- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 19 februarie 2019
- Stat pârât
- SVN
- Articole
- Articolul 1, Articolul 14, Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
- Concluzia
- Încălcare — Articolul 14, Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
Aleksić împotriva Sloveniei
Traducere în română Auto
CAUZA DE CAUZĂ DE CAUZĂ DE ALEKSI usted v. SLOVENIA (Depunerea nr. 57123/10) AJUDEMENT STRASBOURG 19 februarie 2019 Această hotărâre este finală, dar poate fi supusă revizuirii editoriale.
În cazul Aleksić v. Slovenia, Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (Al patrulea Secțiune), ședința în calitate de comitet compus din: Georges Ravarani, președinte, Marko Bošnjak, Péter Paczolay, judecători și Andrea Tamietti, Secretarul adjunct al secțiunii, deliberat în particular la 29 ianuarie 2019, pronunță următoarea hotărâre, care a fost adoptată la data respectivă: PROCEDURĂ Cazul a apărut într-o cerere (n. 57123/10) împotriva Republicii Sloveniei depusă Curții în temeiul articolului 34 din Convenția pentru protecția drepturilor omului și a libertăților fundamentale („Convenția”) de către un național sloven, dl Milosav Aleksić („reclamantul”), la 1 octombrie 2010. Reclamantul a fost reprezentat de dl M. Krivic, care a fost concediat să reprezinte reclamantul în temeiul articolului 36 § 4 litera (a) din Regulamentul de judecată.
Guvernul sloven („ Guvernul”) a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dna J. Morela, Procurorul de Stat. La 9 iunie 2016 avizul plângerii în temeiul articolului 14 din Convenția luată coroborat cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1, privind refuzul de a acorda reclamantului o pensie de vârstă între mai 1992 și februarie 2003 deoarece nu avea cetățenie slovenă atunci, a fost acordat guvernului și restul cererii a fost declarat inadmisibil în temeiul articolului 54 § 3. Guvernul s-a opus examinării cererii de către un comitet. După examinarea obiecției guvernului, Curtea o respinge. FACTELE CIRCUMSTANCELE CAUZULUI Reclamantul s-a născut în 1944 și trăiește în Ljubljana. Pentru contextul relevant al cazului, a se vedea Ribać v. Slovenia (nr. 57101/10, §§ 6-11, 5 decembrie 2017). Reclamantul a fost un cetățean al Republicii Federative Socialiste a Iugoslaviei („SFRY”).
După dizolvarea SFRY, a reținut cetățenia Republicii Federale a Iugoslaviei de atunci. El a avut statutul de rezident permanent în Slovenia din 1977, unde s-a căsătorit și a avut de asemenea doi copii. El a fost membru al Armatei Populare Iugoslave (denumit în continuare „YPA”). La 23 septembrie 1991, el a solicitat oficiul de poștă militar Vrhnika pentru pensionare anticipată la 30 aprilie 1992 și a fost apoi „disponibil” (na razpolago ) și în concediu până la pensionare. La 29 noiembrie 1991, biroul a acordat cererea sa. La 25 octombrie 1991 a părăsit Slovenia cu YPA și s-a dus la Kraljevo. Reclamantul a susținut că a plecat cu YPA astfel încât să poată îndeplini condițiile de pensionare. Decembrie 1991 s-a întors în Slovenia, dar a plecat din nou în ianuarie 1992, ceea ce a menținut a fost în scopul organizării documentelor pentru pensionarea sa.
La 27 aprilie 1992, reclamantul s-a întors în Slovenia, susținând că nu a fost posibil să se întoarcă mai devreme din cauza războiului. La 16 iulie 1992 fondul de pensii militare pentru forțele armate ale SFRY (denumit în continuare „Fondul YPA”) a considerat că reclamantul are dreptul la o pensie de pensionare anticipată în temeiul normelor militare SFRY începând cu 1 mai 1992. La 27 decembrie 1991, reclamantul a solicitat cetățenia slovenă în temeiul articolului 40 din Legea privind cetățenia (a se vedea punctul 22 mai jos). Prin decizia din 7 iulie 1992, Ministerul Internului și-a refuzat cererea, susținând că reclamantul nu a trăit în Slovenia între 25 octombrie 1991 și 27 aprilie 1992. Curtea Supremă a respins apelul ulterior.
La 29 iulie 1992, reclamantul a solicitat plata anticipată a pensiei sale militare în temeiul Ordinului privind plata anticipată a pensiilor militare (denumit în continuare „Ordinul”; a se vedea punctul 22 de mai jos). Prin decizia din 18 februarie 1993 Institutul de Asigurare a Pensiunii și Disabilităților din Slovenia (denumit în continuare „Institutul”) a refuzat cererea reclamantului, constatând că nu a îndeplinit condițiile de drept la pensie în temeiul normelor militare SFRY, și anume cerințele de vârstă, până la 18 octombrie 1991 (secțiunea 2 alineatul (1) alineatul (2) din Ordonanța). Institutul a remarcat, de asemenea, faptul că Ministerul Apărării a avut opiniei că nu a existat nici o indicație că reclamantul a participat la agresiune împotriva Sloveniei (punctul 2 alineatul (2) din Ordonanța; a se vedea punctul 22 de mai jos).
