- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 4 iunie 2002
- Stat pârât
- NLD
- Articole
- Articolul 14, Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
- Concluzia
- Încălcare — Articolul 14, Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
- Satisfacție echitabilă — rezervat
Wessels-Bergervoet împotriva Țărilor de Jos
Traducere în română Auto
11. Soțul reclamantului și soțul ei au trăit întotdeauna în Țările de Jos. Prin decizia din 7 august 1984, soțul reclamantului a primit pensia de bătrânătate căsătorită în temeiul Legii generale privind pensiile de vârstă veche (Algemene Ouderdomswet) începând cu 1 august 1984. Cu toate acestea, în conformitate cu art. 10 din respectiva lege, pensia sa a fost redusă cu 38%, deoarece nici el, nici reclamantul nu au fost asigurați în temeiul legii în cursul a nouă perioade între 1 februarie 1957 și 1 august 1977, atunci când a lucrat în Germania și a avut o asigurare de vârstă în temeiul legislației germane privind securitatea socială. Nu a fost interzis niciun recurs împotriva acestei decizii.
12. După ce reclamantul a ajuns la vârsta de 65 de ani în 1989, Consiliul Băncii de Asigurări Sociale (Sociale Verzekeringsbank), prin decizia din 14 februarie 1989, a acordat reclamantului o pensie de vârstă în temeiul Legii generale a pensiilor de vârstă de 1 martie 1989. După cum s-a întâmplat cu pensia soțului ei, pensia sa a fost, de asemenea, redusă cu 38%. Reclamantul a depus un recurs la Tribunalul Arnhem de Apel (Raad van Beroep), după cum s-a cunoscut atunci, plângând că această reducere a pensiei sale de vârstă constituia un tratament discriminatoriu. 13. În decizia sa din 10 ianuarie 1990, Tribunalul de Apel a remarcat că, în conformitate cu articolele 7 și 9 din Legea generală privind pensiile de vârstă, o persoană căsătorită – ca și reclamantul – care a fost asigurată în temeiul prezentei legi și a ajuns la vârsta de 65 de ani are dreptul la o pensie de vârstă de 50 % din salariul minim net pe lună.
14. Cu toate acestea, în conformitate cu art. 13 din lege, această sumă ar putea fi redusă cu 2% pentru fiecare an întreg în care persoana în cauză nu a fost asigurată între 15 și 65 de ani. Tribunalul de Apel a remarcat, de asemenea, că, în conformitate cu art. 6 alineatul (1) din lege, cei asigurați erau persoane între vârsta de 15 și 65 de ani care reșeau fie în Țările de Jos, fie, în caz contrar, să plătească impozitul pe salarii (loonbelasting) în ceea ce privește lucrările desfășurate în Țările de Jos în temeiul unui contract de muncă.
În conformitate cu actuala subsecțiunea 2 din secțiunea 6 din Legea, a fost posibil, prin intermediul unei Ordine în Consiliu (Algemene Maatregel van Bestuur), să se prelungească sau să se limiteze grupul de asigurări ca excepție la reglementarea generală prevăzută la secțiunea 6 alineatul (1). 15. Tribunalul de Apel a făcut trimitere la jurisprudența Tribunalului Central de Apel (Centrale Raad van Beroep) în sensul că întrebarea dacă o persoană a fost sau nu asigurată în temeiul Legii generale privind pensiile în vârstă veche a scăzut să fie determinată pe baza normelor în vigoare la momentul respectiv.
16. În plus, Comisia a remarcat că, în temeiul cinci decrete regale consecutive privind prelungirea și limitarea grupului de asigurați (Koninklijke Besluiten Uitbreiding en Beperking van de kring der verzekerden) care au fost eliberate în temeiul articolului 6 alineatul (1) din Act și care au rămas în vigoare până la 1 aprilie 1985, persoanele care locuiesc în Țările de Jos, dar care lucrează în străinătate în temeiul unui contract de muncă și care au fost asigurate în temeiul unui sistem de securitate socială străină în temeiul acestuia nu au fost asigurate în temeiul acesteia. Această limitare se aplică de asemenea unei femei căsătorite cu o persoană care, în temeiul decreturilor regale, nu este asigurată în temeiul Legii.
