- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 28 martie 2000
- Stat pârât
- CHE
- Articole
- Articolul 6
- Concluzia
- Excepție preliminară
- Încălcare — Articolul 6
- Prejudiciu material — cerere respinsă
- Prejudiciu moral — sumă acordată
- Cheltuieli de judecată — sumă acordată
Kiefer împotriva Elveției
Traducere în română Auto
SEGUNDA SECȚIUNE CAUZĂ DE KIEFER c. SWITZERLAND (Documentul nr. 27353/95) JUGD STRASBOURG 28 martie 2000 În cazul Kiefer c. Elveția Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (A doua secțiune), ședința în calitate de Cameră compusă din: Fischbach, Președintele Wildhaber Conforti Bonello dna Strážnická Lorenzen, dna Tsatsa-Nikolovska judecători și grefierul secțiunii Fribergh Având deliberat în particular la 16 martie 2000, emite următoarea hotărâre, adoptată la data respectivă: PROCEDURA Cauza a fost adresată Curții de către un național austriac, Erich Kiefer („reclamantul”) la 30 decembrie 1998, în conformitate cu art. 48 alineatul (1) litera (e) din Convenția pentru protecția drepturilor omului și a libertăților fundamentale („Convenția”).
Acesta a apărut într-o cerere (nr. 27353/95) împotriva Elveției depusă de solicitant la Comisia Europeană a Drepturilor Omului („Comisia”) în temeiul articolului 25 din Convenție, la 13 aprilie 1995. Reclamantul este reprezentat de dl B. Gachnang, avocat care practică în Lucerne în Elveția. Guvernul Elvețian este reprezentat de agentul lor, dl Ph. Boillat. Cazul se referă la durata procedurii inițiate de solicitant și dacă acestea au fost încheiate într-un „tempt motivabil”, conform articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție. La 31 martie 1999, un comitet al Marei Camere a hotărât, în conformitate cu art. 5 § 4 din Protocolul nr. 11, însoțit de articolele 100 § 1 și 24 §6 din Regulamentul Curții, că cazul ar trebui tratat de o cameră constituită în cadrul unei secțiuni a Curții.
În urma, președintele Curții a atribuit cazul la a doua secțiune. Camera constituită în cadrul Secțiunii include ex officio L. Wildhaber, judecătorul ales în ceea ce privește Elveția (art. 27 § 2 din Convenția și art. 26 § 1 a) din Regulamentul de procedură), și dl Fischbach, dl B. Conforti, dl G. Bonello, dl V. Strážnická, dl Lorenzen și dl M. Tsatsa-Nikolovska (art. 26 § 1 b)). La 29 aprilie 1999, președintele a invitat părțile să prezinte comemorative în acest caz (art. 59 § 3). Reclamantul a fost invitat în continuare să își prezinte cererile pentru satisfacție echitabilă în temeiul articolului 41 din Convenție (art. 60 § 1). Reclamantul a depus răspunsul său la 31 mai 1999. Guvernul a răspuns la 29 iunie 1999. Guvernul austriac a fost invitat la 7 februarie 2000 să afirme dacă doresc să intervenească în conformitate cu art. 36 din Convenție și cu art. 61 din Regulamentul Curții.
Prin scrisoarea din 25 februarie 2000, ei au răspuns că nu doresc să facă acest lucru. CU FACTE Reclamantul este un cetățean austriac, născut în 1946 și rezident în Graz în Austria. El a locuit în Elveția din 1979-1984, lucrând ca șofer de camion și a plătit contribuții la asigurarea de securitate socială elvețiană. În 1983, reclamantul a suferit un prejudiciu și a devenit parțial dezactivat. La 7 noiembrie 1985 a solicitat pensii de la asigurarea de invaliditate elvețiană (Invalidenversicherung Ca urmare, Comisia de Asigurare de Invaliditate (Invalidenversicherungs-Kommission ) a fost solicitat să examineze cazul și Biroul Elvețian de Indemnizare ( Schweizerische Ausgleichskasse ) să o decidă.
Pe baza celor zece rapoarte medicale emise între 1983 și 1987, Biroul de Indemnizare a respins cererea reclamantului la 23 decembrie 1987, deoarece el a fost doar parțial împiedicat în exercitarea profesiei sale ca șofer de camion. La 28 ianuarie 1988, reclamantul a depus un recurs împotriva acestei decizii la Comisia Federală de Apeluri pentru Vârsta Veche, Supraviețuitori și Asigurări de Invaliditate (Eidgenössische Rekurskommission für die Alters-, Hinterlassen- und Invalidenversicherung ), care, la 25 octombrie 1988, a considerat că decizia anterioară a fost contradictorie în ceea ce privește capacitatea reclamantului de a lucra. Acesta a susținut apelul reclamantului și a remis cazul la Biroul de Indemnizare pentru o examinare reînnoită.
Procedințele au fost reluate înainte de Biroul de Indemnizare care a obținut diferite opinii medicale și alte informații. În 1989, diverse rapoarte austriece au fost depuse de experți. Astfel, la 20 ianuarie 1989 Dr. R., un intern, a prezentat un raport medical. La 14 februarie 1989, dr. W. a răspuns la un chestionar medical. Ortopedist Dr. P. a prezentat un raport la 23 februarie 1989. Un neurolog, profesor O., a prezentat un raport la 26 mai 1989. Un al doilea raport a fost elaborat de Dr. R. la 31 august 1989. psihologul Dr. T. a depus un raport la 5 septembrie 1989. al doilea raport a fost depus de Dr. W. la 19 septembrie 1989. Dr. P. a prezentat un al doilea raport la 16 octombrie 1989. Radiologul Dr.
