- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 3 octombrie 2024
- Stat pârât
- UKR
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Gayevskyy împotriva Ucrainei
Traducere în română Auto
A cincea secțiune DECIZIE Nr. 31705/16 Yury Volodymyrovych GAYEVSKYY împotriva Ucrainei Curții Europene a Drepturilor Omului (A cincea secțiune), care așeză la 3 octombrie 2024 în calitate de comitet compus din: Stéphanie Mourou-Vikström , Președintele María Elósegui , Artūrs Kučs , judecători și Martina Keller, grefierul adjunct al secțiunii având în vedere: 31705/16) împotriva Ucrainei depuse la Curte în temeiul articolului 34 din Convenția pentru protecția drepturilor omului și a libertăților fundamentale („Convenția”) la 25 mai 2016 de către un național ucrainean, dl Yuriy Volodymyrovych Gayevskyy („reclamantul”), care s-a născut în 1979, locuiește în Velykyi Kobylyn și a fost reprezentat de dl S. Goropashyn, avocat practicant în Zhytomyr; Decizia de notificare a plângerilor în temeiul articolului 6 din Convenția și art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenția privind presupusa nedreptate a unui proces și a interferenței cu bucuria pașnică a bunurilor reclamantului guvernului ucrainean („Guvernul”), reprezentat de agentul lor, dna M. Sokorenko, a Ministerului Justiției, și de a declara restul cererii inadmisibil; Observațiile prezentate de Guvern, în timp ce observațiile reclamantului au fost prezentate în afara termenului stabilit și, prin urmare, nu au fost incluse în dosar; după deliberare,
decide după cum urmează: Cazul se referă la o reevaluare a cauzei de invaliditate a reclamantului, care a dus la revocarea creșterii pensiei sale de invaliditate. În argumentul că reevaluarea l-a abandonat, de asemenea, de alte prestații de bunăstare și că procedurile judiciare care au urmat au fost nedreptate, reclamantul a susținut o încălcare a articolelor 6 și 13 din convenție, precum și a articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție. Între 1997 și 1998 reclamantul a efectuat serviciu militar obligatoriu în Serviciul de Garda de Frontieră a Ucrainei (“SBGS”). A fost în acel timp că a susținut că a început să aibă simptome de boala Bekhterev (sau spondilită anchilozantă), cu care a fost formal diagnosticat pentru prima dată în 2004. La 24 iunie 2005, Comisia medicală militară centrală SBGS („Comisia”) a stabilit că starea medicală a reclamantului a fost atribuită serviciului său militar anterior.
În septembrie 2005, reclamantul a primit cel mai mare grad de invaliditate din cauza diagnosticării bolii Bekhterev. De la 1 ianuarie 2006, reclamantul a început să primească o pensie crescută în temeiul Legii privind pensiile de personal militar (a se vedea punctul 10 de mai jos) [1] În 2008, susținând că handicapul său a avut loc ca urmare a bolii legate de serviciul militar, reclamantul a solicitat o plată forfetară în temeiul Legii privind protecția socială și juridică a serviciilor și a membrilor familiilor lor din 20 decembrie 1991 („Legea din 1991” – a se vedea punctul 11 de mai jos) și a formulat o cerere administrativă pentru daune [2] La scurt timp după aceea, Comisia a reevaluat dosarul reclamantului și a constatat că debutul bolii Bekhterev nu a fost legat de serviciul său militar.
După ce instanța internă a anulat această decizie pe motive formale, la 8 mai 2015, Comisia a stabilit din nou că nu există nicio legătură între serviciul militar al reclamantului și starea medicală. Acesta s-a referit, în special, la dosarele medicale ale reclamantului, ceea ce a indicat că a dezvoltat simptomele inițiale ale bolii Bekhterev după descărcarea de gestiune de la armată. Creșterea pensiei a reclamantului a fost ulterior revocată și a început să primească o pensie de invaliditate de prim grad obișnuită. Potrivit reclamantului, acest lucru a constituit o pierdere de 16%, care a corespuns la momentul respectiv la 235 de hryvnies ucrainene (echivalentul de mai puțin de 10 euro) pe lună.
