- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 4 decembrie 2012
- Stat pârât
- POL
- Articole
- Articolul 1, Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
- Concluzia
- Încălcare — Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
Szewc împotriva Poloniei
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamantul s-a născut în 1957 și trăiește în Kębłów. Reclamantul este căsătorit și are doi copii. Înainte de cererea ei pentru o pensie de pensie timpurie a fost angajată și plătită contribuții de securitate socială în stat. La 19 decembrie 2001, reclamantul a depus o cerere la Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rzeszów (Zakład Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) de a acorda dreptul la o pensie de pensionare anticipată pentru persoanele care, datorită gravității condiției lor de sănătate, au nevoie de îngrijire constantă, așa-numita pensie „EWK”. Alături de cererea ei de pensie, reclamantul a prezentat, printre altele, un certificat medical de sănătate al fiului său, emis de un centru medical specializat la 13 decembrie 2001. Certificatul a declarat că copilul (născut în 1988) a suferit de astm bronchial și că are nevoie de îngrijirea constantă a părintelui său.
La 7 ianuarie 2002, Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rzeszów („SSB”) a emis o decizie care acordă reclamantului dreptul la o pensie anticipată de la 1 decembrie 2001 în valoare netă de 689,16 zlotys polonez (PLN). 10. Consiliul de Securitate Socială a suspendat inițial plata pensiei din cauza faptului că reclamantul încă lucrează la data deciziei. La 11 aprilie 2002, reclamantul a demisionat de la locul de muncă pe timp integral într-o companie privată, unde lucrează din 1985. După aceea, plata pensiei a fost reluată. 11. La 6 septembrie 2002, Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rzeszów a cerut medicului Comitetului de Securitate Socială Principal (Główny Lekarz Orzecznik) să informeze dacă fiul reclamantului necesită îngrijirea permanentă a unui părinte.
Medicul a afirmat că, pe baza documentelor medicale, copilul nu a putut fi considerat ca fiind necesară o astfel de îngrijire. 12. La 19 septembrie 2002, Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rzeszów a emis simultan două decizii cu privire la solicitant. În temeiul unei decizii, plata pensiei reclamantului a fost întreruptă cu efect imediat. În temeiul celelalte decizii, Consiliul a redeschis procedura, a revocat decizia inițială de acordare a unei pensii și a refuzat în cele din urmă să acorde reclamantului dreptul la o pensie de pensie anticipată în temeiul regimului prevăzut de Ordonanța Cabinetului din 15 mai 1989 privind dreptul la pensionare anticipată a angajaților care creează copii care necesită asistență permanentă (Rozporzādzenie Rady Ministrów z dn.
15 mai 1989 w sprawie uprawnień do wcześniejszej emerytury pracowników opiekuj Ea a susținut că ar trebui să primească beneficiul deoarece copilul său necesită asistență constantă, astfel cum a confirmat certificatul medical atașat cererii inițiale ale reclamantului de pensie. În plus, reclamantul a susținut că revocarea pensiei sale de pensionare este contrar principiului drepturilor conferite. 14. La 30 iunie 2004, Curtea Regională Tarnobrzeg (Sād Okręgowy) a respins recursul. Curtea Regională a încheiat pe baza dovezilor, inclusiv a dovezilor medicale de experți, că, deși, într-adevăr copilul reclamantului a suferit de astm bronhnic, nu a solicitat îngrijirea permanentă a mamei sale, deoarece starea sa de sănătate nu a afectat semnificativ funcțiile corporale.
