- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 16 iunie 2022
- Stat pârât
- NOR
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Stevens împotriva Norvegiei
Traducere în română Auto
A cincea secțiune decizia nr. 42259/20 Patrick STEVENS împotriva Norvegiei Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (A Cincea Secțiune), care a stat la 16 iunie 2022 în calitate de comitet compus din: Ganna Yudkivska , președinte, Ivana Jelić Arnfinn Bårdsen , judecători și Martina Keller, grefierul adjunct al secțiunii având în vedere: cererea (nu.
42259/20) împotriva Norvegiei depusă în fața Curții în temeiul articolului 34 din Convenția pentru protecția drepturilor omului și a libertăților fundamentale („Convenția”) la 8 septembrie 2020 de un național irlandez, dl Patrick Stevens, care s-a născut în 1951 și trăiește în Fareham (Regatul Unit) și care a fost reprezentat de dl Danielsen, un avocat practicant la Oslo; hotărârea de a anunța guvernul norvegian („ Guvernul”), reprezentată de dl M. Emberland, al Oficiului Procurorului General (Questione Civil), ca agent al acestora, asistat de dna I. Thue, avocat de la același birou, a plângerilor referitoare la art. 14 din Convenție și la art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție și de a declara restul cererii inadmisibil; Observațiile părților; după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: OBIECTUL CAUZEI Cazul se referă la un cetățen irlandez care a lucrat ca scufundator în sectorul petrolierului din Marea Nord și care s-a plâns în temeiul articolului 14 din Convenția și al articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenția privind concedierea unei cereri de compensare acordate de Parlamentul norvegian în favoarea submarinelor care au contractat leziuni și alte probleme de sănătate în timpul scufundării pentru operatorii din sectorul petrolier din Marea de Nord din 1965 până în 1990 și care au fost, sau au fost, membri ai schemei naționale de asigurări sociale norvegiene.
Reclamantul a efectuat operațiuni de scufundare în perioada relevantă, dar nu a fost și nu a fost membru al schemei naționale de asigurări sociale norvegiene. Solicitările sale de compensare, prezentate la un consiliu special de compensare înființat pentru administrarea schemei de compensare, au fost în consecință respinse. El a formulat o cerere în instanța internă împotriva hotărârii consiliului special de compensare, susținând în esență că fie are dreptul la compensare, fie că, în calitate de național neorwegian, a fost privat de acest drept într-o manieră discriminatorie, dar în niciun scop. El a menținut aceste argumente în fața Curții. EVALUAREA TRIBUNALULUI Curtea remarcă, la început, că nu trebuie să decidă în legătură cu obiecția guvernului față de cererea din motivele că aceaceasta a fost depusă în afara termenului de șase luni stabilit în momentul respectiv la art. 1 din Convenția, sau argumentul reclamantului că a fost depus în termenul respectiv.
Cererea a fost, în orice caz, depusă în cadrul prelungirii de trei luni introduse prin decizia Președintelui Curții în 2020 ca urmare a blocării impuse în Franța din cauza pandemiei COVID 19 (a se vedea Saakashvili c. Georgia (dec.), nr. 6232/20 și 22394/20, §§ 46-59, 1 martie 2022 ) și, prin urmare, nu este inadmisibil ca fiind depus din timp. În ceea ce privește plângerea în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție, Curtea înțelege că, după crearea schemei de compensare impușite în 2004, persoanele care îndeplinesc cerințele stabilite în aceasta au dreptul la compensare în temeiul dreptului intern. Cu toate acestea, Curtea constată că reclamantul nu a fost și nu a fost membru al schemei naționale de asigurare socială.
Deoarece reclamantul nu a îndeplinit în consecință condițiile de eligibilitate pentru sistemul de compensare, este evident că nu în temeiul cererii sale de compensare are o „poziție” în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. Curtea nu poate, de asemenea, să considere că reclamantul a indus orice tip de material care să demonstreze că, în procesul care a condus la instituirea sistemului de compensare, autoritățile interne au acționat în orice mod, oferind motive de a „așteptare legitimă” să beneficieze de aceasta.
