- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 29 aprilie 2008
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Scoasă de pe rol
Rorison împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA SECȚIUNE DECIZIE PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA cererii nr. 72656/01 de către Brian RORISON împotriva Regatului Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care a stat la 29 aprilie 2008 în calitate de Cameră compusă din: Lech Garlicki, Președinte, Nicolas Bratza, Giovanni Bonello, Ljiljana Mijović, Ján Šikuta, Päivi Hirvelä, Ledi Bianku, judecători și Lawrence Early, grefierul secțiunii având în vedere cererea depusă la 25 iulie 2001, având în vedere decizia parțială din 10 septembrie 2002, printre altele , să se alăture acestor cereri la alte cereri (nr. 58372/00, 61878/00, 63477/00, 63480/00, 63647/00, 63961/00, 64986/01, 64996/01, 65202/01, 65478/01, 65507/01, 65741/01, 65906/01, 66181/01, 67100/01, 677913/01, 68173/01, 68175/01, 68264/01, 68298/01, 68449/01, 6976/01, 69323/01, 69321/01, 699291/01, 70521/01, 70741/01, 71176/01, 71428/01, 71429/01, 71570/01, 71758/01, 73646/01, 7353/01, 73978/01, 74961/01, 7592/01, 75126/01, 75993/01, 75995/01, 77129/01, 777424/01, 682/02, 2573/02, 4810/02, 10747/02, 13944/02, 1444/02 și 14537/02), având în vedere observațiile prezentate de Guvernul respondent și observațiile prezentate în răspunsul reclamantului, după ce a deliberat, hotărăsc după cum urmează: FACTS Reclamantul, dl Brian Rorison, este un național britanic care locuiește în County Londonderry.
El a fost reprezentat în fața Curții de către dna Campbell, un avocat care practică la Belfast. Guvernul Regatului Unit (“Governul”) a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dl Whowersley al Biroului Externe și Commonwealth. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părțile, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Soția reclamantului a murit la 15 ianuarie 1978, lăsând trei copii născuți în 1970, 1973 și 1975. Susținerea sa pentru beneficiile văduvelor a fost făcută la 29 mai 2001 și a fost respinsă la 30 mai 2001 din cauza faptului că nu avea dreptul la beneficiile văduvelor deoarece nu era femeie. Reclamantul nu a apelat în continuare, deoarece el a considerat sau a fost sfătuit că un astfel de remediu ar fi obligat să eșueze deoarece nu sunt plătite astfel de prestații de securitate socială în temeiul dreptului Regatului Unit.
Reclamantul nu a primit beneficiile pentru copii la momentul cererii sale. Legea internă relevantă Legea internă relevantă pentru această cerere este prevăzută în Willis v. Regatul Unit, nr. 36042/97, §§ 26, ECHR 2002-IV și Runkee și White c. Regatul Unit , nr. 42949/98 , §§ 40-41, 25 iulie 2007. Curtea reamintește că o văduvă nu a avut dreptul automat la beneficiile supraviețuitorilor, ci a trebuit să le revendice de la autoritatea relevantă. Diferite termene aplicate: înainte de 1997, o văduvă a trebuit să facă o cerere de plată a văduvei în termen de douăsprezece luni de la moartea soțului ei; o cerere de acordare a mamei văduvice („WMA”) sau Pensiunea Veduvei („WP”) ar putea fi făcută în afara termenului respectiv, dar ar fi retrasă doar douăsprezece luni.
Pentru a fi eligibilă pentru WMA, o femeie a avut dreptul la beneficii pentru copii. Prin urmare, în decizia parțială din 10 septembrie 2002, Curtea a declarat inadmisibilă cererea reclamantului de plată a Veduvei, după cum a fost făcută din timp. Cu toate acestea, Curtea remarcă că reclamantul nu a primit în momentul respectiv beneficiul pentru copii și, prin urmare, nu a putut pretinde că este o victimă a discriminării, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție nu ar fi avut dreptul la beneficiul în cauză (a se vedea, mutatis mutandis Rogan v. Regatul Unit (dec.), nr. 57946/00, 8 septembrie 2001). Astfel, Reclamantul nu poate pretinde că a fost victimă de o încălcare a drepturilor sale în temeiul Convenției și al Protocolului, iar plângerea în ceea ce privește MMA este incompatibilă ratione personae cu dispozițiile Convenției și trebuie declarată inadmisibilă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 3 și 4 din Convenție.
În ceea ce privește cererea pentru WP, Curtea a hotărât în hotărârea sa de conducere în ceea ce privește WP care la originea sa și până la abolirea acesteia în ceea ce privește femeile ale căror soții au murit după 9 aprilie 2001, WP a avut scopul de a corecta „inegalitățile reale” între văduvele în vârstă, ca grup, și restul populației, și că această diferență în ceea ce privește tratamentul a fost justificată în mod rezonabil și obiectiv.
