- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 4 decembrie 2012
- Stat pârât
- POL
- Articole
- Articolul 1, Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
- Concluzia
- Încălcare — Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
Zofia Sikora împotriva Poloniei
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamantul s-a născut în 1956 și trăiește în Boguchwala. Reclamantul este o mamă singură cu trei copii. Înainte de cererea ei pentru o pensie de pensie timpurie a fost angajată de aceeași companie timp de 25 de ani și a plătit contribuții de securitate socială statului. La 6 noiembrie 2001, reclamantul a depus o cerere la Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rzeszów (Zakład Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) pentru a primi dreptul la o pensie de pensie anticipată pentru persoanele care, datorită gravității stării lor de sănătate, au nevoie de îngrijire constantă, numita pensie de „EWK”. Alături de cererea ei de pensie, reclamantul a depus, printre altele, un certificat medical privind starea de sănătate a fiului său, emis la 31 octombrie 2001 de către un centru medical specializat.
Certificatul a declarat că copilul (născut în 1987) a suferit de astm și alergie la polen și că avea nevoie de îngrijirea constantă a părintelui său. La 13 noiembrie 2001, Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rzeszów („SSB”) a emis o decizie care acordă reclamantului dreptul la o pensie anticipată de la 1 noiembrie 2001 în valoare netă de 713 zloti polonezi (PLN). 10. Consiliul de Securitate Socială a suspendat inițial plata pensiei până la 1 decembrie 2001 din cauza faptului că reclamantul încă lucrează la data deciziei. Pe 27 mai 2002, Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rzeszów a cerut medicului Consiliului de Securitate Socială Principală (Główny Lekarz Orzecznik) să-i informeze dacă fiica reclamantului necesită îngrijirea permanentă a unui părinte.
La 3 iunie 2002, medicul a afirmat că, pe baza documentelor medicale, copilul nu a putut fi considerat ca fiind necesară o astfel de îngrijire. 12. La 11 iunie 2002, Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rzeszów a emis simultan două decizii în ceea ce privește reclamantul. În temeiul unei decizii, plata pensiei reclamantului a fost întreruptă cu efect imediat. În temeiul celelalte decizii, Consiliul a redeschis procedura, a revocat decizia inițială de acordare a unei pensii și a refuzat în cele din urmă să acorde reclamantului dreptul la o pensie anticipată în temeiul regimului prevăzut de Ordonanța Cabinetului din 15 mai 1989 privind dreptul la pensionare anticipată a angajaților care creează copii care necesită asistență permanentă (Rozporzādzenie Rady Ministrów z dn.
15 mai 1989 w sprawie uprawnień do wcześniejszej emerytury pracowników opiekuj Ea a susținut că ar trebui să primească beneficiul deoarece copilul său necesită asistență constantă, astfel cum a confirmat certificatul medical atașat cererii inițiale ale reclamantului de pensie. În plus, reclamantul a susținut că revocarea pensiei sale de pensionare este contrar principiului drepturilor conferite. 14. La 4 aprilie 2003, Curtea Regională Rzeszow (Sād Okręgowy) a respins recursul. Curtea Regională a încheiat pe baza dovezilor, inclusiv avizele medicale experte, că, deși, într-adevăr, copilul reclamantului a suferit astm și alergie, nu a solicitat îngrijirea permanentă a mamei sale, deoarece starea sa de sănătate nu a afectat în mod semnificativ funcțiile corporale.
Tribunalul intern a considerat că reclamantul a fost îndepărtat în mod corespunzător de dreptul său la o pensie în temeiul regimului prevăzut de Ordonanța din 1989, deoarece nu a îndeplinit cerințele de asistență permanentă necesară. 15. Reclamantul a respins apelul împotriva hotărârii de primă instanță. 16. La 17 octombrie 2003, Curtea de apel Rzeszów (Sīd Apelacyjny) a respins recursul. 17. La 29 aprilie 2004, Curtea Supremă (Sād Najwyższy) a refuzat să dispună de recursul de casă depus de reclamant. 18. În urma procedurii de securitate socială, reclamantul nu a fost ordonat să-și returneze prestațiile de pensie anticipată plătite de Consiliul de Securitate Socială, în ciuda revocarea dreptului ei la o pensie de pensie anticipată.
