- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 22 iulie 2010
- Stat pârât
- AUT
- Articole
- Articolul 14
- Concluzia
- Încălcare — Articolul 14
- Pecuniary and non-pecuniary damage - award
P.B. și J.S. împotriva Austriei
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamanții s-au născut în 1963 și, respectiv, 1959 și trăiesc în Viena. Reclamanții trăiesc împreună într-o relație homosexuală. Al doilea reclamant este un funcționar public și, în scopul asigurării accidentului și al asigurării de boală, este asigurat cu Corporația de Asigurări a Funcțiilor Civile („CSIC”) (Versicherungsanstalt Öffentlicher Bediensteter). La 1 iulie 1997, primul reclamant a solicitat CSIC să-l recunoască ca fiind dependent (Angehöriger) și să prelungească acoperirea de asigurare a celui de-al doilea reclamant pentru a-l include. El a susținut că art. 56 alineatul (6) din Legea privind sănătatea și asigurarea accidentelor de funcționari („CSSAIA”) (Beamten-Kranken- und Unfallversicherungsgesetz) a făcut referire numai la persoanele de sex opus care trăiesc cu persoana asigurată în principal și care gestionează gospodăriile comune fără a primi nicio plată.
Dar, deoarece nu există motive bune pentru a exclude persoanele care trăiesc într-o relație homosexuală din privilegiul de acoperire a asigurărilor extinsă, art. 56 alineatul (6) ar trebui interpretat ca și parteneri homosexuali. La 2 septembrie 1997, CSIC a respins cererea, susținând că, deoarece primul reclamant a fost de același sex ca cel de-al doilea reclamant, cererea sa a fost respinsă. Această decizie a fost depusă în fața celui de-al doilea reclamant care, la 1 octombrie 1997, a depus o opoziție. La 21 noiembrie 1997, primarul Viena, în calitate de guvernator regional, a anulat decizia pe motive procedurale. La 13 ianuarie 1998, CSIC a respins o cerere a primului reclamant, iar de data aceasta a făcut rost de decizia cu privire la el.
Primul reclamant a depus obiecții. 11. Primarul Viena a confirmat decizia CSIC la 19 martie 1998. Prin urmare, primul reclamant a depus o plângere la Curtea Constituțională în care a susținut că excluderea, în temeiul articolului 56 alineatul (6) din CSSAIA, a cuplurilor homosexuale de la prelungirea acoperirii asigurărilor a fost încălcată de art. 14, citit coroborat cu art. 8 din convenție și, prin urmare, inconstituțională. 12. La 15 iunie 1998, Curtea Constituțională a refuzat să se ocupe de reclamația primului reclamant, referindu-se la jurisprudența sa anterioară, Curtea Constituțională a constatat că, în chestiunea în cauză, legislatorul avea o marjă foarte largă în care să ajungă la o decizie și decizia luată era în cadrul acestei marje.
13. La o dată neespecificată, Curtea Constituțională a acordat o cerere a primului reclamant pentru transferul cazului la Curtea Administrativă. La 7 septembrie 1998, primul reclamant și-a completat plângerea la Curtea Administrativă. 14. La 4 octombrie 2001, Curtea Administrativă a respins plângerea primului reclamant. Acesta a constatat că autoritățile au concluzionat corect că art. 56 alineatul (6) din CSSAI se aplică numai parteneriatelor heterosexuale. Excluderea parteneriatelor homosexuale din domeniul de aplicare al sectiunii 56 alineatul (6) din CSSAIA a respectat, de asemenea, principiul egalității, deoarece această diferență de tratament a fost justificată.
Deși era adevărat că, în cazul în care persoanele de sex diferit trăiesc împreună într-o gospodărie în care unul dintre ei conducea acea gospodărie, în timp ce nu erau angajate în mod câștigător, era, de regulă, sigur să concluzioneze că locuiau într-un parteneriat, acest lucru nu era cazul dacă două persoane ale aceluiași sex locuiau împreună într-o gospodărie. În lipsa oricărei posibilități de înregistrare a unui parteneriat homosexual, ar fi fost necesar să se efectueze anchete delicate în sfera cea mai intimă a persoanei în cauză. Această diferență în situația de fapt justifică un tratament diferit în lege.
