- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 7 iunie 2001
- Stat pârât
- NLD
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Van den Hoogen împotriva Țărilor de Jos
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamantul este un național olandez, născut în 1943 și locuiește în Kerkrade. El este reprezentat în fața Curții de către dl J.J.M. Goltstein, un avocat practicant în Kerkrade. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Soția reclamantului a murit în 1980. În acel moment, reclamantul a fost angajat în Germania. În acel moment, el nu a solicitat pensia unui văduv în temeiul Legii privind beneficiile Veduvelor și Orfanilor de Olanda (Algemene Weduwen- en Wezenwet; “AWW”). La 27 octombrie 1980, reclamantul a avut un accident de trafic care a dus la devenirea incapacită pentru muncă. Într-o decizie adoptată la 7 decembrie 1988, Tribunalul Central de Apel (Centrale Raad van Beroep) a determinat că, de asemenea, văduvii au dreptul la beneficii în temeiul AWW.
La 12 martie 1989, reclamantul a solicitat o pensie în temeiul AWW și, în decizia sa din 23 iunie 1989, Banca de Asigurări Sociale de la Maastricht (Sociale Verzekeringsbank) i-a acordat o pensie AWW. În conformitate cu art. 25 § 3 din AWW, data de pornire a pensiei a fost stabilită la un an înainte de prima dată a lunii în care reclamantul și-a depus cererea pentru prestațiile AWW. Deși art. 25 alineatul § 5 din AWW prevede posibilitatea acordării unei pensii cu efect retroactiv din motive speciale, Banca de Asigurare Socială a susținut că nu există astfel de circumstanțe în cazul reclamantului.
Prin urmare, reclamantul a avut dreptul la beneficiile AWW începând cu 1 martie 1988. La 22 noiembrie 1991, Banca de Asigurări Sociale a informat reclamantul că își retragea pensia AWW și, la 14 februarie 1992, a emis o decizie care a încheiat beneficiile AWW ale reclamantului începând din martie 1992 în temeiul aplicării unui acord în conformitate cu care pensia sa va fi redusă treptat la zero prin reducerea acesteia în fiecare lună cu 100 de Guilders din Olanda. Având în vedere circumstanțele sale personale, el nu a fost mai mult obligat să plătească prestațiile deja plătite până în acel moment. Motivul a fost că, pe măsură ce legea se afla în momentul decesului soției reclamantei, nu ar putea apărea niciun drept în temeiul AWW deoarece reclamantul a fost atunci angajat în afara Țărilor de Jos și acoperit de asigurarea socială germană.
În acest caz, soția sa a fost exclusă de la sistemul de asigurări instituit în temeiul acestei legi. La 6 martie 1992, reclamantul a depus un recurs împotriva acestei decizii la Curtea Regională Roermond (Arrondissementsrechtbank). În hotărârea sa din 7 decembrie 1992, Curtea Regională a susținut că dispoziția legală în cauză este discriminatorie și, prin urmare, contrară Constituției Țărilor de Jos și articolului 26 din Pactul internațional privind drepturile civile și politice. Cu toate că această dispoziție legală a exclus soția unui rezident Țărilor de Jos care a fost angajat în străinătate și acoperită de asigurări sociale străine din sistemul de asigurare instituit în temeiul AWW, aceasta nu a exclus astfel soțul unui rezident Țărilor de Jos în mod similar angajat și acoperit.
Curtea Regională a făcut trimitere la o directivă a Consiliului Comunităților Europene (79/7/CEE din 19 decembrie 1978), care nu ar putea, totuși, să se aplice direct deoarece nu acoperă asigurarea socială plătită la moartea unui soț către supraviețuitor. La 13 ianuarie 1993, Banca de Asigurare Socială a interzis Tribunalul Central de Apel (Centrale Raad van Beroep), care a anulat hotărârea Curții Regionale la 2 iulie 1997, susținând că, în conformitate cu jurisprudența sa, bărbații căsătoriți nu au putut obține niciun drept de la AWW înainte de 23 decembrie 1984. Deși acest bărbați a căror soții au murit înainte de acea dată într-o poziție dezavantajoasă, acest lucru a fost datorită faptului că femeile căsătorite pur și simplu nu au fost asigurate sub AWW înainte de atunci.
Tribunalul Central de Apel a refuzat să se pronunțe în ceea ce privește dacă acest „poate fi] văzut ca o formă de tratament inegal al bărbaților și femeilor, sau altfel”. Având în vedere o hotărâre pronunțată la 26 august 1998 de Curtea Supremă (Hoge Raad), în care s-a considerat că ocuparea forței de muncă în străinătate nu constituie un motiv pentru excluderea unei femei căsătorite de la asigurare în temeiul AWW, Banca de Asigurări Sociale a reconsiderat cazul reclamantului și a hotărât la 4 mai 1999 să își retragă decizia din 14 februarie 1992 și să-i acorde o pensie de AWW începând cu 1 martie 1988, precum și interesul pentru perioada dintre martie 1992 și mai 1999. De asemenea, a fost informat că ar putea depune o obiecție (bezwaar) împotriva acestei decizii în termen de șase săptămâni.