19. Reclamantul a susținut că, după revocarea pensiei EWK, ea nu a primit nici o șomaj sau alte beneficii din partea statului. Având în vedere vârsta ei, nu a avut nici o șansă de a găsi un loc de muncă din nou. În plus, toți cei trei copii ai săi au avut probleme medicale care au pus o tulburare suplimentară asupra situației sale financiare dificile. De asemenea, reclamantul a susținut că parcela ei de teren a fost ocupată de o casă mică în care locuia și o grădină de legume. 20. Guvernul a recunoscut că reclamantul nu a putut găsi un loc de muncă după revocarea pensiei EWK în 2002. Cu toate acestea, reclamantul a primit beneficii de asistență pentru copii pentru cei trei copii ei, care în 2001 a constituit 10 800 PLN.
Nu este clar de cât timp primește această plată. Fiul său K, copilul pentru care reclamantul a primit pensia EWK, a început să lucreze în septembrie 2007, cu 20 de ani, celălalt fiu al reclamantului a fost angajat din 2001. În plus, Guvernul a susținut că reclamantul a deținut o mică bucată de teren (aproximativ 0,4 hectar). 21. În plus, Guvernul a prezentat informații cu privire la diferitele tipuri de prestații sociale disponibile în Polonia. Cu toate acestea, acestea nu au specificat care dintre aceste prestații, dacă există, erau disponibile în situația reclamantului. 22. În temeiul legislației relevante aflate în vigoare, se pare că reclamantul va califica pentru o pensie regulară de pensionare în 2016. 23. Aproximativ 130 de cereri care rezultă dintr-un model similar de fapt au fost aduse Curtea.
Majoritatea reclamanților formează Asociația Victimelor SSB (Stowarzyszenie Osób Poszkodowanych przez ZUS) („Asociația”), o organizație care monitorizează practicile Consiliului de Securitate Socială din Polonia, în special în regiunea Podkarpacki. 24. Dintre toate cererile depuse la Curte, aproximativ 24 de reclamanți au hotărât să nu depună un recurs de casă împotriva hotărârii Curții de Apel din cauza lor. 25. O sutăși patru reclamanți au depus apeluri de casă împotriva hotărârilor finale din cauza lor. Curtea Supremă a dictat și a respins în privința meritelor cincisprezece apeluri. În opt de cereri, Curtea Supremă a refuzat să dispună de apeluri de cassare din cauza faptului că nu au ridicat probleme juridice importante sau a impus Curții Supreme să dea o nouă interpretare dispozițiilor juridice care au susținut îndoieli grave sau au provocat ambiguitate în jurisprudența instanțelor interne.
În cele opt cazuri rămase, apelurile de cassare au fost respinse pentru nerespectarea diverselor cerințe procedurale. 26. Dispozițiile juridice aplicabile la momentul material și întrebările de practică sunt prezentate în hotărârea Moskal v. Polonia, nr. 10373/05, § 3134, 15 septembrie 2009. 27. Reluarea procedurii privind pensia de pensie anticipată este reglementată în secțiunea 114 alin. (1) din Legea din 17 decembrie 1998 privind pensiile de pensionare și de invaliditate plătite de Fondul de asigurare socială (Ustawa o emeryturach i locatch z Funduszu Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) („Legea din 1998”), care se citește după cum urmează: „Dreptul la prestații sau sumă de prestații va fi reevaluat la cererea persoanei în cauză sau, ex officio, dacă, după validarea deciziei referitoare la beneficii, se prezintă noi dovezi sau circumstanțe care existau înainte de a emite decizia și care au un impact asupra dreptului la beneficii sau asupra sumei lor sunt descoperite”.
