- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 30 aprilie 2002
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Partly inadmissible
Lustgarten împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE PARȚIONALĂ PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA cererii nr. 69189/01 de Laurence LUSTGARTEN împotriva Regatului Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care a stat la 30 aprilie 2002 în calitate de ședință compusă de Președintele Pellonpää Sir Nicolas Bratza Pastor Ridruejo dna Palm Makarczyk Maruste Judici Pavlovschi și dl M. O’Boyle Având în vedere cererea depusă la 7 februarie 2001, după ce a deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Dl Laurence Lustgarten, reclamantul este un național al Regatului Unit, născut la 10 ianuarie 1946 și trăiește la Oxford. Circumstanțele cazului Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de solicitant, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează.
Reclamantul și soția lui s-au căsătorit în 1992. Ei nu au avut copii împreună și cei doi copii ai soției sale care au depășit vârsta majorității. A lucrat de mulți ani ca medic general și a plătit integral contribuțiile de securitate socială ca salariat. A murit la 20 mai 1999. La 1 aprilie 2000 sau în jurul valorii de 1 aprilie 2000, reclamantul a solicitat Agenției de Beneficii pentru plata prestațiilor de securitate socială. El a solicitat prestații echivalente cu cele pe care o văduvă, al căror soț a murit în condiții similare cu cele ale soției sale, ar fi avut dreptul, și anume plata unei văduve și pensia unei văduve, plătite în temeiul Legii de securitate socială și beneficii din 1992 („Legea din 1992”).
El a fost informat la 11 aprilie 2000 că Agenția de Beneficii nu a putut accepta cererea sa ca fiind o cerere valabil, deoarece plata beneficiilor văduvelor era specifică femeilor, iar reclamantul nu era o femeie. Reclamantul a apelat la Tribunalul de Apel pentru Securitate Socială. August 2000 apelul a fost suspendat în așteptarea serviciului unui argument schelet de către reclamant și a unui răspuns al Agenției Beneficiilor. La 9 ianuarie 2001, reclamantul a citit un raport legislativ în ziarul Times privind cazul R. v Secretar de Stat pentru Departamentul de Acasă ex parte Mahmood (Amjad) În decizia sa, Curtea de Apel a indicat că Legea privind drepturile omului din 1998 nu a putut fi invocată într-o instanță după intrarea în vigoare a acesteia în cazul în care hotărârea administrativă în cauză a fost, așa cum a fost în cazul reclamantului, a fost inițiată înainte de intrarea în vigoare a acestei acte.
În același timp, reclamantul a devenit conștient de decizia unui comisar de securitate socială care refuză să recurgă la un văduv care prezintă plângeri identice în favoarea reclamantului, din cauza faptului că Legea privind drepturile omului nu se aplică refuzurilor de beneficii înainte de intrarea în vigoare a acestuia. Având în vedere aceste decizii, reclamantul a determinat că apelul său nu a avut nici o șansă de succes. În ianuarie 2002, reclamantul a fost informat că dosarul referitoare la recursul său a dispărut „inutil”. Legea și practicile interne relevante În temeiul dreptului Regatului Unit, anumite prestații de securitate socială, inclusiv plata Veduvei și Pensiunea Veduvei, sunt plătite din Fondul Național de Asigurări.
Prin secțiunea 1 din Legea din 1992, fondurile necesare pentru a plăti astfel de prestații trebuie să fie furnizate prin intermediul contribuțiilor plătibile secretarului de stat pentru securitate socială de către câștigătorii, angajatori și alții, împreună cu anumite adăugari ale Fondului de către Parlament. Bărbații și femeile care câștigă sunt obligați să plătească aceleași contribuții de securitate socială în funcție de statutul lor de salariați sau de salariați independenți.
Salariu pentru văduvă în temeiul art. 36 din Legea 1992, o femeie văduvă are dreptul la plata unei văduve (în prezent, o plată forfetară de 1000 GBP) dacă: (i) ea este sub vârsta de pensie la momentul în care soțul ei a murit, sau el nu a avut atunci dreptul la o pensie de pensie de categorie A; (ii) soțul ei a îndeplinit anumite condiții specifice de contribuție de securitate socială prevăzute într-un program al Legii din 1992. 2. Pensiunea văduvă în temeiul articolului 38 din Legea din 1992, o femeie care a fost văduvă (și care nu este recăsătorită) are dreptul la pensie de văduvă în cazul în care, inter alia (i) soțul ei a îndeplinit condițiile de contribuție prevăzute într-un program al Actului; și (ii) la data morții soțului ei, a avut peste 45 de ani, dar sub 65 de ani.
