea de 1999 de la 1 martie 2003 la 7 octombrie 2004. Astfel, odată ce a ajuns la sfârșitul alocației de șomaj, el a devenit dreptul la o alocație de perioadă de așteptare în temeiul articolului 123 din Legea din 1992 (a se vedea punctul 24 de mai jos). ZPIZ regional a remarcat, de asemenea, că, în temeiul articolului 193 din Legea din 1992, beneficiarii au dreptul la o alocație pentru perioada de așteptare până la îndeplinirea condițiilor de pensionare (ibid.).
La 15 octombrie 2010, medicul reclamantului a informat regionala ZPIZ despre o leziune la umăr pe care reclamantul a susținut-o și a solicitat o reevaluare a nivelului său de invaliditate.
10. Pe baza, printre altele, informațiile furnizate de medicul solicitant, ZPIZ regională, la 2 februarie 2011, a hotărât că reclamantul are dreptul de a fi transferat la o altă poziție de ocupare a forței de muncă cu mai multe limitări, cum ar fi să nu lucreze la înălțimi neprotejate sau la vehiculele din categoria C și E, cu efect începând cu 1 februarie 2011. Ulterior, la 28 iunie 2011 a adoptat o decizie care i-a acordat o indemnitate de invaliditate (nadomestilo za invalidnost) începând cu 24 februarie 2011. ZPIZ regional se bazează pe Legea din 1999, care a introdus anumite noi prestații de invaliditate (denumita „beneficiu de invaliditate” este folosită pentru a acoperi orice tip de alocație care provine de la o invaliditate) și a întrerupt unele dintre cele prevăzute în Legea din 1992, inclusiv alocația pentru perioada de aşteptare.
Secțiunile 397 și 446 din Legea din 1999 prevedeau că dreptul la o indemnitate de invaliditate a fost aplicat începând cu 1 ianuarie 2003 (a se vedea punctul 25 de mai jos). În decizia sa regională, ZPIZ a remarcat că reclamantul nu a fost asigurat în cadrul schemei de asigurare obligatorie la debutul handicapului său, dar a fost înregistrat drept șomer la 3 martie 2003 în termen de treizeci de zile de la decizia finală privind handicapul său, conform articolului 97 din Legea de 1999. S-a stabilit că, de fapt, capacitatea sa de a lucra s-a redus în continuare, chiar dacă categoria (III) a handicapului său a rămas neschimbată. ZPIZ regional a constatat că, în conformitate cu art. 94 alineatele (1) și (3) alineatele (1) din Legea din 1999, el ar trebui să beneficieze de o prestație sub formă de indemnitate pentru invaliditate, care în cazul său a constituit 192,91 EUR.
Acesta a atras atenția reclamantului asupra articolului 185 din Legea din 1999, care impune beneficiarilor să informeze ZPIZ cu privire la orice modificare a circumstanțelor care ar putea afecta drepturile acestora în temeiul acestei Acte (a se vedea punctul 26 de mai jos). 11. La 21 iulie 2011, reclamantul a apelat împotriva deciziei de mai sus, susținând că, în determinarea cuantumului beneficiilor sale de invaliditate, ZPIZ regional ar fi trebuit să respecte principiul drepturilor dobândite. El a subliniat că beneficiile sale s-au redus considerabil, chiar dacă handicapul său s-a înrăutăţit de fapt, şi a susţinut că o astfel de decizie este ilegală. 12. La 21 octombrie 2011, Institutul central de asigurare a pensiilor și handicapului din Slovenia (denumit în continuare „centrul ZPIZ”) a respins apelul reclamantului, confirmand faptul că ZPIZ regională a aplicat corect legea și a calculat corect suma alocației sale pentru handicap.