G. și-a transmis raportul la 31 octombrie 1989. În sfârșit, dr. W. și-a prezentat al treilea raport la 14 decembrie 1989. La 7 februarie 1990, dr. L.-K. ortopedist austriac a prezentat un alt raport. Între timp, într-o scrisoare din 11 decembrie 1989, reclamantul a solicitat autorităților austriece să efectueze o examinare atentă a cazului său prin intermediul unui alt expert medical. 10. Pe baza acestor diferite rapoarte, dr. M.-L., un specialist elvețian în medicină a muncii, a prezentat un raport la 27 aprilie 1990 în care a concluzionat că reclamantul nu a fost împiedicat să își exercite fosta profesie ca șofer de camion. Dr. S., un medic angajat de Biroul de Compensare al Elveției, a prezentat un raport la 16 iunie 1990 în care a fost de acord cu concluziile dr.
M.-L., determinând în același timp capacitatea reclamantului de a lucra ca șofer de camion la 80 %, și la 100 % pentru alte profesii. 11. Comisia de Asigurare Invaliditate a luat în considerare în propunerea sa de 19 Iulie 1990, că reclamantul nu a demonstrat în mod suficient nulitatea sa, iar reclamantul a primit posibilitatea de a-i răspunde. 12. Dr. S., care între timp a depus două rapoarte suplimentare la 29 mai și 16 iunie 1990, a solicitat într-un raport din 4 noiembrie 1990 o examinare suplimentară a reclamantului care a avut loc la Zurich la 23 mai 1991. Sta. a depus un raport la 28 noiembrie 1991, în care a concluzionat că reclamantul nu a putut lucra ca șofer de camion, deși ar putea fi așteptat să lucreze până la 50 % în anumite profesii.
Între timp, ortopedistul austriac dr. L.-K. a prezentat un al doilea raport la 27 iunie 1991. În 1992 dr. S., angajat de Biroul de Compensare, a prezentat trei Raportul: În raportul său din 25 ianuarie 1992, el nu este de acord cu concluzia că reclamantul nu ar putea fi așteptat să lucreze deloc. Un raport din 11 iunie 1992 a completat un raport anterior. În cele din urmă, în raportul său din 9 iulie 1992, el a răspuns la o nouă întrebare pusă la el de către Comisia de Asigurare Invaliditate. 13. La 29 aprilie și 4 septembrie 1992, autoritățile austriece au prezentat informații suplimentare privind faptul că reclamantul nu a plătit anumite contribuții de securitate socială în Austria în 1984 și 1985. 14. La 30 octombrie 1992, reclamantul a fost emis o decizie preliminară (Vorbescheid ) conform căreia nu a fost asigurat atunci când prejudiciul a avut loc pentru care nu a fost îndeplinită o condiție oficială de acordare a unei pensii de invaliditate.
Reclamantul a fost acordat un termen de 30 de zile pentru a răspunde. În urma solicitării reclamantului de prelungire a unei luni, cererile sale în răspuns au fost depuse la 4 ianuarie 1993. 15. La 7 aprilie 1993, Oficiul de Indemnizare a respins cererea reclamantului de pensii, deoarece nu era asigurat la momentul respectiv. La 10 mai 1993 a depus un recurs împotriva acestei decizii, respins de către Comisia Federală de Apeluri pentru Vârsta Veche, Supraviețuitori și Asigurarea Invalidității, la 21 februarie 1994. 16. La 5 aprilie 1994, reclamantul a depus un recurs de drept administrativ în care a declarat, printre altele, „Este surprinzător că autoritățile au nevoie de aproape 10 ani pentru a stabili că (denumitul solicitant) nu avea calitatea unei persoane asigurate la 7 aprilie 1984. Cel puțin Comisia Federală de Apeluri a stabilit în 4 din decizia sa că există o invaliditate.
Acum ne confruntăm cu situația în care o persoană invalidă a fost reținută de aproape zece ani și a fost chemată să se prezinte la examene, deși se pare că nu este nici măcar asigurat.Decizia din 23 decembrie 1987 a refuzat să acorde o pensie din cauza faptului că nu a existat nici o invaliditate, fără să se ocupe chiar de calitatea presupusă de asigurare lipsă. Conducerea autorităților, în special rezultatul acestei conduite, încălcarea credinței și trebuie descrisă ca fiind arbitrar…
Faptul că reclamantul a fost refuzat statutul de asigurat la zece ani după ce a fost constatat că lipsă se ridică la o încălcare a credinței bune, este arbitrar și încălcarea principiului egalității de la Secțiunea 4 din Constituția Federală.” 17. Apelul de drept administrativ a fost respins la 18 noiembrie 1994 de către Curtea Federală de Asigurări ( Eidgenössisches Versicherungsgericht ), decizia care a fost preluată la 25 noiembrie 1994. 19. Comisia a declarat cererea admisibilă la 16 aprilie 1998 în raportul său din 21 octombrie 1998 (ex-art. 31), care a exprimat avizul unanim că a existat o încălcare a articolului 6 § 1. OBJECȚIA PRELIMINARĂ A GOVERNULUI 20. După cum au făcut înaintea Comisiei, Guvernul a susținut în fața Curții că reclamantul nu a epuizat căile de recurs interne, conform articolului 35 § 1 din Convenție.
