- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 28 martie 2006
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Lemel împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA cererilor nr. 27988/03 și nr. 5069/04 de către Nathan LEMEL și James HUNTER împotriva Regatului Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care așezează la 28 martie 2006 ca Cameră compusă din: Președintele Casadevell Sir Nicolas Bratza Bonello Maruste Pavlovschi Garlicki Borrego, judecători și grefierul Secțiunii O’Boyle Având în vedere cererea depusă la 13 iulie 2003, având în vedere decizia de a aplica art. 29 § 3 din Convenție și de a examina împreună admisibilitatea și fondurile cazului, având în vedere observațiile prezentate de guvernul contestat și observațiile în răspuns transmise de solicitant, după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: A. Dl Lemel (Depunerea nr. 27988/03, depusă la 1 decembrie 2003) Dl Nathan Lemel este un național britanic care s-a născut la 24 iunie 1929 și locuiește la Londra.
El nu este reprezentat în acțiunea dinaintea Curții. Soția sa a murit la 2 iulie 1993. În sau în jurul anului octombrie 2003, reclamantul a solicitat Agenției de Beneficii pentru plata prestațiilor de securitate socială echivalent cu cele la care o văduvă, al căror soț a murit în condiții similare cu cele ale soției sale, ar fi avut dreptul. El a fost informat printr-o scrisoare datată 3 Noiembrie 2003 că Agenția de Beneficii nu a putut accepta cererea sa ca o cerere validă, deoarece reglementările care reglementează plata beneficiilor văduvelor erau specifice femeilor. La momentul cererii, reclamantul nu a primit beneficiile pentru copii. B. dl Hunter (Aplicația nr. 5069/04, depusă la 20 ianuarie 2004) Reclamantul, dl James Hunter, este un național britanic născut la 12 noiembrie 1934 și locuiește în East Kilbride.
El este reprezentat de dl C.S. Fyfe al avocatilor Ross Harper, Glasgow. Soția sa a murit la 27 ianuarie 1997. În sau în jurul anului august 2003, reclamantul a solicitat Agenției de Beneficii pentru plata prestațiilor de securitate socială echivalent cu cele la care o văduvă, al căror soț a murit în condiții similare cu cele ale soției sale, ar fi avut dreptul. El a fost informat printr-o scrisoare din 16 august 2003 că Agenția de Beneficii nu a putut accepta cererea sa ca cerere valabil, deoarece reglementările care reglementează plata beneficiilor văduvelor sunt specifice femeilor. Avocatul său a fost respins de către Tribunalul de Apel la 3 noiembrie 2003. La momentul cererii, reclamantul nu a primit beneficiile pentru copii.
Legea internă relevantă pentru aceste cereri este prevăzută în Willis v. Regatul Unit nr. 36042/97, §§ 14-26, CEDO 2002-IV. HOTĂRÂREA Reclamanții se plâng în temeiul articolelor 8 și 14 din Convenția și art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 care, deoarece erau bărbați, nu aveau dreptul la echivalentul beneficiilor văduvei. Guvernul conteste admisibilitatea acestor cereri. În ceea ce privește dl Lemel, ei susțin că, deși el a fost văduv în 1993, el nu a formulat o cerere de beneficii de răbdare până în 2003, la care el a fost peste vârsta de pensionare. O văduvă în poziția sa nu ar fi fost eligibilă pentru aderarea mamei văduvă sau plata văduvă. În mod asemănător, ei susțin că dl Hunter, care a fost văduv în 1997 dar nu a solicitat prestații până în 2003, a solicitat prea târziu pentru a fi eligibil pentru plata unei văduve.
În formularul său de cerere, dl Lemel a făcut trimitere numai la cererea sa în 2003 la Serviciul de Pensiuni. Într-o scrisoare adresată Curții care răspunde la observațiile guvernului, el a scris: „... notez că, împotriva cererii mele, s-a afirmat că „nu s-a afirmat nici o cerere în ceea ce privește beneficiile de la dobândă până în 2003”. Acest lucru nu este adevărat și complet incorect.