17. Tribunalul de Apeluri a remarcat că nu este în litigiu că, în timpul perioadelor relevante, soțul reclamantului a lucrat în Germania și a fost supusă legislației germane de securitate socială în conformitate cu Ordonanța nr. 3 din Consiliul de Miniștri al Comunităților Europene (până la 1 octombrie 1972) și ulterior Ordonanța 1408/71. 18. A concluzionat că, în aceste condiții, Banca de Asigurări Sociale a concluzionat corect că reclamantul nu a fost asigurat în temeiul Legii generale privind pensiile de vârstă veche pentru perioada în care soțul ei a lucrat în Germania.
19. Cu toate acestea, în ceea ce privește întrebarea dacă această situație este compatibilă cu principiul egalității, în special cu interdicția discriminării dintre bărbați și femei, Tribunalul de Apel a remarcat că există o dispoziție în decreturile regale care face ca asigurarea femeilor căsătorite în temeiul legii să fie asigurată de soții lor, în timp ce decretele nu conțin o dispoziție comparabilă în ceea ce privește bărbații căsătoriți. 20. Tribunalul de Apel a examinat situația reclamantului în funcție de art. 26 din Pactul Internațional privind Drepturile Civile și Politice (PICCPR) și a făcut trimitere la jurisprudența Tribunalului Central de Apeluri în conformitate cu care, începând cu 23 decembrie 1984, această dispoziție a fost, de asemenea, direct aplicabilă în ordinea juridică a Țărilor de Jos în domeniul securității sociale.
Tribunalul de Apel a constatat că acest lucru presupunea că drepturile ar putea fi derivate direct din această dispoziție în măsura în care, după 23 decembrie 1984, o cerere a normelor statutare a creat o diferență de tratament între bărbați și femei fără nicio justificare obiectivă și rezonabilă și a condus la un rezultat mai defavorabil decât ar fi existat dacă nu ar fi existat o astfel de diferență. Acesta a considerat că reclamantul s-a aflat în această situație, pe măsură ce i-a fost acordată o pensie de vârstă la 1 martie 1989, din care 38% a fost dedus pe baza normelor care făceau o distincție nejustificată între bărbați și femei căsătoriți.
21. Tribunalul de Apel a remarcat că, începând cu 1 aprilie 1985, principiul egalității de tratament între bărbați și femei a fost încorporat în Legea generală a pensiilor de vârstă veche și că acest lucru a dus la introducerea unui sistem în care dreptul la prestații complete a fost conferit exclusiv de întrebarea dacă persoana în cauză a finalizat sau nu în mod personal anii eligibile în temeiul Legii. Prin urmare, aceasta a concluzionat că femeile căsătorite, ca și reclamantul, care îndeplineau pe deplin condițiile de asigurare în temeiul legii, nu au putut fi considerate ca fiind nesigurate pe o anumită perioadă numai pentru motive de stare conjugală. 22. În consecință, Tribunalul de Apel a anulat decizia din 14 februarie 1989, în măsura în care pensia reclamantului a fost redusă cu 38%, a susținut restul deciziei și a decis că reclamantul are dreptul la o pensie deplină în temeiul legii.
Consiliul Băncii de Asigurări Sociale a depus un recurs la Tribunalul Central de Apeluri. 23. În hotărârea sa din 26 noiembrie 1993, în urma unei audieri din 15 octombrie 1993, Tribunalul Central de Apel a anulat decizia din 10 ianuarie 1990 și a respins recursul reclamantului ca fiind nefondat. 24. Tribunalul Central de Apel a remarcat la început că nu era în litigiu între părți că reclamantul nu aparține grupului de persoane, astfel cum este definit la art. 2 din Directiva 79/7/CEE, privind punerea în aplicare progresivă a principiului egalității de tratament a bărbaților și a femeilor în domeniul securității sociale. Acesta a considerat că opinia este corectă și, în consecință, a considerat că problema reducerii pensiei reclamantului nu poate fi examinată în funcție de interdicția privind discriminarea prevăzută la art. 4 alineatul (1) din prezenta directivă.
25. În ceea ce privește întrebarea dacă reducerea pensiei reclamantului a fost compatibilă cu art. 26 din CCPR, Tribunalul Central de Apeluri a considerat că, începând cu 23 decembrie 1984, această dispoziție ar putea fi, de asemenea, invocată direct în domeniul securității sociale. De asemenea, s-a referit la jurisprudența conform căreia aceasta presupune că statele contractante la CCPR sunt obligate să se asigure că normele lor legale sunt libere de orice formă de discriminare interzisă de această dispoziție. Cu toate acestea, a declarat că o diferență de tratament nu este contrară dispoziției respective în cazul în care există motive obiective și rezonabile pentru această diferență.
