- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 16 iunie 2020
- Stat pârât
- MDA
- Articole
- Articolul 6
- Concluzia
- Încălcare — Articolul 6
Covalenco împotriva Republicii Moldova
Traducere în română Auto
SEGUNDA SECȚIUNE CAUZĂ DE COVALENCO c. REPUBLICA MOLDOVA (depunerea nr. 72164/14) HOTĂRÂREA Art. 6 § 1 (civilă) • Audierea corectă • Hotărârea proaspătă a Tribunalului Suprem • Nu există o audiere orală în ciuda disputelor de fapt și credibilitate • Contra-argument decisiv lăsat fără răspuns • Credința Curții Supreme proprie motu pentru un nou motiv nu argumentat de părți și nu o chestiune de litigiu • Procesul incorect STRASBOURG 16 iunie 2020 FINAL 16/09/2020 Prezenta hotărâre a devenit finală în temeiul articolului 44 § 2 din Convenție. Acesta poate fi supusă revizuirii editoriale.
În cazul Covalenco c. Republica Moldova, Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (A doua secțiune), ședința în calitate de Camera compusă din: Jon Fridrik Kjølbro, Președintele, Valeriu Grițco, Egidijus Kūris, Ivana Jelić, Arnfinn Bårdsen, Darian Pavli, Saadet Yüksel, judecători și Stanley Naismith, grefierul secțiunii, având în vedere: cererea (n. 72164/14) împotriva Republicii Moldova a depus Curtea în temeiul articolului 34 din Convenția pentru protecția drepturilor omului și a libertăților fundamentale („Convenția”) de către un național moldovenesc, dl Dumitru Covalenco („reclamantul”), la 28 octombrie 2014; hotărârea de a anunța cererea guvernului moldovenesc („ Guvernul”); Observațiile părților; după deliberarea în particular la 19 mai 2020, pronunță următoarea hotărâre, adoptată la data respectivă: INTRODUCȚIE Cauza se referă la anularea de către Curtea Supremă a două hotărâri în favoarea reclamantului care a fost adoptată în cadrul procedurii civile de două instanțe inferiore.
Examinarea recursului asupra punctelor de drept de către Curtea Supremă de Justiție a avut loc fără participarea părților și a unor argumente complet noi care nu erau o chestiune de dezbatere între părți în fața instanțelor inferiore a servit de bază pentru inversarea. Reclamantul s-a născut în 1983 și trăiește în Chișinău. El a fost reprezentat de dl G. Ionaș, un avocat practicant în Chișinău. Guvernul a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dl O. Rotari. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. La 13 iulie 2009, soția reclamantului conducea mașina și a fost implicată într-un accident de mașină. Ca urmare a accidentului, mașina a fost grav afectată.
În aceeași dată, reclamantul a contactat compania sa de asigurare și l-a informat despre accident. Din materialele dosarului rezultă că reclamantul și-a declarat soția ca conducător autorizat al mașinii în scopul asigurării. Reclamantul a scris mai multe scrisori societății de asigurare care solicită să fie plătită indemnizația de asigurare, dar în lipsă. De asemenea, el a depus numeroase plângeri la organismele de reglementare ale statului în domeniul asigurărilor, dar fără rezultate, deoarece societatea de asigurare nu a răspuns la niciuna dintre scrisorile. În schimb, compania de asigurare a depus plângeri penale împotriva reclamantului, susținând că intenționează să-l frânteze. Ca urmare a acestor plângeri, s-a efectuat o anchetă penală, în care, în 2012, reprezentantul companiei de asigurări a admis, printre altele, că mașina deteriorată a reclamantului a fost păstrată de compania de asigurări și că soția reclamantului a fost un conducător autorizat al mașinii.
Aceste informații nu au fost puse la dispoziția reclamantului până la expirarea procedurii civile dintre el și societatea de asigurări. Din materialele cazului rezultă că ancheta penală nu a condus la acuzarea reclamantului și că rezultatul nu este cunoscut de Curte. La 12 iulie 2012, reclamantul a depus o acțiune civilă împotriva societății de asigurări și a solicitat plata indemnității de asigurări și a dobânzilor nejustificate. Într-o hotărâre din 2 aprilie 2013 Curtea de District Botanica a constatat că o proporție de peste 75% din masina reclamantului a fost distrusă ca urmare a accidentului și că nu a putut fi reparată. Prin urmare, a ordonat societății de asigurări să plătească 20.858 euro (EUR) reclamantului, o sumă care constă în valoarea autovehiculului, mai puțin 10% plus dobânzile implicite.
Compania de asigurări a apelat împotriva hotărârii de mai sus și a susținut că, deși soția reclamantului era un conducător autorizat al mașinii asigurate, nu a fost ea, ci reclamantul care conducea masina la momentul accidentului. Întrucât reclamantul nu și-a trecut testul de respirație imediat după accident, societatea de asigurări a avut dreptul să nu plătească indemnizația de asigurare. În plus, societatea de asigurări a susținut că, pentru a ordona plata valorii depline a mașinii, instanța de primă instanță nu a reușit să pronunțe pe cine să păstreze vehiculul deteriorat. 10. La 26 noiembrie 2013, Curtea de Apel Chișinău a susținut parțial recursul depus de societatea de asigurări și a ordonat ca vehiculul deteriorat să fie păstrat de societatea de asigurări.
