- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 17 noiembrie 2014
- Stat pârât
- SVN
- Concluzia
- Comunicată guvernului
Krajnc împotriva Sloveniei
Traducere în română Auto
Comunicat la 17 noiembrie 2014 CIFTH SECȚIUNE Cererea nr. 38775/14 Slavko KRAJNC împotriva Sloveniei depusă la 19 mai 2014 DECLARAREA FACTELOR Reclamantul, dl Slavko Krajnc, este un național sloven, născut în 1952 și locuiește în Celje. El este reprezentat în fața Curții de către dna Končan Verstovšek, avocat practicant în Celje. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de solicitant, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. La 29 septembrie 2003, reclamantul a fost certificat ca fiind încadrat în „categoria III a handicapului legat de locul de muncă” ca urmare a unei boli. Reclamantul a fost evaluat ca fiind capabil să continue să lucreze în domeniul său de ocupare, dar a pierdut capacitatea de a lucra la locul de muncă anterior.
La 21 februarie 2005, Unitatea Regională Celje a Institutului de Asigurare a Pensiunii și Disabilităților din Republica Slovenia (denumită în continuare „Institutul”) a acordat reclamantului, care și-a pierdut locul de muncă, dar nu mai avea dreptul să primească beneficii de șomaj, așa-numita „permisiune pentru perioada de așteptare a transferării unui loc de muncă sau a unui loc de muncă diferit adecvat” (denumită în continuare „alocarea pentru perioada de așteptare”) în conformitate cu legea privind pensia și asigurarea de invaliditate (denumită în continuare „Legea din 1992”). Această alocație lunară în valoare de aproximativ 390 euro (EUR) a fost singurul venit al reclamantului. În 2008, reclamanții au suferit un prejudiciu la umăr și, la 15 octombrie 2010, medicul său tratant a solicitat Institutului să reevalueze nivelul de invaliditate al reclamantului și să ajusteze în consecință alocația sa pentru perioada de așteptare.
Unitatea regională Celje a Institutului a stabilit că capacitatea reclamantului de lucru a fost, de fapt, mai redusă, deși categoria de handicap a rămas neschimbată. Cu toate acestea, între timp, a intrat în vigoare o nouă lege privind pensiile și asigurările de invaliditate (denumită în continuare „Legea 1999”), introducând anumite noi prestații de invaliditate și încheiând unele dintre cele prevăzute în Legea din 1992, inclusiv alocația pentru perioada de așteptare. Unitatea regională Celje a Institutului a concluzionat că, datorită aglomerării handicapului său, beneficiul reclamantului pentru handicap ar trebui stabilit din nou pe baza Legii 1999. La 28 iunie 2011, Unitatea regională Celje a Institutului a adoptat o decizie care acordă reclamantului o prestație de invaliditate în temeiul Legii 1999 în valoare de aproximativ 190 EUR pe lună.
Potrivit noului regulament legislativ, în cazuri precum ale reclamantului, prestația de invaliditate a constituit 40 la sută din pensia de invaliditate la care ar fi avut dreptul în momentul apariției de invaliditate. La 21 iulie 2011, reclamantul a apelat împotriva deciziei Institutului, susținând că, în determinarea cuantumului beneficiului său pentru handicap, Institutul ar fi trebuit să respecte principiul drepturilor dobândite. El a subliniat că beneficiul său a fost considerabil redus, deși, de fapt, nivelul său de invaliditate a crescut și a susținut că o astfel de decizie este ilegală. La 21 octombrie 2011, Institutul (proporționarea sectorului asigurărilor) a respins apelul reclamantului, confirmând că unitatea regională Celje a calculat corect suma beneficiilor sale de invaliditate.
La 5 decembrie 2011, reclamantul a depus o cerere de protecție judiciară a drepturilor care rezultă din asigurarea de invaliditate în fața Curții de Muncii și Sociale Celje, reprezentând că beneficiul pentru handicap acordat în temeiul Legii 1999, care a fost de mai mult de două ori mai mic decât alocația pentru perioada de așteptare pe care a primit-o anterior, a interferat inadmisibil cu drepturile sale achiziționate garantate constituțional. Potrivit reclamantului, ambele decizii adoptate de Institut au fost ilegale și neconstituționale. La 26 martie 2012, Tribunalul Celje de Muncire și Sociale a respins cererea reclamantului.