La 1 iulie 2004, a fost adăugat un nou paragraf 114 (1) (a), care se spune după cum urmează: „Secțiunea 1 se aplică respectiv, dacă, după validarea deciziei se descoperă că dovezile care nu au fost prezentate dreptul la pensie, nu a fost acordată la pensie, înca sau la pensie.28.” O parte la procedură civilă ar putea, în timp util, depune un recurs de cassare la Curtea Supremă împotriva unei hotărâri judiciare ale unei instanțe de secundare. O parte ar trebui să fie reprezentată de un avocat sau de un consilier juridic. 29. art. 3931 din Codul de Procedură Civilă, după caz, în termenul material, enumerat motivele pentru care ar putea fi depus un recurs de cassare.
Acesta a citit după cum urmează: „Appelul de cassare poate fi bazat pe următoarele motive: 1) încălcarea legii de fond ca urmare a interpretării sau aplicării ei greșite; 2) încălcarea dispozițiilor procedurale, dacă acest defect ar putea afecta semnificativ rezultatul cazului.” 30. În conformitate cu art. 39313, Curtea Supremă, după ce a permis un recurs de casă, ar putea anula hotărârea contestată în întregime sau în parte și să trimită cazul de reexaminare. În cazul în care Curtea Supremă nu a găsit o neconformitate cu legea, aceasta a respins apelul de casă. În conformitate cu art. 39315, în cazul în care recursul de casă a fost bine fundamentat Curtea Supremă ar putea modifica, de asemenea, hotărârea impugnată și judecată cu privire la fondul.
31. La 22 iunie 1999, Ombudsmanul a depus o cerere Curții Constituționale, cerând art. 186 § 3 din Legea din 17 decembrie 1998 privind pensiile de pensionare și de invaliditate plătite de Fondul de Asigurare Socială (Ustawa o emeryturach i locach z Funduszu Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) („Legea din 1998”) să fie declarate neconstituționale în măsura în care restricționează aplicarea Ordinării 1989 la persoanele născute înainte de 1 ianuarie 1949. Mai precis, Ombudsmanul a susținut că introducerea unui limit de vârstă în ceea ce privește persoanele care au avut grijă de un copil, care, în esență, constituie o privare a dreptului la un beneficiu, constituie o încălcare a principiului egalității prevăzut la art. 32 § 1 din Constituție.
32. La 4 ianuarie 2000, Curtea Constituțională (K18/99) a declarat neconstituțională art. 186 § 3 din Legea din 1998, în măsura în care restricționează aplicarea Ordinării 1989 la persoanele născute înainte de 1 ianuarie 1949. Curtea Constituțională a reiterat, printre altele, principiul constituțional al drepturilor dobândite care garantează o protecție deosebit de puternică pentru dreptul la beneficii sociale. 33. La 10 februarie 2011, Ombudsmanul a depus o cerere în favoarea Curții Constituționale, cerând ca art. 114 alineatul (1) litera (a) din Legea din 1998 să fie declarat neconstituțional în măsura în care a permis SSB să redeschidă de oficiu proceduri privind acordarea unei pensii de pensii sau a unei pensii de invaliditate pe baza unei noi evaluări a dovezilor care au fost deja prezentate.
34. La 28 februarie 2012, Curtea Constituțională (K5/11) a declarat neconstituțională art. 114 alineatul (1) litera (a) din Legea din 1998, în măsura în care a permis SSB să redeschidă astfel de proceduri în urma unei noi evaluări a probelor care au fost deja prezentate.
5. The applicant was born in 1956 and lives in Boguchwala. 6. The applicant is a single mother of three children. Prior to her application for an earlyretirement pension she had been employed by the same company for twentyfive years and paid social security contributions to the State. 7. On 6 November 2001 the applicant filed an application with the Rzeszów Social Security Board (Zakład Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) to be granted the right to an earlyretirement pension for persons raising children who, due to the seriousness of their health condition, required constant care, the socalled “EWK” pension”. 8. Along with her application for a pension, the applicant submitted, among other documents concerning her son’s health condition, a medical certificate issued on 31 October 2001 by a specialist medical centre.