Întregul proces nu a formulat niciodată în substanță în fața autorităților interne plângerea de lungimea procedurii. De exemplu, în ceea ce privește Oficiul Elvețian de Compensare, el ar fi avut posibilitatea de a depune o astfel de plângere autorității superioare. Tribunalul Federal de Asigurări ar fi fost, de asemenea, competent să examineze o plângere cu privire la durata procedurii. Singurul fapt că reclamantul, reprezentat de un avocat, a depus un recurs de drept administrativ în fața acestei instanțe nu a fost suficient. Ar fi trebuit să se plângă, în legătură cu art. 6 din Convenție sau cu art. 4 corespunzător din Constituția Federală, de durata procedurii. Prin faptul că nu a făcut acest lucru, a refuzat autorităților interne posibilitatea de a examina plângerea sa.
În ansamblu, reclamantul a fost interesat doar de examinarea condițiilor substanțiale ale pensiei sale, într-o etapă chiar și de solicitarea autorităților austriece să efectueze o anchetă aprofundată. 21. În decizia sa cu privire la admisibilitatea cererii, Comisia a respins obiecția din cauza faptului că reclamantul a formulat suficient plângere în fața Curții Federale de Asigurări. 22. Curtea reamintește că regula de epuizare a căilor de recurs interne menționată la art. 35 § 1 din Convenție obligă cei care doresc să își aducă cazul împotriva statului în fața unui organism judecător internațional să utilizeze în primul rând remediile prevăzute de sistemul juridic național, dispunând astfel statelor de a răspunde în fața unui organism internațional pentru actele lor înainte de a avea ocazia de a pune lucrurile în ordine prin propriul propriu sistem juridic.
art. 35 § 1 trebuie aplicat cu un anumit grad de flexibilitate și fără formalitate excesivă. Nu este suficient ca cererile să fie formulate la instanțele interne adecvate și utilizarea acestora a fost făcută de remedii concepute pentru a contesta deciziile deja adoptate.
În mod normal, aceasta solicită, de asemenea, ca plângerile care urmează să fie formulate ulterior în fața Curții să fi fost adresate aceleași instanțe, cel puțin în substanță și în conformitate cu cerințele formale prevăzute în legislația internă (a se vedea Hotărârea Cardot/Franța din 19 martie 1991, Serie A, nr. 200, p. 18, § 34). 23. În ceea ce privește circumstanțele prezentului caz, Curtea constată că, în apelul său de drept administrativ în fața Curții Federale de Asigurări, reclamantul s-a plângut, printre altele , de o perioadă de „aproximativ zece ani” pe care autoritățile le-au cerut să o determine că nu are calitatea unei persoane asigurate și că acum a fost confruntat cu o situație în care „(a) a fost reținut timp de aproape zece ani”.
El a încheiat plângând că acest refuz după zece ani a încălcat bună credință și a fost arbitrar (a se vedea punctul 16 mai sus). Având în vedere aceasta, Curtea consideră că reclamantul suficient de susținut în substanță în fața autorităților interne, plângerea pe care o prezintă acum în fața Curții. Prin urmare, Curtea, ca și Comisia, respinge obiecția preliminară a guvernului. Reclamantul s-a plâns de durata procedurii civile pe care le-a instituit în fața autorităților elvețiene de asigurare socială. A susținut o încălcare a articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție, care prevede: „În determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor sale civile..., toată lumea are dreptul la o... audiție într-un timp rezonabil de [a] ... tribunal...” 25. Guvernul a contestat faptul că argumentul a fost complex și că reclamantul a contribuit la durata procedurii.
Perioada care urmează să fie luată în considerare 26. Perioada relevantă a început la 28 ianuarie 1988, când reclamantul a contestat decizia administrativă care i-a refuzat o pensie (a se vedea Hotărârea König v. Germania din 28 iunie 1978, Seria A, nr. 27, § 31). Acesta s-a încheiat la 25 noiembrie 1994 când hotărârea finală a Curții Federale de Asigurări a fost încheiată pe reclamant. 27. A durat, prin urmare, 6 ani, 9 luni și 28 zile în trei cazuri. Raționalitate a lungii procedurii 28. Potrivit jurisprudenței Curții, rezonabilitatea lungii procedurii trebuie evaluată în funcție de circumstanțele specifice ale cauzei și având în vedere criteriile stabilite în jurisprudența Curții, în special complexitatea cauzei, comportamentul reclamantului și al autorităților care se ocupă de acest caz.
În această privință, ceea ce este în joc pentru reclamantul în litigiu trebuie să fie luat în considerare în anumite cazuri (a se vedea, printre altele, hotărârea Pélissier et Sassi c. Franța din 25 martie 1999, care va fi publicată în Raportul Hotărârilor și Deciziilor 1999, § 67 și Hotărârea Duclos c. Franța din 17 decembrie 1996, Raportul 1996-VI, p. 2180, § 55). Guvernul a susținut că procedurile de la Comisia Federală de Apel au fost desfășurate în 1988 în termen de nouă luni și în 1993/94 în termen de 91⁄2 luni; Curtea Federală de Asigurări a cerut mai puțin de opt luni să își decidă. În opinia Guvernului, cazul a fost neobișnuit de complex având în vedere numeroase opinii medicale și a trebuit să se desfășoare anchete în Austria.