Reclamantul a instituit o procedură administrativă pentru a solicita invalidarea deciziei Comisiei. , că, în reevaluarea cauzei stării sale medicale, Comisia a aplicat retroactiv Ordinea SBGS nr. 333 („Ordinea” – a se vedea punctul 12 de mai jos), care nu ar fi trebuit să fie aplicabilă deoarece nu a fost în vigoare la momentul deciziei 2005 și deoarece nu a indicat în mod clar condițiile în care o decizie a Comisiei ar putea fi revizuită. Deși instanța de primă instanță a constatat inițial, în parte, în favoarea reclamantului, la 4 noiembrie 2015, Curtea Administrativă de Apel Zhytomyr și-a respins cererea. Referindu-se la discrepanțele din dosarele sale medicale, instanța de recurs a convenit cu concluziile Comisiei și a remarcat că Ordinea a autorizat să revizuiască propriile decizii.
La 2 Decembrie 2015 Curtea Administrativă Superioră a refuzat să deschidă proceduri de casă. Cadrul juridic relevant În temeiul Legii privind pensiile de personal militar din 9 aprilie 1992, fostii servitori ai căror handicap a fost rezultat dintr-o boală dezvoltată în timpul serviciului militar au dreptul la o pensie de invaliditate. În temeiul articolului 16 alineatul (6) din Legea din 1991 (a se vedea paragraful) 5 mai sus), conscrierile care au fost acordate statutul de invaliditate au dreptul la o plată specială cu sumă forfetară în cazul în care a apărut handicapul fie în timpul serviciului militar, fie cel târziu la trei luni de la descărcarea serviciului, dar ca urmare a unei boli care au avut loc în timpul perioadei de serviciu.
De asemenea, acestea pot solicita compensații pentru daunele suferite (secțiunea 17). Ordinul, care a intrat în vigoare la 23 iulie 2009, a enumerat diverse forme organizaționale de comisioane medicale în cadrul structurii SBGS, inclusiv Comisia în partea de sus a ierarhiei. Astfel cum era cazul cu dispozițiile legale aplicabile anterioare, Comisia a fost autorizată, printre altele , să examineze, să revizuiască, să aprobe sau să respingă deciziile oricărei comisioane medicale SBGS. EVALUAREA TRIBUNALULUI A declarat încălcarea articolului 6 § 1 din Convenția 13. Reclamantul s-a plângut în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 și al articolului 13 din Convenția că procedura judiciară a fost nedreaptă, deoarece instanța internă a eșuat în lege și nu a abordat argumentele sale, în special în ceea ce privește neretroactivitatea Ordinului.
Curtea consideră că această plângere este examinată numai în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție, care în acest caz ar trebui considerată lex specialis în raport cu art. 13 (a se vedea, de exemplu, Fu Quan, s.r.o. c. Republica Cehă [GC], nr. 24827/14, § 85, 1 iunie 2023). 14. Guvernul a afirmat că instanțele interne au furnizat răspunsuri detaliate și suficiente la toate argumentele reclamantului. 15. Principiile generale privind datoria unei instanțe de a da motive au fost rezumate în García Ruiz c. Spania ([GC], nr. 30544/96, § 26, CEDO 1999 I). Această datorie nu poate fi înțeles ca fiind necesară o răspuns detaliat la fiecare argument.
Curtea subliniază, de asemenea, că nu va contesta în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 hotărârile instanțelor naționale, cu excepția cazului în care concluziile lor pot fi considerate arbitrare sau manifestement irazonabile (a se vedea Bochan c. Ucraina (nr. [GC], nr. 22251/08, § 61, CEDH 2015). Curtea remarcă că instanța de recurs a răspuns la toate argumentele relevante ale reclamantului și, după examinarea dosarului medical al reclamantului, nu a constatat niciun motiv să pună la îndoială concluzia Comisiei că nu există nicio legătură între invaliditatea și serviciul militar al reclamantului și că Ordinea a autorizat Comisia să își revizuiască propria decizie.
Deși este regretabil că instanța internă nu a furnizat un răspuns detaliat la argumentul reclamantului potrivit căruia Ordinea nu ar fi trebuit să fie aplicată retroactiv (a se vedea punctul 8 de mai sus), faptul că nu s-a făcut o observație nu a fost decisivă, având în vedere că argumentul-cheie al reclamantului – lipsa autorității Comisiei de a-și revizui propriile decizii – a fost abordat în mod corespunzător. Într-adevăr, nu a existat nici un indiciu că Comisia nu a avut competența de a revizui deciziile sale chiar înainte de adoptarea Ordinei în 2009. Cu alte cuvinte, concluziile și interpretarea legislației relevante ale instanței interne nu pot fi considerate ca fiind manifestament arbitrare sau irezonabile.
