- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 7 martie 2000
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Partly inadmissible
- Partly admissible
Cairney împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
DIRECȚIUNEA TERZĂ PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA cererii nr. 45773/99 de Denis CAIRNEY împotriva Regatului Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (A treia secțiune), care a stat la 7 martie 2000 în calitate de Cameră compusă de J.-P. Costa, Președintele Sir Nicolas Bratza, L. Loucaides, P. Kūris, W. Fuhrmann, dna H.S. Greve, K. Traja, judecători și dna S. Dollé, grefierul secțiunii având în vedere cererea de mai sus introdusă la Comisia Europeană a Drepturilor Omului la 11 august 1998 și înregistrată la 29 ianuarie 1999, având în vedere art. 5 § 2 din Protocolul nr. 11 la Convenție, prin care competența de a examina cererea a fost transferată Curții, Având în vedere observațiile prezentate de Guvernul contestat și observațiile prezentate în răspuns de solicitant, după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Reclamantul este un național britanic, născut în 1959 și trăiește în Dumbartin.
Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumat după cum urmează. Soția reclamantului și soția sa au fost căsătorite în 1994 și au avut un copil, născut în 1994. Soția reclamantului a murit la 25 aprilie 1995, în vârstă de 30 de ani. Soția reclamantului este administratorul proprietății soției sale. Soția reclamantului a fost angajată ca funcționar de zece ani, plătind contribuții depline în materie de securitate socială. În 1995, reclamantul a renunțat la muncă pentru îngrijirea copilului său. În aproximativ aprilie 1996, reclamantul a abordat Agenția de Beneficii în vederea solicitării plăților unei văduve și a alocației mamei văduve și a fost informat că nu a fost eligibil pentru aceste prestații.
La 22 mai 1998, reclamantul a solicitat oficial Agenția de Beneficii pentru plata prestațiilor de securitate socială. El a solicitat beneficii echivalente cu cele pe care o văduvă, al căror soț a murit în condiții similare cu cele ale soției sale, ar fi avut dreptul, și anume o plată a văduvei și o indemnizație a mamei văduvă, plătită în temeiul Legii de securitate socială și beneficii 1992 („Legea 1992”). Prin scrisoarea din 31 iulie 1998, Agenția Beneficiilor a informat reclamantul că: „În prezent nu există nici o legislație care să ofere un echivalent cu beneficiul văduvilor pentru un văduv … Regatul Unit oferă în prezent numai beneficiul văduvilor și, în mod clar, nu se poate califica pentru acest beneficiu ca sunteți un om…
” Un apel împotriva unei astfel de decizii ar fi obligat să eșueze, având în vedere că nici o prestație de securitate socială este plătită văduvilor în temeiul legislației Regatului Unit. Reclamantul primește Prestația pentru Copii la rata de 68 GBP pe lună, împreună cu Prestația pentru Incapacitate de 75 GBP pe săptămână și o pensie plătită de fostul angajator al soției sale la rata de 360 GBP pe lună. Venitul său împiedică să se eligie pentru beneficii testate de mijloace, cum ar fi sprijinul venitului sau creditul familial. O văduvă într-o situație similară ar putea pretinde plata și alocarea mamei văduve, care sunt plătite indiferent de venituri și economii. Dacă reclamantul ar avea dreptul să primească aceste prestații de securitate socială, el calculează că va fi mai bine cu 73,45 GBP pe săptămână.
El ar fi primit, de asemenea, o plată de 1 000 GBP. Legea și practicile interne relevante Drepturile de plată a văduvei și alocația mamei văduvă sunt reglementate de art. 36 și 37 din Legea privind contribuțiile și beneficiile securității sociale din 1992 („Legea din 1992”). Prin secțiunea 1 din Legea din 1992, fondurile necesare pentru a plăti astfel de prestații trebuie să fie furnizate din Fondul Național de Asigurări prin intermediul contribuțiilor plătibile secretarului de stat pentru securitate socială de către câștigători, angajatori și alții, împreună cu anumite adăugari ale Fondului de către Parlament. Bărbații și femeile care câștigă sunt obligați să plătească aceleași contribuții de securitate socială în funcție de statutul lor de salariați sau de salariați independenți.
