- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 3 februarie 2000
- Stat pârât
- FIN
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Gontjarow împotriva Finlandei
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE PRIVIND ADMINISIBILitatea cererii nr. 32558/96 de Boris GONTJAROW împotriva Finlandiei Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune) care stă la 3 februarie 2000 în calitate de Cameră compusă din G. Ress, Președinte, M. Pellonpää, A. Pastor Ridruejo, I. Cabral Barreto, V. Butkevych, J. Hedigan, dna S. Botoucharova, judecători și V. Berger, grefierul secțiunii având în vedere art. 34 din Convenția pentru protecția drepturilor omului și a libertăților fundamentale; având în vedere cererea introdusă la 5 iunie 1996 de Boris Gontjarow împotriva Finlandei și înregistrată la 7 august 1996 în dosarul nr. 32558/96; având în vedere raportul prevăzut la art. 49 din Regulamentul Curții; hotărând; hotărîți după cum urmează: Reclamanții sunt naționali finlandezi născuți în 1915. Rezide la Lieto.
El este reprezentat în fața Curții de către dl Kai Kaituri, avocat la Paattinen. Faptele cazului, astfel cum a fost prezentat de solicitant, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. În 1991, reclamantul a semnat anumite contracte de muncă în numele unui grup de companii. În deciziile din 14 octombrie 1992, societatea relevantă de asigurări de pensii a constatat că, deoarece societățile solicitante nu au fost înregistrate drept persoane juridice, reclamantul însuși a trebuit să fie considerat angajator. Prin urmare, reclamantul a fost obligat să plătească peste FIM 114.000 (aproximativ aceeași în FF) în contribuțiile angajatorului. Potrivit anunțului atașat, un recurs ar trebui să fie semnat de recurente însuși sau de orice alt autor.
În cazul în care recursul nu a fost semnat de recurente, acesta ar trebui să includă o putere de abatere și să indice profesia și adresa reprezentantului. Reclamantul a contestat deciziile societății de asigurări de pensii în apeluri la Consiliul de Pensiune (eläkelautakunta, pensionsnämnden ). Apelurile au fost semnate de reclamantul însuși, dar au indicat că dl Kaituri este autorul lor. În hotărârile din 17 octombrie 1994, Consiliul de Pensiune a refuzat apelurile reclamantului. Deciziile au fost trimise la adresa reclamantului prin poștă periodică la 26 octombrie 1994. Reclamantul a primit decizia la 5 decembrie 1994 și la 16 decembrie 1994 a apelat la Tribunalul de Asigurări (vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen La 21 decembrie 1995, Curtea de Asigurări a refuzat să examineze fondurile apelurilor reclamantului, având în vedere că au fost depuse din timp.
Curtea de Asigurări a remarcat că apelurile la Consiliul de Pensiune au fost semnate de către reclamant însuși și că el a fost „asistat” de dl Kaituri. În apelul său la Curtea de Asigurări, reclamantul a explicat că scrisorile Consiliului de pensii au sosit într-o cutie de poziție pe care el nu a golit în fiecare zi, printre altele din cauza handicapului său. După ce a fost invitat să explice în continuare acest punct, reclamantul a declarat Curții de Asigurări că în noiembrie 1994, el nu aștepta niciun mesaj care ar fi solicitat o acțiune. În ceea ce privește viitoarele hotărâri ale Consiliului de pensii, el aștepta să fie notificat în acest sens prin intermediul „reprezentantului” al său, dl Kaituri.
Tribunalul de Asigurare a constatat că reclamantul nu a prezentat suficiente dovezi, printre altele din afirmația sa că a primit hotărârile Consiliului de pensii numai la 5 decembrie 1994. Curtea de Asigurări a concluzionat, prin urmare, că reclamantul ar trebui considerat că le-a primit la 2 noiembrie 1994, în conformitate cu presupunerea declarată în anunțul de recurs relevant. Prin urmare, apelurile suplimentare ale reclamantului ar trebui să fi fost depuse cel târziu la 2 decembrie 1994. Reclamantul a solicitat Curtea Supremă pentru restabilirea termenului de apel împotriva hotărârilor Consiliului de Pensiune. El a căutat, în continuare, să anuleze decizia Curții de Asigurări (poustaa, undanröja ) și să solicite proceduri fără cost cu dl Kaituri ca reprezentant al său.
