- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 15 martie 2007
- Stat pârât
- ROU
- Articole
- Articolul 6
- Concluzia
- Încălcare — Articolul 6
- Prejudiciu moral — sumă acordată
- Cheltuieli de judecată — sumă acordată
Gheorghe împotriva României
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamantul s-a născut în 1971 și trăiește în Ploiești. Reclamantul suferă de hemofilia A care a fost diagnosticată la naștere. Hemofilia A este o tulburare ereditară congenitală caracterizată de coagularea sângelui întârziată și sângerarea severă după leziuni chiar minore. Ea necesită tratament cu coagulantul specific, factor VIII. Reclamantul lucrează ca oficial într-un spital local. Începând din 1992, Comitetul pentru experți medicali și reabilitarea ocupațională („Consiliul”) atașat Ministerului Ocuparei forței de muncă și bunăstarea socială a examinat reclamantul o dată pe an și l-a emis de fiecare dată cu un certificat temporar care declară că a suferit de invaliditate de gradul al doilea.
10. Acest certificat a servit ca bază pentru obținerea de la Biroul pentru persoanele cu handicap din județ („ Biroul”) a drepturilor prevăzute de Legea nr. 53/1992 privind protecția specială a persoanelor cu handicap – care a inclus asistență medicală gratuită, transport și închiriere telefonică – împreună cu ajutor fiscal în temeiul Legii nr. 35/1993, sub formă de scutire a salariului persoanei cu handicap din impozitul pe venit. 11. La 26 octombrie 1998, Consiliul a confirmat incapacitatea reclamantului de gradul 2 prin intermediul unui certificat care poartă îndoielile scrise „valid for Legea nr. 35/1993”. Potrivit informațiilor furnizate de solicitant, în mod obișnuit a fost adăugată de către comitet, deoarece acelasi certificat a fost utilizat pentru obținerea drepturilor în temeiul Legii nr. 53/1992 și a lichidării fiscale în temeiul Legii nr. 35/1993.
12. Într-o scrisoare din 15 decembrie 1998, Biroul a informat reclamantul că departamentul său de contabilitate a decis să își suspende drepturile în temeiul Legii nr. 53/1992, din cauza faptului că certificatul emis la 26 octombrie 1998 a făcut trimitere numai la Legea nr. 35/1993 și, prin urmare, a putut fi utilizat numai pentru obținerea drepturilor prevăzute de legea respectivă. 13. Prin scrisoarea din 3 februarie 1999, Ministerul Ocuparei forței de muncă a informat reclamantul că „în absența unor dispoziții contrare, nu a existat nici un obstacol juridic care împiedică persoanele care [au deținut] un certificat care să atestă un grad de invaliditate care necesită protecție specială de a beneficia de toate drepturile și concesiunile pentru care [au fost] eligibile prin lege”.
14. La 29 octombrie 1999, Consiliul a confirmat invaliditatea reclamantului de gradul II. Certificatul emis în această ocazie a fost marcat din nou „valid for Legea nr. 35/1993”. 15. În urma unei deteriorari ascuțite a situației sale din cauza lipsei sale de tratament, reclamantul, într-un memorial depus la Secretariatul de Stat pentru persoane cu handicap la 3 aprilie 2000, a contestat suspendarea drepturilor sale în temeiul Legii nr. 53/1992. 16. Într-un răspuns din 6 aprilie 2000, Secretariatul de Stat a informat reclamantul că nicio dispoziție legală nu a interzis agregarea drepturilor în temeiul Legii nr. 35/1993 și nr. 53/1992, iar persoanele care suferă de handicap de gradul al doilea ar trebui să poată beneficia de drepturile disponibile în ambele legi.
17. Într-o acțiune administrativă în fața Curții de Apel Ploiești la 30 noiembrie 2000 împotriva Biroului și a Secretariatului de Stat pentru persoane cu handicap, reclamantul a solicitat recunoașterea statutului său de persoane cu handicap care solicită protecția specială prevăzută de Legea nr. 53/1992 și a solicitat compensație pentru prejudiciile materiale și morale cauzate de suspendarea drepturilor sale între octombrie 1998 și septembrie 2000, care, susținut el, a determinat o deteriorare gravă și rapidă a situației sale. El solicită secretariatului de stat să-i plătească suma de 1.184.502.000 lei român (ROL), reprezentând costul tratamentului pe care l-ar fi primit gratuit dacă Biroul nu i-ar suspenda drepturile în temeiul Legii nr. 53/1992, precum și o sumă de ROL 11.920.200 corespunzător valorii închirierii de transport și de telefon pe care nu le mai avea dreptul să le primească gratuit.
