- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 16 martie 2000
- Stat pârât
- FIN
- Concluzia
- Partly admissible
- Partly inadmissible
Peltonen împotriva Finlandei
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA SECȚIUNE DECIZIE PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA cererii nr. 27323/95 de Mauno PELTONEN împotriva Finlandiei Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care a stat la 16 martie 2000 în calitate de Cameră compusă din G. Ress, Președintele M. Pellonpää, I. Cabral Barreto, V. Butkevych, dna N. Vajić, J. Hedigan, dna S. Botoucharova, judecători și V. Berger, grefierul secțiunii având în vedere cererea de mai sus introdusă la Comisia Europeană a Drepturilor Omului la 13 martie 1995 și înregistrată la 15 mai 1995, având în vedere art. 5 § 2 din Protocolul nr. 11 la Convenție, prin care competența de a examina cererea a fost transferată Curții, având în vedere hotărârea parțială a Comisiei din 23 octombrie 1997, Având în vedere observațiile prezentate de Guvernul contestat și observațiile prezentate în răspuns de solicitant, după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Reclamantul este un cetățean finlandez, născut în 1946 și aflat în prezent în Pireus, Grecia.
Circumstanțe speciale ale cazului Faptele cazului, astfel cum sunt prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. În 1992, reclamantul, care a rezistat în Suedia, a călătorit în Egipt. În 1993 s-a mutat oficial din Suedia în Finlanda. Având în vedere această mutare, biroul local de asigurare socială (försäkringskassan ) în Suedia, la 26 ianuarie 1993, a decis să înceteze să-i plătească prestațiile naționale de pensii suedeze, referindu-se la posibilitatea de a obține beneficii similare de la autoritățile finlandeze. Cererea reclamantului de pensie de invaliditate finlandeză a fost refuzată de Biroul Jutseno al Instituției de Asigurare Socială (kansaneläkelaitos, folkpensionanstalten ) la 15 iunie 1993, pe baza faptului că el nu a fost rezident în Finlanda.
Reclamantul a apelat, susținând că stătea doar temporar în Egipt și că întoarcerea sa în Finlanda a fost întârziată din cauza tratamentului urgent al unei boli. La 17 februarie 1994, Consiliul de apel pentru asigurări sociale (tarkastuslautanta, prövningsnämnden ; „Consiliul de apel” și-a respins recursul, menținând că, având în vedere materialul indicat că nu a rezistat în Finlanda.Consiliul de apel a făcut trimitere la un aviz prezentat de Instituția de Asigurare Socială la cererea Consiliului de apel. Avizul Instituției de Asigurare Socială a citit după cum urmează: „Încheiat, ne returnăm documentele transmise și la care a fost adăugată [în prezent] dosarul privind reclamantul. [Reclamantul] este nesatisfăcută de decizia Instituției de Asigurare Socială de a refuza pensia de invaliditate.
[o astfel de] pensie deoarece el nu mai primește o pensie națională din Suedia ca urmare a mutarii sale în Finlanda la 1 februarie 1993. Potrivit Registrului Central de Populație [reclamantul] s-a mutat în Finlanda la 13 aprilie 1993. el nu s-a mutat în Finlanda, ci, potrivit declarației sale, în Egipt, unde primește terapie autorizată de medicul biroului de asigurare suedeză. În plus, el este în curs de tratament stomatologic în Egipt din decembrie 1991, potrivit medicului. [Reclamantul] afirmă că deocamdată nu poate călători. El nu a rezistat la adresa finlandeză indicată de el. Instituția de asigurări sociale este de părere că nu a fost prezentată nici o astfel de probă care ar fi modificată [decizia sa].
Instituția de asigurări sociale se depune [de către Instituția de asigurări sociale] că recursul ar trebui respins.” Niciunul dintre materialele obținute de la instituția de asigurări sociale nu a fost comunicat reclamantului, nici avizul instituției de asigurări sociale nu a fost reprodus sau rezumat în decizia Consiliului de apel. Reclamantul a apelat în continuare, aducând, printre altele, un extras din registrul finlandez al populației care a fost datat din 6 aprilie 1994 și a indicat că rezidă în Finlanda din aprilie 1993. , că el a fost rezident permanent în Finlanda, că șederea sa în Egipt a fost involuntară, din cauza bolii sale, și că el va reveni în Finlanda imediat ce starea sa de sănătate ar permite acest lucru.