13. La 5 decembrie 2011, reclamantul a depus o cerere în favoarea Tribunalului Celje pentru Muncii și Sociale care a contestat deciziile de mai sus. El a reiterat că indemnitatea de invaliditate acordată în temeiul Legii din 1999 a încălcat drepturile achiziționate și că, în loc de a crește beneficiul său, aceasta a redus cu jumătate, ceea ce a fost ilegal și inconstituțional. 14. La 26 martie 2012, Tribunalul Celje de Muncire și Sociale a respins cererea reclamantului. Acesta a explicat că, în timp ce beneficiarii de drepturi legate de handicap în temeiul legii din 1992 își păstrau drepturile achiziționate după data prevăzută la art. 446 din legea din 1999, în cazul reclamantului, s-a efectuat o reevaluare a handicapului din cauza agravarii condiției sale (a se vedea punctul 10 mai sus), ceea ce a determinat o nouă limitare a locului de muncă și, prin urmare, drepturile sale au fost stabilite.
În cazurile în care s-a efectuat o evaluare proaspătă trebuia să se aplice Legea din 1999. Curtea a concluzionat că Legea din 1999 nu conține dreptul la o alocație pentru perioada de aşteptare. În schimb, în conformitate cu secțiunea 94, aceasta prevedea alocația pentru invaliditate (a se vedea punctul 25 de mai jos), care a fost acordată corect reclamantului. 15. La 25 aprilie 2012, reclamantul a apelat împotriva hotărârii, repetând plângerile pe care le-a formulat în fața instanței de primă instanță și susținând că ar fi trebuit să fie informat cu privire la consecințele unei cereri de reevaluare a handicapului său. În cazul în care ar fi fost acest caz, el ar fi „prohibit” medicul său de a face o astfel de cerere.
În sfârșit, el a reiterat că decizia ZPIZ regională din 28 iunie 2011 (a se vedea punctul 10 de mai sus) este ilegală și neconstituțională, deoarece aceasta a încălcat dreptul său la securitate socială; el a subliniat că nu a putut supraviețui la alocația pentru handicap nou determinată. 16. La 21 iunie 2012, Curtea Supremă a Muncii și Sociale a respins recursul reclamantului, confirmand poziția instanței de judecată de a constata că cazul reclamantului a avut ca obiect o modificare a nivelului de invaliditate, care a solicitat o nouă determinare a beneficiilor sale pentru handicap. În astfel de situații, art. 397 alineatul (3) din Legea de 1999 prevedea că reclamantul a achiziționat drepturi în temeiul Legii.
De asemenea, din moment ce drepturile reclamantului au fost stabilite din nou, Curtea Superioră a Muncii și a Socialului a concluzionat că nu a existat nicio încălcare a drepturilor sale achiziționate legate de securitatea socială și, prin urmare, nici o încălcare a Constituției. 17. La 4 septembrie 2012, reclamantul a depus un recurs asupra punctelor de drept în fața Curții Supreme, susținând că nu ar fi putut să se aștepte în mod legitim că agravarea handicapului său ar duce la o reducere severă a beneficiilor sale de invaliditate. În acest sens, el a susținut că opinia Curții Superiore a Muncii și a Curții Sociale de a afirma că reducerea nu a interferat cu drepturile achiziționate sau constituie o încălcare a dreptului său constituțional la securitatea socială este arbitrară, deoarece instanța nu a furnizat niciun motiv pentru această concluzie.
Reclamantul a susținut, de asemenea, că valoarea nou-determinată a prestației de invaliditate a interferat cu dreptul său constituțional la proprietate. 18. La 5 martie 2013, Curtea Supremă a respins recursul reclamantului în privința punctelor de drept, constatând că Curtea Superioră a Muncii și a Socialului a explicat suficient faptul că modificarea nivelului său de invaliditate a solicitat o nouă determinare a beneficiilor sale în conformitate cu legea din 1999. 19. La 21 mai 2013, reclamantul a depus o plângere constituțională împotriva hotărârii Curții Supreme, susținând o încălcare a drepturilor sale constituționale la proprietate și la securitatea socială. El a susținut că reducerea beneficiilor pentru handicap a pus în pericol substanța și a eșuat testul proporționalității.
