- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 27 noiembrie 2018
- Stat pârât
- SVN
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Srdić împotriva Sloveniei
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE A SECȚIUNEI nr. 60681/17 Jovan SRDIδ împotriva Sloveniei Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care așeză la 27 noiembrie 2018 în calitate de comitet compus din: Georges Ravarani, președinte, Marko Bošnjak, Péter Paczolay, judecători și Andrea Tamietti, grefierul adjunct al secțiunii, având în vedere cererea depusă la 16 august 2017, După deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTELE Reclamantul, dl Jovan Srdić, este un național sloven care s-a născut în 1947 și trăiește în Ljubljana. Circumstanțele cazului Faptele cazului, astfel cum a fost prezentat de solicitant, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Între 1968 și 1973, reclamantul a petrecut mai mulți ani lucrând pentru diferite angajatori în Vojvodina (de atunci o provincie autonomă a Serbiei în Republica Socialistă Federală Iugoslavia („SFRY”), acum o provincie autonomă a Republicii Serbiei).
Reclamantul s-a mutat în Slovenia în 1974 și a locuit acolo de atunci. După dizolvarea SFRY, el a obținut cetățenia slovenă. Decizia din 1979, la 17 august 1979, reclamantul a solicitat Comunității de Asigurări de Pensiune și Disabilitate din Republica Socialistă a Sloveniei (denumită în continuare „Comunitate”) pentru a determina numărul de ani de serviciu pensionabil pe care l-a avut. La 4 octombrie 1979, Comunitatea a emis o decizie în care a observat că perioada între 23 martie 1968 și 20 decembrie 1973, când reclamantul a lucrat pentru diferite angajatori din Vojvodina, a fost inclusă în perioada sa de asigurare și a avut în total trei ani, șase luni și douăzeci și două de zile de serviciu pensionabil (denumită în continuare „decizia din 1979”).
Într-o dată necunoscută în 2011, reclamantul a solicitat pensia în Slovenia. El a plătit voluntar contribuții la asigurarea obligatorie a pensiilor în Slovenia până la 30 aprilie 2012. La 22 august 2012, Institutul de Asigurare pentru Pensiuni și Disabilitate din Slovenia (denumit în continuare „Institutul”) a decis că reclamantul are dreptul la o pensie lunară de invaliditate în valoare de 193 euro (EUR) începând cu 1 mai 2012. Reclamantul a apelat, plângându-se că Institutul s-a înșelat în calculul pensiei prin faptul că nu a ținut seama de perioada de muncă pe care a încheiat-o în Vojvodina (a se vedea punctul 3 de mai sus) și de perioada pe care a încheiat-o între 1981 și 1987 în Slovenia.
La 9 mai 2013, Institutul a permis apelul, în parte, evaluarea pensiei de invaliditate a reclamantului la 224 EUR. În ceea ce privește anii de serviciu pensionabil, reclamantul a finalizat în Vojvodina, Institutul, se bazează pe art. 187 alineatul (1) din Legea privind asigurările de pensii și de invaliditate (a se vedea alineatul (1)) 16 mai jos), și acordul privind securitatea socială dintre Republica Slovenia și Republica Serbia (denumit în continuare „acordul”, a se vedea punctul 17 de mai jos), au considerat că aceasta ar fi luat în considerare cele în cazul în care reclamantul nu a îndeplinit condițiile pentru o pensie slovenă fără a acumula anii de serviciu pensionabil atât în Serbia cât și Slovenia.
Reclamantul a solicitat ulterior revizuirea judiciară a deciziei Institutului, menținând că pensia sa a fost calculată în mod eronat deoarece Institutul nu a luat în considerare decizia din 1979 (a se vedea punctul 5 mai sus). În opinia sa, Institutul a interpretat greșit dispozițiile acordului (a se vedea punctul 17 mai jos). În plus, reclamantul a susținut că contribuțiile de asigurare socială pe care le-a plătit în Vojvodina au fost transferate în Slovenia. La 19 septembrie 2014, Curtea Ljubljana a evaluat pensia de invaliditate a reclamantului la 234 EUR. În calcularea sumei, instanța a refuzat să țină seama de anii de serviciu pensionabil pe care le-a efectuat reclamantul în Vojvodina.