Tribunalul intern a considerat că reclamantul a fost îndepărtat în mod corespunzător de dreptul său la o pensie în temeiul schemei prevăzute de Ordonanța din 1989, deoarece nu a îndeplinit cerințele de asistență permanentă necesară. 15. Reclamantul a respins apelul împotriva hotărârii de primă instanță. 16. La 9 noiembrie 2004, Curtea de Apel Rzeszów (Sīd Apelacyjny) a respins recursul. 17. La 8 martie 2005, Curtea Supremă (Sād Najwyższy) a refuzat să dispună de recursul de casă depus de reclamant. 18. În urma procedurii de securitate socială, reclamantul nu a fost ordonat să-și returneze prestațiile de pensie anticipată plătite de Consiliul de Securitate Socială, în ciuda revocarea dreptului ei la o pensie de pensie anticipată.
19. Reclamantul a susținut că a fost privată de principala sursă de venit. 20. Guvernul a susținut că reclamantul a fost angajat continuu din 4 mai 2004. De asemenea, doi fii ai ei au lucrat. În plus, reclamantul a deținut o fermă împreună cu soțul ei. 21. În plus, Guvernul a prezentat informații în ceea ce privește diferitele tipuri de prestații sociale disponibile în Polonia. Cu toate acestea, ei nu au specificat care dintre aceste prestații, dacă există, erau disponibile în situația reclamantului. 22. În conformitate cu legile relevante aflate în vigoare în prezent, se pare că reclamantul va fi calificat pentru o pensie de pensionare regulată în 2017. 23. Aproximativ 130 de cereri care rezultă dintr-un model similar de fapt au fost aduse Curții.
Majoritatea reclamanților formează Asociația Victimelor SSB (Stowarzyszenie Osób Poszkodowanych przez ZUS), o organizație care monitorizează practicile Consiliului de Securitate Socială din Polonia, în special în regiunea Podkarpacki. 24. Dintre toate cererile depuse la Curte, aproximativ 24 de reclamanți au hotărât să nu depună un recurs de casă împotriva hotărârii Curții de Apel din cauza lor. 25. O sută și patru de reclamanți au depus apeluri de casă împotriva hotărârilor finale din cauza lor. Curtea Supremă a dictat și a respins asupra meritelor cincisprezece apeluri. În optzeci de cereri, Curtea Supremă a refuzat să dispună de apeluri de cassare din cauza faptului că nu au ridicat probleme juridice importante sau a impus Curții Supreme să dea o nouă interpretare dispozițiilor juridice care au susținut îndoieli grave sau au dat naștere la ambiguitate în jurisprudența instanțelor interne.
În cele opt cazuri rămase, apelurile de cassare au fost respinse pentru nerespectarea diverselor cerințe procedurale. 26. Dispozițiile juridice aplicabile la momentul material și întrebările de practică sunt prezentate în hotărârea Moskal v. Polonia, nr. 10373/05, § 31-34, 15 septembrie 2009. 27. Sistemul de securitate socială pentru agricultori este reglementat de Legea privind securitatea socială a agricultorilor din 20 decembrie 1990 („Legea din 1990”; ustawa o ubezpieczeniu społecznymrolników).
28. Reluarea procedurii privind pensia de pensie anticipată este reglementată la art. 114 alineatul (1) din Legea din 17 decembrie 1998 privind pensiile de pensionare și de invaliditate plătite de Fondul de asigurare socială (Ustawa o emeryturach i locatch z Funduszu Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) („Legea din 1998”), care, în termenul relevant, citește după cum urmează: „Dreapta la prestații sau valoarea prestațiilor va fi reevaluată după cererea persoanei în cauză sau, de oficiu, dacă, după validarea deciziei privind beneficiile, se prezintă noi dovezi sau circumstanțe care existau înainte de a emite decizia și care au un impact asupra dreptului la beneficii sau asupra sumei lor sunt descoperite”.
