- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 31 mai 2001
- Stat pârât
- FIN
- Articole
- Articolul 6
- Concluzia
- Încălcare — Articolul 6
- Prejudiciu material — cerere respinsă
- Prejudiciu moral — sumă acordată
- Cheltuieli de judecată — sumă acordată
K.S. împotriva Finlandei
Traducere în română Auto
În mai 1991, reclamantul a fost respins, cu o notificare de șase luni, din postul său de inspector fiscal și suspendat imediat de birou. El a fost considerat incapabil să își îndeplinească în mod corespunzător sarcinile și a constatat că în mod continuu nu s-a îndeplinit sau a neglijat obligațiile sale de funcționar public. Apelurile sale au fost respinse de Curtea Supremă Administrativă (korkein hallinto-oikeus, högsta förvaltningsdomstolen). În februarie 1992, Fondul de șomaj (työttömyyskassa, arbetslöshetskassan) pentru avocații și asociații juridici au refuzat să plătească reclamantului o prestație de șomaj legată de salariu pentru perioada 28 noiembrie 1991 - 8 ianuarie 1992. Fondul a avut în vedere un aviz din partea Comisiei pentru ocuparea forței de muncă (työvoimatoimikunta, arbetskrafts-kommissionen) din Vaasa, care a concluzionat că reclamantul însuși și-a cauzat concedierea.
În dreptul intern, Fondul pentru șomaj este obligat de avizul Comisiei pentru ocupare a forței de muncă. Reclamantul a interzis Comitetului pentru prestațiile de șomaj (työttömyysturvalautakunta, arbetslöshetsnämnden), care a contestat în esență avizul Comisiei pentru ocuparea forței de muncă, astfel cum a respectat Fondul pentru șomaj într-o decizie nesemnată cu imprimare electronică. Având în vedere avizul Comisiei pentru ocuparea forței de muncă, Fondul pentru șomaj l-a transmis Consiliului pentru prestații de șomaj, împreună cu apelul însuși și avizul propriu al Fondului pentru șomaj. 11. Avizul Comisiei pentru ocuparea forței de muncă a făcut trimitere la decizia Curții Supreme de Administrație care susține concedierea reclamantului.
Avizul a afirmat, de asemenea, că nu au fost prezentate astfel de dovezi care ar fi justificat o modificare a avizului anterior al Comisiei pentru ocuparea forței de muncă. Avizul Fondului pentru șomaj a făcut referire la etapele anterioare ale procedurii și a remarcat că fondurile de șomaj sunt autorizate să difuzeze decizii semnate electronic. Avizul a afirmat, de asemenea, că nu au fost prezentate dovezi care ar putea fi luate în considerare de Fondul pentru șomaj și că, în consecință, decizia sa ar trebui să fie în vigoare. 12. Nici unul dintre avizele de mai sus nu a fost comunicat reclamantului în cadrul procedurii dinaintea Consiliului pentru prestațiile de șomaj. În decizia sa din 31 ianuarie 1994, Consiliul a rezumat faptele, apelul reclamantului și avizele Comisiei pentru ocuparea forței de muncă și a Fondului pentru șomaj.
Consiliul a respins apoi recursul, având în vedere faptul că o persoană care s-a însuși cauzat încetarea ocupării forței de muncă nu avea dreptul la beneficii de șomaj pentru o perioadă de șase săptămâni. Întrucât suspendarea biroului reclamantului i-a determinat concedierea, s-a considerat că a provocat însuși încetarea ocupării forței de muncă. Prin urmare, nu are dreptul la prestații de șomaj pentru perioada în cauză. Consiliul a invocat art. 9 din Legea privind prestațiile de șomaj (työttömysturvalaki, lagen om utkomstskyddd för arbetslösa 602/1984). 13. Reclamantul a apelat în continuare la Curtea de Asigurări (vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen). Într-un aviz solicitat de către Curtea de Asigurări, Fondul pentru Șomaj a considerat că nu au fost prezentate astfel de dovezi pe care nu le-a fost cunoscută atunci când a luat decizia sa din 1992. În consecință, această decizie ar trebui menținută.