Aceasta a susținut că, spre deosebire de interpretarea reclamantului, decizia din 1979 a determinat doar numărul de ani de serviciu pensionabil pe care reclamantul le-a efectuat în Vojvodina și nu a conferit nici un drept reclamantului și nu a determinat că perioada în cauză ar trebui considerată slovenă. În plus, reclamantul nu a dovedit că contribuțiile plătite autorităților sârbe de pensii au fost transferate în Slovenia. Curtea a reiterat că, în conformitate cu acordul, anii de serviciu pensionabil pe care reclamantul a efectuat-o în Serbia nu ar fi fost luate în considerare atunci când calculul pensiei slovene, dar acestea ar putea fi încă valabile în Serbia. La 26 februarie 2015, Curtea Superioră a Muncii și Sociale a respins un recurs depus de reclamant, reprezentând concluziile instanței de judecată inferioară.
Acesta a subliniat faptul că, în SFRY, contribuțiile de asigurare socială au fost plătite autorităților în cazul în care persoana a lucrat și că anii de serviciu pensionabil au fost astfel considerate sârbe. Reclamantul a depus un recurs asupra punctelor de drept, susținând că contribuțiile sale au fost transferate în Slovenia cu decizia din 1979 (a se vedea punctul 5 mai sus), care a recunoscut anii de serviciu pensionabil în cauză ca Slovenia. La 24 noiembrie 2015, Curtea Supremă a respins recursul asupra punctelor de drept, în urma raționării instanțelor inferiore. Acesta a reiterat faptul că Institutul, prin calcularea pensiei de invaliditate a reclamantului în conformitate cu art. 21 din acord (a se vedea punctul 17 mai jos), nu a interferat cu drepturile sale achiziționate și nu a negat existența anilor de serviciu pensionabil reclamantului a finalizat în Vojvodina.
În conformitate cu art. 35 alineatul (5) din acord, perioada de asigurare între 23 de ani Martie 1968 si 20 decembrie 1973 (cu interruptii) au fost considerate sârbe și, prin urmare, nu au fost luate în considerare de fondul de asigurare sloven. 15. La 22 februarie 2017, Curtea Constituțională a refuzat să accepte o plângere constituțională depusă de solicitant în vederea examinării, constatând că nu se referă la o întrebare constituțională importantă sau implică o încălcare a drepturilor omului cu consecințe grave pentru solicitant.
Dispozițiile relevante ale Legii privind asigurările pensiilor și handicapului (Gazettelul Oficial nr. 109/06, cu modificări relevante), după cum se aplică la momentul material, se citesc după cum urmează: Secțiunea 187 „(1) Anii de serviciu pensionabil, determinați ca condiție pentru achiziționarea și afirmarea drepturilor în cadrul asigurării obligatorii, includ: ... - perioada de timp finalizată înainte de promulgarea prezentului Act, care va fi inclusă în anii de serviciu pensionabil al unui cetățean sloven în temeiul reglementărilor în vigoare înainte de promulgarea prezentului Act, cu excepția cazului în care prevede altfel prin prezentul Act sau un acord internațional…
” Hotărârea privind securitatea socială între Republica Slovenia și Republica Serbia Hotărârea a intrat în vigoare la 1 noiembrie 2010. Dispozițiile sale relevante se citesc după cum urmează: art. 20 Accumularea perioadelor de asigurare „(1) În cazul în care o persoană asigurată a finalizat o perioadă de asigurare în conformitate cu legislația ambelor părți contractante, perioadele de asigurare sunt acumulate în scopul obținerii, menținerii sau reluării dreptului la prestațiile, cu condiția ca perioadele să nu se suprapună…
(3) Perioadele de asigurare completate în celelalte părți contractante sunt luate în considerare în durata lor reală ...” art. 21 Determinarea beneficiilor independente „Dacă există dreptul la un beneficiu în temeiul legislației una dintre părțile contractante fără acumularea perioadelor de asigurare, instituția competentă a acestei părți contractante stabilește valoarea prestației plătibile exclusiv pe baza perioadei de asigurare finalizate în temeiul legislației sale.” art. 22 Determinarea beneficiilor proporționale „Dacă o persoană asigurată ... este eligibilă pentru o prestație numai prin aplicarea articolului 20 din prezentul acord, eligibilitatea acestei persoane pentru această prestație se stabilește în următoarele moduri: (1) instituția competentă a fiecărei părți contractante stabilește dacă persoana este eligibilă pentru o benefică în temeiul legislației sale prin acumularea perioadelor de asigurare de la art. 20 din prezentul acord; (2) Instituția competentă a fiecărei părți contractante calculează valoarea teoretică a prestației care va fi plătită în cazul în care perioada totală de asigurare, luată în considerare pentru calcularea sumei prestației, a fost finalizată în temeiul legislației sale...
