- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 29 aprilie 2008
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Scoasă de pe rol
Hennis împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
A doua secțiune DECIZIE PRIVIND ADMINISIBILitatea cererii nr. 69323/01 de George Henry HENNIS împotriva Regatului Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care a stat la 29 aprilie 2008 în calitate de Cameră compusă din: Lech Garlicki, Președinte, Nicolas Bratza, Giovanni Bonello, Ljiljana Mijović, David Thór Björgvinsson, Ján Šikuta, Ledi Bianku, judecători și Lawrence Early, Grefierul secțiunii având în vedere cererea depusă la 19 martie 2001, având în vedere decizia parțială din 10 septembrie 2002, printre altele , să se alăture acestor cereri la alte cereri (nr. 58372/00, 61878/00, 63477/00, 63480/00, 63647/00, 63961/00, 64986/01, 644996/01, 65202/01, 65478/01, 65507/01, 65741/01, 65906/01, 66181/01, 67100/01, 677913/01, 68173/01, 68175/01, 68264/01, 68298/01, 688449/01, 6976/01, 69327/01, 694991/01, 70521/01, 70741/01, 71176/01, 71428/01, 71429/01, 71570/01, 71758/01, 72656/01, 73646/01, 73653/01, 73978/01, 74961/01, 75921/01, 75126/01, 75993/01, 75995/01, 77129/01, 77424/01, 682/02, 2573/02, 4810/02, 10747/02, 139444/02, 1454/02 și 14537/02), având în vedere observațiile prezentate de guvernul contestat și observațiile în răspuns transmise de solicitant, după ce deliberat, hotărăsește după cum urmează: Reclamantul, dl George Hennis, este un național britanic născut în 1937 și locuiește în Londra.
El a fost nereprezentat în fața Curții. Guvernul Regatului Unit („Guvernul”) a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dl C. Whowersley al Oficiului pentru Externe și Commonwealth. Circumstanțele cauzei, astfel cum au prezentat părțile, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Soția reclamantului a murit la 18 decembrie 1998, lăsând fără copii dependenți. Solicitarea pentru beneficiile văduvelor a fost făcută la 28 decembrie 2000 și a fost respinsă la 11 ianuarie 2001 din motivul că nu are dreptul la beneficiile văduvelor pentru că nu era femeie. La 5 februarie 2001, el a cerut reconsiderarea și la 26 februarie 2001 a fost informat că decizia rămâne neschimbată. Reclamantul nu a apelat în continuare, deoarece el a considerat sau a fost sfătuit că un astfel de remediu ar fi obligat să eșueze deoarece nu sunt plătite astfel de prestații de securitate socială în temeiul dreptului Regatului Unit.
Reclamantul nu a primit beneficiile pentru copii la momentul cererii sale. Legea internă relevantă Legea internă relevantă pentru această cerere este prevăzută în Willis v. Regatul Unit, nr. 36042/97, §§ 26, ECHR 2002-IV și Runkee și White c. Regatul Unit , nr. 42949/98 , §§ 40-41, 25 iulie 2007. Curtea reamintește că o văduvă nu a avut dreptul automat la beneficiile supraviețuitorilor, ci a trebuit să le revendice de la autoritatea relevantă. Diferite termene aplicate: după 1997, o văduvă a trebuit să facă o cerere de plată a văduvei în termen de trei luni de la moartea soțului ei; o cerere de acordare a mamei văduvice („WMA”) sau Pensiunea Veduvei („WP”) ar putea fi făcută în afara termenului respectiv, dar ar fi retrasă doar trei luni.
Pentru a fi eligibilă pentru WMA, o femeie a avut dreptul la beneficii pentru copii. Prin urmare, în decizia parțială din 10 septembrie 2002, Curtea a declarat inadmisibilă cererea reclamantului de plată a Viduvii după cum a fost făcută din timp. La fel nu se poate spune despre reclamarea pentru WMA. Cu toate acestea, Curtea remarcă că reclamantul nu a primit în momentul respectiv beneficiul pentru copii și, prin urmare, nu a putut pretinde că este o victimă a discriminării, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție nu ar fi avut dreptul la beneficiul în cauză (a se vedea, mutatis mutandis Rogan v. Regatul Unit (dec.), nr. 57946/00, 8 septembrie 2001). Astfel, Reclamantul nu poate pretinde că a fost victimă de o încălcare a drepturilor sale în temeiul Convenției și al Protocolului, iar plângerea în ceea ce privește MMA este incompatibilă ratione personae cu dispozițiile Convenției și trebuie declarată inadmisibilă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 3 și 4 din Convenție.
În ceea ce privește cererea pentru WP, Curtea a hotărât în hotărârea sa de conducere în ceea ce privește WP care la originea sa și până la abolirea acesteia în ceea ce privește femeile ale căror soții au murit după 9 aprilie 2001, WP a avut scopul de a corecta „inegalitățile reale” între văduvele în vârstă, ca grup, și restul populației, și că această diferență în ceea ce privește tratamentul a fost justificată în mod rezonabil și obiectiv.
