- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 18 octombrie 2016
- Stat pârât
- CHE
- Articole
- Articolul 6, Articolul 8, Articolul 35, Articolul 41
- Concluzia
- Restul cererii — inadmisibil
- Încălcare — Articolul 8
- Nicio încălcare — Articolul 6
- Prejudiciu moral — sumă acordată
Vukota-Bojic împotriva Elveției
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamantul s-a născut în 1954 și trăiește în Opfikon. Reclamantul a fost angajat ca coafură din 1993 și avea asigurare obligatorie în temeiul Legii federale privind asigurarea accidentelor (a se vedea legea internă relevantă mai jos). La 28 august 1995 a fost lovită de o motocicletă în timp ce trecea pe drum și a căzut pe spate. Ea a fost spitalizat peste noapte datorită suspectului de contuzie care rezultă din impactul capului ei asupra solului. La 2 octombrie 1995, reclamantul a fost examinat de un reumatolog care a diagnosticat-o cu o traumă cervicală și posibila traumă craniană. La 6 decembrie 1995, medicul ei de familie a certificat că leziunile ei au avut ca rezultat incapacitatea totală de a lucra până la sfârșitul anului.
La 29 ianuarie 1996, reclamantul a fost examinat la Spitalul Universitar din Zurich. Medicul care a examinat-o a prezis că ea ar putea face o revenire treptat la muncă. Cu toate acestea, la 12 iunie 1996, un alt medic din același spital a declarat că reclamantul nu a putut să lucreze. La cererea companiei de asigurări, sănătatea reclamantului a fost evaluată prin intermediul examenelor ortopedice, neurologice, neuropsihologice și psihice de către centrul de examinare medicală de asigurare-disabilitate (COMAI) din St. Gallen.
Pe baza evaluării efectuate de acest centru, reclamantul a fost declarat pe deplin capabil să lucreze cu efect începând cu februarie 1997. 10. Prin decizia din 23 ianuarie 1997, societatea de asigurări a informat reclamantul că dreptul ei la certificate zilnice se va termina la 1 aprilie 1997. 11. La 4 februarie 1997, reclamantul a prezentat o obiecție la această decizie și a anunțat un raport al unui neurolog, care a confirmat o durere de cap aproape permanentă, mișcare limitată a capului, radiația durerii către umeri și brațele cu tulburări senzoriale, precum și tulburări de somn. În plus, specialistul a suspectat că reclamantul a suferit whicklash și că a fost afectată de o disfuncție neuropsihologică.
12. În septembrie 1997, societatea de asigurări a respins plângerea reclamantului care nu a constatat nicio legătură de cauzalitate între accidentul și problemele sale de sănătate. 13. Reclamantul a apelat la Curtea de Asigurări Sociale a Cantonului Zurich (Sozialversicherungsgericht des Kantons Zürich). 14. Într-o decizie din 24 august 2000, Curtea de Asigurări Sociale a permis recursul reclamantului. Acesta a anulat decizia societății de asigurări și a trimis cazul pentru clarificări suplimentare. Având în vedere contradicțiile parțiale care existau între diferitele rapoarte medicale, instanța a considerat că consecințele accidentului pentru starea de sănătate a reclamantului nu au fost suficient de stabilite.
În plus, a rămas o îndoială dacă reclamantul a suferit traumă la gât și la coloana vertebrală. Prin urmare, compania de asigurări a fost obligată să clarifice problema. 15. Compania de asigurări a ordonat ulterior o examinare multidisciplinară, efectuată de un institut de experți medicali din Basel. În raportul lor, experții au concluzionat că reclamantul a fost total incapacizat în ceea ce privește sarcinile necesare în cadrul profesiei sale. Cu toate acestea, societatea de asigurări a contestat acest raport odată ce a constatat că un medic care a participat la pregătirea acestuia a efectuat anterior o examinare privată a reclamantului în etapele inițiale ale procedurii.
16. Prin urmare, compania de asigurări a ordonat un alt raport medical, care a fost transmis la 11 noiembrie 2002. Raportul a observat existența unei legături de cauzalitate între accident și daunele la sănătatea reclamantului și a fost însoțită de un raport neuropsihologic, care a observat o disfuncție cerebrală ulterioară unei leziuni la cap. 17. Între timp, prin decizia din 21 martie 2002, autoritatea competentă de securitate socială (Sozialversicherungsanstalt) din Cantonul Zurich a acordat reclamantului o pensie deplină de invaliditate cu efect retroactiv. 18. Ulterior, reclamantul a solicitat companiilor de asigurări în mai multe ocazii să facă comentarii cu privire la obligația sa de a acorda prestațiile de asigurare.
