- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 2 septembrie 2008
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Harrison împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
A doua secțiune DECIZIE FINALĂ PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA cererii nr. 28003/02 de Brian HARRISON împotriva Regatului Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care a stat la 2 septembrie 2008 în calitate de Cameră compusă din: Lech Garlicki, Președinte, Nicolas Bratza, Giovanni Bonello, Ljiljana Mijović, David Thór Björgvinsson, Ledi Bianku, Mihai Poalelungi, judecători și Fatoș Aracı, Grefierul adjunct al secțiunii având în vedere cererea depusă la 1 martie 2001, având în vedere decizia de a comunica această cerere și de a o adera la alte cereri (nus.
27947/02, 27955/02, 27958/02, 27959/02, 277960/02, 27961/02, 27963/02, 27963/02, 27963/02, 277970/02, 27985/02, 27990/02, 28011/02, 28014/02, 28016/02, 28018/02, 280225/02, 28026/02, 28035/02, 28035/02, 28035/02, 28046/02, 28047/02, 28054/02, 28054/02, 28054/02, 28054/02, 28073/02, 28073/02, 28073/02, 28070/02, 28030/02, 28030/02, 28070/02, 28030/02, 28030/02, 28010/02, 28010/02, 28030/02, 28030/02, 28030/02, 28030/02, 28030/02, 28030/02, 28030/02, 28030/02 având în vedere decizia de a aplica art. 29 § 3 din Convenție și de a examina împreună admisibilitatea și meritul cazului, după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Reclamantul, dl Brian Harrison, este un național britanic care s-a născut în 1943 și trăiește în Sussex.
El a fost reprezentat în fața Curții de către Royds Rdw, avocati din Londra. Guvernul Regatului Unit (“Guvernul”) a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dl C. Whowersley al Oficiului Externo și Commonwealth. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părțile, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Soția reclamantului a murit la 26 noiembrie 1998. Soțiunea sa pentru beneficiile văduvelor a fost formulată la 5 octombrie 2000 și a fost respins la 17 octombrie 2000 din motivul că nu a avut dreptul la beneficiile văduvelor deoarece nu a fost o femeie. Reclamantul nu a apelat după cum a considerat sau a fost sfătuit că un astfel de remediu ar fi obligat să eșueze deoarece nu sunt plătite astfel de prestații de securitate socială în temeiul dreptului Regatului Unit.
Reclamantul nu a primit beneficiile pentru copii la momentul cererii sale. Legea internă relevantă Legea internă relevantă pentru această cerere este prevăzută în Willis c. Regatul Unit, nr. 36042/97, §§§§ 26, CEDO 2002-IV și Runkee și Alb v. Regatul Unit , nr. 42949/98 §§ 40-41, 25 iulie 2007. COMPLAINTA Reclamantul a plâns că legislația britanică de securitate socială a discriminat împotriva lui din motive de sex, în încălcarea articolului 14 din Convenția luată împreună cu atât art. 8 din Convenția, cât și art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. HOTĂRÂREA Curții reamintește că un Veduva nu a avut dreptul automat la beneficiile supraviețuitorilor, ci a trebuit să le revendice de la autoritatea relevantă.
Diverse termene aplicate: după 1997, o văduvă a trebuit să facă o cerere de plată a văduvei („Wpt”) în termen de trei luni de la moartea soțului ei; o cerere de acordare a mamei văduvă („WMA”) sau Pensiunea văduvă („WP”) ar putea fi făcută în afara termenului respectiv, dar ar fi retrasă doar trei luni. Pentru a fi eligibilă pentru WMA, o femeie trebuie să aibă dreptul la beneficii pentru copii. Curtea consideră, așa cum a deținut în Cornwell c. Regatul Unit (nu.
36578/97, (dec.), 11 mai 1999) care, cu excepția cazului în care un bărbat nu a formulat o cerere către autoritățile interne pentru beneficii de largă, nu poate fi considerat o „victima” a presupusei discriminări implicate în refuzul de a plăti astfel de beneficii, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție nu ar avea dreptul automat la beneficiile văduvelor până când ea nu a depus o cerere (a se vedea și White v. Regatul Unit , nr. 53134/99 (dec.), 7 iunie 2001, în cazul în care Curtea a clarificat faptul că, atâta timp cât un reclamant a clarificat autorităților intenția sa de a solicita prestații, forma exactă în care a făcut acest lucru nu era importantă.