Biroul Pensiunilor din Newcastle, Marea Britanie, a fost perfect conștient că am făcut o cerere de beneficii de pierdere, nu numai din cauza premiului european în urmă cu câțiva ani, dar ... în principal din cauza contribuțiilor Naționale pentru Sănătate, soția mea îndelungată a făcut fondului de asigurare timp de până la 30 de ani de la părăsirea școlii în urmă cu peste 40 de ani ...” Dl Hunter susține că cea de șase luni de la art. 35 alineatul (1) nu ar trebui să se aplice în cazul său, deoarece se plângea de decizia Guvernului de a nu modifica retrospectivamente legea pentru a-i permite să primească o plată extra-estatutică echivalentă cu beneficiul unei văduve. Acesta a fost un eșec în curs de desfășurare, și nu a existat nici o decizie specifică pe care el ar putea contesta și de la care perioada de șase luni ar începe să se execute.
Curtea reamintește, în primul rând, că, în temeiul articolului 34 din Convenție, aceasta poate primi cereri de persoane fizice și de alte persoane „clamând să fie victimă de o încălcare de către una dintre Înaltele părți contractante a drepturilor prevăzute în Convenție sau a protocoalelor în cauză”. Pentru a pretinde că este victimă de o încălcare, o persoană trebuie să fie afectată direct de măsura încurcată (a se vedea, de exemplu, Cornwell c. Regatul Unit , nr. 36578/97 , hotărârea din 11 mai 1999 . În conformitate cu legislația care prevede beneficiile văduvei în momentul respectiv (a se vedea Willis ) ), o văduvă nu are dreptul automat la beneficiile supraviețuitorilor, ci a trebuit să le revendice de la autoritatea relevantă.
Diferite termene aplicate: o văduvă a trebuit să facă o cerere de plată a văduvei în termen de trei luni de la moartea soțului ei și o cerere de acordare a mamei văduvă sau pensie a văduvăi poate fi făcută în afara termenului respectiv, dar ar fi retrasă numai trei luni. , Curtea a considerat că, până când un om nu a depus o cerere către autoritățile interne pentru beneficii de răbdare, nu a putut fi considerat o „victima” a presupusei discriminări implicate în refuzul de a plăti astfel de prestații, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție nu ar avea dreptul automat la beneficiile văduvilor până când nu a depus o cerere (și a se vedea și White v. Regatul Unit , nr. 53134/99, hotărârea din 7 iunie 2001, în care Curtea a clarificat că, atâta timp cât un reclamant a arătat autorităților intenția sa de a solicita prestații, forma exactă în care a făcut acest lucru nu era importantă.
În mod similar, un bărbat care nu s-a aplicat în termenele aplicate femeilor nu a putut, în majoritatea cazurilor, pretinde că este o victimă a discriminării, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție nu ar fi avut dreptul la beneficiul în cauză (a se vedea Rogan c. Regatul Unit) , nr. 57946/00, hotărârea din 8 septembrie 2001. În cele din urmă, având în vedere această cerință de notificare a autorităților cu privire la intenția de a cere beneficii, Curtea a fost practică consecventă în ceea ce privește cererile de văduvi care se plâng împotriva Regatului Unit cu privire la nedisponibilitatea pentru bărbați de beneficii văduve sau echivalent, de a susține că termenul de șase luni de la art. 35 § 1 din Convenție începe să se execute de la data refuzului final de către autoritățile interne a acestor beneficii (a se vedea cel mai recent Barrow și alții c. Regatul Unit, nr. 68175/01, 68928/01, 69327/01, 13944/02, decizia din 13 decembrie 2005). În ceea ce privește dl Lemel, Curtea remarcă că nu este clar din formularul său de cerere și observații, dacă el a solicitat sau nu beneficiile văduvilor în orice moment înainte de octombrie 2003. Totuși, cererea sa a fost depusă la 1 decembrie 2003 la Curtea.