19. La 5 octombrie 2003, un alt raport de experți comandat de societatea de asigurări a fost elaborat numai pe baza examinărilor anterioare. Expertul medical a confirmat existența unei legături de cauzalitate între accidentul și problemele de sănătate ale reclamantului și a concluzionat că boala reclamantului a condus la o incapacitate totală de muncă. 20. La 14 ianuarie 2005, societatea de asigurări a emis o decizie care confirmă încheierea prestațiilor reclamantului începând cu 1 aprilie 1997. Reclamantul a depus o plângere împotriva deciziei respective. 21. La 11 iunie 2005, un alt medic independent a concluzionat, numai pe baza rapoartelor medicale elaborate anterior, că aceste constatări medicale nu erau suficient de explicite în ceea ce privește cauzalitatea.
Potrivit acestuia, incapacitatea reclamantului de a lucra nu a constituit mai mult de 20%. De asemenea, el a criticat puternic abordarea și rezultatele altor experți medicali. Pe baza prezentului raport, la 22 septembrie 2005, societatea de asigurări a respins plângerea reclamantului din cauza lipsei unei legături cauzale între accidentul și condițiile sale medicale. 22. Reclamantul a apelat, susținând că majoritatea rapoartelor medicale au găsit o legătură cauzală și că singurul raport care nega existența unei astfel de legături se bazează numai pe rapoarte medicale de către alți experți în loc de o examinare directă. 23. La 28 decembrie 2005, Curtea de Asigurări Sociale a recunoscut existența unei legături de cauzalitate între accidentul și problemele de sănătate de care s-a plâns reclamantul și a permis apelul.
Chestiunea a fost adresată societății de asigurare pentru a decide cu privire la dreptul reclamantului la prestațiile de asigurare. 24. După aceea, compania de asigurări a invitat reclamantul să facă o evaluare medicală a abilităților sale funcționale, pe care a refuzat-o. Reclamantul a fost apoi emis cu un anunț oficial în sensul art. 43 alin. (3) din Legea privind securitatea socială, invitându-o să facă obiectul acestei evaluări și avertizându-i în legătură cu consecințele juridice ale nerespectării menționate în dispoziția menționată (a se vedea § 38 de mai jos). Nu a fost menționată nici o mențiune a posibilității de monitorizare secretă. 25. După aceea, la 3, 10, 16 și 26 octombrie 2006, reclamantul a fost monitorizat de către investigatori privați, comandați de societatea de asigurări.
Supravegherea a fost efectuată în patru date diferite pe o perioadă de douăzeci și trei de zile și a durat câteva ore de fiecare dată. Anchetatorii sub acoperire au urmat reclamantul pe distanțe lungi. În urma supravegherii, a fost pregătit un dosar de monitorizare detaliat. În conformitate cu raportul respectiv, reclamantul pare să fi aflat cunoștință de supravegherea secretă în ultima zi de punere în aplicare a măsurii. 26. Într-o decizie din 17 noiembrie 2006, societatea de asigurări a refuzat accesul reprezentantului reclamantului la raportul de supraveghere. Reclamantul a depus apoi o plângere la autoritatea de supraveghere, și anume Biroul Federal al Sănătății Publice, opunându-se că nu a luat o decizie cu privire la dreptul la prestațiile sale.
27. La 14 decembrie 2006, compania de asigurări a trimis reclamantului raportul investigatorilor privați. Raportul a inclus înregistrările de supraveghere și a declarat că a considerat necesar să efectueze o evaluare neurologică proaspătă a reclamantului. Cu toate acestea, reclamantul a refuzat să facă orice examinare suplimentară și a solicitat să ia o decizie privind prestațiile sale. 28. Într-o decizie din 2 martie 2007, societatea de asigurări a refuzat din nou să acorde reclamantului orice beneficii pe baza imaginilor înregistrate în timpul supravegherii și refuzul ei de a face o examinare neurologică. 29. Reclamantul a depus o plângere împotriva deciziei respective, cerând o pensie pe baza unui grad de invaliditate de 100%, precum și a compensației pentru prejudiciul integrității sale fizice.
Ea a cerut, de asemenea, să fie distrus dosarul de supraveghere. 30. La 12 aprilie 2007, un alt neurolog desemnat de compania de asigurări, dr H., a eliberat un aviz anonimat de experți pe baza dovezilor și a redactat ținând seama de toate examinările și evaluările medicale efectuate anterior, precum și de imaginile de supraveghere. El a constatat că incapacitatea reclamantului de a lucra era de 10%. În plus, el a estimat daunele la integritatea fizică a reclamantului cu între 5% și 10%. Pe baza analizei imaginilor de supraveghere, el a concluzionat că restricția privind capacitatea ei de a conduce o viață normală a fost minimă. 31. La 14 martie 2008, Oficiul Federal al Sănătății Publice a dat companiei de asigurări un termen limită pentru a decide plângerea reclamantului.