(3) pe baza acestei valori [teoretice], instituția competentă a fiecărei părți contractante calculează apoi valoarea efectivă a prestației plătibile în funcție de raportul dintre perioadele de asigurare finalizate în temeiul legislației sale și perioada totală de asigurare; ...” art. 35 Dreptul de a primi beneficii „(1) Prezentul acord nu conferă niciun drept de a primi o prestație înainte de data intrării în vigoare a prezentului acord. (2) Orice perioadă de asigurare finalizată în temeiul legislației oricărei părți contractante înainte de data intrării în vigoare a prezentului acord se ia în considerare în scopul stabilirii dreptului la o prestație în temeiul prezentului acord…
(5) În ciuda dispozițiilor articolului 20 alineatul (3) din prezentul acord, orice perioadă de asigurare finalizată înainte de 7 octombrie 1991 în temeiul legislației ambelor părți contractante în vigoare în momentul respectiv ... în SFRY este luată în considerare în măsura în care a fost recunoscută în temeiul acestei legislații ...” COMPLAINTE 18. Reclamantul s-a plâns că i s-a refuzat o pensie de invaliditate mai mare deoarece autoritățile interne au interpretat greșit dispozițiile juridice interne și internaționale relevante și nu au luat în considerare decizia din 1979 care a determinat numărul de ani de serviciu pensionabil pe care l-a încheiat în Vojvodina. El s-a bazat pe articolele 6, 8, 13 și 14 din Convenție, pe art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 și pe art. 2 din Protocolul nr. 4 la Convenție.
plaga de drept în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 luată singur și coroborat cu art. 14 19. Reclamantul s-a plâns că i s-a refuzat o pensie de invaliditate mai mare deoarece anii de serviciu pensionabil pe care i-a finalizat în Vojvodina nu au fost luate în considerare în calculul pensiei sale slovene. El se bazează pe art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 și art. 14 din Convenție, care se înțelege după cum urmează: art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 „Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale. Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesiunile sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și prin principiile generale ale dreptului internațional.
Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea bunurilor în conformitate cu dobânda generală sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau penalități.” art. 14 „Ocuparea drepturilor și libertăților prevăzute în [] Convenția este asigurată fără discriminare pe niciun motiv, cum ar fi sexul, rasa, culoarea, limba, religia, opinia politică sau o altă opinie, origine națională sau socială, asocierea cu o minoritate națională, proprietatea, nașterea sau alt statut.” 20. Curtea reiterează că art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 se aplică numai pentru posesele existente ale unei persoane și nu garantează dreptul de a dobândi bunuri (a se vedea Marckx c. Belgia) , 13 iunie 1979, § 50, Serie A nr. 31). În consecință, nu există niciun drept în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenția de a primi o prestație de securitate socială sau o plată de pensie de orice fel sau sumă, cu excepția cazului în care legislația națională prevede un astfel de drept (a se vedea Damjanac c. Croația , nr. 52943/10, § 87, 24 octombrie 2013). Având în vedere acest principiu,
Curtea trebuie să evalueze dacă există o bază juridică suficientă în legislația internă pentru ca reclamantul să solicite plata pensiei sale în Slovenia în ceea ce privește anii de serviciu finalizati pe teritoriul SFRY (Vojvodina) dar în afara Sloveniei (a se vedea mutatis mutandis Kopecký c. Slovacia [GC], nr. 44912/98, § 54, CEDO 2004 IX). Curtea observă că atât Institutul, cât și instanța internă la trei niveluri au interpretat hotărârea din 1979 și acordul în mod diferit de reclamant (a se vedea punctele 9, 11, 12 și 14). În special, ei au concluzionat că, în contravenție cu observațiile sale, decizia din 1979 (a se vedea punctul 5 de mai sus) nu a conferit drepturi reclamantului și nu i-a dat motive pentru a susține de către autoritățile slovene plata pensiei pentru anii de serviciu în Vojvodina.