În cazul în care dl Lemel a solicitat prestații la o dată mai devreme, mai aproape de moartea soției sale, plângerile sale privind refuzul de a-l plăti în acel moment ar fi inadmisibil în conformitate cu reglementarea de șase luni. La data cererilor de pensie și plată a Viduvii din 2003, reclamanții aveau peste 65 de ani și soțiile lor au murit mai mult de trei luni înainte. Întrucât numai femeile sub 65 de ani aveau eligibilitate pentru pensia a Viduvii (a se vedea Willis) ) și din moment ce termenul limită al cererii de plată a văduvei a fost de trei luni după moartea soțului, o femeie în aceeași poziție pe care reclamanții nu ar fi avut dreptul la nici un beneficiu. Indemnitatea mamelor văduvice a fost plătită numai femeilor care au solicitat beneficii de copil în ceea ce privește copiii dependenți.
Prin urmare, reclamanții nu pot pretinde că sunt victime de discriminare. Din aceste motive, Curtea declară în unanimitate cererile inadmisibile.
FOURTH SECTION
DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Applications nos. 27988/03 and 5069/04 by Nathan LEMEL and James HUNTER against the United Kingdom The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 28 March 2006 as a Chamber composed of: Mr J. Casadevall , President , Sir Nicolas Bratza , Mr G. Bonello , Mr R. Maruste , Mr S. Pavlovschi , Mr L. Garlicki , Mr J. Borrego Borrego, judges , and Mr M. O’Boyle , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 13 July 2003, Having regard to the decision to apply Article 29 § 3 of the Convention and examine the admissibility and merits of the case together, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS A. Mr Lemel (Application no. 27988/03, lodged on 1 December 2003) The applicant, Mr Nathan Lemel, is a British national who was born on 24 June 1929 and lives in London.
He is not represented in the proceedings before the Court. His wife died on 2 July 1993. In or around October 2003 the applicant applied to the Benefits Agency for the payment of social security benefits equivalent to those to which a widow, whose husband had died in similar circumstances to those of his wife, would have been entitled. He was informed by a letter dated 3 November 2003 that the Benefits Agency was unable to accept his application as a valid claim because the regulations governing the payment of widows’ benefits were specific to women. At the time of the claim the applicant was not in receipt of child benefit. B. Mr Hunter (Application no. 5069/04, lodged on 20 January 2004) The applicant, Mr James Hunter, is a British national who was born on 12 November 1934 and lives in East Kilbride.
He is represented by Mr C.S. Fyfe of Ross Harper solicitors, Glasgow. His wife died on 27 January 1997. In or around August 2003 the applicant applied to the Benefits Agency for the payment of social security benefits equivalent to those to which a widow, whose husband had died in similar circumstances to those of his wife, would have been entitled. He was informed by a letter dated 16 August 2003 that the Benefits Agency was unable to accept his application as a valid claim because the regulations governing the payment of widows’ benefits were specific to women. His appeal was dismissed by the Appeal Tribunal on 3 November 2003. At the time of the claim the applicant was not in receipt of child benefit.
B. Relevant domestic law and practice The domestic law relevant to these applications is set out in Willis v. the United Kingdom , no. 36042/97, §§ 14-26, ECHR 2002-IV. THE LAW The applicants complain under Articles 8 and 14 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 that, because they were men, they were not entitled to the equivalent of widow’s benefits. The Government contest the admissibility of these applications. In respect of Mr Lemel, they assert that although he was widowed in 1993, he did not make a claim for bereavement benefits until 2003, at which point he was over retirement age. A widow in his position would not have been eligible for Widowed Mother’s Allowance or Widow’s Payment.
