- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 3 octombrie 2000
- Stat pârât
- NLD
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Wessels-Bergervoet împotriva Țărilor de Jos
Traducere în română Auto
Primă secțiune DECIZIE FINALĂ CU ADMINISIBILITATEA cererii nr. 34462/97 de către Rika E.W.
WESSELS-BERGERVOET împotriva Țărilor de Jos Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (prima secțiune), ședința la 3 octombrie 2000 în calitate de Cameră compusă de dna E. Palm, dna W. Thomassen, președintele Gaukur Jörundsson, R. Türmen, C. Bîrsan, J. Casadevill, R. Maruste, judecători și M. O'Boyle, grefierul secțiunii având în vedere cererea de mai sus introdusă la Comisia Europeană a Drepturilor Omului la 11 octombrie 1996 și înregistrată la 13 ianuarie 1997, având în vedere art. 5 § 2 din Protocolul nr. 11 la Convenție, prin care competența de a examina cererea a fost transferată Curții, având în vedere decizia parțială din 1 decembrie 1998, Având în vedere observațiile prezentate de Guvernul contestat și observațiile prezentate în răspuns de către solicitant, după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Reclamantul este un național olandez, născut în 1924, și locuiește în Gaanderen.
Ea este reprezentată în fața Curții de către dna H. Mollema-de Jong, un avocat care practică în Amersfoort. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părțile, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează: reclamantul și soțul ei au trăit întotdeauna în Țările de Jos. Prin decizia din 7 august 1984, soțul reclamantului a primit o pensie de vârstă pentru o persoană căsătorită în conformitate cu Legea Generală a Pensiunii de Vârstă (Algemene Ouderdomswet), denumită în continuare „AOW” începând cu 1 august 1984. Cu toate acestea, în conformitate cu art. 10 atunci din AOW, pensia sa a fost redusă cu 38%, deoarece nici reclamantul, nici el însuși nu au fost asigurați în temeiul prezentei legi în cursul a nouă perioade între 1 februarie 1957 și 1 august 1977, în care a lucrat în Germania și în care a avut o asigurare de vârstă în temeiul legislației germane privind securitatea socială.
Aceste nouă perioade s-au ridicat în total la 19 ani la nivel mondial. Nu a fost interzis niciun recurs împotriva acestei decizii. După ce reclamantul a ajuns la vârsta de șaizeci și cinci ani în 1989, Consiliul Băncii de Asigurări Sociale ( Sociale Verzekeringsbank ), prin hotărârea din 14 februarie 1989, reclamantul a acordat o pensie de vârstă în temeiul AOW începând cu 1 martie 1989. Cu toate acestea, pe aceeași bază ca pensia soțului ei, pensia sa a fost redusă cu 38%. Reclamantul a depus un recurs la Tribunalul de Apel ( Raad van Beroep ) de Arnhem, care se plângea că reducerea pensiei ei de vârstă în vârstă cu 38% a constituit un tratament discriminatoriu.
În decizia sa din 10 ianuarie 1990, în urma procedurii adversare scrise și orale, Tribunalul de Apel a remarcat că, în conformitate cu articolele 7 și 9 din AOW, o persoană căsătorită - precum reclamantul - care era asigurată în temeiul prezentei legi și care avea vârsta de 65 de ani avea dreptul la o pensie de vârstă de 50 % din salariul minim net pe lună. Cu toate acestea, în conformitate cu art. 13 din AOW, această sumă ar putea fi redusă cu 2% pentru fiecare an întreg în care persoana în cauză nu a fost asigurată între vârsta de 15 și șaizeci și cinci ani. De asemenea, a remarcat că, în conformitate cu art. 6 § 1 din AOW, cei asigurați erau persoane cu vârsta între 15 și șaizeci și șaizeci de ani, care erau rezidenți Țările de Jos sau, dacă nu rezidenți Țările de Jos, supuși plății impozitului salarial (loonbelasting ) în ceea ce privește lucrările desfășurate în Țările de Jos în temeiul unui contract de ocupare a forței de muncă.
În temeiul prezentului alineat (2) din art. 6 din AOW, a fost posibil, prin intermediul unei Ordine în Consiliu (Algemene Maatregel van Bestuur ), să se prelungească sau să se limiteze grupul asigurat în derogare de reglementarea generală prevăzută la art. 6 § 1 din AOW. Tribunalul de Apel a reamintit jurisprudența Tribunalului Central de Apel ( Centrale Raad van Beroep ) în sensul că întrebarea dacă o persoană a fost sau nu asigurată în temeiul AOW a scăzut să fie determinată pe baza normelor în vigoare în momentul respectiv.
De asemenea, a reamintit că, în conformitate cu cinci decrete regale consecutive privind extinderea și limitarea grupului de persoane asigurate ( Coninklijke Besluiten Uitbreiding în Beperking van de kring der verzekerden ) eliberat în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din AOW și în vigoare până la 1 Aprilie 1985, nu asigurate în temeiul AOW au fost persoanele care locuiau în Țările de Jos, dar care lucrează în afara Țărilor de Jos în temeiul unui contract de muncă și care, în ceea ce privește această ocupație, au fost asigurate social în temeiul unei legislații străine. Această limitare se aplică și unei femei căsătorite cu o persoană care, pe baza acestor decrete regale, nu a fost asigurată în temeiul AOW.
Tribunalul de Apel a remarcat faptul că soțul reclamantului nu a lucrat în Germania în timpul perioadelor în cauză și că, în aceste perioade și în conformitate cu Ordonanța nr. 3 a Consiliului de Miniștri al Comunităților Europene (până la 1 octombrie 1972) și ulterior Ordonanța 1408/71, el a fost supus legislației germane privind securitatea socială. Acesta a constatat că, în aceste circumstanțe, Banca de Asigurări Sociale a concluzionat corect că reclamantul nu a fost asigurat în cadrul AOW pentru perioada de timp a lucrat soțul ei în Germania.
Cu toate acestea, în ceea ce privește întrebarea dacă această situație este compatibilă cu principiul egalității, în special interzicerea discriminării între bărbați și femei, Tribunalul de Apel a remarcat că există o dispoziție în decreturile regale în cauză care a făcut ca asigurarea în temeiul AOW a femeilor căsătorite să fie dependentă de întrebarea dacă soții lor sunt sau nu asigurați în temeiul AOW, în timp ce decretele nu conțin o dispoziție comparabilă în ceea ce privește bărbații căsătoriți. Tribunalul de Apel a examinat situația reclamantului în lumina articolului 26 din Pactul Internațional privind Drepturile Civile și Politice (ICPR), reamintind jurisprudența Tribunalului Central de Apeluri în conformitate cu care, începând cu 23 decembrie 1984, această dispoziție era direct aplicabilă în ordinea juridică a Țărilor de Jos, de asemenea în domeniul securității sociale.