Curtea a explicat că, în timp ce beneficiarii de drepturi legate de handicap în temeiul Legii din 1992 își păstrau drepturile achiziționate și după intrarea în vigoare a Legii din 1999, în cazul reclamantului s-a efectuat o reevaluare a handicapului din cauza unei condiții înrăutăționate, ceea ce înseamnă că drepturile sale au fost stabilite din nou. În cazurile în care s-a efectuat o astfel de evaluare proaspătă, Institutul a aplicat corect Legea din 1999. Curtea de muncă și de socializare a concluzionat că, deoarece Institutul a aplicat baza juridică corectă pentru determinarea beneficiilor de invaliditate ale reclamantului, nu a existat nicio încălcare a drepturilor constituționale ale acesteia și nici decizia Institutului nu a interferat cu drepturile achiziționate.
La 25 aprilie 2012, reclamantul a apelat împotriva hotărârii, repetând plângerile pe care le-a formulat în fața instanței de primă instanță și susținând că ar fi trebuit să fie informat despre ce consecințe ar rezulta dintr-o cerere de reevaluare a handicapului său. În acest caz, el ar fi „prohibit medicul său” să facă o astfel de cerere. În sfârșit, reclamantul a reiterat că decizia Institutului din 28 iunie 2011 este ilegală și neconstituțională, deoarece nu a interferat în mod admis cu dreptul său la securitate socială; reclamantul a subliniat că nu a putut supraviețui la beneficiul de invaliditate nou determinat. La 21 iunie 2012, Curtea Supremă a Muncii și Sociale a respins recursul reclamantului, confirmand poziția instanței de judecată în cauză că cazul reclamantului a avut legătură cu o modificare a nivelului de invaliditate, care a solicitat o proaspătă determinare a beneficiilor sale în materie de invaliditate.
În acest caz, art. 397 alineatul (3) din Legea 1999 prevedea că reclamantul a achiziționat drepturi în temeiul prezentei acte. De asemenea, din moment ce drepturile reclamantului au fost stabilite din nou, Curtea Superioră a Muncii și a Socialului a concluzionat că nu există nicio încălcare a drepturilor sale achiziționate legate de securitatea socială și, prin urmare, nici o încălcare a Constituției. La 4 septembrie 2012, reclamantul a depus un recurs asupra punctelor de drept în fața Curții Supreme, susținând că ar putea să se aștepte legitim că agravarea handicapului său nu ar duce la o reducere cu peste 50 la sută din beneficiul său de invaliditate. În această privință, el a susținut că opinia Curții Superiore de Muncire și Socială a acestei reduceri nu a interferat cu drepturile achiziționate sau constituie o încălcare a dreptului său constituțional la securitatea socială este arbitrară, deoarece instanța nu a furnizat niciun motiv pentru această concluzie.
Reclamantul a susținut, de asemenea, că valoarea nou-determinată a prestației de invaliditate a interferat și cu dreptul său de proprietate garantat constituțional. La 5 martie 2013, Curtea Supremă a respins recursul reclamantului asupra punctelor de drept, constatând că Curtea Superioră a Muncii și a Socialului a explicat în mod suficient că modificarea nivelului său de invaliditate necesită o nouă determinare a beneficiilor sale, care trebuia să se desfășoare în conformitate cu legea din 1999. La 21 mai 2013, reclamantul a depus o plângere constituțională împotriva hotărârii Curții Supreme, susținând o încălcare a drepturilor sale constituționale la proprietate și securitatea socială. În plus, el a susținut că interferența în beneficiul său de invaliditate, care era singurul său venit, a eșuat testul de proporționalitate.
La 18 noiembrie 2013, Curtea Constituțională a refuzat să accepte plângerea reclamantului pentru a fi examinată în fond. Legea internă relevantă Constituția Drepturile de proprietate privată și de securitate socială fac parte din drepturile omului și libertățile fundamentale garantate constituțional. Dispozițiile relevante ale Constituției prevăd următoarele: art. 33 (Dreapta la proprietate privată și moștenire) „Dreptul la proprietate privată și moștenire este garantat” art. 50 (Dreapta la securitate socială) „Cității au dreptul la securitate socială, inclusiv dreptul la o pensie, în condițiile prevăzute de lege. Statul reglementează sănătatea obligatorie, pensia, invaliditatea și alte asigurări sociale și își asigură funcționarea corespunzătoare…
” Legea privind pensia și asigurarea de invaliditate (a) Legea de 1992, secțiunile 123 din Legea de 1992, care reglementează alocația pentru perioada de așteptare prevăzută după cum urmează: „Dreptul la o alocație pentru perioada de așteptare de transfer sau de angajare într-un loc de muncă diferit adecvat se acordă lucrătorului cu handicap din categoria II sau III, care are dreptul de a fi transferat sau angajat într-un loc de muncă diferit sau de a lucra la timp parțial, în măsura în care nu este furnizat un astfel de loc de muncă.