La 4 februarie 1994, Curtea de Muncire Associată a Republicii Slovenia a respins cererea sa, declarând că reclamantul nu a îndeplinit condițiile prevăzute la art. 2 alineatul (1) alineatul (2) din Ordonanța (a se vedea punctul 22 de mai jos) deoarece nu a ajuns la vârsta necesară de pensionare până la 18 ani. Octombrie 1991. Curtea a subliniat faptul că nu a existat nimic care să sugereze că reclamantul a participat la agresiune împotriva Sloveniei în calitate de membru al YPA (secțiunea 2 alineatul (2) din Ordonanța). Un recurs, un recurs asupra punctelor de drept și o plângere constituțională, toate depuse de reclamant, au fost respinse. La 4 noiembrie 1998, reclamantul a solicitat o pensie de vârstă în temeiul Legii privind drepturile care strâng din asigurarea pensiilor și handicapului fostului personal militar (denumită în continuare „Legea din 1998”, a se vedea punctul 22 de mai jos).
La 25 februarie 1999, Institutul și-a refuzat cererea, declarând că nu avea în permanență statutul de rezident permanent în Slovenia între 25 iunie 1991 și octombrie 1998 (secțiunea 2 alineatul (1) alineatul (2) din Legea din 1998). La 12 august 1999, Institutul a respins recursul, susținând că reclamantul nu a îndeplinit cerințele legale în temeiul legii din 1998, deoarece el nu a avut în permanență statutul de rezident permanent în Slovenia pentru perioada relevantă și nu a reținut drepturile de pensie până la 25 iunie 1991 (art. 2 alineatul (1) alineatul (2) din Legea din 1998). La 10 ianuarie 2003, Curtea Ljubljana a respins o cerere de reexaminare judiciară depusă de reclamant, subliniind faptul că reclamantul a îndeplinit cerința privind statutul de rezidenți permanenti, dar cu toate acestea nu și-a solicitat drepturile de pensie până la 25 iunie 1991. Între timp, în octombrie 1999, reclamantul a reluat cetățenia slovenă.
La 15 mai 2002, Ministerul Internului a eliberat reclamantului o asigurare că va primi cetățenie dacă ar putea dovedi că a fost eliberat din cetățenia sa actuală. La 2 decembrie 2002, reclamantul a solicitat Ministerului să-i acorde cetățenie pe baza Legii modificate privind cetățenia fără eliberarea prealabilă din cetățenia sa actuală. La 4 februarie 2003, reclamantul a dobândit cetățenia prin naturalizare în temeiul articolului 19 din Legea privind cetățenia modificată (a se vedea punctul 22 de mai sus). La 19 mai 2003, după ce a depus o nouă cerere la Institut, reclamantul a primit o pensie de vârstă începând cu 4 februarie 2003 în temeiul Legei privind asigurarea pensiilor și persoanelor cu handicap (denumită în continuare „regulile generale”).
Reclamantul a apelat, susținând că ar fi trebuit să fie acordată pensia începând cu 1 mai 1992. La 3 noiembrie 2003, Institutul a respins apelul său, susținând că reclamantul a avut dreptul la o pensie de vârstă în temeiul normelor generale și al articolului 2 alineatul (4) din Legea de 1998 începând cu 4 februarie 2003 – atunci când a dobândit cetățenie slovenă. O cerere pe care a depus-o în vederea revizuirii judiciare și un recurs ulterior au fost, de asemenea, respinse de Curtea Ljubljana a Muncii și Sociale și, respectiv, de Curtea Superioră a Muncii și Sociale, reprezentând argumentele Institutului. La 23 martie 2009, Curtea Supremă a respins un recurs asupra punctelor de drept depuse de reclamant.
Curtea a reiterat că, în temeiul noului articol 15 din Legea din 1998 (a se vedea punctul 23 de mai jos), reclamantul ar avea dreptul la o pensie retroactivă numai dacă ar fi dobândit cetățenie în temeiul articolului 40 din Legea privind cetățenia. 21. La 30 martie 2010, Curtea Constituțională a refuzat să accepte, în vederea examinării unei plângeri constituționale depuse de reclamant, constatând că nu se referă la o chestiune constituțională importantă sau că implică o încălcare a drepturilor omului, care a avut consecințe grave pentru el. II. DIRECȚIE DOMETĂ ȘI INTERNAȚIONALĂ RELEVANTĂ Un cont detaliat al dispozițiilor legislației interne este conținut în Ribać (citată mai sus, §§ 25-29).
În noiembrie 2006, Legea din 1998 a fost modificată (Gazette Oficiale nr. 118/2006). Partea relevantă a secțiunii 15 modificate se citește după cum urmează: Secțiunea 15 Încheierea plății în temeiul prezentei acte „O pensie de vârstă, [sau] o pensie de pensionare anticipată ... în temeiul prezentei legi se plătește de la prima zi a lunii de la depunerea cererii și retroactiv pentru o perioadă maximă de șase luni, cu condiția ca această plată retroactivă să fie efectuată pentru o perioadă de pre-dare a datei de intrare în vigoare a prezentei legi.
Indiferent de alineatul precedent, beneficiarii care au dobândit cetățenie în temeiul articolului 40 din Legea privind cetățenia Republicii Sloveniei (Gazette Oficiale nr. 1/91-I, 30/91-I, 38/92, 13/94 și 96/02) se acordă, la cerere, și se plătește o pensie de vârstă, [sau] o pensie de pensionare anticipată ... pentru care îndeplinesc cerințele prevăzute la art. 2 alineatul (4) din prezenta lege de la data la care au îndeplinit pentru prima dată aceste cerințe ... deși nu au predat 18 octombrie 1991 ...” O descriere a dispozițiilor relevante ale Hotărâreaui privind problemele de succesiune se poate găsi în Ribać (citat mai sus, § 30). ARTICOLUL 14 ALLEGAT ÎNCĂLCAREA CONVENȚIII ÎN CONJUNTAREA ARTICOLULUI 1 AL PROTOCOLULUI NR. 25. Reclamantul a plâns că i s-a refuzat o pensie de vârstă între mai 1992 și februarie 2003 din cauza faptului că nu avea cetățeniei slovene, una dintre cerințele prevăzute în Legea din 1998. El se bazează pe art. 14 din Convenția luată în legătură cu art. 14 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. Aceste dispoziții se citesc după cum urmează: art. 14 „Plăcerea drepturilor și libertăților prevăzute în [convenția] este asigurată fără discriminare pe niciun motiv, cum ar fi sexul, rasa, culoarea, limba, religia, opinia politică sau de altă natură, origine națională sau socială, asocierea cu minoritatea națională, proprietatea, nașterea sau alt statut”.
