- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 17 ianuarie 2022
- Stat pârât
- BGR
- Concluzia
- Comunicată guvernului
Stanevi împotriva Bulgariei
Traducere în română Auto
Publicat la 7 februarie 2022 CUARTA SECȚIUNE Aplicația nr. 56352/14 Maria Hristova STANEVA și Darina Veselinova STANEVA împotriva Bulgariei depusă la 1 august 2014 comunicată la 17 ianuarie 2022 DECLARAREA FACTELOR Reclamanții, dna Darina Veselinova Staneva și dna Maria Hristova Staneva, sunt resortisanți bulgari, care s-au născut în 1991 și, respectiv, în 1963 și trăiesc în Karnobat. Circumstanțele cazului Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de solicitanți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. O rudă apropiată a reclamanților – tatăl primului reclamant și soțul celui de-al doilea reclamant – au murit la 1 septembrie 2010, ca urmare a leziunilor suferite mai devreme, într-un accident de mașină cauzat de H.T.
A fost deschisă o procedură penală împotriva H.T. în legătură cu accidentul, dar au fost întrerupte la 15 iunie 2011. S-a stabilit că acuzatul, care a suferit de o tulburare afectivă bipolară, a fost la momentul respectiv într-o fază maniacală și a suferit simptome psihotice; nu a putut fi astfel considerat responsabil penal. Deoarece H.T. a avut o asigurare de răspundere civilă, în iunie 2011 reclamanții au introdus o procedură împotriva companiei de asigurări, cerând daune în legătură cu moartea rudei. Curtea Sofia City Court, într-o hotărâre din 23 iulie 2012, a acordat astfel de daune. Cu toate acestea, la 14 martie 2013, Curtea de Apel Sofia a anulat această decizie, respingând cererea reclamanților.
a fost asigurat în mod valabil și a cauzat accidentul de ucidere a rudei reclamanților; acesta a afirmat, de asemenea, că la momentul accidentului H.T. a fost de părere necorespunzătoare, ceea ce înseamnă că daunele cauzate reclamanților nu au fost cauzate prin „facultatea”, conform articolului 45 din Legea privind obligațiile și contractele (a se vedea legea internă relevantă de mai jos). H.T nu a putut fi considerat responsabil în mod civil, ceea ce a însemnat că asiguratorul său, a cărui răspundere propriu, astfel cum este definită la art. 226 § 1 din Codul de Asigurare 2005 (a se vedea mai jos legislația internă relevantă) nu a fost responsabilă de asemenea.
„condiționată cu privire la răspunderea persoanei asigurate și în cazurile în care acestea din urmă nu sunt responsabile pentru orice prejudiciu cauzat victimelor, asiguratorul nu datorează nici plata daunelor.” Într-o decizie finală din 10 martie 2014 Curtea Supremă de Cassare a refuzat să accepte în vederea examinării apelului reclamanților în privința punctelor de drept. În constatarea că nu există motive de examinare a acestui recurs, a remarcat în special că concluziile Curții de Apel ale Sofia privind răspunderea „funcțională” a asigurătorului sunt conforme cu propria practică. Regulile generale ale legii Tort sunt stabilite în Legea Obligațiilor și Contractelor. Secțiunea 45 alineatul (1) din Lege prevede că toată lumea este obligată să repare daunele pe care le au, prin vina lor, provocate la altul.
La art. 45 alineatul (2), vina este presupusă până la dovedirile contrare. Asigurarea răspunderii civile a fost reglementată în conformitate cu Codul de Asigurare 2005, în vigoare la momentul respectiv. art. 226 din Codul prevede, în special, că persoana care a suferit daune din cauza faptului asigurat ar putea solicita compensarea pentru această daune direct de la asigurator. Asigurarea răspunderii civile este obligatorie pentru conducătorii. Un așa-numit fond de garantare a fost creat în temeiul articolului 287 din Codul de asigurare, cu contribuția financiară a tuturor asigurătorilor licențiați, însărcinat să ofere compensații în situații specifice care nu sunt acoperite de un contract de asigurare – cum ar fi în cazul în care persoana care a cauzat accidentul a fost necunoscută sau nu a fost asigurată, sau în cazul în care vehiculul implicat în accident a fost furat.