Plata adunătorilor în temeiul art. 36 din Legea 1992, o femeie văduvă are dreptul la plata unei văduve (în prezent, o plată forfetară de 1000 GBP) dacă: (i) ea este sub vârsta de pensie la momentul în care soțul ei a murit, sau el nu a avut atunci dreptul la o pensie de pensie de categorie A; (ii) soțul ei a îndeplinit anumite condiții specifice de contribuție de securitate socială prevăzute într-un program al Legii 1992. În temeiul articolului 37 din Legea din 1992, în măsura în care este relevantă, o femeie văduvă (și care nu s-a recăsătorit) are dreptul la alocarea mamei în anumite condiții, următoarele fiind condițiile relevante pentru situația prezentului caz: (i) soțul său a îndeplinit condițiile de contribuție prevăzute într-un program al Actului; și (ii) ea are dreptul de a primi beneficii pentru copii în raport cu un fiu sau fiica ei însuși și soțul său îndepărtat.
Indemnitatea mamei văduvăzi se ridică în prezent la 62,45 GBP pe săptămână, cu un supliment de 9,90 GBP pe săptămână în ceea ce privește copilul mai mare eligibil, și un supliment de 11,20 GBP pe săptămână în ceea ce privește alți copii. Pensiunea văduvă În temeiul articolului 38 din Legea din 1992, o femeie văduvă (și care nu este recăsătorită) are dreptul la pensie de văduvă în cazul în care: În temeiul articolului 38 din Legea din 1992, o femeie văduvă (și care nu este recăsătorită) are dreptul la pensie de văduvă în cazul în care: (i) soțul său a îndeplinit condițiile de contribuție prevăzute într-un program al Actului; și (ii) la data decesului soțului ei, a avut peste 45 de ani, dar sub 65 de ani; sau (iii) a încetat să aibă dreptul la alocația unei mame văduvă la momentul în care avea peste 45 de ani, dar sub 65 de ani.
Secțiunea 1 alin. (1) din Legea de administrație a securității sociale 1992, care se aplică reclamantului, prevede că nu există niciun drept la o prestație, cu excepția cazului în care se face o cerere pentru prestație în mod prescris și în termenul stabilit.
În momentul respectiv, termenele pentru reclamarea plăților văduvii și a alocația mamei văduvă au fost stabilite în Regulamentele privind securitatea socială (Claims and Payments) 1987 (Instrumentul de plată 1987/1968), din care art. 19 prevedea: „(6) Timpul stabilit pentru solicitarea prestațiilor care nu sunt specificate în coloana (1) a listei 4 este – ... (b) Douăsprezece luni în cazul beneficiilor … (7) Perioadele de șase și douăsprezece luni prevăzute de alineatul (6) sunt calculate de la orice zi în care, în afară de a satisface condiția depunerii unei cereri, reclamantul are dreptul la beneficiile în cauză.” În plus, art. 1 alineatul (2) din Legea privind administrarea securității sociale din 1992 prevede, în ceea ce privește cererile de plată pentru văduvă: „În cazul în care, în conformitate cu subsecțiunea (1) de mai sus, o persoană este obligată să facă o cerere sau să fie tratată ca fiind o cerere pentru o prestație pentru a avea dreptul la aceasta – (a) în cazul în care beneficiile sunt plătite de o văduvă, ea nu are dreptul la aceasta în ceea ce privește un deces care are loc mai mult de 12 luni înainte de data la care cererea este efectuată sau tratată ca fiind efectuată … ” COMPLAINTE Reclamantul plânge că legislația britanică de securitate socială discrimină împotriva lui din motive de sex,
în încălcarea articolului 14 din Convenția luată în conjuncție atât cu art. 8 din Convenție, cât și cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. PROCEDURĂ Cererea a fost introdusă la 11 august 1998 și înregistrată la 29 ianuarie 1999. La 1 noiembrie 1998, prin aplicarea articolului 5 § 2 din Protocolul nr. 11 la Convenție, cazul a scăzut să fie examinat de către Curte în conformitate cu dispozițiile acestui protocol. La 11 mai 1999, Curtea a hotărât să comunice cererea la guvernul contestat.