Tribunalul de Apel a constatat că acest lucru presupunea că drepturile ar putea fi derivate direct din această dispoziție în măsura în care o cerere, după 23 decembrie 1984, a normelor statutare a creat o diferență în tratamentul între bărbați și femei fără nicio justificare obiectivă și rezonabilă pentru această diferență de tratament și care diferența în tratament a condus în continuare la un rezultat mai defavorabil decât rezultatul ar fi fost dacă nu ar fi existat o astfel de diferență. Acesta a constatat că reclamantul s-a aflat în această situație pe măsură ce i-a fost acordată o pensie de vârstă la 1 martie 1989, din care 38% au fost deduse pe baza normelor care au făcut o diferență nejustificată între bărbații căsătoriți și femei.
Tribunalul de Apel a remarcat că, începând cu 1 aprilie 1985, principiul egalității de tratament între bărbați și femei a fost încorporat în AOW și că acest lucru a dus la introducerea unui sistem în care dreptul la prestații depline în temeiul prezentei legi este condiționat numai de întrebarea dacă persoana în cauză a finalizat sau nu în mod personal anii de asigurare în temeiul prezentei legi. Acesta a concluzionat că, în acest sens, nu s-a putut reține împotriva femeilor căsătorite, ca și reclamantul, care a respectat pe deplin condițiile de asigurare în temeiul AOW, că nu au fost asigurate pe o anumită perioadă numai pentru motive de stare conjugală. În consecință, Tribunalul de Apel a anulat decizia din 14 februarie 1989, în măsura în care pensia reclamantului a fost redusă cu 38%, a susținut decizia pentru restul și a ordonat că reclamantul are dreptul la o pensie deplină în temeiul AOW.
Consiliul Băncii de Asigurări Sociale a depus un recurs la Tribunalul Central de Apeluri. În hotărârea sa din 26 noiembrie 1993, în urma procedurilor adversare în cursul cărora s-a desfășurat o ședință la 15 octombrie 1993, Tribunalul Central de Apel a anulat decizia din 10 ianuarie 1990 și a respins recursul reclamantului împotriva deciziei din 14 februarie 1989 ca fiind nefondat. Tribunalul Central de Apel a remarcat la început că nu era în litigiu între părți că reclamantul nu aparține grupului de persoane, astfel cum este definit la art. 2 din Directiva CE 79/7/CEE, privind punerea în aplicare progresivă a principiului egalității de tratament a bărbaților și a femeilor în domeniul securității sociale.
Acesta a considerat că acest punct de vedere este corect și, prin urmare, a considerat că întrebarea dacă reducerea pensiei reclamantului nu poate fi examinată în funcție de interdicția discriminării prevăzută la art. 4 alineatul (1) din prezenta directivă. În ceea ce privește întrebarea dacă reducerea pensiei reclamantului a fost compatibilă cu art. 26 din CCPR, Tribunalul Central de Apeluri a considerat că această dispoziție ar putea fi invocată direct, de asemenea în domeniul securității sociale, începând cu 23 decembrie 1984. Acesta a reamintit, de asemenea, jurisprudența conform căreia acest lucru presupune că statele contractante în cadrul CCPR sunt obligate să se asigure că normele lor legale sunt libere de orice formă de discriminare interzisă de această dispoziție.
Cu toate acestea, în conformitate cu Tribunalul Central de Apeluri, o diferență de tratament nu a fost contrară acestei dispoziții în cazul în care există motive obiective și rezonabile pentru a face o astfel de diferență. În această perspectivă, Tribunalul Central al Apelurilor a considerat că art. 26 din CCPR nu putea priva o reglementare națională a efectului său, conform căreia nivelul prestațiilor în cadrul unui sistem de asigurare legală - precum AOW - s-a făcut dependentă de întrebarea dacă perioadele de asigurare au fost finalizate.
Acesta a susținut că acest lucru nu a fost diferit într-o situație în care s-a putut stabili că neterminarea perioadelor de asigurare, în ceea ce privește perioada anterioră la 23 decembrie 1984, a fost bazată pe o regulă internă care a făcut o diferență în ceea ce privește tratamentul pe baza sexului, deoarece această regulă a avut loc în cursul unei perioade în care art. 26 din CCPR nu s-a aplicat încă direct și nu a putut, prin urmare, să priveze această regulă internă de efectul său. La 29 mai 1996 a fost respins recursul ulterior al reclamantului în casație cu Curtea Supremă ( Hoge Raad).
În ceea ce privește argumentul reclamantului potrivit căruia Tribunalul Central de Apel nu a examinat dacă există sau nu o justificare obiectivă și rezonabilă pentru diferența de tratament în cauză, Curtea Supremă a susținut că Tribunalul Central de Apel a constatat corect că, în ceea ce privește perioadele în care reclamantul nu a fost asigurat în temeiul AOW, nu se poate baza pe art. 26 din CCPR, deoarece aceste perioade au predat intrarea în vigoare a acestui instrument internațional. În măsura în care reclamantul s-a plâns că Tribunalul Central al Apelurilor nu a reușit în mod incorect să privească normele discriminatorii în cauză în motive de incompatibilitate cu interzicerea discriminării prevăzute la art. 1 din Constituție (Grondwet ), Curtea Supremă a susținut că perioadele în care reclamantul nu a fost asigurat în temeiul AOW predau intrarea în vigoare a articolului 1 din Constituție.
În măsura în care, la acest punct, reclamantul se bazează pe principii generale de drept nescrise (algemene rechtsbeginselen ) în special principiul egalității, Curtea Supremă a considerat că, în conformitate cu memorandumul explicativ ( Nota van Toelichting ) la primul decret regal privind extinderea și limitarea grupului de asigurări, adică din 20 de ani. Decembrie 1956, excluderea a fost destinată prevenirii unei acumulații nedorite de beneficii. Potrivit acestui memorandum explicativ, pensia construită de către om în străinătate a fost considerată, de asemenea, destinată soțului său. Curtea Supremă a susținut că, având în vedere atitudinea socială care prevalea în momentul respectiv, adică.