Avizul Fondului de șomaj nu a fost comunicat reclamantului în cursul procedurii. Curtea de Asigurări a obținut de asemenea de la Curtea Supremă Administrativă hotărârea sa cu privire la concedierea reclamantului. 14. În decizia din 9 martie 1995, Curtea de Asigurări a susținut decizia Consiliului pentru Beneficiile de șomaj, referindu-se la motivele indicate în respectiva decizie. 15. Secțiunea 9, subsecțiunea 1, din Legea privind prestațiile de șomaj prevede că o persoană care cauzează încetarea ocupării forței de muncă nu are dreptul la o prestație de șomaj pentru o perioadă de opt săptămâni. Potrivit practicii stabilite, perioada este redusă la șase săptămâni în anumite circumstanțe.
În cazul în care un concediu a fost contestat retragerea prestațiilor de șomaj ar trebui să se bazeze în mod normal pe o decizie care a dobândit forță juridică (secțiunea 9). Comisia competentă de ocupare a forței de șomaj emite un aviz în ceea ce privește dreptul cuiva la prestațiile de șomaj. Acest aviz este obligatoriu pentru fondul competent de șomaj (secțiunea 3, secțiunea 2). 16. În conformitate cu secțiunea 39, subsecțiunea 4 și subsecțiunea 42, subsecțiunea 4, un apelant primește posibilitatea de a fi auzit într-o chestiune în fața comitetului pentru prestațiile de șomaj sau a Curții de Asigurare, în cazul în care aceste noi dovezi sunt prezentate de care reclamantul nu este conștient.
17. În momentul respectiv, Curtea de Asigurări a aplicat în principal principiile derivate din regulamentul de procedură al instanțelor de recurs. În măsura în care este relevant, codul de procedură judiciară prevăzut după cum urmează. În conformitate cu capitolul 25, secțiunile 17-20, partea opozitivă a fost auzită în cadrul procedurii de apel. În conformitate cu capitolul 25, secțiunea 19, subsecțiunea 1, o copie a observațiilor părții opozitoare trebuia să fie transmisă recurentei la cerere. În conformitate cu capitolul 26, secțiunea 6, instanța de recurs a solicitat observații scrise de la părți atunci când a obținut dovezi din proprie inițiativă și astfel de dovezi ar putea afecta decizia în acest caz, cu excepția cazului în care această audiere a părților nu a fost, în mod evident, necesară.
18. Începând cu 1 aprilie 1999, Curtea de Asigurări a aplicat Legea privind procedura judiciară administrativă (hallintolainkäyttölaki, förvaltningsproceslagen 586/1996) cu excepția procedurilor extraordinare, în ceea ce privește care se aplică norme speciale (secțiunea 9 din Legea privind Tribunalul de Asigurări, astfel cum a fost modificată de Legea nr. 278/1999).
8. In May 1991 the applicant was dismissed, with six months’ notice, from his post as tax inspector, and immediately suspended from office. He was deemed unable to perform his duties adequately and found to have continuously failed to comply with, or to have neglected, his obligations as a civil servant. His appeals were rejected, in the last resort by the Supreme Administrative Court (korkein hallinto-oikeus, högsta förvaltningsdomstolen). 9. In February 1992 the Unemployment Fund (työttömyyskassa, arbetslöshetskassan) for Lawyers and Legal Associates refused to pay the applicant a salary-related unemployment benefit for the period 28 November 1991 - 8 January 1992. The Fund had regard to an opinion from the Employment Commission (työvoimatoimikunta, arbetskrafts-kommissionen) of Vaasa which concluded that the applicant had himself caused his dismissal.