Un lucrător cu handicap afectat cu handicap din categoria II sau III se acordă alocația menționată în alin. (1) anterior, în cazul în care se înscrie la biroul de muncă în termen de 30 de zile de la finalitatea deciziei prin care se acordă dreptul de a fi transferat sau angajat într-un loc de muncă diferit sau de a lucra la timp parțial.” (b) Legea din 1999 Secțiunea 94 din Legea de 1999 care determină categoriile de persoane cu handicap care au dreptul de a beneficia de prestația de invaliditate prevede următoarele: „(1) Dreptul la prestație de invaliditate se acordă persoanei asigurate care au fost suferite de invaliditate din categoria II după ce a finalizat 53 de ani sau invaliditatea din categoria III, dacă capacitatea de muncă a fost redusă cu mai puțin de 50 la sută sau dacă poate continua să lucreze cu timp integral în ocuparea sa, dar nu este capabilă să lucreze la locul de muncă la care a fost transferat, dacă: - el sau ea a fost șomer și/sau nu acoperit de asigurare obligatorie la debutul handicapului; - el sau ea a pierdut locul de muncă independent de voința sa sau prin vina sa, sau - el sau ea a renunțat la locul de muncă de propria sa voință sau prin propria sa vină, sau - el sau ea a obținut un loc de muncă la alt loc de muncă…
(3) O persoană asigurată suferită de invaliditate din categoria III, dacă capacitatea sa de muncă a fost redusă cu mai puțin de 50 la sută sau dacă poate continua să lucreze cu timp integral în ocuparea sa, dar nu este capabilă să lucreze la locul de muncă la care a fost repartizată, va avea beneficiile sale de invaliditate evaluate după cum urmează: - în cazurile de la prima liniuță a primului paragraf din prezenta secțiune, în valoare de 40 la sută din pensia de invaliditate la care ar avea dreptul la apariția unui handicap, - în cazurile de la a doua liniuță a primului paragraf din prezenta secțiune, în valoare de 60 la sută din pensia de invaliditate la care ar avea dreptul la apariția unui handicap, - în cazurile de la a treia și a patra liniuță a primului paragraf din prezenta secțiune, în valoare de 25 la sută din pensia de invaliditate la care ar avea dreptul la apariția handicapului.” În ceea ce privește bucuria drepturilor legate de handicap achiziționate în conformitate cu anteriora reglementare, art. 397 din Legea din 1999 prevede după cum urmează: „(1) Beneficiarii drepturilor în temeiul capacității de muncă rămase (disabilitatea categoriilor II sau III) afirmă în conformitate cu reglementările care au fost aplicabile până la data prevăzută în secțiunea 446 din prezentul regulament, păstrează aceste drepturi într-un domeniu nemodificat, de asemenea,
după data menționată… (3) Beneficiarii drepturilor în conformitate cu primul paragraf al prezentei secțiuni pot achiziționa drepturile de mai sus numai în cazul în care nu se agravează nulitatea deja stabilită sau apariția unuia nouă.” COMPLAINT Reclamantul se plâng în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 că prin reducerea beneficiilor sale pentru handicap pentru peste 50 la sută, deși nivelul său de invaliditate a crescut, autoritățile interne au interferat inadmisibil cu drepturile sale de proprietate achiziționate.
Având în vedere faptul că prestația de invaliditate a reclamantului a fost redusă cu mai mult de cincizeci de la sută, deși s-a constatat că nivelul său de invaliditate a crescut și, în ciuda faptului că ar fi păstrat beneficiul său anterior dacă nu ar fi fost pentru cererea de reevaluare a nivelului de invaliditate al acestuia, a fost acolo, în contradicție cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție, o sarcină disproporționată și excesivă impusă reclamantului (a se vedea Kjartan Ásmundsson c. Islanda , nr. 60669/00, § 45, CEDO 2004 IX)?
