- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 11 februarie 2003
- Stat pârât
- NLD
- Concluzia
- Scoasă de pe rol
Okkinga-Ter Kuile împotriva Țărilor de Jos
Traducere în română Auto
SEGUNDA SECȚIUNE DECIZIE Nr. 47756/99 de către M.E. OKKINGA-TER KUILE împotriva Țărilor de Jos Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (Secțiunea II), care așeză la 11 februarie 2003 în calitate de Cameră compusă de J.-P. Costa Președinte Loucaides Bîrsan Jungwiert Butkevych dna Thomassen dna Mularoni, judecători și dna S. Dollé grefier având în vedere cererea depusă la 22 februarie 1999, După deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Reclamantul, Maria Elisabeth Okkinga-Ter Kuile, este o națională Țările de Jos care s-a născut în 1915. La momentul introducerii cererii, reclamantul locuia în Enschede. Ea este reprezentată în fața Curții de către dna S.H.G. Swennen, avocat practicant la Almelo.
Guvernul contestat este reprezentat de agentul lor, dna J. Schukking, a Ministerului Afacerilor Externe din Olanda. Circumstanțele cazului Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Soțul reclamantului și soțul ei au trăit întotdeauna în Olanda. Prin decizia din 6 iunie 1977, soțul reclamantului a primit o pensie de vârstă pentru o persoană căsătorită în temeiul Legii generale privind pensiile de vârstă veche (Algemene Ouderdomswet; „AOW”) începând cu 1 februarie 1977. Cu toate acestea, în conformitate cu art. 13 din AOW, pensia sa a fost redusă cu 18%, deoarece nici el nici reclamantul nu au fost asigurați în temeiul prezentei legi pentru o perioadă de nouă ani.
În această perioadă soțul reclamantului a lucrat în Germania și el ar fi avut dreptul la asigurare de vârstă în temeiul legislației germane privind securitatea socială. Începând cu 1 aprilie 1985, în conformitate cu Legea din 28 martie 1985 privind punerea în aplicare a Directivei Comunităților Europene 79/7/CEE privind punerea în aplicare progresivă a egalității de tratament între bărbați și femei în domeniul securității sociale, reclamantul a devenit în dreptul ei la o pensie și a primit o pensie AOW în valoare de 50% din pensia AOW acordată soțului său. Reducerea de 18% aplicată a fost împărțită egal între reclamant și soțul ei. Reclamantul a fost informat cu privire la această dezvoltare, inclusiv modul în care reducerea de 18% va fi împărțită între ea și soțul ei, într-o scrisoare trimisă la 24 octombrie 1984 de Consiliul Băncii de Asigurări Sociale.
După decesul soțului reclamantului la 23 mai 1986, Consiliul Băncii de Asigurări Sociale ( Sociale Verzekeringsbank ), prin decizia din 9 iulie 1986 , a acordat reclamantului o pensie de vârstă în vârstă în temeiul AOW pentru o singură persoană începând cu 1 mai 1986 . Ca și în cazul pensiei soțului său difunt, pensia sa a fost, de asemenea, redusă cu 18% . La 1 august 1986, reclamantul a depus un apel la Tribunalul de Apel ( Raad van Beroep ) din Zwolle, plângând, printre altele, că 18% reducerea aplicată pensiei sale de vârstă a constituit tratament discriminatoriu. În decizia din 16 aprilie 1991, în urma unei audieri de la 26 martie 1991, Tribunalul de Apel a constatat în favoarea reclamantului.
În consecință, a anulat decizia din 9 iulie 1986 și a ordonat Consiliului Băncii de Asigurare Socială să ia o nouă decizie. Consiliul Băncii de Asigurări Sociale a depus apel la Tribunalul Central de Apeluri ( Centrale Raad van Beroep ) la 10 mai 1991. În hotărârea sa din 16 aprilie 1997, Tribunalul Central de Apel a anulat decizia din 16 aprilie 1991 și a respins recursul reclamantului din 1 august 1986 ca fiind nefondat. Apelul ulterior al reclamantului în casă a fost respins de Curtea Supremă ( Hoge Raad ) la 23 septembrie 1998. Reclamantul a murit la 16 august 2001. La 22 aprilie 2002, reprezentantul reclamantului a informat Curtea că trei moștenitori ai reclamantului, dl K.A. Okkinga, dna J.M.
Okkinga și dl M. Okkinga au dorit să continue cererea. Solicitarea de a continua procedura a fost acordată de Curte la 15 octombrie 2002. La 25 noiembrie 2002, Guvernul contestat a informat Curtea că Banca de Asigurări Sociale a reexaminat cazul reclamantului și s-a hotărât să plătească proporția de prestații AOW deținute de reclamant între mai 1986 și 16 august 2001, împreună cu dobânda în acest sens. La 11 decembrie 2002, Guvernul contestat a informat Curtea în continuare că costurile juridice suportate de reclamant în cadrul procedurii în care a contestat reducerea beneficiilor sale AOW vor fi, de asemenea, rambursate. La 12 decembrie 2002, reprezentantul reclamantului a informat Curtea că moștenitorii reclamantului au dorit să retragă cererea, deoarece cererile lor au fost îndeplinite pe deplin.
COMPLAINTE Reclamantul se plânge că reducerea aplicată la pensia sa AOW constituie o diferență discriminatorie între bărbații căsătoriți și femeile căsătorite, în contravenție cu art. 14 din Convenție, coroborat cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție. Reclamantul a formulat, de asemenea, plângeri în temeiul art. 6 din Convenție și art. 1 din Protocolul nr. Curtea constată că reducerea beneficiilor AOW ale reclamantului a fost anulată de Banca de Asigurări Sociale și că suma reținută va fi plătită moștenitorilor reclamantului împreună cu dobânzile. În plus, guvernul s-a angajat să plătească costurile juridice suportate de reclamant pentru a provoca reducerea beneficiilor AOW. Curtea constată, de asemenea, că, în aceste circumstanțe, moștenitorii reclamantului nu doresc să urmărească cererea.