Curtea de Apel a respins argumentul companiei de asigurări că reclamantul conducea mașina. În acest sens, Curtea a făcut trimitere la o decizie judiciară finală în cadrul procedurii paralele în care constatarea ofițerului de poliție în sensul că soția reclamantului conducea mașina în momentul accidentului a fost contestată fără succes. 11. Societatea de asigurări a depus un recurs asupra punctelor de drept în care a susținut argumente care nu au fost ridicate anterior. În primul rând, a susținut că reclamantul a refuzat să prezinte mașina deteriorată și că nici măcar nu a văzut poze ale vehiculului. În al doilea rând, compania de asigurări a pus la îndoială modul în care instanța a determinat faptul că proporția autovehiculului deteriorat a fost de peste 75% în absența unui raport de experți.
12. În declarațiile sale scrise în răspuns la cererea de mai sus, reclamantul a susținut că imediat după accident au fost reprezentanții societății de asigurări care au luat mașina deteriorată de la secția de poliție și l-au păstrat. Reclamantul a susținut că societatea de asigurări a fost necorespunzătoare atunci când a declarat că nu a văzut mașina deteriorată și că acest lucru ar putea fi dovedit prin faptul că nu a invocat acest argument nici în timpul procedurii de la instanța de primă instanță, nici în apelul său împotriva hotărârii instanței de primă instanță. În plus, reclamantul a susținut că societatea de asigurări a atașat un raport al expertului pe care l-a solicitat în ceea ce privește starea tehnică a autovehiculului deteriorat la cererea de recurs.
Acest fapt a dovedit că societatea de asigurări a avut acces la mașină și a știut unde este. 13. La 30 aprilie 2014, Curtea Supremă de Justiție a examinat cazul fără participarea părților. Acesta a susținut recursul asupra punctelor de drept, a anulat hotărârile instanțelor de jos și a adoptat o nouă hotărâre cu privire la fondul cauzei, respingând acțiunea reclamantului împotriva companiei de asigurări. Curtea Supremă a constatat, în primul rând, că polița de asigurare eliberată de societatea de asigurări nu conține numele soției solicitantei. În al doilea rând, nu a existat nici o dovadă în dosarul că reclamantul a prezentat companiei de asigurări cu mașina deteriorată sau cu orice document care confirmă daunele.
Procedura juridică civilă se desfășoară în conformitate cu principiile procedurii adversare și egalității procedurale a participanților... (3) Curtea care examinează un caz își menține imparțialitatea și obiectivitatea și creează condiții pentru ca părțile la procedura să își poată exercita drepturile și pentru examinarea obiectivă a circumstanțelor cazului... art. 444. Examinarea recursului asupra punctelor de drept Un recurs asupra punctelor de drept ar trebui examinat fără participarea părților. Grupul de cinci judecători poate decide să invite unele dintre părți sau reprezentanții acestora pentru a decide problemele de legalitate invocate în recursul privind punctele de aplicare a dreptului.” HOTĂRÂREA ALEGATĂ ÎNCĂLCAREA ARTICOLULUI 6 § 1 DE CONVENȚIE 15. Reclamantul s-a plâns că procedura în fața Curții Supreme nu a fost corectă.
El s-a bazat pe art. 6 § 1 din Convenție, care spune după cum urmează: „În determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor sale civile ... fiecare are dreptul la o audiere corectă și publică ... de [a] ... tribunal ...” Admisibilitate 16. Curtea remarcă că cererea nu este, vădit nefondată în sensul articolului 35 litera (a) din Convenție, subliniază, în continuare, că nu este inadmisibilă din alte motive. Prin urmare, aceasta trebuie declarată admisibilă. că procedurile în fața Curții Supreme au fost nedreptate deoarece această instanță nu a examinat argumentele din argumentele sale scrise și nu a invitat părțile să participe la procedură. În opinia reclamantului, hotărârea Curții Supreme a fost nejustificată și arbitrară, deoarece se bazează numai pe declarațiile false formulate de societatea de asigurare.
18. Guvernul a susținut că, în cadrul examinării recursului privind punctele de drept, Curtea Supremă de Justiție a constatat că atât cele de la prima și cele de la a doua instanță au examinat cazul în mod incorect. Astfel, după administrarea probelor colectate de instanțele de jos, Curtea Supremă a ajuns la concluzia că reclamantul nu a furnizat societății de asigurare acces la vehiculul deteriorat sau cu orice document privind daunele cauzate acestuia ca urmare a accidentului. În plus, Curtea Supremă a constatat că polița de asigurare nu conține numele soției reclamantului. Evaluarea Curții (a) Principiile generale 19. Curtea reiterează că dreptul la o audiere orală nu este doar legat de întrebarea dacă acțiunea implică examinarea martorilor care își vor da dovezi orale.
Este, de asemenea, important ca litigianții să aibă posibilitatea de a-și exprima cazul oral în fața instanțelor interne (a se vedea Göç v. Turcia [GC], nr. 36590/97, § 48, CEDH 2002-V, și Ramos Nunes de Carvalho e Sá c. Portugalia [GC], nos.