Dl Kaituri a fost indicat ca redactor al cererii pentru a avea restabilirea termenului. La 23 mai 1996, Curtea Supremă (korkein oikeus, högsta domstolen ) a refuzat cererea reclamantului de procedură fără costuri, menționând că, în temeiul legii, nu a fost posibilă o subvenție în acest sens în chestiuni dinaintea Curții de Asigurări. Curtea Supremă nu a constatat niciun motiv pentru anularea hotărârii Tribunalului de Asigurări sau pentru restabilirea procedurii. Reclamantul se plânge că procedura nu a îndeplinit cerințele articolului 6 din Convenție. Întrucât deciziile Comitetului de pensii i-au impus o obligație financiară semnificativă, nu ar fi trebuit să fi fost notificată în acest sens doar prin intermediul unei scrisori obișnuite.
Deciziile ar fi trebuit să fie trimise fie numai reprezentantului său, fie atât el, cât și reprezentantul său. Într-un caz care implică propria securitate socială a reclamantului și în cazul în care dl Kaituri a fost indicat în mod egal ca autorul apelului Comitetului de compensare a accidentelor (tapaturmalautakunta, Olycksfallsnämnden ) a notificat, în 1992, ultima decizie a acesteia. Reclamantul plânge în continuare, în temeiul articolului 6 din Convenție, că a fost refuzat o procedură lipsită de costuri, în ciuda importanței chestiunilor în cauză. Reclamantul s-a plâns în primul rând în conformitate cu art. 6 din Convenție că deciziile Consiliului de pensii ar fi trebuit să fie trimise fie reprezentantului său, fie atât la el, cât și la reprezentantul său, dar în orice caz nu numai la reclamantul însuși.
Curtea a examinat cererea în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție care, în măsura în care este relevant, citește după cum urmează: „În determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor sale civile ..., toată lumea are dreptul la o audiere corectă și publică înainte de (a) … tribunal ...“ art. 6 § 1 garantează câștigătorilor un drept efectiv de acces la instanțe pentru determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor lor civile. Regulamente privind termenele care trebuie respectate atunci când depune un recurs servesc fără îndoială scopul asigurării unei bune administrații a justiției.
Curtea constată că reclamantul nu a demonstrat că a atașat apelurile sale la Consiliul de Pensiune, astfel cum este necesar în anunțul de recurs relevant, o putere de atac care autorizează dl Kaituri să acționeze în calitate de reprezentant al său, și nu a demonstrat că a solicitat, din motivele mai târziu declarate Curții de Asigurări, că deciziile Consiliului de Pensiune sunt trimise dlui Kaituri în loc de el însuși. În aceste circumstanțe și observând examinarea detaliată a Curții de Asigurări a motivelor care se bazează pe apelurile întârziate ale reclamantului, Curtea nu poate constata că reclamantul a fost refuzat dreptul de acces la Curtea de Asigurări. Prin urmare, Curtea constată această parte a cererii vădit nefondat și o respinge în temeiul articolului 35 § 3 din Convenție.
Reclamantul s-a încălcat în conformitate cu art. 6 citat anterior din refuzul de a-i acorda o procedură fără costuri. Curtea constată că Convenția nu garantează asistența juridică în cadrul procedurilor care implică determinarea drepturilor civile ale cuiva. art. 6 § 1 din Convenție permite statului o alegere liberă a mijloacelor care trebuie utilizate pentru a asigura litigiilor un drept eficient de acces la instanță. Deși instituția unui sistem de asistență juridică constituie una dintre acestea sunt altele, cum ar fi, de exemplu, simplificarea procedurii. Cu toate acestea, art. 6 § 1 poate, uneori, obliga statul să prevadă asistența unui avocat atunci când o astfel de asistență prevede un acces eficient la instanță fie pentru că reprezentarea juridică este respinsă obligatorie, fie din cauza complexității procedurii sau a cauzei.