Autoritățile - în special Biroul de Compensare - nu au putut fi învinovățite pentru nici o inactivitate. Chiar dacă această autoritate are nevoie de patru luni și jumătate pentru a-și da a doua decizie, nu ar fi putut decide mai rapid. Biroul a fost solicitat în primul rând să examineze condițiile de invaliditate și numai mai târziu dacă condițiile de asigurare au fost îndeplinite. Deja în primul set de proceduri în fața Oficiului, a fost confruntat cu zece avize medicale. Pe de altă parte, reclamantul însuși nu a apărut preocupat de durata procedurii. Într-adevăr, într-o scrisoare din 11 decembrie 1989, el solicită autorităților să ordone examinarea cea mai aprofundată de către un alt expert medical.
Guvernul susține că în cinci ani după accidentul său a obținut un salariu și că a obținut o pensie de la autoritățile austriece. 30. Reclamantul a susținut că procedura în cauză i-a afectat în mare măsură viața de viață. În timp ce autoritățile au examinat întrebarea mai complexă cu privire la faptul că el a fost incapacizat sau nu, acestea nu au examinat în același timp întrebarea semnificativ mai simplă cu privire la faptul că el a fost asigurat și au avut suficiente informații la dispoziția lor pentru a ajunge la o concluzie. 31. În ceea ce privește circumstanțele prezentului caz, Curtea reamintește că, după suferirea unui prejudiciu, reclamantul a devenit parțial handicapat, iar ceea ce era în joc pentru el erau prestațiile de pensie destinate compensarii dezactivarii și pierderii capacității de lucru.
În aceste circumstanțe, Curtea constată că expediția a fost solicitată. 32. Este adevărat că guvernul a susținut complexitatea cazului. Cu toate acestea, Curtea constată că cererea reclamantului de prestații de pensii a fost respinsă de autoritățile elvețiene, deoarece nu era asigurat la momentul respectiv. în cazul în care cazul ar fi putut fi de oarecare complexitate, Curtea constată că acest lucru nu poate explica în mod rezonabil durata procedurii de peste 6 ani și 9 luni. 33. Reclamantul însuși a contribuit doar într-o măsură minoră la durata procedurii atunci când a solicitat o prelungire a termenului de o lună înainte de depunerea observațiilor sale la 4 ianuarie 1993. 34. În ceea ce privește desfășurarea procedurii, principala întârziere se referă la procedurile de la Oficiul Federal de Indemnizare între 25 octombrie 1988 și 7 aprilie 1993, care au durat aproximativ 41⁄2 ani.
În această perioadă, au fost depuse numeroase rapoarte medicale și alte informații, deși acestea au consistat adesea în doar câteva pagini sau chiar câteva linii. Curtea a avut o atenție deosebită cu privire la perioada din 27 aprilie 1990, atunci când raportul dr. M.-L. a fost depus, până la 7 aprilie 1993, adică, o perioadă de aproximativ trei ani. În acest timp, două rapoarte au fost depuse de dr. Sta. și L.-K., iar șapte rapoarte de dr. S. Comisia de Asigurare a invalidității a depus o propunere la 19 iulie 1990, iar o decizie preliminară a fost depusă la 30 octombrie 1992. În plus, autoritățile austriece au prezentat informații suplimentare, și anume că reclamantul nu a plătit contribuții de securitate socială în 1984 și 1985. În opinia Curții, această întârziere nu poate fi considerată rezonabilă.
Cazul reclamantului a fost remis la Biroul de Compensare pentru o nouă decizie. În plus, Oficiul a abordat, de fapt, o a doua oară, acelasi caz pe care l-a examinat deja într-o anumită amănuntare în cadrul procedurii anterioare. 35. Având în vedere întârzierile imputabile statului, durata generală a procedurii și ceea ce era în joc pentru reclamant, Curtea concluzionează că obligația de „tempă rațională” nu a fost îndeplinită. Prin urmare, a existat o încălcare a articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție. II.
APLICAREA ARTICOLULUI 41 AL CONVENȚIEI 36. art. 41 din Convenție prevede: „Dacă Curtea constată că a existat o încălcare a Convenției sau a Protocolelor sale și dacă legea internă a Înaltei Parte contractante în cauză permite numai repararea parțială, Curtea permite, dacă este necesar, satisfacție echitabilă părții vătămate.” Daune 37. Reclamantul a solicitat 2 280 de franci elvețieni (CHF) pentru prejudicii materiale rezultate din diferite examinări medicale necesare după accident în 1983. În plus, a reclamat prejudicii morale de 90.000 de franci, având în vedere întârzierile procedurii. 38. Guvernul nu a văzut nicio legătură între prejudiciile materiale presupuse și comportamentul autorităților elvețiene.