55391/13 și altele 2, § 187, 6 noiembrie 2018). Astfel, dreptul la o audiere orală este un element care susține egalitatea de arme între părțile la procedura (a se vedea mutatis mutandis Margaretić c. Croația , nr. 16115/13, §§ 127-28, 5 iunie 2014). 20. Curtea reiterează, de asemenea, că, în conformitate cu jurisprudența sa stabilită, în cadrul unei proceduri în fața unei instanțe de primă instanță și numai în fața unei „audieri publice” în sensul articolului 6 1 implică un drept la o „audiere orală” cu excepția cazului în care există circumstanțe excepționale care justifică acordarea unei astfel de audieri (a se vedea Göç citat mai sus, § 47). 21. Curtea a identificat următoarele situații în care circumstanțele excepționale menționate mai sus pot justifica dispunerea unei audieri: (a) în cazul în care nu există probleme de credibilitate sau fapte contestate care necesită o audiere și instanța poate decide în mod echitabil și rezonabil cazul pe baza dosarului (a se vedea Döry c. Suedia , nr. 28394/95, § 37, 12 noiembrie 2002, și Saccoccia v. Austria , nr. 69917/01, § 73, 18 decembrie 2008); (b) în cazurile care ridică probleme strict juridice de domeniu limitat (a se vedea Allan Jacobsson c. Suedia (n. 2) , 19 februarie 1998, § 49, Raporturi 1998 I, și Mehmet Emin Șimșek c. Turcia , nr. 5488/05, §§ 29-31, 28 februarie 2012),
sau puncte de drept care nu au o complexitate deosebită (a se vedea Varela Assalino c. Portugal (dec.), nr. 64336/01, 25 aprilie 2002, și Speil v. Austria (dec.), nr. 42057/98, 5 septembrie 2002); (c) în cazul în care cazul se referă la chestiuni foarte tehnice. De exemplu, Curtea a luat în considerare natura tehnică a litigiilor privind prestațiile de securitate socială, care ar putea fi mai bine tratate în scris decât în argumente orale. În mai multe ocazii, autoritățile naționale au dreptul, având în vedere cerințele eficienței și economiei, să renunțe la o audiere, deoarece în mod sistematic audițiile pot constitui un obstacol pentru diligența specifică necesară în cazurile de securitate socială (a se vedea Schuler-Zgraggen , § 58, și Döry § 41, ambele menționate mai sus).
22. În schimb, Curtea a constatat că este necesară efectuarea unei audieri, de exemplu: (a) în cazul în care este necesar să se evalueze dacă faptele au fost stabilite corect de către autoritățile (a se vedea Malhous c. Republica Cehă [GC], nr. 33071/96, § 60, 12 iulie 2001); (b) în cazul în care circumstanțele impun instanței să își formeze propria impresie a litiganților prin acordarea lor dreptul de a explica situația lor personală, în numele lor sau prin intermediul unui reprezentant (a se vedea Göç , citat mai sus § 51; Miller , citat mai sus § în amendă ; și Andersson v. Suedia , nr. 17202/04 , § 57, 7 decembrie 2010); (c) în cazul în care instanța trebuie să obțină clarificări la anumite puncte, printre altele prin intermediul unei audieri (a se vedea Fredin v. Suedia (n. 2), 23 februarie 1994, § 22, Seria A nr. 283-A, și Lundevall v. Suedia , n. 38629/97, § 39, 12 noiembrie 2002). 23. Curtea reiterează, de asemenea, că rezultă din jurisprudența bine stabilită a Curții că, chiar dacă art. 6 nu prevede niciun drept de recurs, aceasta impune că, în cazul în care dreptul intern prevede un recurs, articolul,
6 intră în joc chiar în aceste proceduri de recurs în măsura în care aceste proceduri pot fi considerate în mod rezonabil implicarea unei „determinări” a unei acuzații penale împotriva reclamantului sau a „drepturilor sau obligațiilor civile” (a se vedea Reichman c. Franța , nr. 50147/11 , § 29, 12 iulie 2016; Maresti c. Croația , nr. 55759/07 , § 33, 25 iunie 2009; Delcourt c. Belgia , nr. 2689/65, § 25, 17 ianuarie 1970). De asemenea, Curtea subliniază că modalitatea de aplicare a articolului 6 § 1 la procedurile după recurs, inclusiv la instanțele supreme, depinde de caracteristicile speciale ale procedurii implicate; trebuie luată în considerare întregul sistem de procedură în ordinea juridică internă și rolul instanței în cauză (a se vedea Júlíus δór Sigurþórsson c. Islanda , nr. 38797/17, 16 iulie 2019, § 32; Styrmir δór Bragason c. Islanda , nr. 36292/14, § 63, 16 iulie 2019; Lazu c. Republica Moldova , nr. 46182/08, § 33, 5 iulie 2016; Hermi c. Italia [GC], nr. 18114/02, § 60, 18 octombrie 2006; Sigurțórsson Arnarsson c. Islanda , nr. 44671/98, § 30, 15 iulie 2003; Botten c. Norvegia , nr. 16206/90, § 39, 19 februarie 1996) 24. Curtea reamintește, de asemenea, că art. 6 cere instanțelor interne să stabilească în mod adecvat motivele pe care se bazează deciziile lor.