În conformitate cu articolele 20-22 din acord (a se vedea punctul 17 de mai sus) și cu interpretarea de către instanțele naționale a normelor relevante (a se vedea punctele 11, 12 și 14 de mai sus), perioadele de asigurare finalizate în Serbia ar trebui să fie luate în considerare numai dacă o persoană nu a îndeplinit criteriile de eligibilitate pentru pensia numai pe baza perioadelor de asigurare finalizate în Slovenia. Cu toate acestea, reclamantul a fost eligibil pentru pensie pe baza perioadelor de asigurare pe care le-a finalizat în Slovenia. Prin urmare, perioadele sale de asigurare din Vojvodina au fost considerate irelevante în scopul calculului pensiei sale de către autoritățile naționale de pensii.
Având în vedere faptul că este în primul rând pentru autoritățile naționale, în special pentru instanțe, să interpreteze și să aplice dreptul intern, chiar dacă această lege se referă la dreptul internațional sau la acorduri (a se vedea Damjanac) , citat mai sus, § 91), Curtea constată că nici decizia din 1979, nici acordul nu ar putea fi considerat ca datorând o așteptare legitimă din partea reclamantului că ar avea dreptul de a cere de la autoritățile slovene plata pensiei sale pentru anii de serviciu în Vojvodina.
În consecință, reclamantul nu a avut o „poziție” în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. În ceea ce privește plângerea reclamantului de a fi fost discriminat în comparație cu cetățenii sloveni care, spre deosebire de el, au continuat să lucreze în Slovenia întreaga lor viață de muncă, Curtea reiterează că art. 14 din Convenția nu are existență independentă, deoarece are efect numai în ceea ce privește drepturile și libertățile protejate de celelalte dispoziții de fond ale Convenției și ale protocolelor sale. Aplicarea articoluluiui 14 presupune că faptele cauzei cad „în ambițiune” a una sau mai multe dintre dispozițiile în cauză (a se vedea, printre multe alte autorități, Andrejeva c. Letonia [GC], nr. 55707/00, § 74, CEDO 2009). 24. Curtea a concluzionat că faptele cauzei nu fac obiectul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 (a se vedea punctul 22 de mai sus).
În consecință, art. 14 nu este de asemenea aplicabil și că această parte a cererii ar trebui, de asemenea, respinsă ca fiind ratione materiae incompatibil cu dispozițiile convenției în conformitate cu art. 35 § § § 3 și 4. Reclamantul s-a plâns, citand articolele 6 și 8 din Convenție și art. 2 din Protocolul nr. 4 la Convenție, că prin negarea unei pensii de invaliditate mai ridicată dreptul său de a respecta viața privată și dreptul la libertatea de circulație au fost încălcați și că el nu a avut o procedură de pensie echitabilă. În sfârșit, el se plângea în temeiul articolului 13 că Curtea Constituțională a acceptat inițial plângerea sa constituțională pentru a fi examinată, dar și-a schimbat ulterior decizia.