15. În cadrul procedurii instituite de Curtea Constituțională de examinare a constituționalității două dispoziții similare la art. 56 alineatul (6) din CSSAIA privind extinderea acoperirii asigurărilor rudelor, la 10 octombrie 2005, Curtea Constituțională a hotărât să anuleze art. 123 alineatul (8b) din Legea generală privind securitatea socială („GSSA”) (Allgemeines Sozial-versicherungsgesetz) și la art. 83 alineatul (3) din Legea privind securitatea socială pentru comerț și comerț („TCSSA”) (“Gewerbliches Sozialversicherungsgesetz). Curtea Constituțională s-a referit explicit la hotărârea Curții Europene a Drepturilor Omului în cazul Karner c. Austria (a se vedea Karner c. Austria, nr. 40016/98, 24 iulie 2003) și a susținut că cele două dispoziții în care prelungirea acoperirii asigurărilor la persoanele neafiliate care locuiesc cu asiguranții erau discriminatorii deoarece erau limitate la persoanele de sex opus.
16. La 1 august 2006, Legea privind modificarea drepturilor sociale („SRAA”) (Sozialrechts-Änderungsgesetz) a intrat în vigoare modificarea GSSA, TCSSA și, de asemenea, art. 56 din CSSAIA. La 1 iulie 2007 a intrat în vigoare o a doua modificare a secțiunii 56 din CSSAIA.
17. Înainte de 1 august 2006, secțiunea 56 alineatul (6) din Legea privind sănătatea și asigurarea accidentelor de funcționari (Beamten-, Kranken- und Unfallversicherungs-gesetz), în măsura în care este relevantă, cu condiția următoarea: „(1) Relații au dreptul la beneficii, dacă au reședința lor obișnuită în Austria și nu sunt nici asigurate de sănătate în temeiul dispozițiilor prezentei legi, nici de alte dispoziții de drept … (6) O persoană aparținând grupului de părinți, ... părinți vitregi și părinți adoptivi, copii, ... Copiii vitreg și copii adoptivi, nepoți sau frați și surori ai asigurărilor sau a unei persoane ale sexului opus care nu sunt rude cu el sau cu ea care locuiește cu el în aceeași gospodărie timp de cel puțin zece luni și, de atunci, efectuează munca domestică pentru asigurați fără plată, cu excepția cazului în care există un soț care locuiește în aceeași gospodărie care este în măsură să lucreze, se consideră ca un membru al gospodăriei.
O singură persoană poate fi membru în acest sens.” 18. După modificarea Legii privind boala și asigurarea accidentelor de funcționari, la 1 august 2006, art. 56 alineatul (6) a rămas la fel, dar a fost introdus un nou paragraf (6a).
Se citește după cum urmează: „O persoană care nu este o rudă a asiguratului și care a locuit cu el în aceeași gospodărie de cel puțin zece luni și, de atunci, face munca domestică pentru el sau pentru ea fără plată, cu excepția cazului în care există un soț care locuiește în aceeași gospodărie care este în măsură să lucreze, este considerat membru al gospodăriei comune, dacă (a) creează unul sau mai multe copii care trăiesc în aceeași gospodărie ... sau a făcut-o timp de cel puțin patru ani; (b) el sau ea are dreptul la beneficii pentru plata asistenței medicale (cel puțin nivelul 4) în temeiul articolului 5 din Legea federală privind prestațiile medicale sau în conformitate cu dispozițiile Legii regionale privind prestațiile medicale; (c) el sau ea efectuează lucrări de asistență medicală pentru asiguratul care are dreptul la prestații ( cel puțin nivelul 4) pentru plata asistenței medicale în temeiul Legii federale privind prestațiile medicale sau în conformitate cu prevederile Legii regionale privind prestațiile medicale medicale.” 19. La 1 iulie 2007, a intrat în vigoare o nouă modificare a Legii privind maladia și asigurarea accidentelor de funcționari.
Secțiunea 56 alineatul (6) nu mai se aplică persoanelor nerelați, ci numai rudelor asigurate. Noua introducere a alin. 6a a fost modificată doar ușor. Aceste dispoziții, în măsura în care este cazul, se citesc după cum urmează: „(6) O persoană aparținând grupului de părinți, ... părinții vitreg și părinții adoptivi, copii, ... Copiii vitreg și copii adoptivi, nepoți sau frați și surori ai asigurărilor care locuiesc cu el în aceeași gospodărie timp de cel puțin zece luni și, de atunci, fac activitatea domestică pentru asigurați fără plată, cu excepția cazului în care există un soț care locuiește în aceeași gospodărie care este în măsură să lucreze, se consideră membru al gospodăriei. El sau ea va fi, de asemenea, considerat membru dacă el sau ea nu mai este în măsură să facă activitatea domestică.