Fără a impune un răspuns detaliat la fiecare argument prezentat de un reclamant, această obligație presupune totuși că o parte la proceduri judiciare poate aștepta un răspuns specific și expres la acele argumente care sunt decisive pentru rezultatul procedurii în cauză (a se vedea, printre multe alte autorități, Ruiz Torija c. Spania , 9 decembrie 1994, §§ 29-30, Serie A nr. 303-A). (b) În ceea ce privește faptele prezentului caz, Curtea constată, în primul rând, că Curtea Supremă de Justiție a anulat hotărârile instanțelor inferiore și nu a făcut nicio trimitere la concluziile acestor instanțe în propria sa hotărâre. Acesta a examinat cazul de la început și a înlocuit evaluarea faptelor și a legii făcute de instanțele inferioare cu propriul său, acționând ca și cum cazul nu ar fi fost niciodată examinat de aceste instanțe.
În astfel de circumstanțe, este sigur să se concluzioneze că, în ciuda faptului că este o instanță de ultimă instanță și examinarea unui recurs asupra punctelor de drept, în realitate, Curtea Supremă a acționat ca instanță de primă instanță. Faptul că audierile au fost desfășurate în fața instanțelor inferioare nu are nicio relevanță și că reclamantul nu poate fi învinovățit pentru faptul că nu a solicitat o audiere orală în fața Curții Supreme, deoarece el nu a fost în măsură să cunoască domeniul de aplicare al examinării care urmează să fie efectuat de aceasta. Curtea constată, de asemenea, că părțile contestate în fața Curții Supreme pentru prima dată probleme de fapt, cum ar fi locul în care autovehiculul deteriorat și accesul companiei de asigurări la aceasta.
Având în vedere argumentele contradictorii cu privire la situația de fapt, credibilitatea părților a fost, de asemenea, o chestiune care trebuie determinată de Curtea Supremă. Prin urmare, Curtea Supremă nu a putut, ca o chestiune de judecată echitabilă, să dispună de o audiere publică înainte de a adopta hotărârea sa care reprezintă hotărârea finală în materie de litigiu (a se vedea punctele 19-22 de mai sus). 26. Curtea remarcă în continuare că Curtea Supremă de Justiție a acceptat argumentul societății de asigurări că nu avea acces la mașina deteriorată. În acest sens, Curtea Supremă nu a acordat atenție contraargumentului reclamantului în ceea ce privește faptul că mașina a fost în posesia acesteia și că un expert desemnat de compania de asigurări a efectuat o evaluare a mașinii.
În opinia Curții, contraargumentul reclamantului a fost unul important și, dacă este acceptat, ar fi putut duce la un rezultat diferit al cauzei. În ciuda acestui lucru, Curtea Supremă de Justiție a rămas tăcută în legătură cu aceasta.
În absența unui răspuns specific și expres, este imposibil să se asigure dacă această instanță a neglijat pur și simplu să se ocupe de depunerea reclamantului de mai sus sau dacă a avut intenția de a-l respinge și, în cazul în care aceasta a fost intenția sa, ce motive au fost astfel de hotărâre (a se vedea Ruiz Torija , citată mai sus § 30; Hiro Balani c. Spania , 9 decembrie 1994, § 28, Serie A nr. 303 B; și Lebedinschi c. Republica Moldova , nr. 41971/11 , § 35, 16 iunie 2015). 27. În cele din urmă, Curtea nu poate să nu observe că în respingerea acțiunii reclamantului împotriva companiei de asigurări, Curtea Supremă a invocat în hotărârea sa proprie motu pentru un nou motiv care nu a fost argumentat de către părți și care nu a fost o problemă de litigiu.
De fapt, aceasta a susținut că poliția de asigurare nu a acoperit conducerea soției reclamantului autovehicul asigurat. Nu numai că societatea de asigurare nu s-a bazat niciodată pe acest argument, ci a recunoscut mai devreme în procedura că soția reclamantului a fost acoperită de polița de asigurare (a se vedea punctul 9 mai sus). 28. Având în vedere considerentele de mai sus, Curtea concluzionează că acțiunea nu a fost corectă și că, în consecință, s-a constatat o încălcare a articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție. Reclamantul s-a plângut în continuare de încălcarea drepturilor sale garantate de art. 13 luate coroborat cu art. 6 și cu art. 6 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție.
Având în vedere faptele cazului, observațiile părților și concluziile sale în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție, Curtea consideră că nu este necesar să se examineze nici admisibilitatea, nici meritul plângerilor în temeiul articolului 13 și al articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 (a se vedea Eze c. România , nr. 80529/13, § 65, 21 iunie 2016, și Michał Korgul c. Polonia , nr. 36140/11 , § 59, 21 martie 2017). APLICAREA ARTICOLULUI 41 AL CONVENȚIEI 30. art. 41 din Convenție prevede: „Dacă Curtea constată că a existat o încălcare a Convenției sau a Protocolelor sale și dacă legea internă a Înaltei Parte contractante în cauză permite numai repararea parțială, Curtea permite, dacă este necesar, satisfacție echitabilă părții vătămate.” Reclamantul a solicitat 22,128 euro (EUR) în ceea ce privește prejudicii materiale.