Prin decizia din 10 aprilie 2008, societatea de asigurări a respins cererea reclamantului de distrugere a imaginilor și a hotărât să-și acorde alocațiile zilnice și o pensie pe baza unui grad de invaliditate de 10%. 32. La 6 mai 2008, reclamantul a depus un recurs la Curtea de Asigurări Sociale care a solicitat compensare pentru daune la integritatea ei fizică, precum și pentru o pensie de invaliditate pe baza unui handicap de 70%. În plus, ea a solicitat dobânzi la 5% pentru achizițiile de achiziții zilnice rămase nepagate de la accident. Ea solicită, de asemenea, avizul expert cu privire la dovezile care iau în considerare materialul care rezultă din supraveghere să fie eliminat din dosarul ei.
Reclamantul s-a plâns că supravegherea a fost „reprensabilă și nepotrivă” și a constituit un „atac asupra personalității sale”. 33. La 29 mai 2009, Curtea de Asigurări Sociale a constatat în favoarea reclamantului. În special, aceasta a decis că, datorită lipsei de bază juridică pentru supraveghere, înregistrarea de monitorizare nu a fost admisă ca element de probă. În consecință, aceasta a refuzat orice valoare probativă a avizului expert pe baza dovezilor, care aveau în vedere supravegherea ilegală. În plus, în conformitate cu decizia anterioară a instanței din 28 decembrie 2005, reclamantul nu a fost obligat să facă alte examinări. Prin urmare, ea a avut dreptul de a refuza o evaluare medicală a abilităților sale funcționale.
34. Societatea de asigurări a depus un recurs împotriva acestei decizii în fața Curții Federale, criticând în special suma prestațiilor care urmează să fie acordate reclamantului. 35. În hotărârea sa din 29 martie 2010, din care reclamantul a fost notificat la 19 aprilie 2010, Curtea Federală a hotărât că, în conformitate cu jurisprudența sa anterioară (a se vedea mai jos § 43), supravegherea reclamantului de către investigatori privați a fost legală și, prin urmare, dosarul de supraveghere a fost o probă valabilă. După ce a evaluat dosarul de supraveghere a constatat că rapoartele medicale au contrazis imaginile și videoclipurile care arată reclamantul care se plimba cu câinele ei, conducerea unei mașini lungi distanțe, mergerea cumpărăturilor, transportarea alimentelor și deschiderea bootului mașinii prin mișcarea brațelor deasupra capului ei fără restricții notabile sau comportament neobișnuit.
În plus, a constatat că există discrepanțe, nu numai între rezultatele supravegherii și rapoartele medicale, ci și între rapoartele medicale elaborate înainte de supraveghere. În sfârșit, examinarea reclamantului de către un neurolog a fost necesară și admisibilă deoarece a refuzat anterior să facă o evaluare a capacităților sale funcționale și a unei examinări neurologice, care au fost necesare în aceste circumstanțe. Prin urmare, Curtea Federală a refuzat valoarea probativă nu numai din rapoartele medicale care atestă incapacitatea completă a reclamantului de a lucra, ci și din rapoartele care atestă incapacitatea ei de a lucra cu un grad mai mic. Prin urmare, compania de asigurări a acționat corect pentru a ordona o reevaluare a capacității ei de a lucra printr-o revizuire critică a tuturor rapoartelor medicale anterioare.
În urma unei analize a acestui raport de aviz, bazat pe dovezi, Curtea Federală a susținut că concluziile sale au fost convingătoare. Acesta a anulat decizia Curții de Asigurări Sociale, cu excepția considerațiilor referitoare la dobânzile înaintate. 36. Reclamantul a depus ulterior o cerere la Curtea Federală de interpretare a deciziei sale, având în vedere jurisprudența stabilită privind valoarea probativă a rapoartelor medicale. Curtea Federală și-a respins cererea, concluzând că și-a depus cererea nu în scopul definit în acest remediu juridic, ci mai degrabă pentru a susține o încălcare a articolelor 6 și 8 din Convenție.
