- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 25 aprilie 2000
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Scoasă de pe rol
Cornwell împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
CAUZA TERZĂ A SECȚIUNII DE CORNWELL c. REGATUL UNIT (Depunerea nr. 36578/97) HOTĂRÂREA STASBOURG 25 aprilie 2000 Această hotărâre este supusă revizuirii editoriale înainte de reproducerea sa în forma finală în rapoartele oficiale ale hotărârilor și hotărârilor ale Curții. În cazul Cornwell c. Regatul Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (Secțiunea A treia), ședința ca Camera compusă din: J.-P. Președintele Costa Sir Nicolas Bratza Loucaides Kūris Fuhrmann Doamna H.S. Greve Traja Judecători și, de asemenea, din Dna. S. Dollé, grefierul Secțiunei care a deliberat în particular la 28 martie 2000, emite următoarea hotărâre, care a fost adoptată la data respectivă: PROCEDURUL Cazul a fost originat într-o cerere (nu.
36578/97) împotriva Regatului Unit depusă la Comisia Europeană a Drepturilor Omului („Comisia”) în temeiul articolului 25 din Convenția pentru protecția Drepturilor Omului și a Libertăților Fundamentale („Convenția”) de un național britanic, dl David Paul Cornwell („reclamantul”), la 30 mai 1997. Reclamantul a fost reprezentat de dl. Anthony Pethick, avocat practicant la Saffron Walden. Guvernul Regatului Unit (“Guvernul”) a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dna S. Langrish, Biroul Externe și Commonwealth, Londra.
Reclamantul s-a plâns că lipsa de dispoziții privind prestațiile pentru văduvi în temeiul legislației britanice de securitate socială a discriminat împotriva acestuia din motive de sex, în încălcarea articolului 14 din convenție, luată în conjuncție atât cu art. 8 din convenție, cât și cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. La 21 octombrie 1998, Comisia (Camera întâi) a hotărât să comunice guvernului cererea și le-a invitat să își prezinte observațiile cu privire la admisibilitatea și fondurile sale. Guvernul a prezentat observațiile lor la 5 februarie 1999, la care reclamantul a răspuns la 29 martie 1999. La 11 mai 1999, Curtea a declarat cererea admisibilă în ceea ce privește perioada de la 7 februarie 1997 înainte.
La 19 mai 1999, după schimbul de corespondență, grefierul secțiunii a sugerat părților că ar trebui să încerce să ajungă la o soluție prietenoasă în sensul articolului (b) din Convenție. La 22 iulie 1999 și 18 ianuarie 2000, Agentul Guvernului și, respectiv, reprezentantul reclamantului au prezentat declarații formale care acceptă o soluție prietenoasă a cazului. În ceea ce privește FACTUL, soția reclamantului a murit la 24 octombrie 1989. Are un fiu, născut la 24 aprilie 1988, pe care îl îngrijește și pentru care primește o prestație săptămânală pentru copii. La 7 februarie 1997, reprezentantul reclamantului a contactat Agenția de Beneficii a Departamentului de Securitate Socială pentru a se întreba despre dispozițiile legale privind primirea beneficiilor văduvelor, și anume o indemnizație a mamei văduvă și o plată a văduvei.
La 14 februarie 1997, Agenția de Beneficii a răspuns că secțiunea 37 din Legea Agenției de Contribuții și Beneficii pentru Securitate Socială din 1992 prevede numai beneficiile văduvei și nu beneficiile văduvului. Prin scrisoarea din 28 martie 1997, Agenția de Beneficii a informat reclamantul că: „ ... soția ta a îndeplinit atât condiția 1 cât și condiția 2 pentru plata beneficiilor ... și veți înțelege că, dacă înregistrarea soției tale rătăcite ar fi fost cea a unui bărbat, supraviețuitorul ar fi avut titlul de alocație a mamei văduvă și de a plăti văduvă folosind acest dosar.