Constatând că condițiile articolului 37 § 1 litera (a) din Convenție au fost îndeplinite și că nu există motive care să justifice continuarea examinării cererii (art. 37 § 1 în amendă din Convenția și art. 62 § 3 din Regulamentul Curții, Curtea consideră că cazul ar trebui eliminat din listă. Din aceste motive, Curtea hotărăște în unanimitate să pună în aplicare cererea din lista cazurilor sale. Președintele grefierului Dollé J.-P. Costa
SECOND SECTION
DECISION Application no. 47756/99 by M.E. OKKINGA-TER KUILE against the Netherlands The European Court of Human Rights (Second Section), sitting on 11 February 2003 as a Chamber composed of Mr J.-P. Costa , President , Mr L. Loucaides , Mr C. Bîrsan , Mr K. Jungwiert , Mr V. Butkevych , Mrs W. Thomassen , Mrs A. Mularoni, judges , and Mrs S. Dollé , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 22 February 1999, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Maria Elisabeth Okkinga-Ter Kuile, is a Netherlands national who was born in 1915. At the time of the introduction of the application, the applicant was living in Enschede. She is represented before the Court by Ms S.H.G.
Swennen, a lawyer practising in Almelo. The respondent Government are represented by their Agent, Mrs J. Schukking, of the Netherlands Ministry of Foreign Affairs. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. The applicant and her husband have always lived in the Netherlands. By decision of 6 June 1977, the applicant’s husband was granted an old age pension for a married person under the General Old Age Pension Act ( Algemene Ouderdomswet ; “AOW”) as from 1 February 1977. However, in accordance with Article 13 of the AOW, his pension was reduced by 18% as neither he nor the applicant had been insured under this Act for a period of nine years.
During that period the applicant’s husband had worked in Germany and he would have been entitled to old age insurance under the German social security legislation. No appeal was filed against this decision. As from 1 April 1985, pursuant to the Act of 28 March 1985 on the implementation of the European Communities Directive 79/7/EEC on gradual implementation of equal treatment between men and women in the field of social security, the applicant became entitled in her own right to a pension and was awarded an AOW pension amounting to 50% of the AOW pension awarded to her husband. The 18% reduction applied was divided evenly between the applicant and her husband. The applicant was informed of this development, including how the 18% reduction would be divided between her and her husband, in a letter sent on 24 October 1984 by the Board of the Social Insurance Bank.
After the death of the applicant’s husband on 23 May 1986, the Board of the Social Insurance Bank ( Sociale Verzekeringsbank ), by decision of 9 July 1986, granted the applicant an old age pension under the AOW for a single person as from 1 May 1986. As with her late husband’s pension, her pension was also reduced by 18%. On 1 August 1986, the applicant filed an appeal with the then Appeals Tribunal ( Raad van Beroep ) of Zwolle, complaining inter alia that the 18% reduction as applied to her old age pension constituted discriminatory treatment. In its decision of 16 April 1991, following a hearing held on 26 March 1991, the Appeals Tribunal found in favour of the applicant. Consequently, it quashed the decision of 9 July 1986 and ordered the Board of the Social Insurance Bank to take a new decision.
The Board of the Social Insurance Bank filed an appeal with the Central Appeals Tribunal ( Centrale Raad van Beroep ) on 10 May 1991. In its judgment of 16 April 1997, the Central Appeals Tribunal quashed the decision of 16 April 1991 and rejected the applicant’s appeal of 1 August 1986 as ill-founded. The applicant’s subsequent appeal in cassation was dismissed by the Supreme Court ( Hoge Raad ) on 23 September 1998. The applicant died on 16 August 2001. On 22 April 2002, the applicant’s representative informed the Court that the applicant’s three heirs, Mr K.A. Okkinga, Ms J.M. Okkinga and Mr M. Okkinga wished to pursue the application.
Their request to continue the proceedings was granted by the Court on 15 October 2002. On 25 November 2002, the respondent Government informed the Court that the Social Insurance Bank had re-examined the applicant’s case and it was decided to pay the proportion of AOW benefits withheld from the applicant between May 1986 and 16 August 2001 together with interest thereon. On 11 December 2002, the respondent Government further informed the Court that the applicant’s legal costs incurred in the proceedings in which she had challenged the reduction of her AOW benefits would also be reimbursed. On 12 December 2002, the applicant’s representative informed the Court that the applicant’s heirs wished to withdraw the application as their claims had been fully met.
COMPLAINTS The applicant complained that the reduction applied to her AOW pension constituted a discriminatory difference between married men and married women contrary to Article 14 of the Convention in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention. The applicant also raised complaints under Article 6 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. THE LAW The Court notes that the reduction of the applicant’s AOW benefits has been annulled by the Social Insurance Bank and that the withheld amount will be paid to the applicant’s heirs together with interest. Moreover, the Government have undertaken to pay the legal costs incurred by the applicant in challenging the reduction of her AOW benefits.
The Court further notes that, in these circumstances, the applicant’s heirs do not wish to pursue the application. Finding that the conditions of Article 37 § 1 (a) of the Convention have been met and that there are no reasons warranting a continuation of its examination of the application (Article 37 § 1 in fine of the Convention and Rule 62 § 3 of the Rules of Court), the Court considers that the case should be struck out of the list. For these reasons, the Court unanimously Decides to strike the application out of its list of cases. S. Dollé J.-P. Costa Registrar President