- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 24 martie 2009
- Stat pârât
- FIN
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Leino împotriva Finlandei
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamantul, dl Martti Leino, este un național finlandez născut în 1937 și locuiește în Espoo. El a fost reprezentat în fața Curții de către dl P. Kavonius, un avocat practicant în Lohja. Guvernul contestat a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dl Arto Kosonen al Ministerului pentru Afaceri Externe. Reclamantul a avut o asigurare voluntară de pensie din 1988 până în 2001 în care a plătit în total 16.902.72 euro (EUR). Din aprilie 2001 angajatorul său a fost responsabil pentru plata contribuțiilor la poliția de asigurare și în noiembrie 2001 a plătit o tranșă de 4.940,25 EUR.
Prin decizia din 20 august 2002, Instituția de Asigurare Socială (kansaneläkelaitos - KELA, folkpensionanstalten – FPA, în continuare „KELA”) a acordat reclamantului o pensie de vârstă de 154,85 EUR pe lună începând cu 1 octombrie 2002. Pensiunea profesională (työeläke, arbetspension) plătită reclamantului de către o societate de asigurare de viață a fost luată în considerare în calculul sumei pensiei sale de vârstă. La 5 iunie 2003, o societate de asigurare a acordat reclamantului o pensie bazată pe asigurarea de pensie voluntară retroactivă începând cu 1 octombrie 2002. Ca urmare a acestei noi decizii de pensie, KELA a informat reclamantul prin scrisoarea din 10 iunie 2003 că a existat o eroare în decizia anterioară din 20 august 2002 și că pensia sa de vârstă va diminua ca urmare a rectificării pe care le așteaptă.
Un formular în acest sens a fost atașat la scrisoarea. Reclamantul nu a răspuns la scrisoarea. La 30 iunie 2003, KELA a luat o decizie de a înceta plata pensiei de vârstă a reclamantului începând cu 1 iulie 2003, din cauza creșterii celorlalte pensii. Prin scrisoarea din 1 iulie 2003, KELA a informat reclamantul că pensia de vârstă pe care a primit-o în perioada cuprinsă între 1 octombrie 2002 și 30 iunie 2003, în total 1,404,81 EUR, a fost, de fapt, în depășit din cauza noilor calcule și că ar trebui să-l lase pe KELA să cunoască avizul său în această privință până la 12 iulie 2003. La 22 august 2003, KELA a hotărât să recupereze întreaga pensie de vârstă plătită. Reclamantul a primit două luni de plată.
La 17 septembrie 2003, reclamantul a apelat la Consiliul de Apărare pentru Asigurări Sociale (tarkastuslautanta, prövningsnämnden) împotriva deciziei din 22 august 2003. El a susținut că întreaga pensie voluntară a fost considerată de către KELA ca una plătită de angajatorul său în timp ce el însuși, autoritățile fiscale și societatea sa de asigurare consideră că partea principală a acestei pensii este plătită de către solicitant. La 26 august 2004, comitetul de apel a respins apelul său, declarând că nu există motive pentru a face o excepție la reglementarea că plățile de pensie la care beneficiarul nu avea dreptul ar trebui plătite înapoi. La 13 octombrie 2004, reclamantul a apelat la Curtea de Asigurări, care și-a respins recursul la 23 februarie 2006, fără să elaboreze pe motivele sau să abordeze circumstanțele specifice ale pensiei reclamantului.
La 17 martie 2006, KELA a solicitat reclamantului să le contacteze cu privire la programul de rambursări. Ulterior, avocatul companiei de asigurări a contactat KELA și a furnizat clarificări suplimentare, fără folos. La 11 mai 2006 a fost trimisă reclamantului un ordin de plată.
The applicant, Mr Martti Leino, is a Finnish national who was born in 1937 and lives in Espoo. He was represented before the Court by Mr P. Kavonius, a lawyer practising in Lohja. The respondent Government were represented by their agent, Mr Arto Kosonen of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs. The applicant had a voluntary pension insurance from 1988 until 2001 into which he paid in total 16,902.72 euros (EUR). From April 2001 his employer was responsible for paying contributions to the insurance policy and in November 2001 it paid one instalment of EUR 4,940.25.
By a decision of 20 August 2002 the Social Insurance Institution (kansaneläkelaitos - KELA, folkpensionsanstalten – FPA, hereafter “KELA”) granted the applicant an old-age pension (kansaneläke, folkspension) of EUR 154.85 per month as from 1 October 2002. The occupational pension (työeläke, arbetspension) paid to the applicant by a life insurance company was taken into consideration in calculating the amount of his old-age pension. On 5 June 2003 an insurance company granted the applicant a pension based on his voluntary pension insurance retroactively as from 1 October 2002. As a result of this new pension decision the KELA informed the applicant by letter of 10 June 2003 that there had been an error in the previous decision of 20 August 2002 and that his old-age pension would diminish as a result of the pending rectification.
The applicant was invited to inform the KELA of his opinion on the rectification by 30 June 2003. A form to this effect was attached to the letter. The applicant did not reply to the letter. On 30 June 2003 the KELA made a decision to cease the payment of the applicant’s old-age pension as of 1 July 2003 due to the increase in his other pensions. The applicant did not appeal against this decision which thus became final. By a letter dated 1 July 2003 the KELA informed the applicant that the old-age pension he had received in the period between 1 October 2002 and 30 June 2003, in total EUR 1,404.81, was in fact in excess due to the new calculations and that he should let the KELA know his opinion on the matter by 12 July 2003. The applicant did not reply to the letter.
On 22 August 2003 the KELA decided to recover the entire old-age pension paid. The applicant was given two months to pay. On 17 September 2003 the applicant appealed to the Appellate Board for Social Insurance (tarkastuslautakunta, prövningsnämnden) against the decision of 22 August 2003. He claimed that the entire voluntary pension was regarded by the KELA as one paid by his employer whereas he himself, the tax authorities and his insurance company considered the main part of that pension as being paid by the applicant. On 26 August 2004 the Appellate Board dismissed his appeal, stating that there were no reasons for making an exception to the rule that pension payments to which the recipient was not entitled should be paid back.
On 13 October 2004 the applicant appealed to the Insurance Court, which dismissed his appeal on 23 February 2006 without elaborating on the reasons or addressing the specific circumstances of the applicant’s pension. On 17 March 2006 the KELA requested the applicant to contact them regarding the schedule of repayments. Subsequently the insurance company’s lawyer contacted the KELA and provided additional clarifications, to no avail. On 11 May 2006 a payment order was sent to the applicant.