Înregistrările noastre arată că soția ta a intrat în Asigurări Naționale la 11 iulie 1976 și începutul vieții sale de muncă în scopuri de Asigurări Naționale a fost 6 aprilie 1976. Aprilie 1976 până la și includerea anului fiscal anterior morții sale la 24 octombrie 1989 (de exemplu, 5 aprilie 1989) a avut un total de 14 ani calificativi, primind câștiguri eligibile de cel puțin 52 de ori limită a câștigurilor mai mici pentru fiecare an în particular, ceea ce înseamnă că soția ta a avut un record de 100% pentru întreaga perioadă a vieții sale de muncă până la data morții sale.” 10. La 23 aprilie 1997, Agenția de Beneficii a confirmat că dacă reclamantul era o femeie și soția sa era un bărbat, el, după moartea ei, ar fi avut dreptul să primească alocarea mamei văduvă la rata 100% de bază completă, plus o adăugare pentru pensie suplimentară care a fost câștigat în virtutea contribuțiilor plătite după 1978. La 22 iulie 1999, Curtea a primit următoarea declarație din partea Guvernului: „În ceea ce privește beneficiile pe care reclamantul ar fi primit-o de la 7 februarie 1997 la 12 iulie 1999 dacă ar fi fost o văduvă suferită, Guvernul este dispus să-i ofere o plată de 11,904,60 lire £. [...] Având în vedere faptul că reclamantul este cu siguranță,
Guvernul ia în prezent măsuri în cadrul proiectului de lege a Reformei de bunăstare și pensii pentru a acorda egalității de tratament văduvelor și văduvelor în ceea ce privește prestațiile de securitate socială. Până când această legislație este în vigoare, Guvernul ar propune, pe o bază extraestatuală, să plătească reclamantului sumele pe care le-ar primi dacă ar fi fost o văduvă îndrăgostită. Prin urmare, începând cu 12 iulie 1999, aceasta ar propune să efectueze astfel de plăți la rata săptămânală relevantă, atâta timp cât dl Cornwell continuă să îndeplinească condițiile de drept pentru alocarea mamei văduvă.
[...] În ceea ce privește cererea reclamantului pentru costuri și cheltuieli, Guvernul este pregătit să ofere suma de 3.229.75 £, fiind totuși costurile barristilor și ale avocatilor [...].” 12. La 18 ianuarie 2000, Curtea a primit de la reprezentantul reclamantului următoarea declarație: „Poziția reclamantului este că el este acum dispus să acorde o soluționare a cauzei în termeni precizați în scrisoarea guvernului contestat din 22 iulie 1999.” 13. Curtea ia act de acordul achiziționat între părți și este convins că soluția se bazează pe respectul drepturilor omului, așa cum este definit în Convenție sau în protocolul său (amendă art. 3 din Convenția și art. 3 din Regulamentul Curții). 14. Prin urmare, cazul ar trebui să fie scos din listă.
Adoptat în limba engleză și notificat în scris la 25 aprilie 2000, în conformitate cu art. 77 §§ 2 și 3 din Regulamentul Curții.
THIRD SECTION
CASE OF CORNWELL
v. THE UNITED KINGDOM (Application no. 36578/97) JUDGMENT STRASBOURG 25 April 2000 This judgment is subject to editorial revision before its reproduction in final form in the official reports of selected judgments and decisions of the Court. In the case of Cornwell v. the United Kingdom , The European Court of Human Rights (Third Section), sitting as a Chamber composed of: Mr J.-P. Costa , President , Sir Nicolas Bratza , Mr L. Loucaides , Mr P. Kūris , Mr W. Fuhrmann , Mrs H.S. Greve , Mr K. Traja , Judges , and also of Mrs . S. Dollé , Section Registrar . Having deliberated in private on 28 March 2000, Delivers the following judgment, which was adopted on that date: PROCEDURE
The case originated in an application (no. 36578/97) against the United Kingdom lodged with the European Commission of Human Rights (“the Commission”) under former Article 25 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (“the Convention”) by a British national, Mr David Paul Cornwell (“the applicant”), on 30 May 1997.
The applicant was represented by Mr Anthony Pethick, a lawyer practising in Saffron Walden. The Government of the United Kingdom (“the Government”) were represented by their Agent, Mrs S. Langrish, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, London.