26. Având în vedere aceste considerații, Tribunalul Central de Apel a susținut că art. 26 din CCPR nu poate priva o reglementare națională a efectului său, conform căreia nivelul prestațiilor în temeiul unui sistem de asigurare legală – precum Legea generală a pensiilor de vârstă veche – a fost făcută dependentă de întrebarea dacă perioadele de asigurare au fost finalizate. Acesta a susținut că acest lucru nu a fost diferit atunci când s-a putut stabili că dezqualificarea anumitor perioade de asigurare înainte de 23 decembrie 1984 se baza pe o regulă internă care a făcut diferența de tratament pe baza sexului, deoarece această regulă a avut loc în cursul unei perioade în care art. 26 din CCPR nu era încă direct aplicabil și nu putea, prin urmare, să privească regula internă a efectelor sale anterioare.
27. La 29 mai 1996 a fost respins recursul ulterior al reclamantului cu privire la punctele de drept adresate Curții Supreme (Hoge Raad). În ceea ce privește argumentul reclamantului potrivit căruia Tribunalul Central de Apel nu a examinat dacă există sau nu o justificare obiectivă și rezonabilă a diferenței de tratament, Curtea Supremă a susținut că Tribunalul Central de Apel a constatat corect că, în ceea ce privește perioadele în care reclamantul nu a fost asigurat în temeiul Legii generale privind pensiile de vârstă veche, nu se poate baza pe art. 26 din CCPR, deoarece aceste perioade au prelungit intrarea în vigoare a acestui instrument internațional.
28. În măsura în care reclamantul s-a plâns că Tribunalul Central de Apel a refuzat injust de privare a reglementării discriminatorii în cauză pentru incompatibilitatea cu interdicția de discriminare prevăzută la art. 1 din Constituție (Grondwet), Curtea Supremă a susținut că perioadele în care reclamantul nu a fost asigurat în temeiul legii au prezis intrarea în vigoare a articolului 1 din Constituție. 29. În măsura în care reclamantul se bazează pe principiile generale de drept nescrise (algemene rechtsbeginselen), în special pe principiul egalității, Curtea Supremă a considerat că, în conformitate cu memorandumul explicativ (Nota van Toelichting) la primul decret regal privind extinderea și limitarea grupului de asigurări din 20 decembrie 1956, excluderea a avut ca scop prevenirea unei acumulații nedorite de beneficii.
Potrivit memorandumului explicativ, drepturile de pensie acumulate de omul în străinătate au fost, de asemenea, considerate ca fiind destinate beneficiilor soțului său. 30. Curtea Supremă a susținut că, având în vedere atitudinea socială care prevalează în momentul respectiv, adică perioadele în care reclamantul nu a fost asigurat în temeiul Legii generale privind pensiile de vârstă veche, guvernul de atunci ar fi putut considera că, în practică toate cazurile, este bărbatul care a fost „gagnantul pâinei”, astfel încât să poată, în consecință, exclude femeile căsătorite și nu ar fi trebuit să prevadă o dispoziție separată pentru cazurile în care femeia a fost „gagnantul pâinei”. Prin urmare, Curtea Supremă a susținut că există o justificare obiectivă și rezonabilă pentru diferența de tratament din motive de sex care implică excluderea.
31. Curtea Supremă a respins, de asemenea, argumentul reclamantului pe baza principiului egalității prevăzut la art. 4 § 1 din Directiva 79/7/CEE privind punerea în aplicare progresivă a principiului egalității de tratament a bărbaților și a femeilor în domeniul securității sociale, întrucât reclamantul a căzut în afara domeniului de aplicare al articolului 2 din directivă, care a definit grupul de persoane la care se aplică directiva. 32. Legea generală privind pensiile de vârstă de vârstă stabilește un regim general de pensii de vârstă pentru persoanele care au atins vârsta de 65 de ani. În temeiul acestui regim, toate persoanele cu vârstă între 15 și 65 de ani care locuiesc în Țările de Jos sunt asigurate.
