- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 28 martie 2023
- Stat pârât
- POL
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Szweblik împotriva Poloniei
Traducere în română Auto
PRIMEA SECȚIUNE DECIZIE Nr. 13266/16 Jadwiga Barbara SZWEBLIK împotriva Poloniei Curții Europene a Drepturilor Omului (prima secțiune), care a stat la 28 martie 2023 în calitate de comitet al comitetului compus din: Lṣtif Hüseynov , Președintele Krzysztof Wojtyczek, Erik Wennerström , judecători și Liv Tigerstedt, secretar adjunct al secțiunii, având în vedere cererea (nu).
13266/16) împotriva Republicii Poloniei depusă Curții în temeiul articolului 34 din Convenția pentru protecția drepturilor omului și a libertăților fundamentale („Convenția”) la 4 martie 2016 de către un național polonez, dna Jadwiga Barbara Szweblik („reclamantul”), care s-a născut în 1951 și trăiește în Goleszów; hotărârea de a anunța cererea la Guvernul Polonez („Guvernul”), reprezentat de agentul lor, J. Sobczak, al Ministerului Afacerilor Externe; observațiile părților; având deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: OBJETORUL CAUZULUI Cererea se referă la refuzul de a returna reclamantului contribuțiile de securitate socială care au fost plătite în mod necorespunzător de ea în anii 1990. Activitatea de afaceri a reclamantului La 19 februarie 1992, reclamantul, psiholog, a informat Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rybnik ( Zakład Ubezpieczeń Społecznych – „Consiliul” care nu mai lucrează pentru fostul său angajator și care s-a înregistrat în schimb ca antreprenor.
Reclamantul nu a informat Consiliul că totuși a continuat să fie angajată până la 31 iulie 2001, pe o perioadă de jumătate de timp, de către un spital public care plătea contribuțiile de securitate socială în numele ei. Între 1 Martie 1992 si 31 decembrie 1998, reclamantul a platit contributii lunare de asigurare sociala si de asigurare de sanatate in calitate de antreprenor. Conform unei declaratii emise de Board la 14 iulie 2016, in acea perioada reclamantul a platit 15.334 zloti polonezi (PLN) in contributii in calitate de antreprenor. La 23 martie 2012, Consiliul a emis o decizie prin care a declarat că între 1 martie 1992 și 31 decembrie 1998, reclamantul nu a fost, de fapt, asigurat ca antreprenor, deoarece a continuat să lucreze jumătate timp ca angajat.
Potrivit legii, persoanele care acționează în activități de afaceri în timp ce sunt angajate la cel puțin jumătate de timp au fost asigurate doar ca angajat. În consecință, Consiliul a exclus reclamantul din sistemul de securitate socială pentru antreprenori în această perioadă. Reclamantul a apelat împotriva deciziei. La 28 iunie 2012, Curtea Regională Bielsko-Biała ( Såd Okręgowy ) și-a respins recursul. Curtea a reiterat că, în temeiul dreptului intern, reclamantul nu a avut obligația de a plăti contribuțiile de securitate socială ca antreprenor, deoarece a fost deja asigurată ca angajat. Reclamantul a depus un apel suplimentar. La 23 mai 2013, Curtea de Apel Katowice ( Sād Apelacyjny ) a respins recursul, declarând că Consiliul are dreptul de a verifica în orice moment drepturile de asigurare, chiar și după o perioadă semnificativă de timp s-a petrecut.
De asemenea, a remarcat că Consiliul nu a putut stabili dacă reclamantul a fost angajat și înregistrat simultan ca întreprinzător, deoarece înainte de 1 ianuarie 1999, nu s-a constatat niciun cont individual pentru persoanele asigurate. Procedura privind cererea reclamantului de returnare a contribuțiilor de securitate socială plătite necorespunzător La 18 iulie 2013, Consiliul, bazat pe un interval de timp de cinci ani, a refuzat să returneze reclamantului contribuțiile plătite de la 1 martie 1992 la 31 decembrie 1998. La 20 noiembrie 2013, Curtea Regională Bielsko-Biała și-a respins recursul. Reclamantul a depus un recurs suplimentar. La 21 august 2015 Curtea de Apel Katowice și-a respins recursul.