În plus, Curtea a considerat că Regatul Unit nu a putut fi criticat pentru faptul că nu a abolit WP mai devreme și că nu este irazonabil din partea legislației să decidă să introducă reformele încet (a se vedea Runkee și White c. Regatul Unit , nr. 42949/98, §§ 40-41, 25 iulie 2007). Curtea, în consecință, având în vedere faptul că nu a fost necesară examinarea separată a plângerii în ceea ce privește art. 8, nu a constatat o încălcare a articolului 14 luată în conjuncție cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 în ceea ce privește nepagarea la reclamanții pensiei de văduvă sau echivalent (ibid 42). În consecință, această plângere este evident nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ § 3 și 4 din Convenție.
Din aceste motive, Curtea hotărăște în unanimitate să dispună de cererea celorlalte la care a fost aderată; decide să declare inadmisibilă restul cererii. Președintele grefierului Lawrence Early Lech Garlicki
FOURTH SECTION
FINAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 69323/01 by George Henry HENNIS against the United Kingdom The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 29 April 2008 as a Chamber composed of: Lech Garlicki, President, Nicolas Bratza, Giovanni Bonello, Ljiljana Mijović, David Thór Björgvinsson, Ján Šikuta, Ledi Bianku, judges, and Lawrence Early, Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 19 March 2001, Having regard to the partial decision of 10 September 2002, inter alia , to join these applications to other applications (nos.
58372/00, 61878/00, 63477/00, 63480/00, 63647/00, 63961/00, 64986/01, 64996/01, 65202/01, 65478/01, 65507/01, 65741/01, 65906/01, 66181/01, 67100/01, 67913/01, 68173/01, 68175/01, 68264/01, 68298/01, 68449/01, 69076/01, 69327/01, 69491/01, 70521/01, 70741/01, 71176/01, 71428/01, 71429/01, 71570/01, 71758/01, 72656/01, 73646/01, 73653/01, 73978/01, 74961/01, 75092/01, 75126/01, 75993/01, 75995/01, 77129/01, 77424/01, 682/02, 2573/02, 4810/02, 10747/02, 13944/02, 14404/02 and 14537/02), Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Mr George Hennis, is a British national who was born in 1937 and lives in London.
He was unrepresented before the Court. The United Kingdom Government (“the Government”) were represented by their Agent, Mr C. Whomersley of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. The applicant’s wife died on 18 December 1998, leaving no dependent children. His claim for widows’ benefits was made on 28 December 2000 and was rejected on 11 January 2001 on the ground that he was not entitled to widows’ benefits because he was not a woman. On 5 February 2001 he asked for reconsideration and on 26 February 2001 was informed that the decision remained unchanged. The applicant did not appeal further as he considered or was advised that such a remedy would be bound to fail since no such social security benefits were payable to widowers under United Kingdom law.
The applicant was not in receipt of child benefit at the time of his claim. B. Relevant domestic law The domestic law relevant to this application is set out in Willis v. the United Kingdom, no. 36042/97, §§ 14 ‑ 26, ECHR 2002-IV and Runkee and White v. the United Kingdom , no. 42949/98, §§ 40-41, 25 July 2007. COMPLAINT The applicant complained that British social security legislation discriminated against him on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. THE LAW The Court recalls that a widow was not automatically entitled to survivors’ benefits, but had to claim them from the relevant authority.
Various time-limits applied: after 1997, a widow had to make a claim for Widow’s Payment within three months of her husband’s death; a claim for Widowed Mother’s Allowance (“WMA”) or Widow’s Pension (“WP”) could be made outside that time-limit, but would be back-dated only three months. To be eligible for WMA, a woman had to be entitled to child benefit. Consequently, in its partial decision of 10 September 2002 the Court declared inadmissible the applicant’s claim for Widow’s Payment as it had been made out of time. The same cannot be said of the claim for WMA.
However, the Court observes that the applicant was not at the time in receipt of child benefit and therefore he could not claim to be a victim of discrimination, since a woman in the same position would not have been entitled to the benefit in question (see, mutatis mutandis , Rogan v. the United Kingdom (dec.), no. 57946/00, 8 September 2001). Thus, the applicant cannot claim to have been a victim of a violation of his rights under the Convention and Protocol, and the complaint in respect of WMA is incompatible ratione personae with the provisions of the Convention and must be declared inadmissible in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention.
In relation to the claim for WP, the Court held in its lead judgment regarding WP that at its origin, and until its abolition in respect of women whose spouses died after 9 April 2001, WP was intended to correct “factual inequalities” between older widows, as a group, and the rest of the population and that this difference in treatment was reasonably and objectively justified.
Moreover, the Court considered that the United Kingdom could not be criticised for not having abolished WP earlier and that it was not unreasonable of the legislature to decide to introduce the reform slowly (see Runkee and White v. the United Kingdom , no. 42949/98, §§ 40-41, 25 July 2007). The Court, consequently, considering it was not necessary to examine separately the complaint in respect of Article 8, did not find a violation of Article 14 taken in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 in respect of the non-payment to the applicants of Widow’s Pension or equivalent ( ibid § 42). Consequently, this complaint is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention.
For these reasons, the Court unanimously Decides to disjoin the application from the others to which it was joined; Decides to declare inadmissible the remainder of the application. Lawrence Early Lech Garlicki Registrar President