art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 „Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale. Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesiunile sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și prin principiile generale ale dreptului internațional. Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea proprietăților în conformitate cu dobânda generală sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau penalități.” Admisibilitate ratione personae și ratione materiae 26. Guvernul a susținut că reclamantul nu ar putea pretinde că are statutul de victimă deoarece avea cetățenie sârbă la momentul respectiv și ar fi putut, prin urmare, să solicite plata pensiei sale militare de la Fondul YPA și, în consecință, de la propriul stat, dar nu a făcut acest lucru.
Ei au susținut, în continuare, că reclamantul nu are nici o „poziție” în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 deoarece drepturile acordate de Slovenia personalului militar al YPA în cauză au fost furnizate „voluntar” și, în acest sens, reclamantul nu a avut nici o cerere legitimă. 27. Reclamantul a contestat aceste argumente. 28. Curtea constată că obiecții similare au fost deja luate în considerare în Ribać c. Slovenia (n. 57101/10, § 34 și 38-45, 5 decembrie 2017). Referindu-se la motivele menționate în acest articol, Curtea respinge obiecțiile guvernului și constată că cererea este compatibilă cu dispozițiile Convenției, atât ratione personae, cât și ratione materiae Alte motive de neadmisibilitate 29. Curtea constată că cererea nu este vădit nefondată în sensul art. 35 § 3 lit. (a) din Convenție și nu este inadmisibilă din alte motive.
Prin urmare, aceasta trebuie declarată admisibilă. Reclamantul a susținut că Statul pârât l-a discriminat refuzând să-i acorde o pensie de vârstă între 1 mai 1992 și 4 februarie 2003 pe baza criteriilor de naționalitate prevăzute în Legea de 1998. Guvernul susține că cetățenii sloveni nu au fost în aceeași situație cu străinii cu reședință permanentă în Slovenia, care ar fi putut aștepta ca propriul stat să își asume responsabilitatea pentru securitatea socială. În alternativa, Guvernul a susținut că, chiar și presupunând că a existat o diferență în tratament, acesta a servit obiectivul legitim de a proteja statul prin asigurarea asigurării asigurărilor sociale pentru cetățenii săi și de a proteja sistemul economic.
Guvernul a susținut, de asemenea, că reclamantul a rămas în serviciul militar activ în YPA, care a fost considerat o armată agresivă, după ce Slovenia și-a declarat independența și că a părăsit Slovenia cu YPA, în timp ce el ar fi putut să se alăture Apărării Territoriale a Sloveniei și să-și asigure astfel drepturile de asistență socială. În plus, dacă reclamantul ar fi solicitat încheierea cetățeniei sale sârbe, ar fi putut fi acordat cetățeniei slovene pe baza cererii sale de cetățenie în 1999 (a se vedea punctul 17 mai sus). În sfârșit, Guvernul a susținut, de asemenea, că pensia de vârstă a reclamantului era o chestiune de succesiune după dizolvarea SFRY. Evaluarea Curții 35. Principiile relevante au fost rezumate în Ribać (citată mai sus, §§ 51-54).
Curtea constată că în cazul Ribać (citat mai sus, §§ 56-60) a respins argumente similare cu cele prezentate de guvern în acest caz (a se vedea punctul 31 de mai sus) și a concluzionat că situația reclamantului în ceea ce privește prestațiile de pensionare a fost similară cu situația personalului militar pensionat al YPA cu cetățenie slovenă. 37. În ceea ce privește aplicarea retroactivă a legii din 1998 (secțiunea) 15 alineatul (2); a se vedea punctul 23 de mai sus) și diferențele dintre personalul militar al YPA pensionat care a dobândit cetățenie pe baza articolului 40 din Legea privind cetățenia și cele, ca și reclamantul, care l-a dobândit prin naturalizare, Curtea observă că guvernul nu a avansat argumente privind diferențele dintre cele două grupuri de beneficiari.
Având în vedere alineatul precedent, Curtea nu poate decât să concludă că, în cursul perioadei în cauză, situația reclamantului în ceea ce privește prestațiile de pensionare a fost similară cu cea a personalului militar al YPA retras cu cetățenie slovenă dobândită în temeiul articolului 40 din Legea privind cetățenia. În consecință, Curtea trebuie să stabilească dacă diferența de tratament, care se bazează inițial pe naționalitatea reclamantului și, ulterior, pe motivele pe care reclamantul a dobândit cetățenia slovenă, a fost justificată, ținând seama de faptul că sarcina de probă pentru o astfel de justificare este în favoarea Guvernului (a se vedea D.H. și alții c. Republica Cehă [GC], nr. 57325/00, § 177, CEDO 2007 IV).