Perioadele în care reclamantul nu a fost asigurat în cadrul AOW, atunci guvernul ar fi putut să se bazeze pe ideea că, în practică, este omul care a fost "gaznitorul" astfel încât să se limiteze, în consecință, la excluderea femeilor căsătorite și nu a trebuit să prevadă o dispoziție separată pentru cazurile în care femeia a fost "gaznitorul". Curtea Supremă a concluzionat că, prin urmare, există o justificare obiectivă și rezonabilă pentru diferența de tratament pe motive de sex pe care excluderea în cauză a fost bazată. Curtea Supremă a respins, de asemenea, argumentul reclamantului pe baza principiului egalității prevăzut la art. 4 § 1 din Directiva CE 79/7/CEE privind punerea în aplicare progresivă a principiului egalității de tratament a bărbaților și a femeilor în domeniul securității sociale, deoarece reclamantul nu a fost în sfera de aplicare a articolului 2 din prezenta directivă, care a definit grupul de persoane la care se aplică prezenta directivă.
Legea și practica interne relevante AOW prevede un regim general de pensii de vârstă pentru persoanele care au atins vârsta de 65 de ani. În temeiul acestui regim, toate persoanele cu vârsta între 15 și 65 de ani care locuiesc în Țările de Jos sunt asigurate. Contribuțiile la acest regim sunt plătite de toate persoanele care sunt angajate în beneficiu în Țările de Jos.
Drepturile acordate unei prestații AOW nu depind de nivelul contribuțiilor plătite ca, în contravenție cu un sistem de securitate socială bazat pe ocuparea forței de muncă ( Werknemersverzekering), acesta este un sistem general de securitate socială ( Volksverzekering ). Cu toate acestea, nivelul beneficiilor este legat de perioada de timp în care o persoană a fost asigurată în conformitate cu art. 13 (art. 10 înainte de 1 aprilie 1985) din AOW, o pensie AOW este redusă cu 2% pentru fiecare an, între vârsta de 15 și 65 de ani, că persoana în cauză nu a fost asigurată în cadrul AOW din motive, printre altele, Reședința în afara Țărilor de Jos. O persoană asigurată în cadrul AOW de 50 de ani are dreptul la o pensie completă AOW.
La 19 decembrie 1978, Consiliul Comunităților Europene a emis Directiva 79/7/CEE privind punerea în aplicare progresivă a egalității de tratament între bărbați și femei în domeniul asigurării sociale, permițând statelor membre o perioadă de șase ani până la 23 de ani. Decembrie 1984, în cadrul căreia un bărbat căsătorit are dreptul la o pensie AOW pentru un cuplu căsătorit egal cu 100% din salariul minim în vigoare în Țările de Jos. Persoanele nemaritate ale fiecărui sex au dreptul la 70% din salariul minim. O femeie căsătorită nu are dreptul în propriul drept. În conformitate cu Decretul regal privind extinderea și limitarea grupului de asigurări, astfel cum a fost modificat în mai multe ocazii, o femeie căsătorită care locuiește în Țările de Jos - al căror soț a fost angajat în străinătate și asigurat social în țara străină de ocupare a forței de muncă - nu a fost asigurată în temeiul AOW.
De la 1 aprilie 1985, femeile căsătorite au devenit în dreptul propriu la o pensie AOW. Fiecare soț a devenit dreptul la o pensie AOW egal cu 50% din salariul minim. Poziția persoanelor necăsătorite a rămas neschimbată. Ca urmare a acestei schimbări, femeile căsătorite nu mai sunt excluse de la asigurarea AOW pentru perioadele în care soții lor au fost angajati în străinătate, cu condiția ca ei înșiși să locuiască în permanență în Țările de Jos sau au contribuit în sine pe baza unui loc de muncă câștigătoare în Țările de Jos. art. 1 din Constituția din 1983 prevede: <Translation> "Toate persoanele prezente în Țările de Jos sunt tratate în același mod în situații similare. Discriminarea pe motive de religie, convingeri filozofice, inclinații politice, rasă, sex sau orice alt motiv nu este permis." În temeiul legii constituționale Țările de Jos, instanțele nu pot revizui constituționalitatea statutelor.
art. 120 din Constituție citește: <Traducere> "Curtele nu se pronunță cu privire la constituționalitatea ( grondwettigheid ) a statutelor și tratatelor." Legislația delegată, pe de altă parte, poate fi examinată pentru a stabili dacă este în conformitate cu Constituția și chiar cu principiile generale de drept nescrise (cf. Hoge Raad, 1 decembrie 1993, Beslissingen în Belastingzaken 1994, nr. 64). art. 93 din Constituție prevede că dispozițiile tratatelor și deciziilor internaționale ale organizațiilor internaționale (interguvernamentale) care, în conformitate cu conținutul lor, pot fi obligatorii pentru oricine are forță obligatorie după publicarea acestora. , Convenția, care a fost ratificată prin Legea din 28 iulie 1954 și CCPR din 1966. art. 26 din CCPR prevede următoarele: "Toate persoanele sunt egale în fața legii și au dreptul fără discriminare la protecția egală a legii.
În acest sens, legea interzice orice discriminare și garanție pentru toate persoanele de protecție egală și eficace împotriva discriminării pe orice motiv, cum ar fi rasă, culoare, sex, limba, religie, opinie politică sau de altă natură, origine națională sau socială, proprietate, naștere sau alt statut." Curtea Supremă a recunoscut în hotărârea sa din 2 februarie 1982 (Nederlandse Jurispredentie 1982, nr. 424 [rectificat în Nederlandse Jurisprudentie 1982, nr. 475]), că art. 26 din Pact este o dispoziție a unui tratat internațional care, în conformitate cu conținutul său, poate fi obligatoriu pentru oricine, și, prin urmare, trebuie, în principiu, să fie aplicat direct de instanțe din Țările de Jos.
Cu toate acestea, în o serie de hotărâri s-a refuzat să convingă art. 26 din Pact astfel încât să privească legislația națională de efectul său, chiar dacă consideră că o anumită măsură constituie discriminare ilegală între bărbați și femei, susținând că atunci când autoritățile naționale au fost deschise diferitelor opțiuni pentru a elimina o astfel de discriminare, alegerea ar trebui lăsată legislatorului în vederea implicațiilor sociale și juridice în fiecare curs de acțiune posibil (cf. Hoge Raad, 12 octombrie 1984, Nederlandse Jurisprudentie 1985, nr. 230, și Hoge Raad, 23 octombrie 1988, Nederlandse Jurisprudentie 1989, nr. 740). În hotărârea sa din 16 noiembrie 1990 (Nederlandse Jurisprudentie 1991, nr. 475), citat în Hotărârea Curții Kroon și alții c. Olanda din 27 octombrie 1994 (Seria A nr. 297-C), Curtea Supremă a ajuns la o concluzie similară cu privire la art. 14 din Convenția adoptată împreună cu art. 8 (loc.
cit., p. 50, § 14). Reclamantul se plânge că reducerea pensiei sale în temeiul AOW este rezultatul unei diferențe discriminatorii în ceea ce privește tratamentul între bărbați căsătoriți și femei în contradicție cu art. 14 din Convenție, coroborat cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. HOTĂRÂREA Reclamantul se plânge că reducerea pensiei sale în temeiul AOW este rezultatul unei diferențe discriminatorii în ceea ce privește tratamentul între bărbați căsătoriți și femei în contradicție cu art. 14 din Convenție, coroborat cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. art. 14 din Convenție prevede: „Ducrarea drepturilor și libertăților prevăzute în prezenta convenție este asigurată fără discriminare pe niciun motiv, cum ar fi sexul, rasa, culoarea, limba, religia, opinia politică sau de altă natură, origine națională sau socială, asocierea cu o minoritate națională, proprietatea, nașterea sau alt statut.” art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 se citește: „Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale.
Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesiunile sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și prin principiile generale ale dreptului internațional.
Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea bunurilor în conformitate cu dobânda generală sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau penalități.” Guvernul susține în primul rând că reclamantul nu a epuizat căile de recurs interne în sensul articolului 35 § 1 din Convenție în sensul că, în nici o etapă a procedurii interne, ea a susținut că decizia în cauză constituia o privare de bunuri în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. Reclamantul susține că și-a formulat plângerea în temeiul Convenției în substanță în fața instanțelor interne, deoarece s-a plângut pe parcursul procedurii interne că reducerea pensiei sale cu 38% a fost discriminatorie.
Ea se referă la acest punct la decizia privind admisibilitatea în cererea nr. 20948/92 (Eur. Comm. HR, Mehmet Ișıltan c. Turcia , dec. 22.5.95, D.R. 81, p. 35). Curtea reamintește că pur și simplul fapt că toate remediile au fost judecate nu constituie, în sine, respectarea cerinței articolului 35 § 1 din Convenție de a fi epuizate și că, de asemenea, este necesar ca reclamanții să fi prezentat în fața autorităților naționale, cel puțin în substanță, plângerea pe care o prezintă în fața Curții (cf. Akdivar și alții v. Hotărârea Turciei din 16 septembrie 1996, Raporturile hotărârilor și deciziilor 1996-IV, p. 1210, § 66). Curtea remarcă că, deși reclamantul nu a invocat în mod explicit nicio dispoziție în Convenția în cadrul procedurii interne, caracterul presupus discriminatoriu al deciziei de reducere a pensiei AOW a solicitat constituie, de fapt, baza procedurii instituite de solicitant în fața instanțelor naționale.
În aceste circumstanțe, Curtea acceptă faptul că reclamantul și-a formulat plângerea în temeiul articolului 14 din Convenție în substanță în fața instanțelor naționale, inclusiv cea mai înaltă instanță competentă, și a respectat, prin urmare, cerințele de epuizare a căilor de recurs interne în ceea ce privește plângerea ei de a fi supusă unui tratament discriminatoriu. Guvernul susține, de asemenea, că procedura în cauză nu se referă la un drept garantat de art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 și, prin urmare, nu se aplică domeniului de aplicare al articolului 14 din Convenție. Referindu-se la cazul J.O. și al. c. Țările de Jos (Eur. Comm HR, nr. 4130/69, dec. 20.78.71, nepublicat), Lokkertsen-Meertsen c. Țările de Jos (Eur.
Comm. HR, nr. 5763/72, dec. 18.12.73, nepublicat), Vos v. Țările de Jos (Eur. Comm. HR, nr. 10971/84, dec. 10.7.85, D.R. 43, p. 190) și hotărârea Gaygusuz v. Austria din 16 septembrie 1996 (Raporturi 1996-IV, p. 1129), Guvernul susține că, sistemele de asigurări sociale caracterizate de principiul solidarității nu sunt compatibile cu definiția beneficiilor ca „posesiuni” în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 în acest sens, spre deosebire de sistemele în care nivelul beneficiilor este legat de contribuțiile plătite, un sistem bazat pe solidaritate distribuie resursele disponibile în mod egal între toți reclamanții. În acest sens, Guvernul susține că, în cadrul regimului AOW, toți cei care sunt în muncă plătită în Țările de Jos contribuie la fonduri din care sunt plătite pensiile celor care au dreptul la o pensie AOW.
Persoanele care au atins vârsta de 65 de ani și persoanele care au puțin sau nici un venit nu contribuie la sistemul AOW. De asemenea, grupul de contributori este diferit de grupul de beneficiari.
Având în vedere absența unei legături între contribuția și dreptul în temeiul schemei AOW, Guvernul consideră că, prin urmare, o pensie AOW nu poate fi considerată ca fiind inclusă în domeniul de aplicare al articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. Austria respinge argumentele guvernului cu privire la aplicabilitatea articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. Ea susține că cererile pecuniare pe baza normelor legale sau a reglementărilor sunt strâns legate de securitatea socială și de sustenabilitate a unei persoane și, prin urmare, au o greutate egală ca și alte drepturi de proprietate și, prin urmare, trebuie considerate ca fiind incluse în domeniul de aplicare al articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. Curtea reamintește că, spre deosebire de art. 26 din Pactul Internațional privind Drepturile Civile și Politice, art. 14 din Convenția nu are existență independentă, deoarece aceasta are efect numai în ceea ce privește „precierea drepturilor și libertăților” garantate de celelalte dispoziții de fond ale Convenției.
Deși aplicarea articolului 14 nu presupune încălcarea acestor dispoziții de fond - și în această măsură este autonomă -, nu poate exista loc pentru aplicarea sa, dacă faptele în cauză nu se încadrează în unul sau mai multe dintre dispozițiile de fond ale Convenției (cf. Hotărârea Karlheinz Schmidt v. Germania din 18 iulie 1994, Seria A nr. 291-B, p. 32, punctul 22). Prin urmare, se pune întrebarea dacă dreptul la pensie poate fi considerat ca fiind o „poziție” în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. Tribunalul observă că Comisia Europeană a Drepturilor Omului a examinat această întrebare în mai multe ocazii. Potrivit jurisprudenței constante ale Comisiei, în timp ce nu există dreptul la o pensie ca atare inclusă în Convenție, efectuarea contribuțiilor obligatorii la un fond de pensie poate, în anumite condiții, crea un drept de proprietate într-o parte a acestui fond (cf. Müller v. Austria, Comm.