Communicated on 17 November 2014
FIFTH SECTION
Application no. 38775/14 Slavko KRAJNC against Slovenia lodged on 19 May 2014
STATEMENT OF FACTS
The applicant, Mr Slavko Krajnc, is a Slovenian national, who was born in 1952 and lives in Celje. He is represented before the Court by Ms M. Končan Verstovšek, a lawyer practising in Celje. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the applicant, may be summarised as follows. On 29 September 2003 the applicant was certified as falling within “category III of work-related disability” as a result of an illness. The applicant was assessed as being able to continue to work in his field of occupation, but he had lost the capacity to work at his previous job.
On 21 February 2005 the Celje Regional Unit of the Pension and Disability Insurance Institute of the Republic of Slovenia (hereinafter “the Institute”) granted the applicant, who had lost his employment but was no longer entitled to receive unemployment benefit, the so-called “allowance for the period of waiting to be reassigned to or employed in a different appropriate job” (hereinafter “the allowance for the waiting period”) under the then applicable Pension and Invalidity Insurance Act (hereinafter “the 1992 Act”). This monthly allowance in the amount of approximately 390 euros (EUR) was the applicant’s only income. In 2008 the applicants sustained a shoulder injury and on 15 October 2010 his treating physician requested the Institute to reassess the applicant’s level of disability and to adjust accordingly his allowance for the waiting period.
The Celje Regional Unit of the Institute established that the applicant’s capacity for work was in fact further reduced, although the category of his disability remained unchanged. However, in the meantime a new Pension and Invalidity Insurance Act (hereinafter “the 1999 Act”) had entered into force, introducing certain new disability benefits and terminating some of those provided under the 1992 Act including the allowance for the waiting period. The Celje Regional Unit of the Institute concluded that due to the aggravation of his disability, the applicant’s disability benefit should be determined anew on the basis of the 1999 Act. On 28 June 2011 the Celje Regional Unit of the Institute adopted a decision granting the applicant a disability benefit under the 1999 Act in the amount of approximately EUR 190 per month.
According to the new legislation, in cases such as the applicant’s, the disability benefit amounted to 40 percent of the disability pension to which he would have been entitled at the time of the occurrence of disability. On 21 July 2011 the applicant appealed against the Institute’s decision, arguing that in determining the amount of his disability benefit, the Institute should have respected the principle of acquired rights. He pointed out that his benefit was considerably reduced, although his level of disability in fact increased, and claimed that such a decision was unlawful. On 21 October 2011 the Institute (the provision of insurance sector) dismissed the applicant’s appeal, confirming that the Celje Regional Unit had correctly calculated the amount of his disability benefit.
On 5 December 2011 the applicant lodged a request for judicial protection of rights arising from disability insurance before the Celje Labour and Social Court, reiterating that the disability benefit granted to him under the 1999 Act, which was more than twice lower than the allowance for the waiting period which he had had been previously receiving, inadmissibly interfered with his constitutionally guaranteed acquired rights. According to the applicant, both decisions adopted by the Institute were unlawful and unconstitutional. On 26 March 2012 the Celje Labour and Social Court dismissed the applicant’s request. The court explained that while recipients of disability-related rights under the 1992 Act retained their acquired rights also after the entry into force of the 1999 Act, in the applicant’s case a reassessment was made of his disability due to a worsened condition, which meant that his rights were determined anew.
In cases where such a fresh assessment was made, the Institute correctly applied the 1999 Act. The labour and social court concluded that, since the Institute had applied the correct legal basis for determining the applicant’s disability benefit, there was no violation of the latter’s constitutional rights, and neither did the Institute’s decision interfere with his acquired rights. On 25 April 2012 the applicant appealed against the judgment, repeating the complaints he had made before the first-instance court and alleging that he ought to have been informed about what consequences would arise from a request for reassessment of his disability. In that case, he would have “forbidden his physician” to make such a request.
Finally, the applicant reiterated that the Institute’s decision of 28 June 2011 was unlawful and unconstitutional, as it inadmissibly interfered with his right to social security; the applicant pointed out that he was unable to survive on the newly determined disability benefit. On 21 June 2012 the Higher Labour and Social Court dismissed the applicant’s appeal, confirming the position of the lower court that the applicant’s case concerned a change in the level of disability, which required a fresh determination of his disability benefit. In such a case, section 397(3) of the 1999 Act provided that the applicant acquired rights under this Act. Also, since the applicant’s rights had been determined anew, the Higher Labour and Social Court concluded that there was no violation of his acquired rights related to social security, and thus no violation of the Constitution.