În mod asemănător, un bărbat care nu a aplicat în termenele aplicate unei femei reclamante nu a putut, în majoritatea cazurilor, pretinde că este o victimă a discriminării, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție nu ar fi avut dreptul la beneficiile în cauză (a se vedea Rogan v. Regatul Unit, nr. 57946/00, (dec.), 8 septembrie 2001). În consecință, cererea reclamantului pentru Wpt formulată în 2000 a fost formulată din timp. Astfel, reclamantul nu poate pretinde că a fost victimă de o încălcare a drepturilor sale în temeiul Convenției și al Protocolului nr. 1, iar plângerea în ceea ce privește Wpt este incompatibilă ratione personae cu dispozițiile Convenției și trebuie să fie declarat inadmisibil în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 3 și 4 din Convenție.
În ceea ce privește WMA, reclamantul nu a primit beneficiile pentru copii la momentul cererii sale și, prin urmare, nu a putut pretinde că este o victimă a discriminării, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție nu ar fi avut dreptul la beneficiul în cauză. Reclamantul nu poate pretinde că a fost victimă de o încălcare a drepturilor sale în temeiul Convenției și al Protocolului nr. 1. Plaga privind WMA este, prin urmare, incompatibilă ratione personae cu dispozițiile Convenției și trebuie declarată inadmisibilă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ § 3 și 4 din Convenție.
În ceea ce privește cererea pentru WP, Curtea a hotărât în hotărârea sa de conducere în ceea ce privește WP care la originea sa și până la abolirea acesteia în ceea ce privește femeile ale căror soții au murit după 9 aprilie 2001, WP a avut scopul de a corecta „inegalitățile reale” între văduvele în vârstă, ca grup, și restul populației, și că această diferență în ceea ce privește tratamentul a fost justificată în mod rezonabil și obiectiv.
În plus, Curtea a considerat că Regatul Unit nu a putut fi criticat pentru faptul că nu a abolit WP mai devreme și că nu este irazonabil din partea legislației să decidă să introducă reformele încet (a se vedea Runkee și White În consecință, Tribunalul, având în vedere că nu a fost necesar să examineze în mod separat plângerea în ceea ce privește art. 8, nu a constatat o încălcare a articolului 14 luat în legătură cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 în ceea ce privește nepagarea cererilor de pensie de văduvă sau echivalentă (ibid 42). În consecință, această plângere este evident nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ § 3 și 4 din Convenție. În consecință, art. 29 § 3 din Convenție nu ar trebui să se mai aplice cazului.
Din aceste motive, Curtea declară în unanimitate cererea de la ceilalți la care a fost aderat; Declară inadmisibilă cererea. Fatoș Aracı Lech Garlicki Președintele adjunct al grefierului
FOURTH SECTION
FINAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 28003/02 by Brian HARRISON against the United Kingdom The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 2 September 2008 as a Chamber composed of: Lech Garlicki, President, Nicolas Bratza, Giovanni Bonello, Ljiljana Mijović, David Thór Björgvinsson, Ledi Bianku, Mihai Poalelungi, judges, and Fatoș Aracı, Deputy Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 1 March 2001, Having regard to the decision to communicate this application and to join it to other applications (nos.
27947/02, 27955/02, 27958/02, 27959/02, 27960/02, 27961/02, 27963/02, 27968/02, 27970/02, 27985/02, 27990/02, 28011/02, 28014/02, 28016/02, 28018/02, 28025/02, 28026/02, 28029/02, 28033/02, 28035/02, 28040/02, 28046/02, 28047/02, 28054/02, 28056/02, 28058/02, 28064/02, 28073/02, 28080/02, 28081/02, 28085/02, 28088/02, 28091/02, 28092/02, 28103/02, 28109/02, 28110/02), Having regard to the decision to apply Article 29 § 3 of the Convention and examine the admissibility and merits of the case together, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Mr Brian Harrison, is a British national who was born in 1943 and lives in Sussex. He was represented before the Court by Royds Rdw, solicitors in London.