El a susținut că această sumă reprezintă suma acordată lui în primele două cazuri plus dobânzile implicite. Reclamantul a solicitat, de asemenea, 6.000 EUR pentru prejudicii morale. 32. Guvernul a contestat și a susținut că sumele solicitate sunt excesive. 33. Curtea nu poate specula dacă reclamantul ar fi suferit vreo prejudicii materiale în cazul în care nu s-a încălcat art. 6 § 1; de aceea respinge această afirmație.În acest sens, Curtea constată că art. 449 litera (h) din Codul de Procedură Civilă prevede eventuala revizuire a unei hotărâri în care Curtea a constatat o încălcare a drepturilor și libertăților fundamentale. 34. Pe de altă parte, Curtea consideră că reclamantul trebuie să fi fost cauzat o anumită cantitate de stres și frustrare ca urmare a încălcării dreptului său la un proces echitabil.
Evaluarea acesteia într-un mod echitabil, acordă reclamantului 3,500 EUR pentru prejudicii morale. Costuri și cheltuieli 35. Reclamantul a solicitat, de asemenea, 1 500 EUR pentru costurile și cheltuielile suportate în fața Curții. 36. Guvernul a contestat și a susținut că suma reclamată a fost excesivă. 37. În ceea ce privește circumstanțele cauzei și documentele prezentate de reclamant, Curtea consideră că este rezonabil atribuirea reclamantului întregii sume solicitate pentru costuri și cheltuieli. Curtea consideră oportună faptul că rata dobânzii implicite ar trebui să se bazeze pe rata marginală de creditare a Băncii Centrale Europene, la care ar trebui adăugate trei puncte procentuale.
Pentru aceste motive, TRIBUNALUL, UNANIMOUS, declară plângerea în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 admisibil; susține că a existat o încălcare a articolului 6 § 1 din convenție; că nu este necesar să se examineze admisibilitatea sau fondul plângerilor în temeiul articolului 13 și al articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție; deține (a) că Statul pârât trebuie să plătească reclamantului, în termen de trei luni de la data în care hotărârea devine finală în conformitate cu art. 44 § 2 din Convenție, următoarele sume care urmează să fie convertită în moneda statului interesat la rata aplicabilă la data decontare: (i) 3,500 EUR (3 mii cinci sute de euro), plus orice impozit care poate fi taxabil, în ceea ce privește prejudiciile morale; (ii) 1,500 EUR (1 mii cinci sute de euro), plus orice impozit care poate fi imputabil reclamantului, în ceea ce privește costurile și cheltuielile; (b) că de la expirarea celor trei luni menționate mai sus până la decontarea dobânzilor simple se plătesc pe sumele de mai sus la o rată egală cu rata marginală de creditare a Băncii Centrale Europene în timpul perioadei de incumprire plus trei puncte procentuale; respinge restul cererii reclamantului pentru o justă satisfacție.
Adoptat în limba engleză și notificat în scris la 16 iunie 2020, în conformitate cu articolele 2 și 3 din Regulamentul de procedură. Stanley Naismith Jon Fridrik Kjølbro Președintele grefierului
SECOND SECTION
CASE OF COVALENCO v. THE REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA (Application no. 72164/14) JUDGMENT Art 6 § 1 (civil) • Fair hearing • Fresh judgment on the merits by the Supreme Court • No oral hearing despite factual and credibility disputes • Decisive counter-argument left unanswered • Supreme Court’s reliance proprio motu on a new reason not argued by the parties and not a matter of dispute • Unfair trial STRASBOURG 16 June 2020 FINAL 16/09/2020 This judgment has become final under Article 44 § 2 of the Convention. It may be subject to editorial revision.
In the case of Covalenco v. the Republic of Moldova, The European Court of Human Rights (Second Section), sitting as a Chamber composed of: Jon Fridrik Kjølbro, President, Valeriu Grițco, Egidijus Kūris, Ivana Jelić, Arnfinn Bårdsen, Darian Pavli, Saadet Yüksel, judges, and Stanley Naismith, Section Registrar, Having regard to: the application (no. 72164/14) against the Republic of Moldova lodged with the Court under Article 34 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (“the Convention”) by a Moldovan national, Mr Dumitru Covalenco (“the applicant”), on 28 October 2014; the decision to give notice of the application to the Moldovan Government (“the Government”); the parties’ observations; Having deliberated in private on 19 May 2020, Delivers the following judgment, which was adopted on that date: INTRODUCTION The case concerns the reversal by the Supreme Court of two judgments in favour of the applicant which were adopted in civil proceedings by two inferior courts.
The examination of the appeal on points of law by the Supreme Court of Justice took place without the participation of the parties and completely new arguments which were not a matter of debate between the parties before the lower courts served as a basis for the reversal. THE FACTS
The applicant was born in 1983 and lives in Chișinău. He was represented by Mr G. Ionaș, a lawyer practising in Chișinău.
The Government were represented by their Agent, Mr O. Rotari.
The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows.
On 13 July 2009 the applicant’s wife was driving his car and was involved in a car accident. As a result of the accident the car was severely damaged.
On the same date the applicant contacted his insurance company and informed it about the accident. It appears from the materials of the case file that the applicant had declared his wife as an authorised driver of the car for the purposes of insurance.