5. The applicant was born in 1954 and lives in Opfikon. 6. The applicant had been employed as a hairdresser since 1993 and she had compulsory accident insurance under the Federal Law on Accident Insurance (see Relevant domestic law below). On 28 August 1995 she was hit by a motorcycle while crossing the road and fell on her back. She was hospitalised overnight owing to suspected concussion resulting from the impact of her head against the ground. 7. On 2 October 1995 the applicant was examined by a rheumatologist who diagnosed her with a cervical trauma and possible cranial trauma. On 6 December 1995 her family doctor certified that her injuries had resulted in total incapacity for work until the end of the year.
8. On 29 January 1996 the applicant was examined at the Zurich University Hospital. The doctor who examined her predicted that she could make a gradual return to work. Nevertheless, on 12 June 1996 another doctor in the same hospital declared the applicant totally incapable of work. 9. At the request of her insurance company, the applicant’s health was assessed by means of orthopaedic, neurological, neuropsychological and psychiatric examinations by the insurance-disability medical examination centre (COMAI) of St. Gallen.
On the basis of the assessment carried out by that centre, the applicant was declared fully capable of work with effect from February 1997. 10. By a decision of 23 January 1997 the insurance company informed the applicant that her entitlement to daily allowances would end on 1 April 1997. 11. On 4 February 1997 the applicant submitted an objection to that decision and enclosed a report of a neurologist, who confirmed an almost permanent headache, limited head movement, pain radiation towards the shoulders and arms with sensory disorders as well as sleep disorders. In addition, the specialist suspected that the applicant had suffered whiplash and that she was affected by a neuropsychological dysfunction.
12. In September 1997 the insurance company rejected the applicant’s complaint finding no causal link between the accident and her health problems. 13. The applicant appealed to the Social Insurance Court of the Canton of Zurich (Sozialversicherungsgericht des Kantons Zürich). 14. In a decision of 24 August 2000, the Social Insurance Court allowed the applicant’s appeal. It overturned the insurance company’s decision and remitted the case for further clarifications. Taking into account the partial contradictions that existed between the different medical reports, the court considered that the consequences of the accident for the applicant’s state of health were not sufficiently established. Moreover, a doubt remained as to whether the applicant had suffered trauma to her neck and spine.
The insurance company was thus required to clarify the issue. 15. The insurance company subsequently ordered a multidisciplinary examination, which was conducted by an institute of medical experts in Basel. In their report the experts concluded that the applicant was totally incapacitated in respect of the duties required in her profession. However, the insurance company challenged this report once it found that a doctor who had participated in its preparation had previously carried out a private examination of the applicant in the initial stages of the proceedings. 16. The insurance company therefore ordered another medical report, which was delivered on 11 November 2002. The report observed the existence of a causal link between the accident and the damage to the applicant’s health, and was accompanied by a neuropsychological report, which noted a brain dysfunction subsequent to a head injury.
17. Meanwhile, by a decision of 21 March 2002 the competent social security authority (Sozialversicherungsanstalt) of the Canton of Zurich granted the applicant a full disability pension with retroactive effect. 18. Subsequently, the applicant asked the insurance company on several occasions to comment on its obligation to grant her insurance benefits. 19. On 5 October 2003 another expert report commissioned by the insurance company was prepared solely on the basis of the previous examinations. The medical expert confirmed the existence of a causal link between the accident and the applicant’s health problems, and concluded that the applicant’s illness had led to a total incapacity for work.
20. On 14 January 2005 the insurance company issued a decision confirming the termination of the applicant’s benefits as of 1 April 1997. The applicant lodged a complaint against that decision. 21. On 11 June 2005, another independent physician concluded, solely on the basis of the previously drafted medical reports, that these medical findings were not sufficiently explicit as regards causality. According to him, the applicant’s incapacity for work amounted to not more than 20%. He also strongly criticised the approach and findings of other medical experts. On the basis of this report, on 22 September 2005 the insurance company dismissed the applicant’s complaint on the grounds of lack of a causal link between the accident and her medical conditions.
22. The applicant appealed, arguing that most of the medical reports had found a causal link and that the only report denying the existence of such a link was based solely on medical reports by other experts instead of on a direct examination. 23. On 28 December 2005 the Social Insurance Court recognised the existence of a causal link between the accident and the health problems the applicant complained of, and allowed her appeal. The matter was referred to the insurance company for it to decide on the right of the applicant to insurance benefits. 24. Thereafter, the insurance company invited the applicant to undergo a medical evaluation of her functional abilities, which she refused. The applicant was then issued with a formal notice within the meaning of Article 43 (3) of the Social Security Act inviting her to undergo the said evaluation and warning her about the legal consequences of failing to do so indicated in the said provision (see § 38 below).