În ceea ce privește prejudiciile morale, Guvernul a solicitat Curtea să pronunțe că o constatare a unei încălcări constituie suficientă satisfacție. 39. Curtea nu percepe nicio legătură de cauzalitate între încălcarea articolului 6 § 1 și presupusa prejudicii materiale. Prin urmare, nu există motive de atribuire în temeiul acestui cap. În ceea ce privește prejudiciile morale presupuse, Curtea, efectuarea unei evaluări echitabile, atribuie reclamantului 5.000 CHF sub acest cap. Costuri și cheltuieli 40. Reclamantul a solicitat, de asemenea, 4.964 CHF pentru costurile avocatului în cadrul procedurii interne, și 8.911.90 CHF pentru procedurile de la Strasbourg. 41. Guvernul a considerat că numai costurile din fața Curții Federale de Asigurări ar trebui rambursate în valoare de 500 CHF.
În ceea ce privește procedurile din Strasbourg, Guvernul a considerat că suma de 5.000 CHF este adecvată.
42. Curtea reamintește că, în conformitate cu jurisprudența sa, trebuie să ia în considerare dacă costurile și cheltuielile au fost suportate de fapt și neapărat pentru a preveni sau a obține reparații pentru această chestiune care constituie o încălcare a Convenției și au fost rezonabile în ceea ce privește cuantitatea (a se vedea, de exemplu, hotărârea Bladet Tromsø și Stensaas din 20 mai 1999, care urmează să fie publicată în Raporturile 1999, § 80). Curtea constată că cererea de costuri a reclamantului pentru procedura de la Strasbourg este excesivă și, efectuand o evaluare echitabilă, îi acordă 5.000 CHF sub acest cap. În ceea ce privește costurile procedurii interne, Curtea constată că durata procedurii dinaintea Oficiului de Compensare poate fi crescută a costurilor și că costurile procedurii dinainte de Curtea Federală de Asigurări, în care s-a plângut de durata procedurii, au fost neapărat suportate pentru obținerea unei soluții pentru durata procedurii reclamate.
Curtea decidă, în mod echitabil, că reclamantul se află sub șeful său 1000 CHF. 43. În sumă, Curtea atribuie reclamantului suma de 6.000 CHF pentru costuri juridice. Dobânzile implicite 44. Potrivit informațiilor disponibile Curții, rata statutară de dobânzi aplicabilă în Elveția la data adoptării prezentei hotărâri este de 5% pe an. Pentru aceste motive, Curtea UNANIMOUS respinge obiecția preliminară a Guvernului; declară că a existat o încălcare a art. 6 § 1 din Convenție; deține că statul pârât trebuie să plătească reclamantului, în termen de trei luni, 5.000 (cincă mii) franci elvețieni pentru prejudicii morale și 6.000 (sex mii) franci elvețieni în ceea ce privește costurile juridice; acest dobânzi simplu la o rată anuală de 5% se plătește de la expirarea celor trei luni menționate mai sus până la decontare; respinge restul cererii reclamantei pentru o justă satisfacție.
Erik Fribergh Marc Fischbach Președintele grefierului în limba engleză, apoi trimis ca exemplar certificat la 28 martie 2000, în conformitate cu art. 77 §§ 2 și 3 din Regulamentul de procedură.
SECOND SECTION
CASE OF KIEFER
v. SWITZERLAND (Application no. 27353/95) JUDGMENT STRASBOURG 28 March 2000 In the case of Kiefer v. Switzerland , The European Court of Human Rights (Second Section), sitting as a Chamber composed of: Mr M. Fischbach, President , Mr L. Wildhaber , Mr B. Conforti , Mr G. Bonello , Mrs V. Strážnická , Mr P. Lorenzen, Mrs M. Tsatsa-Nikolovska , judges , and Mr E. Fribergh , Section Registrar , Having deliberated in private on 16 March 2000, Delivers the following judgment, which was adopted on that date: PROCEDURE
The case was referred to the Court by an Austrian national, Erich Kiefer (“the applicant”) on 30 December 1998 pursuant to former Article 48 § 1 (e) of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (“the Convention”). It originated in an application (no. 27353/95) against Switzerland lodged by the applicant with the European Commission of Human Rights (“the Commission”) under former Article 25 of the Convention, on 13 April 1995.
The applicant is represented by Mr B. Gachnang, a lawyer practising in Lucerne in Switzerland. The Swiss Government are represented by their Agent, Mr Ph. Boillat.
The case concerns the duration of the proceedings instituted by the applicant and whether they were terminated within a “reasonable time” as required by Article 6 § 1 of the Convention.
On 31 March 1999 a Panel of the Grand Chamber decided, in accordance with Article 5 § 4 of Protocol No. 11 taken together with Rules 100 § 1 and 24 §6 of the Rules of Court, that the case should be dealt with by a Chamber constituted within one of the Sections of the Court. Subsequently, the President of the Court assigned the case to the Second Section. The Chamber constituted within the Section included ex officio Mr L. Wildhaber, the judge elected in respect of Switzerland (Article 27 § 2 of the Convention and Rule 26 § 1 (a) of the Rules of Court), and Mr M. Fischbach, Mr B. Conforti, Mr G. Bonello, Mrs V. Strážnická, Mr P. Lorenzen and Mrs M. Tsatsa-Nikolovska (Rule 26 § 1 (b)).
On 29 April 1999 the President invited the parties to submit memorials in the case (Rule 59 § 3). The applicant was further invited to submit his claim for just satisfaction under Article 41 of the Convention (Rule 60 § 1). The applicant filed his reply on 31 May 1999. The Government replied on 29 June 1999. The Austrian Government were invited on 7 February 2000 to state whether they wished to intervene in accordance with Article 36 of the Convention and Rule 61 of the Rules of Court. By letter of 25 February 2000 they replied that they did not wish to do so.
