- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 27 mai 2003
- Stat pârât
- FIN
- Concluzia
- Scoasă de pe rol
Immonen împotriva Finlandei
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE DECIZIE Nr. 50875/99 de Markku Juhani IMMONEN împotriva Finlandei Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (Catrică Secțiune), care a stat la 27 mai 2003 în calitate de Cameră compusă de Președintele Sir Nicolas Bratza Pellonpäää dna Palm Fischbach Casadevill Pavlovschi, J. Borrego Borrego, judecători și dl O’Boyle, având în vedere cererea depusă la 4 iunie 1999, După deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Originalul solicitant, dl Markku Juhani Immonen, a fost un național finlandez, născut în 1949 și a murit la 18 martie 2002. Moștenitorii lui sunt văduva sa, dna Pirkko-Liisa Manninen, și fiii lui Jarno și Hannu Immonen. Ele sunt reprezentate în fața Curții de către dl. Panu Voutilainen, avocat practicant în Espoo.
Guvernul contestat este reprezentat de agentul lor, dl Arto Kosonen, director al Ministerului Afacerilor Externe. Circumstanțele cazului Faptele cazului, astfel cum a fost prezentat de solicitant, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Reclamantul este un mecanic de aeronavă care a avut un accident la muncă la 14 ani. Ianuarie 1993 când a căzut trei metri și jumătate de scară, situat pe o dubă. A fost dus la spital, unde a fost diagnosticat, printre altele, cu contuzie. Nu s-a găsit nici o leziune cerebrală într-o tomografie calculată (CT). Potrivit deciziei companiei de asigurări din 16 de ani Iunie 1993, sistemul de asigurare al reclamantului a acoperit cheltuielile și pierderea veniturilor până la 30 aprilie 1993, deoarece s-a constatat că nu poate lucra din cauza accidentului până la data respectivă.
Incapacitatea reclamantului începând cu data respectivă s-a constatat că a redus la sub 10% (10%) din capacitatea sa deplină. Prin urmare, a fost hotărât că cheltuielile medicale ale reclamantului și pierderea veniturilor nu vor mai fi rambursate din cadrul schemei de asigurare. Reclamantul a apelat împotriva deciziei societății de asigurare în cadrul Consiliului de compensare a accidentelor (tapaturmalautakunta, olycksfallsnämnd El a susținut că invaliditatea sa, cauzată de leziuni cerebrale pe care le-a suferit în accident, l-a împiedicat să lucreze. El a prezentat mai multe declarații medicale în sprijinul apelului său, conform căreia alte examene medicale efectuate în cazul său au dezvăluit că suferă de o leziune cerebrală permanentă cauzată de accident și, prin urmare, nu a putut continua în activitatea sa anterioară ca mecanic de aeronavă.
1993 Consiliul a refuzat apelul reclamantului fără o audiere orală pe care reclamantul a cerut-o. A constatat că simptomele reclamantului nu ar fi fost probabil cauzate de accident. Întrucât scanarea CT efectuată la scurt timp după ce accidentul nu a dezvăluit semne de leziune cerebrală, reclamantul nu a demonstrat că a suferit de o leziune cerebrală cauzată de accident. Reclamantul a apelat împotriva hotărârii Consiliului în fața Curții de Asigurări ( Vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstol ), care a prezentat noi dovezi medicale în sprijinul apelului său și a solicitat, de asemenea, o audiere orală.
În decizia din 15 august 1995, Curtea de Asigurări a ordonat societății de asigurări să plătească reclamantului o alocație zilnică pentru pierderea veniturilor sale pentru perioada examenelor medicale, adică până la 31 mai 1994. La 7 decembrie 1998, Curtea Supremă (korkein oikeus, högsta domstolen) a refuzat reclamantul să permită apelul, după ce a solicitat observații de la Consiliul Național de Afaceri Medicolegale ( Terveydenhuollon oikeusturvakeskus, rättskyddscentralen för hälsovården ) în cazul reclamantului. Două avize de experți au fost atașate la observațiile Consiliului. Potrivit primului, creierul reclamantului a fost rănit în accident, ceea ce i-a cauzat handicapul. Potrivit a doua opinie, accidentul a cauzat reclamantului cel mai mult o leziune cerebrală ușoară, dacă ar fi fost vreuna.
Chiar dacă reclamantul trebuia considerat ca fiind un handicap permanent, s-a constatat că leziunile cerebrale nu era cauza principală a handicapului său. Reclamantul a murit la 18 martie 2002. Legea internă relevantă În conformitate cu secțiunea 9 alin. (1) din Legea Tribunalului de Asigurări (laki vakuutusoikeudesta, lagen om försäkringsdomstolen 14/58) ca fiind în vigoare la momentul respectiv, au fost scrise procedurile dinaintea Curții de Asigurări. Cu toate acestea, Curtea de Asigurări ar putea decide din motive speciale să facă o audiere orală în cazul în care părțile, martorii și experții ar putea fi auzite. De asemenea, ar putea solicita ca dovezile să fie luate de o instanță obișnuită de primă instanță.