Observațiile scrise ale Guvernului au fost depuse la 10 august 1999. Reclamantul a răspuns la 3 septembrie 1999. Reclamantul se plânge că lipsa de dispoziții privind prestațiile pentru văduvi în temeiul legislației britanice privind securitatea socială este discriminată împotriva acestuia din motive de sex, în încălcarea articolului 14 din Convenția luată coroborat atât cu art. 8 din Convenție, cât și cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. El se plânge de o încălcare continuă a decesului soției sale în 1989. art. 14 prevede: „Drumarea drepturilor și libertăților prevăzute în prezenta convenție este asigurată fără discriminare pe niciun motiv, cum ar fi sexul, rasa, culoarea, limba, religia, opinia politică sau de altă natură, origine națională sau socială, asocierea cu o minoritate națională, proprietatea, nașterea sau alt statut.” art. 8 prevede (dacă este cazul): „1.
Fiecare are dreptul de a respecta viața sa privată și de familie … Nu va exista nici o interferență de către o autoritate publică în exercitarea acestui drept, cu excepția celor care sunt în conformitate cu legea și sunt necesare într-o societate democratică în interesele ... bunăstarea economică a țării … ” art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 prevede: „1. Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale. Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesele sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și de principiile generale ale dreptului internațional.
Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea bunurilor în conformitate cu dobânda generală sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau penalități.” Guvernul conteste admisibilitatea cererii în măsura în care se referă la perioada cuprinsă între 22 aprilie 1995 și 22 mai 1998. Acestea subliniază că reclamantul nu a încercat să ceară beneficiile văduvelor până la 22 mai 1998 și că numai de la această dată a fost aplicată legislația. Dacă o femeie a solicitat beneficii de văduvă la 22 mai 1998 în ceea ce privește moartea soțului său în aprilie 1995, ar fi fost informată că nu a fost în timp pentru a solicita plata unei văduve și că ea ar putea solicita numai alocarea mamelor văduve, cu efect de la 23 mai 1997. Se bazează pe hotărârea Curții în Cornwell c. Regatul Unit (nu.
36578/97, 11 mai 1999) în care Curtea a hotărât că reclamantul nu a fost o victimă în legătură cu presupusa discriminare în legătură cu beneficiile văduvelor până când nu a solicitat să fie plătit astfel de beneficii, cererea sa fiind ulterior refuzată. Reclamantul susține că a fost afectat de legislația impușită din aprilie 1996, când a fost informat de Agenția Beneficiilor că nu a fost eligibil pentru beneficiile văduvelor. Curtea reamintește că, în conformitate cu art. 34 din Convenție, aceasta poate primi cereri de către persoane fizice și de alte persoane „clamând a fi victimă de o încălcare de către una dintre Înaltele părți contractante a drepturilor prevăzute în Convenție sau protocoalele sale”.
Pentru a pretinde că este o victimă a unei încălcări, o persoană trebuie să fie afectată direct de măsura neregulată (a se vedea, de exemplu, Hotărârea Buckley c. Regatul Unit din 25 septembrie 1996, Raportul Hotărârilor și Deciziilor 1996-IV, p. 1288, §§ 56-59 și decizia Valmont v. Regatul Unit din 23 martie 1999, nr. 36385/97). Curtea reamintește, în continuare, decizia sa din Cornwell c. Regatul Unit (n. 36578/97, 11 mai 1999), care a susținut că reclamantul nu a fost o victimă în legătură cu presupusa discriminare în legătură cu beneficiile văduvelor până când nu a aplicat în mod ineficient să fie plătite astfel de prestații.