1 este evident nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 3 lit. (a) și 4 din Convenție. Reclamantul s-a plâns în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 că, datorită reevaluării retroactive a cauzei handicapului său, a pierdut dreptul la creșterea pensiei, plata forfetară specială și compensarea pentru daune susținute. 19. Guvernul a susținut că plângerile reclamantului erau incompatibile ratione materiae cu dispozițiile Convenției, deoarece el nu a avut o așteptare legitimă în legătură cu niciuna dintre cererile pe care le-a depus. Drept de plată forfetară și compensare în temeiul Legii din 1991 20. Curtea reiterează că art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 acoperă numai acele afirmații pentru care reclamantul poate susține că are o așteptare legitimă de a obține o bucurie efectivă de un drept de proprietate.
Acesta trebuie să fie de natură mai concretă decât o simplă speranță și să se bazeze pe o dispoziție juridică sau un act juridic, cum ar fi o decizie judiciară (a se vedea Béláné Nagy c. Ungaria [GC], nr. 53080/13, § 75, 13 decembrie 2016). În consecință, oricine se plânge de o interferență cu unul dintre drepturile sale de proprietate trebuie să arate că există un astfel de drept (a se vedea Pištorrová c. Republica Cehă , nr. 73578/01, § 38, 26 octombrie 2004). 21. În cazul în cauză, Comisia și instanța internă au stabilit că invaliditatea reclamantului nu a fost rezultată din serviciul său militar, care este una dintre condițiile pentru drepturile în temeiul Legii din 1991. Referindu-se la concluziile sale în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție (a se vedea punctul 17 de mai sus), Curtea nu vede nici un indiciu că concluzia autorităților naționale a fost arbitrară sau irezonabilă.
În plus, Legea din 1991 prevedea în mod explicit dreptul la o plată forfetară la fostele conscrise ale căror handicap a avut loc în cursul sau cel târziu trei luni de la descărcarea de gestiune din serviciu (a se vedea punctul 11 mai sus). Deoarece reclamantul a fost concediat în 1998 și a primit statutul de invaliditate în 2005, în opinia Curții, nu a exprimat un caz în care a avut o „așteptare legitimată” la aceste drepturi în temeiul dreptului intern.
În aceste circumstanțe, Curtea concluzionează că afirmațiile reclamantului cu privire la drepturile sale în temeiul Legii din 1991 nu intră în domeniul de aplicare al articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. Privire la jurisprudența sa (a se vedea Moskal c. Polonia , nr. 10373/05 , §§ 44-45, 15 septembrie 2009, și Lakićević și alții c. Muntenegru și Serbia , nr. 27458/06 și altele 3 § 64, 13 Decembrie 2011), Curtea este dispusă să accepte faptul că dreptul la pensie al reclamantului în temeiul Legii privind pensiile de personal militar a constituit o posesie în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 și că revocarea acestei pensii a constituit o interferență. 23. Ingerenția în cauză a fost prevăzută de lege, deoarece decizia Comisiei încurcată a avut o bază juridică și a fost suficient de motivată.
Având în vedere marja largă de apreciere disponibilă legislativului în punerea în aplicare a politicilor sociale și economice (a se vedea Béláné Nagy , citată mai sus §§ 113 ) 14), Curtea nu are nici o îndoială că interferența impușită a urmărit obiectivul legitim de a proteja poșta publică (a se vedea Lakićević și alții , citat mai sus, § 68). 24. În ceea ce privește dacă interferența a atins un echilibru echitabil între cererile interesului general al comunității și drepturile persoanei fizice, Curtea constată că reclamantul a fost abandonat de o pensie sporită după ce autoritățile naționale au reevaluat cauza handicapului său.
Curtea a reținut în mod constant, în cazuri similare, că ar supăra orice echilibru echilibrat și ar fi contrar doctrinei de îmbogățire nedreaptă dacă, după descoperirea greșelii lor, autoritățile ar fi fost împiedicate să-și remedieze efectele și au fost obligate să perpetueze eroarea prin continuarea plății unei pensii care au fost acordate în mod eronat (a se vedea Čakarević c. Croația) , nr. 48921/13, § 79, 26 aprilie 2018). Reclamantul nu a susținut că măsura l-a adus în pericol să cadă sub pragul de substanță, l-a lăsat lipsit de orice mijloace de substanță sau a constituit o sarcină excesivă (a se vedea Fábián v. Ungaria [GC], nr. 78117/13, § 78-80, 5 septembrie 2017; și compara și contrast Moskal , citat mai sus, § 74 și Grobelny v. Polonia , nr. 60477/12, § 67, 5 martie 2020). Se pare că impactul interferenței a fost limitat la doar 16% din pensia de invaliditate a reclamantului, pe care a păstrat-o în ciuda deciziei Comisiei.