AS TO THE FACTS
6. The applicant is an Austrian citizen, born in 1946 and resident in Graz in Austria. He resided in Switzerland from 1979-1984, working as a lorry driver and paying contributions to the Swiss social security insurance.
In 1983 the applicant suffered an injury and became partly disabled. On 7 November 1985 he requested pension benefits from the Swiss Invalidity Insurance ( Invalidenversicherung ). As a result, the Invalidity Insurance Commission ( Invalidenversicherungs-Kommission ) was called upon to examine the case and the Swiss Compensation Office ( Schweizerische Ausgleichskasse ) to decide it. Based on ten medical reports issued between 1983 and 1987, the Compensation Office dismissed the applicant's request on 23 December 1987, as he was only partly hindered in exercising his profession as a lorry driver.
On 28 January 1988 the applicant filed an appeal against this decision with the Federal Appeals Commission for Old Age, Survivors and Invalidity Insurance (Eidgenössische Rekurskommission für die Alters-, Hinterlassenen- und Invalidenversicherung ), which, on 25 October 1988, considered that the previous decision was contradictory in respect of the applicant's ability to work. It upheld the applicant's appeal and referred the case back to the Compensation Office for renewed examination.
Proceedings were resumed before the Compensation Office which obtained various medical opinions and other information. In 1989, various reports were filed by Austrian experts. Thus, on 20 January 1989 Dr. R., an internist, submitted a medical report. On 14 February 1989 Dr. W. replied to a medical questionnaire. The orthopaedist Dr. P. presented a report on 23 February 1989. A neurologist, Professor O., submitted a report on 26 May 1989. A second report was prepared by Dr. R. on 31 August 1989. The psychologist Dr. T. filed a report on 5 September 1989. A second report was filed by Dr. W. on 19 September 1989. Dr. P. submitted a second report on 16 October 1989. The radiologist Dr. G. transmitted his report on 31 October 1989. Finally, Dr. W. submitted his third report on 14 December 1989. On 7 February 1990 the Austrian orthopaedist Dr. L.-K. submitted another report. Meanwhile, in a letter dated 11 December 1989 the applicant requested the Austrian authorities to undertake a most thorough examination of his case by means of a further medical expert.
Based on these various reports, Dr. M.-L., a Swiss specialist in labour medicine, submitted a report on 27 April 1990 in which he concluded that the applicant was not hindered in exercising his former profession as a lorry driver. Dr. S., a doctor employed by the Swiss Compensation Office, submitted a report on 16 June 1990 in which he agreed with Dr. M.-L.'s conclusions, while determining the applicant's ability to work as a lorry driver at 80 %, and at 100 % for other professions.
The Invalidity Insurance Commission considered in its proposal of 19 July 1990 that the applicant had not sufficiently demonstrated his invalidity. The applicant was given the opportunity to reply thereto.
Dr. S., who had meanwhile filed two further reports on 29 May and 16 June 1990, requested in a report of 4 November 1990 a further examination of the applicant which took place in Zurich on 23 May 1991. The Swiss orthopaedist Dr. Sta. filed a report on 28 November 1991 in which he concluded that the applicant was unable to work as a lorry driver, though he could be expected to work up to 50 % in certain other professions. Meanwhile, the Austrian orthopaedist Dr. L.-K. submitted a second report on 27 June 1991. In 1992 Dr. S., employed by the Compensation Office, submitted three reports: In his report of 25 January 1992, he disagreed with the conclusion that the applicant could not be expected to work at all. A report of 11 June 1992, complemented a previous report. Finally, in his report of 9 July 1992, he replied to a further question put to him by the Invalidity Insurance Commission.
Further information was submitted by the Austrian pension authorities on 29 April and 4 September 1992, in particular that the applicant had not paid certain social security contributions in Austria in 1984 and 1985.
On 30 October 1992 the applicant was issued a preliminary decision ( Vorbescheid ) according to which he had not been insured when the injury had occurred for which reason a formal condition for granting an invalidity pension had not been met. The applicant was granted a time-limit of 30 days to reply. Following the applicant's request for a prolongation of one month, his submissions in reply were filed on 4 January 1993.
On 7 April 1993 the Compensation Office dismissed the applicant's request for pension benefits as he had not been insured at the time concerned. On 10 May 1993 he filed an appeal against this decision which was dismissed by the Federal Appeals Commission for Old Age, Survivors and Invalidity Insurance on 21 February 1994.
On 5 April 1994 the applicant filed an administrative law appeal in which he stated, inter alia : “It is surprising that the authorities required nearly 10 years to determine that (the applicant) had lacked the quality of an insured person on 7 April 1984. At least the Federal Appeals Commission determined in § 4 of its decision that there was an invalidity. Now we are faced with the situation that an invalid person has been held off for nearly ten years and has been called to submit to examinations, although he is apparently not even insured. The decision of 23 December 1987 refused to grant a pension on the grounds that there was no invalidity, without even dealing with the allegedly missing insurance quality. The conduct of the authorities, and in particular the result of this conduct, breaches good faith and must be described as arbitrary… The fact that the applicant has been refused status as an insured person ten years after it was allegedly found missing amounts to a breach of good faith, it is arbitrary and breaches the principle of equality emanating from Section 4 of the Federal Constitution.”