18. După o audiere de la 15 ianuarie 2001, avocatul reclamantului a solicitat suspendarea pronunțarii hotărârii pentru a-i permite să depună declarații scrise. 19. Curtea de Apel și-a pronunțat hotărârea la 22 ianuarie 2001. Acesta a observat că Consiliul a eliberat reclamantul cu certificate anuale care declară că are o invaliditate de gradul al doilea. Prin urmare, instanța a considerat că reclamantul a fost recunoscută ca având statutul pe care l-a solicitat în cursul perioadei în cauză; în consecință, a respins prima cerere ca fiind nefondată. 20. În ceea ce privește daunele, instanța a susținut că nu are competența de a lua în considerare problema și a returnat dosarul la Curtea Civilă a Județeanului Prahova.
21. De la 5 la 10 februarie 2001 reclamantul a primit tratamentul în pacient pentru hemoragie în Clinica Colțea Hematologie din București. 22. În timpul procedurii în fața Curții Județene, la 12 martie, 4 mai și 1 iunie 2001, avocatul reclamantului a solicitat o amânare pentru a-i permite să adauge dovezi la dosarul și să depună declarații scrise. 23. Într-o hotărâre din 5 iunie 2001 Curtea județeană, la rândul său, a refuzat jurisdicția în favoarea Curții de Apel. Curtea Supremă de Justiție, solicitată să rezolve conflictul de competențe, a pronunțat o hotărâre la 21 noiembrie 2001 în care a susținut că Curtea de Apel Ploiești are competență. Cazul a fost reintrodus în lista instanței respective.
24. Curtea de Apel a auzit dovezi de la doi martori chemați de reclamant și a ordonat un raport de experți medicali privind sănătatea reclamantului. 25. Raportul expert a fost elaborat de serviciul medical forense al orașului Ploiești. A observat numeroase episoade de sângerare internă care au dus la deformare osoasă foarte severă, articulații imobilizate și mobilitatea afectată. În concluzie, raportul a afirmat că „întreruperea tratamentului [a avut ca rezultat o agravare bruscă a bolii, promovarea apariției unor complicații foarte grave, adică sângerări interne și externe, sângerări intracraniale cu hematome, paralizie, flebită și asfixie”. 26. În cadrul procedurii dinainte de Curtea de Apel, la 12 martie 2002, reclamantul a solicitat o suspendare pentru a-l permite să angajeze un nou avocat.
La 7 iunie 2002, avocatul său a solicitat o nouă suspendare, astfel încât să poată depune plângeri scrise. 27. Într-o hotărâre din 14 iunie 2002, Curtea de Apel, pe baza constatărilor sale privind certificatele emise de către comitet în 1998 și 1999, a constatat că, pentru perioada în cauză, reclamantul a fost recunoscută ca având un handicap de gradul al doilea. 102/1999 din 29 iunie 1999, înlocuind Legea nr. 53/1992] alocarea sa la una dintre categoriile de handicap” și a subliniat că el ar putea „considera și solicită revizuirea clasificării sale într-o anumită categorie dacă nu mai corespunde la realitate”. Curtea a adăugat că reclamantul nu poate decât să pună o acțiune în fața instanțelor care doresc să își afirme drepturile în cazul în care autoritățile competente, după ce au decis să-l atribuie unei alte categorii de handicap, au refuzat ulterior să-i acorde drepturile prevăzute de lege.
Curtea a concluzionat că, în măsura în care reclamantul [nu a] furnizat [ed] dovada că acum a aparținut categoriei de persoane cu un handicap mai sever, care ar fi putut să-l califice pentru o gamă mai largă de drepturi”, plângerea sa a fost nefondată și a respins acțiunea în consecință. 28. Reclamantul a apelat la Curtea Supremă de Justiție din cauza faptului că Curtea de Apel a înșelat obiectul acțiunii sale, că a omit să se pronunțe asupra plângerii sale cu privire la suspendarea drepturilor sale în temeiul Legii nr. 53/1992 și faptul că invaliditatea de gradul al doilea care a fost recunoscută ca fiind suferit l-a făcut eligibil pentru agregatul de drepturi în temeiul celor două legi. 29. La o audiere de la 25 februarie 2003, reclamantul a solicitat suspendarea examinării apelului său din cauza starei sale de sănătate, ceea ce se presupune că l-a împiedicat să asista la audiere.