Reclamantul nu a beneficiat de această posibilitate. AWW, care a fost înlocuită la 1 iulie 1996 de Actul general privind supraviețuirea dependenților (Algemene Nabestaandenwet), prevedea beneficii pentru văduva și copil(ren) de o persoană decedată care a fost asigurată în temeiul prezentei acte. În cadrul schemei AWW, toate persoanele care locuiesc în Țările de Jos și nerezidenții au fost asigurate obligatoriu în Țările de Jos. Contribuțiile la acest schemă au fost plătite de toate persoanele care au angajat în Țările de Jos în Țările de Jos. Beneficiile AWW au fost, în principiu, acordate văduvelor mai mici de 65 de ani de la care nu se putea aștepta să se asigure de ei înșiși și, în cazul în care au existat, copiii lor de lucru.
Beneficiile AWW s-au oprit când văduva a atins vârsta de 65 de ani. Beneficiile pentru copii au fost în principiu oprite atunci când au ajuns la vârsta de 16 ani, dar au putut fi prelungite până la vârsta de 27 de ani, unde studiase copilul. AWW nu a oferit niciun avantaj pentru văduvi. Această situație s-a schimbat la 7 decembrie 1988, atunci când Tribunalul Central de Apel a pronunțat o decizie în care a susținut că, de asemenea, văduvii au dreptul la beneficii în temeiul AWW (Rechtspraak Sociale Verzekering 1989/67). Drepturile pentru o pensie AWW nu depindeau de nivelul contribuțiilor plătite deoarece, în contravenție cu un sistem de securitate socială bazat pe ocuparea forței de muncă (werknemersverzekering), acesta era un sistem general de securitate socială (volksverzekering).
Nivelul beneficiilor era legat de salariul minim statutar. La 19 decembrie 1978, Consiliul Comunităților Europene a emis Directiva 79/7/CEE privind punerea în aplicare progresivă a egalității de tratament între bărbați și femei în domeniul securității sociale pe baza ocupării forței de muncă, permițând statelor membre o perioadă de șase ani până la 23 decembrie 1984, în care să introducă orice modificare a legislației care ar putea fi necesară pentru a-l pune în conformitate cu directiva. art. 93 din Constituție prevede că dispozițiile tratatelor și deciziilor internaționale ale organizațiilor internaționale (interguvernamentale) care, în conformitate cu conținutul lor, pot fi obligatorii pentru oricine are forță obligatorie după publicarea acestora.
În ceea ce privește interzicerea discriminării, Țările de Jos sunt părți, printre altele, la Convenția, care a fost ratificată prin Legea din 28 iulie 1954 și CCPR-ul din 1966 care, în ceea ce privește Țările de Jos, a intrat în vigoare la 11 martie 1979. art. 26 din CCPR prevede următoarele: "Toate persoanele sunt egale în fața legii și au dreptul fără discriminare la protecția egală a legii.
În acest sens, legea interzice orice discriminare și garanție pentru toate persoanele de protecție egală și eficace împotriva discriminării pe orice motiv, cum ar fi rasa, culoare, sex, limba, religie, opinie politică sau de altă natură, origine națională sau socială, proprietate, naștere sau alt statut.” Curtea Supremă a recunoscut în hotărârea sa din 2 februarie 1982 (Nederlandse Jurisprudentie („NJ”) 1982, nr. 424 [rectificat în NJ 1982, nr. 475]]), că art. 26 din Pact este o dispoziție a unui tratat internațional care, în conformitate cu conținutul său, poate fi obligatoriu pentru oricine și, prin urmare, trebuie să fie aplicat în principiu de către instanțele Țărilor de Jos.
The applicant is a Dutch national, born in 1943 and living in Kerkrade. He is represented before the Court by Mr J.J.M. Goltstein, a lawyer practising in Kerkrade. The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. The applicant’s wife died in 1980. At that time, the applicant was employed in Germany. He did not, at that time, apply for a widower’s pension under the Netherlands Widows and Orphans Benefits Act (Algemene Weduwen- en Wezenwet; “AWW”). On 27 October 1980, the applicant had a traffic accident resulting in his becoming incapacitated for work. In a decision taken on 7 December 1988, the Central Appeals Tribunal (Centrale Raad van Beroep) determined that also widowers were entitled to benefits under the AWW.
On 12 March 1989, the applicant applied for a pension under the AWW and, in its decision of 23 June 1989, the Maastricht Social Insurance Bank (Sociale Verzekeringsbank) awarded him an AWW pension. In accordance with Article 25 § 3 of the AWW, the starting date of the pension was fixed at one year prior to the first date of the month in which the applicant had filed his request for AWW benefits. Although Article 25 § 5 of the AWW provided for the possibility to grant a pension with retroactive effect on grounds of special circumstances, the Social Insurance Bank held that no such circumstances existed in the applicant’s case.