Under domestic law the Unemployment Fund was bound by the Employment Commission’s opinion. The applicant had received a copy thereof in the beginning of December 1991. 10. The applicant appealed to the Board for Unemployment Benefits (työttömyysturvalautakunta, arbetslöshetsnämnden), essentially contesting the Employment Commission’s opinion, as adhered to by the Unemployment Fund in an unsigned computer-printed decision. The appeal was first processed by the Unemployment Fund which requested the Employment Commission to comment on it. Having received the Employment Commission’s opinion, the Unemployment Fund forwarded it to the Board for Unemployment Benefits together with the appeal itself and the Unemployment Fund’s own opinion.
11. The Employment Commission’s opinion referred to the Supreme Administrative Court’s decision upholding the applicant’s dismissal. The opinion further stated that no such evidence had been presented which would have warranted a change of the Employment Commission’s earlier opinion. The Unemployment Fund’s opinion referred to the earlier stages of the proceedings and noted that unemployment funds were authorised to dispatch electronically signed decisions. The opinion further stated that no evidence had been presented which could be considered by the Unemployment Fund and that, accordingly, its decision should stand. 12. None of the above opinions were communicated to the applicant in the proceedings before the Board for Unemployment Benefits.
In its decision of 31 January 1994 the Board summarised the facts, the applicant’s appeal and the opinions of the Employment Commission and the Unemployment Fund. The Board then dismissed the appeal, considering that a person who had himself caused the termination of his employment was not entitled to unemployment benefits for a period of six weeks. As the applicant’s suspension from office had resulted in his dismissal, he was deemed to have caused the termination of his employment himself. He was therefore not entitled to unemployment benefits for the period in question. The Board relied on section 9 of the Act on Unemployment Benefits (työttömyysturvalaki, lagen om utkomstskydd för arbetslösa 602/1984).
13. The applicant appealed further to the Insurance Court (vakuutusoikeus, försäkringsdomstolen). In an opinion requested by the Insurance Court the Unemployment Fund considered that no such evidence had been presented which it had been unaware of when making its decision of 1992. Accordingly, that decision should be upheld. The Unemployment Fund’s opinion was not communicated to the applicant in the course of the proceedings. The Insurance Court also obtained from the Supreme Administrative Court its decision regarding the applicant’s dismissal. 14. In its decision of 9 March 1995 the Insurance Court upheld the decision of the Board for Unemployment Benefits, referring to the reasons stated therein.
15. Section 9, subsection 1, of the Act on Unemployment Benefits stipulates that a person who causes the termination of his or her employment shall not be entitled to an unemployment benefit for a period of eight weeks. According to established practice, the period is shortened to six weeks in certain circumstances. If a dismissal has been challenged the withdrawal of unemployment benefits should normally be based on a decision which has acquired legal force (section 9, subsection 2). The competent employment commission shall issue an opinion in respect of someone’s entitlement to unemployment benefits. Such an opinion is binding on the competent unemployment fund (section 3, subsection 2). 16. According to section 39, subsection 4, and section 42, subsection 4, an appellant shall be given an opportunity to be heard in a matter before the Board for Unemployment Benefits or the Insurance Court, if such new evidence is presented of which the appellant is not aware.
17. At the relevant time the Insurance Court applied mainly the principles derived from the rules of procedure of the courts of appeal. Insofar as relevant, the Code of Judicial Procedure provided as follows. According to Chapter 25, sections 17 to 20, the opposing party was to be heard in proceedings before appellate courts. According to Chapter 25, section 19, subsection 1, a copy of the observations of the opposing party was to be forwarded to the appellant on request. According to Chapter 26, section 6, the court of appeal was to request written observations from the parties when it obtained evidence on its own initiative and such evidence could affect the decision in the case, unless such hearing of the parties was manifestly unnecessary.
18. From 1 April 1999 onwards the Insurance Court has been applying the Act on Administrative Judicial Procedure (hallintolainkäyttölaki, förvaltningsprocesslagen 586/1996) except with regard to extraordinary proceedings, in respect of which special rules apply (section 9 of the Act on the Insurance Court, as amended by Act no. 278/1999).