Curtea a stabilit că între 1992 și 1998 reclamantul a plătit în mod incorect contribuțiile de securitate socială. Autoritățile au fost corecte în evaluarea faptului că rambursarea acestor contribuții a fost limitată la timp. Din moment ce legislația internă s-a schimbat în acest sens, instanța a aplicat termenul de cinci ani în partea corespunzătoare a perioadei și termenul de zece ani în perioada din 1998. În orice caz, reclamația a fost limitată la timp. Curtea a remarcat, de asemenea, că drepturile de pensie ale reclamantului nu au fost afectate deoarece autoritățile au luat în considerare contribuțiile plătite de ea ca antreprenor atât pentru calcularea perioadei de asigurare, cât și pentru capitalul acumulat.
La 2 octombrie 2015, s-a trimis reclamantului o copie a hotărârii cu motive. Calculul pensiei 10. Reclamantul a început să primească pensia de pensionare în 2006. La 20 octombrie 2011, Consiliul a emis o decizie în care a determinat suma pensiei reclamantului și valoarea capitalului acumulat de ea până în prezent. La calcularea acestor sume, Consiliul a luat în considerare toate contribuțiile reclamantului, inclusiv cele plătite ca antreprenor în anii 1992-1998. Reclamantul s-a plâns în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenția cu privire la încălcarea drepturilor sale de proprietate, deoarece a fost exclusă din sistemul de securitate socială pentru întreprinzători după o perioadă semnificativă de timp și contribuțiile de securitate socială plătite în mod necorespunzător nu au fost returnate la ea.
Guvernul a formulat mai multe obiecții preliminare, în special în ceea ce privește nerespectarea normei de șase luni în legătură cu plângerea reclamantului cu privire la excluderea din sistemul de securitate socială pentru întreprinzători. 13. Guvernul a susținut în continuare că cererea era incompatibilă ratione materiae cu dispozițiile Convenției și ale Protocolelor sale și vădit nefondat, deoarece reclamantul nu a fost privat de posesiuni. Ei au subliniat faptul că reclamantul a fost exclus ex lege de la sistemul de securitate socială pentru antreprenori în perioada între 1 martie 1992 și 31 decembrie 1998, deoarece în perioada respectivă a rămas angajată. Hotărârea Consiliului, susținută de instanțe, a fost pur și simplu declarativă și a adus statutul juridic în conformitate cu faptele.
Deciziile interne nu au avut consecințe financiare negative pentru reclamant. Drepturile sale de pensie, inclusiv capitalul inițial acumulat, au fost determinate la 20 octombrie 2011, înainte de decizia de a exclude-o din sistemul de securitate socială pentru antreprenori. În acel moment autoritatea a luat în considerare contribuțiile plătite de ea ca antreprenor. Nu a fost luată o decizie ulterioară de recalculare a pensiei. Astfel, decizia de 23 de ani Martie 2012 nu a avut nici un efect asupra determinării cuantumului capitalului inițial acumulat de reclamant sau asupra calculului pensiei pe care le-a primit-o de atunci. 14. Reclamantul, în general, nu este de acord cu Guvernul, susținând că a fost îndepărtată retroactiv din sistemul de securitate socială pentru întreprinzătorii la care a contribuit.
În plus, a fost refuzată rambursarea contribuțiilor de securitate socială plătite în mod necorespunzător, ceea ce constituie o încălcare a drepturilor sale la Convenția. 15. Curtea remarcă că centrul plângerii reclamantului a fost că, după o perioadă semnificativă de timp, ea a fost exclusă din sistemul de securitate socială pentru întreprinzătorii la care a contribuit timp de aproximativ șase ani în anii 1990. Cu toate acestea, decizia finală privind problema acoperirii de securitate socială a reclamantului a fost eliberată de Curtea de Apel Katowice la 23 mai 2013. În consecință, această plângere a fost depusă din timp și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 1 și 4 din Convenție.
În al doilea rând, reclamantul s-a plâns că contribuțiile de securitate socială plătite necorespunzător de ea între 1992 și 1998 nu au fost returnate la ea. Instanțele interne au examinat legislația relevantă și au concluzionat că afirmația ei a fost limitată la timp și că nu ar fi putut fi examinată cu privire la fondul. Curtea reiterează că autoritățile interne sunt în măsură să evalueze mai bine faptele cauzei și dreptul intern aplicabil. În plus, constată că instanța internă a luat în considerare faptul că, deși decizia din 23 martie 2012 a exclus oficial reclamantul din schema pentru antreprenori, aceasta nu a condus la consecințe negative pentru ea. Contribuțiile plătite de reclamant în calitate de antreprenor au fost luate în considerare atât pentru calculul perioadei de asigurare, cât și pentru capitalul acumulat (a se vedea punctul 9 mai sus).