38. Curtea acceptă că diferența de tratament se plângea de urmărire a unui obiectiv legitim, și anume protecția și organizarea sistemului economic și social al țării (a se vedea Ribać citat mai sus, § 61, și, mutatis mutandis, Andrejeva c. Letonia [GC], nr. 55707/00, § 86, CEDH 2009). În ceea ce privește argumentul Guvernului potrivit căruia reclamanta a rămas în serviciu militar activ în YPA, care a fost considerată o armată agresivă (a se vedea punctul 33 de mai sus), Curtea observă că cerința de neparticipare în agresiune împotriva Sloveniei (secțiunea) 2(3) din Legea din 1998; a se vedea punctul 22 de mai sus) aplicat tuturor potențialelor beneficiari ale drepturilor de pensie în temeiul articolului 2 alineatul (1), inclusiv al cetățeniei slovene (a se vedea Ribać , citat mai sus § 63). În orice caz, autoritățile interne au indicat că nu exista nimic în dosarul dinaintea lor pentru a sugera că reclamantul a participat la orice agresiune împotriva Sloveniei (a se vedea paragrafele) Prin urmare, Curtea respinge acest argument de către Guvern.
40. În ceea ce privește argumentul Guvernului potrivit căruia reclamantul ar fi trebuit să se adere la Apărarea Territorială pentru a-și asigura drepturile de asistență socială (a se vedea punctul 33 de mai sus), Curtea constată că, pentru a fi considerat beneficiar în temeiul articolului 2 alineatul (1) alineatul (3) din Legea din 1998 (a se vedea punctul 22 de mai sus), reclamantul ar fi trebuit să îndeplinească încă condițiile de drept la pensie în temeiul normelor militare până la 1 februarie 1992. Deoarece reclamantul îndeplinește numai condițiile prevăzute în normele militare în aprilie 1992 – un fapt care nu este contestat de guvern – singura sa opțiune ar fi considerată beneficiară în temeiul articolului 2 alineatul (4) din Legea din 1998, care include o cerință de cetățenie.
Această dispoziție nu diferențiază, în ceea ce privește eligibilitatea pensiilor, între personalul militar activ al fostului YPA care s-a alăturat Apărării Territoriale și cele, precum reclamantul, care nu au făcut-o.
41. În ceea ce privește argumentul Guvernului că drepturile reclamantei au fost subiectul negocierilor de succesiune (a se vedea punctul 34 de mai sus), Curtea reiterează că Slovenia nu poate fi absoarsă de responsabilitatea sa în temeiul articolului 14 din Convenție, având în vedere că această chestiune nu a fost reglementată în acel moment printr-un acord de succesiune (a se vedea Ribać , citat mai sus, § 65). 42. În ceea ce privește diferențele în ceea ce privește aplicarea retroactivă a secțiunii 15 din legea modificată din 1998 (a se vedea punctul 23 de mai sus), Curtea constată că, în afară de a se baza pe obligațiile juridice interne legate de succesiune de stat (a se vedea punctul 34 de mai sus), Guvernul nu a avansat motive de tratament diferențial care să fie acordat pe motive de cetățenie dobândită în temeiul articolului 40 din Legea privind cetățenia și, ca în cazul reclamantului, prin intermediul naturalizării.
43. În sfârșit, Curtea nu poate accepta argumentul Guvernului potrivit căruia reclamantul ar fi putut obține cetățenie și drepturile de pensie mai devreme, dacă a renunțat la cetățenia sa sârbă în urma cererii sale de cetățenie din 1999 (a se vedea punctul 33 de mai sus). Interdicția discriminării consemnată la art. 14 din Convenție este semnificativă numai dacă, în fiecare caz specific, situația personală a reclamantului în ceea ce privește criteriile enumerate în această dispoziție este luată în considerare exact așa cum este.
Pentru a continua altfel, respingând afirmațiile victimei din cauza faptului că ar fi putut evita discriminarea prin modificarea unuia dintre factorii în cauză – de exemplu prin achiziționarea unei naționalități – ar face art. 14 lipsit de substanță (a se vedea Andrejeva , citat mai sus, § 91). 44. Având în vedere cele de mai sus, Curtea nu vede nici un motiv să se depărteze, în acest caz, de concluziile sale în cazul Ribać (citate mai sus, §§ 67) și concluzionează că diferența de tratament se plângea de nu a avut nicio justificare obiectivă și rezonabilă. Prin urmare, s-a constatat o încălcare a articolului 14 din Convenția luată coroborat cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. II.
APLICAREA ARTICOLULUI 41 AL CONVENȚIEI 45. art. 41 din Convenție prevede: „Dacă Curtea constată că a existat o încălcare a Convenției sau a protocolelor sale, și dacă dreptul intern al Înaltei Parte contractanți în cauză permite doar repararea parțială, Curtea permite, dacă este necesar, să ofere satisfacție echitabilă părții vătămate.” Daune 46. Reclamantul a solicitat 84.594 euro (EUR) în ceea ce privește prejudicii materiale, corespunzător tranșelor de pensii în curs între 1 mai 1992 și 4 februarie 2003. Noiembrie 2016 s-a ridicat la 133.160 EUR. Reclamantul a solicitat, de asemenea, 50 000 EUR în ceea ce privește prejudiciile morale. 47. Guvernul a contestat cererea pentru prejudicii materiale excesivă.
Ei au susținut că reclamantul ar fi îndeplinit obligația de vârstă pentru dreptul la pensie anticipată în temeiul articolului 2 alineatul (4) din Legea de 1998 la 27 octombrie 1994. În plus, au susținut că rata de schimb aplicată de solicitant a fost greșită și că dobânzile statutare de incumprire sunt excesive. Guvernul a contestat, de asemenea, reclamația pentru prejudicii morale ca fiind nejustificată și nefondată. 48. Curtea reiterează că principiul care susține dispoziția justă de satisfacție este faptul că reclamantul ar trebui, în măsura posibilului, să fie pus în poziția în care s-ar fi bucurat dacă nu ar fi avut loc încălcarea Convenției.