Doar o persoană poate fi membru în acest sens. (6a) O persoană care nu este o rudă a asigurărilor și care locuiește cu el în aceeași gospodărie timp de cel puțin zece luni și care, de atunci, face munca domestică pentru el fără plată, cu excepția cazului în care există un soț care locuiește în aceeași gospodărie care poate să lucreze, este considerat membru al gospodăriei comune, dacă (a) creează unul sau mai multe copii care trăiesc în aceeași gospodărie... sau a făcut-o timp de cel puțin patru ani, sau (b) face lucrări de asistență medicală pentru asigurați care au dreptul la prestații publice cel puțin de nivel 4 în conformitate cu Legea Federală privind prestațiile de îngrijire medicală sau în conformitate cu dispozițiile Legii Regională privind prestațiile de îngrijire medicală.” 20. Ultima modificare a Legii privind bolile și asigurarea accidentelor de funcționari publici, care a intrat în vigoare la 1 iulie 2007, a fost însoțită de o dispoziție tranzitorie.
Secțiunea 217 alineatele (3) și (4) se citește după cum urmează: „(3) Persoanele de sex opus și care nu sunt legate de asigurați, care, în conformitate cu art. 56 alineatul (6) în vigoare la 30 iunie 2007, aveau dreptul la prestații în calitate de rude și care, la acea dată, aveau deja vârsta de douăzeci și șapte de ani, rămână dreptul la prestații ca rude până la modificarea circumstanțelor relevante. (4) Persoanele de sex opus și care nu sunt legate de asigurați, care, în conformitate cu art. 56 alineatul (6) în vigoare la 30 iunie 2007, au avut dreptul la beneficii în calitate de rude și care la acea dată nu au ajuns încă la vârsta de douăzeci și șapte de ani, rămână dreptul la beneficii în calitate de rude până la modificarea circumstanțelor relevante, dar cel mult până la 31 decembrie 2010.”
6. The applicants were born in 1963 and 1959 respectively and live in Vienna. 7. The applicants live together in a homosexual relationship. The second applicant is a civil servant and, for the purpose of accident and sickness insurance cover, he is insured with the Civil Servants Insurance Corporation (“the CSIC”) (Versicherungsanstalt Öffentlicher Bediensteter). On 1 July 1997 the first applicant asked the CSIC to recognise him as the dependent (Angehöriger) and to extend the second applicant's insurance cover to include him. He submitted that section 56(6) of the Civil Servants Sickness and Accident Insurance Act (“the CSSAIA”) (Beamten-Kranken- und Unfallversicherungsgesetz) only referred to persons of the opposite sex living with the principally insured person and running the common household without receiving any payment.
But, because there were no good reasons for excluding persons living in a homosexual relationship from the privilege of extended insurance cover, section 56(6) should be interpreted as also including homosexual partners. 8. On 2 September 1997 the CSIC dismissed the request, holding that, because the first applicant was of the same sex as the second applicant, his request had to be dismissed. This decision was served on the second applicant who, on 1 October 1997, filed an objection. 9. On 21 November 1997 the Mayor of Vienna, acting as the Regional Governor, quashed the decision on procedural grounds. He held that the CSIC should have served its decision on the first applicant. 10. On 13 January 1998 the CSIC dismissed a request by the first applicant and this time served the decision on him.
The first applicant filed objections. 11. The mayor of Vienna confirmed the CSIC's decision on 19 March 1998. Thereupon the first applicant lodged a complaint with the Constitutional Court in which he argued that the exclusion, under section 56(6) of the CSSAIA, of homosexual couples from the extension of insurance cover was in breach of Article 14, read in conjunction with Article 8, of the Convention and was therefore unconstitutional. 12. On 15 June 1998 the Constitutional Court declined to deal with the first applicant's complaint. Referring to its previous case-law, the Constitutional Court found that, in the issue at hand, the legislator had had a very wide margin in which to reach a decision and the decision taken had been within that margin.
13. On an unspecified date the Constitutional Court granted a request by the first applicant for the case to be transferred to the Administrative Court. On 7 September 1998 the first applicant supplemented his complaint to the Administrative Court. 14. On 4 October 2001 the Administrative Court dismissed the first applicant's complaint. It found that the authorities had correctly concluded that section 56(6) of the CSSAIA only applied to heterosexual partnerships. There was no issue under Article 14, read in conjunction with Article 8, of the Convention, because Article 8 did not guarantee specific social rights, and the case at issue did not therefore fall within the ambit of that provision.
The exclusion of homosexual partnerships from the scope of section 56(6) of the CSSAIA also complied with the principle of equality because that difference in treatment was justified. While it was true that, where persons of different sex living together in a household in which one of them was running that household while not being gainfully employed, it was, as a rule, safe to conclude that they were cohabiting in a partnership, that was not the case if two persons of the same sex were living together in a household. In the absence of any possibility to register a homosexual partnership, it would have been necessary to undertake delicate enquiries into the most intimate sphere of the person concerned.