Raport 1.10.75, D.R. 3, p. 25; nr. 7624/76, dec. 6.7.77, D.R. 19, p. 100; nr. 10671/83, dec. 4.3.85, D.R. 42, p.; 229; nr. 12264/86, dec. 13.7.88, D.R. 57, p. 131; și nr. 11543/85, dec. 5.3.90, D.R. 65, p. 51). În plus, în măsura în care art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 include dreptul de a beneficia de un sistem de securitate socială, persoana în cauză trebuie, pentru a stabili acest drept, să îndeplinească condițiile stabilite de dreptul intern (cf. Eur Comm. HR, nr. 7459/76, dec. 5.10.77, D.R. 11, p. 1114; și nr. 10443/83, dec. 15.7.88, D.R. 56, p. 20; și Curtea Eur. HR, Gaygusuz v. Austria hotărârea din 16 septembrie 1996, Raporturi 1996-IV, p. 1141-1142, §§§ 39-41; și nr. 40832/98, 40833/98 și 409066/98, Bellet, Huertas și Vialatte v. Franța, dec. 27.4.99).
În ceea ce privește faptele cauzei instantanee, Curtea constată că nu este contestat faptul că reclamantul are dreptul la o pensie AOW cel puțin parțială și, prin urmare, acceptă faptul că dreptul reclamantului la o pensie în temeiul AOW poate fi considerat ca fiind o „poziție” în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 și că, prin urmare, art. 14 din convenție este aplicabil. În ceea ce privește substanța plângerii în temeiul articolului 14, Guvernul susține că există o justificare obiectivă și rezonabilă pentru diferența de tratament plângută și că distincția a căzut în cadrul marjei de apreciere ale statelor contractante în ceea ce privește discreționarea în materie de elaborare a politicilor.
Guvernul susține că, având în vedere atitudinea socială prevalentă în momentul material, dreptul unei femei căsătorite la asigurarea AOW a fost legat de soțul ei, deoarece acesta din urmă a fost cel care a fost îngrijitor în marea majoritate a cazurilor în acel moment. După atitudinea socială s-a schimbat, sistemul AOW a fost modificat începând cu 1 aprilie 1985 oferind femeilor căsătorite un drept independent la asigurarea AOW și beneficiile. Pe măsură ce schimbările atitudinelor sociale apar treptat, este practic imposibil de indicat cu precizie atunci când a avut loc o schimbare în societate care elimină o justificare derivată din atitudinea socială. Cu toate acestea, întrebarea dacă perioadele sunt asigurate trebuie să fie răspunsă pe baza dispozițiilor aplicate la momentul material.
În cele din urmă, argumentând că primirea în totalitate a două sau mai multe pensii de securitate socială ar trebui evitată, Guvernul subliniază că reclamantul primește o pensie dintr-o țară străină, precum și o pensie AOW redusă. Reclamantul susține că Guvernul nu negă faptul că normele AOW în vigoare în momentul respectiv au discriminat femeile căsătorite și este de părere că nu există o relație rezonabilă de proporționalitate între mijloacele angajate și scopul căutat de a fi realizat, adică acumularea nedorită a drepturilor de pensie. În opinia sa ar fi putut fi posibilă o altă legislație. În ceea ce privește momentul în care a fost schimbată atitudinea socială, reclamantul susține că chiar și în 1957 principiul egalității și interzicerea discriminării a fost un principiu general atât al dreptului național, cât și al dreptului internațional.
În acest sens, ea se referă la art. 1 din Declarația Universală a Drepturilor Omului din 1948, care spune că „toate ființele umane se nasc libere și egale în demnitate și drepturi”. Ea se referă în continuare la art. 14 din Convenția (1950), precum și la art. 12 § 4 din Carta socială europeană (1961), în care, în cele din urmă, statele contractante s-au angajat să asigure egalitatea de tratament cu propriile lor resortisanți ai celorlalte părți contractante în ceea ce privește drepturile de securitate socială. Reclamantul este de părere că nu există motive importante pentru a se confrunta cu un grup mic de femei, care nu intră în domeniul de aplicare al Directivei CE 79/7, pentru restul vieții lor cu consecințele unei dispoziții discriminatorii din trecut, care a fost abolită între timp.
Prin urmare, Curtea concluzionează că cererea nu este manifestament nefondată în sensul articolului 35 § 3 din Convenție. Din aceste motive, Curtea, în unanimitate, declară că cererea nu este admisibilă , fără să se judece de meritul cazului.
FIRST SECTION
FINAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 34462/97 by Rika E.W. WESSELS-BERGERVOET against the Netherlands The European Court of Human Rights (First Section), sitting on 3 October 2000 as a Chamber composed of Mrs E. Palm, President , Mrs W. Thomassen, Mr Gaukur Jörundsson, Mr R. Türmen, Mr C. Bîrsan, Mr J. Casadevall, Mr R. Maruste, judges , and Mr M. O'Boyle, Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application introduced with the European Commission of Human Rights on 11 October 1996 and registered on 13 January 1997, Having regard to Article 5 § 2 of Protocol No. 11 to the Convention, by which the competence to examine the application was transferred to the Court, Having regard to the partial decision of 1 December 1998, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant is a Dutch national, born in 1924, and resides in Gaanderen.
She is represented before the Court by Ms. H. Mollema-de Jong, a lawyer practising in Amersfoort. A. Particular circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. The applicant and her husband have always lived in the Netherlands. By decision of 7 August 1984, the applicant's husband was granted an old age pension for a married person under the General Old Age Pension Act ( Algemene Ouderdomswet ; hereinafter referred to as "AOW") as from 1 August 1984. However, pursuant to the then Article 10 of the AOW, his pension was reduced by 38% as neither the applicant nor he himself had been insured under this Act during nine periods between 1 February 1957 and 1 August 1977, during which periods he had worked in Germany and where he had had an old age insurance under the German social security legislation.
These nine periods amounted in total to globally nineteen years. No appeal was filed against this decision. After the applicant had reached the age of sixty-five in 1989, the Board of the Social Insurance Bank ( Sociale Verzekeringsbank ), by decision of 14 February 1989, granted the applicant an old age pension under the AOW as from 1 March 1989. However, on the same basis as her husband's pension, her pension was also reduced by 38%. The applicant filed an appeal with the then Appeals Tribunal ( Raad van Beroep ) of Arnhem complaining that the reduction of her old age pension by 38% constituted discriminatory treatment.
In its decision of 10 January 1990, following both written and oral adversarial proceedings, the Appeals Tribunal noted that, pursuant to Articles 7 and 9 of the AOW, a married person - like the applicant - who had been insured under this Act and who had reached the age of 65 was entitled to an old age pension amounting to 50% of the net minimum wage per month. However, pursuant to Article 13 of the AOW this amount could be reduced by 2% for each full year in which the person concerned had not been insured between the ages of fifteen and sixty-five. It further noted that, pursuant to Article 6 § 1 of the AOW, those insured were persons between the ages of fifteen and sixty-five, who were either Netherlands residents or, if not Netherlands residents, subject to payment of wage tax ( loonbelasting ) in respect of work carried out in the Netherlands under a contract of employment.