Rezultă că plângerea în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenția luată în monoterapie este incompatibilă ratione materiae cu dispozițiile Convenției în sensul articolului 35 § 3 litera (a) și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 § 4. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție, Curtea va demersa pe baza că sistemul de compensare impugat în general poate avea legătură cu interesele proprietăților într-un mod care l-a făcut să se încadreze în „amblul” din art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1, în cazul în care plângerea de discriminare nu este incompatibilă ratione materiae cu dispozițiile Convenției (a se vedea, de exemplu, mutatis mutandis Puricel v. România (dec.), nr. 20511/04, 14 iunie 2011). Curtea înțelege că principala plângere a reclamantului este una de discriminare pe baza naționalității sale, în măsura în care a susținut că membrii schemei naționale de asigurări sociale norvegiene au fost, în mare parte, și resortisanții norvegieni.
Cu toate acestea, Curtea remarcă că condiția nerespectată nu se referă la cetățenia norvegienă, ci la aderarea la sistemul național de asigurare socială norvegiană, și că este nediscutat că resortisanții altor țări au fost incluse în cazul în care au fost sau au fost membri ai sistemului și că resortisanții norvegieni au fost excluși dacă nu au fost sau nu au fost membri. Cei care au fost inclus în schema de compensare ar fi locuit, în general, în Norvegia și ar fi plătit contribuții de securitate socială și, deși compensația specifică nu depinde de contribuții speciale, multe, dacă nu majoritatea beneficiilor obișnuite din sistemul național de asigurare socială ar fi, de asemenea, legate de aderarea acestora.
Având în vedere aspectele de mai sus, Curtea nu este în măsură să aboneze argumentului reclamantului potrivit căruia cerința de aderare a indicat că în realitate a fost discriminat pe baza naționalității sale. Nu este clar dacă reclamantul a susținut, de asemenea, că a fost discriminat în funcție de statutul său de membru al regimului național de asigurare socială norvegian sau al unui nerezident al Norvegiei ca atare. Cu toate acestea, Curtea nu consideră necesar să decidă dacă astfel de membri sau astfel de rezidenți vor fi comparatori relevante în temeiul articolului 14 din Convenția, întrucât consideră că cerințele de eligibilitate pentru schema de compensare au fost în orice caz suficient de justificate, rezultă din cele de mai sus că plângerea prevăzută la art. 14 din Convenția coroborat cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenția este evident nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu articolul (a) și cu art. 4 din Convenția.
Din aceste motive, Curtea declară în unanimitate cererea inadmisibilă. Efectuată în limba engleză și notificată în scris la 7 iulie 2022. Martina Keller Ganna Yudkivska Președintele adjunct al grefierului
FIFTH SECTION
DECISION Application no. 42259/20 Patrick STEVENS against Norway The European Court of Human Rights (Fifth Section), sitting on 16 June 2022 as a Committee composed of: Ganna Yudkivska , President, Ivana Jelić , Arnfinn Bårdsen , Judges, and Martina Keller, Deputy Section Registrar , Having regard to: the application (no. 42259/20) against Norway lodged with the Court under Article 34 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (“the Convention”) on 8 September 2020 by an Irish national, Mr Patrick Stevens, who was born in 1951 and lives in Fareham, United Kingdom (“the applicant”), and who was represented by Mr P. Danielsen, a lawyer practising in Oslo; the decision to give notice to the Norwegian Government (“the Government”), represented by Mr M. Emberland, of the Attorney General’s Office (Civil Matters), as their Agent, assisted by Ms I. Thue, a lawyer at the same office, of the complaints concerning Article 14 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention and to declare the remainder of the application inadmissible; the parties’ observations; Having deliberated, decides as follows:
SUBJECT MATTER OF THE CASE
1. The case concerns an Irish national who used to work as a diver in the petroleum sector in the North Sea and who complained under Article 14 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention about the dismissal of an application he had made for compensation awarded by the Norwegian Parliament to divers who had contracted injuries and other health issues while diving for operators in the petroleum sector in the North Sea from 1965 to 1990 and who were, or had been, members of the Norwegian national social insurance scheme.