În plus, condiția indispensabilă pentru a obține o atribuire în ceea ce privește prejudiciile materiale este existența unei legături de cauzalitate între daunele presupuse și încălcarea constatată (a se vedea, de exemplu, Andrejeva Având în vedere cele de mai sus, Curtea atribuie reclamantului 44.853 EUR ca compensație pentru tranșele de pensii nerambursate la care ar fi avut dreptul între octombrie 1994 și februarie 2003 nu a avut loc încălcarea articolului 14. În acest sens ar trebui adăugat unele dobânzi, reflectând ratele de inflație din perioada relevantă (a se vedea Ribać , citat mai sus, §). În consecință, aceasta îi atribuie 70.000 EUR în ceea ce privește prejudiciile materiale susținute.
49. În ceea ce privește evaluarea pe bază echitabilă, Curtea acordă, de asemenea, 5000 EUR în ceea ce privește prejudiciile morale, plus orice impozit care poate fi imputabil pe această sumă (a se vedea Ribać , citat mai sus, § 73). Costuri și cheltuieli 50. Reclamantul a solicitat, de asemenea, 3 420 EUR pentru costurile și cheltuielile suportate în fața instanțelor naționale și în fața Curții. 51. Guvernul a susținut că sumă nu a fost justificată și excesivă. 52. În conformitate cu jurisprudența Curții, un reclamant are dreptul la rambursarea costurilor și cheltuielilor numai în măsura în care s-a demonstrat că acestea au fost suportate de fapt și în mod necesar și sunt rezonabile în ceea ce privește cuantitatea.
În plus, Curtea reiterează că nu se consideră obligată de scalele și practicile interne, deși ar putea beneficia de asistență de la acestea (a se vedea, printre multe exemple, Gaspari c. Slovenia , nr. 21055/03, § 83, 21 iulie 2009). Respectând documentele în posesia sa și criteriile de mai sus, Curtea consideră că este rezonabil atribuirea reclamantului întregii sume solicitate. Dobânzile implicite 53. Curtea consideră oportun ca rata dobânzii implicite să se bazeze pe rata marginală de creditare a Băncii Centrale Europene, la care ar trebui adăugate trei puncte procentuale.
Pentru aceste motive, TRIBUNALUL, UNANIMOUS, declară cererea admisibilă; că s-a constatat o încălcare a articolului 14 din Convenția luată în legătură cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1; deține (a) că Statul pârât trebuie să plătească reclamantului, în termen de trei luni, următoarele sume: (i) 70.000 EUR (sept mii de euro), plus orice impozit care poate fi imputabil, în ceea ce privește prejudicii materiale; (ii) 5.000 EUR (cincă mii de euro), plus orice impozit care poate fi taxabil, în ceea ce privește prejudiciile morale; (iii) 3.220 EUR (trei mii patru sute douăzeci și douăzeci de euro), plus orice impozit care poate fi taxabil pentru solicitant, în ceea ce privește costurile și cheltuielile; (b) că de la expirarea celor trei luni menționate mai sus până la decontarea dobânzilor simple se plătesc pe sumele de mai sus la o rată egală cu rata marginală de creditare a Băncii Centrale Europene în timpul perioadei de incumprire plus trei puncte procentuale; respinge restul cererii reclamantului pentru o justă satisfacție.
Adoptat în limba engleză și notificat în scris la 19 februarie 2019, în conformitate cu articolele 2 și 3 din Regulamentul de procedură. Andrea Tamietti Georges Ravarani Președintele adjunct al grefierului
FOURTH SECTION
CASE OF ALEKSIĆ v. SLOVENIA (Application no. 57123/10) JUDGMENT STRASBOURG 19 February 2019 This judgment is final but it may be subject to editorial revision. In the case of Aleksić v. Slovenia, The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting as a Committee composed of: Georges Ravarani, President, Marko Bošnjak, Péter Paczolay, judges, and Andrea Tamietti, Deputy Section Registrar, Having deliberated in private on 29 January 2019, Delivers the following judgment, which was adopted on that date: PROCEDURE
The case originated in an application (no. 57123/10) against the Republic of Slovenia lodged with the Court under Article 34 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (“the Convention”) by a Slovenian national, Mr Milosav Aleksić (“the applicant”), on 1 October 2010.
The applicant was represented by Mr M. Krivic, who was granted leave to represent the applicant under Rule 36 § 4 (a) of the Rules of Court. The Slovenian Government (“the Government”) were represented by their Agent, Ms J. Morela, State Attorney.
On 9 June 2016 notice of the complaint under Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1, concerning a refusal to grant the applicant an old-age pension between May 1992 and February 2003 because he had not had Slovenian citizenship at that time, was given to the Government and the remainder of the application was declared inadmissible pursuant to Rule 54 § 3.
The Government objected to the examination of the application by a Committee. After having considered the Government’s objection, the Court rejects it. THE FACTS I.
THE CIRCUMSTANCES OF THE CASE
5. The applicant was born in 1944 and lives in Ljubljana. 6 . For the relevant background to the case, see Ribać v. Slovenia (no. 57101/10, §§ 6-11, 5 December 2017). 7 . The applicant was a citizen of the Republic of Serbia in the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (“the SFRY”). Following the dissolution of the SFRY, he retained citizenship of the then Federal Republic of Yugoslavia. He has had permanent resident status in Slovenia since 1977, where he also married and had two children. He was a member of the Yugoslav People’s Army (hereinafter “the YPA”).
On 23 September 1991 he applied to the Vrhnika Military Post Office for early retirement as of 30 April 1992, and was then “available” ( na razpolago ) and on leave until his retirement. On 29 November 1991 the Office granted his request.