La 1 iulie 2004, a fost adăugat un nou paragraf 114(1)a), care se menționează după cum urmează: „Secțiunea 1 se aplică respectiv, dacă, după validarea deciziei se descoperă că dovezilelele care nu au fost prezentate că nu au avut dreptul la pensie, nu au fost acordate, la o pensie de pensie, sau la pensie”. O parte la procedură civilă ar putea, în timp util, depune un recurs de cassare la Curtea Supremă împotriva unei hotărâri judiciare ale unei instanțe de a doua instanță. O parte a fost reprezentată de un avocat sau de un consilier juridic. 30. art. 3931 din Codul de Procedură Civilă, astfel cum este cazul în momentul material, înscris motivele pentru care ar putea fi depus un recurs de cassare.
Acesta a citit după cum urmează: „Appelul de cassare se poate baza pe următoarele motive: 1) încălcarea legii de fond ca urmare a interpretării sau aplicării ei greșite; 2) încălcarea dispozițiilor procedurale, dacă acest defect ar putea afecta în mod semnificativ rezultatul cazului.” 31. În conformitate cu art. 39313, Curtea Supremă, după ce a permis un recurs de casă, ar putea anula hotărârea contestată în întregime sau în parte și să trimită cazul de reexaminare. În cazul în care Curtea Supremă nu a găsit o neconformitate cu legea, aceasta a respins apelul de casă. În conformitate cu art. 39315, în cazul în care recursul de casă a fost bine fundat Curtea Supremă ar putea modifica, de asemenea, hotărârea impugnată și judecată cu privire la fondul.
32. La 22 iunie 1999, Ombudsmanul a depus o cerere Curții Constituționale, cerând art. 186 alineatul (3) din Legea din 17 decembrie 1998 privind pensiile de pensionare și de invaliditate plătite de Fondul de Asigurare Socială (Ustawa o emeryturach i locach z Funduszu Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) („Legea din 1998”) să fie declarată neconstituțională în măsura în care restricționează aplicarea Ordinării 1989 la persoanele născute înainte de 1 ianuarie 1949. Mai precis, Ombudsmanul a susținut că introducerea unui termen de vârstă în ceea ce privește persoanele care au avut grijă de un copil, care, în esență, constituie o privare a dreptului la un beneficiu, constituie o încălcare a principiului egalității prevăzut la art. 32 § 1 din Constituție.
33. La 4 ianuarie 2000, Curtea Constituțională (K18/99) a declarat neconstituțională art. 186 alineatul (3) din Legea din 1998, în măsura în care restricționează aplicarea Ordinării 1989 la persoanele născute înainte de 1 ianuarie 1949. Curtea Constituțională a reiterat, printre altele, principiul constituțional al drepturilor dobândite, care garantează o protecție deosebită pentru dreptul la beneficii sociale. 34. La 10 februarie 2011, Ombudsmanul a depus o cerere în favoarea Curții Constituționale, cerând ca art. 114 alineatul (1) litera (a) din Legea din 1998 să fie declarat neconstituțional în măsura în care a permis SSB să redeschidă de oficiu proceduri privind acordarea unei pensii de pensii sau a unei pensii de invaliditate pe baza unei noi evaluări a dovezilor care au fost deja prezentate.
35. La 28 februarie 2012, Curtea Constituțională (K5/11) a declarat neconstituțională art. 114 alineatul (1) litera (a) din Legea din 1998, în măsura în care a permis SSB să redeschidă astfel de proceduri în urma unei noi evaluări a probelor care au fost deja prezentate.
5. The applicant was born in 1957 and lives in Kębłów. 6. The applicant is married and has two children. Prior to her application for an early-retirement pension she had been employed and paid social security contributions to the State. 7. On 19 December 2001 the applicant filed an application with the Rzeszów Social Security Board (Zakład Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) to be granted the right to an early-retirement pension for persons raising children who, due to the seriousness of their health condition, required constant care, the so-called “EWK” pension. 8. Along with her application for a pension, the applicant submitted, among other documents concerning her son’s health condition, a medical certificate issued by a specialist medical centre on 13 December 2001. The certificate stated that the child (born in 1988) suffered from bronchial asthma and that he was in need of his parent’s constant care.