The applicant wrote many letters to the insurance company requesting to be paid the insurance indemnity, but to no avail. He also lodged numerous complaints with State regulatory bodies in the field of insurance but without any results because the insurance company did not reply to any of the letters. Instead, the insurance company lodged criminal complaints against the applicant, alleging that he intended to defraud it. As a result of such complaints a criminal investigation was conducted, in the course of which, in 2012, the representative of the insurance company admitted inter alia that the applicant’s damaged car was being kept by the insurance company and that the applicant’s wife was an authorised driver of the car. That information was not made available to the applicant until after the civil proceedings between him and the insurance company were over. It appears from the materials of the case file that the criminal investigation did not lead to the applicant’s indictment and the outcome is not known to the Court.
On 12 July 2012 the applicant lodged a civil action against the insurance company and claimed the payment of the insurance indemnity and default interest.
In a judgment of 2 April 2013 the Botanica District Court found that a proportion of more than 75% of the applicant’s car had been destroyed as a result of the accident and that it could not be repaired. Therefore, it ordered the insurance company to pay 20,858 euros (EUR) to the applicant, a sum consisting of the value of the car, less the 10% excess plus the default interest.
The insurance company appealed against the above judgment and argued that while the applicant’s wife was an authorised driver of the insured car, it was not her but the applicant who had been driving the car at the moment of the accident. Since the applicant had not passed his breath test immediately after the accident, the insurance company was entitled not to pay the insurance indemnity. Moreover, the insurance company argued that in ordering the payment of the full value of the car, the first instance court had failed to rule on who was to keep the damaged vehicle.
On 26 November 2013 the Chișinău Court of Appeal partly upheld the appeal lodged by the insurance company and ordered that the damaged vehicle be kept by the insurance company. The Court of Appeal dismissed the insurance company’s argument that the applicant had been driving the car. In so doing, the court made reference to a final judicial decision in parallel proceedings in which the police officer’s finding to the effect that the applicant’s wife had been driving the car at the moment of the accident was unsuccessfully contested.
The insurance company lodged an appeal on points of law in which it raised arguments which had not been raised previously. Firstly, it argued that the applicant had refused to present the damaged car and that it had not even seen pictures of the vehicle. Secondly, the insurance company questioned the manner in which the courts had determined the fact that the proportion of the car that had been damaged was more than 75% in the absence of any expert report.
In his written submissions in reply to the above application the applicant argued that immediately after the accident it had been the representatives of the insurance company that had taken the damaged car from the police station and kept it. The applicant argued that the insurance company was being dishonest when stating that it had not seen the damaged car and that that could be proved by the fact that it had never raised that argument either during the proceedings before the first instance court or in its appeal against the judgment of the first instance court. Moreover, the applicant argued that the insurance company had attached an expert’s report which it had requested concerning the technical state of the damaged car to its appeal application. That fact proved that the insurance company had access to the car and knew its whereabouts.
On 30 April 2014 the Supreme Court of Justice examined the case without the participation of the parties. It upheld the appeal on points of law, quashed the judgments of the lower courts and adopted a new judgment on the merits of the case, dismissing the applicant’s action against the insurance company. The Supreme Court found in the first place that the insurance policy issued by the insurance company did not contain the name of the applicant’s wife. Secondly, there was no evidence in the case file that the applicant had presented the insurance company with the damaged car or any documents confirming the damage.
RELEVANT LEGAL FRAMEWORK
14. The relevant provisions of the Code of Civil Procedure as in force at the material time read as follows: “ Article 26. Adversarial character and procedural equality of participants (1) Civil legal proceedings shall be conducted in accordance with the principles of adversarial procedure and procedural equality of participants… (3) The court which examines a case shall maintain its impartiality and objectivity and shall create conditions for the parties to the proceedings to be able exercise their rights and for the objective examination of the circumstances of the case... Article 444. The examination of the appeal on points of law An appeal on points of law should be examined without the participation of the parties.
The panel of five judges may decide to invite some of the parties or their representatives in order to decide on problems of lawfulness invoked in the appeal on points of law application.” THE LAW
ALLEGED VIOLATION OF ARTICLE 6 § 1 OF THE CONVENTION
15. The applicant complained that the proceedings before the Supreme Court had not been fair. He relied on Article 6 § 1 of the Convention, which reads as follows: “In the determination of his civil rights and obligations ... everyone is entitled to a fair and public hearing ... by [a] ... tribunal ...” Admissibility
The Court notes that the application is not manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 (a) of the Convention. It further notes that it is not inadmissible on any other grounds. It must therefore be declared admissible. Merits The parties’ submissions
The applicant argued inter alia that the proceedings before the Supreme Court had been unfair because that court had not examined the arguments from his written submissions and had not invited the parties to participate in the proceedings. In the applicant’s view, the decision of the Supreme Court was unreasoned and arbitrary because it relied solely on the false declarations made by the insurance company.
The Government submitted that during the examination of the appeal on points of law, the Supreme Court of Law had found that both the first and the second instance courts had incorrectly examined the case. Thus, after administering the evidence gathered by the lower courts, the Supreme Court had come to the conclusion that the applicant had not provided the insurance company with access to the damaged vehicle or with any documents concerning the damages caused to it as a result of the accident. Moreover, the Supreme Court had found that the insurance policy did not contain the name of the applicant’s wife. The Court’s assessment (a) General principles
The Court reiterates that the right to an oral hearing is not only linked to the question whether the proceedings involve the examination of witnesses who will give their evidence orally. It is also important for litigants to have the opportunity to state their case orally before the domestic courts (see Göç v. Turkey [GC], no. 36590/97, § 48, ECHR 2002-V, and Ramos Nunes de Carvalho e Sá v. Portugal [GC], nos. 55391/13 and 2 others, § 187, 6 November 2018). Thus, the right to an oral hearing is one element underpinning the overall equality of arms between the parties to the proceedings (see, mutatis mutandis , Margaretić v. Croatia , no. 16115/13, §§ 127-28, 5 June 2014).