La 5 septembrie 1994 Curtea de Asigurări (vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen ) a susținut decizia Consiliului de apel, după ce a observat un aviz suplimentar prezentat de Instituția de Asigurare Socială la cererea Curții de Asigurări. Curtea de Asigurare a raționat că șederea reclamantului în străinătate nu poate fi considerată ca fiind de caracter temporar. Prin urmare, el nu poate fi considerat ca rezident în Finlanda. Avizul Instituției de Asigurare Socială la Curtea de Asigurări a citit după cum urmează: „Închisăm documentele transmise și la care a fost anexat dosarul privind reclamantul. [Reclamantul] este nemulțumit de decizia [Consiliul de apel] de a respinge apelul împotriva hotărârii Instituției de Asigurare Socială din 15 iunie 1993 de a refuza o pensie de invaliditate.
[Reclamantul] solicită o pensie națională din Finlanda deoarece nu mai primește o pensie [națională] de bază din Suedia ca urmare a mutarii sale în Finlanda. Potrivit Registrului Central de Populație [reclamantul] s-a mutat în Finlanda la 13 aprilie 1993. El a locuit în Egipt cel puțin începând cu decembrie 1991. Potrivit propriului său declarație, [rezidă acolo] pentru motive de sănătate în urma unui mandat de către un medic suedez. În conformitate cu secțiunea 3 din Legea privind aplicarea legislației privind securitatea socială bazată pe rezidență [ laki asumiseen perustuvan sosiaaliturvalainsäädännön soveltamista, lagen om thanämpning av lagstiftningen om bosättningsbaserad social tryghet 1573/1993] o persoană se consideră că are reședința sa în Finlanda atunci când are un domiciliu permanent și acasă aici și rămâne în continuare și în principal aici.
Instituția de asigurări sociale este de părere că nu a fost prezentată nicio dovadă nouă după decizia Comitetului de apel, care ar justifica o modificare a deciziei [denumită în continuare în continuare]. Nici avizul instituției de asigurări sociale, nici documentele însoțitoare nu au fost comunicate reclamantului, nici au fost reproduse sau rezumate în decizia Tribunalului de Asigurări. Decizia a făcut, de asemenea, trimitere la diferite observații suplimentare, ale căror conținut și expeditor nu au fost specificate. Decizia a fost trimisă reclamantului la 14 septembrie 1994. La 25 septembrie 1996, Curtea de Asigurări a refuzat să anuleze hotărârea anterioară. Legea internă relevantă În momentul în care Curtea de Asigurări a aplicat în principal principiile derivate din regulamentul de procedură al instanțelor de recurs.
În măsura în care este relevant, Codul de procedură judiciară prevăzut după cum urmează. În conformitate cu capitolul 25, secțiunile 17-20, partea opusă trebuia să fie auzită în cadrul procedurii în fața instanțelor de apel. În conformitate cu capitolul 25, secțiunea 19, subsecțiunea 1, o copie a observațiilor părții opozitoare trebuia să fie transmisă recurentei la cerere. În conformitate cu capitolul 26, secțiunea 6, instanța de recurs a fost de a solicita observații scrise de la părți atunci când a obținut dovezi din proprie inițiativă și astfel de dovezi ar putea afecta decizia în acest caz, cu excepția cazului în care această audiere a părților a fost, în mod evident, inutilă.
De la 1 aprilie 1999, Curtea de Asigurări aplică Actul de procedură judiciară administrativă ( Salintolainkäyttölaki, förvaltningsproceslagen 586/1996) cu excepția procedurilor extraordinare, în ceea ce privește care se aplică norme speciale (art. 9 din Actul privind Tribunalul de Asigurări, astfel cum a fost modificat de Legea nr. 278/1999).
În temeiul Actului privind publicitatea documentelor publice în vigoare la momentul respectiv (laki yleisten asiakirjain julkisuudesta, lagen om allmänna manipulars offentlighet 83/1951) documentele elaborate și emise de o autoritate, sau care au fost depuse unei autorități și care încă erau în posesia acestei autorități, erau publice (secțiunea 2, subsecțiunea 1). O excepție la reglementarea publicității depline a fost făcută, printre altele , pentru rapoartele medicale și similare, care au fost accesibile publicului numai cu consimțământul persoanei cu care se referă (secțiunea 17). Refuzul accesului la un document ar putea fi prezentat pentru reexaminare de către autoritatea care respinge acest acces, în urma cărora există un recurs în temeiul normelor generale privind recursul împotriva unei decizii ale autorității respective.