9. On 7 January 2002 the Rzeszów Social Security Board (“the SSB”) issued a decision granting the applicant the right to an earlyretirement pension as of 1 December 2001 in the net amount of 689.16 Polish zlotys (PLN). 10. The Social Security Board initially suspended the payment of the pension due to the fact that the applicant was still working on the date of the decision. On 11 April 2002 the applicant resigned from her full-time job in a private company where she has been working since 1985. Afterwards, payment of the pension was resumed. 11. On 6 September 2002 the Rzeszów Social Security Board asked the Main Social Security Board’s doctor (Główny Lekarz Orzecznik) to inform it whether the applicant’s son required the permanent care of a parent.
The doctor stated that, on the basis of the medical documents, the child could not be considered as ever having required such care. 12. On 19 September 2002 the Rzeszów Social Security Board issued simultaneously two decisions in respect of the applicant. By virtue of one decision, the payment of the applicant’s pension was discontinued with immediate effect. By virtue of the other decision, the Board reopened the proceedings, revoked the initial decision granting a pension and eventually refused to grant the applicant the right to an early-retirement pension under the scheme provided for by the Cabinet’s Ordinance of 15 May 1989 on the right to early retirement of employees raising children who require permanent care (Rozporządzenie Rady Ministrów z dn.
15 maja 1989 w sprawie uprawnień do wcześniejszej emerytury pracowników opiekujących się dziećmi wymagającymi stałej opieki) (“the 1989 Ordinance”). 13. The applicant appealed against the respective decisions divesting her of the right to an early-retirement pension. She submitted that she should receive the benefit because her child required constant care, as confirmed by the medical certificate attached to the applicant’s original application for a pension. Moreover, the applicant alleged that the revocation of her retirement pension was contrary to the principle of vested rights. 14. On 30 June 2004 the Tarnobrzeg Regional Court (Sąd Okręgowy) dismissed the appeal. The Regional Court concluded on the basis of the evidence, including expert medical evidence, that while indeed the applicant’s child suffered from bronchial asthma he did not require his mother’s permanent care since his health condition did not significantly impair his bodily functions.
The domestic court held that the applicant had been rightfully divested of her right to a pension under the scheme provided by the 1989 Ordinance as she did not satisfy the requirement of necessary permanent care. 15. The applicant further appealed against the first-instance judgment. 16. On 9 November 2004 the Rzeszów Court of Appeal (Sąd Apelacyjny) dismissed the appeal. 17. On 8 March 2005 the Supreme Court (Sąd Najwyższy) refused to entertain the cassation appeal lodged by the applicant. 18. Following the social security proceedings the applicant was not ordered to return her early-retirement benefits paid by the Social Security Board, despite the revocation of her right to an early-retirement pension.
19. The applicant submitted that she had been deprived of her principal source of income. 20. The Government submitted that the applicant had been employed continuously since 4 May 2004. Also her two sons had worked. Moreover, the applicant owned a farm together with her husband. 21. In addition, the Government submitted information as regards the various types of social benefits available in Poland. However, they did not specify which of those benefits, if any, were available in the applicant’s situation. 22. Under the relevant laws currently in force, it appears that the applicant will qualify for a regular retirement pension in 2017. 23. Some 130 applications arising from a similar fact pattern have been brought to the Court.
The majority of the applicants form the Association of Victims of the SSB (Stowarzyszenie Osób Poszkodowanych przez ZUS) (“the Association”), an organisation monitoring the practices of the Social Security Board in Poland, in particular in the Podkarpacki region. 24. Out of all applications lodged with the Court, about twenty-four applicants decided not to lodge a cassation appeal against the judgment of the Court of Appeal given in their case. 25. One hundred-and-four applicants lodged cassation appeals against the final judgments given in their cases. The Supreme Court entertained and dismissed on the merits fifteen appeals. In eighty-one applications the Supreme Court refused to entertain cassation appeals on the ground that they did not raise any important legal issues or require the Supreme Court to give a new interpretation to legal provisions which raised serious doubts or gave rise to ambiguity in the jurisprudence of the domestic courts.