The Court also reiterates that, according to its established case-law, in proceedings before a court of first and only instance the right to a “public hearing” within the meaning of Article 6 § 1 entails an entitlement to an “oral hearing” unless there are exceptional circumstances that justify dispensing with such a hearing (see Göç , cited above, § 47).
The Court has identified the following situations in which the above ‑ mentioned exceptional circumstances may justify dispensing with a hearing: (a) where there are no issues of credibility or contested facts which necessitate a hearing and the courts may fairly and reasonably decide the case on the basis of the case file (see Döry v. Sweden , no. 28394/95, § 37, 12 November 2002, and Saccoccia v. Austria , no. 69917/01, § 73, 18 December 2008); (b) in cases raising purely legal issues of limited scope (see Allan Jacobsson v. Sweden (no. 2) , 19 February 1998, § 49, Reports 1998 ‑ I, and Mehmet Emin Șimșek v. Turkey , no. 5488/05, §§ 29-31, 28 February 2012), or points of law of no particular complexity (see Varela Assalino v. Portugal (dec.), no. 64336/01, 25 April 2002, and Speil v. Austria (dec.), no. 42057/98, 5 September 2002); (c) where the case concerns highly technical issues. For instance, the Court has taken into consideration the technical nature of disputes concerning social-security benefits, which may be better dealt with in writing than in oral argument. It has held on several occasions that in this sphere the national authorities are entitled, having regard to the demands of efficiency and economy, to dispense with a hearing, as systematically holding hearings may be an obstacle to the particular diligence required in social-security cases (see Schuler-Zgraggen , § 58, and Döry , § 41, both cited above).
By contrast, the Court has found the holding of a hearing to be necessary, for example: (a) where there is a need to assess whether the facts were correctly established by the authorities (see Malhous v. the Czech Republic [GC], no. 33071/96, § 60, 12 July 2001); (b) where the circumstances require the court to form its own impression of litigants by affording them a right to explain their personal situation, on their own behalf or through a representative (see Göç , cited above, § 51; Miller , cited above, § 34 in fine ; and Andersson v. Sweden , no. 17202/04, § 57, 7 December 2010); (c) where the court needs to obtain clarification on certain points, inter alia by means of a hearing (see Fredin v. Sweden (no. 2) , 23 February 1994, § 22, Series A no. 283-A, and Lundevall v. Sweden , no. 38629/97, § 39, 12 November 2002).
The Court also reiterates that it stems from well-established case law from the Court that even though Article 6 does not prescribe any right of appeal, it requires that if domestic law provides for an appeal, Article 6 comes into play even in these appeal proceedings to the extent that these proceedings can reasonably be said to involve a “determination” of a criminal charge against the applicant or of his “civil rights or obligations” (see Reichman v. France , no. 50147/11, § 29, 12 July 2016; Maresti v. Croatia , no. 55759/07, § 33, 25 June 2009; Delcourt v. Belgium , no. 2689/65, § 25, 17 January 1970). Moreover, the Court also emphasises that the manner of application of Article 6 § 1 to proceedings after appeal, including to supreme courts, depends on the special features of the proceedings involved; account must be taken of the entirety of the procedural system in the domestic legal order and of the role of the particular court therein (see Júlíus Þór Sigurþórsson v. Iceland , no. 38797/17, 16 July 2019, § 32; Styrmir Þór Bragason v. Iceland , no. 36292/14, § 63, 16 July 2019; Lazu v. the Republic of Moldova , no. 46182/08, § 33, 5 July 2016; Hermi v. Italy [GC], no. 18114/02, § 60, 18 October 2006; Sigurþórsson Arnarsson v. Iceland , no. 44671/98, § 30, 15 July 2003; Botten v. Norway , no. 16206/90, § 39, 19 February 1996)”.
The Court further recalls that Article 6 requires the domestic courts to adequately state the reasons on which their decisions are based. Without requiring a detailed answer to every argument put forward by a complainant, this obligation nevertheless presupposes that a party to judicial proceedings can expect a specific and express reply to those submissions which are decisive for the outcome of the proceedings in question (see, among many other authorities, Ruiz Torija v. Spain , 9 December 1994, §§ 29-30, Series A no. 303-A). (b) Application of the above principles to the present case
Turning to the facts of the present case, the Court notes in the first place that the Supreme Court of Justice quashed the judgments of the lower courts and made no reference to those courts’ findings in its own judgment. It examined the case from the very beginning and replaced the assessment of facts and law made by the lower courts with its own, acting as if the case had never been examined by those courts. In such circumstances, it is safe to conclude that, despite being a court of last instance and examining an appeal on points of law, in reality the Supreme Court acted as a court of first instance. The fact that hearings were held before the lower courts is of no relevance and the applicant cannot be blamed for not requesting an oral hearing before the Supreme Court since he was not in a position to know the scope of the examination to be carried out by it. The Court further notes that the parties disputed before the Supreme Court for the first time factual issues such as the whereabouts of the damaged car and the insurance company’s access to it. In view of the conflicting submissions about the factual situation, the parties’ credibility was also an issue to be determined by the Supreme Court. Thus, the Supreme Court could not, as a matter of fair trial, dispense with a public hearing before adopting its judgment representing the final ruling on the matters of the dispute (see paragraphs 19-22 above).