26. Curtea a examinat încă plângerile reclamantei. Cu toate acestea, având în vedere tot materialul în posesia sa și, în măsura în care chestiunile reclamate sunt în competența sa, constată că acestea nu dezvăluie nici o aparență a unei încălcări a articolelor pe care s-a bazat. Rezultă că această parte a cererii este evident nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§§ 3 litera (a) și 4 din Convenție. Din aceste motive, Curtea declară în unanimitate cererea inadmisibilă. A făcut-o în limba engleză și a notificat în scris la 20 decembrie 2018. Andrea Tamietti Georges Ravarani Președintele adjunct al grefierului
FOURTH SECTION
DECISION Application no. 60681/17 Jovan SRDIĆ against Slovenia The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 27 November 2018 as a Committee composed of: Georges Ravarani, President, Marko Bošnjak, Péter Paczolay, judges, and Andrea Tamietti, Deputy Section Registrar, Having regard to the above application lodged on 16 August 2017, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS
The applicant, Mr Jovan Srdić, is a Slovenian national who was born in 1947 and lives in Ljubljana. A. The circumstances of the case
The facts of the case, as submitted by the applicant, may be summarised as follows. 3 . Between 1968 and 1973 the applicant spent several years working for different employers in Vojvodina (then an autonomous province of Serbia in the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (“the SFRY”), now an autonomous province of the Republic of Serbia).
The applicant moved to Slovenia in 1974 and has lived there since then. Following the dissolution of the SFRY, he obtained Slovenian citizenship. 1. The 1979 decision 5 . On 17 August 1979 the applicant asked the Pension and Disability Insurance Community of the Socialist Republic of Slovenia (hereinafter “the Community”) to determine the number of years of pensionable service he had. On 4 October 1979 the Community issued a decision in which it noted that the time between 23 March 1968 and 20 December 1973, when the applicant had been working for different employers in Vojvodina, was included in his insurance period and that he had in total three years, six months and twenty-two days of pensionable service (hereinafter “the 1979 decision”). 2. Pension proceedings
On an unknown date in 2011 the applicant applied for retirement in Slovenia. He voluntarily paid contributions into the Slovenian compulsory pension insurance until 30 April 2012. 7 . On 22 August 2012 the Pension and Disability Insurance Institute of Slovenia (hereinafter “the Institute”) decided that the applicant was entitled to a monthly disability pension in the amount of 193 euros (EUR) starting from 1 May 2012.
The applicant appealed, complaining that the Institute had erred in calculating the pension by not taking into account the period of employment he had completed in Vojvodina (see paragraph 3 above), and the period he had completed between 1981 and 1987 in Slovenia. 9 . On 9 May 2013 the Institute allowed the appeal in part, assessing the applicant’s disability pension at EUR 224. As to the years of pensionable service the applicant had completed in Vojvodina, the Institute, relying on section 187(1) of the Pension and Disability Insurance Act (see paragraph 16 below), and the Agreement on Social Security between the Republic of Slovenia and the Republic of Serbia (hereinafter “the Agreement”, see paragraph 17 below), held that it would have considered those if the applicant had not fulfilled conditions for a Slovenian pension without accumulating the years of pensionable service in both Serbia and Slovenia. 10 . The applicant subsequently applied for judicial review of the Institute’s decision, maintaining that his pension had been erroneously calculated because the Institute had not taken into account the 1979 decision (see paragraph 5 above). In his opinion the Institute had misinterpreted the provisions of the Agreement (see paragraph 17 below). Furthermore, the applicant maintained that the social insurance contributions he had paid in Vojvodina had been transferred to Slovenia. 11 . On 19 September 2014 the Ljubljana Labour and Social Court assessed the applicant’s disability pension at EUR 234. In calculating the amount, the court refused to take into account the years of pensionable service the applicant had completed in Vojvodina. It held that, contrary to the applicant’s interpretation, the 1979 decision only determined the number of years of pensionable service the applicant had completed in Vojvodina, and had neither conferred any right on the applicant nor had it determined that the period at issue should be considered Slovenian. Moreover, the applicant had not proved that the contributions which had been paid to the Serbian pension authorities had been transferred to Slovenia. The court reiterated that according to the Agreement, the years of pensionable service the applicant had completed in Serbia would not be taken into account when calculating the Slovenian pension, but they could still be valid in Serbia. 12 . On 26 February 2015 the Higher Labour and Social Court dismissed an appeal lodged by the applicant, reiterating the lower court’s findings. It emphasised that in the SFRY the social insurance contributions had been paid to the authorities where the person had been working, and that the years of pensionable service the applicant had completed in Vojvodina were thus considered to be Serbian. 