Pe parcursul perioadei în cauză, termenele pentru a solicita plata văduvei și pensia văduvei au fost stabilite în Regulamentul privind securitatea socială (Claims and Payments) 1987 (Instrumentul de plată 1987/1968), art. 19 (modificat) din care se prevede: „(2) Timpul prescris pentru a solicita prestațiile menționate la alineatul (3) este de trei luni începând în ziua în care, în afară de a satisface condițiile de depunere a cererii, reclamantul are dreptul la prestația în cauză. (3) Beneficiile la care se aplică alineatul (2) sunt-(...) (g) beneficiul văduvului;(...)” Plata și Pensiunea Veduvei sunt fiecare „beneficiu nevinovat” pentru acest scop. 4. Legea 1999 privind reforma și pensiile de bunăstare Legea privind reforma și pensiile de bunăstare („Legea 1999”) introduce, printre altele, , o nouă indemnitate numită Indemnitatea de Martorare, care înlocuiește Pensiunea Veduvii.
Acest lucru este plătit bărbaților și femeilor care îndeplinesc condițiile de calificare relevante. Legea din 1999 introduce, de asemenea, o nouă plată de securitate socială, numită Plata de Martorare, plătită atât pentru bărbați, cât și pentru femei în locul Platei Veduvii. Părțile relevante ale Actului au intrat în vigoare la 9 aprilie 2001 și permit oricărui bărbat al cărui soție moare la data respectivă sau după aceea să solicite plata pentru lichidare sau lichidare în același mod ca o femeie al căror soț moare la sau după aceea dată. Legea din 1999 păstrează drepturile femeilor în temeiul Legii din 1992 ale căror soți au murit înainte de 9 aprilie 2001. Astfel, acestea continuă să aibă dreptul la plată și pensia văduvei în cazul în care sunt îndeplinite condițiile de calificare relevante.
Reclamantul se plânge că legislația britanică de securitate socială discrimină el și soția sa îndepărtată din cauza sexului, în încălcarea art. 14 din Convenția luată în legătură cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. Invocă, de asemenea, art. 13 din Convenție. Reclamantul se plânge că lipsa de dispoziții privind prestațiile pentru văduvi în temeiul legislației britanice privind securitatea socială este discriminată împotriva el și soției sale, din motive de sex, în încălcarea articolului 14 din Convenția luată în conjuncție cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. El se plânge de o încălcare continuă a decesului soției sale în 1999. El invocă, de asemenea, art. 13 din Convenția.
art. 14 prevede: „Ocuparea drepturilor și libertăților prevăzute în prezenta convenție este asigurată fără discriminare pe niciun motiv, cum ar fi sexul, rasa, culoarea, limba, religia, opinia politică sau de altă natură, origine națională sau socială, asocierea cu o minoritate națională, proprietatea, nașterea sau alt statut”. art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 prevede: „1. Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale. Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesele sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și de principiile generale ale dreptului internațional.
Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea bunurilor în conformitate cu dobânda generală sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau sancțiuni.” art. 13 prevede: „Toată persoana a căror drepturi și libertăți, astfel cum sunt prevăzute în [] Convenție, sunt încălcate, are un remediu eficace în fața unei autorități naționale, în ciuda faptului că încălcarea a fost comisă de persoane care acționează în calitate oficială.” 2. Reclamantul susține că, dacă ar fi fost femeie și soția lui ar fi fost bărbat, ar fi fost conștient de dreptul său la beneficiile văduvei în cazul morții ei.
El susține că acest drept ar fi inclus Plata Veuvei. Curtea reamintește că, în conformitate cu art. 34 din Convenție, aceasta poate primi cereri de către persoane fizice și de alte persoane „clamând că este victimă de o încălcare de către una dintre Înaltele părți contractante a drepturilor prevăzute în Convenție sau a protocoalelor sale”. Pentru a pretinde că este victimă de o încălcare, o persoană trebuie să fie afectată direct de măsura impugnată (a se vedea, de exemplu, protocoalele în cauză). Buckley v. Hotărârea Regatului Unit din 25 septembrie 1996, Raporturi de hotărâri și decizii 1996-IV, p. 1288, §§ 56-59 și decizia Valmont v. Regatul Unit din 23 martie 1999, nepublicată).
În acest caz, în cursul perioadei între moartea soției sale la 20 mai 1999 și 1 aprilie 2000, nu se poate spune că reclamantul a fost direct afectat de discriminarea a căror plânge, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție care nu a făcut nicio cerere nu ar avea dreptul la beneficiile văduvelor în temeiul legislației interne. În special, ea nu ar fi avut dreptul la plata unei văduve, care trebuie să fie solicitată pentru trei luni de la moarte. În consecință, pentru perioada 20 mai 1999 până la 1 aprilie 2000, reclamantul nu poate pretinde că a fost victimă de o încălcare a drepturilor sale în temeiul Convenției și al Primului Protocol și că aplicarea, în măsura în care se referă la neautorizarea beneficiilor văduvelor în această perioadă, este incompatibilă ratione personae în conformitate cu dispozițiile Convenției și trebuie declarată inadmisibilă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ § 3 și 4 din Convenție.