Contribuțiile la schema sunt plătite de toate persoanele care sunt angajate în beneficiu în Țările de Jos. 33. În conformitate cu Legea generală privind pensiile de vârstă veche, dreptul la prestații nu depinde de nivelul contribuțiilor plătite deoarece, în contravenție cu un sistem de securitate socială bazat pe ocuparea forței de muncă (werknemersverzekering), acesta este un sistem general de securitate socială (volksverzekering). Nivelul beneficiilor este, totuși, legat de perioada de asigurare în temeiul Legii. În conformitate cu art. 13 (secțiunea 10 înainte de 1 aprilie 1985) din lege, dreptul la pensie este redus cu 2% pentru fiecare an, între vârsta de 15 și 65 de ani, că persoana în cauză nu a fost asigurată în temeiul legii, printre altele, din motive de reședință în străinătate.
O persoană asigurată în temeiul legii de cincizeci de ani are dreptul la o pensie completă. 34. La 19 decembrie 1978, Consiliul Comunităților Europene a emis Directiva 79/7/CEE privind punerea în aplicare progresivă a principiului egalității de tratament a bărbaților și a femeilor în domeniul securității sociale, permițând statelor membre o perioadă de șase ani până la 23 decembrie 1984, în care să introducă orice modificare a legislației care ar putea fi necesară pentru a-l pune în conformitate cu directiva. 35. Până la 1 aprilie 1985, un bărbat căsătorit avea dreptul la pensie în temeiul Legii generale privind pensiile de vârstă veche pentru un cuplu căsătorit egal cu 100% din salariul minim în vigoare în Țările de Jos.
Persoanele necăsătorite au dreptul la 70% din salariul minim. O femeie căsătorită nu are dreptul în propriul drept. Conform decretului regal privind prelungirea și limitarea grupului de asigurări, astfel cum a fost modificat în mai multe ocazii, o femeie căsătorită care locuiește în Țările de Jos – al căror soț a fost angajat în străinătate și asigurat în temeiul sistemului de securitate socială în țara străină de muncă – nu a fost asigurată în temeiul Legii generale privind pensiile de vârstă. 36. La 1 aprilie 1985, femeile căsătorite au devenit în dreptul propriu la o pensie în temeiul Legii generale privind pensiile de vârstă veche. Fiecare soț a devenit în dreptul la o pensie egală cu 50% din salariul minim.
Poziția pentru persoane necăsătorite a rămas nemodificată. Ca urmare a acestei schimbări, femeile căsătorite nu mai sunt excluse din asigurare în temeiul legii pentru perioadele în care soții lor au fost angajate în străinătate, cu condiția ca ei înșiși să locuiască în permanență în Țările de Jos sau să fi plătit contribuții pe baza unui loc de muncă câștigat în Țările de Jos.
11. The applicant and her husband have always lived in the Netherlands. By a decision of 7 August 1984, the applicant's husband was granted a married man's old-age pension under the General Old Age Pensions Act (Algemene Ouderdomswet) commencing on 1 August 1984. However, pursuant to the then section 10 of the Act, his pension was reduced by 38% as neither he nor the applicant had been insured under the Act during nine periods between 1 February 1957 and 1 August 1977 when he had worked in Germany and had an old-age insurance under the German social-security legislation. These nine periods amounted in total to nineteen years. No appeal was filed against this decision.
12. After the applicant reached the age of 65 in 1989, the Board of the Social Insurance Bank (Sociale Verzekeringsbank), by a decision of 14 February 1989, granted the applicant an old-age pension under the General Old Age Pensions Act commencing on 1 March 1989. As had occurred with her husband's pension, her pension was also reduced by 38%. The applicant filed an appeal with the Arnhem Appeals Tribunal (Raad van Beroep), as it was then known, complaining that this reduction in her old-age pension constituted discriminatory treatment. 13. In its decision of 10 January 1990 the Appeals Tribunal noted that, under sections 7 and 9 of the General Old Age Pensions Act, a married person – like the applicant – who had been insured under this Act and had reached the age of 65 was entitled to an old-age pension amounting to 50% of the net minimum wage per month.
14. However, under the terms of section 13 of the Act, this amount could be reduced by 2% for each full year in which the person concerned had not been insured between the ages of 15 and 65. The Appeals Tribunal further noted that, according to section 6(1) of the Act, those insured were persons between the ages of 15 and 65 who were either resident in the Netherlands or, if not, were liable to payment of salaries tax (loonbelasting) in respect of work carried out in the Netherlands under a contract of employment.