Ședința a fost programată pentru 27 mai 2003 și apoi pentru 21 octombrie 2003. A avut loc în ultima dată. 30. De la 6 la 15 mai 2003, reclamantul a primit un tratament medical în sala de urgență a spitalului județului Ploiești. 31. Într-un ordin din 7 mai 2003 Oficiul de Pensiuni a Județeanului a decis că reclamantul ar trebui acordată o pensie de pensie pentru invaliditate. 32. La 22 mai 2003, Consiliul a constatat că condiția reclamantului s-a înrăutățit și că acum a suferit de invaliditate de prim grad. 33. În hotărârea din 4 noiembrie 2003, Curtea Supremă de Justiție a respins recursul reclamantului și a susținut hotărârea Curții de Apel din 14 iunie 2002. Acesta a considerat că „în conformitate cu dispozițiile legale, Tribunalul de Apel [a] susținut corect că nu poate solicita drepturile prevăzute de Ordonanța nr. 102/99”.
34. După alte episoade de sângerare, reclamantul a fost admis din nou în sala de urgență a Spitalului Ploiești, unde a rămas din 25 până la 30 martie și din 10 până la 18 decembrie 2004. Între 29 mai și 1 iunie 2005 a primit din nou tratament în timpul pacientului în Clinica de Haematologie Colțea din București.
35. Legea privind litigiile administrative (Legea nr. 29/1990) prevede, în părțile sale relevante: „Individenții sau entități juridice care consideră că drepturile lor au fost încălcate de un act administrativ sau de refuzul nejustificat al unei autorități administrative de a răspunde la o cerere referitoare la aceste drepturi pot aduce o acțiune în fața instanței competente care cer să facă ca actul în cauză să fie pus deoparte, să recunoască presupusul drept și să fie acordată compensație pentru orice daune suportate.” „Curtea acordă o hotărâre urgentă privind acțiune...” 36. Extractele relevante din Legea nr. 53/1992 privind protecția specială a persoanelor cu handicap citit după cum urmează: „Clasificare într-una dintre categoriile de persoane cu handicap care necesită protecție specială se bazează pe un certificat emis de una dintre rapoartele de experți medicali și consiliile de reabilitare ocupaționale atașate la spitalele de județ...” „Persoanele cu handicap au dreptul la: (a) asistență medicală și medicație gratuită ... în cazul persoanelor ale căror venit lunar este sub salariul minim brut garantat de stat … (e) utilizarea gratuită a transportului public urban ... și interurban ... (f) scutirea de la plata costurilor de instalare,
transfer și închiriere telefonică ...” 37. Dispozițiile relevante ale Ordinării Guvernamentale de Urgență nr. 102/1999 din 29 iunie 1999 privind protecția specială și accesul la ocuparea forței de muncă pentru persoanele cu handicap, care au înlocuit Legea nr. 53/1992, se citește după cum urmează: „Clasificare într-una dintre categoriile de persoane cu handicap care necesită protecție specială ... se bazează pe un certificat emis de comitetele [convenția] privind rapoartele medicale de experți și problemele legate de handicap.” adulți care suferă de handicap se califică pentru următoarele drepturi: ... (f) scutirea de la plata costurilor de instalare, transfer și închiriere telefonică... (g) utilizarea gratuită a transportului public urban ... (h) utilizarea gratuită a transportului public interurban…
(j) asistență medicală în conformitate cu dispozițiile Legii privind asigurările sociale de sănătate și cu reglementările Ministerului Sănătății și Secretariatului de Stat pentru persoanele cu handicap.” „Consiliile privind rapoartele de experți medicali și chestiunile privind handicapul sunt atașate [de la 1 ianuarie 2000] birourilor persoanelor cu handicap din județ.”
6. The applicant was born in 1971 and lives in Ploiești. 7. The applicant suffers from haemophilia A which was diagnosed at birth. Haemophilia A is a congenital hereditary disorder characterised by delayed clotting of the blood and severe bleeding following even minor injuries. It requires treatment with the specific coagulant, factor VIII. 8. The applicant was working as an official in a local hospital. 9. Starting in 1992, the Medical Expert Reports and Occupational Rehabilitation Board (“the Board”) attached to the Ministry of Employment and Social Welfare examined the applicant once a year and issued him each time with a temporary certificate stating that he suffered from a seconddegree disability.