On 25 October 1991 he left Slovenia with the YPA and went to Kraljevo. The applicant maintained that he had left with the YPA so he could fulfil the retirement conditions. On 21 December 1991 he returned to Slovenia, but left again in January 1992, which he maintained was for the purpose of arranging documents for his retirement. On 27 April 1992 the applicant returned to Slovenia, holding that it had not been possible for him to return earlier because of the war. 10 . On 16 July 1992 the military pension fund for the armed forces of the SFRY (hereinafter “the YPA Fund”) found the applicant to be entitled to an early retirement pension under SFRY military rules as from 1 May 1992. The applicant maintained that he had never received any pension from the YPA Fund.
On 27 December 1991 the applicant applied for Slovenian citizenship under section 40 of the Citizenship Act (see paragraph 22 below). By a decision of 7 July 1992 the Ministry of the Interior refused his application, holding that the applicant had not lived in Slovenia between 25 October 1991 and 27 April 1992. The Supreme Court dismissed his subsequent appeal. 12 . On 29 July 1992 the applicant applied for an advance payment of his military pension under the Advance Payment of Military Pensions Ordinance (hereinafter “the Ordinance”; see paragraph 22 below). By a decision of 18 February 1993 the Pension and Disability Insurance Institute of Slovenia (hereinafter “the Institute”) refused the applicant’s application, finding that he had not fulfilled the conditions for pension entitlement under SFRY military rules, namely the age requirement, by 18 October 1991 (section 2(1)(2) of the Ordinance). The Institute also noted that the Ministry of Defence had opined that there had been no indication of the applicant having participated in aggression against Slovenia (section 2(2) of the Ordinance; see paragraph 22 below). His subsequent appeal was dismissed and the applicant initiated court proceedings. 13 . On 4 February 1994 the Court of Associated Labour of the Republic of Slovenia dismissed his claim, holding that the applicant had not fulfilled the conditions under section 2(1)(2) of the Ordinance (see paragraph 22 below) because he had not reached the required retirement age by 18 October 1991. The court emphasised that there had been nothing to suggest that the applicant had participated in aggression against Slovenia as a member of the YPA (section 2(2) of the Ordinance). An appeal, an appeal on points of law and a constitutional complaint all lodged by the applicant were dismissed. 14 . On 4 November 1998 the applicant applied for an old-age pension under the Act on the Rights Stemming from the Pension and Disability Insurance of Former Military Personnel (hereinafter “the 1998 Act”, see paragraph 22 below). On 25 February 1999 the Institute refused his application, holding that he had not continuously had permanent resident status in Slovenia between 25 June 1991 and October 1998 (section 2(1)(2) of the 1998 Act). The applicant appealed. 15 . On 12 August 1999 the Institute dismissed the appeal, holding that the applicant had not fulfilled the statutory requirements under the 1998 Act because he had not continuously had permanent resident status in Slovenia for the relevant period and had failed to claim his pension rights by 25 June 1991 (section 2(1)(2) of the 1998 Act). 16 . On 10 January 2003 the Ljubljana Labour and Social Court dismissed an application for judicial review lodged by the applicant. It pointed out that the applicant had fulfilled the permanent resident status requirement, but had nevertheless not claimed his pension rights by 25 June 1991. 17 . Meanwhile, in October 1999 the applicant reapplied for Slovenian citizenship. On 15 May 2002 the Ministry of Interior issued an assurance to the applicant that he would be granted citizenship if he could prove that he had been released from his current citizenship. On 2 December 2002 the applicant asked the Ministry to grant him citizenship on the basis of the amended Citizenship Act without prior release from his current citizenship. On 4 February 2003 the applicant acquired citizenship by naturalisation under section 19 of the amended Citizenship Act (see paragraph 22 below). 18 . On 19 May 2003, after lodging a new request with the Institute, the applicant was granted an old-age pension as from 4 February 2003 under the Pension and Disability Insurance Act (hereinafter “the general rules”). 19 . The applicant appealed, arguing that he should have been granted the pension as from 1 May 1992. On 3 November 2003 the Institute dismissed his appeal, holding that the applicant had been entitled to an old-age pension under the general rules and section 2(4) of the 1998 Act as from 4 February 2003 – when he had acquired Slovenian citizenship. An application that he lodged for judicial review and a subsequent appeal were also dismissed by the Ljubljana Labour and Social Court and the Higher Labour and Social Court respectively, reiterating the Institute’s arguments. 20 . On 23 March 2009 the Supreme Court dismissed an appeal on points of law lodged by the applicant. The court reiterated that under new section 15 of the 1998 Act (see paragraph 23 below), the applicant would be entitled to a pension retroactively only if he had acquired citizenship under section 40 of the Citizenship Act. 21. On 30 March 2010 the Constitutional Court refused to accept for consideration a constitutional complaint lodged by the applicant, finding that it did not concern an important constitutional issue or entail a violation of human rights which had serious consequences for him. II.
RELEVANT DOMESTIC AND INTERNATIONAL LAW
22 . A detailed account of the domestic law provisions is contained in Ribać (cited above, §§ 25-29). 23 . In November 2006, the 1998 Act was amended (Official Gazette no. 118/2006). The relevant part of the amended section 15 reads as follows: Section 15 Commencement of payment of the benefits under this Act “An old-age pension, [or] an early retirement pension ... under this Act shall be paid from the first day of the month following the submission of the request and retroactively for a maximum period of six months, provided that no such retroactive payment shall be made for a period pre-dating the date of entry into force of this Act. Irrespective of the preceding paragraph, beneficiaries who have acquired citizenship under section 40 of the Citizenship of the Republic of Slovenia Act (Official Gazette nos.