Under the present paragraph 2 of Article 6 of the AOW, it was possible, by way of an Order in Council ( Algemene Maatregel van Bestuur ), to extend or limit the group of insured in derogation from the general rule contained in Article 6 § 1 of the AOW. The Appeals Tribunal recalled the case-law of the Central Appeals Tribunal ( Centrale Raad van Beroep ) to the effect that the question whether or not a person was insured under the AOW fell to be determined on the basis of the rules in force at the relevant time.
It further recalled that, according to five consecutive Royal Decrees on Extension and Limitation of the group of insured persons ( Koninklijke Besluiten Uitbreiding en Beperking van de kring der verzekerden ) issued under Article 6 § 1 of the AOW and in force until 1 April 1985, not insured under the AOW were those persons residing in the Netherlands but working outside the Netherlands under a contract of employment and who, in respect of this employment, were socially insured under a foreign legislation. This limitation also applied to a woman married to a person who, on the basis of these Royal Decrees, was not insured under the AOW.
The Appeals Tribunal noted that it was not in dispute that the applicant's husband had been working in Germany during the periods at issue and that, during these periods and in accordance with the Ordinance nr. 3 of the Council of Ministers of the European Communities (until 1 October 1972) and subsequently Ordinance 1408/71, he had been subject to the German social security legislation. It found that, in these circumstances, the Social Insurance Bank had correctly concluded that the applicant was not insured under the AOW for the period of time her husband had worked in Germany.
However, as regards the question whether this situation was compatible with the principle of equality, in particular the prohibition of discrimination between men and women, the Appeals Tribunal noted that there was a provision in the Royal Decrees at issue which rendered the insurance under the AOW of married women dependent on the question whether or not their husbands were insured under the AOW, whereas the Decrees did not contain a comparable provision as regards married men. The Appeals Tribunal examined the applicant's situation in the light of Article 26 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR). It recalled the case-law of the Central Appeals Tribunal according to which, as from 23 December 1984, this provision was directly applicable in the Netherlands legal order, also in the field of social security.
The Appeals Tribunal found that this implied that rights could be derived directly from this provision insofar as an application, after 23 December 1984, of statutory rules created a difference in treatment between men and women without any objective and reasonable justification for this difference in treatment and which difference in treatment further led to a more unfavourable result than the result would have been if there had not been such a difference. It found that the applicant found herself in this situation as she had been awarded an old age pension on 1 March 1989 from which 38% was deducted on the basis of rules which made an unjustified difference between married men and women.
The Appeals Tribunal noted that, as from 1 April 1985, the principle of equal treatment between men and women had been incorporated in the AOW and that this had resulted in the introduction of a system in which the entitlement to full benefits under this Act was made solely dependent on the question whether or not the person concerned had personally completed the insurance years under this Act. It concluded that, in this light, it could not be held against married women, like the applicant, who had fully complied with the conditions for insurance under the AOW, that they had not been insured during a certain period solely on grounds of marital status. Consequently, the Appeals Tribunal quashed the decision of 14 February 1989, insofar as the applicant's pension was reduced by 38%, upheld the decision for the remainder and ordered that the applicant was entitled to a full pension under the AOW.
The Board of the Social Insurance Bank filed an appeal with the Central Appeals Tribunal. In its judgment of 26 November 1993, following adversarial proceedings in the course of which a hearing was held on 15 October 1993, the Central Appeals Tribunal quashed the decision of 10 January 1990 and rejected the applicant's appeal against the decision of 14 February 1989 as ill-founded. The Central Appeals Tribunal noted at the outset that it was not in dispute between the parties that the applicant did not belong to the group of persons as defined in Article 2 of the EC Directive 79/7/EEC on the gradual implementation of the principle of equal treatment of men and women in the field of social security.
It considered this view to be correct and, consequently, held that the question whether the reduction of the applicant's pension could not be examined in the light of the prohibition of discrimination set out in Article 4 § 1 of this Directive. As regards the question whether the reduction of the applicant's pension was compatible with Article 26 of the ICCPR, the Central Appeals Tribunal considered that this provision could be directly invoked, also in the field of social security, as from 23 December 1984. It further recalled the case-law according to which this implied that Contracting States to the ICCPR were obliged to ensure that their statutory rules were free of any form of discrimination prohibited by this provision.
However, according to the Central Appeals Tribunal, a difference in treatment was not contrary to this provision where there were objective and reasonable grounds for making such a difference. In this perspective, the Central Appeals Tribunal held that Article 26 of the ICCPR could not deprive a national statutory rule of its effect according to which the level of benefits under a statutory insurance scheme - like the AOW - was made dependent on the question of whether the periods of insurance had been completed. It held that this was no different in a situation where it could be established that the non-completion of periods of insurance, as regards the period before 23 December 1984, was based on a domestic rule which made a difference in treatment on the basis of sex as this rule had been in operation during a period in which Article 26 of the ICCPR had not yet directly applied and could not, therefore, deprive this domestic rule of its effect.
The applicant's subsequent appeal in cassation with the Supreme Court ( Hoge Raad ) was rejected on 29 May 1996. As to the applicant's argument that the Central Appeals Tribunal had failed to examine whether or not there was an objective and reasonable justification for the difference in treatment at issue, the Supreme Court held that the Central Appeals Tribunal had correctly found that, as regards the periods in which the applicant had not been insured under the AOW, she could not rely on Article 26 of the ICCPR as these periods predated the entry into force of this international instrument.
Insofar as the applicant complained that the Central Appeals Tribunal had unjustly failed to deprive the discriminatory rule at issue of its effect on grounds of incompatibility with the prohibition of discrimination contained in Article 1 of the Constitution ( Grondwet ), the Supreme Court held that the periods during which the applicant had not been insured under the AOW predated the entry into force of Article 1 of the Constitution. Insofar as, on this point, the applicant relied on unwritten general principles of law ( algemene rechtsbeginselen ) in particular the principle of equality, the Supreme Court considered that, according to the Explanatory Memorandum ( Nota van Toelichting ) to the first Royal Decree on Extension and Limitation of the group of insured persons, i.e.
of 20 December 1956, the exclusion was aimed at the prevention of an undesirable accumulation of benefits. According to this Explanatory Memorandum the pension built up by the man abroad was also considered to be destined for his spouse. The Supreme Court held that in view of the social attitudes prevailing at the relevant time, i.e. the periods during which the applicant had not been insured under the AOW, the then Government could have based themselves on the idea that in practically all cases it was the man who was the "breadwinner" so that they could accordingly limit themselves to exclude married women and did not have to make a separate provision for those cases where the woman was the "breadwinner". The Supreme Court concluded that, therefore, there was an objective and reasonable justification for the difference in treatment on grounds of sex on which the exclusion at issue was based.