În cazul în cauză, în perioada dintre moartea soției sale la 25 aprilie 1995 și reclamația de beneficii la 22 mai 1998, reclamantul nu poate fi afirmat că a fost afectat direct de discriminarea la care se plânge, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție care nu a făcut reclamație oficială nu ar fi avut dreptul la beneficiile văduvelor în temeiul legislației interne. Rezultă că, pentru perioada 25 aprilie 1995-22 mai 1998, reclamantul nu poate pretinde că a fost victimă de o încălcare a drepturilor sale în temeiul Convenției și al Primului Protocol și că cererea, în măsura în care se referă la această perioadă, este incompatibilă ratione personae în conformitate cu dispozițiile Convenției și trebuie declarată inadmisibilă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 3 și 4 din Convenție.
Curtea constată că Guvernul nu contestă admisibilitatea cererii în măsura în care se referă la perioada de după 22 mai 1998. Acesta consideră că această parte a cererii ridică probleme complexe de drept și de fapt în temeiul Convenției, ale căror determinare ar trebui să depinde de o examinare a fondului, concluzând, prin urmare, că această parte a cererii nu este evident nefondată în sensul articolului 35 § 3 din Convenție. Nu au fost stabilite alte motive de declarare inadmisibilă. Din aceste motive, Curtea, în unanimitate, declară cererea inadecvată în măsura în care se referă la perioada cuprinsă între 25 aprilie 1995 și 22 mai 1998; DECLARĂ APLICAȚIA ADMISSIBILĂ în măsura în care se referă la perioada cuprinsă între 22 mai 1998, fără a se judeca meritele cauzei.
S. Dollé J.-P. Președintele grefierului Costa
THIRD SECTION
DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 45773/99 by Denis CAIRNEY against the United Kingdom The European Court of Human Rights (Third Section), sitting on 7 March 2000 as a Chamber composed of Mr J.-P. Costa, President , Sir Nicolas Bratza, Mr L. Loucaides, Mr P. Kūris, Mr W. Fuhrmann, Mrs H.S. Greve, Mr K. Traja, judges , and Mrs S. Dollé, Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application introduced with the European Commission of Human Rights on 11 August 1998 and registered on 29 January 1999, Having regard to Article 5 § 2 of Protocol No. 11 to the Convention, by which the competence to examine the application was transferred to the Court, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant is a British national, born in 1959 and living in Dumbartin.
The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. A. Particular circumstances of the case The applicant and his wife were married in 1994 and had one child, born in 1994. The applicant’s wife died on 25 April 1995, aged 30 years. The applicant is the administrator of his wife’s estate. The applicant’s wife was employed as a civil servant for ten years, paying full social security contributions. In 1995, the applicant gave up work to care for his child. In about April 1996, the applicant approached the Benefits Agency with a view to applying for a Widow’s Payment and Widowed Mother’s Allowance and was informed that he was ineligible for any such benefits. On 22 May 1998, the applicant formally applied to the Benefits Agency for the payment of social security benefits.
He applied for benefits equivalent to those which a widow, whose husband had died in similar circumstances to those of his wife, would have been entitled, namely a Widow’s Payment and a Widowed Mother’s Allowance, payable under the Social Security and Benefits Act 1992 (“the 1992 Act”). By a letter dated 31 July 1998, the Benefits Agency informed the applicant that: “There is currently no legislation which provides an equivalent to Widows’ Benefit for a widower … The UK currently provides only for Widows’ Benefit and clearly you cannot qualify for this benefit as you are a man… ” An appeal against such a decision would be bound to fail given that no social security benefits are payable to widowers under United Kingdom law.