13 . The applicant lodged an appeal on points of law, arguing that his contributions had been transferred to Slovenia with the 1979 decision (see paragraph 5 above), which had recognised the years of pensionable service at issue as Slovenian. 14 . On 24 November 2015 the Supreme Court dismissed the appeal on points of law, following the lower courts’ reasoning. It reiterated that the Institute, by calculating the applicant’s disability pension in accordance with Article 21 of the Agreement (see paragraph 17 below), had not interfered with his acquired rights, and had not denied the existence of the years of pensionable service the applicant had completed in Vojvodina. According to Article 35(5) of the Agreement, the insurance period between 23 March 1968 and 20 December 1973 (with interruptions) was considered to be Serbian and was, therefore, not to be taken into account by the Slovenian insurance fund. 15. On 22 February 2017 the Constitutional Court refused to accept a constitutional complaint lodged by the applicant for consideration, finding that it did not concern an important constitutional question or entail a violation of human rights with serious consequences for the applicant. B. Relevant domestic and international law 1. The Pension and Disability Insurance Act 16 . The relevant provisions of the Pension and Disability Insurance Act (Official Gazette no. 109/06, with relevant amendments), as applicable at the material time, read as follows: Section 187 “(1) The years of pensionable service, determined as the condition for the acquisition and assertion of rights under compulsory insurance, shall include: ... - the period of time completed prior to the enactment of the present Act, which shall be included in the years of pensionable service of a Slovenian citizen under regulations in force prior to the enactment of the present Act, unless otherwise stipulated by this Act or an international agreement… ” 2. The Agreement on Social Security between the Republic of Slovenia and the Republic of Serbia 17 . The Agreement came into force on 1 November 2010. Its relevant provisions read as follows: Article 20 Accumulation of Insurance Periods “(1) If an insured person has completed an insurance period under the legislation of both Contracting Parties, the insurance periods shall be accumulated for the purposes of obtaining, maintaining or resuming the right to the benefits, provided that the periods do not overlap… (3) The insurance periods completed in the other Contracting Party are taken into account in their actual duration ...” Article 21 Determination of Independent Benefit “If there is a right to a benefit under the legislation of one of the Contracting Parties without the accumulation of the insurance periods, the competent institution of that Contracting Party shall determine the amount of the benefit payable exclusively on the basis of the insurance period completed under its legislation.” Article 22 Determination of Proportioned Benefit “If an insured person ... is eligible for a benefit solely through the application of Article 20 of this Agreement, the eligibility of that person for that benefit shall be determined in the following manner: (1) the competent institution of each Contracting Party shall determine whether the person is eligible for a benefit under its legislation through the accumulation of the insurance periods of Article 20 of this Agreement; (2) the competent institution of each Contracting Party shall calculate the theoretical amount of the benefit which would be payable if the total insurance period, taken into account for calculating the amount of the benefit, had been completed under its legislation... (3) on the basis of that [theoretical] amount the competent institution of each Contracting Party shall then calculate the actual amount of the benefit payable according to the ratio between the insurance periods completed under its own legislation and the total insurance periods; ...” Article 35 Right to Receive Benefit “(1) This Agreement shall not confer any right to receive a benefit before the date of entry into force of this Agreement. (2) Any insurance period completed under the legislation of any of the Contracting Parties before the date of entry into force of this Agreement shall be taken into account for the purpose of determining the right to a benefit under this Agreement… (5) Notwithstanding the provisions of Article 20(3) of this Agreement, any insurance period completed before 7 October 1991 under the legislation of both Contracting Parties in force at the time ... in the SFRY is taken into account in so far as it was recognised under that legislation ...” COMPLAINTS 18. The applicant complained that he had been denied a higher disability pension because the domestic authorities had misinterpreted the relevant domestic and international legal provisions and had not taken into account the 1979 decision which determined the number of years of pensionable service he had completed in Vojvodina. He relied on Articles 6, 8, 13 and 14 of the Convention, Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 and Article 2 of Protocol No. 4 to the Convention. THE LAW A. Complaint under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 taken alone and in conjunction with Article 14 19. The applicant complained that he had been denied a higher disability pension because the years of pensionable service he had completed in Vojvodina had not been taken into account when calculating his Slovenian pension. He relied on Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 and Article 14 of the Convention, which read as follows: Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 “Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions. No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law. The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” Article 14 “The enjoyment of the rights and freedoms set forth in [the] Convention shall be secured without discrimination on any ground such as sex, race, colour, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, association with a national minority, property, birth or other status.” 