Under the present subsection 2 of section 6 of the Act, it was possible, by way of an Order in Council (Algemene Maatregel van Bestuur), to extend or limit the group of insured persons as an exception to the general rule contained in section 6(1). 15. The Appeals Tribunal referred to the case-law of the Central Appeals Tribunal (Centrale Raad van Beroep) to the effect that the question whether or not a person was insured under the General Old Age Pensions Act fell to be determined on the basis of the rules in force at the relevant time.
16. It further noted that, by virtue of five consecutive royal decrees on the extension and limitation of the group of insured persons (Koninklijke Besluiten Uitbreiding en Beperking van de kring der verzekerden) that had been issued under section 6(1) of the Act and had remained in force until 1 April 1985, persons residing in the Netherlands but working abroad under a contract of employment and insured under a foreign social-security scheme by virtue of that employment were not insured under the Act. That limitation also applied to a woman married to a person who, pursuant to those royal decrees, was not insured under the Act.
17. The Appeals Tribunal noted that it was not in dispute that, during the relevant periods, the applicant's husband had been working in Germany and had been subject to German social-security legislation in accordance with Ordinance no. 3 of the Council of Ministers of the European Communities (until 1 October 1972) and subsequently Ordinance 1408/71. 18. It found that, in these circumstances, the Social Insurance Bank had correctly concluded that the applicant was not insured under the General Old Age Pensions Act for the period her husband had worked in Germany.
19. However, as regards the question whether that situation was compatible with the principle of equality, in particular the prohibition on discrimination between men and women, the Appeals Tribunal noted that there was a provision in the royal decrees which rendered the insurance of married women under the Act dependent on their husbands being insured, whereas the decrees did not contain a comparable provision in respect of married men. 20. The Appeals Tribunal examined the applicant's situation in the light of Article 26 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR). It referred to the case-law of the Central Appeals Tribunal according to which, from 23 December 1984, this provision was also directly applicable in the Netherlands legal order in the field of social security.
The Appeals Tribunal found that this implied that rights could be derived directly from this provision in so far as an application, after 23 December 1984, of statutory rules created a difference in treatment between men and women without any objective and reasonable justification, and led to a more unfavourable result than would have existed had there not been such a difference. It considered that the applicant had found herself in that situation as she had been awarded an old-age pension on 1 March 1989 from which 38% was deducted on the basis of rules which made an unjustified distinction between married men and women.
21. The Appeals Tribunal noted that, from 1 April 1985 onwards, the principle of equal treatment between men and women had been incorporated in the General Old Age Pensions Act, and that this had resulted in the introduction of a system in which the entitlement to full benefits was made solely dependent on the question whether or not the person concerned had personally completed the qualifying years under the Act. It concluded, therefore, that married women, like the applicant, who had fully complied with the conditions for insurance under the Act, could not be regarded as having been uninsured during a certain period solely on grounds of marital status. 22. Consequently, the Appeals Tribunal quashed the decision of 14 February 1989, in so far as the applicant's pension was reduced by 38%, upheld the remainder of the decision and ruled that the applicant was entitled to a full pension under the Act.
The Board of the Social Insurance Bank filed an appeal with the Central Appeals Tribunal. 23. In its judgment of 26 November 1993, following a hearing held on 15 October 1993, the Central Appeals Tribunal quashed the decision of 10 January 1990 and dismissed the applicant's appeal as ill-founded. 24. The Central Appeals Tribunal noted at the outset that it was not in dispute between the parties that the applicant did not belong to the group of persons as defined in Article 2 of Directive 79/7/EEC on the gradual implementation of the principle of equal treatment of men and women in the field of social security. It considered that view to be correct and, consequently, held that the question of the reduction in the applicant's pension could not be examined in the light of the prohibition on discrimination set out in Article 4 § 1 of this directive.
25. As regards the question whether the reduction in the applicant's pension was compatible with Article 26 of the ICCPR, the Central Appeals Tribunal considered that, from 23 December 1984 onwards, that provision could also be directly relied on in the field of social security. It also referred to the case-law according to which this implied that Contracting States to the ICCPR were obliged to ensure that their statutory rules were free of any form of discrimination prohibited by that provision. However, it said that a difference in treatment was not contrary to that provision where there were objective and reasonable grounds for the difference.
26. In the light of those considerations, the Central Appeals Tribunal held that Article 26 of the ICCPR could not deprive a national statutory rule of its effect, according to which the level of benefits under a statutory insurance scheme – like the General Old Age Pensions Act – was made dependent on the question of whether the periods of insurance had been completed. It held that this was no different where it could be established that the disqualification of certain periods of insurance before 23 December 1984 was based on a domestic rule which made a difference in treatment on the basis of sex, as that rule had been in operation during a period in which Article 26 of the ICCPR was not yet directly applicable and could not, therefore, deprive the domestic rule of its earlier effect.
