- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 2 octombrie 2012
- Stat pârât
- POL
- Articole
- Articolul 1, Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
- Concluzia
- Încălcare — Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
Lasota împotriva Poloniei
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamantul s-a născut în 1957 și trăiește în Sarnów. Reclamantul este căsătorit și are doi copii. Înainte de cererea sa pentru o pensie de pensie timpurie el a fost angajat de 25 de ani și a plătit contribuții de securitate socială statului. În iulie 2001, reclamantul a depus o cerere la Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rzeszów (Zakład Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) pentru a primi dreptul la o pensie de pensionare anticipată pentru persoanele care, datorită gravității stării lor de sănătate, au nevoie de îngrijire constantă, așa-numita pensie „EWK”. Împreună cu cererea de pensie, reclamantul a prezentat, printre altele, un certificat medical de sănătate al fiului său, emis de un centru medical specializat la 15 mai 2001. Certificatul a declarat că copilul (născut în 1994) a suferit de astm și bronchită ușoară (astma oskrzelowa lagodna i spastyczne zapalenie oskrzeli) și că avea nevoie de îngrijirea constantă a părintelui său.
La 9 august 2001, Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rzeszów („SB”) a emis o decizie care acordă reclamantului dreptul la o pensie anticipată de la 1 iulie 2001 în valoare netă de 685 zloti polonezi (PLN). 10. La 20 august 2002, Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rzeszów a cerut medicului Consiliului de Securitate Socială Principală (Główny Lekarz Orzecznik) să informeze dacă fiul reclamantului necesită îngrijirea permanentă a unui părinte. La 13 septembrie 2002, medicul a declarat că, pe baza documentelor medicale, copilul nu ar putea fi considerat că are nevoie de astfel de îngrijire. 11. La 19 septembrie 2002, Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rzeszów a emis simultan două decizii cu privire la solicitant.
În temeiul unei decizii, plata pensiei reclamantului a fost întreruptă cu efect imediat. În temeiul celelalte decizii, Consiliul a redeschis procedura, a revocat decizia inițială de acordare a unei pensii și a refuzat în cele din urmă să acorde reclamantului dreptul la o pensie de pensie anticipată în temeiul regimului prevăzut de Ordonanța 1989. 12. Reclamantul a apelat împotriva deciziilor respective care l-au cedat de dreptul la o pensie de pensie anticipată. El a susținut că ar trebui să primească beneficiul deoarece copilul său solicită asistență constantă, astfel cum a confirmat certificatul medical atașat cererii inițiale ale reclamantului de pensie. În plus, reclamantul a susținut că revocarea pensiei sale de pensionare este contrar principiului drepturilor conferite.
13. La 29 mai 2003, Curtea Regională Tarnobrzeg (Sād Okręgowy) a respins recursul. Curtea Regională a concluzionat pe baza dovezilor că copilul reclamantului nu a solicitat îngrijirea permanentă a tatălui său, deoarece starea sa de sănătate nu i-a afectat în mod semnificativ funcțiile corporale. Tribunalul intern a considerat că reclamantul a fost îndepărtat în mod corespunzător de dreptul său la o pensie în temeiul regimului prevăzut de Ordonanța din 1989, deoarece el nu a îndeplinit cerințele de asistență permanentă necesară. 14. Reclamantul a respins recursul împotriva hotărârii de primă instanță. 15. La 20 noiembrie 2003, Curtea de apel Rzeszów (Sīd Apelacyjny) a respins recursul. 16. La 29 aprilie 2004, Curtea Supremă (Sād Najwyższy) a refuzat să dispună de recursul de casă depus de reclamant.
17. În urma procedurii de securitate socială, reclamantul nu a fost ordonat să își returneze prestațiile de pensie anticipată plătite de Consiliul de Securitate Socială, în ciuda revocarea dreptului său la o pensie de pensie anticipată. 18. Reclamantul a susținut că, după revocarea pensiei EWK, el a rămas șomer până în aprilie 2007. În acest timp, el nu a primit prestații sociale sau de șomaj. Soția sa a fost angajată sezonier ca operator de sistem de încălzire în școli. Ei au deținut o fermă care era prea mică pentru a le califica pentru sistemul de securitate socială pentru agricultori și din care nu au obținut niciun venit. 19. Guvernul a susținut că reclamantul a acceptat ocuparea forței de muncă în aprilie 2007. Ei nu au specificat valoarea salariului său.