1/91-I, 30/91-I, 38/92, 13/94 and 96/02) shall, on application, be granted and paid an old-age pension, [or] an early retirement pension ... for which they fulfil the requirements under section 2(4) of this Act from the date on which they first fulfilled those requirements ... though not pre-dating 18 October 1991 ...” 24 . A description of the relevant provisions of the Agreement on Succession Issues can be found in Ribać (cited above, § 30). THE LAW I. ALLEGED VIOLATION OF ARTICLE 14 OF THE CONVENTION TAKEN IN CONJUNCTION WITH ARTICLE 1 OF PROTOCOL No. 1 25. The applicant complained that he had been denied an old-age pension between May 1992 and February 2003 on the grounds that he had not had Slovenian citizenship, one of the requirements under the 1998 Act.
He relied on Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. These provisions read as follows: Article 14 “The enjoyment of the rights and freedoms set forth in [the] Convention shall be secured without discrimination on any ground such as sex, race, colour, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, association with a national minority, property, birth or other status.” Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 “Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions. No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law.
The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” A. Admissibility 1. Compatibility ratione personae and ratione materiae 26. The Government argued that the applicant could not claim to have victim status since he had had Serbian citizenship at the relevant time and could thus have requested payment of his military pension from the YPA Fund and consequently from his own State but had failed to do so. They further argued that the applicant did not have any “possessions” within the meaning of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 as the rights granted by Slovenia to the YPA military personnel in question had been provided “voluntarily” and in this regard the applicant had had no legitimate claim.
27. The applicant disputed these arguments. 28. The Court notes that similar objections have already been considered in Ribać v. Slovenia (no. 57101/10, § 34 and 38-45, 5 December 2017). Referring to the reasons set out therein, the Court dismisses the Government’s objections and finds the application compatible with the provisions of the Convention, both ratione personae and ratione materiae . 2. Other grounds for inadmissibility 29. The Court notes that application is not manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 (a) of the Convention and is not inadmissible on any other grounds. It must therefore be declared admissible. B. Merits 1. The parties’ arguments 30. The applicant argued that the respondent State had discriminated against him by refusing to grant him an old-age pension between 1 May 1992 and 4 February 2003 on the grounds of nationality criteria enshrined in the 1998 Act.
31 . The Government argued that Slovenian citizens had not been in the same situation as foreigners with permanent residence in Slovenia who could have expected their own State to assume responsibility for their social security. 32 . In the alternative, the Government argued that, even assuming that there had been a difference in treatment, it had served the legitimate aim of safeguarding the State by ensuring social security for its citizens and protecting the economic system. 33 . The Government further contended that the applicant had remained in active military service in the YPA, which was considered an aggressor army, after Slovenia declared its independence and that he had left Slovenia with the YPA, whereas he could have joined the Territorial Defence of Slovenia and secured his social welfare entitlements in that way.
In addition, had the applicant applied for termination of his Serbian citizenship, he could have been granted Slovenian citizenship on the basis of his application for citizenship in 1999 (see paragraph 17 above). 34 . Lastly, the Government also submitted that the applicant’s old-age pension was a succession issue following the dissolution of the SFRY. 2. The Court’s assessment 35. The relevant principles have been summarised in Ribać (cited above, §§ 51-54). 36 . The Court notes that in the case of Ribać (cited above, §§ 56-60) it has rejected arguments similar to those put forward by the Government in the present case (see paragraph 31 above) and concluded that the applicant’s situation with regard to retirement benefits was similar to that of retired YPA military personnel with Slovenian citizenship.
37. With respect to the retroactive application of the 1998 Act (section 15(2); see paragraph 23 above) and the differences between the retired YPA military personnel who acquired citizenship on the basis of section 40 of the Citizenship Act and those, like the applicant, who acquired it by naturalisation, the Court observes that the Government advanced no arguments regarding the differences between the two groups of beneficiaries. Having regard to the preceding paragraph, the Court cannot but conclude that during the period at issue the applicant’s situation with regard to retirement benefits was similar to that of retired YPA military personnel with Slovenian citizenship acquired under section 40 of the Citizenship Act.
The Court must accordingly determine whether the difference in treatment, which was initially based on the applicant’s nationality, and subsequently on the grounds on which the applicant acquired Slovenian citizenship, was justified, taking into account that the burden of proof for such justification lies with the Government (see D.H. and Others v. the Czech Republic [GC], no. 57325/00, § 177, ECHR 2007 ‑ IV).
38. The Court accepts that the difference in treatment complained of pursued at least one legitimate aim, namely the protection and organisation of the country’s economic and social system (see Ribać , cited above, § 61, and, mutatis mutandis , Andrejeva v. Latvia [GC], no. 55707/00, § 86, ECHR 2009). 39 . As regards the Government’s argument that the applicant had remained in active military service in the YPA, which was considered an aggressor army (see paragraph 33 above), the Court observes that the requirement of non-participation in aggression against Slovenia (section 2(3) of the 1998 Act; see paragraph 22 above) applied to all potential beneficiaries of pension rights under section 2(1), including those of Slovenian nationality (see Ribać , cited above, § 63). In any event, the domestic authorities indicated that there was nothing in the case file before them to suggest that the applicant took part in any aggression against Slovenia (see paragraphs 12-16 above).
The Court therefore rejects this argument by the Government. 40. As to the Government’s argument that the applicant should have joined the Territorial Defence to secure his social welfare entitlements (see paragraph 33 above), the Court notes that in order to be considered a beneficiary under section 2(1)(3) of the 1998 Act (see paragraph 22 above) the applicant would still have had to fulfil the conditions for entitlement to a pension under the military rules by 1 February 1992. Since the applicant only fulfilled the conditions under the military rules in April 1992 – a fact which is not disputed by the Government – his only option would be to be considered a beneficiary under section 2(4) of the 1998 Act, which included a citizenship requirement.