27. The applicant's subsequent appeal on points of law to the Supreme Court (Hoge Raad) was dismissed on 29 May 1996. As to the applicant's argument that the Central Appeals Tribunal had failed to examine whether or not there was an objective and reasonable justification for the difference in treatment, the Supreme Court held that the Central Appeals Tribunal had correctly found that, as regards the periods in which the applicant had not been insured under the General Old Age Pensions Act, she could not rely on Article 26 of the ICCPR, as those periods predated the entry into force of that international instrument.
28. In so far as the applicant complained that the Central Appeals Tribunal had unjustly failed to deprive the discriminatory rule at issue of its effect on grounds of incompatibility with the prohibition on discrimination contained in Article 1 of the Constitution (Grondwet), the Supreme Court held that the periods during which the applicant had not been insured under the Act predated the entry into force of Article 1 of the Constitution. 29. In so far as the applicant relied on unwritten general principles of law (algemene rechtsbeginselen), in particular the principle of equality, the Supreme Court considered that, according to the explanatory memorandum (Nota van Toelichting) to the first royal decree on the extension and limitation of the group of insured persons of 20 December 1956, the exclusion was aimed at preventing an undesirable accumulation of benefits.
According to the explanatory memorandum, the pension rights accrued by the man abroad were also considered to be intended to benefit his spouse. 30. The Supreme Court held that in view of the social attitudes prevailing at the relevant time, that is to say the periods during which the applicant had not been insured under the General Old Age Pensions Act, the government of the time could have taken the view that in practically all cases it was the man who was the “breadwinner” so that it could, accordingly, exclude married women and did not have to make a separate provision for cases where the woman was the “breadwinner”. The Supreme Court held, therefore, that there was an objective and reasonable justification for the difference in treatment on grounds of sex which the exclusion entailed.
31. The Supreme Court further rejected the applicant's argument based on the principle of equality contained in Article 4 § 1 of Directive 79/7/EEC on the gradual implementation of the principle of equal treatment of men and women in the field of social security, as the applicant fell outside the scope of Article 2 of the directive, which defined the group of persons to whom the directive applied. 32. The General Old Age Pensions Act establishes a general old-age pension scheme for persons who have attained the age of 65. Under this scheme, all persons between the ages of 15 and 65 who reside in the Netherlands are insured. Contributions to the scheme are paid by all persons who are gainfully employed in the Netherlands.
33. Entitlement to benefits under the General Old Age Pensions Act is not dependent on the level of contributions paid as, contrary to a social-security scheme based on employment (werknemersverzekering), it is a general social-security scheme (volksverzekering). The level of benefits is, however, linked to the period of insurance under the Act. Pursuant to section 13 (section 10 before 1 April 1985) of the Act, the pension entitlement is reduced by 2% for each year, between the ages of 15 and 65, that the person concerned was not insured under the Act on grounds of, inter alia, residence abroad. A person who has been insured under the Act for fifty years is entitled to a full pension.
34. On 19 December 1978 the Council of the European Communities issued Directive 79/7/EEC on the gradual implementation of the principle of equal treatment of men and women in the field of social security, allowing member States a period of six years until 23 December 1984 within which to make any amendments to legislation which might be necessary in order to bring it into conformity with the directive. 35. Until 1 April 1985 a married man was entitled to a pension under the General Old Age Pensions Act for a married couple equal to 100% of the minimum wage in force in the Netherlands. Unmarried persons of either sex were entitled to 70% of the minimum wage. A married woman had no entitlement in her own right.
According to the royal decree on the extension and limitation of the group of insured persons, as amended on several occasions, a married woman residing in the Netherlands – whose husband was employed abroad and insured under the social-security system in the foreign country of employment – was not insured under the General Old Age Pensions Act. 36. On 1 April 1985 married women became entitled in their own right to a pension under the General Old Age Pensions Act. Each spouse became entitled to a pension equal to 50% of the minimum wage. The position for unmarried persons remained unchanged. As a result of this change, married women are no longer excluded from insurance under the Act for periods when their husbands were employed abroad, provided that they themselves have continuously resided in the Netherlands or have paid contributions on the basis of gainful employment in the Netherlands.