The Court notes next that the Supreme Court of Justice accepted the insurance company’s argument that it had no access to the damaged car. In so doing the Supreme Court did not pay attention to the applicant’s counter-argument to the effect that the car was in the latter’s possession and that an expert appointed by the insurance company had carried out an assessment of the car. In the Court’s view the applicant’s counter-argument was an important one and if accepted, it could have led to a different outcome of the case. In spite of that, the Supreme Court of Justice remained silent about it. In the absence of a specific and express reply, it is impossible to ascertain whether that court simply neglected to deal with the above applicant’s submission or whether it intended to dismiss it and, if that was its intention, what the reasons were for so deciding (see Ruiz Torija , cited above, § 30; Hiro Balani v. Spain , 9 December 1994, § 28, Series A no. 303 ‑ B; and Lebedinschi v. the Republic of Moldova , no. 41971/11, § 35, 16 June 2015).
Finally, the Court cannot but observe that in dismissing the applicant’s action against the insurance company the Supreme Court relied in its judgment proprio motu on a new reason which had not been argued by the parties and which was not a matter of dispute. Namely, it held that the insurance policy did not cover the applicant’s wife’s driving the insured car. Not only had the insurance company never relied on that argument, but it admitted earlier in the proceedings that the applicant’s wife was covered by the insurance policy (see paragraph 9 above).
In the light of the foregoing considerations the Court comes to the conclusion that the proceedings were not fair and that, accordingly, there has been a violation of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention. ALLEGED VIOLATION OF ARTICLE 13 and ARTICLE 1 of protocol No. 1 to THE CONVENTION
The applicant further complained about a breach of his rights guaranteed by Article 13 taken in conjunction with Article 6 and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention. Having regard to the facts of the case, the submissions of the parties and its findings under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention, the Court considers that it is not necessary to examine either the admissibility or the merits of the complaints under Article 13 and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 (see Eze v. Romania , no. 80529/13, § 65, 21 June 2016, and Michał Korgul v. Poland , no. 36140/11, § 59, 21 March 2017).
APPLICATION OF ARTICLE
41 OF THE CONVENTION
30. Article 41 of the Convention provides: “If the Court finds that there has been a violation of the Convention or the Protocols thereto, and if the internal law of the High Contracting Party concerned allows only partial reparation to be made, the Court shall, if necessary, afford just satisfaction to the injured party.” Damage
The applicant claimed 22,128 euros (EUR) in respect of pecuniary damage. He claimed that this amount represented the sum awarded to him by the first two instances plus the default interest. The applicant also claimed EUR 6,000 for non-pecuniary damage.
The Government objected and argued that the amounts claimed were excessive.
The Court cannot speculate as to whether the applicant would have suffered any pecuniary damage had the breach of Article 6 § 1 not taken place; it therefore rejects that claim. In this connection, the Court notes that Article 449 (h) of the Code of Civil Procedure provides for the possible revision of a judgment where the Court has found a violation of fundamental rights and liberties.
On the other hand, the Court considers that the applicant must have been caused a certain amount of stress and frustration as a result of the breach of his right to a fair trial. Making its assessment on an equitable basis, it awards the applicant EUR 3,500 for non-pecuniary damage. Costs and expenses
The applicant also claimed EUR 1,500 for the costs and expenses incurred before the Court.
The Government objected and argued that the amount claimed was excessive.
Regard being had to the circumstances of the case and to the documents submitted by the applicant, the Court considers it reasonable to award the applicant the entire amount claimed for costs and expenses. Default interest
The Court considers it appropriate that the default interest rate should be based on the marginal lending rate of the European Central Bank, to which should be added three percentage points. FOR THESE REASONS, THE COURT, UNANIMOUSLY, Declares the complaint under Article 6 § 1 admissible; Holds that there has been a violation of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention; Holds that there is no need to examine the admissibility or the merits of the complaints under Article 13 and under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention; Holds , (a) that the respondent State is to pay the applicant, within three months from the date on which the judgment becomes final in accordance with Article 44 § 2 of the Convention, the following amounts , to be converted into the currency of the respondent State at the rate applicable at the date of settlement: (i) EUR 3,500 (three thousand five hundred euros), plus any tax that may be chargeable, in respect of non-pecuniary damage; (ii) EUR 1,500 (one thousand five hundred euros), plus any tax that may be chargeable to the applicant, in respect of costs and expenses; (b) that from the expiry of the above-mentioned three months until settlement simple interest shall be payable on the above amounts at a rate equal to the marginal lending rate of the European Central Bank during the default period plus three percentage points; Dismisses the remainder of the applicant’s claim for just satisfaction. Done in English, and notified in writing on 16 June 2020, pursuant to Rule 77 §§ 2 and 3 of the Rules of Court. Stanley Naismith Jon Fridrik Kjølbro Registrar President