În acest caz, Curtea constată că procedura dinaintea Curții Supreme a fost relativ simplă și că reprezentarea juridică nu a fost obligatorie în fața unei instanțe din Finlanda. În orice caz, cererea reclamantului la Curtea Supremă a fost redactată de un avocat. În circumstanțele cauzei, Curtea constată că reclamantul a avut ocazia suficientă de a-și prezenta argumentele la Curtea Supremă prin intermediul reprezentantului său. Prin urmare, Curtea concluzionează că reclamantul nu a fost negat un drept efectiv de acces la Curtea Supremă în scopul de a contesta hotărârea Curții de Asigurări. Prin urmare, Curtea constată că această parte a cererii este, de asemenea, evident nefondată și respinge aceasta în temeiul articolului 35 § 3 din Convenție.
Din aceste motive, Curtea declară în unanimitate cererea inadmissibilă. Vincent Berger Georg Ress Grefier Președintele
FOURTH SECTION
DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 32558/96 by Boris GONTJAROW against Finland The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section) sitting on 3 February 2000 as a Chamber composed of Mr G. Ress, President, Mr M. Pellonpää, Mr A. Pastor Ridruejo, Mr I. Cabral Barreto, Mr V. Butkevych, Mr J. Hedigan, Mrs S. Botoucharova, judges , and Mr V. Berger, Section Registrar ; Having regard to Article 34 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms; Having regard to the application introduced on 5 June 1996 by Boris Gontjarow against Finland and registered on 7 August 1996 under file no. 32558/96; Having regard to the report provided for in Rule 49 of the Rules of Court; Having deliberated; Decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicants is a Finnish national born in 1915. He resides in Lieto.
He is represented before the Court by Mr Kai Kaituri, a lawyer in Paattinen. The facts of the case, as submitted by the applicant, may be summarised as follows. In 1991 the applicant signed certain employment contracts on behalf of a group of companies. In decisions of 14 October 1992 the relevant pension insurance company found that as the applicant’s companies had not been registered as legal persons the applicant himself had to be regarded as the employer. As a result the applicant was obliged to pay over FIM 114,000 (approximately the same in FF) in employer’s contributions. According to the attached notice of appeal, an appeal was to be signed by the appellant himself or any other author.
If the appeal was not signed by the appellant, it should include a power-of-attorney and indicate the representative’s profession and address. The applicant contested the decisions of the pension insurance company in appeals to the Pension Board ( eläkelautakunta, pensionsnämnden ). The appeals were signed by the applicant himself but indicated Mr Kaituri as their author. The addresses of both were stated. In decisions of 17 October 1994 the Pension Board refused the applicant’s appeals. The decisions were dispatched to the applicant’s address by regular mail on 26 October 1994. The applicant allegedly received the decisions on 5 December 1994 and on 16 December 1994 he appealed to the Insurance Court ( vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen ). On 21 December 1995 the Insurance Court declined to examine the merits of the applicant’s appeals, considering that they had been lodged out of time.
The Insurance Court noted that the appeals to the Pension Board had been signed by the applicant himself and that he had been “assisted” by Mr Kaituri. In his appeal to the Insurance Court the applicant had explained that the letters from the Pension Board had arrived in a post box which he did not empty every day, inter alia due to his disability. Having been invited to explain this point further, the applicant had stated to the Insurance Court that in November 1994 he had not been expecting any mail which would have required action. As for the Pension Board’s forthcoming decisions, he had expected to be notified thereof through his “representative” Mr Kaituri.