The Supreme Court further rejected the applicant's argument based on the principle of equality contained in Article 4 § 1 of the EC Directive 79/7/EEC on the gradual implementation of the principle of equal treatment of men and women in the field of social security, as the applicant fell outside the scope of Article 2 of this Directive which provision defined the group of persons to whom this Directive applied. B. Relevant domestic law and practice The AOW provides for a general old age pension scheme for persons who have attained the age of 65. Under this scheme, all persons between the ages of 15 and 65 who are residing in the Netherlands are insured. Contributions to this scheme are paid by all persons who are gainfully employed in the Netherlands.
Entitlement to an AOW benefit is not dependent on the level of contributions paid as, contrary to a social security scheme based on employment ( werknemersverzekering ), it is a general social security scheme ( volksverzekering ). The level of benefits is, however, linked to the period of time during which a person has been insured under the AOW as, pursuant to Article 13 (Article 10 before 1 April 1985) of the AOW, an AOW pension is reduced by 2% for each year, between the ages of 15 and 65, that the person concerned has not been insured under the AOW on grounds of, inter alia , residence outside of the Netherlands. A person who has been insured under the AOW for 50 years is entitled to a full AOW pension.
On 19 December 1978, the Council of the European Communities issued Directive 79/7/EEC concerning the gradual implementation of equal treatment between men and women in the field of social security, allowing member states a period of six years until 23 December 1984 within which to make any amendments to legislation which might be necessary in order to bring it in conformity with the directive. Until 1 April 1985, a married man was entitled to an AOW pension for a married couple equal to 100% of the minimum wage in force in the Netherlands. Unmarried persons of either sex were entitled to 70% of the minimum wage. A married woman had no entitlement in her own right. According to the Royal Decree on Extension and Limitation of the group of insured persons, as amended on several occasions, a married woman residing in the Netherlands - whose husband was employed abroad and socially insured in the foreign country of employment - was not insured under the AOW.
As from 1 April 1985, married women became entitled in their own right to an AOW pension. Each spouse became entitled to an AOW pension equal to 50% of the minimum wage. The position for unmarried persons remained unchanged. As a result of this change, married women are no longer excluded from the AOW insurance for periods during which their husbands were employed abroad, provided that they themselves have continuously resided in the Netherlands or have themselves contributed on the basis of gainful employment in the Netherlands. Article 1 of the 1983 Constitution provides: <Translation> "All persons present in the Netherlands shall be treated in the same way in similar situations. Discrimination on the ground of religion, philosophical convictions, political leanings, race, sex, or any other ground whatsoever shall not be allowed." Under Netherlands constitutional law, courts may not review the constitutionality of statutes.
Article 120 of the Constitution reads: <Translation> "The courts shall not rule on the constitutionality ( grondwettigheid ) of statutes and treaties." Delegated legislation, on the other hand, may be examined to determine whether it is in conformity with the Constitution and even with unwritten general principles of law (cf. Hoge Raad, 1 December 1993, Beslissingen in Belastingzaken 1994, no. 64). Article 93 of the Constitution provides that provisions of international treaties and decisions of international (intergovernmental) organisations which, according to their content, may be binding on anyone shall have binding force after they have been published.
With regard to the prohibition of discrimination, the Netherlands is a party to, inter alia , the Convention, which was ratified by Act of 28 July 1954, and the ICCPR of 1966. Article 26 of the ICCPR provides as follows: "All persons are equal before the law and are entitled without discrimination to the equal protection of the law.
In this respect, the law shall prohibit any discrimination and guarantee to all persons equal and effective protection against discrimination on any ground such as race, colour, sex, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, property, birth or other status." The Supreme Court recognised in its judgment of 2 February 1982 ( Nederlandse Jurisprudentie 1982, no. 424 [corrected in Nederlandse Jurisprudentie 1982, no. 475]), that Article 26 of the Covenant is a provision of an international treaty which, according to its content, may be binding on anyone, and must therefore in principle be applied directly by the Netherlands courts.
However, in a number of judgments it has declined to construe Article 26 of the Covenant in such a way as to deprive national legislation of its effect even if it considered that a given measure constituted illegal discrimination between men and women, holding that where various options were open to the national authorities to remove such discrimination, the choice should be left to the legislature in view of the social and legal implications attending each possible course of action (cf. Hoge Raad, 12 October 1984, Nederlandse Jurisprudentie 1985, no. 230, and Hoge Raad, 23 October 1988, Nederlandse Jurisprudentie 1989, no. 740). In its judgment of 16 November 1990 ( Nederlandse Jurisprudentie 1991, no. 475), cited in the Court's Kroon and Others v. the Netherlands judgment of 27 October 1994 (Series A no. 297-C), the Supreme Court came to a similar finding with regard to Article 14 of the Convention taken together with Article 8 (loc.
cit., p. 50, § 14). COMPLAINT The applicant complains that the reduction of her pension under the AOW is the result of a discriminatory difference in treatment between married men and women contrary to Article 14 of the Convention in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. THE LAW 1. The applicant complains that the reduction of her pension under the AOW is the result of a discriminatory difference in treatment between married men and women contrary to Article 14 of the Convention in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. Article 14 of the Convention provides: “The enjoyment of the rights and freedoms set forth in this Convention shall be secured without discrimination on any ground such as sex, race, colour, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, association with a national minority, property, birth or other status.” Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 reads: “Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions.
No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law.
The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” 2. The Government submit in the first place that the applicant has failed to exhaust domestic remedies within the meaning of Article 35 § 1 of the Convention in that at no stage in the domestic proceedings she has contended that the decision at issue constituted a deprivation of possessions within the meaning of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. The applicant submits that she has raised her complaint under the Convention in substance before the domestic courts in that she has complained throughout the domestic proceedings that the reduction of her pension by 38% was discriminatory.
She refers on this point to the decision on admissibility in Application No. 20948/92 (Eur. Comm. HR, Mehmet Ișıltan v. Turkey , Dec. 22.5.95, D.R. 81, p. 35). The Court recalls that the mere fact that all remedies have been tried does not in itself constitute compliance with the requirement of Article 35 § 1 of the Convention that the domestic remedies have been exhausted. It is also required that applicants must have raised before the national authorities, at least in substance, the complaint they bring before the Court (cf. Akdivar and Others v. Turkey judgment of 16 September 1996, Reports of Judgments and Decisions 1996-IV, p. 1210, § 66). The Court notes that, although the applicant has not explicitly invoked any provision in the Convention in the domestic proceedings, the alleged discriminatory nature of the decision to reduce the applicant's AOW pension did in fact form the basis of the proceedings instituted by the applicant before the national courts.