The applicant complained that the lack of provision for widowers’ benefits under British Social Security legislation discriminated against him on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention, taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention. On 21 October 1998 the Commission (First Chamber) decided to give notice of the application to the Government and invited them to submit their observations on its admissibility and merits. The Government submitted their observations on 5 February 1999, to which the applicant replied on 29 March 1999.
On 11 May 1999 the Court declared the application admissible insofar as it relates to the period from 7 February 1997 onwards.
On 19 May 1999, after an exchange of correspondence, the Section Registrar suggested to the parties that they should attempt to reach a friendly settlement within the meaning of Article 38 § 1 (b) of the Convention. On 22 July 1999 and 18 January 2000 the Agent of the Government and the applicant’s representative respectively submitted formal declarations accepting a friendly settlement of the case.
AS TO THE FACTS
6. The applicant’s wife died on 24 October 1989. He has a son, born on 24 April 1988, whom he cares for and in respect of whom he receives a weekly Child Benefit.
On 7 February 1997 the applicant’s representative contacted the Benefits Agency of the Department of Social Security to inquire about the statutory provisions for receiving widows’ benefits, namely a Widowed Mother’s Allowance and a Widow’s Payment.
On 14 February 1997 the Benefits Agency answered that Section 37 of the Social Security Contributions and Benefits Agency Act 1992 provided only for widow’s benefits and not for widower’s benefits.
By letter of 28 March 1997 the Benefits Agency informed the applicant that: “... your wife met both condition 1 and condition 2 for payment of the benefits ... and you will understand that if your late wife’s record had been that of a man, the survivor would have had title to widowed mother’s allowance and widow’s payment using that record. Our records show that your late wife entered National Insurance on 11 July 1976 and the start of her working life for National Insurance purposes was 6 April 1976. From 6 April 1976 up to and including the tax year prior to her death on 24 October 1989 (i.e. 5 April 1989) she had a total of 14 qualifying years, having received qualifying earnings of at least 52 times the lower earnings limit for each particular year. This means that your late wife had a 100% record for the whole period of her working life up to the date of her death.”
On 23 April 1997 the Benefits Agency confirmed that if the applicant were a woman and his wife had been a man, he would, following her death, have been entitled to receive Widowed Mother’s Allowance at the full 100% basic rate plus an addition for Additional Pension which had been earned by virtue of the rate of contributions paid after 1978.
AS TO THE LAW
11. On 22 July 1999 the Court received the following declaration from the Government: “In respect of benefits which the applicant would have received from 7 February 1997 to 12 July 1999 had he been a bereaved widow, the Government is willing to offer him a payment of £11,904,60. […] As the applicant is no doubt aware, the Government is currently taking measures in the Welfare Reform and Pensions Bill to grant equal treatment to widows and widowers in respect of social security benefits. Until such time as this legislation is in force, the Government would propose, on an extra-statutory basis, to pay to the applicant the amounts which he would receive were he a bereaved widow. From 12 July 1999, therefore, it would propose to make such payments at the relevant weekly rate for so long as Mr Cornwell continued to meet the entitlement conditions for widowed mother’s allowance.
[…] In respect of the applicant’s claim for costs and expenses, the Government is prepared to offer the sum of £3,229.75, being the total of the barristers’ and solicitors’ costs […].”
On 18 January 2000 the Court received from the applicant’s representative the following declaration: “The applicant’s position is that he is now prepared to agree a settlement of the case in terms set out in the respondent Government’s letter dated 22 July 1999.”
The Court takes note of the agreement reached between the parties. It is satisfied that the settlement is based on respect for human rights as defined in the Convention or its Protocols (Article 37 § 1 in fine of the Convention and Rule 62 § 3 of the Rules of Court).
Accordingly, the case should be struck out of the list.
FOR THESE REASONS, THE COURT UNANIMOUSLY
Decides to strike the case out of the list. Done in English, and notified in writing on 25 April 2000, pursuant to Rule 77 §§ 2 and 3 of the Rules of Court. S. Dollé J.-P. Costa Registrar President