Dacă nu există niciun drept de recurs în temeiul unor astfel de norme generale, ar putea fi interzis un recurs la autoritatea superioară. În cazul în care nu există o astfel de autoritate, ar putea fi interzis un recurs împotriva hotărârii unei autorități de stat la Curtea Supremă de Administrație. Începând cu 1 decembrie 1999, Legea privind publicitatea documentelor publice a fost înlocuită cu Legea privind publicitatea activităților autorităților publice (laki viranomaisten toiminnan julkisuudesta, lagen om offentlighet i myndigheternas verksamhet 621/1999). După decizia parțială a Comisiei Europene a Drepturilor Omului care respinge o parte din cerere, rămân următoarele plângeri care urmează să fie luate în considerare: Reclamantul se plânge că a fost refuzat o audiere echitabilă în cadrul procedurii privind cererea de pensie din Finlanda.
El se referă la faptul că, înainte de a respinge apelurile, Consiliul de apel și Curtea de Asigurări nu i-au comunicat materialul obținut din alte surse. El invocă art. 6 § 1 din Convenție. Reclamantul se plânge că observațiile suplimentare obținute de Curtea de Asigurări, care se presupune necunoscută, ar putea consta din corespondența sa privată, care ar fi fost dezvăluită atunci în încălcarea articolului 8 din Convenție. PROCEDURĂ Cererea a fost introdusă în fața Comisiei Europene a Drepturilor Omului la 13 martie 1995 și înregistrată la 15 mai 1995. La 23 octombrie 1997, Comisia a hotărât să comunice guvernului contestat plângerile reclamantului cu privire la presupusa nedreptate a procedurii de pensie și la presupusa interferență cu corespondența sa și să declare restul cererii inadmisibilă.
Observațiile scrise ale Guvernului au fost depuse la 15 ianuarie 1998. Reclamantul a răspuns la 11 martie 1998. La 1 noiembrie 1998, prin aplicarea articolului 5 § 2 din Protocolul nr. 11 la Convenție, cazul a scăzut să fie examinat de Curte în conformitate cu dispozițiile acestui protocol. Reclamantul se plânge că a fost refuzat o audiere echitabilă în cadrul procedurii privind cererea de pensie din Finlanda. El se referă la faptul că, înainte de a respinge apelurile, Consiliul de apel pentru asigurare socială și Curtea de Asigurări nu i-au comunicat materialul obținut din alte surse. El invocă art. 6 § 1 din Convenție care citește după cum urmează: "În determinarea drepturilor sale civile ..., toată lumea are dreptul la un tribunal echitabil ... de [un] tribunal instituit prin lege…
" Guvernul susține că plângerea este evident nefondată. Avizele Instituției de Asigurare Socială se referă în principal la apelurile reclamantului și observațiile ulterioare, precum și la faptele cazului. Avizele au inclus, în plus, o notă că nu au fost prezentate noi dovezi care afectează rezultatul cazului, precum și o scurtă recomandare de respingere a recursului. Avizele nu au dezvăluit niciun fapt care ar fi putut afecta rezultatul cazului, nici nici nu au fost probe noi care au fost aduse în raport cu aceste fapte. Avizele conțin în esență o propunere de respingere a recursului reclamantului. Ambele organisme de apel au reprodus esența avizelor instituției de asigurări sociale, reclamantul a devenit conștient de existența lor și a avut posibilitatea de a se familiariza cu conținutul acestora.
Locul de reședință de facto al reclamantului nu a fost în nici o etapă neclar, deoarece el nu a susținut în apelurile sale că de fapt a rezistat în Finlanda după ce a părăsit Suedia. În circumstanțele specifice necomunicarea avizelor în cauză nu a influențat negativ capacitatea reclamantului de a contesta decizia Consiliului de Avocat pentru Asigurări Sociale în fața Curții de Asigurări. Observațiile suplimentare neespecificate menționate în decizia din urmă au fost prezentate de reclamant însuși. Reclamantul susține că, având în vedere că avizele instituției de asigurări sociale nu au fost comunicate lui, nu a observat nici o necesitate de a informa autorităților finlandeze că s-a stabilit deja în Finlanda în 1989. Cu toate acestea, el a prezentat ulterior aceste informații într-o scrisoare și un apel ulterior.