10. This certificate served as the basis for obtaining from the County Disabled Persons' Bureau (“the Bureau”) the entitlements provided for by Law no. 53/1992 on special protection for disabled persons – which included free medical assistance, transport and telephone rental – together with tax relief under Law no. 35/1993 in the form of exemption of the disabled person's salary from income tax. 11. On 26 October 1998 the Board confirmed the applicant's seconddegree disability by means of a certificate bearing the handwritten endorsement “valid for Law no. 35/1993”. According to the information supplied by the applicant, endorsements of this kind were commonly added by the Board, since the same certificate was used to obtain the entitlements under Law no. 53/1992 and tax relief under Law no. 35/1993.
12. In a letter of 15 December 1998 the Bureau informed the applicant that its accounting department had decided to suspend his entitlements under Law no. 53/1992, on the ground that the certificate issued on 26 October 1998 referred only to Law no. 35/1993 and could therefore be used only to obtain the entitlements provided for by that law. 13. By letter of 3 February 1999 the Employment Ministry informed the applicant that “in the absence of any provision to the contrary, there [was] no legal impediment preventing persons who [held] a certificate attesting to a degree of disability requiring special protection from enjoying all the entitlements and concessions for which they [were] eligible by law”.
14. On 29 October 1999 the Board confirmed the applicant's seconddegree disability. The certificate it issued on that occasion was again marked “valid for Law no. 35/1993”. 15. Following a sharp deterioration in his condition owing to his lack of treatment the applicant, in a memorial lodged with the State Secretariat for Disabled Persons on 3 April 2000, challenged the suspension of his entitlements under Law no. 53/1992. 16. In a reply dated 6 April 2000 the State Secretariat informed the applicant that no statutory provision barred the aggregation of entitlements under Laws nos. 35/1993 and 53/1992, and that persons suffering from a second-degree disability should be able to benefit from the entitlements available under both laws.
17. In an administrative action brought before the Ploiești Court of Appeal on 30 November 2000 against the Bureau and the State Secretariat for Disabled Persons, the applicant requested recognition of his status as a disabled person requiring the special protection provided for by Law no. 53/1992 and claimed compensation for the pecuniary and nonpecuniary damage caused by the suspension of his entitlements between October 1998 and September 2000 which, he alleged, had resulted in a serious and rapid deterioration of his condition. He requested that the State Secretariat be ordered to pay him the sum of 1,184,502,000 Romanian lei (ROL), representing the cost of the treatment he would have received free of charge had the Bureau not suspended his entitlements under Law no. 53/1992, and a sum of ROL 11,920,200 corresponding to the value of the transport and telephone rental which he was no longer entitled to receive free of charge.
18. Following a hearing held on 15 January 2001, the applicant's lawyer requested that delivery of the judgment be adjourned to enable him to file written pleadings. 19. The Court of Appeal delivered its judgment on 22 January 2001. It observed that the Board had issued the applicant with annual certificates stating that he had a second-degree disability. The court therefore considered that the applicant had been recognised as having the status he requested during the period in question; accordingly, it rejected the first request as unfounded. 20. As to damages, the court held that it did not have jurisdiction to consider the issue and returned the case file to the Prahova County Civil Court.
21. From 5 to 10 February 2001 the applicant received in-patient treatment for haemorrhaging in Colțea Haematology Clinic in Bucharest. 22. During the proceedings before the County Court, on 12 March, 4 May and 1 June 2001, the applicant's lawyer requested an adjournment to enable him to add evidence to the case file and file written pleadings. 23. In a judgment of 5 June 2001 the County Court in its turn declined jurisdiction in favour of the Court of Appeal. The Supreme Court of Justice, called upon to resolve the conflict of jurisdiction, delivered a judgment on 21 November 2001 in which it held that the Ploiești Court of Appeal had jurisdiction. The case was re-entered in that court's list.
24. The Court of Appeal heard evidence from two witnesses called by the applicant and ordered a medical expert report on the applicant's health. 25. The expert report was prepared by the forensic medical service of the city of Ploiești. It noted numerous episodes of internal bleeding which had led to very severe bone deformation, immobilised joints and impaired mobility. In conclusion, the report stated that “the discontinuation of treatment [had] resulted in a sudden worsening of the disease, promoting the onset of very serious complications, namely internal and external bleeding, intracranial bleeding with haematomas, paralysis, phlebitis and asphyxia”. 26. During the proceedings before the Court of Appeal, on 12 March 2002, the applicant requested an adjournment to enable him to hire a new lawyer.