Potrivit articolului 53 litera (b) din Legea privind asigurarea accidentelor (tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lagen la olycksfallsförsäkring 608/48), cel care dorește să apeleze împotriva hotărârii Curții de Asigurări, trebuie să caute permisiunea de recurs, care poate fi acordată în temeiul dispozițiilor din capitolul 30 secțiunea 3 din Codul de Procedură Judiciară (oikeudenkäymiskaari, rättegångsbalk) În conformitate cu capitolul 30, secțiunea 20, din Codul de Procedură Judicială, Curtea Supremă poate, atunci când este necesar, să desfășoare o audiere orală, în cazul în care părțile, martorii și experții pot fi auziți și alte dovezi pot fi luate. 1 din Convenția că el nu a avut o audiere echitabilă de către un tribunal independent și imparțial.
El se referă în acest sens la următoarele aspecte: durata procedurii a fost excesivă. În special, a luat Curtea Supremă trei ani și patru luni să-l refuze să facă apel. Consiliul de compensare a accidentelor și Curtea de Asigurări nu au dat motive adecvate pentru hotărârile privind presupusa incapacitate a reclamantului de a dovedi că a suferit leziuni cerebrale, chiar dacă reclamantul a prezentat numeroase declarații medicale în acest sens. Nu a existat o audiere orală în fața consiliului de compensare a accidentelor și a Tribunalului de Asigurări. Prin scrisoarea din 28 noiembrie 2002, Curtea a invitat Guvernul să prezinte observații cu privire la admisibilitatea și fondurile cazului. Guvernul a propus, prin scrisoarea din 11 martie 2003, că sunt dispuse să plătească moștenitorilor reclamantului o sumă de 3 333 EUR pentru prejudiciu moral și o sumă de 2.000 EUR pentru costurile și cheltuielile în decontare integrală și finală a acestei chestiuni.
Prin scrisoarea la Curtea din 8 aprilie 2003 moștenitorii reclamantului au acceptat oferta guvernului și au declarat că sunt dispuși să renunțe la toate cererile suplimentare împotriva statului Finlandei, pe baza faptelor prezentei cereri. Prin scrisoarea din 16 aprilie 2003, Guvernul a confirmat că soluționarea a fost încheiată cu următoarele termeni: „A fost făcută soluționarea cu privire la ex gratia Guvernul va plăti moștenitorii reclamantului pentru prejudiciu moral 3,333 EUR, precum și pentru costurile și cheltuielile 2,000 EUR. Moștenitorii reclamantului declară că, sub rezerva îndeplinirii de către Guvern a ceea ce se menționează în soluționarea care urmează să fie descrise, acestea nu au alte cereri împotriva statului finlandez, pe baza faptelor prezentei cereri.” Curtea constată că această chestiune a fost rezolvată în sensul articolului 37 1 litera (b) din Convenție.
Este, de asemenea, convins că acordul părților se bazează pe respectul drepturilor omului, astfel cum este definit în Convenția sau în Protocolurile sale (art. 37 în amendă ). Prin urmare, cazul ar trebui eliminat din lista de cauze a Curții. Din aceste motive, Curtea decide în unanimitate pentru a elimina cererea din lista de cazuri. Michael O’Boyle Nicolas Bratza Președintele grefierului
FOURTH SECTION
DECISION Application no. 50875/99 by Markku Juhani IMMONEN against Finland The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 27 May 2003 as a Chamber composed of Sir Nicolas Bratza , President , Mr M. Pellonpää , Mrs E. Palm , Mr M. Fischbach , Mr J. Casadevall , Mr S. Pavlovschi, Mr J. Borrego Borrego, judges , and Mr M. O’Boyle , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 4 June 1999, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The original applicant, Mr Markku Juhani Immonen, was a Finnish national, who was born in 1949 and died on 18 March 2002. His heirs are his widow, Mrs Pirkko-Liisa Manninen, and his sons Jarno and Hannu Immonen. They are represented before the Court by Mr Panu Voutilainen, a lawyer practising in Espoo.
The respondent Government are represented by their Agent, Mr Arto Kosonen, Director, Ministry of Foreign Affairs. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the applicant, may be summarised as follows. The applicant is an aircraft mechanic who had an accident at work on 14 January 1993 when he fell three and a half metres down from a ladder which was situated on top of a van. He was taken to hospital where he was diagnosed, inter alia , with concussion. No brain injury was found in a computed tomography (CT) scan. According to the insurance company’s decision of 16 June 1993, the applicant’s insurance scheme covered the expenses and loss of income until 30 April 1993 as he was found to be unable to work due to the accident until that date.