Curtea consideră, având în vedere argumentele părților, că această parte a cererii ridică chestiuni complexe de drept și de fapt în temeiul Convenției, ale căror hotărâre ar trebui să depinde de o examinare a fondurilor. Prin urmare, Curtea concluzionează că această parte a cererii nu este manifestament nefondată în sensul articolului 35 3 din Convenție. Nu s-au stabilit alte motive de declarare inadmisibilă, după care această parte a cererii ar trebui să fie declarată admisibilă. Reclamantul se plânge în continuare că observațiile suplimentare obținute de Curtea de Asigurări, presupus necunoscută, ar putea consta din corespondența sa privată, care ar fi fost dezvăluită atunci în încălcarea articolului 8 din Convenție.
Această dispoziție se menționează după cum urmează: "1. Toată lumea are dreptul de a respecta viața sa privată și de familie, casa sa și corespondența sa. Nu trebuie să existe nici o interferență de către o autoritate publică în exercitarea acestui drept, cu excepția celor care sunt conforme cu legea și sunt necesare într-o societate democratică în interesul securității naționale, al siguranței publice sau al bunăstanței economice a țării, pentru prevenirea tulburărilor sau a criminalității, pentru protecția sănătății sau morală sau pentru protecția drepturilor și libertăților altor persoane." Guvernul consideră că nici o problemă nu apare în conformitate cu art. 8 având în vedere abordarea observațiilor suplimentare pe care reclamantul însuși le-a prezentat Curții de Asigurări.
Reclamantul nu a făcut observații specifice cu privire la acest punct. Curtea constată în prezent că observațiile suplimentare menționate în prezenta plângere emanau de reclamantul însuși. În aceste circumstanțe nu există nici o încălcare a articolului 8 din Convenție. Rezultă că această plângere este inadmisibilă ca fiind, vădit nefondată în sensul articolului 35 § 3 din Convenție. Din aceste motive, Curtea, în unanimitate, DECLAREA ADMISSIBILĂ , fără a prejudeca fondul, plângerea reclamantului în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție de a refuza o audiere echitabilă în cadrul procedurii cu privire la dreptul său la o pensie de invaliditate; DECLAREA INADMISSIBILĂ restul cererii. Președintele grefierului Vincent Berger Georg Ress
FOURTH SECTION
FINAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 27323/95 by Mauno PELTONEN against Finland The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 16 March 2000 as a Chamber composed of Mr G. Ress, President , Mr M. Pellonpää, Mr I. Cabral Barreto, Mr V. Butkevych, Mrs N. Vajić, Mr J. Hedigan, Mrs S. Botoucharova, judges , and Mr V. Berger, Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application introduced with the European Commission of Human Rights on 13 March 1995 and registered on 15 May 1995, Having regard to Article 5 § 2 of Protocol No. 11 to the Convention, by which the competence to examine the application was transferred to the Court, Having regard to the Commission’s partial decision of 23 October 1997, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant is a Finnish citizen, born in 1946 and currently residing in Pireus, Greece.
A. Particular circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. In 1992 the applicant, then resident in Sweden, travelled to Egypt. In 1993 he officially moved from Sweden to Finland. In the light of this move the local social insurance office ( försäkringskassan ) in Sweden, on 26 January 1993, decided to stop paying him Swedish national pension benefits, referring to the possibility of his obtaining similar benefits from the Finnish authorities. The applicant's request for a Finnish disability pension was refused by the Joutseno branch office of the Social Insurance Institution ( kansaneläkelaitos, folkpensionsanstalten ) on 15 June 1993 on the basis that he was not resident in Finland.
The applicant appealed, arguing that he was only temporarily staying in Egypt and that his return to Finland had been delayed due to the urgent treatment of an illness. On 17 February 1994 the Appellate Board for Social Insurance (tarkastuslautakunta, prövningsnämnden ; “the Appellate Board”) dismissed his appeal, maintaining that in the light of the material adduced he was not resident in Finland. The Appellate Board referred to an opinion submitted by the Social Insurance Institution at the Appellate Board’s request. The opinion of the Social Insurance Institution read as follows: “Enclosed we are returning the documents transmitted to us and to which the case-file concerning the appellant has [now] been appended.
[The applicant] is dissatisfied with the Social Insurance Institution’s decision to refuse him disability pension. He is claiming [such a] pension because he no longer receives a national pension from Sweden as a result of his move to Finland on 1 February 1993. According to the Central Population Register [the applicant] has moved to Finland on 13 April 1993. De facto he did not move to Finland but resides, according to his statement, in Egypt, where he is receiving therapy authorised by the physician of the Swedish insurance office. In addition, he has been undergoing dental treatment in Egypt since December 1991 according to the physician. [The applicant] states that for the time being he is unable to travel.