The certificate stated that the child (born in 1987) suffered from asthma and allergy to pollen and that he had been in need of his parent’s constant care. 9. On 13 November 2001 the Rzeszów Social Security Board (“the SSB”) issued a decision granting the applicant the right to an earlyretirement pension as of 1 November 2001 in the net amount of 713 Polish zlotys (PLN). 10. The Social Security Board initially suspended the payment of the pension until 1 December 2001 due to the fact that the applicant was still working on the date of the decision. The applicant resigned from her job where she had been working since 1986. Afterwards, the payments of the pension were resumed. 11. On 27 May 2002 the Rzeszów Social Security Board asked the Main Social Security Board’s doctor (Główny Lekarz Orzecznik) to inform it whether the applicant’s daughter required the permanent care of a parent.
On 3 June 2002 the doctor stated that, on the basis of the medical documents, the child could not be considered as ever having required such care. 12. On 11 June 2002 the Rzeszów Social Security Board issued simultaneously two decisions in respect of the applicant. By virtue of one decision, the payment of the applicant’s pension was discontinued with immediate effect. By virtue of the other decision, the Board reopened the proceedings, revoked the initial decision granting a pension and eventually refused to grant the applicant the right to an earlyretirement pension under the scheme provided for by the Cabinet’s Ordinance of 15 May 1989 on the right to early retirement of employees raising children who require permanent care (Rozporządzenie Rady Ministrów z dn.
15 maja 1989 w sprawie uprawnień do wcześniejszej emerytury pracowników opiekujących się dziećmi wymagającymi stałej opieki) (“the 1989 Ordinance”). 13. The applicant appealed against the respective decisions divesting her of the right to an earlyretirement pension. She submitted that she should receive the benefit because her child required constant care, as confirmed by the medical certificate attached to the applicant’s original application for a pension. Moreover, the applicant alleged that the revocation of her retirement pension was contrary to the principle of vested rights. 14. On 4 April 2003 the Rzeszow Regional Court (Sąd Okręgowy) dismissed the appeal. The Regional Court concluded on the basis of the evidence, including expert medical opinions, that while indeed the applicant’s child suffered from asthma and allergy he did not require his mother’s permanent care since his health condition did not significantly impair his bodily functions.
The domestic court held that the applicant had been rightfully divested of her right to a pension under the scheme provided by the 1989 Ordinance as she did not satisfy the requirement of necessary permanent care. 15. The applicant further appealed against the firstinstance judgment. 16. On 17 October 2003 the Rzeszów Court of Appeal (Sąd Apelacyjny) dismissed the appeal. 17. On 29 April 2004 the Supreme Court (Sąd Najwyższy) refused to entertain the cassation appeal lodged by the applicant. 18. Following the social security proceedings the applicant was not ordered to return her earlyretirement benefits paid by the Social Security Board, despite the revocation of her right to an earlyretirement pension.
19. The applicant submitted that after the revocation of the EWK pension she had not received any unemployment or other benefits from the State. Given her age she had no chance to find a job again. Moreover, all her three children had medical problems which put additional strain on her difficult financial situation. The applicant also submitted that her plot of land was occupied by a small house in which she lived and a vegetable garden. 20. The Government acknowledged that the applicant had been unable to find employment after the revocation of the EWK pension in 2002. However, the applicant received child support benefit for her three children which in 2001 amounted to PLN 10,800. It is not clear how long she has been receiving such payment.
Her son K, the child in respect of whom the applicant had been granted the EWK pension, started working in September 2007, aged 20. The applicant’s other son has been employed since 2001. In addition, the Government maintained that the applicant owned a small piece of land (about 0.4 hectare). 21. In addition, the Government submitted information as regards the various types of social benefits available in Poland. However, they did not specify which of those benefits, if any, were available in the applicant’s situation. 22. Under the relevant laws currently in force, it appears that the applicant will qualify for a regular retirement pension in 2016. 23. Some 130 applications arising from a similar fact pattern have been brought to the Court.