20. La 18 noiembrie 2013, Curtea Constituțională a refuzat să accepte plângerea reclamantului pentru a fi examinată în fond, referindu-se la art. 55b alineatul (2) din Legea Curții Constituționale (a se vedea punctul 27 mai jos). 21. Între timp, la 22 mai 2013, reclamantul a îndeplinit condițiile pentru o pensie de pensionare în valoare de 374,73 EUR și alocația sa de invaliditate a fost întreruptă de la data respectivă. Prin urmare, el a primit alocația pentru invaliditate pentru o perioadă de douăzeci și șapte de luni. 22. Datele privind veniturile reclamantului furnizate de autoritățile fiscale slovene arată că a primit 4 908 EUR în 2010 în asigurarea pensiilor și a invalidității și, după modificarea impugată a alocației sale, 2 902 EUR în 2011 și 2 480 EUR în 2012.
5. The applicant was born in 1952 and lives in Celje. 6. He had been a professional truck driver until he became unable to work due to epilepsy. 7. On 29 September 2003 the applicant was certified as having a “category III work-related disability” as a result of his condition.
He was found to have a right to be reassigned to a suitable position of employment where he and others would not be at risk because of his condition, with (retroactive) effect from 14 August 2002. 8. On 21 February 2005 the Celje regional unit of the Pension and Disability Insurance Institute of Slovenia (hereinafter “the regional ZPIZ”) granted the applicant a so-called “allowance for the period of waiting to be reassigned to or employed in a different appropriate position of employment” (hereinafter “waiting period allowance”) from 8 October 2004. Though the sums appear to be lower during the first few months, he had been subsequently receiving around 390 euros (EUR) per month in waiting period allowance.
The regional ZPIZ relied on section 123 of the Pension and Disability Insurance Act (hereinafter “the 1992 Act”) and section 446 of the new Pension and Disability Insurance Act (hereinafter “the 1999 Act” – see paragraphs 24 and 25 below). It noted that the applicant had been registered as unemployed on 3 March 2003 and had been a beneficiary under section 22 of the 1999 Act from 1 March 2003 to 7 October 2004. Thus, once his unemployment allowance had come to an end he had become entitled to a waiting period allowance under section 123 of the 1992 Act (see paragraph 24 below). The regional ZPIZ also noted that, under section 193 of the 1992 Act, beneficiaries were entitled to a waiting period allowance until they fulfilled the conditions for retirement (ibid.).
9. On 15 October 2010 the applicant’s doctor informed the regional ZPIZ about a shoulder injury the applicant had sustained and requested a reassessment of his level of disability. 10. On the basis of, inter alia, information provided by the applicant’s doctor, the regional ZPIZ, on 2 February 2011, decided that the applicant had a right to be reassigned to another position of employment with several limitations, such as not to work at unprotected heights or drive category C and E vehicles, with effect from 1 February 2011. Subsequently, on 28 June 2011 it adopted a decision granting him a disability allowance (nadomestilo za invalidnost) from 24 February 2011 onwards. The regional ZPIZ relied on the 1999 Act, which had introduced certain new disability benefits (the term “disability benefit” is used to cover any type of allowance that arises from a disability) and discontinued some of those provided for under the 1992 Act, including the waiting period allowance.
Sections 397 and 446 of the 1999 Act stipulated that a right to a disability allowance applied as from 1 January 2003 (see paragraph 25 below). The regional ZPIZ noted in its decision that the applicant had not been insured under the compulsory insurance scheme at the onset of his disability, but had been registered as unemployed on 3 March 2003 within thirty days of the final decision on his disability, as required by section 97 of the 1999 Act. It was established that his capacity to work had in fact further reduced, even though the category (III) of his disability remained unchanged. The regional ZPIZ found that, pursuant to section 94(1)(1) and (3)(1) of the 1999 Act, he should receive a benefit in the form of disability allowance, which in his case amounted to EUR 192.91.