He has not resided at the Finnish address indicated by him. The Social Insurance Institution is of the opinion that no such new evidence has been submitted which would change [its] decision. It is submitted [by the Social Insurance Institution] that the appeal should be rejected.” None of the material obtained from the Social Insurance Institution had been communicated to the applicant. Nor was the Social Insurance Institution’s opinion reproduced or summarised in the Appellate Board's decision. The applicant appealed further, adducing, inter alia, an extract from the Finnish population register which was dated 6 April 1994 and indicated that he had been resident in Finland since April 1993. He contended, inter alia , that he was permanently resident in Finland, that his stay in Egypt was involuntary, due to his illness, and that he would return to Finland as soon as his state of health would so permit.
On 5 September 1994 the Insurance Court ( vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen ) upheld the decision of the Appellate Board, having noted a further opinion submitted by the Social Insurance Institution at the Insurance Court’s request. The Insurance Court reasoned that the applicant’s stay abroad could not be considered to be of a temporary character. Accordingly, he could not be regarded as resident in Finland. The Social Insurance Institution’s opinion to the Insurance Court read as follows: “Enclosed we are returning the documents transmitted to us and to which has [now] been appended the case-file concerning the appellant. [The applicant] is dissatisfied with [the Appellate Board’s] decision to reject his appeal against the Social Insurance Institution’s decision of 15 June 1993 to refuse him a disability pension.
[The applicant] is claiming a national pension from Finland because he no longer receives a basic [national] pension from Sweden as a result of his move to Finland. According to the Central Population Register [the applicant] has moved to Finland on 13 April 1993. He has been residing in Egypt at least as from December 1991. According to his own statement, [he is residing there] for health reasons following a remittal by a Swedish physician. Under Section 3 of the Act on Application of Social Security Legislation Based on Residence [ laki asumiseen perustuvan sosiaaliturvalainsäädännön soveltamisesta, lagen om tillämpning av lagstiftningen om bosättningsbaserad social trygghet 1573/1993] a person shall be considered to have his or her residence in Finland when he or she has a permanent domicile and home here and continuously and principally stays here.
The Social Insurance Institution is of the opinion that no such new evidence has been submitted after the Appellate Board’s decision which would warrant a change of [the latter’s] decision. It is submitted [by the Social Insurance Institution] that the appeal should be rejected.” Neither the Social Insurance Institution’s opinion nor the accompanying documents had been communicated to the applicant, nor were they reproduced or summarised in the Insurance Court’s decision. The decision also made reference to various supplementary observations, whose contents and sender were not specified. The decision was dispatched to the applicant on 14 September 1994. No further ordinary appeal was open to him.
On 25 September 1996 the Insurance Court declined to nullify its earlier decision. B. Relevant domestic law At the relevant time the Insurance Court applied mainly the principles derived from the rules of procedure of the courts of appeal. Insofar as relevant, the Code of Judicial Procedure provided as follows. According to Chapter 25, sections 17 to 20, the opposing party was to be heard in proceedings before appellate courts. According to Chapter 25, section 19, subsection 1, a copy of the observations of the opposing party was to be forwarded to the appellant on request. According to Chapter 26, section 6, the court of appeal was to request written observations from the parties when it obtained evidence on its own initiative and such evidence could affect the decision in the case, unless such hearing of the parties was manifestly unnecessary.
As from 1 April 1999 the Insurance Court is applying the Act on Administrative Judicial Procedure ( hallintolainkäyttölaki, förvaltningsprocesslagen 586/1996) except with regard to extraordinary proceedings, in respect of which special rules apply (section 9 of the Act on the Insurance Court, as amended by Act no. 278/1999).
Under the Act on Publicity of Public Documents as in force at the relevant time ( laki yleisten asiakirjain julkisuudesta, lagen om allmänna handlingars offentlighet 83/1951) documents drawn up and issued by an authority, or which had been submitted to an authority and were still in that authority's possession, were public (section 2, subsection 1). An exception to the rule of full publicity was made, inter alia , for medical and similar reports, which were accessible to the public only with the consent of the person they related to (section 17). The refusal of access to a document could be submitted for reconsideration by the authority refusing such access, following which there lay an appeal under the general rules for appeals against a decision of that authority.