În plus, reclamantul nu a fost solicitat să plătească sume (compare Čakarević , citată mai sus, § 86, și Romeva v. Macedonia de Nord , nr. 32141/10, § 76, 12 decembrie 2019). 25. Având în vedere cele de mai sus și ținând cont de marja largă de apreciere a statului în materie de politică economică și socială, Curtea constată că, în circumstanțele particulare ale prezentului caz, un echilibru echitabil a fost atins între interesul general al comunității și drepturile de proprietate ale reclamantului (compara Džabirov c. „fosta Republica Iugoslavă a Macedoniei” (dec.) [Comitetul], nr. 75328/12, § 21, 18 decembrie 2018). Rezultă că această parte a cererii este evident nefondată și trebuie respinsă, în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 3 a) și 4 din Convenție.
Din aceste motive, Curtea, în unanimitate, declară cererea inadmisibilă. Depusă în limba engleză și notificată în scris la 24 octombrie 2024. Martina Keller Stéphanie Mourou-Vikström Președintele adjunct al grefierului [1] De la 1 ianuarie 2006 până la 31 august 2007 el a primit o pensie de invaliditate de grad mediu din cauza bolii legate de serviciul militar, și de la 1 septembrie 2007 până la 10 iunie 2015 cea mai înaltă pensie de invaliditate din cauza bolii legate de serviciul militar. [2] La 20 ianuarie 2016, cererea reclamantului a fost renunțată fără a fi luată în considerare datorită neaparenței reclamantului la audiere.
FIFTH SECTION
DECISION Application no. 31705/16 Yuriy Volodymyrovych GAYEVSKYY against Ukraine The European Court of Human Rights (Fifth Section), sitting on 3 October 2024 as a Committee composed of: Stéphanie Mourou-Vikström , President , María Elósegui, Artūrs Kučs , judges , and Martina Keller, Deputy Section Registrar , Having regard to: the application (no. 31705/16) against Ukraine lodged with the Court under Article 34 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (“the Convention”) on 25 May 2016 by a Ukrainian national, Mr Yuriy Volodymyrovych Gayevskyy (“the applicant”), who was born in 1979, lives in Velykyi Kobylyn and was represented by Mr S.S.
Goropashyn, a lawyer practising in Zhytomyr; the decision to give notice of the complaints under Article 6 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention concerning the alleged unfairness of a trial and interference with the applicant’s peaceful enjoyment of possessions to the Ukrainian Government (“the Government”), represented by their Agent, Ms M. Sokorenko, of the Ministry of Justice, and to declare the remainder of the application inadmissible; the observations submitted by the Government, while the applicant’s observations were submitted outside the time-limit set and therefore not included in the case file; Having deliberated, decides as follows:
SUBJECT MATTER OF THE CASE
1. The case concerns a reassessment of the cause of the applicant’s disability, resulting in the increase in his disability pension being revoked. In arguing that the reassessment had also divested him of other welfare benefits and that the ensuing judicial proceedings had been unfair, the applicant alleged a breach of Articles 6 and 13 of the Convention, as well as of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention.
Between 1997 and 1998 the applicant performed mandatory military service in the State Border Guard Service of Ukraine (“the SBGS”). It was during that time that he claimed to have started experiencing symptoms of Bekhterev’s disease (or ankylosing spondylitis), with which he was formally diagnosed for the first time in 2004.
On 24 June 2005 the SBGS Central Military Medical Commission (“the Commission”) established that the applicant’s medical condition had been attributable to his previous military service.
In September 2005 the applicant was granted the highest degree of disability on account of his being diagnosed with Bekhterev’s disease. From 1 January 2006 the applicant started receiving an increased pension under the Law on military personnel pensions (see paragraph 10 below) [1] . 5 . In 2008, claiming that his disability had occurred as a result of the illness linked to military service, the applicant applied for a lump-sum payment under the Law on social and legal protection of servicemen and members of their families of 20 December 1991 (“the 1991 Law” – see paragraph 11 below) and brought an administrative claim for damages [2] .