Situațiile relevante, enumerate la art. 288 din Codul, nu acoperă situația obținută în acest caz. COMPLAINTE Reclamanții se plâng, în baza articolului 13 din Convenție și la art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1, că nu au putut primi compensații pentru moartea rudei lor. 2 din Convenție, în special pentru a pune în aplicare un sistem judiciar eficient care să permită reclamanților un recurs adecvat pentru moartea rudei lor apropiate (a se vedea Vanyo Todorov c. Bulgaria , nr. 31434/15, §§ 58-67, 21 iulie 2020)? A fost justificată indisponibilitatea de compensare pentru solicitanți, fie prin răspunderea asigurătorului sau, eventual, prin Fondul de Garantare? Reclamanții au o „așteptare legitimă” de a primi compensații și, prin urmare, art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 se aplică?
Dacă este cazul, refuzul de a acorda o astfel de compensație în conformitate cu cerințele acestei dispoziții?
Published on 7 February 2022
FOURTH SECTION
Application no. 56352/14 Maria Hristova STANEVA and Darina Veselinova STANEVA against Bulgaria lodged on 1 August 2014 communicated on 17 January 2022
STATEMENT OF FACTS
The applicants, Ms Darina Veselinova Staneva and Ms Maria Hristova Staneva, are Bulgarian nationals, who were born in 1991 and 1963 respectively and live in Karnobat. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the applicants, may be summarised as follows. A close relative of the applicants – father of the first applicant and husband of the second applicant – died on 1 September 2010, as a result of injuries sustained several days earlier in a car crash caused by H.T. Criminal proceedings were opened against H.T. in relation to the accident, but they were discontinued on 15 June 2011. It was established that the accused, who suffered from a bipolar affective disorder, had at the time been in a manic phase and experiencing psychotic symptoms; he could not thus be held criminally liable.
Since H.T. had had a civil liability insurance, in June 2011 the applicants brought proceedings against the insurance company, seeking damage in relation to their relative’s death. The Sofia City Court, in a judgment of 23 July 2012, awarded such damage. However, on 14 March 2013 the Sofia Court of Appeal reversed this decision, dismissing the applicants’ claim. It found undisputed that H.T. had been validly insured and that he had caused the accident killing the applicants’ relative; it affirmed also that at the time of the accident H.T. had been of unsound mind, which meant that the damage caused to the applicants had not been through his “fault”, as required under section 45 of the Obligations and Contracts Act (see Relevant domestic law below).
H.T could not be held civilly liable, which meant that his insurer, whose own liability as defined in Article 226 § 1 of the Code of Insurance 2005 (see Relevant domestic law below) was “functional”, was not liable as well. The insurer’s liability was “conditioned on the liability of the insured person and in cases where the latter is not liable for any damage caused to the victims, the insurer does not owe the payment of damages either.” In a final decision of 10 March 2014 the Supreme Court of Cassation refused to accept for examination the applicants’ appeal on points of law. In finding no grounds to examine that appeal, it noted in particular that the Sofia Court of Appeal’s findings on the insurer’s “functional” liability were in accordance with its own constant practice.
Relevant domestic law The general rules of the law of tort are set out in the Obligations and Contracts Act. Section 45(1) of the Act provides that everyone is obliged to make good the damage which they have, through their fault, caused to another. Under section 45(2), fault is presumed until proved otherwise. Civil liability insurance was regulated under the Code of Insurance 2005, in force at the relevant time. Article 226 of the Code provided in particular that the person having sustained damage through the fault of the insured could claim compensation for that damage directly from the insurer. Civil liability insurance is obligatory for drivers.
A so-called Guarantee Fund was created under Article 287 of the Code of Insurance, with the financial contribution of all licensed insurers, tasked with providing compensation in specific situations not covered by an insurance contract – such as where the person having caused the accident was unknown or had not been insured, or where the vehicle implicated in the accident had been stolen. The relevant situations, enumerated in Article 288 of the Code, do not cover the situation obtaining in the present case. COMPLAINTS The applicants complain, relying on Article 13 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1, that they could not receive compensation for their relative’s death.
QUESTIONS TO THE PARTIES
1. Did the respondent State meet its procedural obligations under Article 2 of the Convention, in particular to put in place an effective judicial system affording the applicants adequate redress for their close relative’s death (see Vanyo Todorov v. Bulgaria , no. 31434/15, §§ 58-67, 21 July 2020)? Was the unavailability of compensation to the applicants, either through the liability of the insurer or, possibly, through the Guarantee Fund, justified? 2. Did the applicants have a “legitimate expectation” to receive compensation and was therefore Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 applicable? If so, was the refusal to award such compensation in line with that provision’s requirements?