Reclamantul se plânge, de asemenea, de discriminarea suferită de soția sa răpită în ceea ce privește decizia de a refuza beneficiile văduvelor. Cu toate acestea, Curtea nu acceptă faptul că, în ceea ce privește orice discriminare care ar fi putut fi suferită de soția îndepărtată a reclamantului, reclamantul poate pretinde că este o victimă a presupusei încălcări, rezultând că acest aspect al plângerii este, de asemenea, incompatibil ratione personae în conformitate cu dispozițiile Convenției și trebuie să fie declarate inadmisibile în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 3 și 4 din Convenție. (4) Curtea consideră că, pe baza dosarului, nu poate determina admisibilitatea restului acestei plângeri și că, prin urmare, în conformitate cu art. 54 § 3 litera (b) din Regulamentul de procedură, este necesar să se anunte guvernului contestat.
Din aceste motive, Curtea decide în unanimitate să se suspende examinarea plângerii reclamantului, în legătură cu cererea de pensie a unei văduve, referitoare la discriminarea suferită de el în timpul perioadei de după 1 aprilie 2000; declara inadmisibilă restul cererii. Președintele grefier Michael O’Boyle Matti Pellonpää
FOURTH SECTION
PARTIAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 69189/01 by Laurence LUSTGARTEN against the United Kingdom The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 30 April 2002 as a Chamber composed of Mr M. Pellonpää , President , Sir Nicolas Bratza , Mr A. Pastor Ridruejo , Mrs E. Palm , Mr J. Makarczyk , Mr R. Maruste , Mr S. Pavlovschi , judges , and Mr M. O’Boyle , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 7 February 2001, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Mr Laurence Lustgarten, is a United Kingdom national, born on 10 January 1946 and living in Oxford. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the applicant, may be summarised as follows.
The applicant and his wife were married in 1992. They had no children together and his late wife’s two children are over the age of majority. She worked for many years as a general medical practitioner and paid full social security contributions as an employed earner. She died on 20 May 1999. On or around 1 April 2000 the applicant applied to the Benefits Agency for the payment of social security benefits. He applied for benefits equivalent to those which a widow, whose husband had died in similar circumstances to those of his wife, would have been entitled, namely a Widow’s Payment and a Widow’s Pension, payable under the Social Security and Benefits Act 1992 (“the 1992 Act”). He was informed on 11 April 2000 that the Benefits Agency was unable to accept his application as a valid claim because the payment of widows’ benefits was specific to women, and the applicant was not a woman.
The applicant appealed to the Social Security Appeal Tribunal. On 17 August 2000 the appeal was adjourned pending service of a skeleton argument by the applicant and a response by the Benefits Agency. On 9 January 2001, the applicant read a law report in the Times newspaper relating to the case of R. v Secretary of State for the Home Department ex parte Mahmood (Amjad) . In its decision, the Court of Appeal indicated that the Human Rights Act 1998 could not be invoked in a court after its coming into force where the administrative decision at issue had, as in the applicant’s case, been reached before that Act came into force. At about the same time, the applicant became aware of a decision of a Social Security Commissioner refusing leave to appeal to a widower raising identical complaints to the applicant’s on the ground that the Human Rights Act did not apply to refusals of benefit pre-dating its entry into force.
In light of these decisions, the applicant determined that his appeal had no chance of success. In January 2002, the applicant was informed that the file relating to his appeal had gone “missing”. B. Relevant domestic law and practice Under United Kingdom law, certain social security benefits, including Widow’s Payment and Widow’s Pension, are paid for out of the National Insurance Fund. By Section 1 of the 1992 Act, the funds required for paying such benefits are to be provided by means of contributions payable to the Secretary of State for Social Security by earners, employers and others, together with certain additions made to the Fund by Parliament. Male and female earners are obliged to pay the same social security contributions in accordance with their status as employed earners or self-employed earners.
1. Widow’s Payment Under Section 36 of the 1992 Act, a woman who has been widowed is entitled to a Widow’s Payment (currently a lump sum payment of GBP 1,000) if: (i) she is under pensionable age at the time when her husband died, or he was not then entitled to a Category A retirement pension; (ii) her husband satisfied certain specified social security contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the 1992 Act.