The applicant had carried out diving operations during the relevant period, but was not and had not been a member of the Norwegian national social insurance scheme. His applications for compensation, submitted to a special compensation board set up to administer the compensation scheme, were accordingly dismissed. He brought a claim in the domestic courts against the special compensation board’s decision, arguing essentially that he either had a right to compensation or that, as a non-Norwegian national, he had been deprived of that right in a discriminatory manner, but to no avail. He maintained those arguments before the Court.
THE COURT’S ASSESSMENT
3. The Court notes at the outset that it does not have to decide on the Government’s objection to the application on the grounds that it had been lodged outside the six-month time-limit set out at the relevant time in Article 35 § 1 of the Convention, or the applicant’s argument that it had been lodged within that time-limit. The application was in any event lodged within the three-month extension introduced by decision of the President of the Court in 2020 as a consequence of the lockdown imposed in France on account of the COVID ‑ 19 pandemic (see Saakashvili v. Georgia (dec.), nos. 6232/20 and 22394/20, §§ 46-59, 1 March 2022 ) and is therefore not inadmissible as having been lodged out of time.
With regard to the complaint under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention, it is the Court’s understanding that once the impugned compensation scheme had been created in 2004, the persons who satisfied the requirements set therein had a right to compensation under domestic law. However, the Court finds it established that the applicant was not and had not been a member of the national social insurance scheme. Since the applicant accordingly did not fulfil the eligibility conditions for the compensation scheme, it is clear that he did not by virtue of his claim for compensation have a “possession” within the meaning of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. Nor is the Court able to consider that the applicant has adduced any kind of material to show that in the process leading to the establishment of the compensation scheme, the domestic authorities had acted in any manner giving grounds for a “legitimate expectation” to benefit from it.
It follows that the complaint under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention taken alone is incompatible ratione materiae with the provisions of the Convention within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 (a) and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 § 4.
Turning to the complaint under Article 14 of the Convention in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention, the Court will proceed on the basis that the impugned compensation scheme in general may have related to proprietary interests in a manner that made it fall within the “ambit” of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1, in which case the discrimination complaint is not incompatible ratione materiae with the provisions of the Convention (see for example, mutatis mutandis , Puricel v. Romania (dec.), no. 20511/04, 14 June 2011).
The Court understands the applicant’s principal grievance to be one of discrimination on the basis of his nationality, in so far as he argued that members of the Norwegian national social insurance scheme had largely also been Norwegian nationals. The Court notes, however, that the impugned condition did not refer to Norwegian nationality, but to membership of the Norwegian national social insurance scheme, and that it is undisputed that nationals of other countries were included if they were or had been members of the scheme and that Norwegian nationals were excluded if they were not or had not been members. Those who were included in the compensation scheme would, in general, have resided in Norway and have paid social security contributions and, although the particular compensation was not dependent on special contributions, many, if not most of the ordinary benefits from the national social insurance scheme would also be linked to membership thereof.
Taking account of the above matters, the Court is unable to subscribe to the applicant’s argument that the membership requirement indicated that he had in reality been discriminated against on the basis of his nationality. It finds it unclear whether the applicant also maintained that he had been discriminated against on the basis of his status as a non-member of the Norwegian national social insurance scheme or a non-resident of Norway as such. Nonetheless, the Court does not find it necessary to decide on whether such members or such residents would be relevant comparators under Article 14 of the Convention as it considers that the eligibility requirements for the compensation scheme were in any event sufficiently justified.
It follows from the above that the complaint under Article 14 of the Convention in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 (a) and 4 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously, Declares the application inadmissible. Done in English and notified in writing on 7 July 2022. Martina Keller Ganna Yudkivska Deputy Registrar President