- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 18 septembrie 2001
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Scoasă de pe rol
Crouch împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
Decizia nr. 39472/98 de la Douglas Phillip CROUCH împotriva Regatului Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului, care a stat la 18 septembrie 2001 în calitate de Camera compusă de J.-P. Președintele Costa Fuhrmann Loucaides Sir Nicolas Bratza dna H.S. Greve Traja Ugrekhelidze judecători și dna S. Dollé având în vedere cererea de mai sus introdusă la Comisia Europeană a Drepturilor Omului la 21 noiembrie 1997 și înregistrată la 21 ianuarie 1998, având în vedere art. 5 § 2 din Protocolul nr. 11 la Convenție, prin care competența de a examina cererea a fost transferată Curții, Având în vedere observațiile prezentate de Guvernul contestat și scrisoarea reclamantului din 6 august 2001, după ce a deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Reclamantul, Douglas Phillip Crouch, este un național al Regatului Unit, născut în 1969 și locuiește în Farnborough.
El este reprezentat în fața Curții de către dl T. Bowman, un lucrător în domeniul îngrijirii comunitare din Biroul de Consiliere a Cetățenilor, Farnborough. Circumstanțele cazului Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părțile, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează: reclamantul și soția sa au fost căsătoriți în 1990 și au avut doi copii, născuți în 1993 și 1996. Soția reclamantului a murit în 1997, vârstă de 26 de ani. Reclamantul este administratorul proprietății soției sale. Soția reclamantului a fost angajată ca un curățător timp de aproximativ șase ani, contribuind astfel la venitul comun al căsătoriei. Ea a plătit integral contribuții de securitate socială ca salariat până la moartea ei.
Reclamantul a renunțat la muncă pentru a îngriji copiii. La 13 mai 1997, reclamantul a solicitat Agenției de Beneficii pentru plata prestațiilor de securitate socială. El a solicitat beneficii echivalente cu cele pe care o văduvă, al căror soț a murit în condiții similare cu cele ale soției sale, ar fi avut dreptul, și anume o plată a unei văduve și o plată a mamei văduvă, plătită în temeiul Legii privind securitatea socială și beneficiile din 1992. Prin scrisoarea din 15 mai 1997, Agenția de Beneficii a informat reclamantul că nu există astfel de beneficii pentru văduvi și că afirmația sa a eșuat în consecință.
Reclamantul a depus un recurs statutar împotriva acestei decizii la 2 iunie 1997. Tribunalul de Apel pentru Securitate Socială a respins recursul reclamantului la 11 februarie 1998 din motive că, pentru a se încadra în plată sau în pensie de văduvă, reclamantul trebuie să fie „o femeie care a fost văduvă” și că reclamantul, în mod evident, nu a intrat în această definiție. O văduvă într-o situație similară cu cea a reclamantului ar putea pretinde Plata Veduvei și Alocarea Mamei Văduvate, care sunt plătite indiferent de venit și economii. Plata Veduvei este o plată unică de 1000 GBP.
COMPLAINTE Reclamantul se plângea inițial că legislația britanică de securitate socială a discriminat împotriva lui din motive de sex, în încălcarea articolului 14 din Convenție, luată în conjuncție atât cu art. 8 din Convenție, cât și cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. Curtea constată că reprezentantul reclamantului a indicat într-o scrisoare din 6 august 2001 că părțile au convenit o soluție prietenoasă prin care suma de 60,79 GBP pe săptămână va fi plătită reclamantului pentru a acoperi perioada de la data cererii sale de prestații până la 9 aprilie 2001. Cu toate acestea, nu ar fi efectuată nici o plată efectivă reclamantului deoarece sumele în cauză ar fi denunțate împotriva altor prestații de securitate socială mai substanțiale deja plătite reclamantului pe parcursul acestei perioade.