The United Kingdom Government (“the Government”) were represented by their Agent, Mr C. Whomersley of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. The applicant’s wife died on 26 November 1998. His claim for widows’ benefits was made on 5 October 2000 and was rejected on 17 October 2000 on the ground that he was not entitled to widows’ benefits because he was not a woman. The applicant did not appeal as he considered or was advised that such a remedy would be bound to fail since no such social security benefits were payable to widowers under United Kingdom law. The applicant was not in receipt of child benefit at the time of his claim.
B. Relevant domestic law The domestic law relevant to this application is set out in Willis v. the United Kingdom, no. 36042/97, §§ 14 ‑ 26, ECHR 2002-IV and Runkee and White v. the United Kingdom , no. 42949/98, §§ 40-41, 25 July 2007. COMPLAINT The applicant complained that British social security legislation discriminated against him on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. THE LAW The Court recalls that a widow was not automatically entitled to survivors’ benefits, but had to claim them from the relevant authority. Various time-limits applied: after 1997, a widow had to make a claim for Widow’s Payment (“Wpt”) within three months of her husband’s death; a claim for Widowed Mother’s Allowance (“WMA”) or Widow’s Pension (“WP”) could be made outside that time-limit, but would be back-dated only three months.
To be eligible for WMA, a woman had to be entitled to child benefit. The Court considers, as it held in Cornwell v. the United Kingdom (no. 36578/97, (dec.), 11 May 1999) that unless or until a man has made a claim to the domestic authorities for bereavement benefits, he cannot be regarded as a “victim” of the alleged discrimination involved in the refusal to pay such benefits, because a woman in the same position would not automatically be entitled to widows’ benefits until she had made a claim (see also White v. the United Kingdom , no. 53134/99 (dec.), 7 June 2001, where the Court clarified that, as long as an applicant had made clear to the authorities his intention to claim benefits, the precise form in which he did so was not important).
Similarly, a man who failed to apply within the time-limits as they applied to a woman claimant could not, in most cases, claim to be a victim of discrimination, since a woman in the same position would not have been entitled to the benefit in question (see Rogan v. the United Kingdom , no. 57946/00, (dec.), 8 September 2001). Consequently, the applicant’s claim for Wpt made in 2000 had been made out of time. Thus, the applicant cannot claim to have been a victim of a violation of his rights under the Convention and Protocol No. 1, and the complaint in respect of Wpt is incompatible ratione personae with the provisions of the Convention and must be declared inadmissible in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention.
As to WMA, the applicant was not in receipt of child benefit at the time of his claim and therefore he could not claim to be a victim of discrimination, since a woman in the same position would not have been entitled to the benefit in question. Thus, the applicant cannot claim to have been a victim of a violation of his rights under the Convention and Protocol No.1. The complaint in respect of WMA is therefore incompatible ratione personae with the provisions of the Convention and must be declared inadmissible in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention. In relation to the claim for WP, the Court held in its lead judgment regarding WP that at its origin, and until its abolition in respect of women whose spouses died after 9 April 2001, WP was intended to correct “factual inequalities” between older widows, as a group, and the rest of the population and that this difference in treatment was reasonably and objectively justified.
Moreover, the Court considered that the United Kingdom could not be criticised for not having abolished WP earlier and that it was not unreasonable of the legislature to decide to introduce the reform slowly (see Runkee and White , cited above, §§ 40-41). The Court, consequently, considering it was not necessary to examine separately the complaint in respect of Article 8, did not find a violation of Article 14 taken in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 in respect of the non-payment to the applicants of Widow’s Pension or equivalent ( ibid § 42). Consequently, this complaint is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention. Accordingly, Article 29 § 3 of the Convention should no longer apply to the case.
For these reasons, the Court unanimously Disjoins the application from the others to which it was joined; Declares inadmissible the application. Fatoș Aracı Lech Garlicki Deputy Registrar President