On 4 September 2012 the applicant lodged an appeal on points of law before the Supreme Court, arguing that he could legitimately expect that the worsening of his disability would not result in a reduction by more than 50 percent of his disability benefit. In this connection he alleged that the Higher Labour and Social Court’s view that this reduction did not interfere with his acquired rights or constitute a violation of his constitutional right to social security was arbitrary, as the court had provided no reasoning for this conclusion. The applicant further alleged that the newly determined amount of disability benefit also interfered with his constitutionally guaranteed property right.
On 5 March 2013 the Supreme Court dismissed the applicant’s appeal on points of law, finding that the Higher Labour and Social Court sufficiently explained that the change in his level of disability required a fresh determination of his benefit which had to be conducted in accordance with the 1999 Act. On 21 May 2013 the applicant lodged a constitutional complaint against the Supreme Court’s judgment, alleging a violation of his constitutional rights to property and social security. Moreover, he claimed that the interference with his disability benefit, which was his only income, failed the test of proportionality. On 18 November 2013 the Constitutional Court refused to accept the applicant’s complaint for consideration on the merits.
B. Relevant domestic law 1. The Constitution The rights to private property and social security form part of the constitutionally guaranteed human rights and fundamental freedoms. The relevant provisions of the Constitution provide as follows: Article 33 (Right to Private Property and Inheritance) “The right to private property and inheritance shall be guaranteed.” Article 50 (Right to Social Security) “Citizens have the right to social security, including the right to a pension, under conditions provided by law. The state shall regulate compulsory health, pension, disability and other social insurance, and shall ensure its proper functioning…
” 2. The Pension and Invalidity Insurance Act (a) The 1992 Act Section 123 of the 1992 Act regulating the allowance for the waiting period provided as follows: “The right to an allowance for the period of waiting to be reassigned to or employed in a different appropriate job shall be granted to the disabled worker afflicted with disability of category II or III who is entitled to be reassigned to or employed in a different appropriate job or to work part-time, in so far as he or she is not provided such employment.
A disabled worker afflicted with disability of category II or III shall be granted the allowance referred to in the preceding paragraph if he or she registers with the employment office within 30 days of the finality of the decision by which he or she is granted the right to be reassigned to or employed in a different appropriate job or to work part-time.” (b) The 1999 Act Section 94 of the 1999 Act which determines the categories of disabled persons entitled to receive the disability benefit provides as follows: “(1) The right to disability benefit shall be granted to the insured person who was afflicted with disability of category II after completed 53 years of age, or disability of category III, if his or her capacity for work has been reduced by less than 50 percent or if he or she can continue to work full-time in his or her occupation but is not capable of working at the job he or she has been reassigned to, if: - he or she was unemployed and/or not covered by compulsory insurance at the onset of disability; - he or she has lost employment independently of his will or through his fault, or - he or she has terminated his employment of his own will or through his own fault, or - he or she has obtained employment at another job…
(3) An insured person afflicted with disability of category III, if his or her capacity for work has been reduced by less than 50 percent or if he or she can continue to work full-time in his or her occupation but is not capable of working at the job he or she has been reassigned to, shall have his or her disability benefit assessed as follows: - in cases from the first indent of the first paragraph of the present section, in the amount of 40 percent of disability pension he or she would be entitled to at the occurrence of disability, - in cases from the second indent of the first paragraph of the present section, in the amount of 60 percent of disability pension he or she would be entitled to at the occurrence of disability, - in cases from the third and fourth indent of the first paragraph of the present section, in the amount of 25 percent of disability pension he or she would be entitled to at the occurrence of disability.” As regards the enjoyment of disability-related rights acquired according to the former regulations, section 397 of the 1999 Act provides as follows: “(1) The recipients of the rights on grounds of the remaining capacity for work (disability of category II or III) asserted according to the regulations which were applicable by the date stipulated in section 446 hereof, shall retain such rights in an unchanged scope also after the said date…
(3) The recipients of the rights as per the first paragraph of this section may acquire the rights hereunder only in the event of worsening of the already established invalidity or occurrence of a new one.” COMPLAINT The applicant complains under Article under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 that by reducing his disability benefit for more than 50 percent, although his level of disability increased, the domestic authorities inadmissibly interfered with his acquired property rights.
QUESTION TO THE PARTIES
Having regard to the fact that the applicant’s disability benefit was reduced by more than fifty percent, although it was found that his level of disability increased and despite the fact that he would have retained his previous benefit had it not been for the request to reassess the level of his disability, was there, contrary to Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention, a disproportionate and excessive burden imposed on the applicant (see Kjartan Ásmundsson v. Iceland , no. 60669/00, § 45, ECHR 2004 ‑ IX)?