Având în vedere acordul atins, reprezentantul reclamantului a solicitat ca cererea să fie eliminată din lista cazurilor. Curtea constată, de asemenea, că, în temeiul Legii 1999 privind reformele și pensiile de bunăstare, beneficiile de iubire au fost disponibile atât pentru bărbați cât și pentru femei la 1 aprilie 2001. Având în vedere art. 37 alineatul (1) litera (b) din Convenție, Curtea constată că această chestiune a fost rezolvată. , Curtea nu constată nicio circumstanță specială în ceea ce privește respectarea drepturilor omului, astfel cum este definită în Convenția și în Protocolurile sale, care necesită continuarea examinării cererii. În consecință, cazul ar trebui eliminat din listă.
Din aceste motive, Curtea, în unanimitate, decide să excludă aplicarea din lista sa de cazuri. Dollé J.-P. Președintele grefierului Costa
THIRD SECTION
DECISION Application no. 39472/98 by Douglas Phillip CROUCH against the United Kingdom The European Court of Human Rights, sitting on 18 September 2001 as a Chamber composed of Mr J.-P. Costa , President , Mr W. Fuhrmann , Mr L. Loucaides , Sir Nicolas Bratza , Mrs H.S. Greve , Mr K. Traja , Mr M. Ugrekhelidze , judges , and Mrs S. Dollé , Section Registrar . Having regard to the above application introduced with the European Commission of Human Rights on 21 November 1997 and registered on 21 January 1998, Having regard to Article 5 § 2 of Protocol No. 11 to the Convention, by which the competence to examine the application was transferred to the Court, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the applicant’s letter of 6 August 2001, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Douglas Phillip Crouch, is a United Kingdom national, born in 1969 and living in Farnborough.
He is represented before the Court by Mr T. Bowman, a community care worker from the Citizens Advice Bureau, Farnborough. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. The applicant and his wife were married in 1990 and had two children, born in 1993 and 1996. The applicant’s wife died in 1997, aged 26 years. The applicant is the administrator of his wife’s estate. The applicant’s wife was employed as a cleaner for approximately six years, and thus contributed to the joint income of the marriage. She paid full social security contributions as an employed earner until her death. The applicant gave up work to care for the children.
On 13 May 1997, the applicant applied to the Benefits Agency for the payment of social security benefits. He applied for benefits equivalent to those which a widow, whose husband had died in similar circumstances to those of his wife, would have been entitled, namely a Widow’s Payment and a Widowed Mother’s Allowance, payable under the Social Security and Benefits Act 1992. By a letter dated 15 May 1997, the Benefits Agency informed the applicant that no such benefits existed for widowers and that his claim accordingly had failed. The applicant lodged a statutory appeal against this decision on 2 June 1997. The Social Security Appeal Tribunal dismissed the applicant’s appeal on 11 February 1998 on the grounds that, in order to qualify for widow’s payment or widow’s pension, the claimant must be “a woman who has been widowed”, and that the applicant clearly did not fall within this definition.
A widow in a similar situation to that of the applicant could claim Widow’s Payment and Widowed Mother’s Allowance, which are payable regardless of income and savings. The Widow’s Payment is a one-off payment of GBP 1,000.
COMPLAINTS The applicant originally complained that British social security legislation discriminated against him on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention, taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. THE LAW The Court notes that the applicant’s representative indicated in a letter dated 6 August 2001 that the parties had agreed a friendly settlement whereby the sum of GBP 60.79 per week would be paid to the applicant to cover the period from the date of his application for benefits until 9 April 2001. However, no actual payment would be made to the applicant because the sums concerned would be set off against other, more substantial, social security benefits already paid to the applicant over that period.
In the light of the agreement reached, the applicant’s representative requested that the application be struck out of the list of cases. The Court also notes that under the Welfare Reform and Pensions Act 1999 bereavement benefits became available to both men and women as of 1 April 2001. Having regard to Article 37 § 1 (b) of the Convention, the Courts finds that the matter has been resolved. Furthermore, in accordance with Article 37 § 1 in fine , the Court finds no special circumstances regarding respect for human rights as defined in the Convention and its Protocols which require the examination of the application to be continued. Accordingly, the case should be struck out of the list. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously, Decides to strike the application out of its list of cases.
S. Dollé J.-P. Costa Registrar President