Similarly, they submit that Mr Hunter, who was widowed in 1997 but made no claim for benefits until 2003, applied too late to be eligible for a Widow’s Payment. In his application form, Mr Lemel made reference only to his application in 2003 to the Pension Service. In a letter to the Court responding to the Government’s observations, he wrote: “... I note that against my application it was stated ‘no claim in respect of bereavement benefits until 2003’. This is not true and completely incorrect.
The Pensions Office in Newcastle, U.K., was perfectly aware that I made an application for bereavement benefits, not only because of the European award a few years ago, but ... mainly because of the National Health contributions my late wife made to the insurance fund for up to 30 years since leaving school as a teenager over 40 years ago ...” Mr Hunter submits that the six months rule in Article 35 § 1 should not apply in his case, since he was complaining about the Government’s decision not to amend the law retrospectively to enable him to receive an extra-statutory payment equivalent to a widow’s benefit. This was an on-going failure, and there was no specific decision which he could challenge and from which the six-month period would start to run.
The Court recalls, first, that under Article 34 of the Convention it may receive applications from individuals and others “claiming to be the victim of a violation by one of the High Contracting Parties of the rights set forth in the Convention or the protocols thereto”. In order to claim to be a victim of a violation, a person must be directly affected by the impugned measure (see, for example, Cornwell v. the United Kingdom , no. 36578/97, decision of 11 May 1999). Under the legislation providing for widow’s benefits at the relevant time (see Willis ), a widow was not automatically entitled to survivors’ benefits, but had to claim them from the relevant authority. Various time-limits applied: a widow had to make a claim for Widow’s Payment within three months of her husband’s death and a claim for Widowed Mother’s Allowance or Widow’s Pension could be made outside that time-limit, but would be back-dated only three months.
In Cornwell , the Court held that until a man had made a claim to the domestic authorities for bereavement benefits, he could not be regarded as a “victim” of the alleged discrimination involved in the refusal to pay such benefits, because a woman in the same position would not automatically be entitled to widow’s benefits until having made a claim (and see also White v. the United Kingdom , no. 53134/99, decision of 7 June 2001, where the Court clarified that, as long as an applicant had made clear to the authorities his intention to claim benefits, the precise form in which he did so was not important).
Similarly, a man who failed to apply within the time-limits as they applied to women could not, in most cases, claim to be a victim of discrimination, since a woman in the same position would not have been entitled to the benefit in question (see Rogan v. the United Kingdom , no. 57946/00, decision of 8 September 2001). Finally, in the light of this requirement to notify the authorities of an intention to claim benefits, it has been the Court’s consistent practice in respect of applications by widowers complaining against the United Kingdom about the non-availability to men of widows’ benefits or equivalent, to hold that the six months time-limit in Article 35 § 1 of the Convention begins to run from the date of the final refusal by the domestic authorities of such benefits (see, most recently, Barrow and Others v. the United Kingdom, nos.
68175/01, 68928/01, 69327/01, 13944/02, decision of 13 December 2005). In respect of Mr Lemel, the Court notes that it is not clear from his application form and observations whether or not he applied for widowers’ benefits at any time before October 2003. However, his application was lodged with the Court on 1 December 2003. If Mr Lemel did apply for benefits at some earlier date, closer to his wife’s death, his complaints about the refusal to pay him benefits at that time would be inadmissible under the six months rule. At the dates of their claims in 2003 for Widow’s Pension and Payment, the applicants were over the age of 65 and their wives had died more than three months before. Since only women under the age of 65 were eligible for a Widow’s Pension (see Willis ) and since the deadline for a claim for Widow’s Payment was three months after the husband’s death, a woman in the same position as the applicants would not have been entitled to either benefit.
Widowed Mothers’ Allowance was payable only to women who were claiming child benefit in respect of dependent children. The applicants cannot, therefore, claim to be victims of discrimination. For these reasons, the Court unanimously Declares the applications inadmissible. Michael O’Boyle Josep Casadevall Registrar President