The majority of the applicants form the Association of Victims of the SSB (Stowarzyszenie Osób Poszkodowanych przez ZUS) (“the Association”), an organisation monitoring the practices of the Social Security Board in Poland, in particular in the Podkarpacki region. 24. Out of all applications lodged with the Court, about twentyfour applicants decided not to lodge a cassation appeal against the judgment of the Court of Appeal given in their case. 25. One hundredandfour applicants lodged cassation appeals against the final judgments given in their cases. The Supreme Court entertained and dismissed on the merits fifteen appeals. In eightyone applications the Supreme Court refused to entertain cassation appeals on the ground that they did not raise any important legal issues or require the Supreme Court to give a new interpretation to legal provisions which raised serious doubts or gave rise to ambiguity in the jurisprudence of the domestic courts.
In the remaining eight cases cassation appeals were rejected for failure to comply with various procedural requirements.
26. The legal provisions applicable at the material time and questions of practice are set out in the judgment in the case of Moskal v. Poland, no. 10373/05, § 3134, 15 September 2009. 27. The reopening of the proceedings concerning the earlyretirement pension is regulated in section 114 (1) of of the Law of 17 December 1998 on retirement and disability pensions paid from the Social Insurance Fund (Ustawa o emeryturach i rentach z Funduszu Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) (“the 1998 Law”), which at the relevant time read as follows: “The right to benefits or the amount of benefits will be reassessed upon application by the person concerned or, ex officio, if, after the validation of the decision concerning benefits, new evidence is submitted or circumstances which had existed before issuing the decision and which have an impact on the right to benefits or on their amount are discovered.” On 1 July 2004 a new subparagraph 114 (1) (a) was added, which reads as follows: “Section 1 shall apply respectively, if, after the validation of the decision it is discovered that the evidence that had been submitted did not give the right to a pension, disability pension or its amount.” 28. A party to civil proceedings could, at the material time, lodge a cassation appeal with the Supreme Court against a judicial decision of a secondinstance court.
A party had to be represented by an advocate or a legal adviser. 29. Article 3931 of the Code of Civil Procedure as applicable at the material time listed the grounds on which a cassation appeal could be lodged. It read as follows: “The cassation appeal may be based on the following grounds: 1) a breach of substantive law as a result of its erroneous interpretation or wrongful application; 2) a breach of procedural provisions, if that defect could significantly affect the outcome of the case.” 30. Pursuant to Article 393¹³ the Supreme Court, having allowed a cassation appeal, could quash the challenged judgment in its entirety or in part and remit the case for reexamination. Where the Supreme Court failed to find nonconformity with the law, it dismissed the cassation appeal.
According to Article 39315 if the cassation appeal was wellfounded the Supreme Court could also amend the impugned judgment and adjudicate on the merits. 31. On 22 June 1999 the Ombudsman made an application to the Constitutional Court, asking for section 186 § 3 of the Law of 17 December 1998 on retirement and disability pensions paid from the Social Insurance Fund (Ustawa o emeryturach i rentach z Funduszu Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) (“the 1998 Law”) to be declared unconstitutional in so far as it restricted the application of the 1989 Ordinance to persons born before 1 January 1949. More specifically, the Ombudsman submitted that the introduction of an agelimit in respect of persons taking care of a child, which in essence amounted to a deprivation of the right to a benefit, constituted a violation of the principle of equality set forth in Article 32 § 1 of the Constitution.
32. On 4 January 2000 the Constitutional Court (K18/99) declared the impugned section 186 § 3 of the 1998 Law unconstitutional in so far as it restricted the application of the 1989 Ordinance to persons born before 1 January 1949. The Constitutional Court reiterated among other things the constitutional principle of acquired rights which guarantees particularly strong protection for the right to receive social welfare benefits. 33. On 10 February 2011 the Ombudsman made an application to the Constitutional Court, asking for section 114 (1)(a) of the 1998 Law to be declared unconstitutional in so far as it allowed the SSB to reopen ex officio proceedings relating to the grant of a pension or a disability pension on the basis of a new assessment of evidence which had already been submitted.
34. On 28 February 2012 the Constitutional Court (K5/11) declared the impugned section 114 (1)(a) of the 1998 Law unconstitutional in so far as it allowed the SSB to reopen such proceedings following a new assessment of evidence which had already been submitted.