No mention of the possibility of covert monitoring was mentioned. 25. Thereafter, on 3, 10, 16 and 26 October 2006 the applicant was monitored by private investigators, commissioned by the insurance company. The surveillance was performed on four different dates over a period of twenty-three days and lasted several hours each time. The undercover investigators followed the applicant over long distances. Following the surveillance, a detailed monitoring record was prepared. Pursuant to that report, the applicant appears to have become aware of the secret surveillance on the last day of implementation of the measure. 26. In a decision dated 17 November 2006 the insurance company refused the applicant’s representative access to the surveillance report.
The applicant then lodged a complaint with the supervisory authority, namely the Federal Office of Public Health, objecting to the failure to take a decision on her benefits entitlement. 27. On 14 December 2006 the insurance company sent the private investigators’ report to the applicant. The report included the surveillance footage and declared that it considered it necessary to conduct a fresh neurological assessment of the applicant. However, the applicant refused to undergo any further examination and asked for a decision on her benefits to be taken. 28. In a decision of 2 March 2007 the insurance company again refused to grant any benefits to the applicant on the basis of the images recorded during the surveillance and her refusal to undergo a neurological examination.
29. The applicant lodged a complaint against that decision, claiming a pension on the basis of a degree of disability of 100% as well as compensation for damage to her physical integrity. She also asked for the surveillance case file to be destroyed. 30. On 12 April 2007 another neurologist appointed by the insurance company, Dr H., released an anonymous expert opinion based on evidence and drafted taking into account all the medical examinations and assessments carried out previously as well as the surveillance images. He found that the applicant’s incapacity to work amounted to 10%. Furthermore, he estimated the damage to the applicant’s physical integrity at between 5% and 10%. On the basis of the analysis of the surveillance images he concluded that the restriction on her capacity to lead a normal life was minimal.
31. On 14 March 2008 the Federal Office of Public Health gave the insurance company a deadline to decide the applicant’s complaint. By a decision of 10 April 2008, the insurance company rejected the applicant’s request for destruction of the images and decided to grant her daily allowances and a pension on the basis of a disability degree of 10%. 32. On 6 May 2008 the applicant lodged an appeal with the Social Insurance Court claiming compensation for damage to her physical integrity as well as a disability pension based on 70% disability. In addition, she claimed interest at 5% on arrears on the daily allowances remaining unpaid since the accident. She also asked for the expert opinion on the evidence taking into consideration the material resulting from the surveillance be to be removed from her case file.
The applicant complained that the surveillance had been “reprehensible and inappropriate” and had constituted an “attack on her personality”. 33. On 29 May 2009 the Social Insurance Court found in favour of the applicant. In particular, it ruled that owing to the lack of legal basis for the surveillance the monitoring record was not admissible as evidence. As a result, it denied any probative value of the expert opinion based on the evidence, which had taken into account the illegal surveillance. Moreover, according to the court’s previous decision of 28 December 2005, the applicant was not required to undergo any further examinations. Therefore, she was entitled to refuse a medical assessment of her functional abilities.
34. The insurance company lodged an appeal against this decision before the Federal Court, criticising in particular the amount of benefits to be granted to the applicant. 35. In its judgment of 29 March 2010, of which the applicant was notified on 19 April 2010, the Federal Court ruled that, in accordance with its earlier jurisprudence (see below § 43), the surveillance of the applicant by private investigators had been lawful and the surveillance file was therefore a valid piece of evidence. After evaluating the surveillance file it found that the medical reports contradicted the images and videos showing the applicant walking her dog, driving a car long distances, going shopping, carrying groceries and opening the boot of the car by moving her arms above her head without noticeable restrictions or unusual behaviour.
Moreover, it found that there were discrepancies, not only between the results of the surveillance and the medical reports but also between the medical reports which had been drafted before the surveillance. Finally, the examination of the applicant by a neurologist was necessary and admissible because she had previously refused to undergo an assessment of her functional capacities and a neurological examination, which were required in the circumstances. Accordingly, the Federal Court denied the probative value not only of the medical reports attesting to the applicant’s complete incapacity to work but also of the reports attesting to her incapacity to work of a lesser degree. Therefore, the insurance company had acted correctly in ordering a reassessment of her ability to work through a critical review of all previous medical reports.
Following an analysis of this expert opinion report based on evidence, the Federal Court held that its findings were convincing. It quashed the decision of the Social Insurance Court, except for the considerations relating to the interest on arrears. 36. Subsequently the applicant lodged a request with the Federal Court for interpretation of its decision in the light of the established caselaw concerning the probative value of the medical reports. The Federal Court dismissed her request, concluding that she had submitted her application not for the purposes defined in this legal remedy, but rather to argue a violation of Articles 6 and 8 of the Convention.