Shortly thereafter, the Commission reassessed of its own motion the applicant’s file and found that the onset of Bekhterev’s disease was not linked to his military service. After the domestic court had reversed that decision on formal grounds, on 8 May 2015 the Commission again established that there was no connection between the applicant’s military service and his medical condition. It referred, in particular, to the applicant’s medical records, which indicated that he had developed the initial symptoms of Bekhterev’s disease after his discharge from the army.
The applicant’s increased pension was subsequently revoked, and he started receiving an ordinary first-degree disability pension. According to the applicant, this amounted to a loss of 16%, which corresponded at the time to 235 Ukrainian hryvnias (the equivalent of less than 10 euros) per month. 8 . The applicant instituted administrative proceedings to seek the invalidation of the Commission’s decision. He argued, inter alia , that in reassessing the cause of his medical condition, the Commission had retroactively applied SBGS Order no. 333 (“the Order” – see paragraph 12 below), which should not have been applicable as it had not been in force at the time of the 2005 decision and because it did not clearly indicate the conditions under which a Commission decision could be reviewed.
Although the first-instance court initially found, in part, in the applicant’s favour, on 4 November 2015 the Zhytomyr Administrative Court of Appeal dismissed his claim. Referring to the discrepancies in his medical records, the appeal court agreed with the Commission’s conclusions and noted that the Order had authorised it to review its own decisions. On 2 December 2015 the Higher Administrative Court refused to open cassation proceedings. Relevant legal framework 10 . Under the Law on military personnel pensions of 9 April 1992, former servicemen whose disability resulted from an illness developed during military service are entitled to a disability pension. 11 . Under section 16(6) of the 1991 Law (see paragraph 5 above), conscripts who have been granted disability status are entitled to a special lump-sum payment if the disability occurred either during military service or no later than three months after discharge from service, but as a result of an illness which occurred during the service period. They may also seek compensation for damage sustained (section 17). 12 . The Order, which entered into force on 23 July 2009, listed various organisational forms of medical commissions within the structure of the SBGS, including the Commission at the top of the hierarchy. As had been the case with previous applicable legal provisions, the Commission was authorised, inter alia , to examine, review, approve or reject the decisions of any SBGS medical commission.
THE COURT’S ASSESSMENT
Alleged violation of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention
The applicant complained under Article 6 § 1 and Article 13 of the Convention that the judicial proceedings had been unfair, as the domestic courts had erred in law and had failed to address his arguments, in particular concerning the non-retroactivity of the Order. The Court considers that that complaint falls to be examined solely under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention, which in the present case should be viewed as lex specialis in relation to Article 13 (see, for example, Fu Quan, s.r.o. v. the Czech Republic [GC], no. 24827/14, § 85, 1 June 2023).
The Government asserted that the domestic courts had provided detailed and sufficient responses to all the applicant’s arguments.
The general principles concerning the duty for a court to give reasons have been summarised in García Ruiz v. Spain ([GC], no. 30544/96, § 26, ECHR 1999 ‑ I). That duty cannot be understood as requiring a detailed answer to every argument. The Court also points out that it will not question under Article 6 § 1 the judgments of the national courts, unless their findings can be regarded as arbitrary or manifestly unreasonable (see Bochan v. Ukraine (no. 2) [GC], no. 22251/08, § 61, ECHR 2015). 16 . The Court observes that the appeal court responded to all the applicant’s pertinent arguments. Having examined the applicant’s medical records, it found no grounds to question the Commission’s conclusion that there was no connection between the applicant’s disability and military service. It also held that the Order had authorised the Commission to review its own decision. While it is regrettable that the domestic court did not provide a detailed answer to the applicant’s argument that the Order should not have been applied retroactively (see paragraph 8 above), that failure to comment was not decisive, given that the applicant’s key argument – the lack of the Commission’s authority to review its own decisions – had been properly addressed. Indeed, there was no indication that the Commission had lacked competence to review its decisions even prior to the adoption of the Order in 2009. In other words, the domestic court’s conclusions and interpretation of the relevant law cannot be regarded as manifestly arbitrary or unreasonable. 17 . It follows that the applicant’s complaint under Article 6 § 1 is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 (a) and 4 of the Convention. Alleged violation of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1
The applicant complained under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 that, owing to the retroactive reassessment of the cause of his disability, he had lost his entitlement to the increased pension, special lump-sum payment and compensation for damage sustained.