The applicant receives Child Benefit at the rate of GBP 68 per month, together with Incapacity Benefit of GBP 75 per week and a pension paid by his wife’s former employer at the rate of GBP 360 per month. His income precludes him from qualifying for means-tested benefits such as Income Support or Family Credit. A widow in a similar situation could claim Widow’s Payment and Widowed Mother’s Allowance, which are payable regardless of income and savings. If the applicant were entitled to receive these social security benefits, he calculates that he would be GBP 73.45 a week better off. He would also have received a one-off Widow’s Payment of GBP 1,000. B. Relevant domestic law and practice Entitlement to widow’s payment and widowed mother’s allowance are governed by sections 36 and 37 of the Social Security Contributions and Benefits Act 1992 (“the 1992 Act”).
By Section 1 of the 1992 Act, the funds required for paying such benefits are to be provided out of the National Insurance Fund by means of contributions payable to the Secretary of State for Social Security by earners, employers and others, together with certain additions made to the Fund by Parliament. Male and female earners are obliged to pay the same social security contributions in accordance with their status as employed earners or self-employed earners. 1. Widow’s Payment Under Section 36 of the 1992 Act, a woman who has been widowed is entitled to a widow’s payment (currently a lump sum payment of GBP 1,000) if: (i) she is under pensionable age at the time when her husband died, or he was not then entitled to a Category A retirement pension; (ii) her husband satisfied certain specified social security contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the 1992 Act.
2. Widowed Mother’s Allowance Under Section 37 of the 1992 Act, in so far as relevant, a woman who has been widowed (and who has not remarried) is entitled to a mother’s allowance on certain conditions, the following being the relevant conditions to the circumstance of the present case: (i) her husband satisfied the contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the Act; and (ii) she is entitled to receive child benefit in relation to a son or daughter of herself and her late husband. The Widowed Mother’s Allowance currently amounts to GBP 62.45 per week, with an extra GBP 9.90 per week in respect of the eldest eligible child, and a further GBP 11.20 per week in respect of other children.
3. Widow’s Pension Under Section 38 of the 1992 Act, a woman who has been widowed (and who is not remarried) is entitled to a widow’s pension if: Under Section 38 of the 1992 Act, a woman who has been widowed (and who is not remarried) is entitled to a widow’s pension if: (i) her husband satisfied the contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the Act; and (ii) at the date of her husband’s death she was over the age of 45 but under the age of 65; or (iii) she ceased to be entitled to a widowed mother’s allowance at the time when she was over the age of 45 but under the age of 65. 4. Time-limit for applications for benefits Section 1 (1) of the Social Security Administration Act 1992, which applies to the applicant, provides that no entitlement to a benefit arises unless a claim for the benefit is made in the prescribed manner and within the prescribed time.
At the relevant time, the time-limits for claiming widow’s payment and widowed mother’s allowance were set out in the Social Security (Claims and Payments) Regulations 1987 (Statutory Instrument 1987/1968), regulation 19 of which provided: “(6) The prescribed time for claiming benefits not specified in column (1) of Schedule 4 shall be – ... (b) twelve months in the case of ... widow’s benefit … (7) The periods of six and twelve months prescribed by paragraph (6) are calculated from any day on which, apart from satisfying the condition of making a claim, the claimant is entitled to the benefit concerned.” In addition, section 1(2) of the Social Security Administration Act 1992 provides, in relation to claims for widow’s payment: “Where under subsection (1) above a person is required to make a claim or to be treated as making a claim for a benefit in order to be entitled to it – (a) if the benefit is a widow’s payment, she shall not be entitled to it in respect of a death occurring more than 12 months before the date on which the claim is made or treated as made … ” COMPLAINTS The applicant complains that British social security legislation discriminates against him on grounds of sex,
in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. PROCEDURE The application was introduced on 11 August 1998 and registered on 29 January 1999. On 1 November 1998, by operation of Article 5 § 2 of Protocol No. 11 to the Convention, the case fell to be examined by the Court in accordance with the provisions of that Protocol. On 11 May 1999, the Court decided to communicate the application to the respondent Government.