20. The Court reiterates that Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 only applies to a person’s existing possessions and does not guarantee the right to acquire possessions (see Marckx v. Belgium , 13 June 1979, § 50, Series A no. 31). It follows that there is no right under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention to receive a social security benefit or pension payment of any kind or amount, unless national law provides for such an entitlement (see Damjanac v. Croatia , no. 52943/10, § 87, 24 October 2013). In view of this principle, the Court needs to assess whether there was a sufficient legal basis in domestic law for the applicant to claim the payment of his pension in Slovenia in respect of his years of service completed on the territory of the SFRY (Vojvodina) but outside Slovenia (see, mutatis mutandis , Kopecký v. Slovakia [GC], no. 44912/98, § 54, ECHR 2004 ‑ IX). 21 . The Court observes that both the Institute and the domestic courts at three levels interpreted the 1979 decision and the Agreement differently from the applicant (see paragraphs 9, 11, 12 and 14 above). In particular, they concluded that, contrary to his submissions, the 1979 decision (see paragraph 5 above) conferred no rights on the applicant and had not given him grounds for claiming from the Slovenian authorities the payment of pension for the years of service in Vojvodina. Pursuant to Articles 20 to 22 of the Agreement (see paragraph 17 above) and the domestic courts’ interpretation of the relevant rules (see paragraphs 11, 12 and 14 above), the insurance periods completed in Serbia were to be taken into account only if a person had not fulfilled the eligibility criteria for pension solely on the basis of the insurance periods completed in Slovenia. However, the applicant was eligible for pension on the basis of the insurance periods he had completed in Slovenia. Therefore, his insurance periods from Vojvodina were considered irrelevant for the purposes of calculating his pension by the domestic pension authorities. 22 . Bearing in mind that it is in the first place for the national authorities, notably the courts, to interpret and apply domestic law, even when that law refers to international law or agreements (see Damjanac , cited above, § 91), the Court finds that neither the 1979 decision nor the Agreement could be considered as giving rise to a legitimate expectation on the part of the applicant that he would be entitled to claim from the Slovenian authorities the payment of his pension for the years of service in Vojvodina. Accordingly, the applicant did not have a “possession” within the meaning of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. His complaint under this provision is therefore incompatible ratione materiae with the provisions of the Convention within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 and must be rejected pursuant to Article 35 § 4. 23. As regards the applicant’s Article 14 complaint that he had been discriminated against by comparison with Slovenian citizens who, unlike him, have remained working in Slovenia their entire working lives, the Court reiterates that Article 14 of the Convention has no independent existence, since it has effect solely in relation to the rights and freedoms safeguarded by the other substantive provisions of the Convention and its Protocols. The application of Article 14 presuppose that the facts of the case fall “within the ambit” of one or more of the provisions in question (see, among many other authorities, Andrejeva v. Latvia [GC], no. 55707/00, § 74, ECHR 2009). 24. The Court concluded that the facts of the case do not fall within the ambit of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 (see paragraph 22 above). It follows that Article 14 is likewise not applicable and that this part of the application should also be rejected as being incompatible ratione materiae with the provisions of the Convention according to Article 35 §§ 3 and 4. B. Remaining complaints 25. The applicant complained, citing Articles 6 and 8 of the Convention and Article 2 of Protocol No. 4 to the Convention, that by denying him a higher disability pension his right to respect for private life and the right to freedom of movement had been violated, and that he had not had fair pension proceedings. Lastly, he complained under Article 13 that the Constitutional Court had initially accepted his constitutional complaint for consideration but had later changed its decision. 26. The Court has examined the applicant’s remaining complaints. However, in the light of all the material in its possession, and so far as the matters complained of are within its competence, it finds that they do not disclose any appearance of a violation of the Articles he relied on. It follows that this part of the application is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 (a) and 4 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously, Declares the application inadmissible. Done in English and notified in writing on 20 December 2018. Andrea Tamietti Georges Ravarani Deputy Registrar President