The Government argued that the applicant’s complaints were incompatible ratione materiae with the provisions of the Convention, as he did not have a legitimate expectation in relation to any of the claims he had submitted. Entitlement to the lump-sum payment and compensation under the 1991 Law
The Court reiterates that Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 covers only those claims in respect of which the applicant can argue that he or she has a legitimate expectation of obtaining effective enjoyment of a property right. It must be of a nature more concrete than a mere hope and be based on a legal provision or a legal act such as a judicial decision (see Béláné Nagy v. Hungary [GC], no. 53080/13, § 75, 13 December 2016). Accordingly, anyone who complains of an interference with one of his or her property rights must show that such a right existed (see Pištorová v. the Czech Republic , no. 73578/01, § 38, 26 October 2004).
In the present case, the Commission and the domestic courts established that the applicant’s disability had not resulted from his military service, which was one of the conditions for the entitlements under the 1991 Law. Referring to its findings under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention (see paragraph 17 above), the Court sees no indication that the conclusion of the national authorities was arbitrary or unreasonable. Moreover, the 1991 Law explicitly provided for the right to a lump-sum payment to former conscripts whose disability had occurred either during or no later than three months after discharge from service (see paragraph 11 above). Since the applicant was discharged in 1998 and was granted disability status in 2005, in the Court’s view he has not made out a case that he had a “legitimate expectation” to these entitlements under domestic law. In these circumstances, the Court concludes that the applicant’s claims regarding his entitlements under the 1991 Law fall outside the scope of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. Pension entitlement under the Law on military personnel pensions
Regard being had to its case-law (see Moskal v. Poland , no. 10373/05, §§ 44-45, 15 September 2009, and Lakićević and Others v. Montenegro and Serbia , nos. 27458/06 and 3 others, § 64, 13 December 2011), the Court is ready to accept that the applicant’s pension entitlement under the Law on military personnel pensions constituted a possession within the meaning of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 and that the revocation of this pension amounted to an interference.
The interference in question was provided for by law, as the impugned Commission’s decision had a legal basis and was sufficiently reasoned. Having regard to the wide margin of appreciation available to the legislature in implementing social and economic policies (see Béláné Nagy , cited above , §§ 113 ‑ 14), the Court also has no doubt that the impugned interference pursued the legitimate aim of protecting the public purse (see Lakićević and Others , cited above, § 68).
As to whether the interference struck a fair balance between the demands of the general interest of the community and the rights of the individual, the Court notes that the applicant was divested of an increased pension after the national authorities had reassessed the cause of his disability. The Court has consistently held in similar cases that it would upset any fair balance and be contrary to the doctrine of unjust enrichment if, having discovered their mistake, the authorities were precluded from ever redressing its effects and were required to perpetuate the error by continuing to pay a pension which had been granted on erroneous grounds (see Čakarević v. Croatia , no. 48921/13, § 79, 26 April 2018). The applicant did not claim that the measure had brought him into danger of falling below the subsistence threshold, left him devoid of any means of subsistence, or otherwise constituted an excessive burden (see Fábián v. Hungary [GC], no. 78117/13, §§ 78-80, 5 September 2017; and compare and contrast Moskal , cited above, § 74, and Grobelny v. Poland , no. 60477/12, § 67, 5 March 2020). It appears that the impact of the interference was limited to a mere 16% of the applicant’s disability pension, which he retained despite the Commission’s decision. Furthermore, the applicant has not been requested to pay any amounts back (compare Čakarević , cited above, § 86, and Romeva v. North Macedonia , no. 32141/10, § 76, 12 December 2019).
In view of the foregoing and bearing in mind the State’s wide margin of appreciation in matters of economic and social policy, the Court finds that in the particular circumstances of the present case a fair balance was struck between the general interest of the community and the applicant’s property rights (compare Džabirov v. “the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia” (dec.) [Committee], no. 75328/12, § 21, 18 December 2018). It follows that this part of the application is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected, in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 (a) and 4 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously, Declares the application inadmissible. Done in English and notified in writing on 24 October 2024. Martina Keller Stéphanie Mourou-Vikström Deputy Registrar President [1] From 1 January 2006 to 31 August 2007 he received a medium-degree disability pension due to illness linked to military service, and from 1 September 2007 to 10 June 2015 the highest-degree disability pension due to illness linked to military service. [2] On 20 January 2016 the applicant’s claim was returned without consideration owing to the applicant’s failure to appear at the hearing.