The applicant’s disability as from that date onwards was found to have reduced to under ten per cent (10 %) of his full capacity. It was, thus, decided that the applicant’s medical expenses and loss of income would no longer be refunded from the insurance scheme. The applicant appealed against the insurance company’s decision to the Board for Accident Compensation ( tapaturmalautakunta, olycksfallsnämnd ). He argued that his disability, caused by brain injuries he suffered in the accident, prevented him from working. He submitted several medical statements in support of his appeal, according to which further medical examinations carried out in his case had revealed that he was suffering from a permanent brain injury caused by the accident and was, thus, unable to continue in his previous work as an aircraft mechanic.
On 30 November 1993 the Board refused the applicant’s appeal without an oral hearing which the applicant had requested. It found that the applicant’s symptoms were not likely to have been caused by the accident. As the CT scan carried out shortly after the accident had revealed no signs of brain injury, the applicant had failed to prove that he was suffering from a brain injury caused by the accident. The applicant appealed against the Board’s decision to the Insurance Court ( vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstol ), submitting new medical evidence in support of his appeal. He also requested an oral hearing. In its decision of 15 August 1995 the Insurance Court ordered the insurance company to pay the applicant a daily allowance in compensation for his lost income for the period of time of the medical examinations, i.e.
until 31 May 1994. It refused the rest of the applicant’s appeal without an oral hearing, finding that the applicant has not been diagnosed with a brain injury which had been caused by the accident in question. On 7 December 1998 the Supreme Court ( korkein oikeus, högsta domstolen ) refused the applicant leave to appeal, after having requested observations from the National Board of Medicolegal Affairs ( terveydenhuollon oikeusturvakeskus, rättskyddscentralen för hälsovården ) in the applicant’s case. Two expert opinions were attached to the Board’s observations. According to the first one, the applicant’s brain had been injured in the accident, causing his disability. According to the second opinion, the accident had caused the applicant at most a mild brain injury, if any.
Even though the applicant was to be regarded as permanently disabled, it was found that the brain injury was not the main cause of his disability. The applicant died on 18 March 2002. B. Relevant domestic law According to Section 9, subsection 1, of the Insurance Court Act (laki vakuutusoikeudesta, lagen om försäkringsdomstolen 14/58) as in force at the relevant time, the proceedings before the Insurance Court were written. However, the Insurance Court could for special reasons decide to hold an oral hearing where the parties, witnesses and experts could be heard. It could also request that evidence be taken by an ordinary court of first instance.
According to Section 53(b) of the Accident Insurance Act (tapaturmavakuutuslaki, lagen on olycksfallsförsäkring 608/48), one who wants to appeal against the Insurance Court’s decision to the Supreme Court must seek leave to appeal, which can be granted under the provisions set out in Chapter 30, Section 3, of the Code of Judicial Procedure (oikeudenkäymiskaari, rättegångsbalk) . According to Chapter 30, Section 20, of the Code of Judicial Procedure, the Supreme Court may, when necessary, hold an oral hearing, where the parties, witnesses and experts may be heard, and other evidence may be taken. COMPLAINTS The applicant complained under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention that he did not have a fair hearing by an independent and impartial tribunal.
He refers in this respect to the following aspects: 1. The length of the proceedings was excessive. In particular, it took the Supreme Court three years and four months to refuse him leave to appeal. 2. The Board for Accident Compensation and the Insurance Court did not give adequate reasons for their decisions concerning the applicant’s alleged inability to prove that he had suffered brain damage even though the applicant had submitted numerous medical statements to that effect. 3. There was no oral hearing before the Board for Accident Compensation and the Insurance Court. THE LAW By letter dated 28 November 2002 the Court invited the Government to submit observations on the admissibility and merits of the case.
The Government proposed, by letter dated 11 March 2003, that they were prepared to pay to the applicant’s heirs a sum of EUR 3,333 for non-pecuniary damage and a sum of EUR 2,000 for costs and expenses in full and final settlement of the matter. By their letter to the Court of 8 April 2003 the applicant’s heirs accepted the Government’s offer and stated that they were willing to give up all further claims against the State of Finland, based on the facts of the present application. By letter dated 16 April 2003 the Government confirmed that the settlement had been concluded on the following terms: “The settlement has been made on ex gratia basis. The Government will pay the heirs of the applicant for non-pecuniary damage EUR 3,333 as well as for costs and expenses EUR 2,000.
The heirs of the applicant declare that, subject to the fulfilment by the Government of what is stated in the settlement to be outlined, they have no further claims against the Finnish State, based on the facts of the present application.” The Court notes that the matter has been resolved within the meaning of Article 37 § 1 (b) of the Convention. It is further satisfied that the parties’ agreement is based on respect for human rights as defined in the Convention or its Protocols (Article 37 § 1 in fine ). Accordingly, the case should be struck out of the Court’s list of cases. For these reasons, the Court unanimously Decides to strike the application out of its list of cases. Michael O’Boyle Nicolas Bratza Registrar President