In these circumstances, the Court accepts that the applicant has raised her complaint under Article 14 of the Convention in substance before the domestic courts, including the highest competent court, and has therefore complied with the requirement of exhaustion of domestic remedies in respect of her complaint of having been subjected to a discriminatory treatment. 3. The Government further submit that the proceedings at issue do not concern a right guaranteed by Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 and, consequently, fall outside the scope of Article 14 of the Convention. Relying on the cases of J.O. et al. v. the Netherlands (Eur. Comm HR, No. 4130/69, Dec. 20.78.71, unpublished), Lokkertsen-Meertsens v. the Netherlands (Eur.
Comm. HR, No. 5763/72, Dec. 18.12.73, unpublished), Vos v. the Netherlands (Eur. Comm. HR, No. 10971/84, Dec. 10.7.85, D.R. 43, p. 190) and the Gaygusuz v. Austria judgment of 16 September 1996 ( Reports 1996-IV, p. 1129), the Government argue that, social insurance schemes characterised by the principle of solidarity are scarcely compatible with the definition of benefits as “possessions” within the meaning of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 in that, unlike systems under which the level of benefit is linked to contributions paid, a system based on solidarity distributes the available resources equally among all claimants. On this point, the Government submit that, under the AOW scheme, all those who are in paid employment in the Netherlands contribute funds from which the pensions of those who are entitled to an AOW pension are paid.
Persons having reached the age of 65 and persons having little or no income do not contribute to the AOW scheme. Entitlement to AOW benefits does not depend on whether or not contributions have been paid. Therefore, the group of contributors is different from the group of beneficiaries. Given the absence of a connection between contribution and entitlement under the AOW scheme, the Government consider that, therefore, an AOW pension cannot be regarded as falling within the scope of the Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. The applicant, also relying on the Court's findings in its judgment in the case of Gaygusuz v. Austria refutes the Government's arguments as to the applicability of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. She argues that, in that case, there was also no link between contributions paid and benefits under the domestic emergency assistance scheme.
She submits that pecuniary claims on the basis of statutory rules or regulations are closely linked to a person's social security and subsistence and thus have an equal weight as other property rights and, therefore, must be considered as falling within the scope of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. The Court recalls that, unlike Article 26 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, Article 14 of the Convention has no independent existence since it has effect solely in relation to "the enjoyment of the rights and freedoms" guaranteed by the other substantive provisions of the Convention.
Although the application of Article 14 does not presuppose a breach of those substantive provisions - and to this extent it is autonomous -, there can be no room for its application unless the facts in issue fall within the ambit of one or more of the substantive provisions of the Convention (cf. Karlheinz Schmidt v. Germany judgment of 18 July 1994, Series A no. 291-B, p. 32, para. 22). The question therefore arises whether the right to a pension can be regarded as constituting a “possession” within the meaning of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. The Court observes that the European Commission of Human Rights has examined this question on several occasions. According to the Commission's constant case-law, whilst no right to a pension is as such included in the Convention, the making of compulsory contributions to a pension fund may, in certain circumstances, create a property right in a portion of such fund (cf. Müller v. Austria, Comm.
Report 1.10.75, D.R. 3, p. 25; No. 7624/76, Dec. 6.7.77, D.R. 19, p. 100; No. 10671/83, Dec. 4.3.85, D.R. 42, p; 229; No. 12264/86, Dec. 13.7.88, D.R. 57, p. 131; and No. 11543/85, Dec. 5.3.90, D.R. 65, p. 51). Furthermore, insofar as Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 includes the right to derive benefits from a social security system, the person concerned must, in order to establish that right, satisfy the conditions set by domestic law (cf. Eur Comm. HR, No. 7459/76, Dec. 5.10.77, D.R. 11, p. 114; and No. 10443/83, Dec. 15.7.88, D.R. 56, p. 20; and Eur. Court HR, Gaygusuz v. Austria judgment of 16 September 1996, Reports 1996-IV, pp. 1141-1142, §§ 39-41; and Nos. 40832/98, 40833/98 & 40906/98, Bellet, Huertas and Vialatte v. France, Dec. 27.4.99).
Turning to the facts of the instant case, the Court notes that it is not disputed that the applicant is entitled to an at least partial AOW pension and, therefore, accepts that the applicant's right to a pension under the AOW can be regarded as a “possession” within the meaning of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 and that, consequently, Article 14 of the Convention is applicable. 4. As regards the substance of the complaint under Article 14, the Government submit that there is an objective and reasonable justification for the difference in treatment complained and that the distinction fell within the Contracting States' margin of appreciation of policymaking discretion. The Government submit that, given the prevailing social attitudes at the material time, a married woman's entitlement to AOW insurance was linked to her husband as the latter was the breadwinner in the vast majority of cases at the time.
After social attitudes had changed, the AOW system was altered as from 1 April 1985 giving married women an independent right to AOW insurance and benefits. As changes in social attitudes occur gradually, it is virtually impossible to indicate with precision when a change has taken place in society that eliminates a justification derived from social attitudes. However, the question of whether periods were insured must be answered on the basis of provisions that applied at the material time. Finally, arguing that the receipt in full of two or more social security pensions should be avoided, the Government point out that the applicant is receiving a pension from a foreign country as well as a reduced AOW pension.
The applicant submits that the Government does not deny that the AOW rules in force at the relevant time did discriminate against married women and is of the opinion that there is no reasonable relationship of proportionality between the means employed and the aim sought to be realised, i.e. the undesirable accumulation of pension rights. In her opinion other legislation could have been possible. As to the point in time when social attitudes had changed, the applicant argues that even in 1957 the principle of equality and the resulting prohibition of discrimination was a general principle of both national and international law. In this respect, she refers to Article 1 of the 1948 Universal Declaration of Human Rights, which states that “All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights”.
She further refers to Article 14 of the Convention (1950) as well as to Article 12 § 4 of the European Social Charter (1961) in which latter provision the Contracting States undertook to ensure equal treatment with their own nationals of nationals of other Contracting Parties in respect of social security rights. The applicant is of the opinion that there are no weighty reasons to confront a small group of women, who do not fall within the scope of the EC Directive 79/7, for the rest of their lives with the consequences of a discriminatory provision from the past that has been abolished in the meantime. The Court considers, in the light of the parties' submissions that the case raises serious issues of law and fact under the Convention, the determination of which should depend on an examination of the merits of the application.
The Court concludes, therefore, that the application is not manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. No other grounds for declaring it inadmissible have been established. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously,
DECLARES THE APPLICATION ADMISSIBLE
, without prejudging the merits of the case. Michael O'Boyle Elisabeth Palm Registrar President