That difference in the factual situation justified different treatment in law. 15. In proceedings instituted by the Constitutional Court to examine the constitutionality of two similar provisions to section 56(6) of the CSSAIA relating to extending insurance cover to relatives, on 10 October 2005 the Constitutional Court decided to quash section 123(8b) of the General Social Security Act (“the GSSA”) (Allgemeines Sozial-versicherungsgesetz) and section 83(3) of the Social Security Act for Trade and Commerce (“the TCSSA”) (Gewerbliches Sozialversicherungsgesetz). The Constitutional Court explicitly referred to the judgment of the European Court of Human Rights in the case of Karner v. Austria (see Karner v. Austria, no. 40016/98, 24 July 2003) and held that the two provisions in which the extension of insurance cover to unrelated persons living with the insured were discriminatory because they were restricted to persons of the opposite sex.
16. On 1 August 2006 the Social Rights Amendment Act (“the SRAA”) (Sozialrechts-Änderungsgesetz) entered into force amending in particular the GSSA, the TCSSA and also section 56 of the CSSAIA.
A second amendment to section 56 of the CSSAIA entered into force on 1 July 2007. 17. Before 1 August 2006 section 56(6) of the Civil Servants Sickness and Accident Insurance Act (Beamten-, Kranken- und Unfallversicherungs-gesetz), in so far as relevant, provided as follows: “(1) Relatives are entitled to benefits, if they have their ordinary residence in Austria and are neither health insured under the provisions of this Act nor any other provision of law … (6) A person belonging to the group of parents, ... step-parents and foster parents, children, ... stepchildren and foster children, grandchildren or brothers and sisters of the insured or a person of the opposite sex who is not related to him or her who has been living with him or her in the same household for at least ten months and since then has been doing the domestic work for the insured without payment, unless there is a spouse living in the same household who is able to work, shall be regarded as a member of the household.
Only one person can be a member in this sense.” 18. After the amendment to the Civil Servants Sickness and Accident Insurance Act on 1 August 2006, section 56(6) remained the same, but a new paragraph (6a) was introduced.
It read as follows; “A person who is not a relative of the insured and who has been living with him or her in the same household for at least ten month and since then is doing the domestic work for him or her without payment, unless there is a spouse living in the same household who is able to work, shall be regarded as a member of the common household, if (a) he or she is bringing up one or more children living in the same household ... or did so for at least four years; (b) he or she is entitled to benefits for the payment of nursing care (at least level 4) pursuant to section 5 of the Federal Nursing Care Benefits Act or pursuant to the provisions of the Regional Nursing Care Benefits Act; (c) he or she is doing nursing work for the insured who is entitled to benefits (at least level 4) for the payment of nursing care pursuant to the Federal Nursing Care Benefits Act or pursuant to the provisions of the Regional Nursing Care Benefits Act.” 19. On 1 July 2007 a further amendment to the Civil Servants Sickness and Accident Insurance Act entered into force.
Section 56(6) no longer applied to non-related persons, but only to relatives of the insured. The newly introduced paragraph 6a was only slightly modified. These provisions, in so far as relevant, read as follows: “(6) A person belonging to the group of parents, ... step-parents and foster parents, children, ... stepchildren and foster children, grandchildren or brothers and sisters of the insured who has been living with him or her in the same household for at least ten months and since then has been doing the domestic work for the insured without payment, unless there is a spouse living in the same household who is able to work, shall be regarded as a member of the household. He or she shall also be considered a member if he or she is no longer able to do the domestic work.
Only one person can be a member in this sense. (6a) A person who is not a relative of the insured and who has been living with him or her in the same household for at least ten month and since then has been doing the domestic work for him or her without payment, unless there is a spouse living in the same household who is able to work, shall be regarded as a member of the common household, if (a) he or she is bringing up one or more children living in the same household ... or did so for at least four years, or (b) he or she is doing nursing work for the insured who is entitled to public benefits at least level 4 pursuant to the Federal Nursing Care Benefits Act or pursuant to the provisions of the Regional Nursing Care Benefits Act.” 20. The last amendment to the Civil Servants Sickness and Accident Insurance Act which entered into force on 1 July 2007 was accompanied by a transitory provision.
Section 217(3) and (4) read as follows: “(3) Persons of the opposite sex and not related to the insured, who, pursuant to section 56(6) as in force on 30 June 2007, had been entitled to benefits as relatives and who on that date had already reached twenty-seven years of age remain entitled to benefits as relatives until the relevant circumstances change. (4) Persons of the opposite sex and not related to the insured, who, pursuant to section 56(6) as in force on 30 June 2007, had been entitled to benefits as relatives and who on that date had not yet reached twenty-seven years of age remain entitled to benefits as relatives until the relevant circumstances change, but at most until 31 December 2010.”