Cu toate acestea, după 2007, venitul anual al familiei a crescut de la 6.000 PLN (aprox. 1.400 euro (EUR) la 30.000 PLN (aprox. 7.000 EUR). Soția reclamantului a lucrat între 2001 și 2010 în timpul lunilor de iarnă numai. Guvernul a susținut că soția reclamantului deține, de asemenea, o mică exploatație care ar fi putut constitui o sursă suplimentară de venit. 20. În plus, Guvernul a prezentat informații cu privire la diferitele tipuri de prestații sociale disponibile în Polonia. Cu toate acestea, nu au specificat care dintre aceste prestații, dacă există, erau disponibile în situația reclamantului. 21. În conformitate cu legile relevante aflate în vigoare în prezent, se pare că reclamantul va fi calificat pentru o pensie regulară de pensionare în 2022.22.
Majoritatea reclamanților formează Asociația Victimelor SSB (Stowarzyszenie Osób Poszkodowanych przez ZUS), o organizație care monitorizează practicile Consiliului de Securitate Socială din Polonia, în special în regiunea Podkarpacki. 23. Dintre toate cererile depuse la Curte, aproximativ 24 de reclamanți au hotărât să nu depună un recurs de casă împotriva hotărârii Curții de Apel din cauza lor. 24. O sutăși patru reclamanți au depus apeluri de casă împotriva hotărârilor finale din cauzele lor. Curtea Supremă a dictat și a respins în favoarea celor cincizeci de apeluri. În opt de cereri, Curtea Supremă a refuzat să dispună de apeluri de cassare din cauza faptului că nu au ridicat probleme juridice importante sau a impus Curții Supreme să dea o nouă interpretare dispozițiilor juridice care au susținut îndoieli grave sau au provocat ambiguitate în jurisprudența instanțelor interne.
În cele opt cazuri rămase, apelurile de cassare au fost respinse pentru nerespectarea diverselor cerințe procedurale. 25. Dispozițiile juridice aplicabile la momentul material și întrebările de practică sunt prezentate în hotărârea Moskal v. Polonia, nr. 10373/05, § 3134, 15 septembrie 2009. 26. Sistemul de securitate socială pentru agricultori este reglementat de Legea privind securitatea socială a agricultorilor din 20 decembrie 1990 („Legea din 1990”; ustawa o ubezpieczeniu społecznymrolników).
27. La art. 114 alineatul (1) din Legea din 13 octombrie 1998 privind sistemul de asigurare socială (Ustawa o sistemie ubezpieczeń społecznych), care, în momentul în care se citește după cum urmează: „Dreapta la prestații sau valoarea prestațiilor va fi reevaluată la cererea persoanei în cauză sau, de oficiu, dacă, după validarea deciziei privind beneficiile, se prezintă noi dovezi sau circumstanțele care existau înainte de a emite decizia și care au un impact asupra dreptului la prestații sau la sumă lor se descoperă”. La 1 iulie 2004, se adaugă un nou paragraf 114 alineatul (1), care menționează următoarele: „După validarea deciziei, se descoperă că dovezile care au fost prezentate nu dau dreptul la o pensie, la o pensie de invaliditate sau la suma sa.” 28. O parte la procedură civilă ar putea, în timp util, depune un recurs de cassare la Curtea Supremă împotriva unei hotărâri judiciare ale unei instanțe de secundare.
O parte ar trebui să fie reprezentată de un avocat sau de un consilier juridic. 29. art. 3931 din Codul de Procedură Civilă, după caz, în termenul material, enumerat motivele pentru care ar putea fi depus un recurs de cassare. Acesta a citit după cum urmează: „Appelul de cassare poate fi bazat pe următoarele motive: 1) încălcarea legii de fond ca urmare a interpretării sau aplicării ei greșite; 2) încălcarea dispozițiilor procedurale, dacă acest defect ar putea afecta semnificativ rezultatul cazului.” 30. În conformitate cu art. 39313, Curtea Supremă, după ce a permis un recurs de casă, ar putea anula hotărârea contestată în întregime sau în parte și să trimită cazul de reexaminare. În cazul în care Curtea Supremă nu a găsit o neconformitate cu legea, aceasta a respins apelul de casă.
În conformitate cu art. 39315, în cazul în care recursul de casă a fost bine fundamentat Curtea Supremă ar putea modifica, de asemenea, hotărârea impugnată și judecată cu privire la fondul. 31. La 22 iunie 1999, Ombudsmanul a depus o cerere Curții Constituționale, cerând art. 186 § 3 din Legea din 17 decembrie 1998 privind pensiile de pensionare și de invaliditate plătite de Fondul de Asigurare Socială (Ustawa o emeryturach i locach z Funduszu Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) („Legea din 1998”) să fie declarate neconstituționale în măsura în care restricționează aplicarea Ordinării 1989 la persoanele născute înainte de 1 ianuarie 1949. Mai precis, Ombudsmanul a susținut că introducerea unui limit de vârstă în ceea ce privește persoanele care au avut grijă de un copil, care, în esență, constituie o privare a dreptului la un beneficiu, constituie o încălcare a principiului egalității prevăzut la art. 32 § 1 din Constituție.
