- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 25 aprilie 2000
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Scoasă de pe rol
Leary împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
SECȚIUNEA TERZĂ CAUZĂ DE LEARY c. REGATUL UNIT (Declarația nr. 38890/97) HOTĂRÂREA Strasburg 25 aprilie 2000 Această hotărâre este supusă revizuirii editoriale înainte de reproducerea sa în forma finală în rapoartele oficiale ale hotărârilor și hotărârilor ale Curții. În cazul Leary c. Regatul Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (A treia secțiune), în ședința ca Camera compusă din: J.-P. Costa Președintele Sir Nicolas Bratza Loucaides Kūris Fuhrmann Doamna H.S. Greve Traja Judecători și, de asemenea, de dna . S. Dolle Secțion Registrar Deliberat în privat la 28 martie 2000, emite următoarea hotărâre, care a fost adoptată la data respectivă: PROCEDURĂ Cazul a fost originat într-o cerere (nu.
38890/97) împotriva Regatului Unit depus la Comisia Europeană a Drepturilor Omului („Comisia”) în temeiul articolului 25 din Convenția pentru protecția Drepturilor Omului și a Libertăților Fundamentale („Convenția”) de către un național britanic, dl John Leary („reclamantul”), la 21 octombrie 1997. Guvernul Regatului Unit („Guvernul”) a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dna S. Langrish, Biroul pentru Externe și Commonwealth, Londra. Reclamantul s-a plâns că legislația britanică privind securitatea socială a discriminat împotriva lui din motive de sex, în încălcarea articolului 14 din convenție, luată în conjuncție atât cu art. 8 din convenție, cât și cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. La 21 octombrie 1998, Comisia (Camera întâi) a hotărât să anunțe cererii guvernului și le-a invitat să prezinte observațiile cu privire la admisibilitatea și meritul acesteia.
La 21 ianuarie 1999, Guvernul a renunțat la admisibilitatea cererii. La 11 mai 1999, Curtea a declarat cererea admisibilă. La 19 mai 1999, după schimbul de corespondență, grefierul secțiunii a sugerat părților că ar trebui să încerce să ajungă la o soluție prietenoasă în sensul art. (b) din Convenție. La 14 decembrie 1999 și 20 ianuarie 2000, agentul Guvernului și, respectiv, reclamantul au informat Curtea că au ajuns la o soluție prietenoasă a cazului. Soția reclamantului și soția sa au fost căsătorite în 1981 și au avut trei fiice, născute în 1987, 1990 și 1994. Soția reclamantului a murit în 1997, vârstă de 37 de ani. Soția reclamantului a fost angajată ca secretar timp de șapte ani și, în timp ce a lucrat, a contribuit la venitul comun al căsătoriei.
A plătit integral contribuții de securitate socială ca salariat până când a renunțat la muncă în 1987 pentru a avea copii. Reclamantul continuă în muncă integrală și trebuie să îndeplinească cheltuielile pentru îngrijirea copiilor din venitul familial existent. La 4 august 1997, reclamantul a solicitat Agenției de Beneficii pentru plata prestațiilor de securitate socială. El a solicitat beneficii echivalente cu cele la care o văduvă, al căror soț a murit în condiții similare cu cele ale soției sale, ar fi avut dreptul, și anume o plată a unei văduve și o plată a mamei văduvă, plătită în temeiul Legii privind securitatea socială și beneficiile din 1992. Prin scrisoarea din 6 august 1997, Agenția de Beneficii a informat reclamantul că nu a putut accepta cererea sa ca cerere valabil, deoarece reglementările care reglementează plata beneficiilor văduvelor sunt specifice femeilor.
10. Un recurs împotriva unei astfel de decizii ar fi obligat să nu fie valabil, având în vedere că nu sunt plătite prestații de securitate socială văduverilor în temeiul legii Regatului Unit. 11. Reclamantul primește prestația pentru copii la rata Lone Parent de GBP 35.10 pe săptămână. Venitul său îl împiedică să se eligie pentru beneficii testate de mijloace, cum ar fi sprijinul venitului sau creditul de familie. O văduvă într-o situație similară ar putea pretinde plata Veduvei și alocarea mamei văduvă, care sunt plătite indiferent de venit și economii. Dacă reclamantul are dreptul să primească aceste prestații de securitate socială, el calculează că va fi GBP 88.45 mai bine pe săptămână. El ar fi primit, de asemenea, o plată de 1 000 GBP a Viduvii.
PENTRU LEI 12. La 14 decembrie 1999, Curtea a primit o declarație de la Guvern că reclamantul a fost de acord să soluționeze cazul cu privire la termenii propuse de Guvern cu o scrisoare din 23 noiembrie 1999, care era următoarea: “- Guvernul vă va plăti 12 226,20 £ în ceea ce privește beneficiile pe care le-ai fi primit de la 27 mai 1997 la 12 iulie 1999 dacă ați fost o văduvă îndrăgostită; - până la intrarea în vigoare a proiectului de legea de reformă de bunăstare și pensii, Guvernul vă va plăti, pe o bază extra-estatuală, sumele pe care le-ar primi ca alocare a mamei îndurătoare (WMA) dacă ați fost o văduvă îndrăgostită. Acesta va efectua astfel de plăți, retrase până la 12 iulie 1999, la rata săptămânală relevantă, atâta timp cât veți continua să îndeplinească condițiile de drept pentru WMA.