Astfel cum a explicat Guvernul și nu contestat de către solicitant, drepturile sale de pensie au fost stabilite înainte ca Consiliul să elibereze decizia din 23 martie 2012. Prin urmare, toate drepturile sale de pensie, inclusiv suma capitalului inițial, au fost deja calculate și au inclus sumele plătite de către ea în mod necorespunzător ca antreprenor. Astfel, reclamantul continuă să primească o pensie mai mare decât altfel ar fi fost cazul, calculat pe baza tuturor contribuțiilor plătite de ea.
17. Prin urmare, Curtea nu poate constata că reclamantul a suportat o sarcină excesivă, nici nu se poate spune că dreptul reclamantului de a obține beneficii din sistemul de securitate socială în cauză a fost încălcat într-un mod care a determinat deficiența esenței drepturilor de pensie (a se vedea Cichopek și alții c. Polonia (dec.), nr. 15189/10 și altele, § 153, 14 mai 2013). 18. Rezultă că cererea trebuie respinsă pentru faptul că este evident nefondată în conformitate cu art. 35 § 4 din Convenție. Din aceste motive, Curtea declară în unanimitate cererea inadmisibilă. Efectuată în limba engleză și notificată în scris la 20 aprilie 2023. Liv Tigerstedt LÄtif Hüseynov Președintele adjunct al grefierului
FIRST SECTION
DECISION Application no. 13266/16 Jadwiga Barbara SZWEBLIK against Poland The European Court of Human Rights (First Section), sitting on 28 March 2023 as a Committee composed of: Lətif Hüseynov , President , Krzysztof Wojtyczek, Erik Wennerström , judges , and Liv Tigerstedt, Deputy Section Registrar, Having regard to: the application (no. 13266/16) against the Republic of Poland lodged with the Court under Article 34 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (“the Convention”) on 4 March 2016 by a Polish national, Ms Jadwiga Barbara Szweblik (“the applicant”), who was born in 1951 and lives in Goleszów; the decision to give notice of the application to the Polish Government (“the Government”), represented by their Agent, Mr J. Sobczak, of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs; the parties’ observations; Having deliberated, decides as follows:
SUBJECT MATTER OF THE CASE
1. The application concerns the refusal to return to the applicant the social security contributions which were unduly paid by her in the 1990s. The applicant’s business activity
On 19 February 1992 the applicant, a psychologist, informed the Rybnik Social Security Board ( Zakład Ubezpieczeń Społecznych – “the Board”) that she no longer worked for her former employer and had instead registered as an entrepreneur. The applicant failed to inform the Board that she nevertheless continued to be employed until 31 July 2001, on a half-time basis, by a public hospital which had been paying social security contributions on her behalf.
Between 1 March 1992 and 31 December 1998, the applicant paid monthly social security and health insurance contributions as an entrepreneur. According to a statement issued by the Board on 14 July 2016, during that period the applicant paid 15,334 Polish zlotys (PLN) in contributions as an entrepreneur. Proceedings concerning the applicant’s social security cover
On 23 March 2012 the Board issued a decision by which it declared that between 1 March 1992 and 31 December 1998 the applicant had not in fact been insured as an entrepreneur because she had continued working half ‑ time as an employee. According to the law, persons who engaged in business activity while being employed on at least a half-time basis were only insured as an employee. In consequence, the Board excluded the applicant from the social security scheme for entrepreneurs in respect of that period. The applicant appealed against that decision.
On 28 June 2012 the Bielsko–Biała Regional Court ( Sąd Okręgowy ) dismissed her appeal. The court reiterated that, under the domestic law, the applicant had had no obligation to pay social security contributions as an entrepreneur since she had already been insured as an employee. The applicant lodged a further appeal.
On 23 May 2013 the Katowice Court of Appeal ( Sąd Apelacyjny ) dismissed her appeal. It held that the Board had the right to verify insurance entitlements at any time, even after a significant period of time had elapsed. It also noted that the Board had been unable to establish whether the applicant had been simultaneously employed and registered as an entrepreneur because prior to 1 January 1999 there had been no individual accounts for insured persons. Proceedings concerning the applicant’s request for return of unduly paid social security contributions
On 18 July 2013 the Board, relying on a five-year time-bar, refused to return to the applicant the contributions which she had paid from 1 March 1992 to 31 December 1998. The applicant appealed.
On 20 November 2013 the Bielsko–Biała Regional Court dismissed her appeal. The applicant lodged a further appeal.