It drew the applicant’s attention to section 185 of the 1999 Act, which required beneficiaries to inform the ZPIZ of any change in circumstances which could affect their rights under that Act (see paragraph 26 below). 11. On 21 July 2011 the applicant appealed against the above decision, arguing that in determining the amount of his disability benefit, the regional ZPIZ should have respected the principle of acquired rights. He pointed out that his benefit had reduced considerably, even though his disability had in fact worsened, and claimed that such a decision was unlawful. 12. On 21 October 2011 the central Pension and Disability Insurance Institute of Slovenia (hereinafter “the central ZPIZ”) dismissed the applicant’s appeal, confirming that the regional ZPIZ had properly applied the law and correctly calculated the amount of his disability allowance.
13. On 5 December 2011 the applicant lodged a claim with the Celje Labour and Social Court challenging the above decisions. He reiterated that the disability allowance granted to him under the 1999 Act violated his acquired rights and that instead of increasing his benefit it reduced it by half, which was unlawful and unconstitutional. 14. On 26 March 2012 the Celje Labour and Social Court dismissed the applicant’s claim. It explained that while recipients of disability-related rights under the 1992 Act retained their acquired rights after the date set out in section 446 of the 1999 Act, in the applicant’s case a reassessment of his disability had been carried out on 2 February 2011 due to a worsening of his condition (see paragraph 10 above), which had resulted in further workplace limitations and his rights being consequently determined anew.
In cases where a fresh assessment was made the 1999 Act was to be applied. The court concluded that the 1999 Act did not contain the right to a waiting period allowance. Instead, under section 94, it provided for the disability allowance (see paragraph 25 below) which had been correctly granted to the applicant. 15. On 25 April 2012 the applicant appealed against the judgment, repeating the complaints he had made before the first-instance court and alleging that he ought to have been informed of the consequences of a request for a reassessment of his disability. If that had been the case, he would have “forbidden” his doctor from making such a request. Lastly, he reiterated that the decision of the regional ZPIZ of 28 June 2011 (see paragraph 10 above) was unlawful and unconstitutional, as it violated his right to social security; he pointed out that he was unable to survive on the newly determined disability allowance.
16. On 21 June 2012 the Higher Labour and Social Court dismissed the applicant’s appeal, confirming the position of the lower court that the applicant’s case concerned a change in the level of disability, which had required a fresh determination of his disability benefit. In such a situation, section 397(3) of the 1999 Act provided that the applicant acquired rights under the Act. Also, since the applicant’s rights had been determined anew, the Higher Labour and Social Court concluded that there had been no violation of his acquired rights related to social security, and thus no violation of the Constitution. 17. On 4 September 2012 the applicant lodged an appeal on points of law before the Supreme Court, arguing that he could not have legitimately expected that the worsening of his disability would result in a severe reduction of his disability benefit.
In that connection, he alleged that the Higher Labour and Social Court’s view that the reduction did not interfere with his acquired rights or constitute a violation of his constitutional right to social security was arbitrary, as the court had provided no reasoning for that conclusion. The applicant further alleged that the newly determined amount of disability benefit interfered with his constitutional right to property. 18. On 5 March 2013 the Supreme Court dismissed the applicant’s appeal on points of law, finding that the Higher Labour and Social Court had sufficiently explained that the change in his level of disability had required a fresh determination of his benefit in accordance with the 1999 Act.
19. On 21 May 2013 the applicant lodged a constitutional complaint against the Supreme Court’s judgment, alleging a violation of his constitutional rights to property and social security. He argued that the reduction in the disability benefit had put his subsistence at risk and failed the test of proportionality. 20. On 18 November 2013 the Constitutional Court refused to accept the applicant’s complaint for consideration on the merits, referring to section 55b(2) of the Constitutional Court Act (see paragraph 27 below). 21. In the meantime, on 22 May 2013, the applicant fulfilled the conditions for a retirement pension in the amount of EUR 374.73 and his disability allowance was discontinued from that date.
He thus received the disability allowance for a period of twenty-seven months. 22. Data concerning the applicant’s income provided by the Slovenian tax authorities shows that he received EUR 4,908 in 2010 in pension and disability insurance and, after the impugned change in his allowance, EUR 2,902 in 2011 and EUR 2,480 in 2012.