The administrative law appeal was dismissed on 18 November 1994 by the Federal Insurance Court ( Eidgenössisches Versicherungsgericht ), the decision being served on 25 November 1994.
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE COMMISSION
18. The applicant applied to the Commission on 13 April 1995, complaining under Article 6 § 1 about the length of social security proceedings.
The Commission declared the application admissible on 16 April 1998. In its report of 21 October 1998 (former Article 31), it expressed the unanimous opinion that there had been a violation of Article 6 § 1.
AS TO THE LAW
I.
THE GOVERNMENT’S PRELIMINARY OBJECTION
20. As they had done before the Commission, the Government maintained before the Court that the applicant had not exhausted domestic remedies as required by Article 35 § 1 of the Convention. During the entire proceedings he never raised in substance before the domestic authorities the complaint of the length of the proceedings. For instance, in respect of the Swiss Compensation Office he would have had the possibility effectively to file such a complaint to the higher authority. The Federal Insurance Court would also have been competent to examine a complaint about the length of the proceedings. The mere fact that the applicant, who was represented by a lawyer, filed an administrative law appeal before this court did not suffice.
He should have complained, with reference to Article 6 of the Convention or the corresponding Section 4 of the Federal Constitution, of the length of the proceedings. By failing to do so he denied the domestic authorities the possibility to examine his complaint. On the whole, the applicant was only interested in an examination of the substantial conditions of his pension, at one stage even requesting the Austrian authorities to undertake a thorough investigation.
In its decision on the admissibility of the application, the Commission dismissed the objection on the ground that the applicant had sufficiently raised the complaint before the Federal Insurance Court.
The Court recalls that the rule of exhaustion of domestic remedies referred to in Article 35 § 1 of the Convention obliges those seeking to bring their case against the State before an international judicial body to use first the remedies provided by the national legal system, thus dispensing States from answering before an international body for their acts before they have had an opportunity to put matters right through their own legal system. Article 35 § 1 must be applied with some degree of flexibility and without excessive formalism. It is not sufficient that applications have been made to the appropriate domestic courts and that use has been made of remedies designed to challenge decisions already given. It normally also requires that the complaints intended to be made subsequently before the Court should have been made to those same courts, at least in substance and in compliance with the formal requirements laid down in domestic law (see the Cardot v. France judgment of 19 March 1991, Series A, no. 200, p. 18, § 34).
Turning to the circumstances of the present case, the Court notes that in his administrative law appeal before the Federal Insurance Court the applicant complained, inter alia , of a period lasting “nearly ten years” which the authorities had required to determine that he lacked the quality of an insured person, and that he was now faced with a situation where “(he had) been held off for nearly ten years”. He concluded by complaining that this refusal after ten years breached good faith and was arbitrary (see paragraph 16 above). In view thereof, the Court considers that the applicant sufficiently raised in substance before the domestic authorities the complaint he is now raising before the Court. Consequently, the Court, like the Commission, dismisses the Government’s preliminary objection. II .
ALLEGED VIOLATION OF ARTICLE 6 § 1 OF THE CONVENTION
24. The applicant complained of the length of the civil proceedings which he had instituted before the Swiss social insurance authorities. He alleged a violation of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention which provides: “In the determination of his civil rights and obligations..., everyone is entitled to a... hearing within a reasonable time by [a] ... tribunal...”
The Government contested that submission on the ground that the case was complex and the applicant contributed to the length of the proceedings. A. Period to be taken into consideration
The relevant period began on 28 January 1988 when the applicant contested the administrative decision refusing him a pension (see the König v. Germany judgment of 28 June 1978, Series A, no. 27, § 31). It ended on 25 November 1994 when the final decision of the Federal Insurance Court was served on the applicant.
It therefore lasted 6 years, 9 months and 28 days in three instances. B. Reasonableness of the length of the proceedings
According to the Court’s case-law, the reasonableness of the length of the proceedings must be assessed in the light of the particular circumstances of the case and having regard to the criteria laid down in the Court’s case-law, in particular the complexity of the case, the conduct of the applicant and that of the authorities dealing with the case. On the latter point, what is at stake for the applicant in the litigation has to be taken into account in certain cases (see among other authorities the Pélissier et Sassi v. France judgment of 25 March 1999, to be published in Reports of Judgments and Decisions 1999, § 67, and the Duclos v. France judgment of 17 December 1996, Reports 1996-VI, p. 2180, § 55).
The Government argued that the procedures before the Federal Appeals Commission were conducted in 1988 within nine months, and in 1993/94 within 9½ months; the Federal Insurance Court required less than eight months to give its decision. In the Government’s view, the case was unusually complex in view of numerous medical opinions and as investigations had to be carried out in Austria. The authorities - in particular the Compensation Office - could not be blamed for any inactivity. Even if this authority required four and a half months to give its decision a second time, it could not have decided more speedily. The Office was called upon first to examine the conditions of invalidity, and only later whether the conditions of insurance had been met. Already in the first set of proceedings before the Office, it was confronted with ten medical opinions. On the other hand, the applicant himself did not appear preoccupied by the length of the proceedings. Indeed, in a letter dated 11 December 1989 he requested the authorities to order the most thorough examination by another medical expert. The Government submit that during five years after his accident he obtained a salary, and that he obtained a pension from the Austrian authorities.