Consequently, the applicant was entitled to AWW benefits as from 1 March 1988. On 22 November 1991, the Social Insurance Bank informed the applicant that it was withdrawing his AWW pension and, on 14 February 1992, issued a decision terminating the applicant’s AWW benefits as from March 1992 under the application of an arrangement according to which his pension would be gradually reduced to nil by reducing it each month with 100 Netherlands Guilders. In view of his personal circumstances he was further not required to repay any benefits already paid to him until that time. The reason given was that, as the law stood at the time of the death of the applicant’s wife, no entitlement under the AWW could arise because the applicant was then employed outside the Netherlands and covered by German social insurance.
That being so, his wife was ipso facto excluded from the insurance scheme set up under that Act. On 6 March 1992, the applicant lodged an appeal against this decision with the Roermond Regional Court (Arrondissementsrechtbank). In its judgment of 7 December 1992 the Regional Court held that the statutory provision at issue was discriminatory and, therefore, contrary to the Netherlands Constitution and Article 26 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights. Although that statutory provision excluded the wife of a Netherlands resident who was employed abroad and covered by foreign social security from the insurance scheme set up under the AWW, it did not so exclude the husband of a Netherlands resident similarly employed and covered.
The Regional Court referred obiter dictum to a directive of the Council of the European Communities (79/7/EEC of 19 December 1978), which could not, however, apply directly since it did not cover social insurance payable upon the death of one spouse to the survivor. On 13 January 1993, the Social Insurance Bank appealed to the Central Appeals Tribunal (Centrale Raad van Beroep), which overturned the judgment of the Regional Court on 2 July 1997, holding that according to its case-law married men could not derive any entitlement from the AWW before 23 December 1984. Although admittedly this placed men whose wives had died before that date in a disadvantageous position, this was due to the fact that married women simply were not insured under the AWW before then.
The Central Appeals Tribunal declined to rule as to whether this “[could] be seen as a form of unequal treatment of men and women, or otherwise”. In the light of a judgment handed down on 26 August 1998 by the Supreme Court (Hoge Raad) in which it was held that employment abroad did not constitute a ground for excluding a married woman from insurance under the AWW, the Social Insurance Bank reconsidered the applicant’s case and decided on 4 May 1999 to withdraw its decision of 14 February 1992 and to award him a AWW pension as from 1 March 1988 as well as interest for the period between March 1992 and May 1999. He was further informed that he could file an objection (bezwaar) against this decision within six weeks.
The applicant did not avail himself of this possibility. The AWW, which has been replaced on 1 July 1996 by the General Act on Surviving Dependents (Algemene Nabestaandenwet), provided for benefits for the widow and child(ren) of a deceased person who was insured under this Act. Under the AWW scheme, all persons residing in the Netherlands and non-residents gainfully employed in the Netherlands were compulsory insured. Contributions to this scheme were paid by all persons gainfully employed in the Netherlands. AWW benefits were, in principle, granted to widows younger than 65 from whom it could not be expected that they would provide for themselves and, in case there were any, their child(ren) by working.
AWW benefits stopped when the widow attained the age of 65. Benefits for children were in principle stopped when they reached the age of 16 but could be prolonged until the age of 27 where the child was studying. The AWW did not provide for any benefits for widowers. This situation changed on 7 December 1988, when the Central Appeals Tribunal handed down a decision in which it held that also widowers were entitled to benefits under the AWW (Rechtspraak Sociale Verzekering 1989/67). Entitlement to an AWW pension was not dependent on the level of contributions paid as, contrary to a social security scheme based on employment (werknemersverzekering), it was a general social security scheme (volksverzekering).
The level of benefits was linked to the statutory minimum wage. On 19 December 1978, the Council of the European Communities issued Directive 79/7/EEC concerning the gradual implementation of equal treatment between men and women in the field of social security based on employment, allowing member states a period of six years until 23 December 1984 within which to make any amendments to legislation which might be necessary in order to bring it in conformity with the directive. Article 93 of the Constitution provides that provisions of international treaties and decisions of international (intergovernmental) organisations which, according to their content, may be binding on anyone shall have binding force after they have been published.
With regard to the prohibition of discrimination, the Netherlands is a party to, inter alia, the Convention, which was ratified by Act of 28 July 1954, and the ICCPR of 1966 which, as regards the Netherlands, entered into force on 11 March 1979. Article 26 of the ICCPR provides as follows: "All persons are equal before the law and are entitled without discrimination to the equal protection of the law.
In this respect, the law shall prohibit any discrimination and guarantee to all persons equal and effective protection against discrimination on any ground such as race, colour, sex, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, property, birth or other status." The Supreme Court recognised in its judgment of 2 February 1982 (Nederlandse Jurisprudentie (“NJ”) 1982, no. 424 [corrected in NJ 1982, no. 475]), that Article 26 of the Covenant is a provision of an international treaty which, according to its content, may be binding on anyone, and must therefore in principle be applied directly by the Netherlands courts.