On 21 August 2015 the Katowice Court of Appeal dismissed her appeal. The court established that between 1992 and 1998 the applicant had been unduly paying social security contributions. The authorities were correct in assessing that the reimbursement of those contributions had been time-barred. Since the domestic law had changed in this respect the court applied the five-year time-limit to the appropriate part of the period and the ten-year time-limit to the period in 1998. In any event the claim had been time-barred. The court also noted that the applicant’s pension rights had not been affected as the authorities had taken into account the contributions paid by her as an entrepreneur both for the calculation of the period of insurance and as regards the accumulated capital. On 2 October 2015 a copy of the judgment with reasons was sent to the applicant. Calculation of the applicant’s pension
The applicant began receiving her retirement pension in 2006. On 20 October 2011 the Board issued a decision in which it determined the amount of the applicant’s pension and the amount of capital accumulated by her so far. When calculating those amounts, the Board took into account all of the applicant’s contributions, including those she had paid as an entrepreneur in the years 1992-1998. Complaints
The applicant complained under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention about violations of her property rights as she had been excluded from the social security scheme for entrepreneurs after a significant period of time and the unduly paid social security contributions had not been returned to her.
THE COURT’S ASSESSMENT
12. The Government raised several preliminary objections, in particular regarding non-compliance with the six-month rule in connection with the applicant’s complaint about being excluded from the social security scheme for entrepreneurs.
The Government further submitted that the application was incompatible ratione materiae with the provisions of the Convention and the Protocols thereto and manifestly ill-founded as the applicant had not been deprived of any possessions. They underlined that the applicant had been excluded ex lege from the social security scheme for entrepreneurs in the period between 1 March 1992 and 31 December 1998 because during that period she had remained employed. The decision of the Board, upheld by the courts, had been merely declaratory and had brought her legal status into line with the facts. The domestic decisions had not had any negative financial consequences for the applicant. Her pension rights, including the initial capital she had accumulated, had been determined on 20 October 2011, prior to the decision excluding her from the social security scheme for entrepreneurs. At that time the authority had taken into account the contributions paid by her as an entrepreneur. No subsequent decision recalculating the pension had been taken. Thus, the decision of 23 March 2012 had had no effect on the determination of the amount of the initial capital accumulated by the applicant or the calculation of the pension that she had since been receiving.
The applicant in general disagreed with the Government. She submitted that she had been retroactively removed from the social security scheme for entrepreneurs to which she had been contributing. Moreover, she had been refused reimbursement of unduly paid social security contributions, which amounted to a breach of her Convention rights.
The Court notes that the core of the applicant’s complaint was that, after a significant period of time, she had been excluded from the social security scheme for entrepreneurs to which she had been contributing for some six years in the 1990s. However, the final decision on the matter of the applicant’s social security cover was issued by the Katowice Court of Appeal on 23 May 2013. The applicant lodged her application with the Court on 4 March 2016. Accordingly, this complaint has been lodged out of time and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 1 and 4 of the Convention.
Secondly, the applicant complained that the social security contributions unduly paid by her between 1992 and 1998 had not been returned to her. The domestic courts examined the relevant legislation and concluded that her claim was time-barred and as such could not have been examined on the merits. The Court reiterates that the domestic authorities are better placed to evaluate the facts of the case and the domestic law applicable. Moreover, it notes that the domestic courts took into account the fact that, although the decision of 23 March 2012 had formally excluded the applicant from the scheme for entrepreneurs, it had led to no negative consequences for her. The contributions paid by the applicant as an entrepreneur had been taken into account both for the calculation of the period of insurance and as regards the accumulated capital (see paragraph 9 above). As explained by the Government and not contested by the applicant, her pension rights had been established before the Board issued the decision of 23 March 2012. All her pension rights, including the amount of the initial capital, had therefore already been calculated and included the sums paid by her unduly as an entrepreneur. The applicant thus continues to receive a higher pension than would otherwise have been the case, calculated on the basis of all contributions paid by her.
The Court thus cannot find that the applicant has been made to bear an excessive burden. Nor it can be said that the applicant’s right to derive benefits from the social security scheme in question has been infringed in a manner resulting in the impairment of the essence of her pension rights (see Cichopek and Others v. Poland (dec.), nos. 15189/10 and others, § 153, 14 May 2013).
It follows that the application must be rejected for being manifestly ill-founded in accordance with Article 35 § 4 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously, Declares the application inadmissible. Done in English and notified in writing on 20 April 2023. Liv Tigerstedt Lətif Hüseynov Deputy Registrar President