The applicant submitted that the proceedings at issue affected his livelihood to a considerable extent. While the authorities examined the more complex question as to whether he was incapacitated or not, they failed to examine at the same time the significantly simpler question as to whether he was insured. They had sufficient information at their disposal to reach a conclusion.
Turning to the circumstances of the present case, the Court recalls that after suffering an injury the applicant became partly disabled, and what was at stake for him were pension benefits intended to compensate his disablement and loss of working capacity. Under these circumstances the Court finds that expedition was called for.
It is true that the Government have argued the complexity of the case. The Court notes, however, that the applicant’s request for pension benefits was dismissed by the Swiss authorities as he had not been insured at the time concerned. Even if the case might have been of some complexity, the Court does not find that this can reasonably explain the length of the proceedings lasting over 6 years and 9 months.
The applicant himself contributed only to a minor extent to the length of the proceedings when he requested a prolongation of the time-limit of one month before filing his observations on 4 January 1993.
As regards the authorities’ conduct of the proceedings, the main delay relates to the proceedings before the Federal Compensation Office between 25 October 1988 and 7 April 1993, lasting approximately 4½ years. During this period, numerous medical reports and other information was filed, although these often consisted of only a few pages or even a few lines. The Court has had particular regard to the period from 27 April 1990, when Dr. M.-L.’s report was filed, until 7 April 1993, i.e., a period of approximately three years. During this time, 2 reports were filed by Drs Sta. and L.-K., and seven reports by Dr. S. The invalidity Insurance Commission filed a proposal on 19 July 1990, and a preliminary decision was given on 30 October 1992. The applicant filed submissions on both. Moreover, the Austrian authorities submitted further information, namely that the applicant had not paid social security contributions in 1984 and 1985. In the Court’s opinion, this delay cannot be considered reasonable. The applicant’s case had been referred back to the Compensation Office for a new decision. Moreover, the Office was in fact dealing a second time with the same case which it had already considered in some depth in previous proceedings.
Having regard to the delays imputable to the State, the overall duration of the proceedings and what was at stake for the applicant, the Court concludes that the ”reasonable time” requirement was not satisfied. There has accordingly been a breach of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention. IiI.
APPLICATION OF ARTICLE 41 OF THE CONVENTION
36. Article 41 of the Convention provides: “If the Court finds that there has been a violation of the Convention or the Protocols thereto, and if the internal law of the High Contracting Party concerned allows only partial reparation to be made, the Court shall, if necessary, afford just satisfaction to the injured party.” A. Damage
The applicant claimed 2,280 Swiss Francs (CHF) for pecuniary damage resulting from various medical examinations required after the accident in 1983. He furthermore claimed non-pecuniary damage amounting to 90,000 CHF in view of the delays in the proceedings.
The Government saw no connection between the pecuniary damage alleged and the conduct of the Swiss authorities. In respect of the non-pecuniary damage, the Government asked the Court to rule that a finding of a violation constituted sufficient just satisfaction.
The Court perceives no causal link between the breach of Article 6 § 1 and the alleged pecuniary damage. There is, therefore, no ground for any award under this head. In respect of non-pecuniary damage alleged, the Court, making an assessment on an equitable basis, awards the applicant 5,000 CHF under this head. B. Costs and expenses
The applicant also claimed 4,964 CHF for lawyer’s costs in the domestic proceedings, and 8,911.90 CHF for the proceedings in Strasbourg.
The Government considered in respect of the domestic proceedings that only the costs before the Federal Insurance Court, amounting to 500 CHF, should be reimbursed. In respect of the proceedings in Strasbourg, the Government regarded the sum of 5,000 CHF as being adequate.
The Court recalls that, according to its case-law, it has to consider whether the costs and expenses were actually and necessarily incurred in order to prevent or obtain redress for the matter found to constitute a violation of the Convention and were reasonable as to quantum (see, for instance, the Bladet Tromsø and Stensaas judgment of 20 May 1999, to be published in Reports 1999, § 80). The Court finds the applicant’s costs claim for the Strasbourg proceedings excessive and, making an assessment on an equitable basis, awards him 5,000 CHF under this head. As to the costs of the domestic proceedings, the Court finds that the length of the proceedings before the Compensation Office may have increased his costs and that the costs of the proceedings before the Federal Insurance Court, in which he complained of the length of the proceedings, were necessarily incurred to obtain redress for the duration of the proceedings complained of. Deciding on an equitable basis, the Court awards the applicant 1,000 CHF under his head.
In sum, the Court awards the applicant the sum of 6,000 CHF for legal costs. C. Default interest
According to the information available to the Court, the statutory rate of interest applicable in Switzerland at the date of adoption of the present judgment is 5% per annum.
FOR THESE REASONS, THE COURT UNANIMOUSLY
1. Dismisses the Government’s preliminary objection; 2. Holds that there has been a violation of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention; 3. Holds that the respondent State is to pay the applicant, within three months, 5,000 (five thousand) Swiss Francs for non-pecuniary damage, and 6,000 (six thousand) Swiss Francs in respect of legal costs; 4. Holds that simple interest at an annual rate of 5% shall be payable from the expiry of the above-mentioned three months until settlement; 5. Dismisses the remainder of the applicant’s claim for just satisfaction. Done in English, then sent as a certified copy on 28 March 2000, according to Rule 77 §§ 2 and 3 of the Rules of Court. Erik Fribergh Marc Fischbach Registrar President