This provision does not differentiate, with respect to eligibility for pensions, between the active military personnel of the former YPA who joined the Territorial Defence and the ones, like the applicant, who did not.
41. As regards the Government’s argument that the applicant’s rights had been the subject of succession negotiations (see paragraph 34 above), the Court reiterates that Slovenia cannot be absolved of its responsibility under Article 14 of the Convention on the grounds that the matter at that time was not regulated by a succession agreement (see Ribać , cited above, § 65). 42. With respect to the differences in the retroactive application of section 15 of the amended 1998 Act (see paragraph 23 above), the Court notes that apart from relying on domestic legal obligations relating to State succession (see paragraph 34 above), the Government advanced no reasons for differential treatment to be given on the grounds of citizenship acquired under section 40 of the Citizenship Act and, like in the applicant’s case, by way of naturalisation.
43. Lastly, the Court cannot accept the Government’s argument that the applicant could have obtained citizenship and the pension rights earlier had he given up his Serbian citizenship following his 1999 application for citizenship (see paragraph 33 above). The prohibition of discrimination enshrined in Article 14 of the Convention is meaningful only if, in each particular case, the applicant’s personal situation in relation to the criteria listed in that provision is taken into account exactly as it stands.
To proceed otherwise, by dismissing the victim’s claims on the ground that he or she could have avoided the discrimination by altering one of the factors in question – for example, by acquiring a nationality – would render Article 14 devoid of substance (see Andrejeva , cited above, § 91). 44. In the light of the above, the Court does not see any reasons to depart, in the present case, from its findings in the case of Ribać (cited above, §§ 61 ‑ 67) and concludes that the difference in treatment complained of had no objective and reasonable justification. There has therefore been a violation of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. II.
APPLICATION OF ARTICLE 41 OF THE CONVENTION
45. Article 41 of the Convention provides: “If the Court finds that there has been a violation of the Convention or the Protocols thereto, and if the internal law of the High Contracting Party concerned allows only partial reparation to be made, the Court shall, if necessary, afford just satisfaction to the injured party.” A. Damage 46. The applicant claimed 84,594 euros (EUR) in respect of pecuniary damage, corresponding to the outstanding pension instalments between 1 May 1992 and 4 February 2003. Referring to domestic statutory default interest rates, he further claimed interest until the date of payment, which on 22 November 2016 amounted to EUR 133,160. The applicant also claimed EUR 50,000 in respect of non-pecuniary damage.
47. The Government disputed the claim for pecuniary damage as excessive. They maintained that the applicant would have met the age requirement for early retirement pension entitlement under section 2(4) of the 1998 Act on 27 October 1994. They further argued that the exchange rate applied by the applicant had been wrong and that the statutory default interest was excessive. The Government also disputed the claim for non ‑ pecuniary damage as unjustified and unsubstantiated. 48. The Court reiterates that the principle underlying the provision of just satisfaction is that the applicant should, as far as possible, be put in the position he or she would have enjoyed had the violation of the Convention not occurred.
Furthermore, the indispensable condition for making an award in respect of pecuniary damage is the existence of a causal link between the damage alleged and the violation found (see, for instance, Andrejeva , cited above, § 111). In the light of the foregoing, the Court awards the applicant EUR 44,853 as compensation for the unpaid pension instalments to which he would have been entitled between October 1994 and February 2003 had the violation of Article 14 not occurred. To this some interest should be added, reflecting the inflation rates since the relevant period (see Ribać , cited above, § 72). It therefore awards him EUR 70,000 in respect of the pecuniary damage sustained.
49. Making its assessment on an equitable basis, the Court also awards the applicant EUR 5,000 in respect of non-pecuniary damage, plus any tax that may be chargeable on that amount (see Ribać , cited above, § 73). B. Costs and expenses 50. The applicant also claimed EUR 3,420 for the costs and expenses incurred before the domestic courts and before the Court. 51. The Government contended that the amount was unfounded and excessive. 52. In accordance with the Court’s case-law, an applicant is entitled to the reimbursement of costs and expenses only in so far as it has been shown that these have been actually and necessarily incurred and are reasonable as to quantum.
Moreover, the Court reiterates that it does not consider itself bound by domestic scales and practices, although it may derive some assistance from them (see, among many examples, Gaspari v. Slovenia , no. 21055/03, § 83, 21 July 2009). Regard being had to the documents in its possession and the above criteria, the Court considers it reasonable to award the applicant the entire amount claimed. C. Default interest 53. The Court considers it appropriate that the default interest rate should be based on the marginal lending rate of the European Central Bank, to which should be added three percentage points.
FOR THESE REASONS, THE COURT, UNANIMOUSLY, 1. Declares the application admissible; 2. Holds that there has been a violation of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1; 3. Holds (a) that the respondent State is to pay the applicant, within three months, the following amounts: (i) EUR 70,000 (seventy thousand euros), plus any tax that may be chargeable, in respect of pecuniary damage; (ii) EUR 5,000 (five thousand euros), plus any tax that may be chargeable, in respect of non-pecuniary damage; (iii) EUR 3,420 (three thousand four hundred and twenty euros), plus any tax that may be chargeable to the applicant, in respect of costs and expenses; (b) that from the expiry of the above-mentioned three months until settlement simple interest shall be payable on the above amounts at a rate equal to the marginal lending rate of the European Central Bank during the default period plus three percentage points; 4. Dismisses the remainder of the applicant’s claim for just satisfaction.
Done in English, and notified in writing on 19 February 2019, pursuant to Rule 77 §§ 2 and 3 of the Rules of Court. Andrea Tamietti Georges Ravarani Deputy Registrar President