În plus, Curtea a considerat că Regatul Unit nu a putut fi criticat pentru faptul că nu a abolit WP mai devreme și că nu este irazonabil din partea legislației să decidă să introducă reformele încet (a se vedea Runkee și White c. Regatul Unit , nr. 42949/98, §§ 40-41, 25 iulie 2007). Curtea, în consecință, având în vedere faptul că nu a fost necesară examinarea separată a plângerii în ceea ce privește art. 8, nu a constatat o încălcare a articolului 14 luată în conjuncție cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 în ceea ce privește nepagarea la reclamanții pensiei de văduvă sau echivalent (ibid 42). În consecință, această plângere este evident nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ § 3 și 4 din Convenție.
Din aceste motive, Curtea hotărăște în unanimitate să dispună de cererea celorlalte la care a fost aderată; decide să declare inadmisibilă restul cererii. Președintele grefierului Lawrence Early Lech Garlicki
FOURTH SECTION
FINAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 72656/01 by Brian RORISON against the United Kingdom The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 29 April 2008 as a Chamber composed of: Lech Garlicki, President, Nicolas Bratza, Giovanni Bonello, Ljiljana Mijović, Ján Šikuta, Päivi Hirvelä, Ledi Bianku, judges, and Lawrence Early, Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 25 July 2001, Having regard to the partial decision of 10 September 2002, inter alia , to join these applications to other applications (nos.
58372/00, 61878/00, 63477/00, 63480/00, 63647/00, 63961/00, 64986/01, 64996/01, 65202/01, 65478/01, 65507/01, 65741/01, 65906/01, 66181/01, 67100/01, 67913/01, 68173/01, 68175/01, 68264/01, 68298/01, 68449/01, 69076/01, 69323/01, 69327/01, 69491/01, 70521/01, 70741/01, 71176/01, 71428/01, 71429/01, 71570/01, 71758/01, 73646/01, 73653/01, 73978/01, 74961/01, 75092/01, 75126/01, 75993/01, 75995/01, 77129/01, 77424/01, 682/02, 2573/02, 4810/02, 10747/02, 13944/02, 14404/02 and 14537/02), Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Mr Brian Rorison, is a British national who lives in County Londonderry.
He was represented before the Court by Mrs K Campbell, a lawyer practising in Belfast. The United Kingdom Government (“the Government”) were represented by their Agent, Mr C. Whomersley of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. The applicant’s wife died on 15 January 1978, leaving three children born in 1970, 1973 and 1975. His claim for widows’ benefits was made on 29 May 2001 and was rejected on 30 May 2001 on the ground that he was not entitled to widows’ benefits because he was not a woman. The applicant did not appeal further as he considered or was advised that such a remedy would be bound to fail since no such social security benefits were payable to widowers under United Kingdom law.
The applicant was not in receipt of child benefit at the time of his claim. B. Relevant domestic law The domestic law relevant to this application is set out in Willis v. the United Kingdom, no. 36042/97, §§ 14 ‑ 26, ECHR 2002-IV and Runkee and White v. the United Kingdom , no. 42949/98, §§ 40-41, 25 July 2007. COMPLAINT The applicant complained that British social security legislation discriminated against him on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. THE LAW The Court recalls that a widow was not automatically entitled to survivors’ benefits, but had to claim them from the relevant authority.
Various time-limits applied: before 1997, a widow had to make a claim for Widow’s Payment within twelve months of her husband’s death; a claim for Widowed Mother’s Allowance (“WMA”) or Widow’s Pension (“WP”) could be made outside that time-limit, but would be back-dated only twelve months. To be eligible for WMA, a woman had to be entitled to child benefit. Consequently, in its partial decision of 10 September 2002 the Court declared inadmissible the applicant’s claim for Widow’s Payment as it had been made out of time. The same cannot be said of the claim for WMA.
However, the Court observes that the applicant was not at the time in receipt of child benefit and therefore he could not claim to be a victim of discrimination, since a woman in the same position would not have been entitled to the benefit in question (see, mutatis mutandis , Rogan v. the United Kingdom (dec.), no. 57946/00, 8 September 2001). Thus, the applicant cannot claim to have been a victim of a violation of his rights under the Convention and Protocol, and the complaint in respect of WMA is incompatible ratione personae with the provisions of the Convention and must be declared inadmissible in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention.
In relation to the claim for WP, the Court held in its lead judgment regarding WP that at its origin, and until its abolition in respect of women whose spouses died after 9 April 2001, WP was intended to correct “factual inequalities” between older widows, as a group, and the rest of the population and that this difference in treatment was reasonably and objectively justified.
Moreover, the Court considered that the United Kingdom could not be criticised for not having abolished WP earlier and that it was not unreasonable of the legislature to decide to introduce the reform slowly (see Runkee and White v. the United Kingdom , no. 42949/98, §§ 40-41, 25 July 2007). The Court, consequently, considering it was not necessary to examine separately the complaint in respect of Article 8, did not find a violation of Article 14 taken in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 in respect of the non-payment to the applicants of Widow’s Pension or equivalent ( ibid § 42). Consequently, this complaint is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention.
For these reasons, the Court unanimously Decides to disjoin the application from the others to which it was joined; Decides to declare inadmissible the remainder of the application. Lawrence Early Lech Garlicki Registrar President