If no right of appeal existed under such general rules, an appeal could be lodged with the superior authority. If no such authority existed, an appeal against a state authority's decision could be lodged with the Supreme Administrative Court. An appeal against a decision by another authority could be lodged with a county administrative court ( lääninoikeus, länsrätt ) (section 8, subsection 1). As of 1 December 1999 the Act on Publicity of Public Documents has been replaced by the Act on Publicity of the Activities of Public Authorities ( laki viranomaisten toiminnan julkisuudesta, lagen om offentlighet i myndigheternas verksamhet 621/1999). COMPLAINTS Following the partial decision of the European Commission of Human Rights rejecting part of the application, the following complaints remain to be considered: 1. The applicant complains that he was denied a fair hearing in the proceedings regarding his request for pension from Finland.
He refers to the fact that before rejecting his appeals the Appellate Board and the Insurance Court did not communicate to him the material obtained from other sources. He invokes Article 6 § 1 of the Convention. 2. The applicant complains that the supplementary observations obtained by the Insurance Court, allegedly unknown to him, might consist of his private correspondence, which would then have been revealed in violation of Article 8 of the Convention. PROCEDURE The application was introduced before the European Commission of Human Rights on 13 March 1995 and registered on 15 May 1995. On 23 October 1997 the Commission decided to communicate to the respondent Government the applicant’s complaints concerning the alleged unfairness of the pension proceedings and the alleged interference with his correspondence, and to declare the remainder of the application inadmissible.
The Government’s written observations were submitted on 15 January 1998. The applicant replied on 11 March 1998. On 1 November 1998, by operation of Article 5 § 2 of Protocol No. 11 to the Convention, the case fell to be examined by the Court in accordance with the provisions of that Protocol. THE LAW 1. The applicant complains that he was denied a fair hearing in the proceedings regarding his request for a pension from Finland. He refers to the fact that before rejecting his appeals the Appellate Board for Social Insurance and the Insurance Court did not communicate to him the material obtained from other sources. He invokes Article 6 § 1 of the Convention which reads as follows: "In the determination of his civil rights ..., everyone is entitled to a fair …hearing ... by [a] tribunal established by law…
" The Government submit that the complaint is manifestly ill-founded. The Social Insurance Institution’s opinions primarily referred to the applicant’s appeals and subsequent observations as well as to the facts of the case. The opinions further included a note that no new evidence affecting the outcome of the case had been presented, and a brief recommendation to reject the appeal. The opinions did not reveal any facts which might have affected the outcome of the case, nor was any fresh evidence adduced in relation to those facts. The opinions essentially contained a proposal to reject the applicant’s appeal. Both appellate bodies having reproduced the essence of the Social Insurance Institution’s opinions, the applicant became aware of their existence and was afforded the possibility of acquainting himself with their contents.
The applicant’s de facto place of residence was at no stage unclear, as he did not claim in his appeals that he had actually been residing in Finland after leaving Sweden. In the specific circumstances the non-communication of the opinions in question did not adversely affect the applicant’s capability of challenging the decision of the Appellate Board for Social Insurance before the Insurance Court. The unspecified supplementary observations referred to in the latter’s decision had been submitted by the applicant himself. The applicant submits that since the Social Insurance Institution’s opinions were not communicated to him he saw no need to inform the Finnish authorities that he had settled in Finland already in 1989. However, he later submitted this information in a subsequent letter and appeal.
The Court considers, in the light of the parties’ submissions, that this part of the application raises complex issues of law and fact under the Convention, the determination of which should depend on an examination of the merits. The Court concludes therefore that this part of the application is not manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. No other grounds for declaring it inadmissible have been established. It follows that this part of the application should be declared admissible. 2. The applicant further complains that the supplementary observations obtained by the Insurance Court, allegedly unknown to him, might consist of his private correspondence, which would then have been revealed in violation of Article 8 of the Convention.
This provision reads as follows: "1. Everyone has the right to respect for his private and family life, his home and his correspondence. 2. There shall be no interference by a public authority with the exercise of this right except such as is in accordance with the law and is necessary in a democratic society in the interests of national security, public safety or the economic well-being of the country, for the prevention of disorder or crime, for the protection of health or morals, or for the protection of the rights and freedoms of others." The Government consider that no issue arises under Article 8 on account of the handling of supplementary observations which the applicant himself had submitted to the Insurance Court.
The applicant made no specific observations on this point. The Court now finds it undisputed that the supplementary observations referred to in this complaint emanated from the applicant himself. In these circumstances there is no appearance of any violation of Article 8 of the Convention. It follows that this complaint is inadmissible as being manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously,
DECLARES ADMISSIBLE
, without prejudging the merits, the applicant’s complaint under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention that he was denied a fair hearing in the proceedings regarding his entitlement to a disability pension;
DECLARES INADMISSIBLE
the remainder of the application. Vincent Berger Georg Ress Registrar President