32. La 4 ianuarie 2000, Curtea Constituțională (K18/99) a declarat neconstituțională art. 186 § 3 din Legea din 1998, în măsura în care restricționează aplicarea Ordinării 1989 la persoanele născute înainte de 1 ianuarie 1949. Curtea Constituțională a reiterat, printre altele, principiul constituțional al drepturilor dobândite care garantează o protecție deosebit de puternică pentru dreptul la beneficii sociale. 33. La 10 februarie 2011, Ombudsmanul a depus o cerere în favoarea Curții Constituționale, cerând ca art. 114 alineatul (1) litera (a) din Legea din 1998 să fie declarat neconstituțional în măsura în care a permis SSB să redeschidă de oficiu proceduri privind acordarea unei pensii de pensii sau a unei pensii de invaliditate pe baza unei noi evaluări a dovezilor care au fost deja prezentate.
34. La 28 februarie 2012, Curtea Constituțională (K5/11) a declarat neconstituțională art. 114 alineatul (1) litera (a) din Legea din 1998, în măsura în care a permis SSB să redeschidă astfel de proceduri în urma unei noi evaluări a probelor care au fost deja prezentate.
5. The applicant was born in 1957 and lives in Sarnów. 6. The applicant is married and has two children. Prior to his application for an earlyretirement pension he had been employed for 25 years and had paid social security contributions to the State. 7. In July 2001 the applicant filed an application with the Rzeszów Social Security Board (Zakład Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) to be granted the right to an earlyretirement pension for persons raising children who, due to the seriousness of their health condition, required constant care, the socalled “EWK” pension. 8. Along with his application for a pension, the applicant submitted, among other documents concerning his son’s health condition, a medical certificate issued by a specialist medical centre on 15 May 2001. The certificate stated that the child (born in 1994) suffered from mild asthma and bronchitis (astma oskrzelowa lagodna i spastyczne zapalenie oskrzeli) and that he was in need of his parent’s constant care.
9. On 9 August 2001 the Rzeszów Social Security Board (“the SSB”) issued a decision granting the applicant the right to an earlyretirement pension as of 1 July 2001 in the net amount of 685 Polish zlotys (PLN). 10. On 20 August 2002 the Rzeszów Social Security Board asked the Main Social Security Board’s doctor (Główny Lekarz Orzecznik) to inform it whether the applicant’s son required the permanent care of a parent. On 13 September 2002 the doctor stated that, on the basis of the medical documents, the child could not be considered as ever having required such care. 11. On 19 September 2002 the Rzeszów Social Security Board issued simultaneously two decisions in respect of the applicant. By virtue of one decision, the payment of the applicant’s pension was discontinued with immediate effect.
By virtue of the other decision, the Board reopened the proceedings, revoked the initial decision granting a pension and eventually refused to grant the applicant the right to an earlyretirement pension under the scheme provided for by the 1989 Ordinance. 12. The applicant appealed against the respective decisions divesting him of the right to an earlyretirement pension. He submitted that he should receive the benefit because his child required constant care, as confirmed by the medical certificate attached to the applicant’s original application for a pension. Moreover, the applicant alleged that the revocation of his retirement pension was contrary to the principle of vested rights. 13. On 29 May 2003 the Tarnobrzeg Regional Court (Sąd Okręgowy) dismissed the appeal.
The Regional Court concluded on the basis of the evidence that the applicant’s child did not require his father’s permanent care since his health condition did not significantly impair his bodily functions. The domestic court held that the applicant had been rightfully divested of his right to a pension under the scheme provided by the 1989 Ordinance as he did not satisfy the requirement of necessary permanent care. 14. The applicant further appealed against the firstinstance judgment. 15. On 20 November 2003 the Rzeszów Court of Appeal (Sąd Apelacyjny) dismissed the appeal. 16. On 29 April 2004 the Supreme Court (Sąd Najwyższy) refused to entertain the cassation appeal lodged by the applicant.
17. Following the social security proceedings the applicant was not ordered to return his earlyretirement benefits paid by the Social Security Board, despite the revocation of his right to an earlyretirement pension. 18. The applicant submitted that after revocation of the EWK pension he remained unemployed until April 2007. During this time he received no social or unemployment benefits. His wife had been employed seasonally as a heating system operator in schools. They owned a farm which was too small to qualify them for the social security scheme for farmers and from which they derived no income. 19. The Government submitted that the applicant took up employment in April 2007. They failed to specify the amount of his salary.