The Insurance Court found that the applicant had not submitted sufficient evidence, inter alia of his allegation that he had received the Pension Board’s decisions only on 5 December 1994. The Insurance Court concluded therefore that the applicant should be deemed to have received them on 2 November 1994, in accordance with the presumption stated in the relevant notice of appeal. Consequently, the applicant’s further appeals should have been lodged at the latest on 2 December 1994. The applicant applied to the Supreme Court for restoration of the time-limit for appealing against the Pension Board’s decisions. He further sought to have the Insurance Court’s decision nullified ( poistaa, undanröja ) and applied for cost-free proceedings with Mr Kaituri as his representative.
Mr Kaituri was indicated as the drafter of the application to have the time-limit restored. On 23 May 1996 the Supreme Court ( korkein oikeus, högsta domstolen ) refused the applicant’s request for cost-free proceedings, noting that under law a grant to this effect was not possible in matters before the Insurance Court. The Supreme Court found no grounds for nullifying the Insurance Court’s decision or reinstating the proceedings. COMPLAINTS 1. The applicant complains that the proceedings did not meet the requirements of Article 6 of the Convention. As the Pension Board’s decisions imposed a significant financial obligation on him he should not have been notified thereof merely through a regular letter.
The decisions should have been sent either to his representative alone or to both himself and his representative. In a case involving the applicant’s own social security and where Mr Kaituri had equally been indicated as the author of the appeal the Board for Accident Compensation ( tapaturmalautakunta, olycksfallsnämnden ) had, in 1992, notified the latter of its decision. 2. The applicant further complains under Article 6 of the Convention that he was refused cost-free proceedings despite the importance of the matter at stake. THE LAW 1. The applicant has first complained under Article 6 of the Convention that the Pension Board’s decisions should have been sent either to his representative or both to himself and his representative but in any case not only to the applicant himself.
The Court has examined the application under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention which, in so far as relevant, reads as follows: “In the determination of his civil rights and obligations ..., everyone is entitled to a fair and public hearing before (a) … tribunal ... ” Article 6 § 1 guarantees litigants an effective right of access to the courts for the determination of their civil rights and obligations. Regulations concerning time-limits to be observed when lodging an appeal undoubtedly serve the purpose of ensuring the proper administration of justice. The Court finds that the applicant has not shown that he had attached to his appeals to the Pension Board, as required in the relevant notice of appeal, a power-of-attorney authorising Mr Kaituri to act as his representative.
Nor has he shown that he requested, for the reasons later stated to the Insurance Court, that the Pension Board’s decisions be sent to Mr Kaituri rather than to himself. In these circumstances and noting the Insurance Court’s detailed examination of the reasons underlying the applicant’s belated appeals, the Court cannot find that the applicant was denied his right of access to the Insurance Court. The Court therefore finds this part of the application manifestly ill-founded and rejects it pursuant to Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. 2. The applicant has further complained under the above-cited Article 6 of the refusal to grant him cost-free proceedings. The Court notes that the Convention does not guarantee legal aid in proceedings involving the determination of someone’s civil rights.
Article 6 § 1 of the Convention leaves to the State a free choice of the means to be used towards ensuring to litigants an effective right of access to court. Although the institution of a legal aid scheme constitutes one of those there are others such as, for example, simplification of the procedure. Nonetheless, Article 6 § 1 may sometimes compel the State to provide for the assistance of a lawyer when such assistance provides indispensable for an effective access to the court either because legal representation is rendered compulsory or by reason of the complexity of the procedure or of the case. In the present case, the Court notes that the procedure before the Supreme Court was relatively simple and that legal representation was at the relevant time not compulsory before any court in Finland.
In any case the applicant’s application to the Supreme Court was drafted by a lawyer. In the circumstances of the case the Court finds that the applicant had sufficient opportunity to present his arguments to the Supreme Court through his representative. The Court therefore concludes that the applicant was not denied an effective right of access to the Supreme Court for the purpose of challenging the Insurance Court’s decision. The Court therefore finds that this part of the application is also manifestly ill-founded and rejects it pursuant to Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously,
DECLARES THE APPLICATION INADMISSIBLE.
Vincent Berger Georg Ress Registrar President