Plățile vor fi efectuate de Agenția Beneficiilor ” 13. La 20 ianuarie 2000, Curtea a primit de la reclamant următoarea declarație: „Scriu pentru a confirma faptul că propunerile guvernului sunt acceptabile pentru mine și că am primit cecuri pentru achizițiile prestațiilor și detaliile modalităților de plată în curs de desfășurare. Prin urmare, aș solicita ca cazul să fie eliminat din lista Curții.” 14. Curtea ia act de acordul achiziționat între părți. Este convins că soluția se bazează pe respectarea drepturilor omului, astfel cum este definită în Convenție sau în protocolul său (amendă art. 3 din Convenția și art. 3 din Regulamentul Curții). 15. În consecință, situația ar trebui să fie scosă din listă.
Adoptat în limba engleză și notificat în scris la 25 aprilie 2000, în conformitate cu art. 77 §§ 2 și 3 din Regulamentul Curții.
THIRD SECTION
CASE OF LEARY
v. THE UNITED KINGDOM (Application no. 38890/97) JUDGMENT STRASBOURG 25 April 2000 This judgment is subject to editorial revision before its reproduction in final form in the official reports of selected judgments and decisions of the Court. In the case of Leary v. the United Kingdom , The European Court of Human Rights (Third Section), sitting as a Chamber composed of: Mr J.-P. Costa , President , Sir Nicolas Bratza , Mr L. Loucaides , Mr P. Kūris , Mr W. Fuhrmann , Mrs H.S. Greve , Mr K. Traja , Judges , and also of Mrs . S. Dollé , Section Registrar . Having deliberated in private on 28 March 2000, Delivers the following judgment, which was adopted on that date: PROCEDURE
The case originated in an application (no. 38890/97) against the United Kingdom lodged with the European Commission of Human Rights (“the Commission”) under former Article 25 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (“the Convention”) by a British national, Mr John Leary (“the applicant”), on 21 October 1997.
The Government of the United Kingdom (“the Government”) were represented by their Agent, Mrs S. Langrish, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, London.
The applicant complained that British Social Security legislation discriminated against him on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention, taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention. On 21 October 1998 the Commission (First Chamber) decided to give notice of the application to the Government and invited them to submit their observations on its admissibility and merits. On 21 January 1999 the Government waived the admissibility of the application.
On 11 May 1999 the Court declared the application admissible.
On 19 May 1999, after an exchange of correspondence, the Section Registrar suggested to the parties that they should attempt to reach a friendly settlement within the meaning of Article 38 § 1 (b) of the Convention. On 14 December 1999 and 20 January 2000 the Agent of the Government and the applicant respectively informed the Court that they had reached a friendly settlement of the case.
AS TO THE FACTS
6. The applicant and his wife were married in 1981 and had three daughters, born in 1987, 1990 and 1994. The applicant’s wife died in 1997, aged 37 years. The applicant is the administrator of his wife’s estate.
The applicant’s wife was employed as a secretary for seven years and, while working, she contributed to the joint income of the marriage. She paid full social security contributions as an employed earner until she gave up work in 1987 to have children. The applicant continues in full-time work and has to meet the expense of childcare from the existing family income.
On 4 August 1997, the applicant applied to the Benefits Agency for the payment of social security benefits. He applied for benefits equivalent to those to which a widow, whose husband had died in similar circumstances to those of his wife, would have been entitled, namely a Widow’s Payment and a Widowed Mother’s Allowance, payable under the Social Security and Benefits Act 1992.
By a letter dated 6 August 1997, the Benefits Agency informed the applicant that they were unable to accept his application as a valid claim because the regulations governing the payment of widows’ benefits were specific to women.
An appeal against such a decision would be bound to fail given that no social security benefits are payable to widowers under United Kingdom law.
The applicant receives Child Benefit at the Lone Parent rate of GBP 35.10 per week. His income precludes him from qualifying for means-tested benefits such as Income Support or Family Credit. A widow in a similar situation could claim Widow’s Payment and Widowed Mother’s Allowance, which are payable regardless of income and savings. If the applicant were entitled to receive these social security benefits, he calculates that he would be GBP 88.45 a week better off. He would also have received a one-off Widow’s Payment of GBP 1,000.
AS TO THE LAW
12. On 14 December 1999 the Court received a declaration from the Government that the applicant had agreed to settle the case on the terms proposed by the Government by a letter dated 23 November 1999, which were as follows: “- the Government will pay you £12,226.20 in respect of benefits which you would have received from 27 May 1997 to 12 July 1999 had you been a bereaved widow; - until such time as the Welfare Reform and Pensions Bill enter into force, the Government will, on an extra-statutory basis, pay to you the amounts which you would receive as Widowed Mother’s Allowance (WMA) if you were a bereaved widow. It will make such payments, backdated to 12 July 1999, at the relevant weekly rate for so long as you continue to meet the entitlement conditions for WMA.
The payments will be made by the Benefits Agency ”
On 20 January 2000 the Court received from the applicant the following declaration: “I am writing to confirm that the Government’s proposals are acceptable to me and that I have received cheques for the arrears of benefits and details of the arrangements for on-going payments. I would therefore request that the case be struck out from the Court’s list.”
The Court takes note of the agreement reached between the parties. It is satisfied that the settlement is based on respect for human rights as defined in the Convention or its Protocols (Article 37 § 1 in fine of the Convention and Rule 62 § 3 of the Rules of Court).
Accordingly, the case should be struck out of the list.
FOR THESE REASONS, THE COURT UNANIMOUSLY
Decides to strike the case out of the list. Done in English, and notified in writing on 25 April 2000, pursuant to Rule 77 §§ 2 and 3 of the Rules of Court. S. Dollé J.-P. Costa Registrar President