The Government’s written observations were submitted on 10 August 1999. The applicant replied on 3 September 1999. THE LAW 1. The applicant complains that the lack of provision for widowers’ benefits under British social security legislation discriminates against him on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. He complains of a continuing violation from his wife’s death in 1989 onwards. Article 14 states: “The enjoyment of the rights and freedoms set forth in this Convention shall be secured without discrimination on any ground such as sex, race, colour, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, association with a national minority, property, birth or other status.” Article 8 provides (as relevant): “1.
Everyone has the right to respect for his private and family life … 2. There shall be no interference by a public authority with the exercise of this right except such as is in accordance with the law and is necessary in a democratic society in the interests of ... the economic well-being of the country … ” Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 states: “1. Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions. No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law.
2. The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” The Government contest the admissibility of the application insofar as it relates to the period from 22 April 1995 until 22 May 1998. They point out that the applicant did not attempt to claim widows’ benefits until 22 May 1998 and that it was only from this date onwards that the legislation was applied to him.
Had a woman claimed widows’ benefits on 22 May 1998 in respect of the death of her husband in April 1995, she would have been told that she was out of time for claiming a widow’s payment and that she could only claim widowed mothers’ allowance with effect from 23 May 1997. They rely on the Court’s decision in Cornwell v. the United Kingdom (no. 36578/97, 11 May 1999) in which the Court decided that the applicant was not a victim in relation to alleged discrimination in connection with widows’ benefits until he applied to be paid such benefits, his application subsequently being refused. The applicant contends that he was affected by the impugned legislation from about April 1996, when he was informed by the Benefits Agency that he was not eligible for widows’ benefits.
The Court recalls that under Article 34 of the Convention it may receive applications from individuals and others “claiming to be the victim of a violation by one of the High Contracting Parties of the rights set forth in the Convention or the protocols thereto”. In order to claim to be a victim of a violation, a person must be directly affected by the impugned measure (see, for example, the Buckley v. the United Kingdom judgment of 25 September 1996, Reports of Judgments and Decisions 1996-IV, p. 1288, §§ 56-59, and the Valmont v. the United Kingdom decision of 23 March 1999, no. 36385/97). The Court recalls, further, its decision in Cornwell v. the United Kingdom (no. 36578/97, 11 May 1999), which held that the applicant was not a victim in relation to alleged discrimination in connection with widows’ benefits until he applied unsuccessfully to be paid such benefits.
In the present case, during the period between his wife’s death on 25 April 1995 and his claim for benefits on 22 May 1998, the applicant cannot be said to have been directly affected by the discrimination of which he complains, since a woman in the same position who had made no formal claim would have had no entitlement to widows’ benefits under domestic law. It follows that for the period 25 April 1995 to 22 May 1998 the applicant cannot claim to have been a victim of a violation of his rights under the Convention and First Protocol, and that the application, insofar as it relates to this period, is incompatible ratione personae with the provisions of the Convention and must be declared inadmissible in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention.
2. The Court notes that the Government do not contest the admissibility of the application insofar as it relates to the period after 22 May 1998. It considers that this part of the application raises complex issues of law and fact under the Convention, the determination of which should depend on an examination of the merits. It concludes, therefore, that this part of the application is not manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. No other grounds for declaring it inadmissible have been established. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously,
DECLARES THE APPLICATION INADMISSIBLE
insofar as it relates to the period from 25 April 1995 until 22 May 1998;
DECLARES THE APPLICATION ADMISSIBLE
insofar as it relates to the period from 22 May 1998 onwards, without prejudging the merits of the case. S. Dollé J.-P. Costa Registrar President