In the remaining eight cases cassation appeals were rejected for failure to comply with various procedural requirements. 26. The legal provisions applicable at the material time and questions of practice are set out in the judgment in the case of Moskal v. Poland, no. 10373/05, § 31-34, 15 September 2009. 27. The social security scheme for farmers is regulated by the Farmers’ Social Security Act of 20 December 1990 (“the 1990 Act”; ustawa o ubezpieczeniu społecznym rolników).
28. The reopening of the proceedings concerning the early-retirement pension is regulated in section 114 (1) of the Law of 17 December 1998 on retirement and disability pensions paid from the Social Insurance Fund (Ustawa o emeryturach i rentach z Funduszu Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) (“the 1998 Law”), which at the relevant time read as follows: “The right to benefits or the amount of benefits will be re-assessed upon application by the person concerned or, ex officio, if, after the validation of the decision concerning benefits, new evidence is submitted or circumstances which had existed before issuing the decision and which have an impact on the right to benefits or on their amount are discovered.” On 1 July 2004 a new subparagraph 114 (1)(a) was added, which reads as follows: “Section 1 shall apply respectively, if, after the validation of the decision it is discovered that the evidence that had been submitted did not give the right to a pension, disability pension or its amount.” 29. A party to civil proceedings could, at the material time, lodge a cassation appeal with the Supreme Court against a judicial decision of a second-instance court.
A party had to be represented by an advocate or a legal adviser. 30. Article 3931 of the Code of Civil Procedure as applicable at the material time listed the grounds on which a cassation appeal could be lodged. It read as follows: “The cassation appeal may be based on the following grounds: 1) a breach of substantive law as a result of its erroneous interpretation or wrongful application; 2) a breach of procedural provisions, if that defect could significantly affect the outcome of the case.” 31. Pursuant to Article 393¹³ the Supreme Court, having allowed a cassation appeal, could quash the challenged judgment in its entirety or in part and remit the case for re-examination. Where the Supreme Court failed to find non-conformity with the law, it dismissed the cassation appeal.
According to Article 39315 if the cassation appeal was well-founded the Supreme Court could also amend the impugned judgment and adjudicate on the merits. 32. On 22 June 1999 the Ombudsman made an application to the Constitutional Court, asking for section 186 (3) of the Law of 17 December 1998 on retirement and disability pensions paid from the Social Insurance Fund (Ustawa o emeryturach i rentach z Funduszu Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) (“the 1998 Law”) to be declared unconstitutional in so far as it restricted the application of the 1989 Ordinance to persons born before 1 January 1949. More specifically, the Ombudsman submitted that the introduction of an age-limit in respect of persons taking care of a child, which in essence amounted to a deprivation of the right to a benefit, constituted a violation of the principle of equality set forth in Article 32 § 1 of the Constitution.
33. On 4 January 2000 the Constitutional Court (K18/99) declared the impugned section 186 (3) of the 1998 Law unconstitutional in so far as it restricted the application of the 1989 Ordinance to persons born before 1 January 1949. The Constitutional Court reiterated among other things the constitutional principle of acquired rights which guarantees particularly strong protection for the right to receive social welfare benefits. 34. On 10 February 2011 the Ombudsman made an application to the Constitutional Court, asking for section 114 (1)(a) of the 1998 Law to be declared unconstitutional in so far as it allowed the SSB to reopen ex officio proceedings relating to the grant of a pension or a disability pension on the basis of a new assessment of evidence which had already been submitted.
35. On 28 February 2012 the Constitutional Court (K5/11) declared the impugned section 114 (1)(a) of the 1998 Law unconstitutional in so far as it allowed the SSB to reopen such proceedings following a new assessment of evidence which had already been submitted.