On 7 June 2002 his lawyer requested a further adjournment so that he could file written pleadings. 27. In a judgment of 14 June 2002 the Court of Appeal, basing its findings on the certificates issued by the Board in 1998 and 1999, found that, for the period in question, the applicant had been recognised as having a second-degree disability. It dismissed the applicant's claim for damages on the ground that he “[had] not dispute[d] using a statutory remedy [section 27 of Government Ordinance no. 102/1999 of 29 June 1999, replacing Law no. 53/1992] his assignment to one of the categories of disability” and pointed out that he could “dispute and request revision of his classification in a given category if it no longer corresponded to the reality”.
The court added that the applicant could only bring an action before the courts seeking to assert his rights if the competent authorities, after deciding to assign him to a different disability category, subsequently refused to award him the entitlements provided for by law. The court concluded that, in so far as the applicant “[had] not furnish[ed] proof that he now belonged to the category of persons with a more severe disability, which might have qualified him for a wider range of entitlements”, his complaint was unfounded. It dismissed the action accordingly. 28. The applicant appealed to the Supreme Court of Justice on the ground that the Court of Appeal had misconstrued the subject of his action, that it had omitted to rule on his complaint concerning the suspension of his entitlements under Law no. 53/1992 and that the second-degree disability he had been recognised as suffering from made him eligible for the aggregate of entitlements under the two laws.
29. At a hearing held on 25 February 2003 the applicant requested that examination of his appeal be adjourned on account of his state of health, which allegedly prevented him from attending the hearing. The hearing was scheduled for 27 May 2003 and then for 21 October 2003. It took place on the latter date. 30. From 6 to 15 May 2003 the applicant received in-patient treatment in the emergency ward of Ploiești County Hospital. 31. In an order dated 7 May 2003 the County Pensions Office decided that the applicant should be granted a retirement pension on grounds of invalidity. 32. On 22 May 2003 the Board found that the applicant's condition had worsened and that he now suffered from a first-degree disability.
33. In a judgment of 4 November 2003 the Supreme Court of Justice dismissed the applicant's appeal and upheld the Court of Appeal's judgment of 14 June 2002. It considered that “since the appellant [had] not dispute[d] [the certificate attesting to his disability] before the Higher Medical Expert Reports Board, in accordance with the statutory provisions, the Court of Appeal [had] correctly held that he could not claim the entitlements provided for by Ordinance no. 102/99”. 34. Following further episodes of bleeding the applicant was again admitted to the emergency ward of Ploiești County Hospital, where he remained from 25 to 30 March and from 10 to 18 December 2004. Between 29 May and 1 June 2005 he again received in-patient treatment in the Colțea Haematology Clinic in Bucharest.
35. The Administrative Disputes Act (Law no. 29/1990) provides, in its relevant parts: “Individuals or legal entities who consider that their rights have been infringed by an administrative act or by the unjustified refusal of an administrative authority to respond to a request concerning those rights may bring an action before the competent court seeking to have the act in question set aside, to have the alleged right recognised and to be awarded compensation for any damage sustained.” “The court shall give an urgent ruling on the action...” 36. The relevant extracts from Law no. 53/1992 on special protection for disabled persons read as follows: “Classification in one of the categories of disabled persons requiring special protection shall be based on a certificate issued by one of the medical expert reports and occupational rehabilitation boards attached to the county hospitals...” “Disabled persons shall have the right to: (a) medical assistance and medication free of charge ... in the case of persons whose monthly income is below the gross minimum wage guaranteed by the State…
(e) free use of urban ... and inter-urban public transport… (f) exemption from payment of the costs of telephone installation, transfer and rental...” 37. The relevant provisions of Government Emergency Ordinance no. 102/1999 of 29 June 1999 on special protection and access to employment for disabled persons, which replaced Law no. 53/1992, read as follows: “Classification in one of the categories of disabled persons requiring special protection ... shall be based on a certificate issued by the [county] boards on medical expert reports and disability issues.” “... adults suffering from a disability shall qualify for the following entitlements: ... (f) exemption from payment of the costs of telephone installation, transfer and rental...
(g) free use of urban public transport... (h) free use of inter-urban public transport… (j) medical assistance in accordance with the provisions of the Social Health Insurance Act and the regulations of the Ministry of Health and the State Secretariat for Disabled Persons.” “The boards on medical expert reports and disability issues shall be attached [from 1 January 2000] to the county disabled persons' bureaux.”