However, after 2007 the family’s yearly income increased from PLN 6,000 (approx. 1,400 euros (EUR)) to PLN 30,000 (approx. EUR 7,000). The applicant’s wife worked between 2001 and 2010 during the winter months only. The Government maintained that the applicant’s wife also owned a small farm which might have constituted an additional source of income. 20. In addition, the Government submitted information as regards the various types of social benefits available in Poland. However, they did not specify which of those benefits, if any, were available in the applicant’s situation. 21. Under the relevant laws currently in force, it appears that the applicant will qualify for a regular retirement pension in 2022. 22. Some 130 applications arising from a similar fact pattern have been brought to the Court.
The majority of the applicants form the Association of Victims of the SSB (Stowarzyszenie Osób Poszkodowanych przez ZUS) (“the Association”), an organisation monitoring the practices of the Social Security Board in Poland, in particular in the Podkarpacki region. 23. Out of all applications lodged with the Court, about twentyfour applicants decided not to lodge a cassation appeal against the judgment of the Court of Appeal given in their case. 24. One hundredandfour applicants lodged cassation appeals against the final judgments given in their cases. The Supreme Court entertained and dismissed on the merits fifteen appeals. In eightyone applications the Supreme Court refused to entertain cassation appeals on the ground that they did not raise any important legal issues or require the Supreme Court to give a new interpretation to legal provisions which raised serious doubts or gave rise to ambiguity in the jurisprudence of the domestic courts.
In the remaining eight cases cassation appeals were rejected for failure to comply with various procedural requirements. 25. The legal provisions applicable at the material time and questions of practice are set out in the judgment in the case of Moskal v. Poland, no. 10373/05, § 3134, 15 September 2009. 26. The social security scheme for farmers is regulated by the Farmers’ Social Security Act of 20 December 1990 (“the 1990 Act”; ustawa o ubezpieczeniu społecznym rolników).
27. The reopening of the proceedings concerning the earlyretirement pension is regulated in section 114 (1) of the Law of 13 October 1998 on the system of social insurance (Ustawa o systemie ubezpieczeń społecznych), which at the relevant time read as follows: “The right to benefits or the amount of benefits will be reassessed upon application by the person concerned or, ex officio, if, after the validation of the decision concerning benefits, new evidence is submitted or circumstances which had existed before issuing the decision and which have an impact on the right to benefits or on their amount are discovered.” On 1 July 2004 a new subparagraph 114 (1) a was added, which reads as follows: “Section 1 shall apply respectively, if, after the validation of the decision it is discovered that the evidence that had been submitted did not give the right to a pension, disability pension or its amount.” 28. A party to civil proceedings could, at the material time, lodge a cassation appeal with the Supreme Court against a judicial decision of a secondinstance court.
A party had to be represented by an advocate or a legal adviser. 29. Article 3931 of the Code of Civil Procedure as applicable at the material time listed the grounds on which a cassation appeal could be lodged. It read as follows: “The cassation appeal may be based on the following grounds: 1) a breach of substantive law as a result of its erroneous interpretation or wrongful application; 2) a breach of procedural provisions, if that defect could significantly affect the outcome of the case.” 30. Pursuant to Article 393¹³ the Supreme Court, having allowed a cassation appeal, could quash the challenged judgment in its entirety or in part and remit the case for reexamination. Where the Supreme Court failed to find nonconformity with the law, it dismissed the cassation appeal.
According to Article 39315 if the cassation appeal was wellfounded the Supreme Court could also amend the impugned judgment and adjudicate on the merits. 31. On 22 June 1999 the Ombudsman made an application to the Constitutional Court, asking for section 186 § 3 of the Law of 17 December 1998 on retirement and disability pensions paid from the Social Insurance Fund (Ustawa o emeryturach i rentach z Funduszu Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) (“the 1998 Law”) to be declared unconstitutional in so far as it restricted the application of the 1989 Ordinance to persons born before 1 January 1949. More specifically, the Ombudsman submitted that the introduction of an agelimit in respect of persons taking care of a child, which in essence amounted to a deprivation of the right to a benefit, constituted a violation of the principle of equality set forth in Article 32 § 1 of the Constitution.
32. On 4 January 2000 the Constitutional Court (K18/99) declared the impugned section 186 § 3 of the 1998 Law unconstitutional in so far as it restricted the application of the 1989 Ordinance to persons born before 1 January 1949. The Constitutional Court reiterated among other things the constitutional principle of acquired rights which guarantees particularly strong protection for the right to receive social welfare benefits. 33. On 10 February 2011 the Ombudsman made an application to the Constitutional Court, asking for section 114 (1)(a) of the 1998 Law to be declared unconstitutional in so far as it allowed the SSB to reopen ex officio proceedings relating to the grant of a pension or a disability pension on the basis of a new assessment of evidence which had already been submitted.
34. On 28 February 2012 the Constitutional Court (K5/11) declared the impugned section 114 (1)(a) of the 1998 Law unconstitutional in so far as it allowed the SSB to reopen such proceedings following a new assessment of evidence which had already been submitted.