2. Widow’s Pension Under Section 38 of the 1992 Act, a woman who has been widowed (and who is not remarried) is entitled to a Widow’s Pension if, inter alia : (i) her husband satisfied the contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the Act; and (ii) at the date of her husband’s death she was over the age of 45 but under the age of 65. 3. Time-limit for applications for benefits Throughout the period in question, the time-limits for claiming widow’s payment and widow’s pension were set out in the Social Security (Claims and Payments) Regulations 1987 (Statutory Instrument 1987/1968), regulation 19 (as amended) of which provided: “(2) The prescribed time for claiming the benefits specified in paragraph (3) is three months beginning on the day on which, apart from satisfying the condition of making a claim, the claimant is entitled to the benefit concerned.
(3) The benefits to which paragraph (2) applies are-(...) (g) widow’s benefit;(...)” Widow’s Payment and Widow’s Pension are each a “widow’s benefit” for this purpose. 4. The Welfare Reform and Pensions Act 1999 The Welfare Reform and Pensions Act (“the 1999 Act”) introduces, inter alia , a new allowance called the Bereavement Allowance, which replaces the Widow’s Pension. This is payable to men and women who meet the relevant qualifying conditions. The 1999 Act also introduces a new social security payment, called a Bereavement Payment, payable both to men and women in place of the Widow’s Payment. The relevant parts of the Act entered into force on 9 April 2001 and allow any man whose wife dies on or after that date to apply for Bereavement Payment or Bereavement Allowance in exactly the same way as a woman whose husband dies on or after that date.
The 1999 Act preserves the entitlements of women under the 1992 Act whose husbands died before 9 April 2001. They thus continue to be entitled to the Widow’s Payment and Widow’s Pension where the relevant qualifying conditions are met. COMPLAINTS The applicant complains that British social security legislation discriminates against him and his late wife on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. He also invokes Article 13 of the Convention. THE LAW 1. The applicant complains that the lack of provision for widowers’ benefits under British social security legislation discriminates against him and his late wife on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. He complains of a continuing violation from his wife’s death in 1999 onwards.
He also invokes Article 13 of the Convention. Article 14 provides: “The enjoyment of the rights and freedoms set forth in this Convention shall be secured without discrimination on any ground such as sex, race, colour, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, association with a national minority, property, birth or other status.” Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 provides: “1. Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions. No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law.
2. The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” Article 13 provides: “Everyone whose rights and freedoms as set forth in [the] Convention are violated shall have an effective remedy before a national authority notwithstanding that the violation has been committed by persons acting in an official capacity.” 2. The applicant claims that, had he been a woman and had his wife been a man, he would have been aware of his entitlement to widow’s benefits in the event of her death.
He claims that this entitlement would have included Widow’s Payment. The Court recalls that under Article 34 of the Convention it may receive applications from individuals and others “claiming to be the victim of a violation by one of the High Contracting Parties of the rights set forth in the Convention or the protocols thereto”. In order to claim to be a victim of a violation, a person must be directly affected by the impugned measure (see, for example, the Buckley v. the United Kingdom judgment of 25 September 1996, Reports of Judgments and Decisions 1996-IV, p. 1288, §§ 56-59 and the Valmont v. the United Kingdom decision of 23 March 1999, unpublished).
In the present case, during the period between his wife’s death on 20 May 1999 and 1 April 2000, the applicant cannot be said to have been directly affected by the discrimination of which he complains, since a woman in the same position who had made no claim would have had no entitlement to widows’ benefits under domestic law. In particular she would have had no entitlement to a Widow’s Payment, which must be applied for within three months of the death. It follows that for the period 20 May 1999 to 1 April 2000 the applicant cannot claim to have been a victim of a violation of his rights under the Convention and First Protocol, and that the application, insofar as it relates to non-entitlement to widows’ benefits during this period, is incompatible ratione personae with the provisions of the Convention and must be declared inadmissible in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention.
3. The applicant complains also about discrimination suffered by his late wife in respect of the decision to refuse him widows’ benefits. However, the Court does not accept that, in respect of any discrimination which may have been suffered by the applicant’s late wife, the applicant can claim to be a victim of the alleged violation. It follows that this aspect of the complaint is also incompatible ratione personae with the provisions of the Convention and must be declared inadmissible in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention. 4. The Court considers that it cannot, on the basis of the file, determine the admissibility of the remainder of this complaint and that it is therefore necessary, in accordance with Rule 54 § 3(b) of the Rules of Court, to give notice of it to the respondent Government.
For these reasons, the Court unanimously Decides to adjourn the examination of the applicant’s complaint, in connection with his claim for a Widow’s Pension, relating to discrimination suffered by him during the period after 1 April 2000; Declares inadmissible the remainder of the application. Michael O’Boyle Matti Pellonpää Registrar President